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ACT SUMMARY 

Alcohol and drug addiction services 

 Beginning September 29, 2019, requires the following alcohol and drug addiction 

services be certified by the Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction 

Services (ODMHAS): (1) withdrawal management addiction services provided in a 

setting other than an acute care hospital, (2) addiction services provided in a 

residential treatment setting, and (3) addiction services provided on an outpatient 

basis. 

 Creates an exception to the certification requirement for services provided by an 

authorized health care professional or an employee or contractor of an accredited 

hospital outpatient clinic.  

 Makes failure to meet the certification requirement a crime. 
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Opioid treatment programs 

 Beginning June 29, 2019, requires that opioid treatment programs be licensed by 

ODMHAS, in place of a licensing requirement that applies only to methadone 

treatment. 

 Makes failure to meet the opioid treatment program licensing requirement a crime. 

 Modifies methadone licensing requirements during the period before June 29, 2019, 

by requiring that methadone license applicants be in good standing and by adjusting 

location requirements.  

 Applies methadone licensing requirements, including the act's changes, to opioid 

treatment program licensing. 

Advanced practice registered nurses 

 Permits an advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) who is a clinical nurse 

specialist or certified nurse practitioner and is certified as a psychiatric-mental 

health nurse to have an individual involuntarily hospitalized for mental health 

treatment in an emergency. 

 Requires a standard care arrangement between an APRN and a collaborating 

physician or podiatrist to include (1) criteria for referral of patients to any physician 

or podiatrist, rather than just the collaborating physician or podiatrist, and (2) a 

process for obtaining a consultation with any physician or podiatrist, rather than just 

the collaborating physician or podiatrist. 

 Permits an APRN who specializes in mental health to have a standard care 

arrangement with a physician who does not practice the same or a similar specialty 

only if the APRN has certain credentials and the physician practices (1) psychiatry, 

(2) pediatrics, or (3) primary care or family practice. 

 Permits an APRN to obtain an Ohio license without meeting certain licensing 

requirements if alternative requirements are met. 

Dialysis technicians 

 Reduces to six months (from 12) the time an applicant for a certificate to practice as a 

dialysis technician must have practiced before applying. 
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Orthotists, prosthetists, and pedorthists 

 Extends to two years (from one) the licensing period for orthotists, prosthetists, and 

pedorthists. 

Health professionals regulated by the State Medical Board 

 Eliminates the requirement that each physician assistant supervision agreement be 

submitted to and reviewed by the State Medical Board. 

 Increases to not more than $5,000 (from not more than $1,000) the penalty for a 

physician or physician assistant's failure to comply with a supervision agreement 

and makes the penalty applicable to a physician's failure to enter into a supervision 

agreement before initiating supervision of a physician assistant. 

 Authorizes the Board to issue a training certificate to a person seeking to participate 

in Ohio in a clinical rotation offered to interns, residents, or clinical fellows 

participating in programs located outside the state. 

 Permits professional disciplinary action against a physician who has been 

suspended or terminated from participation in Medicare or Medicaid for any reason. 

 Revises law governing issuance or renewal of certain licenses, certificates, and 

permits by the Board and the Board's investigatory authority regarding respiratory 

care professionals. 

Charter county hospital facilities 

 Authorizes a board of county hospital trustees of a charter county hospital to 

purchase, acquire, lease, construct, own, operate, or manage hospital facilities in a 

county contiguous to a charter county. 

Children's crisis care facilities 

 Modifies criteria for distribution of FY 2019 funds allocated for children's crisis care 

facilities. 
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CONTENT AND OPERATION 

ALCOHOL AND DRUG ADDICTION SERVICES 

Certification requirements 

Beginning September 29, 2019, the act prohibits any person or government entity 

from providing certain alcohol and drug addiction services unless the services have 

been certified by the Director of Mental Health and Addiction Services.1 Since "person" 

is broadly defined in the Revised Code, the prohibition applies to any individual, 

corporation, business trust, estate, trust, partnership, or association that provides the 

services.2 A violation is a felony of the fifth degree.3  

                                                 
1 R.C. 5119.35 and 5119.36; Section 7. 

2 R.C. 1.59, not in the act. 
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The requirement to be certified applies to the following alcohol and drug 

addiction services: 

(1) Withdrawal management addiction services provided in a setting other than 

an acute care hospital; 

(2) Addiction services provided in a residential treatment setting;  

(3) Addiction services provided on an outpatient basis. 

An exemption from the certification requirement applies if the provider is (1) a 

health care professional who is legally authorized to provide the services or (2) an 

individual who provides the services as part of an employment or contractual 

relationship with an accredited hospital outpatient clinic. 

Certification for public funds; community addiction services providers 

Law in effect until September 29, 2019, does not require that alcohol and drug 

addiction services be certified; instead, it bases eligibility for government funding on 

certification of "certifiable services and supports" by the Director.4 These are alcohol and 

drug addiction services, mental health services, and the types of recovery supports 

specified in rules adopted by the Director.  

An entity that provides alcohol and drug addiction services that are certified by 

the Director, gambling addiction services, or certain recovery supports is a community 

addiction services provider. Continuing law specifies that the entity may be an agency, 

association, corporation, individual, or program. Under the act it may also be another 

legal entity.5 

When the new prohibition against providing uncertified alcohol and drug 

addiction services takes effect September 29, 2019, the act continues to base eligibility 

for public funds on the certification of services. It applies the requirement to any person 

or government entity that is subject to the prohibition as well as any other community 

addiction services provider seeking public funds. The funds affected by this 

requirement continue to be described as any state funds, federal funds, or funds 

administered by a board of alcohol, drug addiction, and mental health services.6 

                                                                                                                                                             
3 R.C. 5119.99. 

4 R.C. 5119.36. 

5 R.C. 5119.01. 

6 R.C. 5119.36. 
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Medication assisted treatment 

Medication assisted treatment is treatment for alcohol and drug addiction that 

includes the use of drugs approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for 

addiction treatment.7 The act deals with medication assisted treatment by requiring the 

Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (ODMHAS) to license 

opioid treatment programs. This is in place of a requirement that methadone programs 

operated by community addiction services providers be licensed by ODMHAS.  

The act's licensure requirement for opioid treatment programs takes effect June 

29, 2019, and applies to all public and private entities except the U.S. Department of 

Veterans Affairs.8 The act does not affect continuing law regulating who is authorized 

to prescribe, furnish, or dispense controlled substances and other prescription drugs 

used in medication assisted treatment.9 

"Opioid treatment program" is defined in the act by reference to a federal 

regulation, which defines it as a program or practitioner engaged in opioid treatment of 

individuals with an opioid agonist treatment medication registered under federal law.10 

The federal law requires registration of qualified practitioners who dispense narcotic 

drugs for maintenance treatment or detoxification treatment.11 An opioid agonist is a 

drug that acts on the opioid receptors of nerves but, because it is long acting, does not 

result in the same highs and withdrawal symptoms as such drugs as heroin.12 

According to the federal Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 

the opioid agonists authorized by the federal regulation are methadone and 

buprenorphine.13 Methadone is a full agonist, while buprenorphine is a partial agonist.14 

                                                 
7 R.C. 340.01, not in the act. 

8 R.C. 5119.01, 5119.37, 5119.371, 5119.391, 5119.392, and 5119.99; Sections 6 and 7.  

9 R.C. Chapters 4723. (advanced practice registered nurses), 4729. (pharmacists and distributors of 

dangerous drugs), 4730. (physician assistants), and 4731. (physicians). 

10 R.C. 5119.01 and 42 Code of Federal Regulations 8.2 (emphasis added). 

11 21 United State Code 823(g)(1). 

12 "Buprenorphine vs. Methadone," Addiction Treatment Forum, February 12, 2013, 

http://atforum.com/2013/02/buprenorphine-vs-methadone/. 

13 "Federal Guidelines for Opioid Treatment Programs" (January 2015), U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 

https://store.samhsa.gov/shin/content//PEP15-FEDGUIDEOTP/PEP15-FEDGUIDEOTP.pdf. 

http://atforum.com/2013/02/buprenorphine-vs-methadone/
https://store.samhsa.gov/shin/content/PEP15-FEDGUIDEOTP/PEP15-FEDGUIDEOTP.pdf


Legislative Service Commission -7- Am. Sub. H.B. 111  
  As Passed by the General Assembly 

 

Methadone programs 

Law continuing until June 29, 2019, prohibits a community addiction services 

provider from employing methadone treatment or prescribing, dispensing, or 

administering methadone unless the program is licensed by ODMHAS. A license may 

be issued if the provider meets certain conditions and it affirmatively appears to 

ODMHAS that the provider is adequately staffed and equipped to maintain methadone 

treatment and will maintain treatment in strict compliance with Ohio law. 

One of the conditions a provider must meet involves a review of activities that 

may have occurred before applying for a license. Under prior law, the applicant must 

not have been denied a license to maintain methadone treatment or had its license 

withdrawn or revoked within the preceding five-year period. This is replaced by the act 

with a requirement that, during the three-year period preceding the date of application, 

the provider (or any owner, sponsor, medical director, administrator, or principal of the 

provider) has been in good standing to operate a methadone treatment program in all 

other locations where the provider or other person has been operating a similar 

program. Good standing is evidenced by both of the following: 

(1) Not having been denied a license or other approval to operate a methadone 

program by Ohio or another jurisdiction; and 

(2) Not having been subject in Ohio or another jurisdiction to suspension or 

revocation of authority to operate a methadone program, voluntary action to avoid 

suspension or withdrawal, or disciplinary action based on inappropriate actions related 

to drugs.15 

Another condition concerns the location of methadone treatment. Under prior 

law, there could be no public or private school, licensed child day-care center, or other 

child-serving agency within a radius of 500 linear feet of the location where the 

program maintained methadone treatment, unless the school, center, or agency 

supported the location or ODMHAS had previously determined that there was no such 

school, center, or agency with the 500-foot radius.16 Under the act, the location condition 

applies to an initial license for a particular location. The proposed methadone treatment 

                                                                                                                                                             
14 Principles of Drug Addiction Treatment: A Research Based Guide (third edition), "Opioid Addiction," 

National Institute on Drug Abuse, https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/principles-drug-addiction-

treatment-research-based-guide-third-edition/evidence-based-approaches-to-drug-addiction-

treatment/pharmacotherapies. 

15 R.C. 5119.391, repealed June 29, 2019; Section 2(B). 

16 R.C. 5119.391 and 5119.392, both repealed June 29, 2019; Section 2(B). 

https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/principles-drug-addiction-treatment-research-based-guide-third-edition/evidence-based-approaches-to-drug-addiction-treatment/pharmacotherapies
https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/principles-drug-addiction-treatment-research-based-guide-third-edition/evidence-based-approaches-to-drug-addiction-treatment/pharmacotherapies
https://www.drugabuse.gov/publications/principles-drug-addiction-treatment-research-based-guide-third-edition/evidence-based-approaches-to-drug-addiction-treatment/pharmacotherapies
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program must not be located on a parcel of real estate that is within a radius of 500 

linear feet of the boundaries of a parcel on which there is a public or private school, 

child day-care center licensed by the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services, or 

child-serving agency regulated by ODMHAS. As under prior law, exceptions may be 

made if a school, center, or agency supports the program location or ODMHAS 

previously determined that there was no such school, center, or agency within the 500-

foot radius. 

Other conditions and provisions related to licensing of methadone treatment 

programs are unchanged by the act. These concern license expiration, renewal, and 

revocation; inspections; possible criminal proceedings; employees; and the authority of 

ODMHAS, including rule-making authority.17 The act also maintains, with only 

technical changes, provisions authorizing ODMHAS to determine before a methadone 

treatment program begins whether its location is sufficiently distant from any school, 

day-care center, or child-serving agency.18 

Opioid treatment programs 

Effective June 29, 2019, no person or government entity (other than the 

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs) may operate an opioid treatment program unless 

the person or government entity is a community addiction services provider and the 

program is licensed by ODMHAS.19 

Under the act, ODMHAS may issue an opioid treatment program license to a 

community addiction services provider if certain conditions are met. These conditions 

are basically the same as those that apply to methadone programs, including the act's 

changes that are in effect up to September 29, 2019.20 The conditions are as follows: 

(1) It must affirmatively appear to ODMHAS that the provider is adequately 

staffed and equipped to operate an opioid treatment program and will operate the 

program in strict compliance with ODMHAS rules and laws relating to drug abuse. 

(2) With the same exceptions described above for methadone programs, the 

opioid treatment program will not be located on a parcel of real estate that is within a 

radius of 500 linear feet of the boundaries of real estate on which a school, licensed child 

day-care center, or ODMHAS-regulated child-serving agency is located. 

                                                 
17 R.C. 5119.391(E) to (P), repealed June 29, 2019; Section 2(B). 

18 R.C. 5119.391(D) and 5119.392, both repealed June 29, 2019; Section 2(B). 

19 R.C. 5119.37. 

20 Sections 2(B) and 7. 
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(3) During the three-year period preceding the date of application, the provider 

(or any owner, sponsor, medical director, administrator, or principal of the provider) 

has been in good standing to operate an opioid treatment program in all other locations 

where the provider or other person has been operating a program.21 

Provisions dealing with license expiration, renewal, and revocation; inspections; 

possible criminal proceedings; employees; and ODMHAS authority are the same for 

opioid treatment programs as those that applied when only methadone programs were 

licensed.22 Similarly, the act authorizes ODMHAS authority to waive the opioid 

treatment program location restriction if the program is supported by the school, child 

day-care center, or child-serving agency that is within 500 feet of the program. The act 

also authorizes ODMHAS to determine before an opioid treatment program begins 

whether it will violate the location restriction.23 

A license to operate an opioid treatment program expires one year from the date 

of issuance. A license may be renewed.24 

As with methadone treatment programs, ODMHAS must establish procedures 

and adopt rules for licensing, inspection, and supervision of community addiction 

services providers that operate opioid treatment programs. The rules must establish 

standards for the control, storage, furnishing, use, dispensing, and administering of 

medications used in medication-assisted treatment; prescribe minimum standards for 

the operation of the opioid treatment program component of the provider's operations; 

and comply with federal laws and regulations. The rules must be adopted in accordance 

with Ohio's Administrative Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119.).25 

Operating an opioid treatment program without a license or in a manner 

inconsistent with the act or rules adopted under it is a fifth degree felony.26 

ODMHAS preparation 

Beginning September 28, 2018, the act authorizes ODMHAS and its Director to 

take any actions they consider necessary to prepare for the certification of alcohol and 

                                                 
21 R.C. 5119.37 and 5119.371. 

22 R.C. 5119.37(E) to (P). 

23 R.C. 5119.37 and 5119.371. 

24 R.C. 5119.37. 

25 R.C. 5119.37(F). 

26 R.C. 5119.99. 
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drug addiction services and licensure of opioid treatment programs, including 

accepting and considering applications. They may also take action to convert 

methadone treatment licenses to opioid treatment program licenses and extend 

determinations concerning the location of methadone and opioid treatment programs.27 

Conforming changes 

The act makes a number of statutory conforming changes to account for the 

transition from licensing methadone treatment to licensing opioid treatment 

programs.28 The changes include modifications of a previously more limited authority 

of ODMHAS and the State Board of Pharmacy to conduct inspections of certain opioid 

treatment programs that were operated under federal law.29 

ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSES 

Emergency hospitalization for mental health treatment 

The act permits an advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) who is a clinical 

nurse specialist or certified nurse practitioner to have an individual involuntarily 

hospitalized for mental health treatment in an emergency. The nurse must have a 

psychiatric-mental health certification from the American Nurses Credentialing Center. 

As with other professionals who are permitted to have an individual involuntarily 

hospitalized, the nurse must have reason to believe that the individual is a mentally ill 

person subject to court order and represents a substantial risk of physical harm to self or 

others if allowed to remain at liberty pending examination.30 

Collaborating physician or podiatrist 

The act removes a restriction on referrals and consultations by APRNs and 

makes a change in physician collaboration for APRNs who specialize in mental health. 

Continuing law requires an APRN who is designated as a clinical nurse 

specialist, certified nurse-midwife, or certified nurse practitioner to practice in 

accordance with a standard care arrangement with each physician or podiatrist with 

whom the nurse collaborates. The standard care arrangement must include criteria for 

referral of a patient by the APRN to a collaborating physician or podiatrist and a 

process for the APRN to obtain a consultation with a collaborating physician or 

                                                 
27 Sections 6 and 7(B). 

28 R.C. 140.01, 2925.03, 3715.08, 3719.13, 3719.27, 3719.61, 3721.01, 5119.21, 5119.34, 5119.43, and 5119.431. 

29 R.C. 4729.291, 4729.292, 5119.361, and 5119.367, repealed June 29, 2019; Sections 2(B) and 7. 

30 R.C. 5122.01 and 5122.10. 
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podiatrist. In general, each collaborating physician or podiatrist must be one who 

practices in a specialty that is the same as or similar to the nurse's practice.31  

Under the act, a standard care arrangement must contain criteria for referral not 

only to the collaborating physician or podiatrist but also to another physician or 

podiatrist. It must also contain a process for the APRN to obtain a consultation not only 

with the collaborating physician or podiatrist but also with any physician or 

podiatrist.32 

Mental health practice 

An exception in prior law to the general rule that an APRN must practice in 

collaboration with a physician or podiatrist with the same or a similar specialty was that 

an APRN who was a clinical nurse specialist and had a nursing specialty of mental 

health or psychiatric mental health could also collaborate with a physician who 

specialized in pediatrics or in primary care or family practice. The act replaces this 

exception with one that is more specific. It provides that a clinical nurse specialist who 

is certified as a psychiatric-mental health CNS by the American Nurses Credentialing 

Center (ANCC) may enter into a standard care arrangement with a physician who is 

practicing in (1) psychiatry, (2) pediatrics, or (3) primary care or family practice. 

The act creates a corresponding exception regarding a certified nurse practitioner 

specializing in mental health. The nurse must be ANCC-certified as a psychiatric-

mental health NP and may enter into a standard care arrangement with the same types 

of physicians described above for clinical nurse specialists.33  

Educational and examination exemptions  

The act exempts from certain licensing eligibility requirements an APRN who 

meets alternative requirements. An applicant for an APRN license must meet a number 

of requirements, including both: 

--Holding a master's or doctoral degree in a nursing specialty or a related field 

that qualifies the applicant to sit for the certification examination of a national 

organization approved by the Ohio Board of Nursing and passing the examination;34 

                                                 
31 R.C. 4723.431. 

32 R.C. 4723.431(B) and 4731.27. 

33 R.C. 4723.431(A)(2)(c) and 4723.44. 

34 R.C. 4723.41. 
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--Not more than five years before applying for the license, completing a course of 

study in advanced pharmacology and related topics.35 

The act exempts an APRN who is a certified registered nurse anesthetist, certified 

nurse-midwife, or certified nurse practitioner, and was initially authorized to practice 

by the Board before 2001, from the educational requirement if the APRN obtained 

certification in the appropriate nursing specialty from a national organization listed in 

prior law or approved by the Board and has maintained the certification.36 

The act exempts an APRN who is a clinical nurse specialist and was initially 

authorized to practice by the Board before 2001, from the examination requirement if 

the APRN either (1) holds a master's or doctoral degree in a clinical area of nursing 

from an educational institution accredited by a national or regional accrediting 

organization or (2) holds a master's or doctoral degree in nursing or a related field and 

was certified as a clinical nurse specialist by the ANCC or another national organization 

that was at that time approved by the Board.37 

An applicant whom the act exempts from the educational or examination 

requirement is also exempted from the requirement to have completed the 

pharmacology course not more than five years before the application is filed, if the 

applicant did complete the course and both: (1) held for a continuous period of at least 

one year during the three years preceding the date of application valid authority in any 

jurisdiction to prescribe therapeutic devices and drugs, including at least some 

controlled substances, and (2) exercised the authority to prescribe drugs for the 

minimum one-year period.38 

The exemptions described above are effective June 29, 2018.39 Similar exemptions 

existed previously, but they were repealed in 2013.40 

                                                 
35 R.C. 4723.482. 

36 R.C. 4723.41(C). 

37 R.C. 4723.41(D). 

38 R.C. 4723.482. 

39 Sections 7 and 9. 

40 See Sub. H.B. 303 of the 129th General Assembly. 
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DIALYSIS TECHNICIANS 

Demonstrating competence 

The act reduces to six months (from 12) the time a person must perform dialysis 

care for a dialysis provider to be eligible to receive a certificate to practice as a dialysis 

technician. The act retains the requirement that the dialysis care be performed 

immediately before applying for the certificate.41  

ORTHOTISTS, PROSTHETISTS, AND PEDORTHISTS 

License renewal period 

The act requires the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic 

Trainers Board to renew licenses biennially, rather than annually, for individuals who 

practice orthotics, prosthetics, orthotics and prosthetics, or pedorthics. Biennial renewal 

is to occur according to a renewal schedule the Board must adopt in rules.42  

Accordingly, the act also authorizes the Board to (1) extend an initial or renewed 

license's expiration date to accommodate the biennial schedule, (2) adjust continuing 

education requirements, and (3) take any other action it considers necessary.43 

Continuing education 

The act requires the Board to adopt rules prescribing the amount, scope, and 

nature of the continuing education activities required for license renewal, including 

waivers of the requirements. Under prior law, the number of continuing education 

units required for renewal was specified in statute.44  

The act requires a license renewal application to be submitted electronically. On 

the Board's request, an applicant must submit evidence satisfactory to the Board that 

continuing requirements were completed.45  

                                                 
41 R.C. 4723.75(B). 

42 R.C. 4779.08 and 4779.19. 

43 Section 5. 

44 R.C. 4779.20. 

45 R.C. 4779.08 and 4779.20. 
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PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS 

Supervision agreements 

The act eliminates the requirement that a copy of a supervision agreement 

between a physician and one or more physician assistants be filed with the State 

Medical Board; however, it maintains the requirement that the agreement be kept in the 

supervising physician's records. The supervision agreement specifies the 

responsibilities of the physician assistants and terms under which they practice. 

The act also eliminates provisions specifying when an agreement takes effect and 

when it expires. It specifies that an agreement may be amended to modify the 

responsibilities of one or more physician assistants.46 

The act increases the penalty the Board may impose on a physician for failing to 

supervise a physician assistant in accordance with the terms of a supervision 

agreement, or on a physician assistant for failing to practice in accordance with an 

agreement. The penalty is increased to not more than $5,000 (from not more than 

$1,000) and, under the act, may also be imposed on a physician for failing to comply 

with the law requiring a physician to enter into a supervision agreement before 

initiating supervision of one or more physician assistants.47 

PHYSICIAN INTERNS, RESIDENTS, AND FELLOWS 

Training certificates 

Continuing law requires a person pursuing a medical internship, residency, or 

clinical fellowship in this state, who does not hold an Ohio license to practice medicine 

or osteopathic medicine, to apply to the State Medical Board for a training certificate. 

The applicant must have been accepted to participate in Ohio in an internship, 

residency, or fellowship program that is accredited by the Accreditation Council for 

Graduate Medical Education of the American Medical Association or the American 

Osteopathic Association. 

Under the act, a training certificate is also required for a person who has been 

accepted to participate in Ohio in an elective clinical rotation. The rotation cannot last 

more than one year and must be part of a similarly accredited program located outside 

Ohio.48 

                                                 
46 R.C. 4730.19. 

47 R.C. 4730.19(E). 

48 R.C. 4731.291. 
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PODIATRISTS 

Licensure after inactivity 

The act authorizes the State Medical Board to impose terms and conditions on 

issuing a license to practice podiatric medicine to an applicant who for more than two 

years has not been engaged in that practice. The terms and conditions may include 

meeting such requirements as completing additional training, passing an examination, 

or being assessed for physical competency.49  

RESPIRATORY CARE PROFESSIONALS 

Limited permits  

The State Medical Board regulates the practice of respiratory care professionals. 

The act clarifies that a person enrolled in and in good standing in a Board-approved 

respiratory care educational program who is issued a limited permit to practice 

respiratory care may practice under the permit for up to three years.50 It also clarifies 

that the length of a permit may be reduced as follows: 

 The permit becomes invalid immediately if the permit holder stops 

participating in the program. 

 The permit becomes invalid one year after the date the holder completes 

the program. 

The act requires the permit holder to notify the Board as soon as practicable 

when the holder discontinues participation or completes the program. 

Continuing education 

The act replaces a requirement that the holder of a respiratory care license or 

limited permit seeking renewal submit proof of meeting educational or continuing 

education requirements with a requirement that compliance be certified by the license 

or permit holder.51  

                                                 
49 R.C. 4731.222. 

50 R.C. 4761.05. 

51 R.C. 4761.06. 
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Investigations  

The act establishes procedures for Board investigations of alleged violations of 

the law governing respiratory care professionals. These procedures correspond to those 

governing Board investigations of physicians and other health professionals subject to 

its oversight.52  

STATE MEDICAL BOARD PROCEDURES 

Subpoenas 

Continuing law permits a subpoena issued by the State Medical Board to be 

served by a sheriff, sheriff's deputy, or Board employee. The act also allows a subpoena 

to be served by an agent designated by the Board.53 

Disciplinary actions 

The act permits the Board to take disciplinary action against a license or 

certificate holder who has been terminated or suspended from participation in 

Medicare or Medicaid, regardless of the reason for the termination or suspension. 

Under prior law, the Board could act only if the reason for the termination or 

suspension was a specified action such as prescribing drugs for other than legal and 

legitimate therapeutic purposes or failing to practice in accordance with minimal 

standards of care.54 

Attestations on applications 

The act requires an application for a license or certificate to practice medicine, 

osteopathic medicine, podiatric medicine, or a limited branch of medicine (massage 

therapy or cosmetic surgery) to be accompanied by an attestation that the information 

in the application is accurate and truthful.55 This replaces law requiring the application's 

accuracy and truthfulness to be attested to through an affidavit.  

Similarly, the act requires an applicant for a volunteer's certificate to submit to 

the Board an attestation that the applicant will not accept any form of remuneration for 

volunteer medical services.56 This is instead of a notarized statement from the applicant. 

                                                 
52 R.C. 4761.03. See, e.g., R.C. 4731.22(F). 

53 R.C. 4731.22(F)(3)(c), 4759.05(B)(3), and 4761.03(E)(3). 

54 R.C. 4731.22(B)(25). 

55 R.C. 4731.09, 4731.19, and 4731.52. 

56 R.C. 4731.295. 
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Regarding an applicant for a certificate of conceded eminence, the act requires the 

applicant to include an attestation that the applicant agrees to practice only within the 

clinical setting of an academic medical center or for an affiliated physician group 

practice, rather than an affidavit.57 

CHARTER COUNTY HOSPITAL FACILITIES 

Contiguous counties 

The act authorizes a board of county hospital trustees of a charter county 

hospital to purchase, acquire, lease, construct, own, operate, or manage hospital 

facilities in a county contiguous to a charter county. The facilities must be operated 

pursuant to law regulating the operation of a charter county hospital.58 

Ohio has two charter counties: Cuyahoga and Summit. Currently, the only 

charter county hospital is MetroHealth Medical Center in Cuyahoga County.  

CHILDREN'S CRISIS CARE FACILITIES 

Distribution of funds 

The act modifies criteria to be used in distributing in fiscal year 2019 an 

allocation of $150,000 in state funds for children's crisis care facilities. As originally 

allocated, the funds were to be distributed based on the number of children in each 

facility–the same method used in distributing an allocation of $150,000 in fiscal year 

2018.59 Under the act, the fiscal year 2019 distribution is to be based, instead, on the 

aggregate daily census of children in each facility during the previous fiscal year.60  

A children's crisis care facility is a facility that has as its primary purpose 

residential or other care of children under age 13 who are voluntarily placed at the 

facility by a parent who is facing a crisis or by an agency that determines that an 

emergency situation exists.61 

                                                 
57 R.C. 4731.297. 

58 R.C. 339.01(D). 

59 See Section 757.20 of the FY 2018–FY 2019 main operating budget, Am. Sub. H.B. 49 of the 132nd 

General Assembly. 

60 Sections 3 and 4. 

61 R.C. 5103.13, not in the act. 
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