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ACT SUMMARY

Ohio Adoption Awareness Month

e Designates November as "Ohio Adoption Awareness Month."
State Speech and Hearing Professionals Board

e Requires a hearing aid dealer's or fitter's license to be renewed biennially rather than
annually.

e Requires the State Speech and Hearing Professionals (SHP) Board to adopt rules
establishing the amount of any fee required under the Hearing Aid Dealers Law and
eliminates the statutorily specified fees.

e Expands the SHP Board's duties from investigating specific complaints to
investigating all alleged irregularities in the sale or practice of dealing in or fitting

" This version updates the effective date.



hearing aids by any licensee or permit holder, as well as any violations of the
Hearing Aid Dealers Law or the Board's rules.

e Revises the list of reasons for which the SHP Board may discipline a licensee or
permit holder and the actions it may take for certain violations.

e Requires the SHP Board to act in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act
before disciplining a licensee or permit holder based on a complaint or investigation.

e Requires the SHP Board to adopt rules establishing the information that must be
included in a hearing aid receipt.

e Specifies that tests and related materials used in an examination are not public
records under the Public Records Law.

Optical dispensing

e Requires the State Vision Professionals Board to provide each applicant for an
optical dispensing license with all forms required to apply for examination, instead
of permitting a testing service to provide the forms.

e Requires an optical dispensing apprentice to register with the Board on a form
provided by the Board and in the form of a statement that includes specified
information, instead of allowing registration with either the form or a statement.

Behavioral health providers and Medicaid criminal records checks

e Modifies an exemption from Medicaid criminal records check requirements under
which certain Medicaid providers may employ persons despite the requirements, as
long as claims are not submitted for the employees' services.

e Limits the exemption to: (1) a Medicaid provider of behavioral health services and
(2) an employee or prospective employee who holds or is in the process of obtaining
a license as a behavioral health professional or a certificate as a peer recovery
supporter.
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CONTENT AND OPERATION
ADOPTION AWARENESS
Ohio Adoption Awareness Month
The act designates November as "Ohio Adoption Awareness Month."!
LICENSING LAW CHANGES
State Speech and Hearing Professionals Board
Biennial license renewal

The act requires a hearing aid dealer's or fitter's license to be renewed biennially,
rather than annually as required under prior law. Under the act, a license generally
expires on December 31 of the even-numbered year after it was issued. The license must
be renewed in accordance with the Standard Renewal Procedure on or before that date.
However, a license issued less than 100 days before December 31 (after September 22) of

IR.C.5.2314.
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an even-numbered year expires on December 31 of the following even-numbered year.
After the license is renewed the first time, it must be renewed biennially in the same
manner as a license issued more than 100 days before December 31 of an even-
numbered year. Under prior law, a license expired on January 30 of the year following
the year it was issued and had to be renewed annually.>

Continuing education

Under the act, a licensee must complete at least 20 hours of continuing education
during a two-year license period as a condition of renewing a license. Previously, a
licensee had to complete at least ten hours annually.?

The act specifies that continuing education provided or certified by the
International Hearing Society is permissible, whereas under prior law only continuing
education provided or certified by the National Institute of Hearing Instruments
Studies Committee of the International Hearing Society was permissible.*

Current licensees

A licensee who intends to renew a license issued before the change from annual
to biennial renewal must certify to the State Speech and Hearing Professionals (SHP)
Board, by January 30, 2020, and on a form provided by the Board, that the licensee has
completed at least ten hours of approved continuing education between January 1,
2019, and January 30, 2020. If the licensee completes the certification and provides any
additional information about the continuing education that the SHP Board requires, the
licensee's license remains valid until December 31, 2021. A licensee who has a license
issued before the change and does not intend to renew the license must certify to the
SHP Board by January 30, 2020, that the licensee does not intend to renew. If the
licensee certifies the licensee's intent not to renew, the license expires January 31, 2020.
A license held by any person who fails to submit the required certification expires on
January 31, 2020. The person may apply for a new license using the procedures for
initial licensure.

The SHP Board, no later than November 1, 2019, must notify all licensees of the
requirement to certify the licensees' intention to renew or not renew to the Board.’

2R.C. 4747.05(C) and 4747.06(A), by reference to R.C. Chapter 4745.
3R.C. 4747.06(B).
4R.C. 4747.06(B)(1).

5 Section 4.
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Fees

The act requires the SHP Board to adopt rules establishing the amount of the fees
required under the Hearing Aid Dealers Law and eliminates the statutory fees
prescribed under prior law.® The following table summarizes the amounts specified in

prior law:
Type of fee Prior amount Citation
Hearing aid dealer's or fitter's license application fee $262 R.C. 4747.05
Hearing aid dealer's or fitter's trainee permit $150 R.C. 4747.10
application fee
Hearing aid dealer's or fitter's license renewal fee $157 - $210 R.C. 4747.06
(depended on
renewal date)
Hearing aid dealer's or fitter's trainee permit renewal $105 R.C. 4747.10
fee
Hearing aid dealer's or fitter's license duplicate copy $16 R.C. 4747.07
fee

Investigations

Prior law appeared to permit the SHP Board to investigate only specific
complaints. Under the act, the Board must investigate both:

o Alleged irregularities in the sale or practice of dealing in or fitting hearing
aids by a licensee or temporary permit holder;

e Violations of the Hearing Aid Dealers Law or rules adopted by the Board.

The act prohibits the SHP Board from investigating a licensed physician, a
licensed audiologist, or any person who measures human hearing for the purpose of
selecting a hearing aid without conducting an actual sale.

When conducting an investigation under the act, the SHP Board may administer
oaths, order depositions, issue subpoenas, and compel witnesses to produce documents
and testify. If a person disobeys or neglects a subpoena served by the Board or refuses
to testify to a matter within its investigation, the Board may apply for a court order

6 R.C. 4747.04(B).
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compelling the person to cooperate. The application must be filed in the court of
common pleas for the county in which the disobedience, neglect, or refusal occurred.”

Discipline
Reasons for discipline

The act revises the list of reasons for which the SHP Board may discipline a
licensee or trainee permit holder. The table below compares the list of reasons for
discipline under prior law to the list under the act:

Prior law The act
(R.C. 4747.12) (R.C. 4747.12)

Being convicted of a "disqualifying offense” | Same, but eliminates a provision making
or a "crime of moral turpitude" as defined in | the record of conviction or a certified copy
continuing law. of the record conclusive evidence of the
conviction.

Procuring a license or permit through fraud | Same.
or deceit on the Board.

Obtaining a fee or selling a hearing aid Same.
through fraud or misrepresentation.

Employing a person to fit or sell hearing No provision.
aids knowing that the person's license was
suspended or revoked.

Using or causing or promoting the use of Same.
misleading, deceptive, or untruthful
advertising, literature, testimonials,
guarantees, warranties, labels, brands,
insignias, or other representations.

Advertising a model or type of hearing aid Same.
for sale when purchasers or prospective
purchasers responding to the
advertisement cannot purchase the model
or type of hearing aid.

Representing or advertising falsely that the | Same.
service or advice of a licensed physician
will be used or made available during the
process of purchasing, maintaining, or
repairing a hearing aid or falsely using
words, abbreviations, or symbols that
indicate the licensee or permit holder is a
medical professional.

7R.C. 4747.13.

B Legislative Service Commission -6- Sub. H.B. 420
As Passed by the General Assembly



Prior law The act
(R.C. 4747.12) (R.C. 4747.12)

Being found by the Board to be a person of | Providing professional services while
habitual intemperance or gross immorality. | mentally incompetent or under the
influence of alcohol or while using any
narcotic or controlled substance or other
drug in excess of therapeutic amounts or
without valid medical indication.

Advertising a manufacturer's product or Same.
using a manufacturer's name or trademark
in a manner that falsely suggests the
existence of a relationship with the
manufacturer.

Fitting or selling, or attempting to fit or sell, | Same.
a hearing aid to a person without first using
appropriate procedures and instruments
required for proper fitting.

Fitting and selling hearing aids under a Same.
false name or an alias.

Dealing in or fitting hearing aids while Same.
suffering from a contagious or infectious

disease.

Being found by the Board to be guilty of Same.
gross incompetence or negligence in the
fitting or selling of hearing aids.

Permitting another person to use the Same.

licensee's license.

Violating the Board's code of ethical Same.

practice.

No provision. Making or filing a false report or record in

the sale or dispensing of a hearing aide.

No provision. Aiding or abetting the unlicensed sale,
fitting, or dispensing of a hearing aid.

No provision. Committing an act of dishonorable,
immoral, or unprofessional conduct while
selling or fitting a hearing aid.

No provision. Engaging in illegal, incompetent, or
habitually negligent practice.
No provision. Violating the Hearing Aid Dealers Law or
any lawful order given or rule adopted by
the Board.
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Prior law The act
(R.C. 4747.12) (R.C. 4747.12)

No provision. Being disciplined by a licensing or
disciplinary authority in Ohio or any other
state or country or being convicted or
disciplined by an Ohio court of another
state or country court for an act that would
be grounds for discipline under the Hearing
Aid Dealers Law.

In addition to the reasons for discipline listed above, the act requires the SHP
Board to adopt rules identifying additional conduct for which it may discipline a
licensee or trainee permit holder. The Board may discipline a licensee or trainee permit
holder for any reason identified in the adopted rules.®

Disciplinary procedures

The act requires the SHP Board to act in accordance with the Administrative
Procedure Act’ (APA) before disciplining a licensee or permit holder.’® Under the APA,
the Board must provide a notice to the licensee or trainee permit holder by registered
mail, return receipt requested, informing the licensee or trainee permit holder that the
licensee or permit holder has the right to a hearing before being disciplined. The notice
must include:

e The charges or other reasons for the proposed discipline;
e The law or rule directly involved;

e A statement informing the licensee or permit holder that the licensee or
permit holder may request a hearing within 30 days;

e A statement that the licensee or permit holder may present positions,
arguments, or contentions in writing and present evidence and examine
witness either in person or through a legal representative permitted to
practice before the Board.

A copy of the notice must be mailed to any representatives of record
representing the licensee or trainee permit holder. If the licensee or permit holder

8 R.C. 4747.04(B) and 4747.12(A).
9 R.C. Chapter 119.

10 R.C. 4747.04(A), 4747.12(A), and 4747.13(A).
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requests a hearing in accordance with the notice, the SHP Board must immediately set a
date, time, and place for the hearing. Unless otherwise agreed, the hearing date must be
within 15 days after the licensee or permit holder requests the hearing, but it cannot be
earlier than seven days after the request. The Board must immediately notify the
licensee or permit holder of the date, time, and place of the hearing. Before the hearing,
the Board may take depositions and issue subpoenas for witnesses and documents. It
must issue subpoenas for witnesses and documents when requested to do so by a party
to the hearing. The Board may require the witnesses to attend the hearing and produce
the documents. After the hearing, the Board must issue an order or approve, modify, or
disapprove a recommendation from a referee or examiner who conducted the hearing
on its behalf. The Board must serve the order on the licensee or permit holder by
certified mail, return receipt requested, and include a statement of the time and method
by which the licensee or permit holder can appeal the order to a court.!!

Prior law required the SHP Board to follow a process similar to the APA before
disciplining a licensee or trainee permit holder, subject to the following differences:

e The Board was required to set the date, time, and place for a disciplinary
hearing before sending notice;

e The Board was required to deliver the notice, either in person or by
registered mail, at least 20 days before the hearing date;

e Each party was permitted to take depositions before the hearing but had
to give the other party notice of the time, date, and place where the
deposition would be taken at least five days before the deposition date.!?

Types of discipline

Under the act, the SHP Board may revoke, suspend, place on probation, or refuse
to issue or renew a license or trainee permit or reprimand a licensee or trainee permit
holder for the reasons listed under "Reasons for discipline," above. Under prior law,
the Board was permitted only to revoke or suspend a license or permit.'®

11 R.C. 119.06, 119.07, 119.09, and 119.12, not in the act.
12 R.C. 4747.04(A) and 4747.13(A).

13R.C. 4747.12(A).
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Reinstatement after revocation

The act permits a person whose license has been revoked by the SHP Board to
apply for reinstatement. The Board may require the applicant to complete an
examination or additional continuing education as a condition of the reinstatement.*

Customer receipts

The act requires the SHP Board to adopt rules establishing the information that
must be included in a hearing aid receipt.’> Continuing law requires each licensed
hearing aid dealer or fitter to furnish each person supplied with a hearing aid a receipt.
Prior law, repealed by the act, required the receipt to include:

e The licensee's signature, business address, and license certificate number;

e A complete description of the make and model of the furnished hearing
aid;

e The full terms of sale, including the terms of any guarantee;

e If the hearing aid sold was not new, a clear marking that the hearing aid
was "used" or "reconditioned";

e In type no smaller than that used in the body of the receipt, the following
statement:

The purchaser is advised that any examination, fitting,
recommendation, or representation made by a licensed
hearing aid dealer or fitter in connection with the sale of this
hearing aid is not an examination, diagnosis, or prescription
made by a person licensed to practice medicine in this state
and therefore must not be regarded as medical opinion or
advice.!

14R.C. 4747.12(B).
15 R.C. 4747.04(B).

16 R.C. 4747.09.
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Change of address notice

The act requires the SHP Board to adopt rules governing the amount of time a
licensee or permit holder has to notify the Board of a change in address or addresses.
The Board also must adopt rules for any other requirements relating to the notice.”

Continuing law requires a licensee or trainee permit holder to notify the SHP
Board in writing of the place where the person engages or intends to engage in the
business of dealing and fitting hearing aids. A licensee or permit holder also must
notify the Board in writing of any change in address. Prior law required a licensee or
permit holder to immediately inform the Board of the change. It also required the Board
to keep a record of past and current places of business for each licensee and permit
holder. The act eliminates a requirement that the Board, with respect to notices sent to a
licensee or permit holder under the Hearing Aid Dealers Law, mail the notice to the
licensee or trainee permit holder by certified mail at the licensee's or holder's current or
most recent business address as revealed by the Board's records.!®

Qualifying examination

Under the act, the SHP Board must establish the nature and scope of the
qualifying examination for a hearing aid dealer's or fitter's license, rather than design,
prepare, and revise the examination as under prior law.!” The act does not change the
following requirements:

(1) The examination must have written and practical portions that cover:

e Basic physics of sound;

The anatomy and physiology of the human ear;
e The function and purpose of hearing aids;

e Pure tone audiometry, including air conduction and bone conduction
testing;

e Live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry, including speech
reception threshold testing and speech discrimination testing;

e Masking techniques;

17 R.C. 4747.04(B).
18 R.C. 4747.11.

19R.C. 4747.04(A) and 4747.08.
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e Recording and evaluation of audiograms and speech audiometry to
determine proper selection and adaption of hearing aids;

e Earmold impression techniques.

(2) The examination must thoroughly test the knowledge required for the proper
selecting, fitting, and sale of hearing aids, but it may not be so difficult as to require a
medical or surgical education for successful completion.?

Public records exemption

The act specifies that test materials, examinations, answer keys, or evaluation
tools used in the Hearing Aid Dealers Law or Speech-Language Pathologists and
Audiologists Law, whether administered by the SHP Board or by a private or
government entity pursuant to a contract, are not public records under the Public
Records Law (R.C. Chapter 149.).”

Additional rules

The act requires the SHP Board to adopt any other reasonable rules necessary for
the administration of the Hearing Aid Dealers Law. The rules must be adopted in
accordance with the APA .2

Optical dispensing

Persons who wish to engage in optical dispensing must file an application for
examination with the State Vision Professionals Board or with a testing service with
which the Board has contracted. The act requires the application to be made using a
form provided by the Board, instead of permitting either the Board or the testing service
to provide the form, as under prior law. Under the act, the Board must provide to each
applicant all forms required to apply for examination.?

The act eliminates a requirement that the application be returned to the Board or
the testing service at least 60 days before the examination is administered.?

20 R.C. 4747.08

21 R C. 4747.08 and 4753.05(B).
22 R.C. 4747.04(B).

23 R.C. 4725.48 and 4725.49.

24R.C. 4725.48.

P=Legislative Service Commission -12- Sub. H.B. 420
As Passed by the General Assembly



A licensed dispensing optician may supervise up to three apprentices, who are
permitted to engage in optical dispensing under the optician's authority. To serve as an
apprentice, the act requires a person to register with the Board on a form provided by
the Board and also requires a statement giving the supervising optician's name and
address, the location at which the apprentice will be employed, and any other
information required by the Board. The apprentice must register annually for the
duration of the apprenticeship using both the provided form and the statement. Under
prior law, an apprentice could complete both the initial and annual registrations either
by registering on a Board-provided form or with a statement giving the required
information.?

Behavioral health providers and Medicaid criminal records checks

The act revises a recently enacted exemption to certain Medicaid criminal records
check requirements. Under S.B. 229 of the 132nd General Assembly, Medicaid providers
are authorized to employ a person whom the provider otherwise would be prohibited
from employing because of the requirements. (The exemption does not apply in the case
of persons who are subject to criminal records checks as employees or prospective
employees of any of the following: (1) providers of community-based long-term care
services covered by Department of Aging-administered programs, (2) home health
agencies, (3) hospice care programs, (4) pediatric respite care programs, (5) nursing
homes, (6) residential care facilities (i.e., assisted living facilities), (7) adult day-care
programs, (8) providers of specialized services to individuals with developmental
disabilities, and (9) providers of home and community-based services covered by
Department of Medicaid-administered waiver programs.) If the Medicaid provider
employs a person under the S.B. 229 exemption, the provider cannot submit Medicaid
claims for the person's services.?

The act limits the exemption created by S.B. 229, as follows:?

e To Medicaid providers of behavioral health services, which are alcohol
and drug addiction services, mental health services, or both;

e To employees and prospective employees who hold valid health
professional licenses issued under Ohio law granting authority to provide
behavioral health services or are in the process of obtaining such a license;

B R.C. 4725.52.
26 R.C. 5164.34.

27 R.C. 5164.34(I).
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e To employees and prospective employees who hold valid certificates as
peer recovery supporters or are in the process of obtaining such a
certificate. The Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services
has adopted rules for certification of peer recovery supporters. The rules
describe a peer recovery supporter as someone with a direct, lived
experience who has self-identified as being in recovery from a mental
health or substance use disorder.?

The act retains the requirement that Medicaid claims cannot be submitted for the

services.
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