

OHIO LEGISLATIVE SERVICE COMMISSION

**Final Analysis** 

Carlen Zhang-D'Souza

# Am. Sub. H.B. 300

132nd General Assembly (As Passed by the General Assembly)

- Reps. Barnes, Hambley, Boyd, Anielski, Antonio, Arndt, Ashford, Brown, Carfagna, Celebrezze, Craig, DeVitis, Edwards, Fedor, Galonski, Ginter, Greenspan, Holmes, Howse, Hughes, Ingram, T. Johnson, Kent, LaTourette, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Manning, O'Brien, Patterson, Patton, Perales, Rogers, Romanchuk, Ryan, Schaffer, Slaby, Sprague, M. Sweeney, Sykes, West, Young
- Sens. Beagle, Brown, Burke, Coley, Dolan, Eklund, Gardner, Hackett, Hill, Hoagland, Kunze, LaRose, Lehner, Manning, Oelslager, Schiavoni, Skindell, Sykes, Tavares, Terhar, Thomas, Uecker, Williams, Wilson

Effective date: April 8, 2019

### ACT SUMMARY

- Extends the period of validity, from four years to eight years, of a nondriver identification card issued to a permanently or irreversibly disabled individual.
- Exempts a permanently or irreversibly disabled individual who is unemployed from paying nondriver identification card fees.

### CONTENT AND OPERATION

#### Nondriver identification cards

#### Background

Generally, any Ohio resident (or temporary resident) who does not hold a driver's license from any state may apply to the Registrar of Motor Vehicles or a deputy registrar for a nondriver identification card. This card establishes the bearer's identity by displaying a color photograph and information similar to that found on a driver's license.<sup>1</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> R.C. 4507.50, 4507.51, not in the act, and 4507.52.

#### **Disabled individuals**

The act establishes an eight-year period of validity for a nondriver identification card issued to an Ohio resident who is permanently or irreversibly disabled (one who has a disability from which there is no present indication of recovery). That is, the card expires on the cardholder's birthday <u>eight</u> years after the date it is issued. The act retains a four-year period of validity for all other residents.<sup>2</sup>

And, a permanently or irreversibly disabled individual who is unemployed may apply for the card without paying the statutory fees, which currently total \$8.50.<sup>3</sup>

The act also requires the Registrar to do the following:

--Adopt rules governing the documentation necessary to certify that an individual is permanently or irreversibly disabled;

--Adopt rules governing the documentation necessary to certify that the individual is unemployed; and

--Issue a reminder notice to a cardholder, at the cardholder's last known address, six months before the identification card is scheduled to expire.<sup>4</sup>

## HISTORY

ACTION	DATE
Introduced Reported, H. State & Local Gov't Passed House (97-0) Reported, S. Local Gov't, Public Safety & Veterans Affairs Passed Senate (32-0) House concurred in Senate amendments (88-0)	06-29-17 11-30-17 01-31-18 12-04-18 12-27-18 12-27-18

18-HB300-132.docx/ts

<sup>2</sup> R.C. 4507.52(A)(8)(b).

<sup>4</sup> R.C. 4507.50(C) and 4507.52(A)(8)(b).



<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> R.C. 4507.50(C). Under continuing law, the \$8.50 is comprised of: \$3.50 for the card, \$3.50 for the deputy registrar transaction fee, and \$1.50 for lamination. And, a disabled veteran who has a service-connected disability also may obtain an identification card without paying the statutory fees. See R.C. 4507.50, 4507.52(A).