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SUMMARY

®  Prohibits a federally licensed firearms dealer from transferring a firearm to any person
unless the dealer complies with the relevant requirements under federal law, which
generally requires background checks through the National Instant Criminal Background
Check System.

" Prohibits any transfer of a firearm from a person who is not a federally licensed firearms
dealer to a person who is not a federally licensed firearms dealer unless the firearm is
transferred through a federally licensed firearms dealer, through a state or local law
enforcement agency, or pursuant to any of a list of specified exceptions.

®  Makes the penalty for a violation of the prohibitions a first, second, or fourth degree
misdemeanor and imposes a mandatory fine.

®  Requires that, when a firearm is transferred through a federally licensed firearms dealer
or through a state or local law enforcement agency, the dealer or agency must comply
with the relevant requirements under federal law, which generally requires background
checks through the National Instant Criminal Background Check System and under state
law, which generally requires incompetency records checks through the Ohio Attorney
General.

®  Requires that, immediately upon receipt, the Ohio Attorney General must conduct and
provide results of incompetency records checks to the requesting federally licensed
firearms dealer or law enforcement agency.

" Specifies that none of its provisions authorize the U.S. Attorney General to inspect
records or to require that the records be transferred to a facility owned, managed, or
controlled by the state of Ohio or the United States.
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DETAILED ANALYSIS

Illegal transfer of a firearm

Generally, the bill prohibits three types of firearm transfers:

The transfer of a firearm by a federally licensed firearms dealer to any person unless the
federally licensed firearms dealer complies with the relevant requirements under
federal law.’

The transfer of a firearm by an unlicensed transferor to an unlicensed transferee.’

The receipt of a firearm by an unlicensed transferee from an unlicensed transferor.?

A reckless violation of any of the prohibitions listed above is the offense of “illegal

transfer of a firearm.” The penalties for the offense are as follows:*

Generally: A fourth degree misdemeanor and a mandatory fine of up to $250 with no
additional financial sanctions;

If the offender previously has been convicted of the offense: A second degree
misdemeanor and a mandatory fine of up to $750 with no additional financial sanctions;

If the offender previously has been convicted of two or more violations of the offense: A
first degree misdemeanor and a mandatory fine of up to $1,000 with the possibility of
additional financial sanctions.

Each of these prohibitions is discussed in detail below.

Firearm transfer by federally licensed firearms dealer

The bill prohibits a “federally licensed firearms dealer” from transferring a firearm to

any person unless the dealer complies with the proper requirements under federal law. Under
the bill, a “federally licensed firearms dealer” is an importer, manufacturer, or dealer having a
license to deal in destructive devices or their ammunition, issued and in effect pursuant to the
federal “Gun Control Act of 1968,” and any amendments or additions to that Act or
reenactments of that Act (by reference to R.C. 5502.63, which is not in the bill).”

'R.C. 2923.26(B).

2 R.C. 2923.26(C).

*R.C. 2923.26(D).

*R.C. 2923.26(J) and 2929.28(A)(4).
> R.C. 2923.26(A)(1) and (B).
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Firearm transfer by person who is not a federally licensed firearms
dealer

The bill prohibits an “unlicensed transferor” from transferring a firearm to an
“unlicensed transferee,” unless (1) the firearm is transferred through a federally licensed
firearms dealer, transferred through a law enforcement agency, or is exempt from the bill’s
prohibition (see “Firearms transfers exempt from the bill’s prohibitions,” below)
and (2) the firearm is transferred in accordance with the transfer requirements (see
“Transfer through federally licensed firearms dealer,” below). An “unlicensed
transferee” is a person who is not a federally licensed firearms dealer and who desires to
receive a firearm from an unlicensed transferor. An “unlicensed transferor” is a person who is
not a federally licensed firearms dealer and who desires to transfer a firearm to an unlicensed
transferee.’

Receipt of firearm by person who is not a federally licensed firearms
dealer

The bill prohibits an “unlicensed transferee” from receiving a firearm from an
“unlicensed transferor,” unless (1) the firearm is transferred through a federally licensed
firearms dealer, transferred through a law enforcement agency, or is exempt from the bill’s
prohibition (see “Firearms transfers exempt from the bill’s prohibitions,” below)
and (2) the firearm is transferred in accordance with the transfer requirements (see
“Transfer through law enforcement agency,” below).’

Transfer requirements
Prohibiting or authorizing notice

Under the bill, the federally licensed firearms dealer or law enforcement agency through
which the transfer is made must give a specified “authorizing notice” to the transferor and
transferee. The “authorizing notice” is notice that the federally licensed firearms dealer or law
enforcement agency, whichever is applicable, has received information from the National
Instant Criminal Background Check (NICBC) System or the Ohio Attorney General that the
transfer is not prohibited under federal law or any Ohio law. If the transfer is made through a
federally licensed firearms dealer, the “authorizing notice” is notice of the dealer’s compliance
with the provisions described below in paragraph (3)(a) under “Transfer through
federally licensed firearms dealer.” If the transfer is made through a law enforcement
agency, the “authorizing notice” is notice of the agency’s compliance with the provisions
described below in paragraph (5)(a) under “Transfer through law enforcement
agency.”®

®R.C. 2923.26(A)(2), (3), and (C)(1).
’R.C. 2923.26(D)(1).
8 R.C. 2923.26(C)(1)(b) and (D)(1)(b).
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Under the bill, the federally licensed firearms dealer or law enforcement agency through
which the transfer is made must give a specified “prohibiting notice” to the transferor and
transferee. The “prohibiting notice” is notice that the federally licensed firearms dealer or law
enforcement agency, whichever is applicable, has received information from the National
Instant Criminal Background Check (NICBC) System or the Ohio Attorney General that the
transfer is prohibited under federal law or any Ohio law. If the transfer is made through a
federally licensed firearms dealer, the “prohibiting notice” is notice of the dealer’s compliance
with the provisions described below in paragraph (3)(b) under “Transfer through
federally licensed firearms dealer.” If the transfer is made through a law enforcement
agency, the “prohibiting notice” is notice of the agency’s compliance with the provisions
described below in paragraph (5)(b) under “Transfer through law enforcement
agency.”’

Transfer through federally licensed firearms dealer

Under the bill, a federally licensed firearms dealer who agrees to assist in the transfer of
a firearm between an unlicensed transferor and an unlicensed transferee must do all of the
foIIowing:10

1. Comply with provisions of federal law as if transferring the firearm from the inventory of
the dealer to the unlicensed transferee, except that a dealer assisting in the transfer of a
firearm is not required to comply again with the requirements of those provisions in
delivering the firearm to the unlicensed transferee;

2. Conduct an incompetency records check by contacting the Ohio Attorney General and
requesting a check of the following records to determine whether the acquisition or
possession of the firearm by the unlicensed transferee would be prohibited under any
Ohio law: (a) notice that the transferee has been found by a court to be a mentally ill
person subject to a court order, or (b) notice that the transferee has become an
involuntary patient, other than one who is a patient only for purposes of observation;

3. Notify the unlicensed transferor and unlicensed transferee of whichever of the following
is applicable after compliance with (1) and (2) above: (a) the transfer of the firearm is
not prohibited under federal law or any Ohio law, or (b) the dealer has received notice
from the NICBC System or the Ohio Attorney General that the transfer of the firearm is
prohibited under federal law or any Ohio law.

Transfer through law enforcement agency

A law enforcement agency of the state of Ohio or of an Ohio political subdivision that
agrees to assist an unlicensed transferor in carrying out the responsibilities of the transferor
must do all of the following:**

9 R.C. 2923.26(C)(2) and (D)(2).
10 R.C. 2923.26(E) and 5122.311(A).
11 R.C. 2923.26(F) and 5122.311(A).
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Contact the NICBC System and either receive an identification number or wait the
period specified under federal law (the elapsing of three business days after the licensed
dealer, manufacturer, or importer contacted the system without the system notifying
the licensed dealer, manufacturer, or importer that the receipt of a firearm by the other
person would violate federal law);

Conduct an incompetency records check by contacting the Ohio Attorney General and
requesting a check of the following records to determine whether the acquisition or
possession of the firearm by the unlicensed transferee would be prohibited under any
Ohio law: (a) notice that the transferee has been found by a court to be a mentally ill
person subject to a court order, or (b) notice that the transferee has become an
involuntary patient, other than one who is a patient only for purposes of observation;

Conduct any other checks that the agency considers appropriate to determine whether
the receipt or possession of the firearm by the unlicensed transferee would be
prohibited under federal law or any Ohio law;

Verify the identity of the unlicensed transferee by either examining a valid
“identification document” of the unlicensed transferee containing a photograph of the
unlicensed transferee or confirming that the unlicensed transferor has examined such a
valid identification document;

Notify the unlicensed transferor and unlicensed transferee of whichever of the following
is applicable after compliance with (1) to (4) above: (a) the transfer of the firearm is not
prohibited under federal law or any Ohio law, or (b) the dealer has received notice from
the NICBC System or the Ohio Attorney General that the transfer of the firearm is
prohibited under federal law or any Ohio law.

Firearms transfers exempt from the bill’s prohibitions

The bill’s prohibitions regarding the transfer or receipt of a firearm by a person who is

not a licensed firearms dealer do not apply to any transfer of a firearm if any of the following
apply with respect to the transfer:*?

It is temporary and occurs while in the home of the unlicensed transferee, the
unlicensed transferee is not otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms, and the
unlicensed transferee believes that possession of the firearm is necessary to prevent
imminent death or great bodily harm to the unlicensed transferee.

It is a temporary transfer of possession without transfer of title that takes place in any of
the following circumstances: (1) at a shooting range located in or on premises owned or
occupied by a duly incorporated organization organized for conservation purposes or to
foster proficiency in firearms, (2) at a target firearm shooting competition under the
auspices of or approved by an agency of this state or a nonprofit organization, or
(3) while hunting, fishing, or trapping, if the activity is legal in all places where the

12 r.C. 2923.26(G).
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unlicensed transferee possesses the firearm, and the unlicensed transferee holds any
required license or permit.

" |t is to an authorized representative of a law enforcement agency of any municipal
corporation, any county, the state of Ohio, or the federal government for exclusive use
by that governmental entity and, prior to the transfer, written authorization from the
head of the agency authorizing the transaction is presented to the person from whom
the transfer is being made. The proper written authorization must be verifiable written
certification from the head of the agency by which the transferee is employed,
identifying the employee as an individual authorized to conduct the transaction, and
authorizing the transaction for the exclusive use of the agency by which that person is
employed.

® |t is a loan of the firearm by an authorized law enforcement representative of a
municipal corporation, a county, the state of Ohio, or the federal government, and the
loan is made to a peace officer employed by that governmental entity and authorized to
carry a firearm and is made for the carrying and use of that firearm by that peace officer
in the course and scope of the officer’s duties.

" |tis by a law enforcement agency to a peace officer.

® |t is to an authorized representative of a municipal corporation, a county, the state of
Ohio, or the federal government and is for the governmental entity, and the entity is
acquiring the firearm as part of an authorized, voluntary program in which the entity is
buying or receiving weapons from private individuals.

® |t is by an authorized law enforcement representative of a municipal corporation, a
county, the state of Ohio, or the federal government to any public or private nonprofit
historical society, museum, or institutional collection, if all of the following conditions
are met: (1) the entity receiving the firearm is open to the public, (2) prior to delivery,
the firearm is deactivated or rendered inoperable, (3) the firearm is not of a type
prohibited by law from being transferred to the public at large, and (4) prior to delivery,
the entity receiving the firearm submits a written statement to the law enforcement
representative stating that the firearm will not be restored to operating condition and
either will remain with that entity, or if subsequently disposed of, will be transferred in
accordance with law.

® |tis by any person other than a representative of an authorized law enforcement agency
to any public or private nonprofit historical society, museum, or institutional collection,
if all of the conditions set forth in the prior paragraph are met.

® |t is delivery of a firearm to a gunsmith for service or repair, is the return of the firearm
to its owner by the gunsmith, or is the delivery of a firearm by a gunsmith to a federally
licensed firearms dealer for service or repair or the return of the firearm to the
gunsmith.
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® |t is made by a person who resides in Ohio, is made to a person who resides outside
Ohio and is a federally licensed firearms dealer, and is in accordance with federal
firearms law.

® |tis of an unloaded firearm to a wholesaler as merchandise in the wholesaler’s business
by a manufacturer or importer licensed to engage in that business pursuant to federal
firearms law or by another wholesaler and is made in accordance with federal firearms
law.

Fee for assistance in firearms transfer

The bill authorizes a federally licensed firearms dealer or law enforcement agency that
processes the transfer of a firearm under the bill’s provisions to assess and collect a fee, in an
amount not to exceed $10, with respect to each firearm transfer processed.13

Attorney General
Conducting incompetency records checks

Under the bill, when a federally licensed firearms dealer or law enforcement agency
requests an incompetency records check, the Ohio Attorney General must conduct and provide
the results of the check to the federally licensed firearms dealer or law enforcement agency
immediately upon receipt of the request.14

Under current law, a probate judge that adjudicates an individual a mentally ill person
or a chief clinical officer of the hospital, community mental health services provider, or facility
that commits an individual as an involuntary patient, other than one who is a patient only for
purposes of observation, must transmit notification of the individual’s identity to the Ohio
Attorney General within seven days of the adjudication or commitment. The Ohio Attorney
General must then compile and maintain the notices for the purpose of conducting
incompetency records checks.™

Inspection or transfer of records

The bill specifies that nothing in the above provisions are to be construed to authorize
the U.S. Attorney General to inspect records or to require that the records be transferred to a
facility owned, managed, or controlled by the state of Ohio or the United States.®

13R.C. 2923.26(H).
1 R.C.5122.311(B).
1>R.C. 5122.311(A).
18 R.C. 2923.26(1).
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Background
Prohibited transfers under federal law

Currently, federal law prohibits a firearms dealer, manufacturer, or importer who is
licensed under federal law, subject to a few limited exceptions, from transferring a firearm to
another person who is not a licensed firearms dealer, manufacturer, or importer unless all of
the following occur:*’

1. Before completion of the transfer, the licensed dealer, manufacturer, or importer
contacts the NICBC System administered by the U.S. Attorney General (when contacted,
the system conducts a criminal background check).

2. Either the system provides the licensed dealer, manufacturer, or importer with a unique
identification number for the transfer, or three business days elapse without the
licensed dealer, manufacturer, or importer being notified that the receipt of a firearm
by the other person would violate either of two specified “receipt prohibitions” of
federal law that prohibit certain categories of persons from receiving any firearm that
has been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign commerce.

3. The licensed dealer, manufacturer, or importer has verified the identity of the other
person by examining a valid identification document of that person containing a
photograph of that person.

An “identification document” is a document made or issued by or under the authority of
the U.S. government, the state of Ohio, or any other state, a political subdivision of Ohio or any
other state, a sponsoring entity of an event designated as a special event of national
significance, a foreign government, a political subdivision of a foreign government, an
international governmental organization, or an international quasi-governmental organization
that, when completed with information concerning a particular individual, is of a type intended
or commonly accepted for the purpose of identification of individuals.

Prohibited receipt under federal law

Federal law currently prohibits certain categories of persons from receiving a firearm
that has been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign commerce. Two of those
prohibitions are relevant to the bill. The first relevant federal receipt prohibition specifies that it
is unlawful for a person to possess in or affecting commerce, any firearm or ammunition, or to
receive any firearm or ammunition that has been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign
commerce, if the person:*®

1. Has been convicted in a court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term
exceeding one year;

2. Is afugitive from justice;

1718 U.S.C. § 922(t), not in the bill and R.C. 2923.26(A).
18 18 U.S.C. § 922(g), not in the bill.
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3. Is an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance;
4. Has been adjudicated as a mental defective or committed to a mental institution;

5. Is an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States or, subject to a specified
exception, who has been admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant visa;

6. Has been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions;
7. Having been a citizen of the United States, has renounced his or her citizenship;

8. Is subject to a court order of a specified nature that restrains the person from harassing,
stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of the person or child of the intimate
partner or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in
reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child;

9. Has been convicted in a court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.

The second relevant federal “receipt prohibition” specifies that it is unlawful for any
person who is under indictment for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding
one year to receive any firearm or ammunition that has been shipped or transported in
interstate or foreign commerce.*

HISTORY

“

Introduced 02-26-19

S0063-1-133/ks

1918 U.S.C. § 922(n), not in the bill.
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