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SUMMARY 

Income tax 

 Allows teachers to claim an income tax deduction of up to $250 for amounts paid out-
of-pocket for professional development and classroom supplies. 

 Removes a provision that makes income earned from the practice of law or from 
lobbying ineligible for the business income deduction and 3% flat tax rate. 

 Requires all taxpayers claiming the business income deduction to indicate on their tax 
returns the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes associated with 
each source of their business income. 

 Delays the repeal of the income tax credit for contributions to campaigns for state 
offices until taxable years beginning in or after 2020. 

 Delays the repeal of the income tax credit for a pass-through entity investor’s share of 
the entity’s financial institutions tax (FIT) until taxable years beginning in or after 2020. 

Sales and use tax 

 Exempts from sales and use tax the sale of feminine hygiene products associated with 
menstruation. 

 Exempts from sales and use tax the sale of prescription diapers or incontinence pads 
covered by Medicaid. 

                                                      

* This analysis was prepared before the report of the House Finance Committee appeared in the House 
Journal. Note that the legislative history may be incomplete. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA133-SB-26
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Public Office Compensation Advisory Commission 

 Abolishes the Public Office Compensation Advisory Commission. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Income tax deduction for teacher expenses 

The bill authorizes Ohio teachers to deduct up to $250 of unreimbursed expenses 
incurred each year for professional development and classroom supplies. 

The deduction piggy-backs on an existing federal income tax deduction for teacher 
expenses. As with the federal deduction, the Ohio deduction would apply to the following 
expenses, when not reimbursed to the teacher: 

1. Books, supplies, computers and other equipment, and supplementary materials used in 
the classroom. With respect to supplies for a health or physical education class, the 
deduction only applies to amounts spent on athletic supplies. 

2. Expenses paid to participate in professional development courses related to the 
teacher’s curriculum or students. 

To qualify, a teacher must be licensed in Ohio or hold an Ohio-issued certificate or 
permit and be eligible for the federal deduction. Persons eligible for the federal deduction 
include any kindergarten through 12th grade teacher, instructor, counselor, principal, or aide 
who works in a primary or secondary school for at least 900 hours per school year. 

The deduction applies to expenses that exceed what the teacher may claim as a federal 
deduction. For example, if a teacher incurs $350 of qualifying expenses in a year, the teacher 
may claim $250 as a federal deduction, and the remaining $100 as a deduction from Ohio taxes. 
(The first $250 deduction is already factored into the teacher’s Ohio tax liability, since Ohio uses 
federal adjusted gross income as the starting point on the Ohio income tax return and the 
federal deduction directly reduces FAGI.)1 The deduction would be allowed for taxable years 
beginning in or after 2020.2 

Business income deduction 

The bill removes a recently enacted provision that excludes income earned from the 
practice of law or lobbying from being eligible for the business income deduction and 3% flat 
tax rate. The exclusion, enacted in H.B. 166, applies specifically to income from (1) legal services 
provided by an attorney admitted to practice in Ohio or registered as corporate counsel in Ohio 
or (2) lobbying activity by a person required to register with the Joint Legislative Ethics 

                                                      

1 R.C. 5747.01(A)(34) and (JJ) and 26 U.S.C. 62. 
2 Section 3 of the bill. 
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Committee.3 The exclusion currently is scheduled to apply to taxable years beginning in or after 
2020.4 

The bill specifies that taxpayers having business income and required to make estimated 
tax payments in 2020 must calculate payment amounts based on their annual tax liability 
assuming repeal of the business income deduction exclusion.5 That is, a taxpayer whose 2020 
tax liability is affected by the bill’s repeal of the exclusion must compute estimated payments as 
if the taxpayer may claim the business income deduction for 2020. 

The bill also requires taxpayers claiming the business income deduction to indicate on 
their tax returns the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code or codes for 
each of the business or professional activities from which their business income was derived, 
pursuant to administrative rules adopted by the Department of Taxation.6 

The repeal of the business income deduction exclusion and the enactment of the NAICS 
code reporting requirement apply to taxable years beginning in or after 2020.7 

Delays application of repealed tax credits 

H.B. 166 repealed two income tax credits: (1) the credit for campaign contributions and 
(2) the credit for a pass-through entity investor’s share of the entity’s financial institutions tax 
(FIT). The credits were repealed for taxable years beginning in 2019 or thereafter.8 The bill 
delays the application date to taxable years beginning in 2020 or thereafter.9 

The campaign contribution tax credit is a nonrefundable credit for contributions made 
to the campaign committees of candidates for a state office (e.g., Governor or member of the 
General Assembly). The credit may not exceed $50 per individual taxpayer.10 

The second repealed tax credit allows a taxpayer that owns a pass-through interest in a 
financial institution to claim an income tax credit that offsets the owner’s share of the 
institution’s FIT tax payments. The refundable credit equals the owner’s proportionate share of 
the lesser of the FIT due or paid during the taxable year.11 

                                                      

3 R.C. 5747.01(A)(31), (B)(2), and (HH). 
4 Section 757.150(C) of H.B. 166. 
5 Section 6(B) of the bill. 
6 R.C. 5747.08(L). The rules must be adopted in accordance with the general administrative rules 
procedures in R.C. Chapter 119. 
7 Section 6(A) of the bill. 
8 Section 757.150(B) of H.B. 166 (referring to R.C. 5747.29 and 5747.65). 
9 Section 4 of the bill. 
10 R.C. 5747.29, not in the bill. 
11 R.C. 5747.65, not in the bill. 
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Feminine hygiene product sales tax exemption  

The bill exempts from sales and use tax feminine hygiene products principally used in 
connection with the menstrual cycle, e.g., tampons, panty liners, menstrual cups, and sanitary 
napkins. The exemption does not extend to general grooming and hygiene products such as 
soaps, cleaning solutions, and shampoo.12 Unlike with many other sales and use tax 
exemptions, a consumer will not be required to furnish an exemption certificate to the vendor 
as a condition of obtaining the exemption.13 The exemption applies to all such items purchased 
on or after the first day of the first full month that begins at least 30 days after the bill’s 
effective date.14 

Sales tax exemption: Medicaid-covered incontinence products 

The bill authorizes a sales and use tax exemption for prescription adult diapers and 
incontinence pads, provided the products are (1) purchased by or for a person who has been 
diagnosed as incontinent and (2) covered, i.e., reimbursed, by Medicaid. An incontinence pad is 
defined to be an absorbent product not worn on the body that is designed to protect furniture 
and other items from damage from human incontinence.15 The exemption applies beginning on 
the first day of the first month that begins at least 30 days after the bill’s effective date.16 

Current law exempts from sales and use tax durable medical equipment, mobility 
enhancement equipment, and prosthetic devices purchased pursuant to a prescription.17 
However, the Tax Commissioner considers diapers and incontinence pads to fall outside those 
categories, thus subjecting them to sales and use tax.18 Currently the only circumstance under 
which a diaper is specifically exempted from sales and use tax is if the diaper is purchased 
during the state’s three-day clothing and school supply “sales tax holiday.”19 

Public Office Compensation Advisory Commission 

The bill abolishes the Public Office Compensation Advisory Commission, which is 
required to submit proposed compensation plans and reports annually by October 15, detailing 
the Commission’s recommendations for the compensation of the officers whose salaries are 

                                                      

12 R.C. 5739.01(TT) and 5739.02(B)(57). 
13 R.C. 5739.03. 
14 Section 6(C) of the bill. 
15 R.C. 5739.02(B)(56). 
16

 Section 6(C) of the bill. 
17 R.C. 5739.02(B)(19). 
18 See Appendix L (“Health Care Item List”) to Information Release ST 2010, “Sales and Use Tax: Drugs, 
Durable Medical Equipment, Mobility Enhancing Equipment, and Prosthetic Devices,” Ohio Department 
of Taxation (2010, rev. 2019), available at https://www.tax.ohio.gov/Portals/0/ 
sales_and_use/information_releases/ST%202010-03%20appendix-l-health-care-list-2018-5-2.pdf. 
19 R.C. 5739.02(B)(55). 

https://www.tax.ohio.gov/Portals/0/%20sales_and_use/information_releases/ST%202010-03%20appendix-l-health-care-list-2018-5-2.pdf
https://www.tax.ohio.gov/Portals/0/%20sales_and_use/information_releases/ST%202010-03%20appendix-l-health-care-list-2018-5-2.pdf
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fixed by the General Assembly. The Commission was created by S.B. 296 of the 132nd General 
Assembly, which took effect December 27, 2018, meaning that the Commission’s first report is 
due on October 15, 2019. It appears that the Commission’s members have not yet been 
appointed. 

Existing law specifies that the Commission consists of nine members appointed to serve 
two-year terms as follows: two by the Governor, two by the Senate President, two by the 
Speaker of the House, one by the Senate Minority Leader, one by the House Minority Leader, 
and one by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. The Commission must select its chairperson 
by vote of at least five of its members. Members do not receive compensation, but must be 
reimbursed for actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.20 

HISTORY 

Action Date 

Introduced 

Reported, S. Ways & Means 

02-12-19 

05-08-19 

Passed Senate (32-0) 05-08-19 

Reported, H. Ways & Means 10-01-19 

Reported, H. Finance --- 
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20 R.C. 101.61, repealed. 


