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SUMMARY 

 Increases the homestead exemption from property taxation or the manufactured home 
tax from $25,000 to $30,000 of a home’s appraised value or cost. 

 Raises the income means test, currently $32,800 in Ohio adjusted gross income, to 
$60,000. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Homestead exemption 

Continuing law provides a property tax credit for the residence, or “homestead,” of 
certain qualifying individuals. Under current law, this “homestead exemption” equals the taxes 
that would be charged on up to $25,000 of the true value of a home owned by a qualified 
elderly or disabled homeowner. (“True value” is the appraised fair market value.) Current law 
essentially exempts $25,000 of the value of a homestead from taxation. The amount of the tax 
savings for a qualifying homestead depends on the local tax rate: the higher the tax rate, the 
greater the tax reduction. According to the Department of Taxation, the average annual tax 
savings is about $495 for homeowners who are not disabled veterans. Under continuing law, a 
special “enhanced” exemption of $50,000 is available for homes of military veterans who are 
totally disabled. 

The bill increases the $25,000 homestead exemption to up to $30,000 of the true value 
of a home owned by a qualified elderly or disabled homeowner. Under continuing law, the 
credit also applies to manufactured and mobile homes regardless of whether they are taxed as 
real property or taxed under the manufactured home tax (except that manufactured and 
mobile homes are assessed at 40% of cost or market value and are depreciated over time). 

The $25,000 homestead exemption, increased to $30,000 in the bill, is available only to 
homeowners who are 65 years of age or older, permanently and totally disabled, or at least 
59 years old and the surviving spouse of an individual who previously received the exemption. 
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Homeowners who would first receive the exemption for tax year 2014 (or tax year 2015 for 
homeowners who pay the manufactured home tax) must have an Ohio adjusted gross income 
of $32,800 or less, as computed for state income tax purposes. (This income limit is increased 
each year to adjust for inflation.)  

The bill raises the income eligibility requirement to $60,000 or less in Ohio adjusted 
gross income. (This income limit will continue to be increased each year to adjust for inflation.) 
Under continuing law, homeowners who received the exemption before 2014 are not subject 
to the income limit, and no income limit applies to the $50,000 exemption for disabled 
veterans.1  

Application date 

The homestead exemption modifications authorized by the bill begin to apply in tax year 
2019 or, in the case of homes that are subject to the manufactured home tax, in tax year 2020. 
The difference in application is accounted for by the fact that the manufactured home tax is 
payable on a current-year basis, whereas the property tax is payable in arrears.2 
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1 R.C. 323.152 and 4503.065. 
2 Section 3. 


