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SUMMARY 

 Increases the basic state minimum wage to $12.00 per hour beginning January 1, 2020. 

 Increases the basic state hourly minimum wage rate by $1.00 each year for the 
following three years, beginning January 1 of the respective year. 

  Increases the state hourly minimum wage rate for tipped employees to $6.00 per hour 
beginning January 1, 2020. 

 Increases the state hourly minimum wage for tipped employees by $.50 each year for 
the following three years, beginning January 1 of the respective year. 

 Requires, beginning January 1, 2024, the minimum wage rates to be adjusted annually 
based on the Consumer Price Index, in accordance with Ohio’s constitutional minimum 
wage requirements. 

 Allows a municipal corporation, township, or county to establish within the jurisdiction 
of the respective political subdivision a local minimum wage rate that exceeds the 
minimum wage rate required under state law. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

State minimum wage for nontipped employees 

The bill raises the state minimum wage rate to $12.00 per hour beginning January 1, 
2020. (Because this date has passed, it is unclear when the bill would be implemented. An 
amendment may be necessary to address this issue.) It also increases the hourly minimum 
wage by $1.00 each year for the following three years. The following table identifies the 
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minimum wage under the bill an employee who does not receive tips must be paid during the 
listed year:1 

Year 
Hourly wage rate  

(nontipped employee) 

2020 $12.00 

2021 $13.00 

2022 $14.00 

2023 $15.00 

 

Under current law, the basic state minimum wage is $8.70 per hour. The basic state 
minimum wage is currently set pursuant to the Minimum Wage Amendment of the Ohio 
Constitution (MWA). The MWA requires the basic state minimum wage to be increased 
annually according to the Consumer Price Index or its successor index for all urban wage 
earners and clerical workers for all items as calculated by the federal government, rounded to 
the nearest five cents. However, the MWA allows laws to be passed that set the state minimum 
wage at a rate higher than the rate calculated pursuant to the MWA.2 The bill establishes 
scheduled increases in the minimum wage rate and, beginning January 1, 2024, requires the 
Director of Commerce, who administers and enforces the law, to adjust the minimum wage 
rate annually in accordance with the MWA.3 

The bill applies the minimum wage rates listed above to employees who are under 16 
years of age or who are employed by a business with gross annual receipts of $319,000 or less 
in 2019. Currently, pursuant to the MWA, these employees must be paid at least the federal 
minimum wage rate, which is $7.25 per hour. Under the MWA, the amount of gross annual 
receipts is adjusted annually based on the Consumer Price Index.4 

                                                      

1 R.C. 4111.02(A)(1). 
2 Ohio Constitution, Article II, Section 34a; Ohio Department of Commerce Division of Industrial 
Compliance, State of Ohio 2019 Minimum Wage, 
https://www.com.ohio.gov/documents/dico_2020MinimumWageposter.pdf. 
3 R.C. 4111.02, with conforming changes in R.C. 4111.09 and 4111.14. (R.C. 4111.02(B) appears to 
contain a drafting error. The bill references division (A)(1)(g) of the section, which does not exist. It 
appears that the bill should have referenced division (A)(1)(d) of the section.) 
4 R.C. 4111.02; Ohio Const., art. II, sec. 34a; 29 United States Code (U.S.C.) 206; Ohio Department of 
Commerce Division of Industrial Compliance, State of Ohio 2019 Minimum Wage, 
https://www.com.ohio.gov/documents/dico_2020MinimumWageposter.pdf. 

https://www.com.ohio.gov/documents/dico_2020MinimumWageposter.pdf
https://www.com.ohio.gov/documents/dico_2020MinimumWageposter.pdf
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State minimum wage for tipped employees 

Under continuing law, tipped employees may be paid less than, but not less than half, 
the basic state minimum wage rate if the employer is able to demonstrate that the employee 
receives tips that combined with the wages paid by the employer are equal to or greater than 
the state minimum wage rate for all hours worked. Because the bill raises the state minimum 
wage, the minimum wage for tipped employees (currently $4.35 per hour) would also increase. 
The following table identifies the minimum wage under the bill a tipped employee must be paid 
during the listed year:5 

Year 
Hourly wage rate  

(tipped employee) 

2020 $6.00 

2021 $6.50 

2022 $7.00 

2023 $7.50 

 

Apprentices 

The bill also eliminates the authority of the Director to adopt rules permitting the 
employment of apprentices at a wage rate not less than 85% of the state minimum wage. The 
Director has not adopted these rules.6 

Relationship between state and federal law 

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act7 (FLSA) and Ohio’s minimum wage laws both 
specify minimum wages that an employer must pay the employer’s employees. An employer 
may be subject to one or both laws. The FLSA specifies that if an employer is subject to both 
laws, the employer is governed by the law that establishes the higher minimum wage, or, for 
purposes of determining overtime, the lower maximum workweek.8 Currently, Ohio has the 
same maximum workweek as specified in the FLSA (40 hours per week) but has a higher basic 
minimum wage ($8.70 in 2020) as compared to the basic minimum wage under the FLSA ($7.25 

                                                      
5 R.C. 4111.02(A)(2); Ohio Const., art. II, sec. 34a; Ohio Department of Commerce Division of Industrial 
Compliance, State of Ohio 2019 Minimum Wage, 
https://www.com.ohio.gov/documents/dico_2020MinimumWageposter.pdf. 
6 R.C. 4111.07 (repealed). 
7 29 U.S.C. 201 et seq. 
8 29 U.S.C. 218. 

https://www.com.ohio.gov/documents/dico_2020MinimumWageposter.pdf
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per hour). Thus, employers subject to both laws pay the state rate under current law and under 
the bill. 

Political subdivision authority to set a minimum wage 

The bill allows a municipal corporation, township, or county to establish within the 
jurisdiction of the respective political subdivision a local minimum wage rate that exceeds the 
minimum wage rate required under state law. The bill requires an employer who is subject to 
more than one minimum wage requirement to pay the employer’s employees the highest 
minimum wage, notwithstanding the requirement that if a charter county resolution or home 
rule township resolution conflicts with a municipal ordinance, the municipal ordinance prevails. 
Under current law, a political subdivision is prohibited from establishing a minimum wage rate 
that differs from state law.9 (See COMMENT, below.) 

COMMENT 

It is unclear whether a political subdivision has the authority to adopt an ordinance or 
resolution setting a minimum wage for the private sector. 

Under Article XVIII, Section 3 of the Ohio Constitution (the “Home Rule Amendment”), 
municipal corporations have the authority to adopt and enforce, within their limits, local police, 
sanitary, and similar regulations that do not conflict with general laws. Under Section 34, Article 
II of the Ohio Constitution (“Section 34”), the General Assembly may pass laws fixing and 
regulating the hours of labor, establishing a minimum wage, and providing for the general 
welfare of all employees. Under Section 34, no other provision of the Constitution may impair 
or limit the General Assembly’s power under Section 34. 

The MWA, however, states: 

Laws may be passed to implement its provisions and 
create additional remedies, increase the minimum wage rate and 
extend the coverage of the section, but in no manner restricting 
any provision of the section or the power of municipalities under 
Article XVIII of this constitution with respect to the same.10 

Because no court case appears to have determined how the Home Rule Amendment, 
Section 34, and the MWA interact, the constitutionality of a state law that allows a political 
subdivision to adopt its own minimum wage is unclear. 

Additionally, it is unclear if the provision is an impermissible delegation of legislative 
authority. As discussed above, the Ohio Constitution directly grants the General Assembly the 
power to enact laws setting a minimum wage. It is not clear whether any political subdivision 

                                                      
9 R.C. 4111.02(C), by reference to R.C. 302.13 and 504.04(D), not in the bill. 
10 Ohio Const., art. II, sec. 34a. 
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has the authority under the Constitution. Thus, it is not clear whether the General Assembly can 
delegate this power.  

HISTORY 

Action Date 

Introduced 02-12-19 
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