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Highlights 

 The state will lose, at most, a minimal amount of court cost revenue annually that might 
otherwise have been collected from certain concealed carry violators pursuant to the 
order of the sentencing court. State court cost revenues are credited to the Indigent 
Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) and the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund 
(Fund 4020). 

 County and municipal criminal justice systems may realize an annual savings effect, as 
there will likely be some reduction in the prosecution and sanctioning of individuals for 
concealed carry violations. There is also likely to be an associated revenue loss in terms 
of court costs, fees, and fines that might otherwise have been collected. 

Detailed Analysis 

Under current law, when stopped for a law enforcement purpose as the driver or 
occupant of a motor vehicle, a concealed handgun licensee who is carrying a concealed 
handgun is required to promptly inform any law enforcement officer who approaches the 
person that the person has a concealed handgun license and is carrying a concealed handgun. A 
violation of this requirement is generally a first degree misdemeanor – punishable by not more 
than 180 days in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or both – and the appropriate county sheriff is 
required to suspend the person’s concealed handgun license for one year.  

Under the bill, the same person in the same situation is required to display their 
concealed handgun license or orally inform the officer that the person has such a license, to 
display the person’s driver’s license or state identification card, and to disclose that the person 
is carrying a concealed handgun. The penalty for a violation of this duty to notify is an 
unclassified misdemeanor for which the offender may be fined not more than $25. Unlike 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA133-HB-425
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current law in this circumstance, the offender is not subject to either arrest, a jail term, or a 
concealed handgun license suspension. 

From CY 2014 through CY 2018, an average of 19 charges for failure to notify a law 
enforcement officer were filed annually with the Franklin County Municipal Court. This suggests 
that a corresponding statewide average would likely be fewer than 200 charges annually under 
current law – a number likely to decline under the bill.  

The table below shows the number of violations reported by law enforcement agencies 
to the Ohio Incident-Based Reporting System (OIBRS) in CY 2019 by county.  

 

Carrying Concealed Weapon Duty to Notify Violations, Calendar Year 2019 (Total: 87*) 

County 
# of 

Violations 
County 

# of 
Violations 

County 
# of 

Violations 

Allen 2 Fairfield 1 Pickaway 1 

Butler 2 Franklin 17 Portage 1 

Carroll 1 Hamilton 10 Putnam 1 

Champaign 1 Hocking 1 Richland  1 

Clermont 1 Huron 1 Stark 1 

Columbiana 1 Knox 2 Summit 8 

Cuyahoga 7 Lake 3 Van Wert 1 

Delaware 1 Medina 2 Washington 1 

Erie 1 Montgomery 9 Unknown** 9 

*These statistics are based upon information voluntarily reported to OIBRS by participating law enforcement agencies as of February 10, 
2020, and may not reflect all violations statewide, since not all Ohio law enforcement agencies’ data are available through OIBRS. 

**Reflects incidents reported by statewide agencies, including eight Ohio State Highway Patrol citations and one Ohio Department of 
Natural Resources citation. The county in which each violation occurred is unknown. 

 

There will be a savings effect created for county and municipal criminal justice systems 
because of having fewer persons to arrest, prosecute, and sanction (including license 
suspension) for concealed carry violations. There will also be a related loss in court costs, fees, 
and fines that might otherwise have been collected from persons convicted of a concealed 
carry violation. The net annual fiscal effect of the expenditure savings and related revenue loss 
for any given local jurisdiction is likely to be minimal. 

The state will lose, at most, a minimal amount of court cost revenue annually that might 
otherwise have been collected from certain concealed carry violators pursuant to the order of 
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the sentencing court. These court cost revenues, if collected, are then forwarded for deposit in 
the state treasury to the credit of the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) and the 
Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020).1 
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1 The court is generally required to impose state court costs totaling $29 for a misdemeanor divided as 
follows: $20 to Fund 5DY0 and $9 to Fund 4020. 


