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LSC is required by law to issue a report for each introduced bill that substantially 
changes or enacts an occupational regulation. The report must: (1) explain the bill’s regulatory 
framework in the context of Ohio’s statutory policy of using the least restrictive regulation 
necessary to protect consumers, (2) compare the regulatory schemes governing the same 
occupation in other states, and (3) examine the bill’s potential impact on employment, 
consumer choice, market competition, and cost to government.1 

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED REGULATIONS 

The bill requires roofing contractors to obtain a license from the Ohio Construction 
Industry Licensing Board (OCILB)2 before performing roofing services or employing 
tradespersons to perform roofing services on commercial buildings. No state license would be 
required to perform roofing services on residential buildings or industrialized units 
(self-sufficient building units fabricated off-site).3  

The bill’s licensure framework mirrors the licensure requirements, under continuing law, 
for specialty contractors performing electrical, HVAC, hydronics, plumbing, or refrigeration 
services. As is the case for specialty contractors, the bill requires a person who wishes to 
perform roofing services to apply for licensure in writing to the appropriate section of the 
OCILB. Each application must demonstrate that the applicant: 

 Is at least 18 years of age and a U.S. citizen or legal resident; 

                                                      

1 R.C. 103.26, not in the bill. 
2 OCILB is part of the Division of Industrial Compliance within the Ohio Department of Commerce. 
3 R.C. 4740.01(F), by reference to R.C. 3781.06, not in the bill. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA133-HB-199
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 Has been a tradesperson in roofing for at least five years before the date the application 
is filed, is currently registered as an engineer in Ohio with three years of business 
experience in roofing, or has other acceptable experience; 

 Maintains contractor’s liability insurance in the amount required by the Roofing Section 
of the OCILB (created by the bill); 

 Has not been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a crime of moral turpitude or a 
disqualifying offense as defined under continuing law; violated the OCILB law; obtained 
an OCILB contractor license by fraud, misrepresentation, or deception; or engaged in 
fraud, misrepresentation, or deception in the conduct of business. 

Each qualified applicant who passes the examination prescribed by the Roofing Section 
of the OCILB is entitled to licensure.4 The examination requirement is waived for any applicant 
who holds a roofing contractor license issued in any state that extends reciprocity to roofing 
contractors licensed in Ohio.5 

Like the existing specialty contractor licenses, the roofing contractor’s license expires 
annually.6 Renewal is conditioned upon completion of ten hours of continuing education each 
year.7 Subject to the approval of the Controlling Board, the bill vests the Roofing Section of the 
OCILB with authority to set and modify fee schedules for licensure and renewal.8 Under current 
law, existing specialty contractors must pay: (1) a $25 application processing fee, (2) a 
$25 examination fee, (3) an annual $60 renewal fee, and (4) any additional fees required for 
continuing education.9 It might be reasonable to assume a similar fee schedule for roofing 
contractors. 

LEAST RESTRICTIVE REGULATION COMPARISON 

Ohio’s general regulatory policy  

The general policy of the state is reliance on market competition and private remedies 
to protect the interests of consumers in commercial transactions involving the sale of goods or 
services. For circumstances in which the General Assembly determines that additional 
safeguards are necessary to protect consumers from “present, significant, and substantiated 

                                                      

4 R.C. 4740.06, not in the bill. 
5 R.C. 4740.08, not in the bill. 
6 R.C. 4740.06(E), not in the bill. 
7 R.C. 4740.04(G)(2). 
8 R.C. 4740.09, not in the bill. 
9 Ohio Legislative Service Commission, Agency Fees: Department of Commerce, pg. 68, available at: 
https://www.lsc.ohio.gov/documents/budget/documents/stateagencyfees/2019/COM.pdf (last accessed 
May 24, 2019). 

https://www.lsc.ohio.gov/documents/budget/documents/stateagencyfees/2019/COM.pdf
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harms that threaten health, safety, or welfare[,]” the state’s expressed intent is to enact the 
“least restrictive regulation that will adequately protect consumers from such harms.”10  

The degree of “restrictiveness” of an occupational regulation is prescribed by statute. 
The following graphic identifies each type of occupational regulation expressly mentioned in 
the state’s policy by least to most restrictive11: 

 

Proposed regulation 

As previously noted, the bill establishes a new occupational licensure requirement for 
roofing contractors. Licensure is the most restrictive of all regulatory options within the state’s 
continuum. Accordingly, the state’s policy prescribes a narrow range of situations in which 
required licensure is appropriate; specifically, when all of the following circumstances are 
present: (1) the occupation involves the provision of a service regulated by both state and 
federal law, (2) the licensing framework allows individuals licensed in other states and 
territories to practice in Ohio, and (3) the licensing requirement is based on uniform national 
laws, practices, and examinations that have been adopted by at least 50 U.S. states and 
territories.12 

Necessity 

Representative Patton indicated in his sponsor testimony that licensure of commercial 
roofing contractors is necessary to ensure public safety due to the increasing complexity of the 
roofing trade. He also conveyed that licensure is an efficient way of curbing “1099 abuse” – the 
practice of a business wrongfully classifying its employees as independent contractors in order 

                                                      

10 R.C. 4798.02, not in the bill. 
11 CSPL refers to the Consumer Sales Practices Law found in R.C. Chapter 1345, not in the bill. 
12 R.C. 4798.02(B)(7), not in the bill. 
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to avoid withholding income taxes and paying into workers compensation and unemployment 
compensation.13 

LSC could not readily obtain data addressing the prevalence of health and safety-related 
incidents stemming from faulty roofing work. Nor was LSC able to readily obtain substantiated 
information (other than anecdotal accounts) regarding the presence or absence of 1099 abuse 
within the roofing trade.  

However, there is evidence suggesting at least some malfeasance on the part of roofing 
contractors in Ohio. Of the 22,780 consumer complaints filed with the Ohio Attorney General’s 
Consumer Complaints Division in 2018, 226 (about 1%) involved roofing contractors. Notably, 
this figure includes disputes involving residential contractors (the bill requires licensure of 
commercial roofers only) and concerning matters other than work quality (such as payment, 
timely completion, or property damage).14 

Restrictiveness 

The roofing trade is currently subject to regulation under chapter 15 of the International 
Building Code (IBC) which has been adopted in all 50 U.S. states.15 The IBC prescribes minimum 
construction standards to ensure public safety, health, and welfare in commercial and industrial 
buildings. The regulations do not require, recommend, or provide uniform standards for the 
licensure of roofing contractors. 

The bill does not allow roofing contractors licensed in other states to perform 
commercial roofing services in Ohio without first obtaining a license in this state. Out-of-state 
contractors are exempt only from the bill’s examination requirement and only if the state in 
which the contractor is licensed offers at least the same degree of reciprocity to Ohio 
contractors.  

There appears to be no national consensus regarding the licensure of roofing 
contractors. Of the states that regulate roofers, the bill’s regulatory framework would not be 
the most restrictive; however, a substantial number of U.S. states have no statutory roofing 
contractor licensure requirements. In many states, including Ohio, local governments may 
impose licensure requirements for contractors performing services within the local 
government’s jurisdiction. 

  

                                                      

13 Representative Thomas F. Patton, House Bill 199 Sponsor Testimony, pg. 1 and 3, available at: 
http://search-prod.lis.state.oh.us/cm_pub_api/api/unwrap/chamber/133rd_ga/ready_for_publication/ 
committee_docs/cmte_h_commerce_1/testimony/cmte_h_commerce_1_2019-05-22-0300_604/ 
hb199pattonsponsor.pdf, (last accessed May 26, 2019). 
14 Data obtained by LSC from the Ohio Attorney General’s Office. 
15 See, Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.) Chapter 4101:1-15 and International Code Council, 
International Building Code, Chapter 15, available at: https://codes.iccsafe.org/content/IBC2015/ 
chapter-15-roof-assemblies-and-rooftop-structures, (last accessed May 26, 2019). 

http://search-prod.lis.state.oh.us/cm_pub_api/api/unwrap/chamber/133rd_ga/ready_for_publication/committee_docs/cmte_h_commerce_1/testimony/cmte_h_commerce_1_2019-05-22-0300_604/hb199pattonsponsor.pdf
http://search-prod.lis.state.oh.us/cm_pub_api/api/unwrap/chamber/133rd_ga/ready_for_publication/committee_docs/cmte_h_commerce_1/testimony/cmte_h_commerce_1_2019-05-22-0300_604/hb199pattonsponsor.pdf
http://search-prod.lis.state.oh.us/cm_pub_api/api/unwrap/chamber/133rd_ga/ready_for_publication/committee_docs/cmte_h_commerce_1/testimony/cmte_h_commerce_1_2019-05-22-0300_604/hb199pattonsponsor.pdf
https://codes.iccsafe.org/content/IBC2015/chapter-15-roof-assemblies-and-rooftop-structures
https://codes.iccsafe.org/content/IBC2015/chapter-15-roof-assemblies-and-rooftop-structures
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Other regulatory policies 

The stated policy of the OCILB is to provide “common sense, business-friendly regulation 
for Ohio’s commercial construction industry.”16 There are no other existing state policies 
concerning the regulation of Ohio’s roofing trade. 

STATE BY STATE COMPARISON 

Surrounding states 

Of the five surrounding states, only Michigan and West Virginia have statewide roofing 
contractor licensure requirements. In both of those states, a license is required for both 
residential and commercial roofing services. See APPENDIX for a more detailed comparison of 
Michigan and West Virginia’s licensing requirements with those proposed by the bill. 

IMPACT STATEMENT 

Opportunities for employment 

The bill limits employment opportunities for unlicensed roofing contractors and their 
employees to the provision of roofing services on residential buildings and industrialized units. 
Only roofing contractors who are willing and able to meet the bill’s requirements, as listed 
above, are permitted, under the bill, to take advantage of employment opportunities in 
commercial roofing.  

Market competition 

The bill may reduce the number of roofing contractors providing commercial roofing 
services in Ohio, which could, in turn, reduce competition in the industry. Presumably, most 
Ohio contractors for whom commercial roofing is a significant portion of their current business 
will obtain licenses. The bill permits current contractors who have been actively engaged as 
roofing contractors in Ohio for at least three years immediately before the bill’s effective date 
to obtain a license without passing an examination as long as they apply within a year of the 
bill’s effective date and meet other criteria. However, some contractors may choose not to 
become licensed; particularly those for whom commercial roofing services in Ohio are a small 
part of their business (perhaps because they mainly provide residential roofing services or 
mostly work outside Ohio). 

Consumer choices and costs  

The bill may reduce the number of roofing contractors available for Ohio consumers to 
choose from to provide commercial roofing services. If market competition in the industry is 
reduced, there may be an increase in the cost of the services.  

                                                      

16 Ohio Department of Commerce, OCILB: About Us, available at: https://www.com.ohio.gov/ 
dico/ocilb/, (last accessed May 26, 2019). 

https://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb/
https://www.com.ohio.gov/dico/ocilb/
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Cost to government 

For the costs of the bill to government, please see the LBO fiscal note. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/download?key=11972&format=pdf
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APPENDIX 

Regulation of Roofing Contractors 

State 
License 

required? 
Commercial or 

residential? 
Examination 

required? 
Other 

prerequisites 
Continuing 
education 

Fees 

Ohio
17

 Yes Commercial Yes 5 years of 
experience as a 
roofing 
tradesperson (or 3 
years for registered 
engineers) 

10 hours per year $25 application  

$25 exam  

$60 renewal 

(annual)18 

Indiana No — — — — — 

Kentucky No — — — — — 

Michigan
19

 Yes  Both Yes 60 hour pre-
licensure course 

21 hours every 3 
years for the first 
two renewal periods 
and 3 hours every 3 
years thereafter 

$195 application 

$111 exam 

$150 renewal 
(every 3 years) 

                                                      

17 Proposed by the bill. 
18

 Estimates based on current fees for other specialty contractors licensed by OCILB. Actual fee amounts will be designated by the Roofing 
Section of OCILB. 
19 Mich. Comp. Laws §§ 339.2404 and 339.2404b; Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, License Fees, available at: 
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_72600_72602_72731_72862-365041--,00.html, (last accessed May 28, 2019); Michigan 
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Residential Builders and M&A Contractors Renewal & Continuing Competency Requirements, 
available at: https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Continuing_Competency_Flyer2016_517085_7.pdf, (last accessed May 28, 2019). 

https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_72600_72602_72731_72862-365041--,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Continuing_Competency_Flyer2016_517085_7.pdf
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Regulation of Roofing Contractors 

State 
License 

required? 
Commercial or 

residential? 
Examination 

required? 
Other 

prerequisites 
Continuing 
education 

Fees 

Pennsylvania No — — — — — 

West Virginia
20

 Yes Both Yes — — $150 application 

$51.95 exam 

$150 renewal 
(annual) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

0002-OR-133/mh 

                                                      

20 W.Va. Code § 21-11-3, 6, and 7; West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board, Examinations Candidate Information Bulletin, available at: 
https://labor.wv.gov/Licensing/Contractor_License/Documents/contractor-forms/WVCLCIB.pdf, (last accessed May 28, 2019). 

https://labor.wv.gov/Licensing/Contractor_License/Documents/contractor-forms/WVCLCIB.pdf

