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LSC is required by law to issue a report for each introduced bill that substantially 
changes or enacts an occupational regulation. The report must: (1) explain the bill’s regulatory 
framework in the context of Ohio’s statutory policy of using the least restrictive regulation 
necessary to protect consumers, (2) compare the regulatory schemes governing the same 
occupation in other states, and (3) examine the bill’s potential impact on employment, 
consumer choice, market competition, and cost to government.1  

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED REGULATIONS  

The bill specifies that only a licensed dentist is permitted to operate a mobile dental 
facility2 and requires such a dentist to include information about the facility when registering 
with the State Dental Board.3 If the dentist stops operating the mobile dental facility or has a 
change of address or telephone number, the bill requires the dentist to notify the Board and all 
treatment venues within 14 days.4 Under continuing law, all licensed dentists must notify the 
Board within 10 days of any change in address or employment.5  

The bill also requires dentists operating a mobile dental facility to provide patients with 
contact information, a list of services provided, recommendations for further dental services, 
and instructions regarding how the patient can access dental records.6 Finally, the bill 

                                                      

1 R.C. 103.26, not in the bill. 
2 Continuing law prohibits the practice of dentistry by unlicensed persons, so it appears that this change 
merely clarifies an existing requirement. See, R.C. 4715.09, not in the bill. 
3 R.C. 4715.70(D) and 4715.71. 
4 R.C. 4715.14 and 4715.72. 
5 R.C. 4715.14(D), not in the bill. 
6 R.C. 4715.71. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA133-HB-16
https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/download?key=12014&format=pdf
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authorizes the State Dental Board to initiate disciplinary action against a dentist who fails to 
comply with any of the aforementioned requirements.7 

The bill defines a “mobile dental facility” as (1) a self-contained, intact facility in which 
dentistry or dental hygiene services are practiced that may be transported from one location to 
another or (2) a site used on a temporary basis to provide dental services using portable 
equipment.8 

Least Restrictive Regulation Comparison 

Ohio’s general regulatory policy  

The general policy of the state is reliance on market competition and private remedies 
to protect the interests of consumers in commercial transactions involving the sale of goods or 
services. For circumstances in which the General Assembly determines that additional 
safeguards are necessary to protect consumers from “present, significant, and substantiated 
harms that threaten health, safety, or welfare[,]” the state’s expressed intent is to enact the 
“least restrictive regulation that will adequately protect consumers from such harms.”9  

The degree of “restrictiveness” of an occupational regulation is prescribed by statute. 
The following graphic identifies each type of occupational regulation expressly mentioned in 
the state’s policy by least to most restrictive10: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                      
7 R.C. 4715.30. 
8 R.C. 4715.70(C). 
9 R.C. 4798.02, not in the bill. 
10 CSPL refers to the Consumer Sales Practices Law found in R.C. Chapter 1345, not in the bill. 
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Proposed regulation 

The bill modifies the required content for the biannual registration filed by a licensed 
dentist who operates a mobile dental facility and requires such dentists to comply with 
additional patient notification procedures. The state’s policy on occupational regulations 
provides that registration is appropriate to protect consumers against potential damages by 
transient providers. The policy does not provide guidance as to when a regulation of process - 
such as the bill’s patient notification procedures - is appropriate. 

Necessity 

In the formal announcement of the bill, Representative Lipps indicated that patient 
records often do not transfer to stationary dental offices from mobile dental facilities. This lack 
of communication sometimes results in repeat procedures such as x-rays and initial evaluations. 
He stated that the bill will “work to make sure that Ohioans have access to the oral health care 
they need without unnecessary inconveniences and out-of-pocket expenses that have 
burdened patients in the past.”11 In his sponsor testimony, Representative Lipps explained that 
14 other states regulate mobile dental facilities and that, by doing the same, Ohio would be 
able to effectively track those facilities and provide a means for records transfer between all 
dental care providers.12 

Proponent testimony indicates that the information collected under the bill will allow 
for the creation of a database of mobile dental facilities operating in Ohio. This database would 
help protect consumers and provide a way for communities and schools to search for facilities 
that could come to their area and provide services.13 

Restrictiveness 

Ohio law permits patient access to all medical records kept by a health care practitioner, 
including a dentist or dental hygienist.14 However, a request to obtain a medical record must be 
made in writing to the health care provider. Without the contact information of a mobile dental 
facility or a database to search for facilities that may have provided prior care, a patient might 
be unable to access records for purposes of future dental procedures. This obstacle is a product 
of the transient nature of mobile dental facilities and does not seem to be an issue for 
stationary dental offices, which are easier to track down.  

                                                      
11 Ohio House of Representatives, Rep. Lipps Announces Introduction of Mobile Dental Facilities Bill, 
available at: http://www.ohiohouse.gov/p-scott-lipps/press/rep-lipps-announces-introduction-of-mobile-
dental-facilities-bill.  
12 Representative Scott Lipps, House Bill 203 Sponsor Testimony, available at: 
https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-committee-documents?id=GA133-HB-203.  
13 See e.g., Marla Morse, House Bill 203 Proponent Testimony, Virginia Black, House Bill 203 Proponent 
Testimony, both available to download at: https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-
committee-documents?id=GA133-HB-203.  
14 R.C. 3701.74 (B), not in the bill. 

http://www.ohiohouse.gov/p-scott-lipps/press/rep-lipps-announces-introduction-of-mobile-dental-facilities-bill
http://www.ohiohouse.gov/p-scott-lipps/press/rep-lipps-announces-introduction-of-mobile-dental-facilities-bill
https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-committee-documents?id=GA133-HB-203
https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-committee-documents?id=GA133-HB-203
https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-committee-documents?id=GA133-HB-203
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The bill’s registration and notification requirements address the inherent challenges for 
patients seeking medical records from mobile dental facilities without restricting the right of 
dentists to practice in Ohio or in other states. The bill’s framework is generally less restrictive 
than other states that regulate mobile dental facilities. For example, Michigan requires a 
separate application and fee for the operation of a mobile dental facility and prescribes more 
detailed timelines and requirements for the release of patient information. 

Other regulatory policies 

The Ohio Department of Health keeps a running list of “safety net dental clinics.” These 
mobile or stationary clinics generally serve people who do not have a regular dentist, adequate 
health insurance, or are unable to pay for care. The clinics tend to focus on individuals who 
have unmet oral health needs such as the elderly, racial and ethnic minorities, children, and 
those living in remote geographical areas. They are often operated by public agencies and 
frequently offer reduced payment plans, sliding fees, and case-by-case fee-reductions.15 The 
bill’s provisions would give the State Dental Board adequate information to create a similar 
database for mobile dental facilities operated by private dentists. The bill does not require 
mobile dental facilities to offer reduced fees or to serve any specific segment of the population. 

STATE BY STATE COMPARISON 

Surrounding states 

Of the five surrounding states, Michigan, Indiana, and West Virginia have mobile dental 
facility requirements. The regulations tend to be more restrictive than those proposed by the 
bill. See APPENDIX for a more detailed comparison. 

IMPACT STATEMENT 

Opportunities for employment 

The bill is unlikely to significantly impact opportunities for employment. There will be 
some additional costs for dentists operating mobile dental facilities to provide the required 
notifications, but these costs are not expected to be high enough to cause a barrier to 
employment. 

Market competition 

The bill is unlikely to significantly impact market competition. The requirements outlined 
in the bill do not impose any significant increase in costs on providers and are unlikely to result 
in providers leaving the market in any significant numbers. 

                                                      

15 Ohio Department of Health, Dental Clinics, available at: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/ 
odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/Ohio-Dental-Clinics/.  

https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/%0bodh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/Ohio-Dental-Clinics/
https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/%0bodh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/Ohio-Dental-Clinics/
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Consumer choices and costs  

The bill is unlikely to significantly impact consumer choice. The provisions outlined do 
not affect the ability of consumers to seek out treatment from a mobile dental facility.  

Cost to government 

For the costs of the bill to government, please see the LBO fiscal note.16

                                                      

16 LBO fiscal note available at: https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/download?key=12014&format=pdf. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/download?key=12014&format=pdf
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APPENDIX 

State 
Additional 

Fee 
Registration 

Information provided to 
patient 

Licensing Board 
notification procedures 

Other notable 
provisions 

Ohio17 None Indicate operation of a 
mobile dental facility on 
biannual dental license 
renewal forms. 

The name of each individual 
who arranged for or provided 
dental services, telephone 
number in case of 
emergency, a list of services 
provided, recommendations 
for further dental services, 
notice that facility must 
provide access to patients 
records, instructions for 
requesting copy of records. 

Notify Board and all 
treatment venues within 
14 days of any change of 
address or telephone 
number or if the operator 
ceases to operate the 
facility. 

N/A 

Indiana18 $200 Separate application that 
includes evidence of 
compliance and proof of 
radiographic equipment 
inspection. 

Contact information, name of 
dentist and other staff, 
description of treatment 
rendered (including billed 
service codes and fees), 
referral information or plan 
for follow-up care. 

Maintain a mailing 
address and telephone 
number of record and 
notify the Board of 
changes within 30 days. 

Documents must 
contain the 
facility’s address 
and telephone 
number of record. 

Records must be 
kept at that 
address. 

                                                      

17
 Proposed by the bill. 

18 828 Indiana Administrative Code, Article 4, and Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, Mobile Dental Facility Information and Instructions, 
available at: https://www.in.gov/pla/files/MOBILE_DENTAL_FACILITY_INFORMATION_and_INSTRUCTIONS.pdf. 

https://www.in.gov/pla/files/MOBILE_DENTAL_FACILITY_INFORMATION_and_INSTRUCTIONS.pdf
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State 
Additional 

Fee 
Registration 

Information provided to 
patient 

Licensing Board 
notification procedures 

Other notable 
provisions 

The driver must 
hold a license 
appropriate for 
operation of the 
vehicle. 

Signed consent for 
minor care. 

A facility that does 
not follow up with 
necessary 
additional 
treatment is 
considered to 
have abandoned 
the patient. 

Certain physical 
requirements 
(ramp, chair, etc.). 

Kentucky N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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State 
Additional 

Fee 
Registration 

Information provided to 
patient 

Licensing Board 
notification procedures 

Other notable 
provisions 

Michigan19 $270 Separate application every 
three years including fee, 
written plans and 
procedures specific to the 
mobile dental facility, 
designation of service type, 
counties where service is 
provided, list of all 
individuals who will provide 
care (including license 
number), proof of 
insurance, and infection 
control checklist. 

Application narrative 
indicating how the patient 
will be referred for 
emergency dental services, 
counseled to seek an annual 
exam, and a follow-up 
mechanism to determine 
whether the patient received 
services following referral. 

Facility must notify patient 
and make records available 
for 180 days after ceasing 
operations and then transfer 
those records to a different 
dentist. 

Changes in the facility, 
memorandum of 
agreement, address, and 
telephone number. 

Cessation of operations, 
including written notice to 
treatment venues and 
availability of patient 
records. 

Provide documentation 
that reasonable attempts 
were made to contact 
patient concerning record 
storage and retrieval. 

Failure to comply 
is cause for 
disciplinary action 
by the licensing 
department. 

Pennsylvania N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

                                                      

19 Michigan Public Health Code 368-1978-17-216, Section 333.216601 et seq, available at: http://www.legislature.mi.gov/ 
(S(4bvewfkmwmcqcjd131gbkqui))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-368-1978-17-216.  

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/%0b(S(4bvewfkmwmcqcjd131gbkqui))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-368-1978-17-216
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/%0b(S(4bvewfkmwmcqcjd131gbkqui))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-368-1978-17-216
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State 
Additional 

Fee 
Registration 

Information provided to 
patient 

Licensing Board 
notification procedures 

Other notable 
provisions 

West 
Virginia20 

$1,500 
(private) or 
$250 
(nonprofit). 

Reduced rate 
for “portable 
dental units” 
(i.e., 
equipment set 
up in a home, 
school, or 
other remote 
location) of 
$500 
(private) or 
$50 
(nonprofit). 

Annual application that 
includes full name, address of 
record, telephone number of 
each person who will operate 
or use the unit, proof of 
insurance, physical address of 
record for the unit, copy of 
emergency follow-up 
agreement, statement of 
access to communication 
facilities to contact assistance 
in an emergency, statement 
of compliance with federal 
and state laws regarding 
radiographic equipment etc., 
possession of all required 
licenses or permits, and 
infectious control procedures. 

Name of operator, 
permanent office address, 
telephone number, services, 
and copy of informed 
consent. 

Information sheet containing 
name of licensee who 
provided service, telephone 
number or other emergency 
contact number where calls 
will be returned within 24 
hours, treatment rendered 
with billing codes, 
recommended treatment, 
referrals, and consent forms. 

Notify Board within 30 
days of change of address 
or personnel. 

Prominently display all 
licenses and comply with 
record keeping 
requirements. 

Dental board 
vested with 
authority to 
regulate mobile 
dental facilities.21 

Must have a 
dental treatment 
chair, light, 
portable delivery 
system, and other 
facility-related 
requirements. 

Provide ready 
access to 
sterilization, 
water, and toilets. 

 

0003-OR-133/mh 

                                                      

20
 W. Va. Legislative Rule Title 5 Series 14, available at: https://wvbodprod.glsuite.us/GLSuiteWeb/Clients/WVBOD/StaticFiles/ 

LawsAndRules.aspx, and West Virginia Board of Dentistry, Mobile Dental Facility or Portable Dental Unit Application, available at: 
https://wvbodprod.glsuite.us/GLSuiteWeb/Clients/WVBOD/StaticFiles/pdf/Applications/MobileAndPortableApplication.pdf.  
21 W. Va. Code 30-4-6. 

https://wvbodprod.glsuite.us/GLSuiteWeb/Clients/WVBOD/StaticFiles/%0bLawsAndRules.aspx
https://wvbodprod.glsuite.us/GLSuiteWeb/Clients/WVBOD/StaticFiles/%0bLawsAndRules.aspx
https://wvbodprod.glsuite.us/GLSuiteWeb/Clients/WVBOD/StaticFiles/pdf/Applications/MobileAndPortableApplication.pdf

