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Highlights 

 The state will lose, at most, a minimal amount of court cost revenue annually that 
otherwise might have been collected from certain concealed carry violators pursuant to 
the order of the sentencing court. State court cost revenues are credited to the Indigent 
Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) and the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund 
(Fund 4020). 

 County and municipal criminal justice systems may realize an annual savings effect, as 
there will likely be some reduction in the prosecution and sanctioning of individuals for 
concealed carry violations. There is also likely to be an associated revenue loss in terms 
of court costs, fees, and fines that otherwise might have been collected. 

 The bill may relieve school districts and other public schools that choose to authorize 
certain personnel to be armed in a school safety zone from basic peace officer training 
costs.  

Detailed Analysis 

Notification of concealed handgun license 

Under current law, when stopped for a law enforcement purpose, a concealed handgun 
licensee who is carrying a concealed handgun is required to promptly inform any law 
enforcement officer who approaches the person that the person has a concealed handgun 
license and is carrying a concealed handgun. A violation of this requirement is generally a first 
degree misdemeanor – punishable by not more than 180 days in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or 
both – and the appropriate county sheriff is required to suspend the person’s concealed 
handgun license for one year.  

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA133-HB-425
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Under the bill, the same person in the same situation is required to display their 
concealed handgun license or orally inform the officer that the person has such a license, and 
to disclose that the person is carrying a concealed handgun. Unlike current law in this 
circumstance, the offender is not subject to a penalty. 

From calendar years (CYs) 2014 through 2018, an average of 19 charges for failure to 
notify a law enforcement officer were filed annually with the Franklin County Municipal Court. 
This suggests that a corresponding statewide average would likely be fewer than 200 charges 
annually under current law – a number likely to decline under the bill.  

The table below shows the number of violations reported by law enforcement agencies 
to the Ohio Incident-Based Reporting System (OIBRS) in CY 2019 by county.  

 

Carrying Concealed Weapon Duty to Notify Violations, Calendar Year 2019 (Total: 87*) 

County 
# of 

Violations 
County 

# of 
Violations 

County 
# of 

Violations 

Allen 2 Fairfield 1 Pickaway 1 

Butler 2 Franklin 17 Portage 1 

Carroll 1 Hamilton 10 Putnam 1 

Champaign 1 Hocking 1 Richland  1 

Clermont 1 Huron 1 Stark 1 

Columbiana 1 Knox 2 Summit 8 

Cuyahoga 7 Lake 3 Van Wert 1 

Delaware 1 Medina 2 Washington 1 

Erie 1 Montgomery 9 Unknown** 9 

*These statistics are based upon information voluntarily reported to OIBRS by participating law enforcement agencies as of February 10, 
2020, and may not reflect all violations statewide, since not all Ohio law enforcement agencies’ data are available through OIBRS. 

**Reflects incidents reported by statewide agencies, including eight Ohio State Highway Patrol citations and one Ohio Department of 
Natural Resources citation. The county in which each violation occurred is unknown. 

 

There will be a savings effect created for county and municipal criminal justice systems 
because of having fewer persons to arrest, prosecute, and sanction (including license 
suspension) for concealed carry violations. There will also be a related loss in court costs, fees, 
and fines that otherwise might have been collected from persons convicted of a concealed 
carry violation. The net annual fiscal effect of the expenditure savings and related revenue loss 
for any given local jurisdiction is likely to be minimal. 

The state will lose, at most, a minimal amount of court cost revenue annually that 
otherwise might have been collected from certain concealed carry violators pursuant to the 
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order of the sentencing court. These court cost revenues, if collected, are then forwarded for 
deposit in the state treasury to the credit of the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) 
and the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020).1 

Carrying firearms in a school safety zone 

Current law generally prohibits persons from carrying firearms in a school safety zone. 
This prohibition does not apply to a person employed as a security officer or any other person 
with written authorization from a board of education or governing body of a school to go 
armed within a school safety zone. Current law also requires school employees serving in a law 
enforcement or security role in which the person goes armed while on duty to complete an 
approved basic peace officer training program unless the person has completed 20 years of 
active duty as a peace officer.  

In late March 2020, the Ohio 12th District Court of Appeals ruled the training 
requirement also applies to individuals other than a security officer who are authorized to go 
armed. The decision applies to schools under the court’s jurisdiction, which covers the following 
eight counties in southwest Ohio: Brown, Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Fayette, Madison, Preble, 
and Warren. The school district involved in the case, Madison Local School District, appealed 
the 12th District Court of Appeals’ decision to the Ohio Supreme Court, which on August 26, 
2020, granted a stay of the ruling until it issues a final decision.  

In response to the 12th District Court of Appeals’ decision, the bill exempts individuals 
authorized to go armed from basic peace officer training requirements so long as the 
authorized individual is not hired in the capacity of a special police officer or security officer. As 
a result, school districts or other public schools that choose to authorize arming such personnel 
may not incur costs associated with paying for basic peace officer training for the designated 
employees, assuming the districts or schools would have paid for this training. Basic peace 
officer training program costs vary by provider, with the total curriculum consisting of a 
minimum of 737 training hours.2 Various tuition listings show amounts in the range of $5,000 or 
more.3 Under the bill, the degree of training will be left to the discretion of the district or 
school. 

 

 

HB0425SR/zg 

                                                      

1 The court is generally required to impose state court costs totaling $29 for a misdemeanor divided as 
follows: $20 to Fund 5DY0 and $9 to Fund 4020. 
2 Ohio Attorney General’s Office. “How to Become a Peace Officer in Ohio.” Available online at 
https://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/How-to-Become-a-Peace-Officer-in-Ohio. 
3 Not all peace officer training academies are available to nonlaw enforcement personnel (such as 
teachers or administrators that could be authorized to go armed). Some require recruits to be appointed 
by a law enforcement agency while others are open to anyone who meets the qualifications. Some of 
these latter options are provided by schools of various types, but may only be available through 
enrollment in an associate degree program, as in the case of Columbus State Community College. 

https://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/How-to-Become-a-Peace-Officer-in-Ohio

