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Highlights 

 The bill enters Ohio into the Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact (PSYPACT). As a 
result, the State Board of Psychology may pay annual assessments of up to $6,000 per 
year. In addition, the Board will have additional administrative costs related to 
regulation, investigations, and notification requirements. 

 The bill eliminates a township’s authority to license individuals acting as massagers 
within the unincorporated area of the township, resulting in lost revenue for certain 
townships. Current law specifies that fees for these licenses are $100 for an initial 
license and $50 to renew the license annually. 

 Only townships that have adopted a resolution to regulate massage establishments will 
be affected. Revenue loss for affected townships could range from a few hundred 
dollars per year to several thousand dollars per year depending on the number of 
individuals the township has licensed. 

 The bill prohibits a court from ordering a criminal defendant to undergo inpatient 
competency evaluations at facilities operated by the Ohio Department of Mental Health 
and Addiction Services or Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities unless the 
defendant has been charged with a felony or an offense of violence or unless the court 
determines the defendant is in need of immediate hospitalization. Courts could be 
impacted assuming that a defendant is sent for an evaluation at a private center instead 
of one of these prohibited facilities.  

 The bill’s impact on the annual operating costs of local criminal justice systems is 
uncertain.  

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA133-SB-258
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Detailed Analysis 

Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact 

The Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact (PSYPACT) is a multi-jurisdictional 
psychology contract created in 2015 to regulate the practice of telepsychology and temporary 
in-person, face-to-face psychology across state boundaries. The bill enters Ohio into PSYPACT, 
permitting eligible psychologists to practice telepsychology and temporary in-person, face-to-
face psychology with patients in other compact states. Temporary in-person, face-to-face 
psychology is where a psychologist is physically present with a patient, in a state other than the 
one in which the psychologist is licensed, for up to 30 days within a calendar year. All states 
participating in PSYPACT help establish the Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact Commission, 
a collective governing agency overseeing the implementation of PSYPACT. Under the bill, the 
State Board of Psychology is responsible for appointing Ohio’s member on the Commission.  

The bill establishes the Commission’s powers and authority and specifies that the 
Commission is to pay, or provide the payment of reasonable expenses associated with its 
establishment, organization, and ongoing activities. The Commission is allowed to accept any 
and all appropriate revenue sources, donations, grants, equipment, etc. and may also levy on 
and collect an annual assessment from each compact state or impose fees on other parties. The 
bill establishes the requirements a psychologist must meet to practice under PSYPACT. The bill 
establishes which compact state has authority regarding disciplinary actions when 
telepsychology is practiced and when temporary in-person, face-to-face psychology is 
practiced. Also, the Commission is responsible for developing and maintaining a Coordinated 
Licensure Information System to record licensure and disciplinary action for practicing PSYPACT 
psychologists. Compact states are required to submit uniform data and promptly notify all 
other compact states of any adverse action taken against, or any significant investigative 
information on, any licensee.  

The State Board of Psychology will be required to pay an annual assessment to the 
Commission. The amount that the Board must pay is not explicitly stated in the bill; however, a 
rule developed by the Commission that went into effect on October 9, 2019, states that a 
compact state will be charged $10 per PSYPACT participating psychologist licensed in their 
home state up to a maximum of $6,000 annually. In addition to these annual assessments, 
there may be additional administrative costs to investigate complaints and take disciplinary 
actions. If witnesses are necessary for hearings or investigations, it is possible that the Board 
may pay witness fees, travel expenses, and mileage and other required fees in certain 
instances. There will also be other costs to the Board associated with submitting uniform data 
to the Commission and notifying other compact states of certain actions taken about any 
licensees. The total costs will depend on the number of Ohio psychologists that opt to practice 
under PSYPACT, the number of other compact state psychologists that practice in Ohio, and the 
number of complaints that the Board is required to investigate. 

There could be other impacts associated with Ohio entering PSYPACT. For instance, 
additional PSYPACT psychologists located in other compact states could provide services to 
Ohio residents. If this occurs, there could be additional reimbursements from state and local 
programs that reimburse for these services. In addition, if an Ohio resident utilizes an out-of-
network provider located in another compact state there could be some additional costs to 
state and local programs or health plans. However, if the provision of these services led to any 



Office of Research and Drafting  LSC  Legislative Budget Office 

 

P a g e  | 3  S.B. 258, Fiscal Note 

avoidances in hospital admissions or any other more expensive treatments, there could be a 
reduction in costs.  

Massage therapy 

The bill eliminates a township’s authority to issue licenses to individuals who perform 
massage therapy and will result in minimal lost revenue for certain townships. Under current 
law, fees for these licenses are set at $100 for an initial license and $50 for annual renewal of 
the license. Although eliminating authority to license individuals performing massage applies to 
all townships, current law requires a township to have adopted a resolution to regulate 
massage establishments in order to exercise this licensing authority. Thus, only those townships 
that have adopted a resolution to regulate massage establishments will be affected by this 
change. Because the number of townships that regulate massage establishments and the 
number of individuals licensed by townships as a massager is not readily available, it is difficult 
to estimate how much revenue any affected township may lose. However, given the current 
law fees, it is plausible to expect the loss to range from a few hundred dollars per year to 
several thousands of dollars per year, depending on the number of licensed individuals within a 
township.  

Other changes made by the bill appear to have little or no fiscal effect, including those 
changes that affect the law governing the State Medical Board’s authority to regulate and 
license massage therapy under Chapter 4731 of the Revised Code. Changes made by the bill 
affecting the Board clarify existing law provisions that allow certain other licensed occupations 
to perform limited types of massage services and would not result in additional duties or 
workloads for the Board. Please see the LSC bill analysis for an explanation of these changes. 

Competency evaluations  

The bill prohibits a court from ordering a criminal defendant to undergo inpatient 
competency evaluations at a center, program, or facility operated or certified by the Ohio 
Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (OhioMHAS) or Ohio Department of 
Developmental Disabilities (ODODD) unless the defendant has been charged with a felony or an 
offense of violence or unless the court determines the defendant is in need of immediate 
hospitalization. OhioMHAS estimated that for calendar year 2018,1 15 individuals had been 
charged with a nonviolent misdemeanor and ordered to receive an inpatient evaluation at a 
state OhioMHAS hospital. OhioMHAS or other entities costs could be reduced if these 
individuals did not receive treatment at this facility. ODODD indicated that they rarely conduct 
inpatient competency evaluations for individuals charged with a nonviolent misdemeanor. Due 
to the rarity of evaluations in these circumstances, the bill should have a minimal to negligible 
fiscal impact to ODODD. Continuing law states that the cost of evaluations are to be borne by 
the legislative authority of the court – the municipality or county, depending on the court – and 
are taxed as court costs in the case; therefore, except for cases of indigence, the costs for 
evaluations are recovered by the court as costs charged to the offender. If a defendant is sent 
to a private facility for an evaluation that would have otherwise been sent to a facility 
prohibited under the bill, the impact will depend on whether the costs at the private facility are 

                                                      

1 This figure was provided by OhioMHAS on December 13, 2018. 
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higher or lower than at the prohibited facilities. The magnitude of the impact on the courts, if 
any, is uncertain.  

Written report by an examiner 

The bill requires a written report filed by the examiner who assesses a defendant’s 
mental state to be filed with the court under seal and requires the court to allow for inspection 
of the report by certain parties.2 The report is not open to public inspection, but the bill permits 
a person to file a motion seeking disclosure for good cause and requires the court to notify the 
defendant of the pending motion. If the defendant objects to the disclosure, the court is 
required to hold a hearing.  

Incompetence to stand trial 

The bill allows a criminal trial court that finds a defendant charged with a misdemeanor 
offense, other than a misdemeanor offense of violence, incompetent to stand trial to do one of 
the following: 

 Dismiss the charges pending against the defendant without prejudice and discharge the 
defendant from custody; or 

 Order the defendant to undergo outpatient competency restoration treatment at a 
facility operated or certified by the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
as being qualified to treat mental illness, at a public or community mental health facility, 
or in the care of a psychiatrist or other mental health professional.  

If a defendant who has been released on bail or recognizance refuses to comply with 
this court-ordered outpatient treatment, the court is permitted to dismiss the charges pending 
against the defendant or amend the conditions of bail or recognizance and order the sheriff to 
take the defendant into custody and deliver the defendant to a center, program, or facility 
operated or certified by the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services for treatment. 

The bill prohibits a court from proceeding against a defendant under the above process 
if the defendant is charged with a misdemeanor offense of violence and found incompetent to 
stand trial unless the prosecutor recommends that the court follow those diversion procedures. 
If the prosecutor does not recommend those procedures and the court is unable to determine 
whether there is a substantial probability that the defendant will become competent to stand 
trial within the period permitted under existing law for treatment, the court may order 
continuing evaluation of the defendant for a period not to exceed that maximum period. 

Involuntary status 

The bill authorizes a hospital’s chief clinical officer to file an affidavit for involuntary 
treatment of a mental health patient in voluntary status if the patient refuses to accept the 
written treatment plan required under existing law. The bill requires a hospital’s chief clinical 
officer to immediately notify the appropriate trial court or prosecutor if the officer decides to 

                                                      

2 Parties include the defendant, the defendant’s guardian, and any mental health professional involved 
in the treatment of the defendant, probate courts, and boards of alcohol, drug addiction, and mental 
health services. 
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discharge a mental health patient in voluntary status who had, within the past 12 months, been 
a defendant found incompetent to stand trial for a misdemeanor charge and subject to 
involuntary mental health treatment or institutionalization by court order because of 
intellectual disability. The bill authorizes the trial court or prosecutor, not later than three court 
days after being notified of the intent to discharge, to file an affidavit for involuntary mental 
health treatment with the probate court of the county where the patient is hospitalized or the 
county where the patient resides. The bill requires that if such an affidavit is filed, the patient’s 
discharge must be postponed until a hearing on the involuntary treatment is held. The impact 
of this provision is unclear.  
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