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SUMMARY 

Low-speed micromobility devices 

 Permits the use of a low-speed micromobility device on public streets, highways, 
sidewalks, shared-use paths, and bicycle-only areas, subject to specific operational 
requirements. 

 Notwithstanding the state operational requirements, authorizes certain political 
subdivisions and ODNR to regulate the operation of low-speed micromobility devices or 
prohibit the devices within their jurisdiction. 

 Specifies that a low-speed micromobility device (for example, an electric scooter) is a 
device that weighs less than 100 pounds that has handlebars, is propelled by an electric 
motor or human power, and has an attainable speed on a paved surface of 20 mph or 
less when using an electric motor. 

 States that low-speed micromobility devices are not vehicles and, as such, exempts 
them from state registration, title, insurance, and certain traffic and equipment law 
requirements. 

Law enforcement use of e-bikes 

 Authorizes a law enforcement officer to use an electric bicycle (e-bike) on specified 
paths and sidewalks, including when the use of the e-bike is otherwise prohibited, 
provided the e-bike is being used in the performance of the officer’s duties. 

Personal delivery devices 

 Increases the maximum empty-weight limit of personal delivery devices authorized to 
be used in Ohio from 90 pounds to 200 pounds. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA133-HB-295
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Unsafe used tires 

 Decriminalizes and makes it no longer designated an unconscionable consumer sales act 
or practice to install unsafe used tires on a passenger car that is not designed primarily 
for carrying passengers, a multipurpose passenger vehicle, or a truck. 

 Allows the vehicles specified above to be outfitted legally with retread tires, which 
otherwise fall under the meaning of an unsafe used tire. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Low-speed micromobility devices 

The act establishes requirements for the operation of low-speed micromobility devices 
in Ohio. It also grants certain local political subdivisions and the Ohio Department of Natural 
Resources (ODNR) the authority to prohibit and regulate the operation of the devices in their 
jurisdictions. A low-speed micromobility device is a device that weighs less than 100 pounds, 
has handlebars, is propelled by an electric motor or human power, and can go up to 20 mph on 
a paved level surface.1 Examples of micromobility devices include electric scooters, certain e-
bikes, and shared mobility devices. The act exempts low-speed micromobility devices from the 
definition of “vehicle”; as such, low-speed micromobility devices are exempt from state 
registration, title, insurance, and certain traffic and equipment law requirements.2 

State requirements 

Generally, low-speed micromobility devices now are authorized on public streets, 
highways, sidewalks, shared-use paths, and any portions of roads set aside for the exclusive use 
of bicycles.3 This state authorization applies unless a local authority or ODNR establishes 
different requirements or prohibits the devices (see “Local regulation,” below). 

Under the state requirements, a low-speed micromobility device operator must 
generally follow the traffic law requirements that by their nature could apply to such devices. 
Ohio law has a similar requirement for personal assistive mobility devices (i.e., Segways).4 
Additionally, an operator must abide by the following specific requirements and prohibitions: 

1. An operator must yield the right-of-way to all pedestrians. 

2. An operator must give an audible signal before overtaking or passing a pedestrian. 

                                                      

1 R.C. 4501.01(FFF) and 4511.01(WWW). 
2 R.C. 4501.01(A), 4509.01(H), and 4511.01(A). 
3 R.C. 4511.514(A)(1). 
4 R.C. 4511.514(A)(2); R.C. 4511.512, not in the act. 
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3. An operator may not operate a device at night unless accompanied by proper lighting 
gear (a lamp emitting white light visible up to 500 feet to the front and a red reflector 
facing the rear visible up to 600 feet when low beams are shined on it).5 

4. An operator may not operate a device at more than 20 mph.6 

5. An operator may park a device on a sidewalk, but only if the device does not impede the 
normal flow of pedestrian traffic when so parked. 7 

The act prohibits anyone under 16 from renting a low-speed micromobility device. 
Additionally, no person may knowingly rent a device to a person who is under 16 or on behalf 
of a person who is under 16. There is no age restriction, however, on the general use of a 
personally owned low-speed micromobility device.8  

Penalties 

A violation of the above requirements is a minor misdemeanor. Additionally, the offense 
generally is considered a strict liability offense (with the exception of a person renting to or on 
behalf of someone who is under 16, in which case the person must knowingly rent the device to 
the underage person).9 

Local regulation 

A municipal corporation, county, township, metropolitan park district, township park 
district, recreation district, or a division of ODNR (if the division has the approval of the Director 
of Natural Resources) is authorized to regulate or prohibit the operation of low-speed 
micromobility devices within their jurisdictions. Thus, if a municipal corporation passes an 
ordinance prohibiting low-speed micromobility devices on city sidewalks, that ordinance 
overrides the general state authorization permitting the low-speed micromobility devices on 
sidewalks.10  

Shared vehicle programs and insurance 

The political subdivisions listed above and ODNR may include low-speed micromobility 
devices that are adapted to expand access for people with various physical limitations into any 
shared bicycle, shared e-bike, or similar vehicle sharing program under its jurisdiction. 
Additionally, while insurance is not generally required by the state to own or operate a low-
speed micromobility device, the political subdivisions and ODNR may require the owner or 
operator of a low-speed micromobility device rental service or sharing program to maintain 

                                                      

5 R.C. 4511.514(B). 
6 R.C. 4511.514(D). 
7 R.C. 4511.68(B). 
8 R.C. 4511.514(C). 
9 R.C. 4511.514(E). 
10 R.C. 4511.514(F)(1). 



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 
 

P a g e  | 4  H.B. 295 
As Passed by the General Assembly 

commercial general liability insurance related to the operation of the devices. If insurance is 
required, the limits must be up to $1 million per occurrence and up to $2 million per 
aggregate.11 

Law enforcement use of e-bikes 

The act authorizes a law enforcement officer, or other person sworn to enforce the 
criminal and traffic laws of Ohio, to use an e-bike on certain paths and sidewalks, even when 
the use of an e-bike is generally prohibited on the path or sidewalk. The use of the e-bike on 
those paths or sidewalks, however, must be in the performance of the officer’s duties (i.e., the 
officer cannot violate an e-bike prohibition if the officer is riding the e-bike for personal 
pleasure).12 

Personal delivery devices 

The act increases the maximum allowable empty-weight of a personal delivery device 
from 90 pounds to 200 pounds. A personal delivery device is an electrically powered device that 
is designed to transport property on sidewalks and crosswalks, has a maximum speed of 
10 mph, and can be operated either with or without active control and monitoring by a human 
operator.13 

Unsafe used tires 

The act decriminalizes and makes it no longer designated an unconscionable consumer 
sales act or practice to install unsafe used tires on a passenger car that is not designed primarily 
for carrying passengers, a multipurpose passenger vehicle, or a truck.14 Under law retained by 
the act, a supplier still is prohibited from installing an unsafe used tire on a passenger car 
designed primarily to carry passengers that will operate on a public highway. To do so is 
designated an unconscionable consumer sales act or practice, prosecutable by the Ohio 
Attorney General or a private attorney.15 

Under continuing law, an unsafe used tire includes: a tire that has any damage exposing 
the reinforcing plies of the tire, including cuts, cracks, punctures, scrapes, or wear; a tire that 

                                                      

11 R.C. 4511.514(F)(2) and (3). 
12 R.C. 4511.522(C)(4) and 4511.711(A). 
13 R.C. 4511.513(A)(2).  
14 A “Passenger car” means any motor vehicle with motive power, designed for carrying ten 

persons or less, except a multipurpose passenger vehicle or motorcycle.  A “multipurpose 
passenger vehicle” is a motor vehicle with motive power (but not a motorcycle), designed to carry ten 
persons or less, that is constructed either on a truck chassis or with special features for occasional off-
road operation. A “truck” is every motor vehicle designed and used to carry property and having a gross 
vehicle weight rating of ten thousand pounds or less (but not a trailer or semitrailer). R.C. 4513.021, not 
in the act.  
15 R.C. 1345.022; R.C. 1345.03, 1345.05, and 1345.09, not in the act.  
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has any repair in the tread shoulder or belt edge area; a tire that has repair to the sidewall or 
bead area of the tire; a tire that shows evidence of prior use of a temporary tire sealant without 
evidence of a subsequent proper repair; a tire that has any inner liner damage or bead damage; 
or a tire with indication of internal separation, such as bulges or local areas of irregular tread 
wear indicating possible tread or belt separation.16 

Law unchanged by the act excludes trailers and semitrailers from the installation 
prohibition because such vehicles use retread tires. A retread tire (or “reproved tire”) is a used 
tire that has had the worn down tread replaced with new tread. While authorized under certain 
circumstances for sale, installation, and use by federal regulations, a retread tire falls under the 
meaning of an unsafe used tire under Ohio law.17 Because of the act’s changes, a multipurpose 
passenger vehicle, truck, or passenger car that is not designed primarily for carrying passengers 
may be outfitted legally with retread tires, which otherwise would fall under the meaning of an 
unsafe used tire.  
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16 R.C. 1345.022(A)(2). 
17 49 United States Code of Federal Regulations §393.75 and Part 569. 


