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SUMMARY 

This analysis is arranged by state agency in alphabetical order. Items that do not directly 
involve an agency are located under the agency that has regulatory authority over the item, or 
otherwise deals with the subject matter of the item. 

The analysis concludes with a note on effective dates, expiration, and other 
administrative matters. 

Within each agency and category, a summary of the items appears first (in the form of 
dot points) followed by a discussion of their content and operation. 
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DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES 

State contracts for goods and services 

 Prohibits a state contract for goods or services from including certain provisions the state 
generally does not include in its contracts, such as indemnification clauses or binding 
arbitration clauses, and voids such terms by operation of law. 

Ohio preference scoring in state purchases 

 Expands the types of purchases under state purchasing law that are eligible for an Ohio 
preference in scoring. 

Bulk purchasing program 

 Allows the Department of Administrative Services (DAS) to permit a political subdivision 
or special district of another state to participate in DAS contracts for the purchase of 
supplies and services. 

 Allows a board of elections to participate in DAS purchase contracts if DAS has authorized 
the county to participate in those contracts, instead of requiring the board to apply to 
DAS separately. 

 Clarifies that a board of elections may choose to purchase election supplies through DAS, 
through the Secretary of State’s bulk purchasing program, or by other means. 

Cooperative purchasing agreements 

 Clarifies that DAS can join existing procurement contracts of other state agencies with 
their own purchasing authority, other states, and the U.S. government.  

Parental and caregiver leave 

 Allows certain state employees to be eligible, on the delivery of a stillborn child, for paid 
parental leave of absence and parental leave benefits established in continuing law. 

 Includes, for paid parental leave eligibility purposes, persons employed in state positions 
for which the authority to determine compensation is given by law to another individual 
or entity. 

 Increases, from $2,000 to $5,000, the adoption expenses benefit an employee may 
choose to receive in lieu of paid parental leave.  

 Makes certain state employees who are foster caregivers and kinship caregivers eligible 
for up to five days of caregiver leave with full pay in a calendar year on placement of a 
child with the caregiver. 

Fleet management 

 Modifies the definition of “operating cost,” which is a factor in calculating the minimum 
number of business miles per year an employee of a state agency must drive in order to 
qualify for approval by the DAS to receive a motor vehicle for business use. 
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 Allows proceeds from the disposition of state vehicles to be transferred from the 
Investment Recovery Fund to the Fleet Management Fund. 

Prescription drug advisory council 

 Specifies that the DAS Director is the chairperson of the existing Prescription Drug 
Transparency and Affordability Advisory Council, and modifies the frequency at which the 
Advisory Council must meet (from quarterly to at the call of the chairperson). 

DAS insurance program 

 Declares the administration of the state’s Risk Management Program to be a public duty 
for purposes of the Sovereign Immunity/Court of Claims Law.  

 Authorizes the Office of Risk Management to administer a judicial liability program.  

 Replaces the requirement that the state purchase fidelity bonds for state agents and 
employees with authority to self-insure itself and third parties against loss due to 
dishonest acts of state officers, employees, and agents.  

 Requires public official bonds to be purchased when statutorily required.  

 Expands the authority of the state and political subdivisions to insure against liability, 
from the losses attributable to the operation of specified vehicles during the course of 
official duties to any loss that occurs in the course of employment or official 
responsibilities.  

 Specifies that recoveries against the state are to be reduced by other recoveries the 
claimant is entitled to, as opposed to just those other recoveries the claimant has 
received.  

 Prohibits a claim against the state from being filed in the Court of Claims until the claimant 
has attempted to have the claim compromised by the Office of Risk Management or 
satisfied by the state’s liability insurance.  

 Specifies that the authority to commence an action against an officer or employee of the 
state does not affect the immunity provided to state officers or employees in law.  

 Requires an instrumentality of the state to notify the Office of Risk Management of any 
settlement or compromise made in a claim against the instrumentality for the purpose of 
reserving funds.  

 Requires a copy of a settlement instrument to be forwarded to the Office of Risk 
Management for payment from the Risk Management Reserve Fund.  

 Specifies that DAS’s authority to compromise claims does not extend to compromising 
claims on behalf of agency programs with direct settlement authority.  

 Specifies that all compromises made by the Office of Risk Management are to be paid 
from the Risk Management Reserve Fund and the conditions of such payment.  
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 Specifies that information related to claims against the state is to be held in confidence, 
is not to be released, and is not subject to discovery or introduction in evidence in any 
federal or state civil action.  

 Requires a copy of a judgement against the state to be forwarded to the Office of Risk 
Management for the judgement to be paid from the Risk Management Reserve Fund.  

Public office employee database 

 Eliminates the requirement that a public office include birth dates on the required public 
office employee database. 

Real estate and planning 

 Transfers from the Auditor of State to the DAS Director the responsibility to prepare 
deeds for the conveyance of state land. 

 Transfers from the Auditor of State to the DAS Director the responsibility to keep 
documents showing the state’s interest in real estate, other than public lands and 
highway rights-of-way, and to maintain a recording system open for public inspection. 

 Authorizes DAS to: 

 Grant perpetual easements to public utilities regulated by the Public Utilities 
Commission of Ohio; 

 Dispose of state-owned real estate worth less than $1 million, with Controlling Board 
approval; and 

 Correct legal descriptions or title defects, or release fractional interests in real 
property, as necessary to cure clouds on title that are reflected in public records. 

Office of Information Technology 

 Modifies the responsibility of the Office of Information Technology with respect to the 
acquisition of common information technology. 

Transferring central warehouse employees from ODH to DAS 

 Requires, on or after July 1, 2021, any Department of Health (ODH) employees identified 
as necessary to the operation of a central warehouse to be transferred to the DAS. 
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State contracts for goods and services 

(R.C. 9.27) 

The bill prohibits a contract entered into by the state1 for the procurement of goods or 
services from including any of the following, unless otherwise required or permitted by state or 
federal law:   

 A provision that requires the state to indemnify or hold harmless another person.  

 A provision by which the state agrees to binding arbitration or any other binding extra-
judicial dispute resolution process.  

 A provision that names a venue for any action or dispute against the state other than a 
court of proper jurisdiction in Franklin County.  

 A provision that requires the state to agree to limit the liability for any direct loss to the 
state for bodily injury, death, or damage to property of the state caused by the 
negligence, intentional or willful misconduct, fraudulent act, recklessness, or other 
tortious conduct of a person or a person’s employees or agents, or a provision that would 
otherwise impose an indemnification obligation on the state.  

 A provision that requires the state to be bound by a term or condition that is unknown to 
the state at the time of signing a contract, that is not specifically negotiated with the state, 
that may be unilaterally changed by the other party, or that is electronically accepted by 
a state employee.  

 A provision that provides for a person other than the Attorney General to serve as legal 
counsel for the state or for any state agency, except in cases where the Attorney General 
may appoint special counsel.2   

 A provision that is inconsistent with the state’s obligations under the Public Records Act.  

 A provision for automatic renewal that would obligate state funds in subsequent fiscal 
years.  

 A provision that limits the state’s ability to recover the cost of cover for a replacement 
contractor.  

If a contract contains one of these terms or conditions, the term or condition is void ab 
initio (invalid from the outset), and the contract otherwise is enforceable as if it did not contain 
the invalid term or condition. The bill specifies that a contract containing an invalid term or 
condition is governed by and must be construed in accordance with Ohio law notwithstanding 
any term or condition to the contrary in the contract. Finally, this provision does not apply to a 

                                                      

1 Includes the General Assembly, Supreme Court, offices of all elected state officers, and all departments, 
boards, offices, commissions, agencies, institutions, and other instrumentalities of the state. 
2 R.C. 109.07, not in the bill. 
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contract in effect before the section’s effective date, or to the renewal or extension of a contract 
in effect before that date. 

Ohio preference scoring in state purchases 

(R.C. 125.09) 

The bill expands the types of purchases under state purchasing law that are eligible for an 
Ohio preference in scoring. Under current law, Ohio preference scoring is applied to purchases 
through the competitive sealed bid process. Under the bill, the scoring also must be applied to 
purchases through the competitive sealed proposal and reverse auction processes. Reverse 
auction is a purchasing process in which offerors submit bids in competing to sell services or 
supplies in an open environment via the internet.3 

Generally, Ohio law requires the Director of Administrative Services to adopt rules to 
prescribe criteria and procedures for use by all state agencies in giving preference to Ohio 
products. These rules allow for granting waivers of the Buy Ohio requirements on a contract-by-
contract basis when compliance would result in paying an excessive price or acquiring a 
disproportionately inferior product. If the Director determines that selection of the lowest Ohio 
bid will not result in an excessive price or a disproportionately inferior product or service, the 
Director must propose a contract award to the lowest responsive and responsible Ohio bid at the 
bid price quoted.4 

Bulk purchasing program 

(R.C. 125.04 and 3501.302) 

The bill makes changes to the law concerning which entities may participate in the 
Department of Administrative Services (DAS) bulk purchasing program for supplies and services. 

First, the bill allows a political subdivision or special district in another state to participate 
in purchasing contracts in the same manner as an Ohio political subdivision or special district may 
do. Continuing law already allows federal agencies, other states, other purchasing consortia, and 
entities established under interstate compacts to participate, along with certain other entities in 
Ohio. DAS is permitted to charge each participating entity a reasonable fee to cover the costs 
DAS incurs in allowing the entity to participate. 

Second, the bill allows a board of elections to participate in DAS purchasing contracts if 
the county in which the board is located is authorized to participate in those contracts. The board 
may participate under the same terms and conditions that apply to the county. Currently, a board 
of elections may participate but must separately apply to DAS and pay a fee for its own 
membership, instead of participating through the county’s membership. 

                                                      

3 R.C. 125.071 and 125.072, not in the bill. 
4 R.C. 125.11, not in the bill. 
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Finally, the bill clarifies that a board of elections may choose to purchase election supplies 
through DAS, through an existing bulk purchasing program administered by the Secretary of 
State, or by other means. 

Cooperative purchasing agreements 

(R.C. 125.02) 

The bill allows DAS to participate in cooperative purchasing by joining existing 
procurement contracts of other state agencies with their own purchasing authority, other states, 
and the U.S. government. Current law suggests that DAS must be an original party of a contract 
and cannot join after a contract is procured. 

Continuing law grants DAS the authority to establish contracts for supplies and services, 
including telephone, other telecommunication, and computer services for use by state agencies. 
Under the bill, the Director of DAS may participate in cooperative purchasing with several entities 
enumerated in continuing law.5 The bill expands this list of entities to include the Capitol Square 
Review and Advisory Board. 

Parental and caregiver leave 

(R.C. 124.136 and 124.1312) 

Parental leave  

Continuing law allows certain state employees who work at least 30 hours per week to 
take up to six continuous weeks of paid parental leave on a child’s birth or adoption. Under the 
bill, an employee is eligible for parental leave on a child’s stillbirth beginning on the day of the 
stillborn child’s delivery. To be eligible, the employee must be listed as a parent on the stillborn 
child’s fetal death certificate. “Stillborn” means that an infant of at least 20 weeks of gestation 
suffered a fetal death. “Fetal death” means death before the complete extraction from its mother 
of a product of human conception, irrespective of the pregnancy duration, which after extraction 
does not breathe or show any other evidence of life.6  

The bill increases, from $2,000 to $5,000, the continuing law adoption expenses benefit 
an employee may choose to receive in lieu of paid parental leave. 

The bill also includes, for parental leave eligibility purposes, persons employed in a 
position for which the authority to determine compensation is given by law to another individual 
or entity (who is not the Director, who establishes the job classifications and pay ranges for most 
state employees under continuing law). Under continuing law, the following employees are 

                                                      

5 The Adjutant General for military supplies and services, the General Assembly, the judicial branch, state 
institutions of higher education, some state elected officials (R.C. 125.02 and 125.041, not in the bill); one 
or more other states, groups of states, the U.S. or any department, agency, or division of the U.S., other 
purchasing consortia, the Department of Transportation, or a political subdivision of Ohio (R.C. 125.02 
and 125.04). 
6 R.C. 3705.01, not in the bill. 
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eligible for parental leave: full- and part-time employees paid in accordance with the exempt 
employee salary schedule; legislative employees and Legislative Service Commission employees; 
employees in the Governor’s office; employees who are in the unclassified civil service and 
exempt from collective bargaining coverage in the office of the Secretary of State, Auditor of 
State, Treasurer of State, and Attorney General; Supreme Court employees; and Bureau of 
Worker’s Compensation employees whose compensation the Administrator of Workers’ 
Compensation establishes.7  

Caregiver leave 

Under the bill, a state employee listed under “Parental leave,” above, who works at 
least 30 hours per week and who is a foster caregiver or kinship caregiver is eligible for up to five 
days of caregiver leave with full pay in a calendar year on a child’s placement with the employee. 
Caregiver leave begins on the day on which the child is placed with the employee. Continuing law 
defines a foster caregiver as a person holding a valid foster home certificate. A kinship caregiver 
is an adult caring for a related or unrelated child in place of the child’s parents.8 

For part-time employees, the average number of regular hours worked, including all 
hours of holiday pay and other types of paid leave, during the three-month period immediately 
before the day caregiver leave begins is used to determine caregiver leave eligibility. If an 
employee has not worked for three months, the number of hours for which the employee has 
been scheduled to work per week during the employee’s employment period is used to 
determine caregiver leave eligibility. 

Use of caregiver leave does not affect an employee’s eligibility for other forms of paid 
leave granted under Ohio’s Department of Administrative Services – Personnel Law. It also does 
not prohibit an employee from taking leave under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 
1993, except that caregiver leave is included in any leave time provided under that act.  

The Director may adopt rules under the Administrative Procedure Act governing caregiver 
leave. 

Fleet management 

(R.C. 125.14 and 125.832) 

The Office of Fleet Management within DAS is responsible for the acquisition, 
maintenance, management, analysis, and disposal of the state’s vehicle fleet. The bill makes two 
modifications related to fleet management.  

First, it modifies the definition of “operating cost,” which is a factor in calculating the 
minimum number of business miles per year an employee of a state agency must drive in order 
to qualify for approval by DAS to receive a motor vehicle for business use. Instead of dividing 
annual maintenance cost by vehicle lifetime miles driven, as under current law, the bill divides 

                                                      

7 R.C. 124.152, not in the bill. 
8 R.C. 5103.02; also R.C. 5101.85, not in the bill. 
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annual maintenance cost by annual miles driven. This modification better calculates an annual 
operating cost.  

Second, the bill allows proceeds from the disposition of state vehicles to be transferred 
from the Investment Recovery Fund to the Fleet Management Fund. Currently, when DAS 
disposes of a motor vehicle originally purchased with GRF dollars, DAS is required to deposit the 
proceeds into either the Investment Recovery Fund or the Fleet Management Fund.9 The bill 
allows funds originally deposited into the Investment Recovery Fund to be transferred to the 
Fleet Management Fund.  

Prescription drug advisory council 

(R.C. 125.95) 

The bill specifies that the Prescription Drug Transparency and Affordability Advisory 
Council’s chairperson is the DAS Director. It also modifies the frequency at which the Council 
must meet after the initial report is submitted from quarterly to at the call of the chairperson. 

The Council was established in 2019 by the main appropriations act of the 133rd General 
Assembly (H.B. 166), within DAS. H.B. 166 required the Council to have 14 members: five cabinet 
heads and nine individuals representing various constituencies. Not later than six months after 
initial appointments were made, the Council was to submit a report to the Governor, General 
Assembly, and the Joint Medicaid Oversight Commission’s chairperson with various pieces of 
information, including on how Ohio could best achieve prescription drug price transparency. A 
copy of that report, and additional information on the Council, is available on the Council’s 
website. 

DAS insurance program 

(R.C. 9.821, 9.822, 9.83, 2743.01, 2743.02, 2743.15, 2743.16, and 2743.19) 

The bill makes several changes in relation to state liability and the risk management 
program operated by the Department of Administrative Services (DAS).  

Sovereign immunity 

The bill declares the administration of the state’s Risk Management Program to be a 
public duty for purposes of the Sovereign Immunity/Court of Claims Law. State law specifies that 
the state is immune from civil liability in the performance of a public duty. Thus, under the bill, 
the state cannot be sued for losses incurred in relation to any action of the Risk Management 
Program. 

The bill also amends the law related to immunity provided to state officers or employees. 
In several instances, state law provides immunity to certain state officers or employees in the 
carrying out their duties. The bill specifies that the authority to sue such an officer or employee 

                                                      

9 If a vehicle was purchased with non-GRF funds, the proceeds are deposited into the fund used for the 
purchase. 
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in a specific circumstance does not affect the general immunity provided to that officer or 
employee under the law.  

Judicial liability program 

The bill authorizes the Office of Risk Management to administer a judicial liability 
program. This is an already existing self-insurance program operated by DAS that provides 
insurance coverage to judges and courts for liabilities. Thus, the bill would be providing explicit 
authority to provide an already existing program. 

Bond requirements 

The bill amends the law related to fidelity bonds purchased in relation to state agents and 
employees. Fidelity bonds insure against loss due to dishonest acts of state officers, agents, or 
employees. The bill removes the requirement that the state purchase bonds for state agents and 
instead allows the state to self-insure against any such claims. However, the bill requires public 
official bonds to be purchased when statutorily required.  

Liability insurance program  

The bill amends the law related to the liability insurance programs administered by DAS 
and political subdivisions. Under current law, DAS and political subdivisions are authorized to 
insure against liability in relation to the operation of certain specified vehicles. Under the bill, this 
authority is expanded to general liability that occurs during the course of employment or official 
responsibilities.  

Claims against the state 

The bill amends the law related to the settlement of claims against the state. Continuing 
law, unchanged by the bill, requires a person making a claim of liability against the state, to 
attempt to have that claim compromised by the state or satisfied by the state’s insurance. The 
bill specifies that these actions must be taken prior to such a claim being filed with a court. 
Requires an instrumentality of the state to notify the Office of Risk Management of any 
settlement or compromise made in a claim against the instrumentality for the purpose of 
reserving funds.  

The bill specifies that information related to claims against the state is to be held in 
confidence, is not to be released, and is not subject to discovery or introduction in evidence in 
any federal or state civil action. 

Also, the bill specifies that recoveries against the state are to be reduced by other 
recoveries the claimant is entitled to, such as insurance proceeds, as opposed to just those other 
recoveries the claimant has received.  

Compromising of claims  

The bill makes several miscellaneous changes in the law related to the compromising, or 
settling, of claims made against the state. These changes are as follows:  

 Specifies that all settlements made by the Office of Risk Management are to be paid from 
the Risk Management Reserve Fund and the conditions of such payment; 
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 When a claim is settled, requires a copy of the settlement instrument to be forwarded to 
the Office of Risk Management for payment from the Risk Management Reserve Fund;  

 Specifies that the authority of DAS to settle claims does not extend to settling claims on 
behalf of agency programs with direct settlement authority;  

 Requires a copy of a judgement against the state to be forwarded to the Office of Risk 
Management for the judgement to be paid from the Risk Management Reserve Fund; 

 Establishes that the compromising of claims is a public duty for the purposes of the 
Sovereign Immunity/Court of Claims Law. 

Public office employee database 

(R.C. 149.434) 

The bill eliminates the requirement that a public office include the date of birth of all 
public officials and employees on the database or list that is maintained by the public office. 
Under current law, each public office must maintain a database or list that includes the name 
and date of birth of all public officials and employees elected to or employed by that public office. 
The information in the database is a public record under the Public Records Law. 

Real estate and planning 

Land conveyance documents 

(R.C. 123.02 and 5301.13; repealed R.C. 117.49 and 117.50; conforming changes in numerous 
other R.C. sections) 

The bill transfers responsibility to prepare deeds for the conveyance of state land from 
the Auditor of State to the DAS Director. The bill also transfers from the Auditor to the DAS 
Director the related responsibility to keep records showing the state’s interest in real estate 
(aside from public lands and highway rights-of-way), and to maintain a recording system for those 
records that is open for public inspection. 

Land conveyance authority 

(R.C. 123.01) 

The bill expands the DAS Director’s authority to convey state-owned land in three ways. 

First, it authorizes the DAS Director to grant perpetual easements over state-owned land 
to utilities regulated by the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio. Under existing law, the DAS 
Director is generally limited to granting easements for 15 years, though easements over 
university land can run to 25 years if approved by the university board of trustees. 

Second, the bill allows the DAS Director to correct legal descriptions or title defects, or to 
release fractional interests in real property, as necessary to cure title clouds reflected in public 
records. The title clouds the bill allows the DAS Director to address include those arising from 
boundary disputes, ingress or egress issues, title transfers precipitated through retirement of 
bond requirements, and the retention of fractional interests in real estate otherwise disposed of 
in previous transfers. 
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Third, the bill authorizes the DAS Director to dispose of state-owned land that has a fair 
market value less than $1 million, with Controlling Board approval. Fair market value is to be 
determined using best management or other relevant practices through a method considered 
reasonable, applicable, and appropriate by the DAS Director. Funds from a sale under the bill’s 
new provision are to be credited, at the direction of the OBM Director, to a fund or funds in the 
State Treasury, or to accounts held by a state college or university. 

Office of Information Technology 

(R.C. 125.18) 

The bill eliminates the authority, in current law, for the State Chief Information Officer to 
establish policies and standards for the acquisition of common information technology by state 
agencies. Instead, the bill requires the State Chief Information Officer to coordinate with the 
Office of Procurement Services to establish policies and standards for state agency acquisition of 
information technology supplies and services. 

The bill also clarifies that polices that the State Chief Information Officer must establish, 
for the reduction of printing, are to promote the increased use of electronic records by state 
agencies. 

Under continuing law, the State Chief Information Officer supervises the Office of 
Information Technology, which is within the DAS. 

Transferring central warehouse employees from ODH to DAS 

(Section 518.40) 

The bill requires, on or after July 1, 2021, any Department of Health (ODH) employees 
identified as necessary to the operation of a central warehouse be transferred to the DAS. The 
bill specifies that the employees must retain their positions and benefits. 

The bill authorizes the DAS Director to establish, change, and abolish positions of ODH 
and assign, reassign, classify, reclassify, transfer, reduce, promote, or demote all ODH employees 
who are not subject to Ohio’s public employees’ collective bargaining law. This authority includes 
assigning or reassigning an exempt employee to a bargaining unit classification, but includes 
provisions if the new position is in a lower classification. The employee cannot receive any 
increase in compensation until the maximum rate of pay for that classification exceeds the 
employee’s compensation. 

Under the bill, notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, the Director of 
Budget and Management (OBM) may make necessary budget changes, including cancelling 
encumbrances of ODH and reestablishing them as encumbrances of DAS. 

Additionally, the bill specifies that this transfer of employees is subject to Ohio’s statutory 
layoff procedures and any action taken by the ODH Director or the DAS Director is not subject to 
appeal to the State Personnel Board of Review. 
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DEPARTMENT OF AGING 

 Permits the Department of Aging to require non-Medicaid providers to be certified by the 
Department as a condition of payment for services provided under programs the 
Department administers.  

 Applies existing certification and payment provisions to providers of any services, not just 
community-based long-term care services. 

 Authorizes the Department to develop and offer training programs to area agencies on 
aging, long-term care facilities and providers, and other interested parties. 

 

Certification of providers  

(R.C. 173.39, 173.391, 173.392, and 173.393) 

The bill permits the Department of Aging to require non-Medicaid providers to be 
certified by the Department as a condition of payment for services provided under programs the 
Department administers. If the Department does not require certification, the provider must 
continue to comply with existing law that requires the provider to have a contract or grant 
agreement with the Department to provide the services. As under current law, providers of 
services under the PASSPORT program and Assisted Living program must be certified as a 
condition of payment. 

The bill applies existing certification and payment provisions applicable to community-
based long-term care services to any services provided under a program the Department 
administers. This extends existing criminal records check requirements to additional providers.10 

Training programs 

(R.C. 173.012) 

The bill authorizes the Department to develop and offer training programs to area 
agencies on aging, long-term care facilities, providers of long-term care services, and other 
interested parties. The Department may charge a fee for the training and use fees collected to 
develop and offer additional training programs. The fees must be deposited into the Senior 
Community Outreach Fund, which the bill creates. 

  

                                                      

10 R.C. 173.38, not in the bill.  
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 

Pesticide product registration fee 

 Increases the annual fee for registering a pesticide with the Department of Agriculture 
(ODA) from $150 to $250. 

Weighing and measuring device permit fee increase 

  Increases, from $75 to $100, the fee a person must pay to ODA if the person applies for 
an annual permit to operate certain commercially used weighing and measuring devices 
in Ohio. 

 Correspondingly, increases the annual permit renewal fee for those devices by the same 
amount, from $75 to $100. 

Wine tax diversion to Ohio Grape Industries Fund 

 Makes permanent the 2¢ per-gallon earmark of wine tax revenue that is credited to the 
Ohio Grape Industries Fund, which is used to support and promote the Ohio grape and 
wine industry. 

Farmers market registration 

 Eliminates the voluntary registration of farmers markets with ODA and the corresponding 
inspection of registered farmers markets by ODA.  

Ohio Proud Program merchandise 

 Requires all fees assessed for participation in the Ohio Proud Program to be credited to 
the existing Ohio Proud, International, and Domestic Market Development (Ohio Proud) 
Fund, rather than the GRF as under current law. 

 Authorizes ODA to sell merchandise that promotes the Program, and requires the Director 
of Agriculture to deposit proceeds from the merchandise sales in the Ohio Proud Fund. 

Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development 
Foundation 

 Abolishes, effective December 30, 2021, the Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community 
Development Foundation, which is tasked with assisting southern Ohio farmers in 
replacing their tobacco production with other agricultural products and mitigating the 
economic impact of reduced tobacco production in the region. 

 Eliminates the Foundation’s board of trustees and provides for the winding down of the 
Foundation’s affairs by ODA. 
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Pesticide product registration fee 

(R.C. 921.02) 

The bill increases the annual fee for registering a pesticide with the Department of 
Agriculture (ODA) from $150 to $250. The bill clarifies that, if ODA does not issue or renew the 
pesticide registration, it must retain the application fee as payment for the application’s 
processing costs. According to ODA, the fee is currently nonrefundable. 

Weighing and measuring device permit fee increase 

(R.C. 1327.501) 

The bill increases, from $75 to $100, the fee a person must pay to ODA if the person 
applies for an annual permit to operate one of the following commercially used weighing and 
measuring devices in Ohio: 

1. A livestock scale;  

2. A vehicle scale;  

3. A railway scale;  

4. A vehicle tank meter;  

5. A bulk rack meter; or  

6. An LPG meter. 

The bill correspondingly increases the annual permit renewal fee for those devices by the 
same amount, from $75 to $100. 

Wine tax diversion to Ohio Grape Industries Fund 

(R.C. 4301.43) 

The bill makes permanent the 2¢ per-gallon earmark of wine tax revenue that is credited 
to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund, which is used to support and promote the Ohio grape and 
wine industry. The earmark expires on June 30, 2021. 

Continuing law imposes a tax on the distribution of wine, vermouth, and sparkling and 
carbonated wine and champagne at rates ranging from 30¢ per gallon to $1.48 per gallon. From 
the taxes paid, a portion is credited to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund for the encouragement of 
the state’s grape and wine industry. The remainder is credited to the GRF.  

Farmers market registration 

(R.C. 3717.221 and 3717.22) 

The bill eliminates the option to voluntarily register a farmers market with ODA. It also 
eliminates the corresponding inspection of registered farmers markets by ODA. As a result, local 
boards of health must inspect farmers markets under the law governing retail food 
establishments and food service operations. Under current law, a farmers market that is 
registered with ODA is exempt from inspection by a local board of health under those laws.  
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A farmers market is a location where producers congregate to offer fruits, vegetables, 
and other items for sale.  

Ohio Proud Program merchandise 

(R.C. 901.171) 

The bill requires all fees assessed for participation in the Ohio Proud Program to be 
credited to the existing Ohio Proud, International, and Domestic Market Development (Ohio 
Proud) Fund. Current law requires those fees to be deposited in the GRF. The Ohio Proud Program 
promotes food and agricultural products made and grown in Ohio. 

The bill authorizes ODA to sell merchandise that promotes the Ohio Proud Program. It 
also requires the Director of Agriculture to deposit proceeds from the merchandise sales in the 
Ohio Proud Fund. 

Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development 
Foundation 

(R.C. 183.12 through 183.17, repealed; R.C. 102.02, 183.021, and 183.33; Section 518.30) 

The bill abolishes the Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development 
Foundation on December 30, 2021. As a result of that elimination, it does the following: 

1. Eliminates the Foundation’s board of trustees; 

2. Provides for the winding down of the Foundation’s affairs by ODA; 

3. Eliminates the Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development Foundation 
Endowment Fund and requires the Treasurer of State to transfer the cash balance in the fund to 
the Ohio Proud Marketing Fund; and 

4. Eliminates the Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development Operating 
Expenses Fund and requires the Director of the Office of Budget and Management to transfer the 
cash balance in the fund to the existing Ohio Proud Marketing Fund. 

The Foundation was created in 2000 by S.B. 192 of the 123rd General Assembly as an 
outgrowth of the 1998 Tobacco Master Settlement Agreement reached between Ohio and other 
states and major tobacco manufacturers. Generally, the Foundation is tasked with assisting 
southern Ohio farmers in replacing their tobacco production with other agricultural products and 
mitigating the adverse economic impact of reduced tobacco production in the region by: 

1. Increasing the variety, quantity, and value of agricultural products other than tobacco 
that are produced in southern Ohio (where tobacco has traditionally been grown); 

2. Preserving agricultural land and soils in southern Ohio; 

3. Making strategic investments in communities that will be affected by the reduction in 
the demand for tobacco; and 

4. Providing education and training assistance to tobacco growers to help them make the 
transition out of tobacco production. 



P a g e  | 31  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

The Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development Foundation Endowment 
Fund originally consisted of money derived from the Tobacco Master Settlement Agreement. It 
also consists of grants and donations made to the Foundation and investment earnings of the 
fund. The Foundation uses money in the fund to award grants in assisting farmers according to 
the Foundation’s mission. 

The Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development Operating Expenses Fund 
consists of money transferred to it from the Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community 
Development Foundation Endowment Fund. The Foundation uses money in the Southern Ohio 
Agricultural and Community Development Operating Expenses Fund solely to pay the 
Foundation’s employees. 
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ATTORNEY GENERAL 

Collecting debts from gambling winnings 

 Reduces from $5,000 to $600 the threshold at which the State Lottery Commission must 
withhold from lottery winnings any amounts a lottery winner owes to the state or a 
political subdivision. 

 Requires a casino operator to use a data match program created by the Attorney General 
to withhold any amounts a patron owes to the state or a political subdivision from the 
amount of any casino winnings that exceed $600. 

 Requires the casino operator to remit payment to the Department of Job and Family 
Services for any past due child or spousal support, as required under current law, before 
giving the remainder to the Attorney General to pay other government debts. 

Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission 

 Modifies law with respect to various funds associated with the Ohio Peace Officer Training 
Academy. 

 

Collecting debts from gambling winnings 

Lottery winnings 

(R.C. 3770.073 and conforming change in R.C. 5701.11) 

The bill lowers to $600 the winnings threshold that triggers a requirement that the State 
Lottery Commission withhold the amount of any debt a lottery winner owes to the state or a 
political subdivision from the person’s winnings. Currently, if a person wins $5,000 or more in the 
lottery, the Commission must deduct the amount of those debts from the winnings and pay it to 
the Attorney General to satisfy the debts. The bill changes that threshold to match the federal 
threshold that determines whether the Commission must report the person’s lottery winnings to 
the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) – currently, $600.11 

Under continuing law, lottery winnings that exceed the IRS threshold also may be 
intercepted to satisfy any past due child or spousal support. If the amount of the winnings is not 
enough to cover both the past due support and any debts to the state or a political subdivision, 
the support debts are paid first.12 

                                                      

11 26 United States Code (U.S.C.) 6041. 
12 R.C. 3770.071, not in the bill. 
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Casino winnings 

(R.C. 3772.37 and conforming change in R.C. 5701.11) 

The bill requires a casino operator to withhold the amount of any debt a patron owes to 
the state or a political subdivision from the patron’s casino winnings, if the winnings exceed the 
IRS reporting threshold (currently, $600). Under continuing law, a casino operator also must 
withhold the amount of any past due child or spousal support the patron owes from any winnings 
that exceed that threshold.13 

Under the bill, the Attorney General must develop and implement a real time data match 
program for casino operators to use to determine whether patrons owe any debts to the state 
or a political subdivision that have become final. If a patron wins $600 or more and the program 
indicates that the patron owes any such amounts, the casino operator must withhold the amount 
of the debt from the winnings, up to the total amount of the winnings, and transmit it to the 
Attorney General within seven days. 

If the casino operator learns through the data match program operated by the 
Department of Job and Family Services under continuing law that the patron also is in default 
under a child or spousal support order, the casino operator must withhold the past due amount 
and transmit it to the Department before transmitting any remaining amount to the Attorney 
General. 

After receiving the money from the casino operator, the Attorney General must apply it 
toward the patron’s debt to the state or a political subdivision. If the patron has multiple debts 
of that kind, the money must be applied against the debts in the following order of priority, which 
is the same order of priority that applies under continuing law concerning debts to be satisfied 
from lottery winnings: 

 Personal liabilities for corporate tax debts; 

 Amounts owed to the state; 

 Amounts owed to political subdivisions. 

The Attorney General may adopt rules under the Administrative Procedure Act to 
implement the bill’s requirements. 

Ohio Peace Officer Training Academy 

(R.C. 109.79, 109.802, repealed; R.C. 2981.13, and 3772.01) 

The bill makes the following changes to funds associated with the Ohio Peace Officer 
Training Academy: 

1. Eliminates the Law Enforcement Assistance Fund; 

2. Codifies the Peace Officer Training Academy Fee Fund into permanent law, and 
specifies all of the following: 

                                                      

13 R.C. 3123.90, not in the bill. 
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a. The fund is in the state treasury; 

b Tuition paid by a political subdivision or by the State Public Defenders Office must 
be deposited into the fund; 

c. The Attorney General must use money in the fund to pay costs associated with 
operation of the Academy. 

3. Eliminates the Peace Officer Training Commission Fund and transfers its functions and 
purposes to the Ohio Law Enforcement Training Fund; 

Under current law, if a court other than a juvenile court orders a forfeiture, a portion of 
the forfeiture must be distributed to various law enforcement related funds, including the Peace 
Officer Training Commission Fund. Under the bill, the forfeiture amount that would be deposited 
into the Peace Officer Training Commission Fund instead must be deposited into the Ohio Law 
Enforcement Training Fund. A provision of current law, retained by the bill, requires these funds 
to be used by the Ohio Peace Officer Commission only to pay the cost of peace officer training. 

The Ohio Law Enforcement Training Fund is the fund described in the Ohio Constitution, 
which must receive 2% of the proceeds of the gross casino revenue tax collected by the state, to 
enhance public safety by providing additional training opportunities to the law enforcement 
community.14 

4. Authorizes the use of money in the Ohio Law Enforcement Training Fund for all training 
opportunities for the law enforcement community rather than for additional training only. 

  

                                                      

14 Ohio Constitution, Article XV, Section 6(C)(3)(f). 
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OFFICE OF BUDGET AND MANAGEMENT 

 Reduces the time by which the OBM Director must void any unredeemed income tax 
refund warrant from two years to 90 days, consistent with the time for voiding any other 
warrant drawn from the state treasury. 

 Requires investment earnings of the Budget Stabilization Fund to be credited to the fund. 

 Eliminates the OBM Director’s oversight regarding internal agency fund assessments and 
allocations for certain funds. 

 Allows the OBM Director to credit to the Ohio’s Public Health Priorities Fund any financial 
gifts made to the state to support public health. 

 

Voided income tax refund warrants 

(R.C. 126.37) 

The bill reduces the amount of time by which the Director of Office of Budget and 
Management must void any unredeemed warrant that draws on the state treasury for income 
tax refunds from two years to 90 days after its issuance. This 90-day period is consistent with the 
time after which the Director must void any other warrant drawn from the state treasury.  

A warrant is an order to pay issued by one official to another (in this case, the Director to 
the Treasurer of State) to give to a payee money from a specified account. Warrants are generally 
represented by checks or another instrument payable on the demand of the payee, which in this 
case is the income tax refund recipient.15 A warrant that is not redeemed within a prescribed 
time period becomes aged or “stale” and may be voided by the official that issued the warrant. 

Budget Stabilization Fund investment earnings 

(R.C. 131.43) 

The bill requires investment earnings of the Budget Stabilization Fund (known as the Rainy 
Day Fund) to be credited to the fund. The fund is a reserve balance that is set aside during good 
economic periods to protect the state budget from cyclical changes in revenues and expenses 
that may occur during economic periods.  

Oversight over fund allocations 

(R.C. 121.08, 121.084, 169.05, 901.91, 1121.30, 1181.06, 1321.21, 1707.37, 1733.321, 3701.831, 
3737.71, 3745.014, 4735.211, and 4763.15) 

The bill eliminates the Director of Budget and Management’s oversight regarding internal 
agency fund assessments and allocations. In most cases, the funds modified by the bill are 
assessed an amount to be used by the affected agency for administration purposes. The bill 
permits the affected agency director or superintendent to determine the assessment amount 

                                                      

15 See R.C. 126.35, not in the bill. 
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without OBM Director approval. The funds and the entity administering the funds are listed in 
the table below. 

Funds modified by the bill 

Fund name Citation (R.C.) Administering agency personnel 

Division of Administration Fund 121.08 Director of Commerce 

Unclaimed Funds Trust Fund 169.05 Director of Commerce 

Division of Securities Fund 1707.37 Director of Commerce 

Industrial Compliance Operating Fund 121.084 Director of Commerce 

Division of Real Estate Operating Fund 4735.211 Director of Commerce 

Real Estate Appraiser Operating Fund 4763.15 Director of Commerce 

State Fire Marshal’s Fund 3737.71 Director of Commerce 

Department of Agriculture operating funds 901.91 Director of Agriculture 

Banks Fund 1121.30 Superintendent of Financial Institutions 

Consumer Finance Fund 1321.21 Superintendent of Financial Institutions 

Credit Unions Fund 1733.321 Superintendent of Financial Institutions 

Financial Institutions Fund 1181.06 Superintendent of Financial Institutions 

Department of Health operating funds 3701.831 Director of Health 

Central Support Indirect Fund 3745.014 Director of Environmental Protection 

 

Disposition of financial gifts to support public health 

(R.C. 183.18) 

The bill allows the OBM Director to credit to the Ohio’s Public Health Priorities Fund any 
financial gifts, including grants and contributions, made to the state to support public health. The 
Director of Health uses this fund to conduct public health campaigns, address pressing public 
health issues, implement and administer public health programs, and to improve the population 
health of Ohio. 
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DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

Division of Securities 

 Creates the Ohio Investor Recovery Fund for victims of securities fraud that have not 
received restitution from the person that committed the violation. 

 Allows a dealer or investment adviser to place a hold on a transaction when the dealer, 
investment adviser, or an employee believes the account holder is age 60 or older or 
eligible for adult protective services and may be the victim of financial exploitation. 

Division of Industrial Compliance 

Sale of second-hand bedding and toys 

 Requires any person or entity wishing to sell second-hand bedding or used toys to register 
with the Superintendent of Industrial Compliance within the Department of Commerce. 

Plumbing inspector certification 

 Removes certification of plumbing inspectors from the Division of Industrial Compliance’s 
responsibility and authority but retains the Board of Building Standard’s plumbing 
inspector certification. 

 Requires a board of health to employ a Board of Building Standards certified plumbing 
inspector, as opposed to a Division of Industrial Compliance certified plumbing inspector 
as under current law, or to contract with another health district or building department 
in order for a prohibition on Division inspections in the board’s district to apply. 

 Adds a requirement that a board of health notify the Division of Industrial Compliance of 
the board’s intent to inspect plumbing in its district before the continuing prohibition 
against duplicative Division plumbing authority will apply. 

 Eliminates prohibitions on boards of health that do not employ certified plumbing 
inspectors from inspecting plumbing, collecting fees for inspecting plumbing, and 
contracting with other boards of health to inspect plumbing on the other board’s behalf. 

Building inspection fees  

 Transfers authority to establish fees for inspections carried out by the Division of 
Industrial Compliance from the Board of Building Standards to the Superintendent of 
Industrial Compliance. 

Manufactured homes 

 Makes several technical changes to replace references to the former Manufactured 
Homes Commission with references to the Division of Industrial Compliance. 

Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing 

 Specifies that each licensed real estate broker and salesperson must notify the 
Superintendent of Real Estate and Professional Licensing of a change in personal 
residence address within 30 days after the change. 
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 Requires each licensee to maintain a valid email address on file with the Division and 
notify the Superintendent of any changes in email address within 30 days of the change. 

 Expands the Superintendent’s authority to recommend ancillary trustees for brokers. 

 Authorizes the Division to adopt rules with respect to the regulation of manufactured 
home dealers, brokers, and salespersons. 

 Reduces the portion of triennial real estate broker’s and salesperson’s license fees to be 
credited to the Real Estate Education and Research Fund from $3 to $1.50 per fee. 

Division of Unclaimed Funds 

 Creates an affidavit to allow the heirs or next of kin of a decedent to claim the decedent’s 
unclaimed funds without requiring letters testamentary or letters of administration to be 
issued upon the estate. 

 Revises the law holding a holder of unclaimed funds harmless after delivering funds to 
the state in terms of the notice the holder is required to send to the Director of Commerce 
of pending proceedings, the Director’s ability to intervene in proceedings against a holder, 
and the nature of each party’s liability. 

 Prohibits a person from receiving compensation for, or engaging in any activity for the 
purpose of, recovering unclaimed funds or the contents of a safe deposit box without first 
having entered into an agreement with the owner or owner’s legal representative that 
complies with the Unclaimed Funds Law. 

State Fire Marshal  

 Specifies that when the State Fire Marshal or another authorized fire investigator is 
investigating a fire that has caused more than $5,000 of property damage, to determine 
whether or not arson was involved, they must do so to the extent practicable and in a 
manner consistent with accepted standards of investigation. 

 Permits the OBM Director, after certification of the Director of Commerce, to transfer 
funds from the State Fire Marshal’s Fund to the Small Government Fire Department 
Services Revolving Loan Fund, if additional resources are needed. 

 Requires a self-service gas station to comply with the most recent version of National Fire 
Protection Association Standard Number 30A, as incorporated into the State Fire Code, 
instead of the outdated version 30A-1990, as required under current law. 

Division of Liquor Control 

 Prohibits a to-go cocktail sold by a specified liquor permit holder from containing more 
than two ounces of spirituous liquor. 

 Eliminates the requirement that the following submissions required of a club applying for 
a D-4 liquor permit be done under oath: 

 A statement of the organization controlling the club certifying that the club is 
operated in the interests of a reputable organization; and 
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 The roster of the membership of the club. 

Division of Financial Institutions 

 Increases initial registration, renewal, and late fees for mortgage brokers, lenders, and 
servicers, and increases original license, renewal, and late fees for mortgage loan 
originators. 

 Authorizes the Superintendent of Financial Institutions to charge an additional 
assessment for renewal fees for mortgage brokers, lenders, servicers, and mortgage loan 
originators if the amount billed under the statute are less than the estimated 
expenditures for the following fiscal year. 

 

Division of Securities 

Ohio Investor Recovery Fund 

(R.C. 1707.47 and 1707.471) 

The bill creates the Ohio Investor Recovery Fund (OIRF) for a victim of securities fraud (a 
purchaser identified in a final order that has suffered a pecuniary loss as the result of an Ohio 
Securities Law violation or the surviving spouse or dependent children of such a purchaser who 
is deceased) that has not received restitution from the person that committed the violation 
pursuant to a final order (a final administrative order issued by the Division of Securities or a final 
court order in a civil or criminal proceeding initiated by the Division).  

Obtaining a restitution assistance award 

Under the bill, the following victims are eligible for restitution assistance from the OIRF, 
with the maximum award limited to the lesser of $25,000 or 25% of the monetary injury suffered 
by the victim in the final order: 

 A natural person who is an Ohio resident; 

 A person, other than a natural person, that domiciled in Ohio. 

To receive a restitution assistance award, a claimant must submit an application to the 
Division on a form prescribed by the Division within 180 days after the date of the final order. 
The Division may grant an extension for good cause shown, but in no case may the Division accept 
an application received more than two years following the date of the final order. 

The bill prohibits the Division from awarding restitution assistance as follows: 

 To more than one claimant per victim; 

 To a claimant on behalf of a victim that has received the full amount of restitution owed 
from the person ordered to pay restitution to the victim in the final order before the 
application for restitution assistance from the OIRF is filed; 

 To a claimant if the final order identifies no pecuniary loss to the victim on whose behalf 
the application is made; 
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 To a claimant on behalf of a victim that assisted in the commission of the violation of the 
Securities Law; 

 If the portion of the final order giving rise to a restitution order or otherwise establishing 
a pecuniary loss to the victim is overturned on appeal. 

If, after the Division has made a restitution assistance award from the OIRF, the restitution 
award in the final order is overturned on appeal and all legal remedies have been exhausted, the 
claimant must forfeit the restitution assistance award. 

Violations 

A claimant may not knowingly file or cause to be filed an application or documents 
supporting an application that contain false, incomplete, or misleading information in any 
material respect. A claimant that violates this prohibition forfeits all restitution assistance and 
will be fined not more than $10,000 by the Division. The Division must commence a proceeding 
relating to a violation not later than two years after the Division discovered, or through 
reasonable diligence should have discovered, the violation, whichever is earlier. 

Funding the OIRF 

The OIRF consists of all cash transfers from the Division of Securities Fund, which may not 
exceed $2.5 million in any fiscal year. The OIRF may only be used for paying awards of restitution 
assistance and any expenses incurred in administering the OIRF. 

If the OIRF is reduced below $250,000 due to payment in full of awards that become final 
during a month, the Division must suspend payment of further claims that become final during 
that month and the following two months. At the end of this suspension period, the Division must 
pay the suspended claims. If the OIRF would be exhausted by payment in full, the Division must 
prorate the amount paid to each claimant according to the amount remaining in the OIRF at the 
end of the suspension period. 

Under the bill, the state is liable for a determination made by the Division only to the 
extent that money is available in the OIRF on the date the award is calculated. The bill subrogates 
the state to the rights of the person awarded restitution assistance to the extent of the award. 
The subrogation rights are against the person that committed the securities violation or a person 
liable for the pecuniary loss. The bill also permits the state to obtain a lien on the award in a 
separation action brought by the state or through state intervention in an action brought by or 
on behalf of the victim. 

Rules 

The Division must adopt rules as necessary to implement these provisions, including rules 
governing the processes for both: 

 Reviewing applications for restitution assistance awards; and 

 Suspending awards or making a prorated payment of awards when the OIRF balance 
approaches or reaches a balance below $250,000. 
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Elder financial exploitation 

(R.C. 1707.49) 

The bill lays out procedures for dealers, investment advisers, and their employees to 
follow when they believe that an account holder who is an eligible adult may be the victim of 
financial exploitation.  

An “eligible adult” is a person aged 60 or older or a person who is eligible to receive adult 
protective services (a person aged 60 or older who is handicapped by the infirmities of aging or 
who has a physical or mental impairment that prevents the person from providing for the 
person’s own care or protection, and who resides in an independent living arrangement). 

The term “financial exploitation” means either: 

 The wrongful or unauthorized taking, withholding, directing, appropriation, or use of an 
eligible adult’s money, assets, or property (assets); or 

 Any act or omission by a person, including through the use of a power of attorney or 
guardianship, to do either of the following: 

 Through deception, intimidation, or undue influence, obtain control of an eligible 
adult’s assets and thereby deprive the eligible adult of the ownership, use, benefit, or 
possession of the assets; 

 Convert (a civil tort) an eligible adult’s assets and thereby deprive the eligible adult of 
the ownership, use, benefit, or possession of the assets. 

Under the bill, if an employee of a dealer or investment adviser has reasonable cause to 
believe that an eligible adult who is an account holder may be subject to past, current, or 
attempted financial exploitation, the employee must follow the employing dealer’s or 
investment advisor’s internal procedures for reporting past, current, or attempted financial 
exploitation.  

In addition, the dealer or investment adviser may place a hold on any transaction 
impacted by the suspected exploitation for up to 15 business days. The dealer or investment 
advisor must report the transactional hold, along with a summary of the facts and circumstances 
leading up to the hold, in writing immediately to the Division of Securities and to the county 
department of job and family services for the county where the eligible adult resides. The dealer 
or investment advisor may continue the hold for up to another 15 business days (1) at the request 
of an investigating federal or state agency or (2) if the dealer or investment adviser has not heard 
from either the Division or the county department within the initial 15-day hold period. 

The bill specifies that these provisions are not to be construed as limiting a dealer’s or 
investment adviser’s ability to seek injunctive relief from a court of competent jurisdiction at any 
time for any past, current, or attempted financial exploitation. It further provides that any person 
participating in good faith in making a report or placing a transactional hold is immune from any 
civil or administrative liability arising from the report or hold. 

Any record made available to a state agency under these provisions is considered an 
investigative record and must therefore be retained by the Division and may not be available to 
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inspection by persons other than those having a direct economic interest in the information or 
the transaction under investigation, or by law enforcement agencies, state agencies, federal 
agencies, and other entities as set forth by rules adopted by the Division. The dealer or 
investment adviser must maintain, for not less than five years, any record of a transactional hold, 
any report relating to the hold, and any notification of the hold. 

Division of Industrial Compliance 

Sale of second-hand bedding and toys 

(R.C. 3713.02) 

The bill requires any person or entity wishing to sell or offer for sale second-hand bedding 
or used toys to register with the Superintendent of Industrial Compliance. Under current law, 
only persons or entities seeking to import, manufacture, renovate, wholesale, or reupholster 
stuffed toys or articles of bedding are required to register.  

Plumbing inspector certification 

(R.C. 3703.01; conforming change in R.C. 3703.03) 

Under current law, boards of health in city and general health districts are authorized to 
inspect plumbing in nonresidential buildings, provided they employ a plumbing inspector 
certified by the Division of Industrial Compliance. Health districts may also contract with other 
health districts or county building departments to inspect plumbing on their behalf, so long as 
the other health district or county building department employs a Division of Industrial 
Compliance certified inspector. If a board of health employs a plumbing inspector or contracts 
for plumbing inspections, the Division of Industrial Compliance is barred from conducting 
plumbing inspections in that board’s territory. 

The bill eliminates the Division of Industrial Compliance’s authority and responsibility to 
certify plumbing inspectors. In its place, it relies on the existing plumbing inspector certification 
offered by the Board of Building Standards. The bill also eliminates previous prohibitions on 
health districts inspecting plumbing, collecting fees for inspecting plumbing, or contracting with 
other health districts to inspect plumbing on the other health district’s behalf, without employing 
a Division of Industrial Compliance certified inspector. It does not put in place a similar 
requirement mandating a Board of Building Standards certified inspector. 

The bill also changes the prohibition on the Division of Industrial Compliance inspecting 
plumbing in health districts where the board of health employs, or has contracted for the services 
of, a plumbing inspector. Under the bill, the board of health must notify the Division of its intent 
to inspect plumbing in the district, in writing, and either employ a plumbing inspector or contract 
for the services of one. Under current law, the prohibition applies so long as the board of health 
employs, or contracts for the services of, a plumbing inspector. 

Building inspection fees  

(R.C. 3791.07) 

Under continuing law, the Division of Industrial Compliance completes various 
inspections of plans, industrialized units, and buildings. Current law allows the Board of Building 
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Standards to adopt a fee schedule for those inspections. The bill transfers that authority to the 
Superintendent of Industrial Compliance. It also makes adoption of the fee schedule mandatory, 
rather than permissive, and requires it to be adopted in rules pursuant to the Administrative 
Procedure Act. 

Manufactured homes 

(R.C. 4781.07, 4781.281, 4781.56, and 4781.57) 

The bill makes several technical changes by replacing outdated references to the former 
Manufactured Homes Commission with the reference to the Division of Industrial Compliance, 
the agency currently holding the responsibility for manufactured homes (other than their sale). 
The Commission was abolished in 2018 by H.B. 49 of the 132nd General Assembly, the main 
budget act for the FY 2018-FY 2019 biennium.  

Real estate education and research fund 

Real estate broker and salesperson contact information 

(R.C. 4735.14) 

The bill sets a deadline for a licensed real estate broker and salesperson to notify the 
Superintendent of Real Estate and Professional Licensing of a change in personal residence 
address: 30 days after the change. Existing law requires the notification, but does not specify a 
deadline.  

The bill also requires each licensee to maintain a valid email address on file with the 
Division and to notify the Superintendent of any changes in email address within 30 days after 
the change. 

Ancillary trustees for brokers 

(R.C. 4735.05) 

The bill expands the Superintendent’s authority to recommend an ancillary trustee when 
there has been an incapacitation or incarceration of a licensed broker, if there is no other licensed 
broker within the brokerage, to continue the business transactions of the brokerage for a period 
of time not to exceed the period of incapacitation or incarceration. Under existing law, the 
Superintendent may recommend an ancillary trustee upon the death of a licensed broker or the 
revocation or suspension of the broker’s license. 

Rulemaking relating to manufactured home sales 

(R.C. 4781.04) 

The bill explicitly authorizes the Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing to adopt 
rules pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act necessary for the administration of its 
regulatory authority for the licensing of manufactured home dealers, brokers, and salespersons. 



P a g e  | 44  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

Disposition of license fees 

(R.C. 4735.15) 

The bill reduces the portion of triennial real estate broker’s and salesperson’s license fees 
to be credited to the Real Estate Education and Research Fund from $3 per fee to $1.50 per fee. 

Division of Unclaimed Funds 

Small estate affidavit 

(R.C. 169.18) 

The bill creates an affidavit to allow the heirs or next of kin of a decedent to claim the 
decedent’s unclaimed funds without requiring letters testamentary or letters of administration 
to be issued upon the estate. Under continuing law, when an estate goes through the probate 
process, a letter testamentary or letter of administration is issued by a probate court that grants 
powers to an executor or administrator. The executor or administrator appears to be discharged 
upon the closing of the estate.  

Standard for distribution 

Under the bill, if an item of unclaimed funds belonging to a decedent is reported to the 
Director of Commerce, the Director must distribute the funds without requiring a letter 
testamentary or letter of administration when all of the following conditions are met: 

 At least 210 days have passed since the owner died; 

 All unclaimed funds together are valued at $5,000 or less; 

 The person claiming the item is the surviving spouse, any one or more of the deceased 
owner’s natural born or adopted children age 18 or older, or the parent of the deceased 
owner, with preference given in that order. 

Procedure 

To claim the item, a person must provide the Director all of the following: 

 An unredacted certified death certificate of the deceased owner; 

 Other information or documentary evidence the Director determines necessary to pay 
funds to the proper person, including personal identification and proof of tax 
identification number for the claimant, deceased owner, or both; 

 A list of all individual beneficiaries in the decedent’s will or individuals who would inherit 
pursuant to Ohio’s intestacy law if the decedent died intestate; 

 A sworn affidavit under penalty of perjury requesting the Director to release the item. 
The affidavit must include the following information: 

 The deceased owner’s name; 

 The date and place of the deceased owner’s death; 

 A statement that more than 210 days have passed since the deceased owner’s death; 
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 A statement that either: 

 An executor, administrator, or commissioner has not been appointed to 
administer the estate and no application to relieve an estate from administration 
is pending in any jurisdiction; or 

 The executor, administrator, or commissioner has been discharged. 

 A description and dollar value of each item, not exceeding an aggregate amount of 
$5,000 to be paid, transferred, or delivered to the claimant; 

 A statement that the deceased owner’s funeral and burial expenses have been paid, 
that the claimant will pay them, or that the unclaimed funds will be used to pay them; 

 If the statement described above indicates that the unclaimed funds will be used to 
pay the expenses, an additional statement that if the unclaimed funds are sufficient 
to cover all unpaid funeral and burial expenses, they will be used to cover all the 
expenses. If the unclaimed funds are insufficient to cover all such expenses, a 
statement that all the unclaimed funds will go toward the expenses; 

 A statement that the claimant is entitled to inherit from the deceased owner either 
by virtue of being a beneficiary in the decedent’s will or under Ohio’s intestacy law if 
the decedent died intestate; 

 The following statement: “No other person has a superior right to the interest of the 
decedent in the described unclaimed funds”; 

 A statement that the claimant requests that the item be paid, delivered, or transferred 
to the claimant; 

 A statement that the claimant will distribute the unclaimed funds pursuant to the 
deceased owner’s will or Ohio’s intestacy law if the decedent died intestate; 

 The claimant’s affirmation under penalty of perjury that the foregoing affidavit is true 
and correct. 

If the Director determines that the claimant is entitled to claim the item, the Director 
must distribute the item or pay the amount being held. 

Effect of distribution 

Distributing funds in response to the affidavit releases the Director to the same extent as 
by an entry granting release from administration or as if the distribution had been made to a duly 
appointed executor, administrator, or commissioner. The bill does not require the Director to 
oversee the application of the payment, delivery, or transfer made. 

The bill provides that the payment, delivery, or transfer of the unclaimed funds due to 
the deceased owner constitutes a full discharge and release to the Director from any claim for 
the funds or property paid, delivered, or transferred. Instead, a claimant to whom payment is 
made is liable to anyone prejudiced by an improper payment. 



P a g e  | 46  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

Holder of unclaimed funds held harmless 

(R.C. 169.07 and Section 701.30) 

Under current law, upon the payment of unclaimed funds to the Director of Commerce, 
the holder is relieved of further responsibility for the funds and is held harmless by the state from 
any liability arising out of the transfer of the funds to the state. The bill requires the holder to act 
in good faith and in compliance with the Unclaimed Funds Law to receive this protection from 
liability. It also specifies that the holder is held harmless to the extent of the value of the funds 
determined as of the time of payment to the state. 

Current law provides that if legal proceedings are instituted against a holder that has paid 
unclaimed funds to the state or has entered into an agreement with the state to retain the funds 
for investment, the holder must notify the Director in writing. Failure to give this notice absolves 
the state from any liability it may have with regard to these funds. The bill imposes a 14-day 
deadline for this notice and, if the holder fails to give timely notice, absolves the state from any 
liability it may otherwise have with regard to the funds beyond the value of the property paid or 
delivered to the state. 

Also under current law, the Director is required to intervene and assume the defense of 
the proceedings against the holder. The bill instead permits the Director, upon notice of the 
proceedings, to take any action the Director considers necessary or expedient to protect the 
interests of the state. Under the bill, if the Director elects not to intervene, and judgment is 
entered against the holder, the Director must reimburse the holder for the amount paid under 
the judgment or, if the holder retained any funds, enter into an agreement modified to reflect 
the satisfaction of the judgment to the extent of the value of the funds paid to the state. 

Under the bill, no person has a claim against the state, the holder, or a transfer agent, 
registrar, or other person acting for or on behalf of a holder for any change in the market value 
of unclaimed funds occurring after delivery by the holder to the Division of Unclaimed Funds, or 
after sale of the property by the Division. 

Lastly, the bill states that the amendments described above are intended to clarify that 
the Director is not required to hold the holder harmless or intervene on behalf of a holder if the 
holder failed to act in good faith or in compliance with the Unclaimed Funds Law. It is not meant 
to insure or indemnify the holder against the holder’s own acts or omissions, bad faith, or breach 
of a duty owed the unclaimed funds owner or the Director. 

Unclaimed funds finder agreements 

(R.C. 169.13) 

Continuing law permits agreements between the unclaimed funds owner and another 
person under which the person finds or assists in recovering unclaimed funds in exchange for 
compensation, so long as certain requirements are met. One requirement is that the agreement 
must disclose that the Auditor of State will pay the unclaimed funds directly to the owner. The 
bill instead requires disclosure that the OBM Director will do so.  

Current law also states that no person may receive compensation for recovering another 
person’s unclaimed funds under an agreement that is invalid. The bill rewords this to state 
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instead that a person cannot receive compensation without having first entered into a compliant 
agreement with the owner or owner’s legal representative. 

Note that the Unclaimed Funds Law is unclear as to who pays unclaimed funds, and the 
law likely is inconsistent with actual practice. While, under the bill, the finder’s agreement must 
say that the OBM Director pays the funds in R.C. 169.13(B)(2)(f), continuing law directs unclaimed 
funds found under these agreements be paid by the Auditor of State (R.C. 169.13(E)). This 
directive, in turn, appears to be contradicted by R.C. 169.08 (and in the bill R.C. 169.18), which 
indicates that the Director of Commerce pays the unclaimed funds. Moreover, R.C. 169.08 merely 
refers to “Director” without specifying which department, but the reference likely is intended to 
mean the Director of Commerce. Amendments to these provisions could clarify who has the 
responsibility and authority to pay unclaimed funds. 

State Fire Marshal  

Fire investigation 

(R.C. 3929.87) 

Under existing law, 90 days after a fire that has a caused a loss of more than $5,000 of 
property damage, the State Fire Marshal or another authorized person must investigate the fire 
to determine whether the property loss was caused by arson. The bill specifies that the State Fire 
Marshal or the authorized person must investigate to the extent practicable and in a manner 
consistent with accepted standards of investigation.  

Revolving loan program 

(R.C. 3737.17) 

Under the bill, if the Director of Commerce determines that the balance in the Small 
Government Fire Department Services Revolving Loan Fund is insufficient to implement the Small 
Government Fire Department Services Revolving Loan Program, the Director may certify the 
amount needed to the OBM Director. This amount cannot exceed the amount appropriated to 
the program for the biennium. Once certified, the OBM Director may transfer from the State Fire 
Marshal’s Fund to the Revolving Loan Fund any amount up to, but not exceeding, the amount 
certified by the Director of Commerce. 

The State Fire Marshal administers the Revolving Loan Program and the fund to make 
loans to qualifying small governments to expedite major equipment purchases and the 
construction or renovation of fire department buildings.  

Self-service gas stations 

(R.C. 3741.14) 

The bill requires a self-service gas station to comply with the most recent version of 
National Fire Protection Association Standard Number 30A, as incorporated into the State Fire 
Code. Existing law requires a self-service gas station to comply with the National Fire Protection 
Association standard number 30A-1990, which is not the most recent edition.  
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Division of Liquor Control 

To-go cocktails  

(R.C. 4303.185) 

The bill prohibits a to-go cocktail sold by a liquor permit holder from containing more than 
two ounces of spirituous liquor. Current law allows bars, restaurants, breweries, wineries, and 
microdisilleries to sell to-go cocktails to a personal consumer for off-premises consumption, 
including via delivery to the location of the personal consumer. The to-go cocktails are sold by 
the individual drink in sealed, closed containers. 

D-4 liquor permit – club oaths  

(R.C. 4303.17) 

The bill eliminates the requirement that the following submissions required of a club 
applying for a D-4 liquor permit be done under oath: 

 A statement of the organization controlling the club certifying that the club is operated in 
the interests of a reputable organization; and 

 The roster of the membership of the club.  

The D-4 permit allows a club to sell beer and intoxicating liquor to its members for on-
premises consumption. 

Division of Financial Institutions  

Residential Mortgage Lending Act fee increase 

(R.C. 1322.09, 1322.10, 1322.20, and 1322.21) 

The bill increases the licensing and registration fees under the Residential Mortgage 
Lending Act paid to the Superintendent of Financial Institutions as follows:   

Type of fee Current fee New fee 

Initial registration and renewal fee for mortgage brokers, lenders, and 
servicers for each office maintained by the registrant 

$500 $750 

Late fee for renewal for each registered office maintained by a 
mortgage broker, lender, and servicer 

$100 $150 

Initial license and renewal fee for mortgage loan originators $150 $250 

Late renewal fee for mortgage loan originators $100 $150 

 

The bill also authorizes the Superintendent to charge an additional assessment for 
renewal fees for mortgage brokers, lenders, servicers, and mortgage loan originators if the 
amount billed under the statute are less than the estimated expenditures for the following fiscal 
year. If the renewal fees billed by the Superintendent are less than the estimated expenditures 
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of the consumer finance section of the Division of Financial Institutions for the following fiscal 
year, the Superintendent may assess each registrant at a rate sufficient to equal in the aggregate 
of the difference between the renewal fees billed and the estimated expenditures. The 
assessment cannot exceed 1¢ per $100 of Ohio transaction volume for a 12-month period, as 
defined by the Superintendent. If an assessment is imposed, it must be between $500 to $30,000 
for any registrant. 
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COUNSELOR, SOCIAL WORKER, AND MARRIAGE AND 
FAMILY THERAPIST BOARD 

 Provides a six-month registration extension for master’s level counselor, social worker, 
and marriage and family therapist trainees who have graduated but not yet completed all 
requirements for licensure. 

 

Registration for master’s level trainee graduates  

(R.C. 4757.10) 

Current law requires the Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage and Family Therapist 
Board to adopt rules providing for voluntary registration of master’s level counselor, social 
worker, and marriage and family therapist trainees. The bill provides a six-month registration 
extension for those registered trainees who have graduated but not yet completed all 
requirements for licensure. 
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DEPARTMENT OF DEVELOPMENT 

Rename agency as Department of Development  

 Changes the name of the Development Services Agency and the Director of Development 
Services back to the Department of Development and Director of Development, 
respectively. 

Transfer of minority business enterprise and related programs 

 Transfers the administration of the minority business enterprise program, the 
encouraging diversity, growth, and equity program, the women-owned business 
enterprise program, and the veteran-friendly business procurement program from the 
Department of Administrative Services (DAS) to the Department of Development. 

 Removes the Equal Opportunity Employment Coordinator from being the head of a 
division, who instead reports to a position determined by the DAS Director. 

Minority Development Financing Advisory Board 

 Corrects erroneous cross-references to clarify that the Minority Development Financing 
Advisory Board is not responsible for administering certain tax credit and grant programs 
administered by the Department of Development. 

Job creation tax credit 

 Requires the Director of Development to adopt rules establishing alternative job creation 
tax credit (JCTC) eligibility requirements for businesses that do not meet the minimum 
employment or payroll thresholds prescribed by administrative rule. 

 Limits the total amount of credits awarded under the alternative eligibility criteria to $25 
million per fiscal biennium. 

 Allows any employer that receives the JCTC to count work-from-home employees when 
computing the employer’s credit amount and when verifying its compliance with the JCTC 
agreement. 

Small business investment credit 

 Reduces the biennial credit allotment for the small business investment credit from 
$50 million to $25 million. 

 

Rename agency as Department of Development 

(R.C. 121.02, 121.03, 122.01, 122.011, 122.60, 122.601, 122.603, 122.86, 122.89, 123.01, 
149.311, 166.01, 166.03, 174.01, 174.02, 184.01, 1551.01, 1551.33, 1551.35, 5119.34, 5703.21; 
Repealed R.C. 184.011, 3735.01, and 5701.15; R.C. 140.01, as amended in Section 130.10; Section 
518.20) 

The bill renames the Development Services Agency (DSA) as the Department of 
Development. Similarly, the Director of Development Services is renamed the Director of 
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Development. The change reverses the name change in 2012 by S.B. 314 of the 129th General 
Assembly. The bill does not make the change uniformly throughout the Revised Code. Instead, 
the change is reflected in several sections addressing the Department’s operations, and the bill 
directs that references to DSA and its Director throughout the Revised Code mean the renamed 
Department and its Director.  

Ongoing DSA operations are to be continued by the Department, including the following: 

 All DSA rules, orders, and determinations are to continue as though made by the 
Department; 

 DSA employees continue as employees of the Department; 

 The Department must be substituted for DSA in any pending court or agency proceedings 
to which DSA is a party. 

Transfer of minority business enterprise and related programs 

(R.C. 121.07 and 122.92; with conforming changes in numerous other R.C. sections; Sections 
518.10 to 518.16) 

On July 1, 2021, the bill transfers the responsibility for the administration of certain 
programs currently under the Department of Administrative Services (DAS) and the Equal 
Opportunity Employment Coordinator to the Department of Development (DEV) (currently called 
the Development Services Agency). These programs are the minority business enterprise (MBE) 
program, the encouraging diversity, growth, and equity (EDGE) program, the women-owned 
business enterprise program, and the veteran-friendly business procurement program. These 
programs require state agencies to set aside a certain amount of their contracts each year to 
award to business enterprises owned by certain eligible individuals and certified under the 
program. These individuals, respectively, are certain racial minorities, economically and socially 
disadvantaged individuals, women, and veteran-friendly businesses. 

The bill also changes the role of the Equal Opportunity Employment Coordinator, an office 
created under DAS.16 Under current law, each office created under this current law provision is 
the head of a division within the department in which it is created. The bill specifies that the 
Coordinator is no longer the head of a division, instead reporting to a position to be determined 
by the DAS Director. 

The bill contains numerous general transfer of authority provisions. All records, 
documents, files, equipment, assets, and other materials of the programs are transferred from 
DAS to DEV. Business related to the programs begun but not completed by DAS on July 1, 2021, 
must be completed by DEV. No validation, cure, right, privilege, remedy, obligation, or liability is 
lost or impaired by reason of the transfer. The rules, orders, and determinations of DAS 
pertaining to the programs continue in effect under DEV until modified or rescinded. Further, no 
judicial or administrative action or proceeding pending on July 1, 2021, is affected by the transfer, 
and those actions must be prosecuted or defended in the name of the Director of DEV or DEV, as 

                                                      

16 R.C. 121.04, not in the bill. 

http://archives.legislature.state.oh.us/bills.cfm?ID=129_SB_314
http://archives.legislature.state.oh.us/bills.cfm?ID=129_SB_314


P a g e  | 53  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

appropriate. When the Equal Employment Coordinator, the Director of DAS, or DAS is referred 
to in any rule, contract, grant, or other document related to the administration of these 
programs, the reference is deemed to refer to the DEV Director or DEV, as appropriate. 

The bill exempts the transfer of employees from Ohio’s public employees’ collective 
bargaining law. And, subject to general layoff provisions, DAS employees are transferred to DEV. 
Between July 1, 2021, and June 30, 2022, the DEV Director may establish, change, and abolish 
positions of DEV and assign, reassign, classify, reclassify, transfer, reduce, promote, or demote 
DEV employees who are not subject to Ohio’s public employees’ collective bargaining law. This 
authority includes assigning or reassigning an exempt employee to a bargaining unit 
classification, but includes provisions if the new position is in a lower classification. These actions 
are not subject to appeal to the State Personnel Board of Review. 

The bill also provides that the DEV Director may enter into one or more contracts with 
private or government entities for staff training and development to facilitate the transfer, and 
that the contracts are not subject to competitive bidding thresholds. 

The bill permits the Controlling Board, upon the request of the DEV Director, to increase 
appropriations for any fund, as necessary, to assist in paying for increases in compensation and 
salaries as a result of the transfer. The bill requires the OBM Director to make budget and 
accounting changes made necessary by the transfer.  

Finally, the bill requires the Director of the Legislative Service Commission to renumber 
related DAS rules to the appropriate Ohio Administrative Code Section for DEV. Any new rules or 
amendments to the rules implementing the transfer that are proposed before June 30, 2023, are 
not subject to the two-for-one requirement, which prohibits certain state agencies from adopting 
a new regulatory restriction unless it eliminates two or more restrictions. 

Minority Development Financing Advisory Board  

(R.C. 122.72, 122.73, 122.74, 122.78, 122.79, and 122.82) 

The bill clarifies that the responsibility for oversight of the diesel emissions reduction 
grant program and several tax credits, including the motion picture and theatre credit, the small 
business investment credit, and the opportunity zone fund investment credit, rests with the 
Department of Development, not the Minority Development Financing Advisory Board (MDFAB). 
These programs and credits, under continuing law, are administered by the Department of 
Development, but certain erroneous cross references in current law suggest that the MDFAB has 
that responsibility. 

Under continuing law, the MDFAB assists the Department in the administration of several 
minority business financing programs primarily designed to encourage the establishment and 

expansion of minority business enterprises. 

Job creation tax credit 

(R.C. 122.17; Section 701.20) 

The bill makes two changes to the job creation tax credit (JCTC). First, it prescribes an 
alternative JCTC eligibility process for smaller businesses and earmarks $25 million in credits each 
biennium for those businesses. Second, the bill allows employers, even those currently in a JCTC 
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agreement, to count work-from-home employees in computing its credit and verifying its 
compliance with the agreement.  

Under continuing law, the Tax Credit Authority (TCA) is authorized to enter into JCTC 
agreements with employers to foster job creation and capital investment in the state. The 
amount of the credit equals an agreed-upon percentage of the amount by which the employer’s 
“Ohio employee payroll” (i.e., the compensation paid by the employer and used in computing 
the employer’s tax withholding obligations) exceeds the employer’s “baseline payroll” (i.e., Ohio 
employee payroll for the 12 months preceding the JCTC agreement). The credit may be claimed 
against the commercial activity tax (CAT), financial institutions tax (FIT), petroleum activity tax 
(PAT), domestic or foreign insurance company premiums taxes, or personal income tax. If the 
amount of the credit exceeds the tax otherwise due, the excess is refundable. Each employer 
must file an annual report in which it reports its number of employees and payroll, among other 
metrics.  

Alternative eligibility requirements 

The bill requires the DEV Director to adopt rules, as soon as possible, establishing 
alternative JCTC eligibility requirements for businesses that do not meet the minimum 
employment or payroll thresholds but are otherwise eligible for the credit. Current administrative 
rules limit credit eligibility to businesses that create at least ten full-time equivalent employment 
positions and generate an additional $659,750 in annual payroll (175% of the federal minimum 
wage multiplied by 52,000).17 The employment and payroll thresholds are not mandated by state 
law. The Director may change them or establish alternative eligibility requirements at any time 
through the standard administrative rulemaking procedure. 

The bill limits total credits awarded under the alternative eligibility criteria to $25 million 
per fiscal biennium. There is no cap on the amount of JCTCs awarded under the general eligibility 
criteria. 

Work-from-home employees 

Continuing law authorizes employers whose JCTC application was approved after 
September 28, 2017, to treat work-from-home employees the same as employees who work at 
the employer’s project location, as long as the work-from-home employees reside in Ohio and 
are supervised from the project location. (This is the effective date of the provision in H.B. 49 of 
the 132nd General Assembly that authorized the inclusion of such employees.) Consequently, the 
payroll of such work-from-home employees is included in the computation of the credit, and such 
employees are counted towards any employment and payroll metrics required in the JCTC 
agreement.  

The bill extends this authorization to employers whose application was approved before 
September 28, 2017, beginning with JCTC reporting periods ending in 2020, allowing those 
employers to also count those work-from-home employees when computing the employer’s 
credit amount and when verifying its compliance with the JCTC agreement. 

                                                      

17 Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.) 122:7-1-05. 
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Small business investment credit 

(R.C. 122.86) 

The bill reduces, from $50 million to $25 million, the total biennial credit allotment for 
the existing income tax credit for investments in smaller businesses, beginning in FY 2022. Under 
continuing law, the credit is available for an individual, trust, estate, or pass-through entity that 
acquires an ownership interest (through a cash investment) in a business having assets of $50 
million or less, or annual sales of $10 million or less, and employing no more than 50 full-time 
equivalent employees or employing more than half of their U.S. employees in Ohio. To qualify 
for the credit, the investor must agree to a two-year holding period during which they cannot sell 
or dispose of the investment. In addition, the business must, within six months of the date the 
investment is made, spend at least a portion of the investment amount to purchase or acquire 
assets or to pay employees. The credit equals 10% of the amount of the investment – up to $1 
million.18 

  

                                                      

18 See also, R.C. 5747.81, not in the bill. 
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DEPARTMENT OF DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES 

Technology First Task Force and technology first policy 

 Declares that it is the policy of the state to provide individuals with developmental 
disabilities with access to innovative technology solutions. 

 Requires the Department of Developmental Disabilities to coordinate with other state 
agencies to implement the policy. 

 Requires the Director of Developmental Disabilities to establish, in coordination with 
other state agencies, the Technology First Task Force. 

Medicaid rates for ICF/IID services 

 Eliminates a formula for determining an ICF/IID’s Medicaid payment rate that expires on 
July 1, 2021. 

 Provides that the mean FY 2022 and FY 2023 Medicaid rates for all ICFs/IID after certain 
modifications are made cannot exceed $350.87. 

 Requires the Department to reduce the FY 2022 and FY 2023 Medicaid rates for ICFs/IID 
if the federal government requires that the ICF/IID franchise permit fee be reduced or 
eliminated. 

ICF/IID franchise permit fee 

 Requires the Department to adjust the franchise permit fee rate and associated ICF/IID 
invoices so as not to exceed the indirect guarantee percentage if that percentage is 
adjusted by the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services at any time during a fiscal 
year. 

Developmental centers services and cost recovery 

 Permits a Department developmental center to provide services to (1) individuals with 
developmental disabilities who reside in the community and (2) providers who provide 
services to such individuals. 

 Permits the Department to establish a method for recovering the costs associated with 
providing these services. 

County DD board waiver allocation plan 

 Eliminates a requirement that each county DD board submit an annual plan to DD for 
approval. 

 Instead, requires county DD boards to annually submit to the Department (1) a waiver 
allocation projection and (2) assurances that the board employs or contracts with both a 
business manager and a Medicaid services manager, or has an agreement with another 
county DD board that employs or contracts with those individuals. 



P a g e  | 57  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

County DD board business manager 

 Eliminates the ability of a county DD board to receive a subsidy from the Department for 
employing a business manager.  

County DD boards annual cost reports 

 Permits, rather than requires, the Department, or an entity designated by DD, to audit 
annual cost reports submitted by a regional council or county DD board. 

 Specifies that any audit conducted must utilize methodology approved by the 
U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

 Eliminates a duplicative provision of law requiring county DD boards to submit annual 
cost reports to the Department. 

Release of records and reports by county DD boards 

 Permits disclosure of a certificate, application, record, or report that identifies a resident 
of an institution for persons with intellectual disabilities when needed for a guardianship 
proceeding. 

 Permits the release of a record or report maintained by a county DD board or an entity 
under contract with a board when requested by a probate court for a guardianship 
proceeding or by the Department for certain purposes.  

County share of nonfederal Medicaid expenditures 

 Requires the Director of Developmental Disabilities to establish a methodology to 
estimate in FY 2022 and FY 2023 the quarterly amount each county DD board is to pay of 
the nonfederal share of the Medicaid expenditures for which the board is responsible.  

County subsidies used in nonfederal share 

 Requires, under certain circumstances, that the Director pay the nonfederal share of a 
claim for ICF/IID services using subsidies otherwise allocated to county boards. 

Medicaid rates for homemaker/personal care services 

 Provides for the Medicaid rate for each 15 minutes of routine homemaker/personal care 
services provided to a qualifying enrollee in the Individual Options Medicaid waiver 
program to be, for 12 months, 52₵ higher than the rate for services to an enrollee who is 
not a qualifying enrollee. 

Innovative pilot projects 

 Permits the Director to authorize, in FY 2022 and FY 2023, innovative pilot projects that 
are likely to assist in promoting the objectives of state law governing the Department and 
county DD boards. 
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Ohio Developmental Disabilities Council 

 Updates citations to federal law regarding the creation and operation of the Ohio 
Developmental Disabilities Council. 

 

Technology First Task Force and technology first policy 

(R.C. 5123.025 and 5123.026) 

The bill declares that it is the policy of the state that individuals with developmental 
disabilities have access to innovative technology solutions. As part of the policy, it provides that 
technology can ensure that individuals with developmental disabilities have increased 
opportunities to live, work, and thrive in their homes, communities, and places of employment 
through the use of state of the art planning, innovative technology, and supports that focus on 
these individuals’ talents, skills, and interests. 

The bill requires the following entities to implement the technology first policy: the 
Departments of Developmental Disabilities, Education, Medicaid, Job and Family Services, 
Mental Health and Addiction Services, and Transportation, the Opportunities for Ohioans with 
Disabilities Agency, and any other state agency that provides technology services to individuals 
with developmental disabilities. 

As the primary agency responsible for implementing this policy, the bill requires the 
Department of Developmental Disabilities to partner with the Office of InnovateOhio to 
coordinate the actions taken by other state agencies to implement the policy. The Department 
and other state agencies may adopt rules to implement this policy. The Department must ensure 
that other agencies fully implement the policy and, in coordination with the Technology First Task 
Force established under the bill, must compile and annually submit data to the Governor and 
Lieutenant Governor regarding the policy’s implementation. 

The bill requires the Director of Developmental Disabilities to establish the Technology 
First Task Force, which is tasked with (1) expanding innovative technology solutions within the 
operation and delivery of services to individuals with developmental disabilities, (2) using 
technology to reduce the barriers individuals with developmental disabilities experience, and 
(3) aligning policies for all state agencies that are members of the task force. 

The Technology First Task Force consists of representatives from the Office of 
InnovateOhio, the Departments of Developmental Disabilities, Education, Medicaid, Job and 
Family Services, Mental Health and Addiction Services, and Transportation, and the 
Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities Agency. The bill permits the Department of 
Developmental Disabilities to enter into interagency agreements with any of the agencies that 
are members of the task force. These agreements may specify the roles and responsibilities of 
the members of the task force, including any financial contributions for which each member is 
responsible, and the projects and activities the task force will undertake. 
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Medicaid rates for ICF/IID services 

(Repealed R.C. 5124.171, 5124.195, 5124.196, 5125.197, 5124.198, 5124.199, 5124.211, 
5124.231, and 5124.28; conforming changes in R.C. 5124.01, 5124.101, 5124.15, 5124.151, 
5124.152, 5124.17, 5124.19, 5124.191, 5124.21, 5124.23, 5124.29, 5124.30, 5124.38, 5124.39, 
5125.40, 5124.41, and 5124.46; Section 261.150) 

Under current law, an ICF/IID’s Medicaid payment rate is the higher of the two rates 
determined under two different formulas. The older formula predates H.B. 24 of the 
132nd General Assembly, which enacted the newer one in 2018. The older formula expires 
beginning with FY 2022, at which time an ICF/IID’s rate is to be determined under the newer 
formula. The bill eliminates language regarding the older formula which becomes obsolete on 
July 1, 2021, and makes corresponding changes to existing law to reflect the elimination. 

The bill requires the Department of Developmental Disabilities to make certain 
modifications to the new formula. The first modification concerns the target amount and requires 
the Department to adjust the per Medicaid day rate for ICFs/IID if the mean total per Medicaid 
day rate for ICFs/IID exceeds $350.87. If the mean total per Medicaid day rate is greater than 
$350.87, the Department must adjust the rate by the percentage by which the mean total per 
Medicaid day rate exceeds $350.87. 

The second modification concerns the franchise permit fee that continuing law requires 
ICFs/IID to pay (see below). The bill provides that if the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services requires that the franchise permit fee be reduced or eliminated, the Department must 
reduce the Medicaid payment rate for ICFs/IID. The reduction must reflect the loss to the state 
of the revenue and federal Medicaid funds generated from the franchise permit fee. 

ICF/IID franchise permit fee 

(R.C. 5168.60 and 5168.61) 

Continuing law imposes a franchise permit fee on ICFs/IID, which is assessed quarterly. 
The franchise permit fee is a healthcare related tax imposed on ICFs/IID, which is used to help 
fund the state share of the Medicaid program for Medicaid services utilized by ICFs/IID. Any 
healthcare related tax must comply with federal requirements to be considered a permissible 
source of revenue to pay for a portion of the state share for Medicaid, including that it must 
(1) be broad-based, (2) be uniformly imposed throughout the state, and (3) not hold the taxpayer 
harmless. 

Under federal law, a healthcare related tax is considered to hold a taxpayer harmless if 
the state provides for a payment, offset, or waiver that guarantees to hold taxpayers harmless 
for greater than 6% of the cost of the tax imposed. This 6% threshold is known as the indirect 
guarantee percentage.19 

The bill provides that in the event that the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services 
adjusts the indirect guarantee percentage (to a percentage other than 6%) at any time during a 

                                                      

19 42 U.S.C. 1396b(w)(4)(C). 
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fiscal year, the Department must adjust the franchise permit fee rate and any associated ICF/IID 
invoices so as not to exceed the new percentage. 

Developmental centers services and cost recovery 

(R.C. 5123.034) 

The bill permits a Department developmental center to provide services to individuals 
with developmental disabilities who reside in the community in which the center is located. 
Additionally, a developmental center may provide services to providers who provide services to 
these individuals in the community. The bill allows the Department to establish a method for 
recovering the costs associated with providing these services through a developmental center. 
There are eight developmental centers in Ohio, each of which is Medicaid-certified and licensed 
as an ICF/IID. 

County DD board waiver allocation plan 

(R.C. 5126.054, 5126.055, and 5126.056; repealed R.C. 5123.046) 

The bill eliminates a requirement that each county DD board submit an annual plan to the 
Department for approval that includes, among other things, the number of individuals with 
developmental disabilities in the county the board serves who are on the board’s waitlist, the 
service needs of each individual on the waitlist, and the projected annual cost for their services. 

Instead, the bill requires each county DD board to submit to the Department an annual 
projection of the number of individuals to whom the board intends to provide home and 
community-based services based on available funding. Available funding must be based on the 
board’s projected funding as indicated in its annual five-year projection report submitted to the 
Department. 

Additionally, county DD boards are required to provide annual assurances to the 
Department that the board employs or contracts with a business manager, or has entered an 
agreement with another county board that employs or contracts with a business manager to 
have the business manager serve both county boards. The bill also requires county boards to 
assure the Department that the board employs or contracts with a Medicaid services manager, 
or has entered an agreement with another county board that employs or contracts with a 
Medicaid services manager to have the Medicaid services manager serve both. The bill prohibits 
the superintendent of a county DD board from serving as the board’s business manager or 
Medicaid services manager. 

County DD board business manager  

(R.C. 5126.121, repealed) 

The bill eliminates law that allows county DD boards to receive a subsidy from the 
Department to employ a business manager. To be eligible for the subsidy under current law, a 
county board must employ a business manager who satisfies education and experience 
requirements specified in rules adopted by the Department. 
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County DD boards annual cost reports 

(R.C. 5126.05 and 5126.131; repealed R.C. 5126.12) 

The bill makes it discretionary, instead of mandatory, for the Department to perform an 
audit of the annual cost report submitted by a county DD board or regional council. It adds that 
any audit that is performed must utilize methodology approved by the U.S. Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services. Finally, it repeals a section containing a duplicative requirement that 
county DD boards submit annual cost reports to the Department. 

Release of records and reports by county DD boards  

(R.C. 5123.89 and 5126.044) 

Current law generally requires that all certificates, applications, records, and reports that 
directly or indirectly identify a resident or former resident of an institution for persons with 
intellectual disabilities be kept confidential, except under specified circumstances. The bill adds 
an exception to this general requirement permitting disclosure if the certificate, application, 
record, or report is needed for a guardianship proceeding. 

Current law also generally prohibits disclosure of the identity of an individual or a record 
or report regarding an eligible individual that is maintained by a county DD board or an entity 
under contract with a board, except under specified circumstances. The bill adds two exceptions 
to the general prohibition. The first permits a county DD board or an entity under contract with 
a board to release a record or report if requested by a probate court for a guardianship 
proceeding. Any record or report that is released may only be released to the parties of the 
proceeding. The second exception permits the release of a record or report if requested by the 
Department for the purpose of a proceeding for admission to an institution for persons with 
intellectual disabilities or to comply with a court order regarding a person’s competence in a 
criminal case. 

County share of nonfederal Medicaid expenditures  

(Section 261.100) 

The bill requires the Director of Developmental Disabilities to establish a methodology to 
estimate in FY 2022 and FY 2023 the quarterly amount each county DD board is to pay of the 
nonfederal share of the Medicaid expenditures for which the board is responsible. With certain 
exceptions, current law requires the board to pay this share for waiver services provided to an 
individual whom it determines is eligible for its services. Each quarter, the Director must submit 
to the board written notice of the amount for which the board is responsible. The notice must 
specify when the payment is due. 

County subsidies used in nonfederal share 

(Section 261.130) 

The bill requires the Director of Developmental Disabilities to pay the nonfederal share of 
a claim for ICF/IID services using funds otherwise appropriated for subsidies to county DD boards 
if (1) Medicaid covers the services, (2) the services are provided to a Medicaid recipient who is 
eligible for them and the recipient does not occupy a bed that use to be included in the Medicaid-
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certified capacity of another ICF/IID certified before June 1, 2003, (3) the services are provided 
by an ICF/IID whose Medicaid certification was initiated or supported by a county DD board, and 
(4) the provider of the services has a valid Medicaid provider agreement for the services for the 
time that they are provided. 

Medicaid rates for homemaker/personal care services 

(Section 261.140) 

The bill requires that the total Medicaid payment rate for each 15 minutes of routine 
homemaker/personal care services that a Medicaid provider provides to a qualifying enrollee of 
the Individual Options Medicaid waiver program be 52₵ higher than the rate for services that are 
provided to an enrollee who is not a qualifying enrollee. The higher rate is to be paid only for the 
first 12 months, consecutive or otherwise, that the services are provided during the period 
beginning July 1, 2021, and ending July 1, 2023. 

An Individual Options enrollee is a qualified enrollee if all of the following apply: 

 The enrollee resided in a developmental center, converted ICF/IID,20 or public hospital 
immediately before enrolling in the Individual Options Medicaid waiver program.  

 The enrollee did not receive before July 1, 2011, routine homemaker/personal care 
services from the Medicaid provider that is to receive the higher Medicaid rate. 

 The Director of Developmental Disabilities has determined that the enrollee’s special 
circumstances (including diagnosis, services needed, or length of stay at the 
developmental center, converted ICF/IID, or public hospital) warrant paying the higher 
Medicaid rate. 

Innovative pilot projects 

(Section 261.120) 

For FY 2022 and FY 2023, the bill permits the Director of Developmental Disabilities to 
authorize the continuation or implementation of innovative pilot projects that are likely to assist 
in promoting the objectives of state law governing the Department and county DD boards. Under 
the bill, a pilot project may be implemented in a manner inconsistent with the laws or rules 
governing the Department and county DD boards; however, the Director cannot authorize a pilot 
project to be implemented in a manner that would cause Ohio to be out of compliance with any 
requirements for a program funded in whole or in part with federal funds. Before authorizing a 
pilot project, the Director must consult with entities interested in the issue of developmental 
disabilities, including the Ohio Provider Resource Association, Ohio Association of County Boards 
of Developmental Disabilities, Ohio Health Care Association/Ohio Centers for Intellectual 
Disabilities, the Values and Faith Alliance, and ARC of Ohio. 

                                                      

20 A converted ICF/IID is an ICF/IID, or former ICF/IID, that converted some or all of its beds to providing 
services under the Individual Options Medicaid waiver program. 
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Ohio Developmental Disabilities Council 

(R.C. 5123.35) 

The bill updates the federal law citations in existing law regarding the creation and the 
operation of the Ohio Developmental Disabilities Council, which is tasked with serving as an 
advocate for all persons with developmental disabilities. 
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 

I. School finance 

Funding for FY 2022 and FY 2023 

 Requires the Department of Education to pay each city, local, exempted village, and joint 
vocational school district for each of FY 2022 and FY 2023 an amount equal to the district’s 
payments for FY 2019. 

 Requires the Department to make an additional payment to each city, local, or exempted 
village school district, with at least 50 enrolled students, that experiences an average 
annual percentage change in its enrollment between FY 2016 and FY 2019 that is greater 
than zero. 

 Requires the Department, for each student enrolled in a community school or STEM 
school, to deduct from the amount computed for the student’s resident district and pay 
to the school the amount prescribed by continuing law. 

 Specifies that, for purposes of computing other payments for FY 2022 and FY 2023 for 
which a district’s “state share index” or “state share percentage” is a factor, the 
Department must use the state share index or state share percentage computed for the 
district for FY 2019. 

 Specifies that, for purposes of open enrollment, College Credit Plus, and any other 
payments for which the “formula amount” is used, the formula amount for FY 2022 and 
FY 2023 equals the formula amount for FY 2019 ($6,020). 

Student wellness and success funding 

 Requires student wellness and success funds and enhancement funds to be paid to city, 
local, exempted village, and joint vocational school districts, community schools, and 
STEM schools for FY 2022 and FY 2023 in a manner similar to how they were paid for in 
FY 2020 and FY 2021. 

 Requires the Department to calculate a district’s or school’s student wellness and success 
funds and enhancement funds for both FY 2022 and FY 2023 using the number of students 
enrolled in the district or school for FY 2022. 

 Requires the Department to use the five-year estimates published by the U.S. Census 
Bureau in the 2015-2019 American Community Survey (rather than the most recent 
American Community Survey as under current law) for calculating student wellness and 
success fund payments. 

 Increases the per-pupil amounts used to calculate student wellness and success funds for 
city, local, and exempted village school districts. 

 Uses a multiplier of $75 for both FY 2022 and FY 2023 (which is the multiplier for FY 2021 
under current law) for calculating student wellness and success enhancement funds for 
city, local, and exempted village school districts. 
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 Increases the minimum payment of student wellness and success funds that each school 
district, community school that is not an e-school, and STEM school must receive to 
$45,720 for FY 2022 and $56,160 for FY 2023 (from $25,000 for FY 2020 and $36,000 for 
FY 2021). 

 Increases the amount of student wellness and success funds that must be paid to each e-
school to $45,720 for FY 2022 and $56,160 for FY 2023 (from $25,000 for FY 2020 and 
$36,000 for FY 2021). 

 Guarantees that each district and school receives the same amount of student wellness 
and success funds and enhancement funds for FY 2022 and FY 2023 that it received for 
the previous fiscal year. 

 Requires the Department, after all student wellness and success payments for FY 2022 
and FY 2023 have been made to public schools, to distribute any appropriated amounts 
remaining for these payments through a methodology determined by the Department in 
consultation with the Office of Budget and Management (OBM). 

 Adds to the initiatives for spending student wellness and success funds and enhancement 
funds: telehealth services (as part of mental and physical health services); culturally 
appropriate, evidence-based or evidence-informed prevention education; and programs 
that connect students to community resources. 

 Removes the authority for districts and schools to spend student wellness and success 
funds and enhancement funds for professional development regarding the provision of 
trauma-informed care and professional development regarding cultural competencies. 

 Requires districts and schools to spend student wellness and success funds and 
enhancement funds in coordination with two community partners, rather than one as 
under current law. 

 Requires districts and schools to satisfy the bill’s requirements for all student wellness 
and success funds and enhancement funds spent after the bill’s changes take effect, 
including funds paid to districts or schools for FY 2020 and FY 2021 that are spent after 
that date. 

Funding adjustment for career-technical education  

 Requires the Department to adjust the amounts paid to certain school districts for 
FY 2022 and FY 2023 to account for the decrease in career-technical education students 
served by a city, local, or exempted village school district and the corresponding increase 
in students served by a joint vocational school district beginning in FY 2020. 

Payment for districts with decreases in utility TPP value 

 Requires the Department to make a payment, for FY 2022 and FY 2023, to each city, local, 
exempted village, or joint vocational school district with more than a 10% decrease in the 
taxable value of utility tangible personal property (TPP) that has at least one power plant 
located within its territory. 
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Payment for school district with nuclear plant in its territory 

 Repeals the requirement that the Department, for each of FYs 2019, 2020, and 2021, 
make an additional payment to a city, local, or exempted village school district with (1) a 
nuclear power plant in its territory and (2) a total taxable value of public utility personal 
property for tax year 2017 that is at least 50% less than that value for tax year 2016. 

Recommendations for compensating valuation losses 

 Eliminates the requirement that the Department annually recommend to the General 
Assembly a structure to compensate each school district that experiences at least a 50% 
decrease in public utility personal property valuation from one year to the next for a 
percentage of the effect that decrease has on the district’s state funding. 

Student transportation funding – qualifying ridership 

 Specifies that a city, local, or exempted village school district’s “qualifying ridership” 
means the greater of the average number of qualifying riders counted in the morning or 
counted in the afternoon who are provided school bus service by a school district during 
the first full week of October that the district is in session with students in attendance. 

 Extends the deadline for each district’s annual report to the Department of its qualifying 
ridership to November 1, from October 15. 

Auxiliary Services funds 

 Permits a religiously affiliated chartered nonpublic school to receive Auxiliary Services 
funds directly in the same manner as offered to nonreligious chartered nonpublic schools 
under continuing law. 

II. Graduation requirements and assessment 

High school graduation requirements 

 Requires all public and chartered nonpublic school students to complete the Free 
Application for Federal Student (FAFSA) aid in order to qualify for a high school diploma, 
unless an exception applies. 

 Requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction’s industry-recognized credentials and 
licenses committee to assign a point value for each credential and to establish the total 
number of points necessary to satisfy certain high school graduation requirements. 

 Permits a student who obtains a state-issued license for practice in a vocation that 
requires an examination to use that license as a foundational option when using 
alternative demonstrations of competency and to qualify for an industry-recognized 
credential state diploma seal. 

 Exempts students enrolled in chartered nonpublic schools from certain graduation 
requirements if, instead of the end-of-course exams, their schools administer a nationally 
standardized assessment (ACT or SAT) or an alternative assessment to meet state testing 
requirements. 
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 Specifies how a public or chartered nonpublic school must address any progress a transfer 
student made toward earning a locally defined diploma seal at another public or 
chartered nonpublic school in Ohio. 

 Requires transfer students who, in the prior school year, were homeschooled or attended 
an out-of-state or nonchartered, nonpublic school to generally comply with the high 
school graduation requirements prescribed under continuing law, but prescribes certain 
exemptions for them. 

 Exempts a student with an individualized education program (IEP) from the requirement 
to demonstrate competency in math and English language arts if the student’s IEP 
expressly exempts them from that requirement and the student satisfies certain 
additional conditions. 

 Permits a student to use a remediation-free score on a nationally standardized 
assessment (ACT or SAT) as an alternative demonstration of competency. 

 Clarifies and modifies the “foundational” options a student may use as part of an 
alternative demonstration of competency. 

 Expands the number of conditions a student may satisfy to earn a Citizenship diploma seal 
or a science diploma seal. 

Dyslexia diagnostic assessments 

 Except for the kindergarten readiness assessment, requires that diagnostic assessments 
for grades K-3 and any comparable reading skills assessment for the Third Grade Reading 
Guarantee include items related to the identification of students with dyslexia.  

 Requires test vendors to share student performance data on comparable tools with public 
schools, chartered nonpublic schools, and the Department.  

 Specifies that any assessment that incorporates comparable tools may be used to meet 
current law requirements related to the administration of a tier one dyslexia screening. 

Kindergarten Readiness and reading skills assessment  

 Adjusts the period of time in which a school must administer the Kindergarten Readiness 
Assessment and the kindergarten reading skills assessment to July 1 through the 20th day 
of instruction.  

III. Educator licensure 

Disciplinary actions for educator licenses 

 Eliminates a provision prohibiting the State Board of Education from refusing to issue a 
license because of a criminal record unless the refusal is in accord with the limits and 
requirements that were recently enacted by H.B. 263 of the 133rd General Assembly. 

 Specifies that the amendments to teacher licensure disciplinary actions are remedial in 
nature and apply to any proceeding, investigation, or citation involving an applicant for 
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an initial license, that, as of the bill’s effective date, has not reached final disposition, 
including all available appeals. 

 Specifies that a judicial finding of eligibility for intervention in lieu of conviction for 
specified criminal offenses are grounds for automatic denial or revocation of a license 
issued by the State Board. 

 Specifies that conspiracy to commit, attempt to commit, or complicity in committing 
specified criminal offenses are also grounds for automatic denial or revocation of a 
license. 

 Prohibits a court, when issuing a certificate of qualification for employment, from 
granting an individual relief from collateral sanctions for licensure action taken by the 
State Board for specified criminal offenses. 

 Permits the State Board to deny, suspend, revoke, or limit a license if the applicant 
engages in an immoral act, incompetence, negligence, or conduct that is unbecoming to 
the “teaching profession” (rather than to the applicant’s “position” as under current law). 

 Specifies that a judicial finding of eligibility for intervention in lieu of conviction for the 
criminal offenses that are not grounds for automatic revocation or denial of licenses 
(rather than all criminal offenses) may be a reason for the State Board to deny, suspend, 
revoke, or limit a license. 

 Removes a requirement that information received under an investigation about a person 
against whom no action was taken must be expunged within two years of completing the 
investigation. 

 Permits a school district or school located in Ohio or another state to request that the 
Department provide any report of misconduct that it has received regarding an individual 
who is under consideration for employment, and requires the Department to provide the 
contents of the report to the district or school. 

 Specifies that unlicensed teachers and pupil services personnel licensed by other licensing 
boards who are permitted under current law to work in public schools by registering with 
the Department are subject to the same disciplinary actions and related reporting and 
enforcement requirements licensed teachers. 

Assisting individuals in obtaining school employment 

 Generally prohibits a school representative from knowingly engaging in any activity 
intended to assist another individual in obtaining school employment if the 
representative knows or has reasonable cause to believe that the individual has 
committed a sex offense involving a student. 

Cheating on assessments 

 Prohibits a person from obtaining prior knowledge of a state achievement assessment, 
using prior knowledge of the contents of an assessment to assist students in preparing 
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for the assessment, and failing to comply with any rule adopted by the Department 
regarding security protocols for an assessment. 

Teach for America licenses 

 Requires the state Superintendent (rather than the State Board) to inactivate (rather than 
revoke) a resident educator license issued to a participant in the Teach for American (TFA) 
Program if the participant resigns or is dismissed from TFA prior to completion of TFA’s 
two-year support program. 

 Provides that (1) the inactivation of a resident educator license issued to a TFA participant 
does not constitute a suspension or revocation of the license by the State Board and 
(2) the State Board and the state Superintendent need not provide the person with an 
opportunity for a hearing with respect to the inactivation. 

Employment of contractors 

 Requires that any contractor that is providing services to a public school, chartered 
nonpublic school, or county board of developmental disabilities must hold a license that 
the individual would be required to hold if employed directly. 

Pre-employment applications and screening process 

 Requires each public and chartered nonpublic school to include a written notice on all 
employment applications explaining that any person knowingly making a false statement 
on the application is guilty of falsification, which is a first degree misdemeanor. 

 Requires each public and chartered nonpublic school to consult the Department’s 
“educator profile” database before making hiring decisions. 

 Permits each public or nonpublic school to require an applicant or volunteer to undergo 
additional criminal records checks. 

Review of personnel files 

 Requires each public and chartered nonpublic school to review the personnel file of an 
employee against whom a complaint of misconduct is filed to determine if related 
instances are contained in the file. 

 Requires each public and chartered nonpublic school to send the personnel file of a 
current or former employee to a different public or chartered nonpublic school regarding 
that person’s application, with exceptions. 

Career-technical educator licensure  

 Qualifies an individual holding a certificate of high school equivalence for a two-year 
initial career-technical workforce development educator license or a five-year advanced 
career-technical workforce development educator license. 
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School counselor standards 

 Requires the Educator Standards Board to include knowledge of the “Career-Technical 
Assurance Guide” (CTAG) in the Board’s standards for school counselors. 

IV. Community schools 

Community school sponsor evaluations 

 Specifies that a sponsor rated “exemplary” for the two most recent years the sponsor was 
evaluated may take advantage of certain sponsor incentives. 

 Specifies that a sponsor rated “exemplary” or “effective” for the three most recent years 
the sponsor was evaluated must be evaluated only once every three years. 

Montessori preschool payments  

 Specifies that a Montessori preschool operated by a community school will no longer 
receive community school funds for students under age five.  

Community School Revolving Loan Fund  

 Eliminates the Community School Revolving Loan Fund. 

V. STEM schools 

STEM and STEAM schools and equivalents 

 Permits the Superintendent of Public Instruction, the Chancellor of Higher Education, and 
the Director of Development to appoint designees to participate in STEM Committee 
business on their behalf. 

 Permits a STEM or STEAM school to submit an amended proposal to the STEM Committee 
to offer additional grade levels. 

 Eliminates the authority for a joint vocational school district (JVSD) or an educational 
service center (ESC) to apply for designation as a STEM or STEAM school. 

 Eliminates the authority for a career center to receive a STEM or STEAM school equivalent 
designation. 

 Revises the required content of the proposal for designation as a STEM or STEAM school 
or equivalent. 

 Repeals the authority for city, local, and exempted village school districts, community 
schools, and chartered nonpublic schools to apply for grants to support the operation of 
STEM programs of excellence. 

 Specifies that a JVSD or ESC may apply for distinction as a STEM program of excellence. 

 Specifies that STEM and STEAM school designations, STEM and STEAM school equivalent 
designations, and distinctions as STEM programs of excellence are effective for five years 
unless revoked and may be renewed upon reapplication. 
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 Specifies that, if the STEM Committee finds that a school is not in compliance as part of 
the reapplication process or as part of a review during the five-year effective period, it 
must require the school to develop a corrective action plan, implement the plan, and 
demonstrate exemplary STEM pedagogy and practices within one year. 

 Makes other changes regarding STEM and STEAM school or equivalent oversight and 
operations. 

VI. College Credit Plus 

Students in state-operated schools 

 Permits students enrolled in the State School for the Deaf, State School for the Blind, or 
in a school operated by the Department of Youth Services (DYS) to participate in the 
College Credit Plus (CCP) program in the same manner as students in other public schools. 

 Subjects those schools to all CCP program requirements that apply to other public 
schools. 

 Requires payments made to an institution of higher education for courses taken by a 
student enrolled in those schools to be deducted from the operating funds appropriated 
to the schools. 

Academic eligibility for all students 

 Requires a student, as a condition of eligibility for CCP, to (1) be “remediation-free” by 
meeting established standards, (2) meet an alternative remediation-free eligibility option, 
or (3) have qualified for and participated in the program prior to the bill’s effective date. 

VII. Other 

Transportation for community school and chartered nonpublic 
school students 

 Requires each school district with fewer than 20 community schools and chartered 
nonpublic schools located in the district to develop transportation plans for students 
enrolled in those schools based on the schools’ start and end times.  

 Requires an educational service center to develop transportation plans for community 
schools and chartered nonpublic schools located in a school district with 20 or more such 
schools located in the district. 

 Prohibits a school district from transporting community or chartered nonpublic school 
students in grades K-8 using vehicles operated by a mass transit system, unless the district 
enters into an agreement with the students’ school to do so. 

 Requires a school district that transports community or chartered nonpublic school 
students in grades 9-12 using vehicles operated by a mass transit system to: 

 Enter into a contract with the system that requires students to be transported on 
routes for fare-payers and students; and  
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 Ensure that a student’s route does not require more than one transfer. 

 Adjusts the deadline for an existing community school to unilaterally accept responsibility 
to provide transportation for its students to August 1, rather than January 1 of the prior 
school year as under current law. 

 Requires the Department to deduct a prescribed portion of a school district’s state 
transportation funding if the Department determines the district has consistently, or for 
a prolonged period, been noncompliant with its obligations regarding student 
transportation. 

Payment in lieu of transportation 

 Requires school districts, and community schools that accept responsibility to transport 
students, to make a determination regarding providing payment in lieu of transportation 
not later than 30 calendar days prior to the first day of instruction, or within 14 calendar 
days if the student is subsequent to that deadline. 

 Authorizes a district superintendent (or the equivalent of a community school) to make a 
payment in lieu determination, but requires it to be formalized by the district board of 
education or the community school governing authority. 

 Requires a district or school to issue to a student’s parent or guardian and the State Board 
a detailed letter explaining why a payment in lieu determination was made. 

FAFSA data system 

 Requires each public and chartered nonpublic high school to enter into a data sharing 
agreement with the Chancellor to operate the data system to track the FAFSA completion 
rate of state public and chartered nonpublic school students. 

Computer science education 

State plan for computer science education 

 Requires the Department, in consultation with the Chancellor, to establish a committee 
to develop a state plan for primary and secondary computer science education in Ohio. 

 Requires the committee to consider a series of topics and include several prescribed items 
in the state plan. 

 Requires the committee to complete the state plan within one year of the bill’s effective 
date and the Department to post it in a prominent location on its website. 

Public school students  

 Requires that, generally, students enrolled in school districts, community schools, and 
STEM schools must have the option to enroll in computer science courses or general 
education courses that include computer science principles. 

 Authorizes districts and schools to apply for, and receive, a renewable waiver from the 
state Superintendent that exempts them from offering computer science or general 
education courses in a particular school building for up to five years. 
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 Requires the Department, in consultation with computer science stakeholders, to 
establish a program to review and approve proposals from educational providers to offer 
online computer science courses to high school courses.  

 Requires the Department to determine a method to calculate and make payments to 
educational providers that uses deductions from the foundation payments to the 
student’s district or school, in a manner similar to CCP payments. 

Other computer science education provisions 

 Requires the Department, in consultation with the Chancellor, to issue an annual report 
on computer science education in the state. 

 Extends through the 2022-2023 school year an exemption that generally permits school 
districts, community schools, and STEM schools to have an individual who does not hold 
a license or endorsement to teach computer science, to teach computer science courses, 
so long as that individual meets other prescribed requirements.  

 Requires the State Board to update its standards and curriculum for computer science 
education within one year of the bill’s effective date. 

Effects of vaping – school district health curriculum  

 Requires school districts to include instruction on the harmful effects and legal 
restrictions against the use of electronic smoking devices (vaping) in its health education 
curriculum. 

Victim counseling 

 Permits public and chartered nonpublic schools to provide counseling to victims of sexual 
harassment or sexually related conduct. 

Obsolete reports, plans, or recommendations 

 Eliminates various education-related reports, plans, and recommendations that are out-
of-date, expired, or no longer have data available. 

 

I. School finance 

School financing 

(R.C. 3314.088, 3317.0219, 3317.163, 3317.26, and 3326.42; Sections 265.215, 265.220, 265.225, 
265.230, and 265.235) 

The school funding system in existing law specifies a per-pupil formula amount and then 
uses that amount, along with a district’s “state share index” (which depends on valuation and, 
for some districts, also on median income), to calculate a district’s base payment (called the 
“opportunity grant”). The system also includes payments for targeted assistance (based on a 
district’s property value and income) and supplemental targeted assistance (based on a district’s 
percentage of agricultural property), categorical payments, a capacity aid payment, and 
payments for a graduation bonus, a third-grade reading bonus, and student transportation. 



P a g e  | 74  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

H.B. 166 of the 133rd General Assembly (the main operating budget act for FY 2020 and 
FY 2021) retained the school financing system in existing law, but it suspended use of that 
formula for school districts for FY 2020 and FY 2021. Instead, it provided for payments to be made 
based on FY 2019 funding. It also provided for deductions and transfers for community school 
and STEM school students as prescribed under continuing law.  

The bill continues the suspension of the formula for school districts for FY 2022 and 
FY 2023 and again provides for payments to be made based on FY 2019 funding. It also provides 
for deductions and transfers for community schools and STEM school students as prescribed 
under continuing law. For a more detailed description of the bill’s school financing provisions, 
see the LBO Redbook for the Department of Education and the LSC Comparison Document for 
the bill. From the LSC home page, www.lsc.ohio.gov, click on “Budget Central,” then on “Main 
Operating – H.B. 110,” and then on “EDU” under “Redbooks” or on “Comparison Document.” 

Funding for FY 2022 and FY 2023 

(Sections 265.215, 265.220, 265.225, 265.230, and 265.235) 

School districts 

For FY 2022 and FY 2023, the bill requires the Department to pay each city, local, 
exempted village, and joint vocational school district an amount equal to the district’s payments 
for FY 2019. 

It also requires the Department to make an additional payment for FY 2022 and FY 2023 
to each city, local, and exempted village school district, with at least 50 enrolled students, that 
experiences an average annual percentage change in its enrollment between FY 2016 and 
FY 2019 that is greater than zero. 

Community schools and STEM schools 

For FY 2022 and FY 2023, the bill requires the Department, for each student enrolled in a 
community school or STEM school, to deduct from the student’s resident district and pay to the 
school an amount in the manner prescribed by existing law. For this purpose, the bill specifies 
that (1) the “formula amount,” which is used to calculate the “opportunity grant” for each school, 
equals $6,020 (the formula amount for FY 2019), (2) the amounts deducted and paid for targeted 
assistance and economically disadvantaged funds, which are computed based on an amount 
calculated for a student’s resident district, must be the same per-pupil amounts deducted and 
paid for FY 2019, and (3) the per pupil amount deducted from a school district and paid to a 
community school that accepts responsibility to transport its students must be the same amount 
deducted and transferred for that purpose for FY 2019. 

Additionally, for FY 2022 and FY 2023, the Department must calculate and pay each 
community school and STEM school’s graduation and third-grade reading bonuses using a 
formula amount of $6,020. 

Other payments 

When computing other payments for FY 2022 and FY 2023 for which a district’s “state 
share index” or “state share percentage” is a factor, the Department must use the state share 
index or state share percentage computed for the district for FY 2019. 

http://www.lsc.ohio.gov/documents/budget/134/MainOperating/redbook/EDU.PDF
http://www.lsc.ohio.gov/
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Additionally, for purposes of open enrollment, College Credit Plus, and any other 
payments for which the “formula amount” is used, the formula amount for FY 2022 and FY 2023 
equals $6,020 (as with payments for community schools and STEM schools under the bill). 

Student wellness and success funding 

(R.C. 3314.088, 3317.0219, 3317.163, 3317.26, and 3326.42; Sections 265.234 and 265.323) 

The bill requires the Department to make payments for student wellness and success to 
all school districts, community schools, and STEM schools for FY 2022 and FY 2023 in a manner 
similar to how they were paid for FY 2020 and FY 2021. These funds must be spent for specified 
purposes that are outlined below. The Department must pay half of these funds by October 31 
of the fiscal year for which the payment is calculated and the other half by February 28. The 
Department is prohibited from later reconciling or adjusting the payment. 

For purposes of calculating a district’s or school’s student wellness and success funds and 
enhancement funds for both FY 2022 and FY 2023, the Department must use the number of 
students enrolled in the district or school for FY 2022. In other words, the Department must use 
the current year’s student count for FY 2022 payments and the preceding year’s student count 
for FY 2023 payments. For the previous biennium, the number of students enrolled in a district 
for the preceding fiscal year was used for both the FY 2020 and the FY 2021 payments. 

Student wellness and success funds 

City, local, and exempted village school districts 

(R.C. 3317.0219; Section 265.323(B)) 

The Department must pay student wellness and success funds to city, local, and exempted 
village school districts on a per pupil basis. The following table lists the ranges of the per pupil 
payments, and the minimum aggregate amounts for a district, for the current biennium and the 
bill’s amounts for the next biennium: 

Student Wellness and Success Funds –  
City, Local, and Exempted Village School Districts 

 Fiscal Year 
Per Pupil  

Amount Range 
Minimum  

Aggregate Payment* 

Currently 
FY 2020 $20 to $250 $25,000 

FY 2021 $30 to $360 $36,000 

The Bill 
FY 2022 $38 to $457 $45,720 

FY 2023 $47 to $562 $56,160 

*Minimum payment does not apply if the district has fewer than five enrolled students. 
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To determine each district’s per pupil amount, the Department groups the districts into 
quintiles each fiscal year based on the percentages of children with family incomes below 185% 
of the federal poverty guidelines. 21 The bill changes the data source for the grouping to the most 
recent five-year estimates published by the U.S. Census Bureau in the 2015-2019 American 
Community Survey, rather than the most recently published survey as under current law. Districts 
in the highest quintile are paid the highest per-pupil amount. Those in the other four quintiles 
are paid smaller per pupil amounts based on a sliding scale calculation.  

Joint vocational school districts; community and STEM schools 

(R.C. 3314.088, 3317.163, and 3326.42; Section 265.323(B)) 

The Department must pay student wellness and success funds, on a full-time equivalency 
basis, to joint vocational school districts, community schools that are not Internet- or computer-
based community schools (e-schools), and STEM schools. This payment is calculated by 
determining, for each student enrolled in the district or school, the per-pupil amount of student 
wellness and success funds paid to the student’s district of residence and multiplying that amount 
by the student’s full-time equivalency. The bill specifies that each district or school must receive 
a total minimum aggregate payment of $45,720 for FY 2022, and $56,160 for FY 2023. 

E-schools do not receive a per-pupil payment. Instead, the bill requires the Department 
to pay each e-school $45,720 for FY 2022, and $56,160 for FY 2023. 

The minimum payment amounts for joint vocational school districts, community schools 
that are not e-schools, and STEM schools, as well as the payment amount for e-schools, equaled 
$25,000 for FY 2020 and $36,000 for FY 2021. Student wellness and success enhancement funds 

City, local, and exempted village school districts 

(R.C. 3317.0219; Section 265.323(B)) 

The Department must pay student wellness and success enhancement funds to city, local, 
and exempted village school districts that received supplemental targeted assistance funding for 
FY 2019. Under the bill, this payment equals the product of: 

 $75, for FY 2022 and FY 2023 (this multiplier equaled $50 for FY 2020 and $75 for 
FY 2021); times 

 The square of the quotient of the district’s percentage of resident children with family 
incomes below 185% of the federal poverty guidelines divided by 36%; times 

 The district’s total student count. 

Joint vocational school districts; community and STEM schools 

(R.C. 3314.088, 3317.163, and 3326.42; Section 265.323(B)) 

The enhancement funds for joint vocational school districts, community schools that are 
not e-schools, and STEM schools are calculated by determining, for each student enrolled in the 
district or school, the per-pupil amount of student wellness and success enhancement funds paid 

                                                      

21 The 2021 federal poverty guideline for a family of four is $26,500. 185% of that is $49,025. 
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to each student’s district of residence (provided that district is eligible for enhancement funding) 
and multiplying that amount by the student’s full-time equivalency. 

Guarantee 

(Section 265.234(A), (B), and (D)) 

For FY 2022, the bill guarantees that each district and school receives the same amount 
of student wellness and success funds and enhancement funds that it received for FY 2021. For 
this purpose, a district’s or school’s FY 2021 amount equals the sum of: 

1. The student wellness and success funds and enhancement funds paid in accordance 
with the statutory formula for FY 2021; plus 

2. The additional amount distributed to the district or school from appropriation item 
200604, Student Wellness and Success, through a methodology determined by the Department 
in consultation with the Office of Budget and Management (OBM) (as required by S.B. 310 of the 
133rd General Assembly). 

For FY 2023, the bill guarantees that each district and school receives the same amount 
of student wellness and success funds and enhancement funds that it received for FY 2022. 

The Department must pay funds calculated for the guarantee by February 28 of the fiscal 
year for which the payment is calculated. 

Distribution of remaining appropriated amounts 

(Section 265.234(E)) 

For FY 2022 and FY 2023, the bill requires the Department, after all student wellness and 
success payments for that fiscal year have been made to public schools, to distribute any 
amounts remaining in appropriation item 200604, Student Wellness and Success, through a 
methodology determined by the Department in consultation with OBM. This payment must be 
made by February 28 of that fiscal year. 

Spending requirements 

(R.C. 3317.26; Section 265.234(C)) 

The bill makes several changes to the spending requirements for student wellness and 
success funds and enhancement funds that are explained in greater detail below. Districts and 
schools must satisfy these requirements for all funds spent after the bill’s changes take effect, 
including any student wellness and success funds and enhancement funds paid for FY 2020 and 
FY 2021 that are spent after that date. 

Initiatives 

Districts and schools must spend student wellness and success funds and enhancement 
funds for certain initiatives listed in current law. The bill changes the list of initiatives as follows: 

 Specifies that mental health services and physical health services, which are already part 
of the list, may include telehealth services; 
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 Adds culturally appropriate, evidence-based or evidence-informed prevention education, 
including youth-led programming and social and emotional learning curricula to promote 
mental health and prevent substance abuse and suicide; 

 Adds programs that connect students to community resources, including City Connects, 
Communities in Schools, or other similar programs (current law permits funds to be used 
for City Connects programming but does not mention other types of community 
programs); and 

 Removes provisions that permit funds to be used for professional development regarding 
the provision of trauma-informed care and professional development regarding cultural 
competencies.  

Community partners 

The bill also requires districts and schools to spend student wellness and success funding 
and enhancement funding in coordination with two community partners (rather than one as 
under current law), as follows: 

1. Either a board of alcohol, drug, and mental health services or a community-based 
mental health treatment or prevention provider (both a board of alcohol, drug, and mental 
health services and a community-based mental health treatment provider may be a community 
partner under current law, but a community-based mental health prevention provider may not 
be a community partner under current law); and 

2. An educational service center, a county board of developmental disabilities, a 
community-based mental health treatment or prevention provider, a board of alcohol, drug, and 
mental health services, a board of health of a city or general health district, a county department 
of job and family services, a nonprofit organization with experience serving children, or a public 
hospital agency (any of these, except for a community-based mental health prevention provider, 
may be a community partner under current law). 

Funding adjustment for career-technical education  

(Section 265.227; conforming changes in Sections 265.220 and 265.225) 

The bill requires the Department to adjust the amounts paid to certain school districts for 
FY 2022 and FY 2023 to account for the decrease in career-technical education students served 
by a city, local, or exempted village school district and the corresponding increase in students 
served by a joint vocational school district. To qualify for this adjustment, a city, local, or 
exempted village school district must have provided a career-technical education program in 
FY 2019 but, beginning in FY 2020, is a member of a joint vocational school district that provides 
that program instead. 

The adjustment equals the aggregate amount of career-technical education funds paid to 
the city, local, or exempted village school district for FY 2019 minus those funds deducted from 
the district for FY 2019 for students enrolled in community and STEM schools.  
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Payment for districts with decreases in utility TPP value 

(Section 265.237) 

The act requires the Department to make a payment, for FY 2022 and FY 2023, to each 
city, local, exempted village, or joint vocational school district with more than a 10% decrease in 
the taxable value of utility tangible personal property (TPP) that has at least one power plant 
located within its territory. To qualify for the FY 2022 payment, a district must have experienced 
this decrease between tax years 2017 and 2021 or tax years 2020 and 2021. To qualify for the 
FY 2023 payment, a district must have experienced this decrease between tax years 2017 and 
2022 or tax years 2021 and 2022. 

Eligibility determination 

The Tax Commissioner must determine which districts are eligible for this payment no 
later than May 15, 2022 (for the FY 2022 payment) or May 15, 2023 (for the FY 2023 payment). 
For each eligible district, the Commissioner must certify the following information to the 
Department: 

1. If the district is eligible for the FY 2022 payment, its total taxable value for tax year 2021 
and the change in taxes charged and payable on the district’s total taxable value for tax years 
2017 and 2021; and 

2. If the district is eligible for the FY 2023 payment, its total taxable value for tax year 2022 
and the change in taxes charged and payable on the district’s total taxable value for tax years 
2017 and 2022; and 

3. If the district is eligible for either payment, the taxable value of the utility TPP decrease 
and the change in taxes charged and payable on the change in taxable value. 

Payment amount 

The act requires the Department, for purposes of computing the payment, to replace the 
three-year average valuations used in computing a district’s state education aid for FY 2019 with 
the district’s total taxable value for tax year 2021 (for the FY 2022 payment) or tax year 2022 (for 
the FY 2023 payment). It then must recompute the state education aid for FY 2019 without 
applying any funding limitations enacted by the General Assembly. 

The amount of a district’s payment is equal to the greater of 1 or 2 as described below: 

1. The lesser of either:  

a. The positive difference between the district’s state education aid for FY 2019 prior 
to the recomputation and the district’s recomputed state education aid for FY 2019; or  

b. The absolute value of the change in taxes charged and payable on the district’s total 
taxable value for tax years 2017 and 2021 (for the FY 2022 payment) or for tax years 2017 and 
2022 (for the FY 2023 payment). 

2. 0.50 times the absolute value of the change in taxes charged and payable on the 
district’s total taxable value for tax years 2017 and 2021 (for the FY 2022 payment) or for tax 
years 2017 and 2022 (for the FY 2023 payment). 



P a g e  | 80  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

Payment deadline 

The Department must make FY 2022 payments between June 1 and June 30, 2022, and 
must make FY 2023 payments between June 1 and June 30, 2023. 

Payment for school district with nuclear plant in its territory 

(R.C. 3317.029, repealed) 

The bill repeals the requirement that the Department, for each of FYs 2019, 2020, and 
2021, make an additional payment to a city, local, or exempted village school district with (1) a 
nuclear power plant in its territory and (2) a total taxable value of public utility personal property 
for tax year 2017 that is at least 50% less than that value for tax year 2016. 

Recommendations for compensating valuation losses 

(R.C. 3317.27, repealed) 

The bill eliminates the requirement that the Department annually recommend to the 
General Assembly a structure to compensate each city, local, exempted village, and joint 
vocational school district that experiences at least a 50% decrease in public utility personal 
property valuation from one year to the next for a percentage of the effect that decrease has on 
the district’s state funding. 

Student transportation funding – qualifying ridership 

(R.C. 3317.0212) 

The bill specifies that a city, local, or exempted village school district’s “qualifying 
ridership” means the greater of the average number of qualifying riders counted in the morning 
or counted in the afternoon who are provided school bus service by a school district during the 
first full week of October that the district is in session with students in attendance. Currently, this 
count is the average number of qualifying riders who are provided school bus service during the 
first full week of October.  

A district’s “qualifying ridership” is used to calculate its transportation funding under the 
formula in permanent law. However, because the bill suspends the formula for FY 2022 and 
FY 2023 and instead provides for districts to receive the same amount of transportation funding 
for those fiscal years as they received for FY 2019, the change to the “qualifying ridership” count 
does not impact the calculation of districts' transportation funding for FY 2022 and FY 2023. 

The bill also extends the deadline for each district’s annual report to the Department of 
its qualifying ridership, and any other information requested by the Department, to November 1 
from October 15. 

Auxiliary Services funds 

(R.C. 3317.024; Section 265.170) 

The bill permits all chartered nonpublic schools, instead of only nonreligious affiliated 
schools as under current law, to choose whether to (1) receive Auxiliary Services funds directly 
from the Department or (2) receive those funds through the school districts in which they are 
located. For any year in which a religious chartered nonpublic school chooses direct payment, 
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the bill requires submission of an affidavit to the Department certifying that funds will be spent 
in a lawful manner and for a permissible purpose under continuing law. 

Currently, a chartered nonpublic school that is not religiously affiliated must notify the 
Department by April 1 of each odd-numbered year to receive Auxiliary Services funding directly 
for the biennium that begins the following July 1. However, the bill temporarily permits any 
chartered nonpublic school (regardless of religious affiliation) to choose direct payment for the 
2021-2022 and 2022-2023 school years by notifying the Department by July 31, 2021, rather than 
April 1. 

Auxiliary Services funds are used to purchase goods and services for students who attend 
chartered nonpublic schools, such as textbooks, digital texts, workbooks, instructional 
equipment, library materials, or tutoring and other special services.22 

II. Graduation requirements and assessments 

High school graduation requirements 

(R.C. 3313.61, 3313.618, 3313.619, 3313.6113, and 3313.6114; conforming in R.C. 3301.0714) 

The bill makes a series of changes to the high school graduations requirements that a 
student who entered ninth grade for the first time on or after July 1, 2019 (the Classes of 2023 
and on) generally must meet to qualify for a high school diploma.  

Background 

In addition to meeting the state’s minimum curriculum requirements, continuing law 
generally requires these students to demonstrate competency in math and English language arts 
and earn at least two diploma seals to qualify for a high school diploma.  

Continuing law also permits students who entered ninth grade for the first time on or 
after July 1, 2014, but prior to July 1, 2019, (the Classes of 2018 through 2022) to meet those 
requirements to qualify for a high school diploma.  

A student must demonstrate competency by attaining a “competency score” on each of 
the Algebra I and English Language Arts II end-of-course exams. However, if a student does not 
attain a competency score on one or both of those exams after two administrations of them, the 
student may use alternative demonstrations of competency. There are several alternative 
demonstrations of competency: (1) earning credit through the College Credit Plus Program in the 
failed subject area, (2) providing evidence of military enlistment, or (3) completing one 
“foundational” option and either another “foundational” option or a “supporting” option. 

Continuing law prescribes a system of 12 diploma seals for which a student may qualify. 
There are two categories of diploma seals: state-defined diploma seals and locally defined 
diploma seals. Both types of diploma seals have requirements prescribed in statute, but a state 
factor, usually the Department, is often involved in implementing the requirements for state-
defined seals, while the requirements for locally defined seals are solely implemented by the 

                                                      

22 See R.C. 3317.06 and 3317.062, neither in bill. 
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student’s school. There are nine state-defined seals and three locally defined seals;  a district or 
school must adopt guidelines for at least one locally defined seal a student must earn at least two 
diploma seals, and at least one of them must be a state-defined seal.23 

FAFSA requirement 

The bill establishes a new requirement that each student must provide evidence of having 
completed and submitted the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). However, the bill 
exempts a student from meeting this requirement if either the student’s: 

1. Parent or guardian has submitted a written letter, in a manner prescribed by the 
Department, to the student’s district or school stating the student will not complete and submit 
the FAFSA; or 

2. District or school has made a record, in a manner prescribed by the Department, 
describing circumstances that make it impossible or impracticable for the student to complete 
the FAFSA. 

See also “FAFSA data system” below. 

Industry-recognized credentials 

The bill requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction’s industry-recognized 
credentials and licenses committee to assign a point value for each credential and establish the 
total number of points that a student must earn to satisfy certain high school graduation criteria 
prescribed under continuing law. Specifically, the bill requires a student to earn the total number 
of points to qualify for an industry-recognized credential diploma seal or to use industry-
recognized credentials as a foundational option when using alternative demonstrations of 
competency. Current law specifies only that a student must earn an industry-recognized 
credential for either of those purposes. 

In addition, the bill requires the Department, when calculating the number of students 
who earned an industry-recognized credential in the state report card’s Prepared for Success 
Component, to include only students who earned a credential, or group of credentials, at least 
equal to that total number of points. 

State-issued licenses 

The bill specifies that students who obtain a state-issued license for practice in a vocation 
that requires an examination may use that license to qualify for an industry-recognized credential 
diploma seal or as a foundational option when using alternative demonstrations of competency. 
Under current law, the only way a student may qualify for an industry-recognized credential state 
diploma seal is by earning an industry-recognized credential.  

                                                      

23 For more information, the Department of Education’s guidance about graduation requirements is 
available here. 

http://education.ohio.gov/getattachment/Topics/Ohio-s-Graduation-Requirements/Ohio-s-Graduation-Requirements_Long-term-Requirements-2023-and-Beyond.pdf.aspx?lang=en-US
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Chartered nonpublic schools 

The bill changes how students enrolled in chartered nonpublic schools that do not 
administer the end-of-course exams meet the requirements to demonstrate competency and 
earn state diploma seals. First, it specifies that students who are enrolled in chartered nonpublic 
schools that administer only the nationally standardized assessment (ACT or SAT) must be 
considered to have demonstrated competency if they score a remediation-free score on that 
assessment. If so, they are exempt from having to take the Algebra I or English Language Arts II 
end-of-course exams. 

Similarly, students enrolled in chartered nonpublic schools that administer only an 
alternative assessment approved by the Department are exempt from demonstrating 
competency or earning state diploma seals. However, the bill clarifies that those students are 
exempt only from the assessment requirements. In addition, it expressly states that those 
students must complete the new FAFSA requirement, unless they meet one of the exemptions 
prescribed for that requirement (see above). 

In addition to those changes, the bill also generally requires chartered nonpublic schools 
to offer remedial support to any student who fails to attain a competency score on one or both 
of the Algebra I or English Language Arts II end-of-course exams. Public schools already have to 
offer such support. 

Transfer students and graduation requirements 

The bill addresses how transfer students must comply with the state’s high school 
graduation requirements in several ways. It addresses two types of transfer students:  

1. Students who transfer between public and chartered nonpublic schools; and  

2. Students who transfer into a public or chartered nonpublic school after, in the prior 
school year, being homeschooled, attending an out-of-state school, or attending a nonchartered, 
nonpublic school in Ohio. 

Students who transfer between public and chartered nonpublic schools 

The bill changes how public and chartered nonpublic schools must address any progress 
a transfer student made toward completing a locally defined diploma seal at the student’s prior 
public or chartered nonpublic school. It requires a student’s new school to recognize a locally 
defined diploma seal that the student earned at the prior school, regardless of whether the new 
school has adopted guidelines for that diploma seal. In addition, it requires the new school to 
include a method to give, to the extent feasible, a proportional amount of credit for any progress 
the student made toward earning that diploma seal at the prior school. 

Students who transfer into public and chartered nonpublic schools 

The bill generally requires transfer students who, in the prior school year, were 
homeschooled or attended an out-of-state or nonchartered, nonpublic school to generally 
comply with continuing law’s requirements to demonstrate competency and earn state diploma 
seals.  

However, to demonstrate competency in math and English language arts, the bill exempts 
such students who transfer in 12th grade and fail to attain a competency score on the Algebra I 
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or English language arts II end-of-course exam from having to retake that exam prior to using 
alternative demonstrations of competency. 

For diploma seals, the bill permits such students to use a final course grade equivalent to 
a “B” or higher in courses completed prior to enrolling in their new school to meet diploma seal 
requirements, as follows: 

1. A student may use a grade from courses that correspond to the American history and 
American government end-of-course exams to earn a Citizenship diploma seal; 

2. A student may use a grade from a course that corresponds to the science end-of-course 
exam to earn a science diploma seal; and 

3. A student may use a grade in an “appropriate” course, as determined by the student’s 
new school, to earn the Technology diploma seal. 

It also prohibits those students from using a grade for an American history, American 
government, or science course complete prior to enrolling in their new school if, subsequent to 
that enrollment, those students take a course associated with the American history, American 
government, or science end-of-course exam. 

Other demonstration of competency changes 

Exemption for certain students with IEPs 

The bill exempts a student with a disability who has an individualized education program 
(IEP) from demonstrating competency in math and English language arts under certain 
circumstances. To qualify for that exemption, the student’s IEP must expressly exempt the 
student from that requirement and the student must satisfy certain conditions regarding state 
testing.  

Specifically, the student must take the Algebra I and English language arts II end-of-course 
exams or, if the student qualifies for alternate assessments, the alternate assessments in math 
and English language arts. If the student does not attain a competency score on an end-of-course 
exam or a score established by the State Board of Education on the alternate assessment, the 
student must be offered and receive remedial support from the student’s district or school and 
retake the exam or assessment. If the student still does not attain a competency score or an 
established score, the student is then exempt from the requirement to demonstrate 
competency. 

ACT or SAT score as alternative demonstration of competency 

The bill specifies that a student may use a remediation-free score on a nationally 
standardized assessment (ACT or SAT) as an alternative demonstration of competency in a 
subject area in which a student did not attain a competency score. For English language arts, the 
student must be remediation-free on both English and reading on the assessment.  

“Foundational” options 

The bill requires a student to earn cumulative score of proficient or higher on three or 
more state technical assessments in order to use those assessments as a “foundational” option 
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when using alternative demonstrations of competency. Under current law, a student must earn 
a score of proficient or higher on three state technical assessments. 

In addition, the bill clarifies that an apprenticeship used as a “foundational” option must 
be registered with the Ohio State Pre-Apprenticeship Council. It further clarifies that a pre-
apprenticeship used as a “foundational” option must align with standards established by the 
Departments of Education and Job and Family Services, in consultation with the Governor’s Office 
of Workforce Transformation, under continuing law. 

Diploma seal requirement changes 

Citizenship diploma seal 

The bill expands the ways in which a student may earn a Citizenship diploma seal in two 
ways. First, it permits any student to earn that diploma seal by attaining a final course grade of a 
“B” or higher in an American history and American government course offered by the student’s 
high school. In addition, the bill qualifies a student with significant cognitive disabilities for that 
diploma seal if that student attains a score established by the State Board on the alternate 
assessment in social studies. 

Under current law, a student may only qualify for the Citizenship diploma seal by 
attaining:  

1. A score of proficient or higher on both the American history and American government 
end-of-course exams; 

2. A score equivalent to a proficient on appropriate advanced placement (AP) or 
international baccalaureate (IB) exams; or 

3. A final course grade of a “B” or higher in appropriate CCP courses.  

Science diploma seal 

The bill expands the ways in which a student may qualify for a science diploma seal. Under 
the bill, a student with significant cognitive disabilities may earn it by attaining a score set by the 
State Board on the alternate assessment in science. In addition, the bill permits any student to 
earn the seal by attaining a final course grade equivalent of a “B” or higher in a prescribed science 
course offered by the student’s high school. Specifically, a student may complete:  

1. A chemistry, physics, or other physical science course;  

2. An advanced biology or other life science course; or  

3. An astronomy, physical geology, or other earth or space science course. 

Under current law, a student may only qualify for the science diploma seal by attaining a 
score of proficient or higher on the science end-of-course exam, a score equivalent to a proficient 
on an appropriate AP or IB exam, or a final course grade of a “B” or higher in an appropriate CCP 
course.  
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Dyslexia diagnostic assessments 

(R.C. 3301.079 and 3313.608) 

Except for the kindergarten readiness assessment, the bill requires that the diagnostic 
assessments for grades K-3 in reading and comparable reading skill assessment tools for the Third 
Grade Reading Guarantee include items related to dyslexia identification. Those assessments and 
comparable tools must include a sufficient number of items to test phonological awareness, 
phonemic awareness, rapid naming skills, nonsense word fluency, and correspondence between 
sounds and letters to identify students who may need further measures to determine if the 
student has dyslexia.  

The bill additionally requires the test vendors to share student performance data on 
comparable tools related to dyslexia as described above with each district and community, STEM, 
and chartered nonpublic school and the Department.  

Finally, it specifies that any diagnostic assessment adopted by the State Board or any 
comparable reading tool approved by the Department, as described above, may be used to meet 
the current law requirement to administer a tier one dyslexia screening. Beginning in the 2022-
2023 school year school districts and other public schools are required to administer annual 
dyslexia screenings.24  

Kindergarten Readiness and reading skills assessments  

(R.C. 3301.0715 and 3313.608) 

The bill adjusts the period of time in which a school must administer the Kindergarten 
Readiness Assessment and the kindergarten reading skills assessment (for the Third Grade 
Reading Guarantee), from the first day of the school year (July 1) through November 1 as under 
current law, to July 1 through the 20th day of instruction of the school year. 

III. Educator licensure 

Disciplinary actions for educators 

(R.C. 2953.25, 3314.101, 3319.221, 3319.31, 3319.311, 3319.313, 3319.319, 3319.39, 3319.40, 
3326.081, 3328.18, 4117.103, and 5153.176; Section 803.10) 

Effect on H.B. 263 

The bill eliminates a prohibition against the State Board refusing to issue an educator 
license because of a criminal record unless the refusal is in accordance with the limits and 
requirements that were recently enacted by H.B. 263 of the 133rd General Assembly, which apply 
to all licensing agencies and take effect October 9, 2021. Instead, it maintains and amends a 
procedure for determining licensure eligibility that is specific to teachers and school employees. 
With respect to issuing an initial license, the State Board must determine whether to issue an 
initial license to an applicant by following the requirements set forth in H.B. 263, except as 
described below. 

                                                      

24 R.C. 3323.251, not in the bill. 
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The bill also specifies that its amendments to teacher licensure disciplinary actions are 
remedial in nature and apply to any proceeding, investigation, or citation involving an applicant 
for an initial license, that, as of the bill’s effective date, has not reached final disposition, including 
all available appeals.25 

Automatic revocation or denial of license 

The State Board is required under current law to revoke an individual’s educator license 
or deny issuance or renewal of a license, without an administrative hearing, if the individual has 
pled guilty to, been found guilty of, or been convicted of specified criminal offenses. 

The bill broadens this provision by specifying that both of the following also are grounds 
for automatic license revocation or denial: 

1. A judicial finding of eligibility for intervention in lieu of conviction for any of the criminal 
offenses already listed in current law. (Under current law, the State Board is permitted, but not 
required, to deny, limit, suspend, or revoke a license for a judicial finding of eligibility in lieu of 
conviction for those offenses.) 

2. A plea of guilty to, a finding of guilt, or a conviction of, or a judicial finding of eligibility 
for intervention in lieu of conviction for conspiracy to commit, attempt to commit, or complicity 
in committing any of the criminal offenses listed under current law or under the bill’s provisions. 

The criminal offenses listed in current law and the criminal offenses specified in the bill’s 
provisions are listed in the table below (see “Comparison of criminal offenses”). 

Collateral sanctions for certain criminal offenses 

The bill prohibits a court, when issuing a certificate of qualification for employment, from 
granting an individual relief from “collateral sanctions” for a licensure action by the State Board 
for a violation of criminal offenses specified in the bill. In other words, a certificate of qualification 
for employment cannot exempt an individual from the disciplinary consequences for teacher 
licensure of a conviction, guilty plea, or finding of guilt or a judicial finding of eligibility for 
intervention in lieu of conviction for those specified offenses. 

A “collateral sanction” is a penalty, disability, or disadvantage that is related to 
employment or occupational licensing as a result of the individual’s conviction of or plea of guilty 
to an offense. A certificate of qualification for employment is a document that provides relief 
from certain bars on employment or occupational licensing for an individual who has been 
released from incarceration and all supervision for a specified period of time. 

The bill’s list of criminal offenses for which an individual cannot be granted relief from 
collateral sanctions on a certificate of qualification for employment is a subset of those criminal 
offenses that are grounds for automatic revocation or denial of a license. These offenses are 
listed in the table below (see “Comparison of criminal offenses”). 

                                                      

25 See R.C. 9.78, not in the bill.  
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Comparison of criminal offenses 

The following table compares the specific criminal offenses listed in current law and the 
bill that result in automatic revocation or denial of licenses and the specific criminal offenses 
listed in the bill for which an individual cannot be granted relief from collateral sanctions on a 
certificate of qualification for employment. 

 

 

Criminal offenses for 
which a guilty plea, 
finding of guilt, 
conviction (under 
current law), or judicial 
finding of eligibility for 
intervention in lieu of 
conviction (under the 
bill) results in automatic 
revocation or denial of 
license26 

Criminal offenses for 
which an individual 
cannot be granted 
relief from collateral 
sanctions on a 
certificate of 
qualification for 
employment27 

Endangering children 
through abuse, torture, or 
cruelty (R.C. 2919.22(B)(1) 
or (2)) 

✔ ✔ 

Endangering children 
through corporal or other 
punishment that is 
excessive and creates 
substantial risk of serious 
physical harm 
(R.C. 2919.22(B)(3)) 

✔ ✔ 

Endangering children 
through repeated, 
unwarranted discipline that 
poses substantial risk of 
seriously impairing the 
child’s mental health or 
development 
(R.C. 2919.22(B)(4)) 

✔ ✔ 

Aggravated murder 
(R.C. 2903.01) 

✔ ✔ 

Murder (R.C. 2903.02) ✔ ✔ 

                                                      

26 R.C. 3319.31(C)(1). 
27 R.C. 2953.25(C)(5)(h). 
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Criminal offenses for 
which a guilty plea, 
finding of guilt, 
conviction (under 
current law), or judicial 
finding of eligibility for 
intervention in lieu of 
conviction (under the 
bill) results in automatic 
revocation or denial of 
license26 

Criminal offenses for 
which an individual 
cannot be granted 
relief from collateral 
sanctions on a 
certificate of 
qualification for 
employment27 

Voluntary manslaughter 
(R.C. 2903.03) 

✔ ✔ 

Involuntary manslaughter 
(R.C. 2903.04) 

✔ ✔ 

Reckless homicide 
(R.C. 2903.041) 

✔  

Felonious assault 
(R.C. 2903.11) 

✔ ✔ 

Aggravated assault 
(R.C. 2903.12) 

✔ ✔ 

Permitting child abuse 
(R.C. 2903.15) 

✔ ✔ 

Kidnapping (R.C. 2905.01) ✔ ✔ 

Abduction (R.C. 2905.02) ✔ ✔ 

Child stealing before July 1, 
1996 (former R.C. 2905.04) 

✔ ✔ 

Criminal child enticement 
(R.C. 2905.05) 

✔ ✔ 

Extortion (R.C. 2905.11) ✔  

Trafficking in persons (R.C. 
2905.32) (added by the bill 
for both licensure actions 
and collateral sanctions 
employment certificates)  

✔ ✔ 

Rape (R.C. 2907.02) ✔ ✔ 

Sexual battery 
(R.C. 2907.03) 

✔ ✔ 

Unlawful sexual conduct 
with a minor (R.C. 2907.04) 

✔ ✔ 
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Criminal offenses for 
which a guilty plea, 
finding of guilt, 
conviction (under 
current law), or judicial 
finding of eligibility for 
intervention in lieu of 
conviction (under the 
bill) results in automatic 
revocation or denial of 
license26 

Criminal offenses for 
which an individual 
cannot be granted 
relief from collateral 
sanctions on a 
certificate of 
qualification for 
employment27 

Gross sexual imposition 
(R.C. 2907.05) 

✔ ✔ 

Sexual imposition 
(R.C. 2907.06) 

✔ ✔ 

Importuning (R.C. 2907.07) ✔ ✔ 

Felonious sexual 
penetration in violation of 
former R.C. 2907.12 

✔ ✔ 

Compelling prostitution 
(R.C. 2907.21) 

✔ ✔ 

Promoting prostitution 
(R.C. 2907.22) 

✔ ✔ 

Procuring (R.C. 2907.23) ✔  

Soliciting (R.C. 2907.24) ✔  

Loitering to engage in 
solicitation (R.C. 2907.241) 

✔  

Prostitution (R.C. 2907.25) ✔  

Disseminating matter 
harmful to juveniles 
(R.C. 2907.31) 

✔ ✔ 

Displaying matter harmful 
to juveniles (R.C. 2907.311) 

✔ ✔ 

Pandering obscenity 
(R.C. 2907.32) 

✔ ✔ 

Pandering obscenity 
involving a minor 
(R.C. 2907.321) 

✔ ✔ 
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Criminal offenses for 
which a guilty plea, 
finding of guilt, 
conviction (under 
current law), or judicial 
finding of eligibility for 
intervention in lieu of 
conviction (under the 
bill) results in automatic 
revocation or denial of 
license26 

Criminal offenses for 
which an individual 
cannot be granted 
relief from collateral 
sanctions on a 
certificate of 
qualification for 
employment27 

Pandering sexually oriented 
matter involving a minor 
(R.C. 2907.322) 

✔ ✔ 

Illegal use of a minor in 
nudity-oriented material or 
performance 
(R.C. 2907.323) 

✔ ✔ 

Deception to obtain matter 
harmful to juveniles 
(R.C. 2907.33) 

✔ ✔ 

Compelling acceptance of 
objectionable materials 
(R.C. 2907.34) 

✔ ✔ 

Aggravated arson 
(R.C. 2909.02) 

✔ ✔ 

Soliciting or providing 
support for an act of 
terrorism (R.C. 2909.22) 

✔ ✔ 

Making a terroristic threat 
(R.C. 2909.23) 

✔ ✔ 

Terrorism (R.C. 2909.24) ✔ ✔ 

Aggravated robbery 
(R.C. 2911.01) 

✔ ✔ 

Robbery (R.C. 2911.02) ✔  

Aggravated burglary 
(R.C. 2911.11) 

✔ ✔ 

Burglary (R.C. 2911.12) ✔  

Personating an officer 
(R.C. 2913.44) 

✔  
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Criminal offenses for 
which a guilty plea, 
finding of guilt, 
conviction (under 
current law), or judicial 
finding of eligibility for 
intervention in lieu of 
conviction (under the 
bill) results in automatic 
revocation or denial of 
license26 

Criminal offenses for 
which an individual 
cannot be granted 
relief from collateral 
sanctions on a 
certificate of 
qualification for 
employment27 

Inciting to violence 
(R.C. 2917.01) 

✔  

Aggravated riot 
(R.C. 2917.02) 

✔  

Riot (R.C. 2917.03) ✔  

Inducing panic 
(R.C. 2917.31) 

✔  

Unlawful possession or use 
of a hoax weapon of mass 
destruction (R.C. 2917.33) 

✔  

Unlawful abortion 
(R.C. 2919.12) 

✔  

Unlawful abortion upon a 
minor (R.C. 2919.121) 

✔  

Abortion manslaughter 
(R.C. 2919.13) 

✔  

Interference with custody 
that would have been child 
stealing had it occurred 
before July 1, 1996 
(R.C. 2919.23) 

✔ ✔ 

Bribery (R.C. 2921.02) ✔ ✔ 

Intimidation (R.C. 2921.03) ✔ ✔ 

Intimidation of attorney, 
victim, or witness in a 
criminal case (R.C. 2921.04) 

✔ ✔ 

Retaliation (R.C. 2921.05) ✔  

Perjury (R.C. 2921.11) ✔  

Escape (R.C. 2921.34) ✔  
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Criminal offenses for 
which a guilty plea, 
finding of guilt, 
conviction (under 
current law), or judicial 
finding of eligibility for 
intervention in lieu of 
conviction (under the 
bill) results in automatic 
revocation or denial of 
license26 

Criminal offenses for 
which an individual 
cannot be granted 
relief from collateral 
sanctions on a 
certificate of 
qualification for 
employment27 

Theft in office 
(R.C. 2921.41) 

✔ ✔ 

Illegal conveyance or 
possession of a deadly 
weapon, dangerous 
ordnance, or object 
indistinguishable from a 
firearm in a school safety 
zone (R.C. 2923.122) 

✔  

Illegal conveyance or 
possession of a deadly 
weapon or dangerous 
ordnance in a courthouse 
(R.C. 2923.123) 

✔  

Improperly discharging a 
firearm at or into a 
habitation, in a school 
safety zone, or with the 
intent to cause harm or 
panic to persons in a school, 
in a school building, or at a 
school function or the 
evacuation of a school 
function (R.C. 2923.161) 

✔  

Unlawful possession of 
dangerous ordnance or 
illegally manufacturing or 
processing explosives 
(R.C. 2923.17) 

✔  

Improperly furnishing 
firearms to a minor 
(R.C. 2923.21) 

✔ ✔ 
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Criminal offenses for 
which a guilty plea, 
finding of guilt, 
conviction (under 
current law), or judicial 
finding of eligibility for 
intervention in lieu of 
conviction (under the 
bill) results in automatic 
revocation or denial of 
license26 

Criminal offenses for 
which an individual 
cannot be granted 
relief from collateral 
sanctions on a 
certificate of 
qualification for 
employment27 

Corrupting another with 
drugs (R.C. 2925.02) 

✔ ✔ 

Aggravated trafficking or 
trafficking in drugs, 
including marihuana 
(R.C. 2925.03) 

✔  

Illegal manufacture of drugs 
or illegal cultivate of 
marihuana (R.C. 2925.04) 

✔  

Illegal assembly or 
possession of chemicals for 
the manufacture of drugs 
(R.C. 2925.041) 

✔  

Aggravated funding of drug 
trafficking, funding of drug 
trafficking, and funding of 
marihuana trafficking 
(R.C. 2925.05) 

✔  

Illegal administration or 
distribution of anabolic 
steroids (R.C. 2925.06) 

✔  

Permitting drug abuse 
(R.C. 2925.13) 

✔  

Deception to obtain a 
dangerous drug 
(R.C. 2925.22) 

✔  

Illegal processing of drug 
documents (R.C. 2925.23) 

✔  

Tampering with drugs 
(R.C. 2925.24) 

✔  
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Criminal offenses for 
which a guilty plea, 
finding of guilt, 
conviction (under 
current law), or judicial 
finding of eligibility for 
intervention in lieu of 
conviction (under the 
bill) results in automatic 
revocation or denial of 
license26 

Criminal offenses for 
which an individual 
cannot be granted 
relief from collateral 
sanctions on a 
certificate of 
qualification for 
employment27 

Trafficking in harmful 
intoxicants or improperly 
dispensing or distributing 
nitrous oxide (R.C. 2925.32) 

✔  

Illegal dispensing of drug 
samples (R.C. 2925.36) 

✔  

Possession of counterfeit 
controlled substances, 
aggravated trafficking or 
trafficking in counterfeit 
controlled substances, 
promoting and encouraging 
drug abuse, and fraudulent 
drug advertising 
(R.C. 2925.37) 

✔  

Contaminating a substance 
for human consumption or 
use or contamination with a 
hazardous chemical, 
biological, or radioactive 
substance; spreading a false 
report of contamination 
(R.C. 2927.24) 

✔  

Placing a harmful or 
hazardous object or 
substance in a food or 
confection, or furnishing to 
a person a food or 
confection so adulterated 
(R.C. 3716.11) 

✔  
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Criminal offenses for 
which a guilty plea, 
finding of guilt, 
conviction (under 
current law), or judicial 
finding of eligibility for 
intervention in lieu of 
conviction (under the 
bill) results in automatic 
revocation or denial of 
license26 

Criminal offenses for 
which an individual 
cannot be granted 
relief from collateral 
sanctions on a 
certificate of 
qualification for 
employment27 

Violation of an ordinance of 
a municipal corporation 
that is substantively 
comparable to an offense 
listed above 

✔ ✔ 

 

Discretionary disciplinary action 

The bill permits the State Board to deny, suspend, revoke, or limit a license if the applicant 
engages in an immoral act, incompetence, negligence, or conduct that is unbecoming to the 
“teaching profession” (rather than to the applicant’s “position” as under current law). It further 
specifies that the State Board does not need to consider whether there is a connection between 
the immoral act, incompetence, negligence, or conduct and the individual’s ability to perform the 
duties associated with the license or position. 

The bill also specifies that a judicial finding of eligibility for intervention in lieu of 
conviction for any of the offenses that are not grounds for automatic license revocation or denial 
of licenses may be a reason for the State Board to deny, suspend, revoke, or limit a license. Under 
current law, the State Board is permitted, but not required, to deny, limit, suspend, or revoke a 
license for a judicial finding of eligibility for intervention in lieu of conviction for all criminal 
offenses. 

Current law, not changed by the bill but subject to H.B. 263 of the 133rd General Assembly 
(see above) also permits the State Board to deny, limit, suspend, or revoke a license for (1) a 
felony, offense of violence, or theft offense that are not grounds for automatic revocation or 
denial of a license, (2) a drug abuse offense that is not a minor misdemeanor and is not grounds 
for automatic revocation or denial of a license, (3) a violation of an ordinance of a municipal 
corporation that is substantively comparable to these offenses, and (4) failure to comply with 
provisions of law regarding school management plans28 and required reporting29 of employee 
misconduct. 

                                                      

28 R.C. 3313.536, not in the bill. 
29 See also R.C. 3314.40, 3326.24, 3328.19, and 5126.253, none in the bill. 
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Inactivation of licenses 

Under current law, upon the arrest, summons, or indictment of a school employee for an 
alleged violation of specified offenses, the employee must be suspended from all duties that 
require the care, custody, or control of a child. This requirement applies to all licensed and 
nonlicensed employees of school districts, educational service centers, community schools, STEM 
schools, college-preparatory boarding schools, and chartered nonpublic schools. In the case of a 
licensed employee, the arrest, summons, or indictment and suspension must be reported 
promptly to the Department. The suspension must continue through the conclusion of the 
criminal action against the employee. 

The bill requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction, on behalf of the State Board, to 
inactivate the license of a school employee who is suspended as described above. The 
inactivation must remain in force during the pendency of the criminal action against the person. 
The bill specifies that (1) the inactivation does not constitute a suspension or revocation of the 
license by the State Board and (2) the state Superintendent need not provide the person with an 
opportunity for a hearing with respect to the inactivation. If the State Board does not revoke the 
license, the state Superintendent must reactivate the license upon conclusion of the criminal 
action against the person. 

Investigations for purposes of disciplinary actions 

The State Board is authorized under current law to investigate any information received 
about an individual that reasonably appears to be a basis for disciplinary action. It is not required 
to conduct an investigation regarding the automatic revocation or denial of a license. 

The bill removes a requirement that the State Board contract with the Attorney General 
to conduct these investigations. It also removes a requirement that information received under 
an investigation about a person against whom no action was taken must be expunged within two 
years of the completion of the investigation. 

Release of information obtained during an investigation 

The bill permits the appointing or hiring officer of a school district or school located in 
Ohio or another state to request that the Department provide any report of misconduct that the 
Department has received regarding an individual whom the district or school is considering for 
employment. Upon receiving a request, the Department must provide the contents of any report 
of misconduct it has received to the requesting officer and must notify the officer that the 
information provided is confidential and may not be disseminated to another person or entity. 

If the Department provides the contents of a report under this provision, the Department 
must document the information provided in the record of any investigation undertaken based 
on the report. The documentation must include a list of the information provided, the date the 
information was provided, and the name and contact information of the appointing or hiring 
officer to whom it was provided. 
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Registration in lieu of State Board licenses  

Currently, unlicensed teachers are permitted to teach in certain high-performing school 
districts so long as they register with the Department.30 In addition, recently enacted law, which 
takes effect April 12, 2021, eliminated a requirement that certain health care professionals who 
are licensed by other state licensing boards also hold a separate license from the State Board of 
Education in order to work in schools, and instead requires them simply to register with the 
Department. This registration in lieu of a separate license applies to school speech language 
pathologists, audiologists, school nurses, physical therapists, occupational therapists, and social 
workers who are licensed by their respective professional boards.31 

The bill subjects those registrants to the same disciplinary actions as licensed teachers. 
Thus, the State Board may refuse to register an unlicensed teacher, limit the registration upon 
issuing it, or suspend, revoke, or limit it for the same reasons that the State Board may take those 
actions against a licensed teacher. Similarly, the State Board may conduct any investigations 
regarding an unlicensed teacher’s registration 

Assisting individuals in obtaining school employment 

(R.C. 3319.318, 3314.03, 3326.11, and 3328.24) 

The bill prohibits a “school representative” from knowingly engaging in any activity 
intended to assist another individual in obtaining school employment to teach school age 
children, if the representative knows or has reasonable cause to believe that the individual has 
committed a sex offense involving a student.  

This prohibition does not apply if either: 

1. The school representative is transmitting administrative and personnel files to the 
prospective employer; or 

2. The information has been reported to law enforcement or the public children services 
agency and one of the following applies: (a) law enforcement has determined there is insufficient 
information to indict the individual for the alleged offense, (b) the individual has not been 
indicted within four years after the date of the report, or (c) the individual has been acquitted or 
otherwise exonerated of the offense. 

                                                      

30 R.C. 3302.151, not in the bill.  
31 R.C. 3319.221, as enacted by H.B. 442 of the 133rd General Assembly, effective April 12, 2021, not in the 
bill. Current law requires that, as a condition of registration, an individual have a criminal records check 
and be enrolled into the “rapback” program. The Retained Applicant Fingerprint Database (or rapback) is 
a database of fingerprints of individuals on whom Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation has 
conducted criminal records checks when determining eligibility for employment or licensure. Through it, 
an office like the Department will receive reports of subsequent arrests or convictions of registrants. (See 
also R.C. 109.5721, 3319.316, and 3319.391.) 
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Cheating on assessments 

(R.C. 3319.151 and 3319.99) 

Prohibited actions 

Current law prohibits a person from revealing to any student any specific question that 
the person knows is part of a state achievement assessment or in any other way assisting a 
student to cheat on that assessment. If a person violates this provision, the person is guilty of a 
minor misdemeanor. 

The bill prohibits a person from taking several other actions regarding state achievement 
assessments, but it does not establish any type of criminal penalty for violations of these 
additional provisions. The additional prohibited actions are: 

1. Obtaining prior knowledge of the contents of a state achievement assessment; 

2. Using prior knowledge of the content of a state achievement assessment to assist 
students in preparing for the assessment; and 

3. Failing to comply with any rule adopted by the Department regarding security protocols 
for a state achievement assessment. 

Consequences for teacher licensure and employment 

The bill requires the State Board, after conducting an investigation, to take any action 
(license suspension, revocation, or limitation) that it considers appropriate against the license of 
a school employee who takes any of the prohibited actions described above, based on the nature 
and extent of the violation. Current law, however, requires the State Board to suspend a school 
employee’s license for one year for revealing test content. 

The bill also specifies that the State Board must give the employee notice of an allegation 
regarding cheating on assessments upon beginning an investigation and an opportunity to 
respond prior to taking any disciplinary action (current law does not specify the timing by which 
these actions must occur). 

Finally, the bill specifies that those actions regarding state achievement assessments that 
are prohibited by the bill, in addition to what is prohibited under current law, are grounds for 
termination of a teacher contract and for termination of a nonteaching employee. 

Teach for America licenses 

(R.C. 3319.227) 

The bill requires the state Superintendent, on behalf of the State Board, to inactivate a 
resident educator license issued to a participant in the Teach for American (TFA) Program if the 
participant resigns or is dismissed from TFA prior to completion of TFA’s two-year support 
program. Currently, the State Board is required to revoke a TFA participant’s resident educator 
license when the participant resigns or is dismissed. Additionally, the bill states that (1) the 
inactivation of a resident educator license issued to a TFA participant does not constitute a 
suspension or revocation of the license by the State Board and (2) the State Board and the state 
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Superintendent need not provide the person with an opportunity for a hearing with respect to 
the inactivation. 

Employment of contractors 

(R.C. 3319.0812, 3314.03, 3326.11, and 3328.24) 

The bill requires that any contractor that is providing services to a public or chartered 
nonpublic school or a county board of developmental disabilities must hold any license that the 
individual would be required to hold if employed directly by the district, school, or county board. 
The district, school, or county board must obtain verification of licensure from the contractor’s 
employer prior to the contractor commencing the provision of services. 

Pre-employment applications and screening 

(R.C. 3319.393, 3314.03, 3326.11, and 3328.24) 

Written notice on employment applications 

The bill requires each school district, other public school (community school, STEM 
school, and college-preparatory boarding school), and chartered nonpublic school to include on 
all employment applications the following notice:  

ANY PERSON WHO KNOWINGLY MAKES A FALSE STATEMENT IS 
GUILTY OF FALSIFICATION UNDER SECTION 2921.13 OF THE 
REVISED CODE, WHICH IS A MISDEMEANOR OF THE FIRST DEGREE. 

Pre-employment screening process 

Before making hiring decisions, the bill requires each school district, other public school, 
and chartered nonpublic school to consult the Department’s “Educator Profile” database, 
currently on the website as “CORE” – Connected Ohio Records for Educators. After consulting 
the database, a district or school may consult with the Department’s Office of Professional 
Conduct to determine if an applicant has been the subject of a disciplinary report by a school 
official to the state Superintendent or had any disciplinary actions taken by the Department. A 
district or school also may consult any of the applicant’s prior education-related employers. 

The bill also permits a district or school to offer conditional employment to an individual 
pending the completion of the screening process, and permits the district or school to release 
the individual from employment if the screening process uncovers misconduct for which an 
individual may not be employed in a school. 

Finally, the bill permits a district or school to require an applicant or volunteer to undergo 
background checks in addition to the criminal records checks already required under continuing 
law. 

Review of personnel files 

(R.C. 3313.94, 3314.03, 3326.11, and 3328.24) 

The bill requires each school district, other public school, and chartered nonpublic school, 
when a complaint is filed against an employee alleging misconduct by that employee, to conduct 
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a review of the employee’s personnel file to determine if any recorded or reported instance of 
related misconduct or disciplinary actions are contained in the file. Further, each district or school 
that receives a request for the personnel file of a current or former employee from a different 
public or chartered nonpublic school (regarding that employee’s application) must either: 
(1) send that file to the requestor within 20 business days of receiving the request or (2) if the 
school determines it is not possible to send the file within 20 business days, promptly notify the 
requestor and indicate the reason the information cannot be sent within that time. 

Career-technical educator licensure  

(R.C. 3319.229) 

The bill qualifies an individual holding a certificate of high school equivalence for a two-
year initial career-technical workforce development educator license or a five-year advanced 
career-technical workforce development educator license. Current law requires a high school 
diploma for these licenses. 

School counselor standards 

(R.C. 3319.61) 

The bill requires the Educator Standards Board to include knowledge of the career-
technical credit transfer program (“Career-Technical Assurance Guide” (CTAG)) into the Board’s 
standards for school counselors.  

CTAG is a result of criteria, policies, and procedures established by the Chancellor of 
Higher Education to ensure transfer of credit for career-technical courses “without unnecessary 
duplication or institutional barriers.”32 

IV. Community schools 

Community school sponsor evaluations 

(R.C. 3314.016) 

The bill directs the Department to evaluate once every three years any sponsor rated 
“exemplary” or “effective” for the three most recent years the entity was evaluated, instead of 
for at least three consecutive years as under current law.  

The bill also specifies that certain sponsor incentives are available to any sponsor rated 
“exemplary” for the two most recent years the sponsor was evaluated, instead of for at least two 
consecutive years as under current law. Those incentives, unchanged by the bill, include: 
(1) automatic renewal of the written agreement with the Department, (2) the ability to extend 
the term of the sponsorship contract, (3) an exemption from certain deadline and expiration 
requirements, (4) no limit on the number of community schools the entity may sponsor, and 
(5) no territorial restrictions on sponsorship. 

                                                      

32 See R.C. 3333.162, not in the bill. 
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Background 

Generally, the Department must rate all community school sponsors as either 
“exemplary,” “effective,” “ineffective,” or “poor,” on an annual basis, based on the following 
components: (1) student academic performance, (2) adherence to the quality practices 
prescribed by the Department; and compliance with all applicable laws and administrative rules. 
However, as discussed above, an exception to annual evaluations exists for certain higher 
performing sponsors. 

Montessori preschool payments for students under age five 

(R.C. 3314.06) 

The bill removes a provision that requires the Department to pay an amount equal to the 
formula amount for each student under age four admitted to a Montessori preschool operated 
by a community school. Instead, the bill specifies such a school will receive no community school 
funds for students under age five. 

Community School Revolving Loan Fund 

(R.C. 3314.30 and 3314.31, repealed) 

The bill eliminates the Community School Revolving Loan Fund and the Community School 
Security Fund, the latter of which was created to accept payment of funds borrowed from the 
Revolving Loan Fund. 

Under current law, a community school may borrow from the Community School 
Revolving Loan Fund, which consists of federal moneys for the development and operation of 
community schools, to pay the costs associated with any provision of the community school’s 
contract. The maximum borrowable amount is $250,000. According to the Office of Budget and 
Management, the fund, established in 2003, has never been accessed by a community school. 

V. STEM schools 

STEM and STEAM schools and equivalents 

(R.C. 3326.02, 3326.03, 3326.032, 3326.04, 3326.07, 3326.08, 3326.14, 3326.23, and 3326.51; 
R.C. 3326.05 and 3326.111, repealed) 

The bill makes numerous changes to the law governing STEM and STEAM schools and 
equivalents.  

A STEM school is an independent, public school for any of grades K-12 established through 
a collaborative endeavor of both public and private entities, including at least one school district. 
As the name suggests, STEM schools emphasize study in the disciplines of science, technology, 
engineering, and math, but they also offer all courses required for graduation and are authorized 
to award their graduates high school diplomas. A STEAM school is a type of STEM school where 
the “A” denotes “arts.” Each school, whether a STEM school or a STEAM school, is approved for 
operation by the Department of Education’s STEM Committee.  

A STEM or STEAM school equivalent meets the curriculum requirements of a STEM or 
STEAM school but is governed under its own laws or articles of incorporation and does not 
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receive funding as a STEM or STEAM school. It is a designation that may be granted to a 
community school, a career center, or chartered nonpublic school. 

STEM Committee membership 

(R.C. 3326.02) 

The bill permits the Superintendent of Public Instruction, the Chancellor of Higher 
Education, and the Director of Development to appoint designees to participate in STEM 
Committee business on their behalf. It also specifies that a designee must be the same person 
for the time period the designation is effective. 

Grades offered by STEM and STEAM schools 

(R.C. 3326.03) 

The bill permits a STEM or STEAM school to submit an amendment proposal to the STEM 
Committee in order to offer additional grade levels. Under continuing law, STEM and STEAM 
schools may offer any of grades kindergarten through twelve. 

STEM and STEAM school designations for JVSDs and ESCs 

(R.C. 3326.03 and 3326.51) 

The bill eliminates the authority for a joint vocational school district (JVSD) or an 
educational service center (ESC) to apply for designation as a STEM or STEAM school. However, 
it permits a school operated by a JVSD that was designated as a STEM or STEAM school prior to 
the bill’s effective date to maintain that designation if the school continues to comply with all 
applicable STEM school law and its proposal for designation as a STEM or STEAM school. 

STEM and STEAM school equivalent designations for career centers 

(R.C. 3326.032) 

The bill eliminates the authority for a career center to receive a designation as a STEM or 
STEAM school equivalent in the same manner as a community school or a chartered nonpublic 
school. For this purpose, a career center is a school that enrolls students in any of grades 9-12 
and in which a career-technical planning district (CTPD) provides career-technical education 
services that meets the State Board’s standards. A CTPD may be a JVSD, a comprehensive career-
technical program offered by a city, exempted village, or local school district, or career-technical 
program offered to other districts under contract. 

Proposals for STEM and STEAM schools and equivalents 

(R.C. 3326.03, 3326.032, and 3326.07) 

The bill requires the proposal for a STEM or STEAM school or equivalent to include 
evidence that the school will: 

1. Exhibit school-wide cultural strategies reflecting innovation, an entrepreneurial spirit, 
inquiry, and collaboration with individual accountability; 

2. Offer a rigorous, diverse, integrated, and problem-based or project-based curriculum 
(rather than only project-based as under current law) with the goal to prepare students for post-
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secondary learning experiences (rather than with the goal to prepare students for college as 
under current law); 

3. Have a curriculum that emphasizes the use of design-thinking as a school-wide 
approach and provides opportunities for students to engage in personalized learning (rather than 
emphasizes personalized learning and teamwork skills as under current law); 

4. Participate in regular STEM-focused professional development and share knowledge of 
best practices (rather than utilize an established capacity to capture and share knowledge for 
best practices and innovative professional development with the Ohio STEM Learning Network 
or its successor as under current law); and 

5. In the case of a STEM or STEAM school equivalent, has established partnerships with 
institutions of higher education and businesses, as well as arts organizations if the proposal is for 
a STEAM school equivalent (existing law already requires this for STEM and STEAM schools). 

It also eliminates the existing requirement for the proposal to include evidence that the 
school’s curriculum incorporates scientific inquiry and technological design. 

Distinctions as STEM programs of excellence 

(R.C. 3326.03 and 3326.04) 

The bill repeals the authority for city, local, and exempted village school districts, 
community schools, and chartered nonpublic schools to apply for grants to support the operation 
of STEM programs of excellence. Instead, it specifies that a JVSD or ESC may apply for a distinction 
as a STEM program of excellence. Additionally, it specifies that nothing prohibits a school 
operated by a JVSD that was designated as a STEM or STEAM school prior to the bill’s effective 
date from electing to apply for distinction as a STEM program of excellence. 

The bill requires a proposal for distinction as a STEM program of excellence to satisfy 
requirements that are substantially similar to the requirements for proposals for STEM and 
STEAM schools and equivalents. 

Effective period for designations and distinctions 

(R.C. 3326.03, 3326.032, and 3326.04) 

The bill specifies that STEM and STEAM school designations, STEM and STEAM school 
equivalent designations, and distinctions as STEM programs of excellence are effective for five 
years unless revoked (see below). However, prior to the end of the five-year period, the STEM 
committee may review a school’s designation or distinction if it has reason to believe that a 
school is not in compliance with the law and its proposal. 

Correspondingly, the bill requires the Department to maintain records of the application 
status and renewal deadlines for each designation and distinction. 

Renewal of designations and distinctions 

(R.C. 3326.03, 3326.032, and 3326.04) 

The bill requires STEM and STEAM schools and equivalents and JVSDs and ESCs granted 
distinctions as STEM programs of excellence to reapply for designation or distinction every five 
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years. The STEM Committee must authorize the continuation of a school’s designation or 
distinction if it finds that the school is in compliance with all applicable laws and its proposal. 

Revocation of designations and distinctions 

(R.C. 3326.03, 3326.032, 3326.04, and 3326.08) 

The bill specifies that, if the STEM Committee finds that a school is not in compliance as 
part of the reapplication process or as part of a review during the five-year effective period, it 
must require the school to: 

1. Develop a corrective action plan in collaboration with the Department and the Ohio 
STEM Learning Network; and 

2. Implement the plan and demonstrate exemplary STEM pedagogy and practices within 
one year of the plan’s development. 

The bill requires the Committee to revoke a school’s designation or distinction if the 
school fails to implement the corrective action plan within one year.  

Additionally, the Committee must order a STEM or STEAM school that is not operated by 
a city, local, or exempted village school district to close after its designation is revoked. Currently, 
the Committee may, but is not required to, order any STEM or STEAM school, including those 
operated by school districts, to close if the Department finds it is not in compliance with 
applicable laws and its proposal for designation. 

Annual list of written assurances 

(R.C. 3326.23) 

The bill exempts a STEM or STEAM school that is governed and controlled by a city, local, 
or exempted village school district from the annual requirement to provide to the Department 
written assurances of compliance with various requirements. 

Repeal of miscellaneous provisions 

(R.C. 3326.03, repealed R.C. 3326.05, repealed R.C. 3326.11, and R.C. 3326.14) 

The bill repeals all of the following: 

 The requirement that the STEM Committee award grants to STEM and STEAM schools; 

 The authority for the STEM Committee to make recommendations to the General 
Assembly and the Governor for the training of STEM educators; 

 The requirement that, if a STEM or STEAM school receives a grant under the federal Race 
to the Top Program, the governing body of that school must pay teachers based on 
performance as if it was a school district board of education; and 

 The authority for any student enrolled in the 9th grade or lower in a STEM or STEAM school 
to take one or more of the five Ohio Graduation Tests (OGT) at any of the times those 
tests are administered. (The last class for which the OGT was required for graduation was 
the class of 2018.) However, the bill retains the existing requirement that a STEM or 
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STEAM school must administer the state achievement assessments as if it were a school 
district. 

VI. College Credit Plus 

College Credit Plus program  

(R.C. 3365.01, 3365.03, 3365.032, and 3365.07) 

The bill makes two changes to the College Credit Plus (CCP) program, both regarding 
student eligibility. The CCP program allows high school students who are enrolled in public or 
nonpublic high schools or who are home-instructed to enroll in nonsectarian college courses to 
receive high school and college credit. Generally, the program governs arrangements in which 
the student, upon successful completion of such a course, receives transcripted credit from the 
college. CCP courses may be taken at any public or participating private or out-of-state college. 

Students in state-operated schools 

The bill permits students enrolled in the State School for the Deaf, the State School for 
the Blind, or in a school operated by the Department of Youth Services (DYS) to participate in the 
CCP program in the same manner as students in other public schools. Consequently, under the 
bill, those students and the state-operated schools are subject to all existing program laws and 
requirements that apply to CCP participants and other public schools. The bill, however, does not 
address where students in the custody of DYS will attend college courses under the CCP program 
and the transportation or security for such students. 

The bill requires payments made to institutions of higher education for CCP courses taken 
by students enrolled at the State School for the Deaf or the State School for the Blind or a school 
operated by DYS to be deducted from the amount appropriated by the General Assembly for 
support of those schools. 

Academic eligibility for all students  

The bill removes the prescribed condition for students who are not “remediation-free” 
and instead creates an alternative remediation-free eligibility option, which the Chancellor of 
Higher Education, in consultation with the Superintendent of Public Instruction, must define. 
Current law requires a student, as a condition of eligibility for the CCP program, to be 
“remediation free.” However, a student who scores within one standard error of measurement 
below the threshold on a standard assessment determining remediation-free status may fulfill 
eligibility requirements if the student also (1) has at least a 3.0 cumulative high school grade point 
average (GPA) or (2) receives a recommendation from a school counselor, principal, or career-
technical program advisor. The bill removes the eligibility for a student within one standard error 
of measurement. However, it grandfathers in students who qualified under that condition prior 
to the bill’s effective date. 
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VII. Other 

Transportation for community school and chartered nonpublic 
school students 

The bill prescribes a series of new requirements for city, local, and exempted village 
school districts to meet while providing transportation services, as required under continuing 
law, to community school and chartered nonpublic students. The bill establishes (1) new 
requirements regarding transportation plans for community school and chartered nonpublic 
school students, (2) limits on the use of mass transit system vehicles to transport them, and (3) a 
requirement to transport them when their schools are open. In addition, the bill changes the 
deadline by which a community school may accept responsibility to transport its students. 

Generally, a school district must provide transportation for students in grades K-8 who 
live more than two miles from school, whether they attend district schools; public community 
schools; STEM schools; or private schools that hold a state charter. There are exceptions, 
however, such as when transportation to a community or STEM school or private school exceeds 
30 minutes, or when the district board determines transportation to be impractical and offers to 
pay a parent instead. Also, there are mechanisms for community schools to take over the 
responsibility to transport their students. For a detailed discussion of the law on student 
transportation see the LSC Members Brief, Transportation of Students. 

Transportation plans 

(R.C. 3327.016; conforming change in R.C. 3313.48) 

The bill generally requires city, local, and exempted school districts to develop 
transportation plans, including routes and schedules, for students enrolled in community schools 
and chartered nonpublic schools based on those schools’ start and end times. The transportation 
plans must result in those students arriving to school within an hour before its start time and 
must not result in a student being picked up from school more than an hour after its end time. 

Under the bill, community schools and chartered nonpublic schools must establish school 
start and end times for a school year by June 1 of the prior school year. Each school then must 
provide those times to the city, local, or exempted village school districts that the school expects 
will provide transportation services to its students. 

A school district generally must use those start and end times to develop a transportation 
plan by July 1 for community and chartered nonpublic school students whom the district is 
required to transport and who enroll by June 1 of the prior school year. For any student who 
enrolls in a community or chartered nonpublic school after June 1, the district must develop a 
transportation plan within 14 calendar days after receiving a request for transportation services 
from the student’s parent or guardian. 

Exception –ESC to develop transportation plans 

As an exception to the general requirements described above, the bill prescribes a 
different statutory procedure for school districts that have 20 or more community or chartered 
nonpublic schools located in a school district. In that case, the educational service center (ESC) 
with which the school district has a service agreement, or the ESC with the most territory in the 

http://www.lsc.ohio.gov/documents/reference/current/membersonlybriefs/133%20Transportation%20of%20Students.pdf
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district’s county if the district does not have a service agreement, must develop transportation 
plans.33 The transportation plans also must result in those students arriving to school within an 
hour before the start time and must not result in a student being picked up from school more 
than an hour after the end time. 

The ESC must convene a meeting with the school district and all community or chartered 
nonpublic schools located in the district. Each district or school must provide any information the 
ESC considers necessary. By July 15, the ESC must approve a transportation plan for each 
community or chartered nonpublic school. 

Limits on use of mass transit systems 

(R.C. 3327.017) 

The bill prescribes several limits on the use of vehicles operated by mass transit systems 
by school districts to provide or arrange for transportation of community school and chartered 
nonpublic school students.  

For students enrolled in grades K-8, the bill prohibits a district from transporting them 
using mass transit vehicles unless the district enters into an agreement with the students’ 
community or chartered nonpublic school authorizing that transportation. The bill expressly 
requires both the district and school to approve the agreement in order for it to be effective.  

For students enrolled in grades 9-12, the bill specifies that, if a school district elects to 
transport them using vehicles operated by a mass transit system, the district must enter into a 
contract with the mass transit system that requires each student to be transported by a vehicle 
operating on a route designed for transporting fare-paying passengers and students. It also 
requires the district to ensure that a student’s route does not require more than one transfer. 

Transportation when schools are open for instruction 

(R.C. 3327.01) 

The bill requires a school district to transport community or chartered nonpublic school 
students to and from school on each day that their school is open for instruction, regardless of 
whether the district’s school buildings are similarly open. However, the bill also maintains a 
provision of continuing law that exempts school districts from transporting community school 
and chartered nonpublic school students on Saturday or Sunday, unless the district and school 
have an agreement in place to provide such transportation.  

                                                      

33 Each school district with a student count of 16,000 or less must have a service agreement with an ESC. 
Districts with larger student counts are expressly permitted by not required to have such an agreement. 
See R.C. 3313.843, not in the bill.  
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Deadline for community school to accept responsibility to transport 
students 

(R.C. 3314.091) 

A school district and community school may enter into a bilateral agreement under which 
the community school will transport its students. Or, a community school may take over the 
transportation responsibility unilaterally without entering into an agreement with the students’ 
resident school district by notifying the school district by January 1 of the previous school year. 
The bill adjusts that deadline to August 1 of the school year for which the community school will 
be providing or arranging transportation.  

A newly opening community school must notify the district by April 15 prior to its first 
year of operation if it wishes to unilaterally accept transportation responsibility. The bill does not 
change this deadline nor does it affect the provision for bilateral agreements between districts 
and community schools.  

Deduction of state funding for school district noncompliance  

(R.C. 3327.021) 

The bill requires the Department to deduct a portion of city, local, or exempted village 
school district’s state transportation funding if the Department determines that the district has 
consistently, or for a prolonged period, been noncompliant with certain statutory obligations 
regarding student transportation. 

Specifically, the bill requires the Department to monitor each city, local, or exempted 
village school district’s compliance with: 

1. Its general obligations under the law to transport students; 

2. Its new obligation under the bill to generally transport community school and chartered 
nonpublic school students on days that the schools are open (see above); 

3. Its new obligation under the bill regarding transportation plans for community schools 
and chartered nonpublic schools (see above); and 

4. The bill’s new prohibition against transporting community school and chartered 
nonpublic school students in grades K-8 using mass transit, unless the district has an agreement 
to do so with the students’ school (see above). 

If the Department determines a consistent or prolonged period of noncompliance on the 
part of the school district to meet those obligations, the Department must deduct from the 
district’s state transportation funding an amount equal to the total daily amount of that funding 
for each day the district is noncompliant. 

However, the bill expressly states that the requirement to monitor district compliance 
and deduct state transportation funding does not affect a school district’s authority to provide 
payment in lieu of transportation. 
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Payment in lieu of transportation 

(R.C. 3327.02) 

The bill requires a city, local, or exempted village school district, or a community school 
that has accepted responsibility to provide transportation, to make a determination regarding 
whether to provide payment in lieu of transportation for a student not later than 30 calendar 
days prior to the district’s or school’s first day of instruction. For students who enroll within that 
30-day period or later, the district or school must make the determination within 14 calendar 
days of a student’s enrollment.  

It also authorizes a superintendent to make that determination, but requires that it be 
formalized at the next meeting of the school district board of education or community school 
governing authority. 

In addition, the district or school must issue to a student’s parent or guardian and the 
State Board a letter with a detailed description of the reasons why the payment in lieu 
determination was made. 

FAFSA data system 

(R.C. 3313.6026; conforming changes in R.C. 3314.03, 3326.11, and 3328.24) 

The bill requires each school district and each other public and chartered nonpublic high 
school to enter a data sharing agreement with the Chancellor of Higher Education to operate a 
data system, created by the bill, to track the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) 
completion rate of Ohio’s public and chartered nonpublic school students. (See “FAFSA data 

system” under “DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION,” below.) Each district or 
school must provide principals and school counselors with access to the data system to assist 
with efforts to support and encourage students to complete the FAFSA form. 

Computer science education 

State plan for computer science education 

(R.C. 3301.23) 

The bill requires the Department, in consultation with the Chancellor, to establish a 
committee to develop a state plan for primary and secondary computer science education in 
Ohio. The committee must be established within 30 days of the bill’s effective date. It must 
consist of: 

1. The Superintendent of Public Instruction, or designee; 

2. The Chancellor, or designee; 

3. Computer science stakeholders appointed by the state Superintendent, in consultation 
with the Chancellor that include representatives of: 

a. Teachers; 

b. Career-technical education; 

c. Institutions of higher education; 
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d. Businesses; and 

e. State and national computer science organizations. 

In developing the state plan, the committee must consider: 

1. Best practices and challenges associated with implementing primary and secondary 
computer science curriculum in Ohio; 

2. Demographic data for students who receive computer science education; 

3. Benchmarks to create a sustainable supply of teachers certified to provide computer 
science education; 

4. Best practices to form public and private partnerships for funding, mentoring, and 
internships for teachers providing computer science instruction; 

5. A requirement for all students to complete a computer science course prior to high 
school graduation; 

6. The establishment of a work-based learning pilot program that: 

a. Includes high schools, universities, and local industry; and  

b. Permits the Department and the Chancellor to develop pathways to align computer 
science education in Ohio with the state’s workforce needs. 

7. Any other topics determined appropriate by the committee. 

The state plan must include: 

1. Any examination of the challenges that prevent school districts from offering computer 
science courses; 

2. A requirement that the Department collect data regarding computer science courses 
offered by school districts and school buildings operated by districts, including the names of 
courses and whether the courses were developed using the standards and model curriculum 
adopted by the State Board, and post that data on its website; and 

3. Any findings the committee determines appropriate based on its consideration of the 
topics described above. 

The bill requires the committee to complete the state plan within one year of the bill’s 
effective date. The Department must post the completed state plan in a prominent location on 
its website. 

Public school students and computer science courses  

(R.C. 3301.231 and 3301.232; conforming changes in R.C. 3314.03 and 3326.11) 

Option to enroll 

The bill requires that, generally, students enrolled in city, local, exempted village, and 
joint vocational school districts, community schools, and STEM schools must have the option to 
enroll in computer science courses or general education courses that include computer science 
principles. Specifically, it requires that: 
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1. For the 2022-2023 school year and after, students in 11th and 12th grades must have 
the option to enroll in a computer science course offered by the student’s district or school, or 
an online computer science course offered by an educational provider and approved by the 
Department; 

2. For the 2023-2024 school year and after, students in 9th and 10th grades must have the 
option to enroll in an age-appropriate, standalone computer science course offered by the 
student’s district or school, or in an online computer science course offered by an educational 
provider and approved by the Department; and 

3. For the 2024-2025 school year and after, students in grades K-8 must have the option 
to enroll in an age-appropriate general education course that incorporates computer science 
principles and is offered by the student’s district or school. 

However, the bill specifies these requirements must not be construed as prohibiting a 
district or school from offering computer science courses, or general education courses that 
incorporate computer science principles, to students enrolled in any of grades K-12. 

Courses offered by public schools  

The bill generally requires school districts, community schools, and STEM schools to offer 
computer science or general education courses as described above. However, it also creates a 
procedure for a school district board of education, community school governing authority, or 
STEM school governing body to request a waiver from offering courses in a specific school 
building. 

The state Superintendent must consider each waiver request and either approve or 
disapprove the waiver based on standards adopted by the State Board. For an approved waiver, 
the state Superintendent must specify how long the waiver will be in effect, which may be for up 
to five years. A district board, governing authority, or governing body may apply to renew the 
waiver. 

Additionally, the bill requires districts and schools annually to submit to the Department, 
in a form and manner prescribed by the Department, data reporting the number of students 
enrolled in computer science courses and the type of such courses. The type of courses must be 
disaggregated by the course code and whether the course is offered by the district or an 
educational provider. 

Courses offered by educational providers 

The bill requires the Department, in consultation with computer science stakeholders, to 
establish a program to provide high school students with access to online computer science 
courses as described above. Under the program, the Department must develop a process to 
solicit and review proposals from educational providers to offer online computer science courses. 
The Department must only approve a proposal if: 

1. Each course included in the proposal is high-quality, rigorous, and aligned with the 
State Board’s standards and model curriculum; and 

2. A student may earn high school credits that apply to the state’s minimum curriculum 
requirements prescribed under continuing law in each course included in the proposal. 
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The Department must determine a method to calculate and make payments to 
educational providers who enroll students in online computer science courses approved by the 
Department. The bill requires that the “method shall be deducted” from the foundation 
payments made to a participating student’s district or school, in a manner similar to how the 
Department calculates and makes payments under the College Credit Plus (CCP) program. 

Department’s rulemaking authority 

The bill requires the Department to adopt rules to implement its provisions regarding 
computer science and general education courses and the offering of those courses. Additionally, 
it expressly states that those provisions do not affect CCP. 

Other computer science education provisions 

Annual report 

(R.C. 3301.233) 

The bill requires the Department, in consultation with the Chancellor, to issue an annual 
report on computer science education that includes information regarding: 

1. School districts, community schools, and STEM schools that offer computer science 
courses; 

2. The types of computer science courses offered by districts and schools; 

3. The number of teachers who hold a valid educator license or license endorsement in 
computer science or any other areas determined appropriate by the Department, in consultation 
with the Chancellor; and 

4. The type of computer science courses, and the grade levels for those courses, taught 
by teachers who hold a license or endorsement described above. 

The bill further requires that information to be disaggregated by: 

1. Region of the state; 

2. For school districts, whether the district is urban, rural, or suburban, and any other 
classification determined appropriate by the Department, in consultation with the Chancellor; 
and 

3. Demographic data of students enrolled in computer science courses, including race and 
ethnic group, gender, and whether the students are economically disadvantaged, and that such 
data be reported by district or school and computer science course code. 

Finally, the report must include the number of undergraduate students who study 
computer science in Ohio institutions of higher education, disaggregated by region of the state, 
student demographics, and, if data is available, student participation in a pathway partnership in 
the previous five-year period.  
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Computer science education licensure exemption 

(Section 733.61 of H.B. 166 of the 133rd General Assembly as amended in Section 610.10 of 
the bill) 

The bill extends through the 2022-2023 school year an exemption that permits a school 
district, community school, or STEM school to allow an individual with a valid educator license in 
any of grades 7-12 to teach a computer science course if, prior to teaching the course, the 
individual completes a professional development program approved by the district 
superintendent or school principal. That program must provide content knowledge specific to 
the course the individual will teach. The superintendent or principal must approve any 
professional development program endorsed by the College Board, the organization that creates 
and administers the national Advanced Placement examinations, as appropriate for the course 
the individual will teach. 

The individual may not teach a computer science course elsewhere than the school 
district or school that employed the individual when the individual completed the professional 
development program. 

Beginning July 1, 2023, a district or school may allow an individual to teach a computer 
science course only if the individual satisfies the requirements of permanent law, unchanged by 
the act. That law requires an individual who teaches computer science either to (1) hold an 
educator license in computer science, (2) hold a license endorsement in computer technology 
and pass a computer science context examination, or (3) hold a supplemental teaching license 
for computer science. 

Licenses and endorsements to teach computer science 

(R.C. 3319.236 and Section 733.61 of H.B. 166 of the 133rd General Assembly as amended in 
Section 610.10 of the bill) 

The bill specifies that, for the purposes of computer science licensure or endorsements, 
“computer science courses” means any courses reported in the Education Management 
Information System (EMIS) as computer science courses. 

State Board’s standards and curriculum 

(R.C. 3301.079) 

The bill requires the State Board to update its standards and curriculum for computer 
science education within one year of the bill’s effective date. 

Effects of vaping – school district health curriculum  

(R.C. 3313.60(A)(5)) 

The bill requires school districts to include instruction on the harmful effects and legal 
restrictions against the use of electronic smoking devices (vaping) in its health education 
curriculum. This is in addition to the requirement to provide instruction on the harmful effects of 
and legal restrictions against the use of drugs of abuse, alcoholic beverages, and tobacco, as 
required by continuing law. 
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Victim counseling 

(R.C. 3319.47) 

The bill permits school districts, other public schools, and chartered nonpublic schools to 
provide counseling to victims of sexual harassment or sexually related conduct. 

Obsolete reports, plans, or recommendations 

(R.C. 3311.741, 3313.488, 3313.603, 3314.013, and 3314.017; Repealed R.C. 3301.0724, 
3301.122, 3301.46, 3301.922, 3313.901, 3314.033, and 3314.37) 

The bill eliminates the following education-related reports, plans, and recommendations 
that are out-of-date, expired, or no longer have data available: 

Section number Description 

R.C. 3301.0724 

(Repealed) 

An annual report by the Department of Education to the General Assembly 
regarding aggregate spending on specified compensation components for the 
previous school year for teachers and other school employees employed by each 
school district. 

R.C. 3301.122 

(Repealed) 

A ten-year strategic plan developed by the Superintendent of Public Instruction 
that is aligned with the strategic plan developed for higher education to be 
submitted to the General Assembly (due December 1, 2009). 

R.C. 3301.46 

(Repealed) 

A joint plan proposing a standard method and form for documenting high school 
transcripts, credit transfer and articulation, and any electronic clearing house for 
student transcript transfer developed jointly by the Department and the 
Chancellor of Higher Education (due April 30, 2009). 

R.C. 3301.922 

(Repealed) 

An annual report regarding participation by public and chartered nonpublic 
schools to screen students for body mass index and weight status to be 
submitted by the Department to the Governor and the General Assembly. 

R.C. 3311.741(E) A report evaluating a municipal school district’s performance to be submitted by 
the state Superintendent to the Governor and the General Assembly (due 
November 15, 2017). 

R.C. 3313.488(E) A monthly report by the state Superintendent to the Speaker of the House and 
the President of the Senate for each month that a school district is unable to 
meet its expenses. 

R.C. 3313.603(D) A report that analyzes student performance data to determine if there are 
mitigating factors that warrant extending graduation qualification exemptions 
for students who entered 9th grade between July 1, 2010 and July 1, 2016, by the 
Department, in collaboration with the Chancellor of Higher Education (due 
December 1, 2015). 
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Section number Description 

R.C. 3313.901 

(Repealed) 

A plan for accelerating the modernization of the career-technical education 
curriculum by the State Board of Education (to be presented July 1, 1990, with 
annual progress reports issued through FY 2000). 

R.C. 3314.013(D) Standards for operation of internet- or computer-based community schools (e-
schools) by the Director of the Governor’s Office 21st Century Education to the 
Speaker of the House and the President of the Senate (due July 1, 2012). 

R.C. 3314.017(J) Study committee recommendations regarding community schools that primarily 
serve students enrolled in dropout prevention and recovery programs that offer 
blended learning, portfolio learning, and credit flexibility to the General 
Assembly (due April 17, 2020). 

R.C. 3314.033 

(Repealed) 

Recommendations by the State Board to the General Assembly regarding the 
standards governing the operation of e-schools and other educational courses 
delivered by electronic media (due September 30, 2003). 

R.C. 3314.37 

(Repealed) 

A five-year research and development initiative to collect and analyze data with 
which to improve community school dropout prevention and recovery programs, 
known as the ISUS Institutes (initiative ended on June 30, 2013). 
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ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY 

Fees 

 Makes ten types of Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (OEPA) fees (currently set to 
expire on specified dates in 2022) permanent. 

 Eliminates a $15 application fee for the following:  

 A registration certificate necessary for certain scrap tire collection facilities; 

 A permit, or variance, or plan approval under the Solid and Hazardous Waste Law. 

 Eliminates a non-Title V air contaminant source fee schedule that only applied from 
January 1, 1994, to December 31, 2003. 

Scrap tires removed from “no fault” sites 

 Increases, from 5,000 to 10,000, the number of scrap tires that can be removed from a 
person’s property by OEPA at no cost to the property owner if certain conditions apply 
(i.e., placement of scrap tires was not the fault of the property owner). 

 Allows the OEPA Director to increase the 10,000 scrap tire threshold. 

“Lead free” definition 

 Replaces the current definition of “lead free” that specifies the maximum permissible 
percentage of lead that any solder, flux, pipes, pipe fittings, plumbing fittings, and 
plumbing fixtures may contain, with a requirement that the OEPA Director adopt rules 
establishing the definition of “lead free.” 

 Requires the Director, when establishing the definition, to use standards that are not less 
stringent than those established under the federal Safe Drinking Water Act. 

Lead and copper notification rules 

 Eliminates a requirement that the OEPA Director adopt rules setting specific 
administrative penalties that apply to community or nontransient noncommunity water 
systems for violations of notice requirements regarding lead and copper laboratory 
results. 

 Authorizes the Director to instead assess the administrative penalties under existing 
statutory guidelines that apply to other violations of the Safe Drinking Water Law. 

 Generally shifts reporting and other requirements regarding lead and copper 
contamination from statute to a rules-based system administered by the Director. 

 Increases the timeframe (from two business days to not more than 30 business days after 
the receipt of lab results) within which the owner or operator of a community or 
nontransient noncommunity water system must notify residents when a tap sample does 
not exceed the applicable lead threshold. 
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 Requires the owner or operator of those systems to update and resubmit maps according 
to a schedule determined by the Director but no less frequently than required under the 
Safe Drinking Water Act, rather than every five years as in current law. 

 Eliminates a requirement that the Director provide financial assistance from the Drinking 
Water Assistance Fund to community and nontransient noncommunity water systems for 
the purpose of fulfilling the notice and mapping requirements. 

Certified and accredited laboratories under the VAP 

 Eliminates the OEPA Director’s authority to certify laboratories for purposes of 
performing analyses under the Voluntary Action Program (VAP). 

 Instead, specifies that a laboratory must hold a valid accreditation from a specified 
outside accreditation body to perform analyses under the VAP. 

 Generally requires a person participating in the VAP to use the services of an accredited 
laboratory to perform analyses, but specifies that data analyzed by a certified laboratory 
before the bill’s effective date may still be utilized. 

 Retains the Director’s authority to enter the property of a certified laboratory and 
conduct audits for purposes of investigation and extends this authority to accredited 
laboratories. 

 Prohibits the Director from contracting with an accredited laboratory to perform an audit 
if the laboratory performed any analyses that formed the basis for the issuance of a no 
further action letter in connection with the audit. 

 Eliminates outdated provisions governing the VAP. 

Water pollution control: practical qualification level 

 Specifies that, for purposes of determining compliance with a pollutant discharge limit 
set below the practical quantification level (PQL), any reported value below PQL 
constitutes compliance (instead of any level “at or below”). 

Isolated wetland mitigation ratio table reference 

 Corrects an incorrect division reference to the Ohio Administrative Code. 

 

Fees 

(R.C. 3745.11, 3734.57, and 3734.901) 

During the biennial budget process every two years, the Environmental Protection Agency 
(OEPA) seeks the renewal of certain fees levied on regulated entities. These fees have been 
continued every budget since their enactment and are currently set to expire on specified dates 
in 2022. The bill eliminates this two-year renewal cycle and makes these fees permanent. The 
fees made permanent are as follows: 

1. The annual emissions fees for synthetic minor facilities; 
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2. The annual discharge fees for holders of NPDES permits issued under the Water 
Pollution Control Law; 

3. The application fees for plan approvals for wastewater treatment works under the 
Water Pollution Control Law; 

4. The initial and renewal license fees for public water system licenses issued under the 
Safe Drinking Water Law; 

5. The fee for plan approvals for public water supply systems under the Safe Drinking 
Water Law; 

6. The fees for state certification of laboratories and laboratory personnel for purposes of 
the Safe Drinking Water Law; 

7. The fees for applications and examinations for certification as operators of water 
supply systems or wastewater systems under the Safe Drinking Water Law and the Water 
Pollution Control Law; 

8. The application fees for permits, variances, and plan approvals under the Water 
Pollution Control Law and the Safe Drinking Water Law; 

9. The 50¢ per tire fee on the sale of tires, deposited in the Scrap Tire Management Fund, 
and the additional 50¢ per tire fee deposited in the Soil and Water Conservation District 
Assistance Fund; and 

10. The following four fees levied on the transfer or disposal of solid waste: 

a. The 90¢ per ton fee, deposited in the Hazardous Waste Facility Fund; 

b. The 75¢ per ton fee, deposited in the Waste Management Fund; 

c. The $2.85 per ton fee, deposited in the Environmental Protection Fund; 

d. The 25¢ per ton fee, deposited in the Soil and Water Conservation District 
Assistance Fund. 

The bill also eliminates a $15 application fee for both of the following:  

1. A registration certificate necessary for certain scrap tire collection; 

2. A permit, or variance, or plan approval under the Solid and Hazardous Waste Law. 

Finally, the bill eliminates an obsolete non-Title V air contaminant source fee schedule 
that applied from 1994 to 2003. 

Scrap tires removed from “no fault” sites 

(R.C. 3734.85) 

The bill increases, from 5,000 to 10,000 (or more if the OEPA Director approves a larger 
amount), the number of scrap tires that can be removed from a person’s property by OEPA at no 
cost to the property owner. The bill maintains the stipulation that all of the following conditions 
apply: 
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1. The tires were placed on the property after the property owner acquired title to the 
property, or the tires were placed on the property before the owner acquired title to the property 
by bequest or devise; 

2. The property owner did not have knowledge that the tires were being placed on the 
property, or the property owner posted the property signs prohibiting dumping or took other 
action to prevent the placing of tires on the property; 

3. The property owner did not participate in or consent to the placing of the tires on the 
property; 

4. The property owner received no financial benefit from the placing of the tires on the 
property or otherwise having the tires on the property;  

5. Title to the property was not transferred to the property owner for evading scrap tire 
abatement liability; and 

6. The person responsible for placing the tires on the property, in doing so, was not acting 
as an agent for the property owner.  

Lead free definition 

(R.C. 6109.10) 

The bill eliminates the current definition of “lead free” that specifies the maximum 
permissible percentage of lead that any solder, flux, pipes, pipe fittings, plumbing fittings, and 
plumbing fixtures may contain. Instead, it requires the OEPA Director adopt rules establishing the 
definition of “lead free.” The Director, in establishing the new definition, must use standards that 
are not less stringent than those established under the federal Safe Drinking Water Act.  

Under current law, by definition, the following items are lead free:  

1. Solder or flux that contains no more than 0.2% lead; and 

2. Wetted surfaces of pipes, pipe fittings, or plumbing fittings or fixtures that contain no 
more than a weighted average of 0.025% lead. 

Current law prohibits a person from doing any of the following: 

1. Using any pipe, pipe fitting, plumbing fitting, plumbing fixture, including a drinking 
water fountain, solder, or flux that is not lead free in the installation or repair of a public water 
system or in any plumbing in a residential or nonresidential facility providing water for human 
consumption; 

2. Introducing into commerce any pipe, pipe fitting, plumbing fitting, or plumbing fixture, 
including a drinking water fountain, that is not lead free; 

3. Selling solder or flux that is not lead free while engaged in the business of selling 
plumbing supplies; and 

4. Introducing into commerce any solder or flux that is not lead free unless the solder or 
flux has a prominent label stating that it is illegal to use the solder or flux in the installation or 
repair of any plumbing providing water for human consumption. 
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The penalty for violating these prohibitions varies depending on the mens rea (culpable 
state of mind) of the offender and other factors. 

Lead and copper notification rules 

(R.C. 6109.121; R.C. 6109.01 and 6109.23, not in the bill) 

The bill eliminates a requirement that the OEPA Director adopt rules setting specific 
administrative penalties that apply to community or nontransient noncommunity water systems 
for violations of notice requirements regarding lead and copper laboratory results. Instead, the 
bill authorizes the Director to establish the administrative penalties under existing statutory 
guidelines that apply to other violations of the Safe Drinking Water Law. 

In general, the bill shifts reporting and other requirements that the owner or operator of 
such water systems must follow regarding lead and copper contamination from statute to rule. 
This shift includes requirements concerning the following subjects: 

1. Administrative penalties, as discussed above; 

2. Laboratory sampling and reporting requirements; 

3. Notification requirements that the owner or operator of a community or nontransient 
noncommunity water system must follow regarding laboratory results; 

4. Certification requirements concerning the notification requirements; 

5. OEPA Director notifications where a system fails to make required notices; and 

6. System mapping requirements that show areas of a system that are known or likely to 
contain lead service lines and lead fixtures. 

Specifically, the bill requires the rules to include requirements that the owner or operator 
of a community or nontransient noncommunity water system do both of the following: 

1. When a tap sample for lead or copper is below the applicable lead threshold, provide 
notice of the results to residents within a time period specified in rules that is not more than 30 
days after the receipt of lab results, rather than within two business days as in current law; 

2. Under rules concerning mapping requirements, update and resubmit the maps 
according to a schedule determined by the Director, but no less frequently than required under 
the Safe Drinking Water Act, rather than every five years as in current law. 

The bill eliminates a requirement that the Director provide financial assistance from the 
Drinking Water Assistance Fund to community and nontransient noncommunity water systems 
for the purpose of fulfilling the notice and mapping requirements. 

Under current law, a community water system is a public water system that has at least 
15 service connections used by year-round residents or that regularly serves at least 25 year-
round residents. A nontransient noncommunity water system is a public water system that 
regularly serves at least 25 of the same persons over six months per year and is not a community 
water system. 
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Certified and accredited laboratories under the VAP 

(R.C. 3746.01, 3746.04, 122.65, 3746.07, repealed; R.C. 3746.071 (3746.07), 3746.09, 3746.10, 
3746.11, 3746.12, 3746.13, 3746.17, 3746.18, 3746.19, 3746.20, 3746.21, 3746.31, and 3746.35) 

Current law establishes the Voluntary Action Program (VAP) administered by OEPA. 
Under the VAP, a person may undertake cleanup of a contaminated property to specific 
standards. When those standards are met, a certified professional (a person certified by OEPA to 
assess the cleanup) may issue a “no further action letter.” This letter verifies that the property, 
in the view of the certified professional and based on an analysis performed by a certified 
laboratory, has been remediated and meets appropriate standards. After the issuance of a no 
further action letter, the OEPA Director may issue a covenant not to sue. This covenant releases 
the person who undertook a voluntary action from all civil liability to the state to: 

1. Perform investigational activities at the property that was the subject of the voluntary 
action; and 

2. Perform remedial activities to address a release of hazardous substances or petroleum 
at the property (with certain conditions). 

The bill eliminates a requirement that OEPA certify laboratories for purposes of assessing 
whether cleanup standards have been met under the VAP. Instead, it requires each laboratory to 
hold a valid accreditation from an outside accreditation body, as follows: 

1. For analysis of asbestos: 

a. The American Industrial Hygiene Association, Asbestos Analysts Registry; 

b. The National Institute of Standards Technology, National Voluntary Laboratory 
Accreditation Program (NELAP) for asbestos fiber analysis; or 

c. An accreditation body recognized by the National Environmental Laboratory 
Accreditation Conference (NELAC). 

2. For analysis of any constituents other than asbestos: 

a. An accreditation body recognized by NELAC; 

b. A NELAP accreditation from an accreditation body recognized by NELAC. 

The bill generally requires a person participating in a voluntary action to use the services 
of an accredited laboratory to perform analyses. But, it specifies that data analyzed by a 
laboratory certified by OEPA before the bill’s effective date may still be used for a voluntary 
action. Because this data may still be utilized, the bill retains the Director’s authority to audit any 
work performed by a certified laboratory before the bill’s effective date. For these purposes, the 
Director may do any of the following: 

1. Enter the property of a certified laboratory for purposes of investigation; 

2. Conduct a special audit when a no further action letter was issued under the VAP but 
the analyses were performed by a certified laboratory for which certification was suspended or 
revoked before the bill’s effective date; and 
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3. Audit work performed by a certified laboratory to determine if the laboratory’s 
performance of its duties has resulted in the issuance of a no further action letter that is not 
consistent with cleanup standards. 

The bill expands the Director’s investigation and auditing authority so that it also applies 
to accredited laboratories. It also prohibits the Director from contracting with an accredited 
laboratory to perform an audit if the laboratory performed any analyses that formed the basis 
for the issuance of a no further action letter in connection with the audit. This prohibition is a 
continuation of a prohibition that applies to certified laboratories. Finally, the bill eliminates 
outdated provisions governing the VAP that applied before the Director adopted the rules 
governing the VAP. 

Water pollution control: practical qualification level 

(R.C. 6111.13) 

The bill specifies that, for purposes of determining compliance with a water pollutant 
discharge limit set below the practical quantification level (PQL), any reported value below PQL 
(instead of any level “at or below” PQL) constitutes compliance. A PQL is the minimum 
concentration of an analyte (substance whose chemical constituents are being measured) that 
can be measured with a high degree of confidence that the analyte is present at the reported 
concentration. 

Isolated wetland mitigation ratio table reference 

(R.C. 6111.027) 

The bill corrects an incorrect division reference to the Ohio Administrative Code in the 
law governing isolated wetlands. Current law references mitigation ratios established under 
division (F) of rule 3745-1-54 of the Administrative Code. However, after the most recent revision 
to that rule, that reference is no longer accurate. The bill corrects this by instead only referring 
to rule 3745-1-54. 
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FACILITIES CONSTRUCTION COMMISSION 

 Requires a school district, instead of the Facilities Construction Commission as in current 
law, to notify the Superintendent of Public Instruction if the district will exceed the limit 
on net indebtedness specified in continuing law.  

 

Notification of district net indebtedness 

(R.C. 133.06) 

The bill requires a school district, instead of the Facilities Construction Commission, as in 
current law, to notify the Superintendent of Public Instruction if the district will exceed the limit 
on net indebtedness specified in continuing law. 

Background 

Continuing law generally prohibits a school district from incurring net indebtedness 
exceeding 9% of its tax valuation. A district also may not submit to its voters the question of 
incurring new debt that will make the district’s net indebtedness exceed 4% of its tax valuation, 
unless the state Superintendent consents to the submission. (Except for limited debt to purchase 
energy conservation improvements in its buildings, or alternative fuel vehicles, a district may not 
issue debt in excess of 0.1% of its tax valuation without voter approval.) 

School districts, however, may exceed those limits when necessary to raise the district 
share to participate in a school facilities project. The district must notify the state Superintendent 
whenever a district will exceed either limit. 
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Summary orders at nursing homes and assisted living facilities 

 Permits the Director of Health (ODH Director) to issue orders, take corrective action, and 
impose fines without providing a nursing home, residential care (assisted living) facility, 
or other home with notice and an opportunity for a hearing if the Director determines 
immediate action is necessary to protect resident health or safety. 

 Permits a home to request a hearing under the Administrative Procedure Act after a 
summary order is issued. 

Inspections of assisted living facilities 

 Authorizes the ODH Director to inspect a residential care (assisted living) facility every 30 
months, instead of every 15 months as in current law, once the facility has had two 
consecutive 15-month inspections without any substantiated violations and other related 
conditions are met. 

Long-term care bed buyback program 

 Requires the Department of Health (ODH), in consultation with the Departments of Aging 
and Medicaid, to establish a long-term care bed buyback program during FY 2022 and FY 
2023. 

 Provides that under the program, nursing facility operators may voluntarily, permanently 
surrender for compensation one or more licensed long-term care beds due to a decrease 
in bed utilization. 

 Requires ODH to solicit program applications from nursing home operators, setting forth 
program requirements and the criteria that will be used to evaluate competing bed 
surrender proposals. 

 Requires a nursing facility that has received payment for the surrender of long-term care 
beds to provide notice to ODH that includes specified information. 

Hospital licensure 

 Within three years of the bill’s effective date, requires a hospital operating in Ohio to be 
licensed by the ODH Director rather than registered as under current law. 

 Specifies that any existing law reference to a hospital that is not included in the bill is to 
be construed as a reference to a hospital licensed under the bill’s licensure requirements. 

Home visiting services 

 Allows families with children up to age five (instead of age three) to receive home visits 
through the Help Me Grow Program. 

 Changes the frequency of the ODH summit on home visiting services to once every two 
years, instead of twice a year. 
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Technological resources 

 Removes a requirement that providers conducting home visits under the Help Me Grow 
Program, WIC clinics, and Medicaid managed care organizations promote the use of 
technological resources that provide information on having a healthy pregnancy and 
healthy baby. 

Smoking and tobacco 

Minimum age to sell tobacco products 

 Prohibits employees under 18 from selling tobacco products. 

Dispensing tobacco cessation drugs without a prescription  

 Authorizes pharmacists and pharmacy interns to dispense tobacco cessation drugs 
without a prescription in accordance with physician-established protocols. 

Moms Quit for Two grant program 

 Continues the Moms Quit for Two grant program for the delivery of tobacco cessation 
interventions to women who are pregnant or living with children and reside in 
communities with the highest incidence of infant mortality. 

Smoke-Free Workplace Law 

 Expands the Smoke-Free Workplace Law to include electronic smoking devices and vapor 
products. 

Vapor products certificate of operation 

 Requires any person seeking to sell vapor products to obtain a certificate of registration 
prior to doing so.  

 Imposes a $500 annual fee for a certificate of registration.  

 Imposes a maximum fine of $1,000, or $100 if the violation is within 90 days of a 
certificate’s expiration, for the sale, offer to sell, or possession with intent to sell without 
a certificate of registration.  

 Specifies all fees and fines collected in relation to the vapor product certificate of 
registration program are to be deposited in the Tobacco Use Prevention Fund and used 
for administration of the certificate program or for tobacco and nicotine prevention or 
cessation interventions. 

Renovation, Repair, and Painting Rule 

 Authorizes the ODH Director to enter into agreements with the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency for the administration and enforcement of the federal Renovation, 
Repair, and Painting (RRP) Rule, which establishes requirements regarding lead-based 
paint hazards associated with renovation, repair, and painting activities. 

 Allows the Director to do both of the following: 
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 Accept available assistance in support of those agreements; and 

 Adopt rules to administer and enforce the federal RRP Rule. 

Lead abatement fines and penalties 

 Allows the Director of Health to impose an administrative fine of up to $5,000 for 
violations of the law governing lead abatement, which must be deposited into the 
Department of Health’s existing General Operations Fund. 

 Increases, from $1,000 to $5,000, the maximum allowable civil penalty that a court of 
common pleas may impose against a person for violations of the law governing lead 
abatement. 

 

Summary orders at nursing homes and assisted living facilities 

(R.C. 3721.081) 

Orders and action 

In circumstances where the Director of Health (ODH Director) determines immediate 
action is necessary to protect resident health or safety, because a nursing home, residential care 
(assisted living) facility, or other home is not acting with sufficient promptness or efficiency to 
protect resident health or safety, the bill authorizes the Director to do either or both of the 
following without providing notice and an opportunity for a hearing: 

1. Issue orders, including specifying actions that a home must immediately take; 

2. Take direct action to protect resident health and safety if the home fails to act on an 
order issued. 

The orders may be issued or action taken as necessary to protect the health or safety of 
residents of a home, including removing a threat to resident health or safety, transferring 
residents until a threat is resolved, and appointing a temporary administrator for the home. 

Expenses and fines 

A home is responsible for any expenses incurred to comply with an order. If the 
ODH Director takes action, a home must reimburse the Department of Health (ODH) for all 
necessary expenses. 

The bill authorizes the Director to impose a fine of up to $250,000, plus interest, for each 
instance of noncompliance with a summary order issued under the bill. All reimbursements, 
fines, and interest must be credited to the General Operations Fund in the state treasury. 

Requests for hearings 

A home that is subject to a summary order may request a hearing under the 
Administrative Procedure Act. The request must be received by the Director within 30 days after 
the notice of the order was mailed. The hearing must be held between 15 and 60 days after the 
request, unless the parties agree otherwise. The Director must issue a final adjudication order no 
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later than 90 days after the hearing is complete. A summary order remains in effect, unless 
reversed by the Director, until a final adjudication order is issued. 

A final adjudication order may be appealed in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act. The final adjudication order is not suspended while the appeal is pending. 

Inspections of assisted living facilities 

(R.C. 3721.02) 

Under current law, before a nursing home or residential care (assisted living) facility may 
be licensed, it must be inspected by the ODH Director and the State Fire Marshal, or a fire 
department approved by the Fire Marshal. A home must be inspected every 15 months 
thereafter. 

The bill extends the period for inspections by the ODH Director from 15 months to 
30 months if all of the following apply: 

 The facility has had at least two consecutive 15-month inspections with no substantiated 
violations; 

 During that same time period, there were no substantiated violations from any other 
inspections or from any investigations of complaints; 

 There are no outstanding violations from any previous inspections or investigations 
during any other time period. 

An assisted living facility still must be inspected by the State Fire Marshal or an approved 
fire department once every 15 months. 

Long-term care bed buyback program 

(Section 291.50) 

The bill requires ODH, in consultation with the Departments of Aging and Medicaid, to 
establish during FY 2022 and FY 2023 a long-term care bed buyback program under which nursing 
facility operators may voluntarily, permanently surrender for compensation one or more licensed 
long-term care beds due to a decrease in bed utilization. To be eligible for the program: 

1. The bed must be located in a county with a bed excess, as calculated by ODH; and 

2. After the bed is surrendered, the county must have sufficient beds remaining to 
address the bed need in the county, as calculated by ODH. 

Applications 

ODH must solicit applications from nursing home operators to participate in the program. 
In the solicitation, ODH must set forth program requirements and criteria that will be used to 
evaluate competing proposals. In evaluating the applications, ODH must consider which facilities 
best meet the bed buyback program requirements and shall give priority to operators that are 
current with their franchise permit fee payments. The bill prohibits a nursing facility operator 
from submitting a certificate of need involving any of the long-term care beds licensed at the 
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nursing facility or a change of operator application while the operator has a pending bed buyback 
program application. 

If an application is denied, the applicant may request that ODH reconsider. ODH must 
then conduct a reconsideration of its decision. Its redetermination is final. 

Notification 

Not later than three business days after accepting payment from ODH for the surrender 
of a long-term care bed under the program, the operator of a licensed nursing facility must notify 
the ODH Director that (1) the operator is participating in the long-term care bed buyback 
program, (2) the operator has accepted payment for the surrender of beds, and (3) the number 
of beds that are being permanently surrendered by the operator. Upon the notice, those beds 
are permanently removed from the nursing facility’s licensed bed capacity. 

Hospital licensure 

(R.C. 3722.02 (primary), 3722.01 to 3722.14, and 3722.99; conforming changes in numerous 
other R.C. sections) 

Beginning three years after its effective date, the bill requires each hospital operating 
within Ohio to hold a license from the ODH Director, rather than be registered as under current 
law. Should a hospital fail to obtain the license by the required date, it will be subject to civil and 
criminal penalties. 

Because the bill does not amend all of the references to registered hospitals in the Revised 
Code, it also specifies that, beginning three years after its effective date, any existing law 
reference to a hospital is to be construed as a reference to a hospital licensed under the bill’s 
licensure requirements. 

Effective date of mandatory licensure and interim period 

For three years after the bill’s effective date, existing law requirements are maintained, 
and the bill’s new requirements apply only to hospitals that have obtained licenses. As described 
in more detail below, ODH may begin to consider applications for licensure one year after the 
bill’s effective date. Hospitals will then have two years to become licensed. During that period, 
some facilities may be both licensed under the new hospital licensing plan and subject to existing 
law requirements. Once the bill’s license mandate becomes effective, each hospital within the 
state must be licensed by the ODH Director in order to operate.  

Definitions 

The bill defines “hospital” to mean an institution or facility that provides inpatient 
medical or surgical services for a continuous period longer than 24 hours or a hospital operated 
by a health maintenance organization. Note that a hospital includes a “children’s hospital,” 
defined to mean a hospital or a distinct portion of a hospital that provides general pediatric 
medical and surgical care in which at least 75% of annual inpatient discharges for the preceding 
two calendar years were individuals younger than 18. 

Entities not subject to hospital licensure 

The bill specifies that its licensure requirements do not apply to the following: 
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 A hospital operated by the federal government;  

 An ambulatory surgical facility or other health care facility licensed by the ODH Director; 

 A nursing home or residential care (assisted living) facility licensed by the ODH Director;  

 A hospital or inpatient unit licensed by the Department of Mental Health and Addiction 
Services (OhioMHAS);  

 A residential facility licensed by OhioMHAS or the Department of Developmental 
Disabilities; 

 A community addiction services provider certified by OhioMHAS;  

 A facility providing services under a contract with the Department of Developmental 
Disabilities;  

 A facility operated by a licensed hospice care program and that is used exclusively for the 
care of hospice patients;  

 A facility operated by a licensed pediatric respite care program and that is used exclusively 
for the care of pediatric respite care patients;  

 A health maintenance organization that does not operate a hospital;  

 The site where a health care practice is operated, regardless of whether the practice is 
organized as an individual or group practice;  

 A clinic providing ambulatory patient services where patients are not regularly admitted 
as inpatients;  

 An institution for the sick that is operated exclusively for patients who use spiritual means 
for healing and for whom the acceptance of medical care is inconsistent with their 
religious beliefs, accredited by a national accrediting organization, exempt from federal 
income taxation, and providing 24-hour nursing care pursuant to an exemption from 
certain Ohio Board of Nursing licensing requirements. 

Note on maternity units and newborn care nurseries 

Ohio law requires hospital maternity units and newborn care nurseries to be licensed by 
the ODH Director. The bill maintains this licensure – but only for the period during which a 
hospital is not required to be licensed. After hospital licensure is mandatory, the bill repeals the 
law governing maternity unit and newborn care nursery licensure because they will be covered 
by the hospital’s license. 

Penalties for operating without a license 

Should a hospital operate without a license, the bill requires the ODH Director to do the 
following:  

 Notify the hospital that it is operating without a license and provide it with an opportunity 
to apply for licensure; 

 Direct the hospital to cease operations; 
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 Impose a civil penalty of not more than $250,000 as well as a penalty of not less than 
$1,000 and not more than $10,000 for each day the hospital operates without a license. 

The bill also authorizes the Director to petition the court of common pleas of the county 
in which the hospital is located for an order enjoining the hospital from operating.  

Moreover, a hospital can be subject to criminal penalties for operating without a license. 
Violations are first degree misdemeanors, punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000 and a jail 
term of not more than 180 days.34 In addition, the bill imposes an additional penalty of $1,000 
for each day the hospital operates without a license. 

Applications for licensure 

Each private or public entity, including a state university, seeking to operate a hospital 
must apply to the ODH Director for a license. The Director cannot consider any application until 
one year from the bill’s effective date. Applications must be submitted in the form and manner 
prescribed by the Director in rules.  

Eligibility  

To be eligible for licensure, an applicant must satisfy the following: 

 Have submitted a complete application, including payment of the fee specified in rules 
adopted by the Director; 

 Be certified under Title XVIII of the Social Security Act (Medicare), or accredited by a 
national accrediting organization approved by the federal Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services;  

 Demonstrate the ability to comply with standards established in rules adopted by the 
Director; 

 Specify the number of beds for the hospital, including skilled nursing beds, long-term care 
beds, and special skilled nursing beds. 

Multiple buildings or hospital campus 

If an applicant seeks to operate as a hospital a facility that consists of multiple buildings 
adjacent to one another, the applicant must submit a single application for licensure.  

In the case of a facility that consists of multiple buildings that are not adjacent, an 
applicant may submit a single application for licensure, but the Director may consider it only if 
the applicant demonstrates that the buildings are in the immediate vicinity of one another so as 
to constitute a medical center or medical campus. 

License issuance, validity, and renewals 

If an applicant meets the eligibility requirements, the Director must issue to the applicant 
a license to operate a hospital. The license is valid for three years and may be renewed for 
additional three-year periods. Applications for renewal must be submitted to the Director in the 

                                                      

34 R.C. 2929.24 and 2929.28, not in the bill. 
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manner prescribed in rule. The bill provides for staggered renewals in the initial years of the 
licensure structure. 

The bill further provides that a license is valid only for the entity and premises named in 
the application. It also requires the license holder to post a copy of the license in a conspicuous 
place in the hospital. 

License transfer 

If a hospital is assigned, sold, or transferred to a new owner, the new owner must apply 
for a license transfer within 30 days of the assignment, sale, or transfer.  

The new owner is responsible for complying with any action taken or proposed by the 
Director (see “Violations” and “Real and Present Danger” below). If a notice has been 
issued under the Administrative Procedure Act, the new owner becomes party to the notice. 

Hospital inspections 

On the filing of a license application, the ODH Director may inspect the hospital prior to 
issuing or denying the license. The bill also appears to allow for inspections as part of the license 
renewal process.  

Process to avoid inspections 

An applicant may avoid an inspection by submitting to the Director a copy of the hospital’s 
most recent on-site survey report from an accrediting body demonstrating that the hospital is in 
deemed status.  

Confidentiality of on-site survey reports 

The bill specifies that an on-site survey report from an accrediting body that is submitted 
in accordance with the bill’s provisions is confidential and not a public record. 

Unit inspections 

At least once every 36 months, the bill requires the Director to inspect each licensed 
hospital’s maternity unit, newborn care nursery, and any unit providing any of the following 
services: 

 Pediatric intensive care; 

 Solid organ and bone marrow transplantation;  

 Stem cell harvesting and reinfusion;  

 Cardiac catheterization;  

 Open heart surgery;  

 Operation of linear accelerators; 

 Operation of cobalt radiation therapy units;  

 Operation of gamma knives. 
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Compliance inspections 

To monitor compliance with the bill and the rules adopted under it, the Director may at 
any time inspect a licensed hospital.  

Inspection fees 

Any inspection conducted under the bill’s provisions is subject to a fee. Upon conducting 
the inspection, the Director must provide the applicant or license holder with a fee statement. 
Not later than 15 days after receiving the fee statement, the applicant or license holder must 
submit the total amount of the fee. 

Rulemaking 

Health, safety, welfare, and quality standards 

Not later than one year after the bill’s effective date, the bill requires the ODH Director 
to adopt rules establishing health, safety, welfare, and quality standards for licensed hospitals, 
including standards for the following:  

 Maternity units;  

 Newborn care nurseries;  

 Hospital services, including pediatric intensive care, solid organ and bone marrow 
transplantation, stem cell harvesting and reinfusion, cardiac catheterization, open heart 
surgery, operation of linear accelerators, operation of cobalt radiation therapy units, and 
operation of gamma knives. 

Standards and procedures for licensure 

Not later than one year after the bill’s effective date, the ODH Director must adopt rules 
establishing standards and procedures for the licensure of hospitals, including all of the following:  

 Procedures for applying and renewing licenses; 

 Procedures for transferring licenses; 

 Procedures for inspections following complaints; 

 Fees for initial applications, license renewals, and license transfers, as well as inspections;  

 Standards and procedures for imposing civil penalties; 

 Standards and procedures for correcting violations, including through the submission of 
correction plans;  

 Standards and procedures for identifying, monitoring, managing, reporting, and reducing 
exposures to risk conditions, such as Legionella, including through the use of 
environmental facility assessments, the development of water management plans, and 
the use of disinfection measures;  

 Standards and procedures for data reporting;  

 Standards and procedures for emergency preparedness;  
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 Standards and procedures for the provision of technical assistance. 

Penalties 

With respect to the rules governing the imposition of civil penalties, the Director must 
establish a scale for determining the amount of a civil penalty that may be imposed. The scale 
must include per day amounts for ongoing violations. The total amount of a civil penalty must 
not exceed $250,000 for each violation. 

Other rules 

The bill authorizes the Director to adopt any other rules as necessary to implement the 
bill’s provisions.  

Administrative Procedure Act 

Rules adopted under the bill’s provisions must be adopted in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119). 

Violations 

The bill specifically requires each licensed hospital to comply with its provisions and the 
rules adopted under it. If the ODH Director finds that an applicant or license holder has violated 
any of the bill’s requirement or the rules, the bill authorizes the Director to do any of the 
following:  

 Suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew a license; 

 Provide the license holder an opportunity to correct the violation;  

 Provide the license holder with a plan to correct or mitigate the violation;  

 Prohibit the license holder from admitting new patients;  

 Impose a civil penalty; 

 If the Director believes there is a danger of immediate and serious harm to the public, 
summarily suspend either a license or type of health care service. 

Any decision or determination to take any of the foregoing actions is subject to the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

Summary suspensions 

If the Director suspends a license or health care service, the bill requires the Director to 
issue a written order of suspension and furnish a copy to the license holder either by certified 
mail or in person. If the license holder requests an adjudication, the adjudication must be held 
within 30 days but not less than 15 days after the request, unless another date is agreed to by 
the license holder and director. The summary suspension remains in effect, unless reversed by 
the Director, until the Director issues a final adjudication order. 

The Director must issue a final adjudication order not later than 90 days after the 
adjudication. If the Director fails to do so within the 90-day period, the summary suspension is 
void, but any final adjudication order issued subsequent to the 90-day period is valid. In the event 
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an appeal and while the appeal is pending, a court of common pleas is prohibited from issuing an 
order reversing the summary suspension. 

Injunctive relief 

If the Director suspends or revokes a license and the license holder continues to operate 
a hospital, the Director may ask the Attorney General to apply to the common pleas court of the 
county where the hospital is located for an order enjoining the license holder from continuing to 
operate the hospital. 

Real and present danger 

The bill authorizes the ODH Director to take certain actions if the Director determines that 
a real and present danger exists at a hospital. “Real and present danger” is defined to mean 
imminent danger or serious physical or life-threatening harm to one or more occupants of a 
hospital. 

The actions that the Director may take include:  

 Petitioning a court for injunctive relief, which may include closing the hospital or 
transferring its occupants to other hospitals or appropriate settings; 

 If the Director opts not to pursue injunctive relief, providing written notice of proposed 
action; 

 If the hospital notifies the Director that it has corrected the conditions giving rise to a real 
and present danger, conducting inspections to determine if the danger remains; 

 Performing on-site hospital monitoring. 

Notice of proposed action 

When providing notice of proposed action, the Director must deliver that notice to the 
hospital’s administrator, governing board, and statutory agent. This may be done either by hand 
or certified mail. 

Appointment of a special master and on-site monitoring 

If a court grants injunctive relief, the bill allows it to appoint a special master to oversee 
hospital operations. The special master has the powers and authority over the hospital and a 
length of appointment as the court considers necessary. The special master’s salary and any costs 
incurred by the master are the hospital’s obligation. 

The bill prohibits a special master from entering into any employment contract on behalf 
of a hospital or purchase with the hospital’s funds any capital goods totaling more than $10,000, 
unless the special master has obtained approval from the hospital or the court.  

The bill also authorizes the Director to appoint ODH employees to conduct on-site 
monitoring. Appointment of monitors is not subject to appeal. The bill prohibits ODH from 
appointing any of the following as a monitor: an employee of a hospital for which monitors are 
appointed, a person employed by the hospital within the previous two years, or a person who 
currently has a consulting contract with ODH or a hospital. Every monitor must have the 
professional qualifications necessary to monitor correction of the conditions that give rise to or, 



P a g e  | 136  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

in the Director’s judgment, will give rise to a real and present danger. The number of monitors 
present at a hospital at any given time may not exceed one for every 50 patients, or fraction 
thereof. 

On finding that that the real and present danger for which injunctive relief was granted 
has been eliminated and that the hospital has demonstrated the capacity to prevent the real and 
present danger from recurring, the court must terminate its jurisdiction over the hospital and 
return control and management to the hospital. 

If the real and present danger cannot be eliminated practicably within a reasonable time 
following appointment of a special master, the court may order the special master to close the 
hospital and transfer all patients to other hospitals or other appropriate care settings. 

Technical assistance 

The bill authorizes the ODH Director to provide each hospital with technical assistance in 
all of the following areas: 

 Infectious diseases, including measures to prevent and control their spread; 

 Quality improvement projects, including health equity and disparities; 

 Population health initiatives;  

 Data analytics;  

 Workforce recruitment and development. 

The bill also allows the Director to engage with one or more quality improvement 
organizations to assist in providing technical assistance. Such an organization must provide the 
assistance without compensation from ODH. The Director may terminate the assistance of a 
quality improvement organization at any time.  

The Director may use any fees or civil penalties collected in accordance with the bill’s 
provisions to fund the provision of technical assistance to licensed hospitals, including 
contracting with entities to provide training or technical assistance determined necessary by the 
Director. 

Hospital governing board 

Each licensed hospital is required by the bill to have a governing board to oversee its 
management, operation, and control. The governing board is specifically responsible for both:  

 Overseeing the appointment, reappointment, and assignment of privileges to medical 
staff; and 

 Establishing protocols for the admission and treatment of patients. 
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Admitting privileges 

The bill repeals the law governing the admission and medical supervision of hospital 
patients, including admissions initiated by advanced practice registered nurses and physician 
assistants.35 

Opioid reporting 

The bill revises the law governing reports of the number of babies diagnosed as opioid 
dependent at birth. Under current law, each licensed maternity unit, newborn care nursery, and 
maternity home must report those numbers to the ODH Director quarterly. Beginning three years 
after the bill’s effective date, the duty to report will fall instead on hospitals operating maternity 
units or newborn care nurseries. However, until the three years have run, maternity units, 
newborn care nurseries, and maternity homes must continue to report to the Director. Note that 
after the three years have elapsed, maternity homes will continue to be required to report. 

Disease reporting 

Beginning three years after the bill’s effective date, each hospital must report to the ODH 
Director the contagious, environmental, or infectious diseases, illnesses, or health conditions or 
unusual infectious agents or biological toxins for which it provides treatment to patients.  

The bill requires the Director to adopt rules that: 

 Specify the diseases, illnesses, conditions, infectious agents, and biological toxins to be 
reported;  

 Specify the frequency with which a hospital must report; and 

 Prescribe the manner in which reports are to be made. 

Any information reported is protected health information as described under continuing 
law and may be released only in accordance with that law. Under the bill, information that does 
not identify an individual may be released in summary, statistical, or aggregate form. 

Under continuing law not amended by the bill, hospitals are among a list of health care 
providers required to report to local boards of health the existence of certain diseases.36 Health 
providers may do this by submitting an electronic report to the Ohio Disease Reporting System. 

General operations fund 

The bill specifies that any fees and civil penalties collected under it must be deposited in 
the state treasury and used solely for purposes of administering and enforcing the bill’s 
provisions.  

                                                      

35 R.C. 3727.06. 
36 R.C. 3701.17 and 3701.23, not in the bill, and O.A.C. 3701-3-03 and 3701-3-05. 
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Home visiting services 

(R.C. 3701.61 and 3701.613 with conforming changes in R.C. 5167.16) 

The bill expands eligibility to receive home visiting services through the Help Me Grow 
Program to include families with children under age five. Current law limits home visits to families 
with pregnant women or children under age three. The goals of home visits include improving 
maternal and child health, reducing family violence, improving school readiness, improving 
economic self-sufficiency, and reducing smoking.  

Moreover, the bill reduces, from twice a year to every two years, the frequency with 
which ODH must facilitate a summit to share the latest research on home visiting programs and 
to discuss how to make home visiting programs more effective.  

Technological resources 

(R.C. 3701.132 and 3701.61; repealed R.C. 5167.172) 

The bill repeals the law that requires the Help Me Grow Program, WIC clinics, and 
Medicaid managed care organizations to promote the use of technological resources, such as 
text messaging applications, that provide information on having a healthy pregnancy and healthy 
baby.  

Smoking and tobacco 

Minimum age to sell tobacco products 

(R.C. 2927.02) 

The bill expands the offense of illegal distribution of tobacco products by prohibiting 
tobacco businesses from permitting employees under 18 from selling tobacco products. A 
violation is a fourth degree misdemeanor on a first offense and a third degree misdemeanor on 
a subsequent offense. 

The bill also provides that it is not a violation of either of the following other prohibitions 
for an employer to permit an employee age 18, 19, or 20 to sell a tobacco product: 

 The prohibition against a tobacco business distributing tobacco products to any person 
under 21; 

 The prohibition against a tobacco business distributing tobacco products in a place lacking 
a conspicuous, required sign relating to the underage sale of tobacco products. 

Dispensing tobacco cessation drugs without a prescription  

(R.C. 4729.42 and 4731.90) 

Provider and protocol requirements  

The bill authorizes a pharmacist, or pharmacy intern practicing under the direct 
supervision of a pharmacist, to dispense tobacco cessation drugs without a prescription in 
accordance with a physician-developed protocol to individuals who are seeking to quit using 
tobacco-containing products. The following requirements must be met in order for the 
authorization to apply: 
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 The pharmacist or intern must successfully complete an accredited or approved course 
on tobacco cessation therapy; 

 The pharmacist or intern must practice in accordance with a physician-established 
protocol that specifies a definitive set of treatment guidelines and the locations where 
the tobacco cessation drugs may be dispensed.  

The bill requires the protocol to include provisions to implement the following 
requirements: 

 Use by the pharmacist or intern of a screening procedure to determine if an individual is 
a good candidate to receive tobacco cessation drugs dispensed by a pharmacist or intern; 

 Referral by the pharmacist or intern of high-risk individuals or individuals with 
contraindications to a primary care or other provider; 

 Development and implementation of a follow-up care plan in accordance with guidelines 
adopted in rules; 

 Parental or guardian consent for individuals younger than 18. 

Documentation and notice  

The bill requires documentation related to screening, dispensing, and follow-up care 
plans to be maintained in the pharmacy’s records. Not later than 30 days after a screening is 
conducted, the pharmacist or pharmacy intern must provide notice to the individual’s primary 
care provider, or to the individual if the primary care provider is unknown.  

Prohibition  

The bill prohibits a pharmacist or pharmacy intern from dispensing tobacco cessation 
drugs without a prescription unless the bill’s requirements are met. It also prohibits a pharmacist 
from delegating the pharmacist’s authority to dispense or supervise the dispensing of tobacco 
cessation drugs.  

Rules 

The bill requires the Pharmacy Board to adopt rules in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act to implement its provisions. The rules must specify which tobacco cessation drugs 
may be included in a protocol. The Department of Health must be consulted before adopting 
rules that specify those drugs.  

Regarding rules related to requirements for protocols, the Pharmacy Board must consult 
with the State Medical Board.  

Moms Quit for Two grant program 

(Section 291.30) 

The bill continues Moms Quit for Two. Authorized in each biennium since 2015, it is a 
grant program administered by ODH that awards funds to government or private, nonprofit 
entities demonstrating the ability to deliver evidence-based tobacco cessation interventions to 
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women who are pregnant or living with children and reside in communities that have the highest 
incidence of infant mortality, as determined by the ODH Director. 

Program funds cannot be used to provide tobacco cessation interventions to Medicaid-
eligible women. 

Smoke-Free Workplace Law 

(R.C. 3794.01) 

The bill expands the Smoke-Free Workplace Law to include electronic smoking devices 
and vapor products. Current law prohibits smoking in a public place or a place of employment. 
For a first violation of this prohibition, ODH issues a warning letter to the offending individual or 
proprietor. Subsequent fines are set in accordance with the following: 

Violation # Proprietor Violation Individual Violation 

2nd $100 $100 

3rd $500 $100 

4th $1,000 $100 

5th and subsequent $2,500 $100 

 

ODH may also sue repeat offenders seeking a court requiring the offender to stop the 
offending behavior.37 

Vapor products certificate of operation 

(R.C. 2927.025 to 2927.0210) 

The bill sets up a registration structure for persons seeking to sell vapor products. Vapor 
products are products, other than cigarettes or other tobacco products, that contain or are made 
or derived from nicotine and that are intended and marketed for human consumption, including 
by smoking, inhaling, snorting, or sniffing. Vapor products include any component of an 
electronic smoking device.  

Under the bill, individuals are prohibited from selling, offering to sell, or possessing with 
intent to sell vapor products unless they have obtained a certificate of registration from ODH for 
the place of business where the vapor products are to be sold. 

The bill specifies that a certificate of registration does not constitute property, is not 
subject to attachment and execution, and is not alienable. 

                                                      

37 R.C. 3794.02 and 3794.09, not in the bill; O.A.C. 3701-52-09. 
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Application 

To obtain a certificate, the applicant must file an application with ODH. The application 
fee is $100 (plus the $500 annual fee discussed below under “Fees and renewal”). 
Additionally, ODH may require an applicant to submit documentation verifying that the location 
where vapor products are to be sold meets all relevant building and safety codes. ODH is 
authorized to conduct an investigation to determine whether or not an applicant should be 
issued a certificate of registration.  

ODH must issue a certificate of registration to an applicant unless it finds any of the 
following: 

 The application contains materially false information, or the applicant has submitted 
materially false information to ODH in the past;  

 The applicant has failed to pay any taxes due to the state; 

 The applicant has failed to provide documentation showing the location where vapor 
products are to be sold meets all relevant safety codes;  

 The applicant, during the previous three years, has been convicted of or pleaded guilty or 
no contest to either: 

 The illegal distribution of cigarettes, other tobacco products, or alternative nicotine 
products; or 

 An illegal tobacco product or alternative nicotine product transaction scan. 

 ODH determines, subsequent to an investigation, that the applicant is unsuitable to 
receive a certificate of registration. 

Fees and renewal 

A certificate of registration is valid for one year. The annual fee for the certificate is $500. 
ODH may renew the registration of any applicant if the applicant has paid all related fines and 
fees. A certificate of registration subject to administrative or court proceedings is not eligible for 
renewal. 

Revocation of certificate 

ODH is authorized to suspend or revoke a certificate of registration at its discretion.  

Any person aggrieved by a denial of an application, or the refusal to renew, the 
suspension, or revocation of a certificate of registration may appeal to ODH. 

Fines 

The holder of an expired certificate of registration who continues to sell vapor products 
is subject to a fine of $100, if the violation occurred within 90 days of the certificate expiring. 
Otherwise, a person selling vapor products without a certificate of registration is subject to a fine 
of up to $1,000. ODH may waive all or any part of such fines if it is proved that failure to obtain 
or renew a certificate or registration was due to reasonable cause.  
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Tobacco use prevention fund 

All fees and fines collected in relation to the certificate of registration are to be deposited 
into the Tobacco Use Prevention Fund for administering the registration requirements and for 
tobacco and nicotine prevention or cessation interventions. 

Renovation, Repair, and Painting Rule 

(R.C. 3742.11) 

The bill authorizes the ODH Director to enter into agreements with the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) for the administration and enforcement of the 
federal Renovation, Repair, and Painting (RRP) Rule. Under the RRP Rule, firms performing 
renovation, repair, and painting projects that disturb lead-based paint in homes, child care 
facilities, and pre-schools built before 1978 must be certified by USEPA (or a USEPA-authorized 
state), use certified renovators who are trained by USEPA-approved training providers, and 
follow lead-safe work practices. 

The bill also allows the Director to accept available assistance in support of the 
agreements. The Director may adopt rules to administer and enforce the federal RRP Rule. If the 
Director adopts rules, the rules must specify the following: 

1. Provisions governing applications for certification to undertake renovation, repair, and 
painting projects; 

2. Provisions governing the approval and denial of certification and the renewal, 
suspension, and revocation of certification; 

3. Fees for any certification issued or renewed under the Rule; 

4. Requirements for training and certification, which must include levels of training and 
periodic refresher training for certifications issued under the Rule; 

5. Procedures to be followed by a person certified under the Rule to undertake 
renovation, repair, and painting projects and to prevent public exposure to lead hazards and 
ensure worker protection during renovation, repair, or painting projects; 

6. Provisions governing the imposition of civil penalties (up to $5,000 per violation) for 
violations of procedures adopted under the Rule; 

7. Record-keeping and reporting requirements for a person certified under the Rule; 

8. Procedures for the approval of training providers under the Rule, including specific 
training course requirements; and  

9. Any other procedures and requirements that the Director determines necessary for 
implementation of the Rule. 
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Lead abatement fines and penalties 

(R.C. 3742.16, 3742.18, and 3742.19) 

The bill authorizes the ODH Director to impose an administrative fine of up to $5,000, in 
addition to the Director’s current authority to deny, suspend, or revoke a license, accreditation, 
or certification, for one or more of the following reasons: 

1. A violation of any provision of the law governing lead abatement; 

2. Failure to pay fees for lead abatement professional licenses (for example, a lead 
abatement contractor or worker), fees for training program accreditation, or fees for any 
required certification; 

3. Any material misrepresentation in an application for a license, accreditation, 
certification, or approval; 

4. Interference with a lead poisoning investigation; 

5. Failure to meet the lead abatement licensing requirements; or 

6. Employing or using lead abatement personnel that are not licensed. 

Administrative fines must be deposited in ODH’s General Operations Fund. 

The bill also increases, from $1,000 to $5,000, the maximum civil penalty that a court of 
common pleas may impose for violations of the laws governing lead abatement. Currently, if the 
Director makes a request, the Attorney General may commence a civil action for civil penalties 
and injunctive and other equitable relief against any person who violates those laws. 
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DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EDUCATION 

Restriction on instructional fee increases 

 For the 2021-2022 and 2022-2023 academic years, permits state universities, the 
Northeast Ohio Medical University, and university branch campuses to increase 
instructional and general fees by not more than 2% over the previous academic year. 

 For the 2021-2022 and 2022-2023 academic years, permits community colleges, state 
community colleges, and technical colleges to increase instructional and general fees by 
not more than $5 per credit hour over the previous academic year. 

 Excludes from the fee restrictions: room and board, student health insurance, auxiliary 
goods or services fees provided to students at cost, pass-through fees for licensure and 
certification exams, study abroad fees, elective service charges, fines, voluntary sales 
transactions, and fees to offset the cost of providing textbooks to students. 

Textbook auto-adoption at state institutions 

 Requires each state institution of higher education to consider a textbook auto-adoption 
policy prior to academic year 2022-2023. 

Ohio Innovative Partnership – Choose Ohio First Scholarship 

 Eliminates the Ohio Research Scholars Program part of the Ohio Innovative Partnership, 
but retains the Choose Ohio First Scholarship Program. 

 Removes medicine, dentistry, and medical and dental education from the list of academic 
fields in which students may receive Choose Ohio First scholarships. 

 Repeals the primary care medical student, primary care nursing student, and primary care 
dental student components of the Choose Ohio First Scholarship Program. 

 Specifically includes “health professions” in the scholarship program’s purpose 
statement. 

 Requires the Chancellor of Higher Education to determine which proposals will receive 
Choose Ohio First Scholarship Program awards based on the extent to which a proposal 
recruits underrepresented populations in certain academic fields. 

 Requires the Chancellor to “endeavor to provide,” rather than guarantee, that students 
from all regions of the state are able to participate in the Choose Ohio First Scholarship 
Program. 

 Requires all students receiving a Choose Ohio First scholarship (rather than half) to be 
involved in work-based learning through a co-op, internship, experience in a university, 
college, or private laboratory, or other work-based learning experience. 

 Repeals a provision that permits the Chancellor to authorize an institution of higher 
education to award a scholarship amount exceeding the amount permitted under current 
law in certain circumstances. 
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 Repeals the requirement that the Controlling Board approve Choose Ohio First 
scholarship awards prior to their distribution. 

 Specifies that the Choose Ohio First Scholarship Program Reserve Fund must consist of 
amounts designated for the purposes of the fund by the General Assembly, the federal 
government, or other sources. 

 Make other changes regarding the administration of the Choose Ohio First Scholarship 
Program. 

FAFSA data system 

 Requires the Chancellor and the Management Council of the Ohio Education Computer 
Network to establish a data system to track the Free Application for Federal Student Aid 
(FAFSA) complete rate of Ohio’s public and chartered nonpublic school students. 

 Permits the Chancellor to publish and share aggregate FAFSA data, including completion 
counts and rates for Ohio and each district or school. 

Withholding student transcripts 

 Permits the Chancellor to adopt rules regarding when a state institution of higher 
education may withhold official transcripts from a student. 

OhioCorps Program 

 Renames the “OhioCorps Pilot Program” as the “OhioCorps Program.”  

 Eliminates the limit on the program’s operation to the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school 
years. 

 Revises the eligibility criteria for the OhioCorps scholarship. 

Computer science 

 Requires that, beginning in the 2022-2023 academic year, each state university must 

recognize a student’s successful completion of certain advanced computer science 

courses as meeting general admissions requirements to the university.  

 Requires each educator preparation program to require each candidate for an educator 

license who enters the program in the 2022-2023 academic year, or any academic year 

thereafter, to receive instruction in computer science and computational thinking.  

 

As used in this chapter of the analysis: 

A state institution of higher education means any of the 13 state universities, the 
Northeast Ohio Medical University, and each community college, state community college, 
technical college, and university branch campus. The state universities are the University of 
Akron, Bowling Green State University, Central State University, University of Cincinnati, 
Cleveland State University, Kent State University, Miami University, Ohio University, Ohio State 
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University, Shawnee State University, University of Toledo, Wright State University, and 
Youngstown State University. 

Restriction on instructional fee increases 

(Section 381.160) 

For FY 2022 and FY 2023 (the 2021-2022 and 2022-2023 academic years), the bill limits 
each state university, the Northeast Ohio Medical University, and each university branch campus 
to not more than a 2% increase in its in-state undergraduate instructional and general fees over 
what the institution charged in the prior academic year. 

For those same years, each community college, state community college, and technical 
college may not increase its instructional and general fees more than $5 per credit hour over 
what it charged in the previous academic year. 

Increases for all other special fees, including newly created ones, are subject to the 
approval of the Chancellor of Higher Education. 

However, the bill’s limits on fee increases explicitly exclude: 

 Room and board; 

 Student health insurance; 

 Fees for auxiliary goods or services provided to students at the cost incurred to the 
institution; 

 Fees assessed to students as a pass-through for licensure and certification exams; 

 Fees in elective courses associated with travel experiences; 

 Elective service charges; 

 Fines; 

 Voluntary sales transactions; and  

 Fees to offset the cost of providing textbooks to students, which may appear directly on 
a student’s tuition bill as assessed by the institution’s bursar. 

As in previous biennia when the General Assembly capped tuition increases, the bill’s 
provisions do not apply to increases required to comply with institutional covenants related to 
the institution’s obligations or to meet unfunded legal mandates or legally binding prior 
obligations or commitments. Further, the Chancellor, with Controlling Board approval, may 
approve an increase to respond to exceptional circumstances identified by the Chancellor. 

Additionally, institutions with an undergraduate tuition guarantee program may increase 
fees in accordance with that separate provision. Under that program, each entering cohort of 
undergraduate students of a state university pays an immediate increased rate for instructional 
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and general fees, but that rate is guaranteed not to increase again for that particular cohort for 
the next four years.38 

Textbook auto-adoption at state institutions 

(Section 733.20) 

The bill requires state institutions of higher education, prior to the 2022-2023 academic 
year, to evaluate their respective implementation of textbook affordability initiatives, by working 
collaboratively with the institution’s faculty senate, to consider adopting a textbook auto-
adoption policy. Citing the textbook auto-adoption policy at Wright State University as an 
example, the bill specifies that faculty members may retain full authority in selecting textbooks 
and materials appropriate for their classes. 

By August 15, 2022, the board of trustees of each state institution must adopt a resolution 
or otherwise vote to affirm or decline adoption of the policy crafted by the administration and 
faculty senate. If the board adopts that policy, the bill requires transmission of a copy of the 
resolution to the Chancellor of Higher Education. 

Ohio Innovative Partnership – Choose Ohio First Scholarship 

(R.C. 3333.61, 3333.613, 3333.615, 3333.62, 3333.63, 3333.64, 3333.65, 3333.66, 3333.68, and 
3333.69; repealed R.C. 3333.611, 3333.612, 3333.614, and 3333.67) 

Ohio Research Scholars Program  

The bill eliminates the Ohio Research Scholars Program, which is part of the Ohio 
Innovative Partnership, but retains the Choose Ohio First Scholarship Program. In doing so, it also 
replaces all references to the Ohio Innovative Partnership with references to the Choose Ohio 
First Scholarship Program. 

Under existing law, the Ohio Research Scholars Program awards grants to state colleges 
and universities to use in recruiting scientists as faculty members, and the Choose Ohio First 
Scholarship Program assigns scholarships to state colleges and universities to recruit Ohio 
residents in certain academic fields. 

The Choose Ohio First Scholarship Program assigns a number of scholarships to state 
universities and the Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED) to recruit Ohio residents as 
undergraduate students. They may do so in collaboration with other state institutions of higher 
education and private colleges and universities in Ohio. 

Academic fields for Choose Ohio First scholarships 

The bill removes medicine, dentistry, and medical and dental education from the list of 
academic fields in which students may receive Choose Ohio First scholarships. It retains, 
however, existing law that permits students in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and 
mathematics and science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education to receive 
scholarships. 

                                                      

38 R.C. 3345.48, not in the bill. 
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The bill also repeals the primary care medical student, primary care nursing student, and 
primary care dental student components of the scholarship program. 

Finally, the bill specifically includes “health professions” in the scholarship program’s 
purpose statement. 

Criteria for scholarship proposals 

The bill requires the Chancellor to determine which proposals will receive Choose Ohio 
First Scholarship awards based on the extent to which a proposal recruits underrepresented 
populations in certain academic fields. 

It also changes the existing list of criteria, at least one of which must be satisfied, that the 
Chancellor must use to determine which proposals will receive awards. Specifically, it adds: 

1. The extent to which the state university or NEOMED has committed to, or 
demonstrated, an increase in total graduates in the academic fields specified above; and  

2. An associate’s degree to the criteria concerning the extent to which the proposal 
facilitates the completion of a degree in a cost-effective manner.  

It also removes the following criteria: 

1. The amount of other monetary or nonmonetary resources that the proposal will use; 

2. The demonstrated productivity or future capacity of the students or scientists to be 
recruited; 

3. The extent to which other resources will be used to supplement students’ scholarships; 
and 

4. The extent to which the proposal: 

a. Is integrated with the Centers of Research Excellence; 

b. Is collaborative with other institutions of higher education; 

c. Facilitates a more efficient use of existing facilities and programs; 

d. Will create additional capacity in educational or economic areas of need; 

e. Will encourage graduates of two-year institutions in certain academic fields to 
transfer to state colleges or universities; 

f. Encourages students to transfer into certain academic programs; 

g. Permits students to attend a state university or NEOMED who otherwise could not 
afford it; 

h. Increases the likelihood that students will successfully complete their degree 
programs; 

i. Ensures that a student awarded a scholarship is prepared to complete a degree 
program; and 

j. Increases the number of women participating in the program. 
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Statewide participation 

The bill requires the Chancellor to “endeavor to provide,” rather than guarantee, that 
students from all regions of the state are able to participate in the Choose Ohio First Scholarship 
Program. It also repeals a provision that requires the Chancellor to endeavor to distribute 
scholarships so that all regions of the state benefit from the economic impact development of 
the program. 

Participation in work-based learning 

The bill expands to all students receiving a Choose Ohio First scholarship (rather than half 
of those students) the requirement to be involved in work-based learning through a co-op, 
internship, experience in a university, college, or private laboratory, or other work-based 
learning. 

But it also permits state and private institutions to appeal to the Chancellor for a waiver 
in cases where exceptional circumstances make placement of all students impractical or 
significantly unachievable. (Existing law permits private four-year Ohio institutions to submit a 
proposal for Choose Ohio First scholarships and requires them to comply with all program 
requirements that apply to state institutions.) 

Agreement governing use of scholarships 

The bill repeals the law that requires the agreement that each state and private institution 
must enter, regarding the use of Choose Ohio First scholarships, to include performance 
measures, reporting requirements, and an obligation to fulfill pledges of other resources for the 
proposal. 

It also repeals a provision that permits the Chancellor, if making awards to a program or 
initiative that will be in collaboration with other state or private institutions, to enter into an 
agreement to grant the award directly to the collaborating institution. 

Recruitment initiatives 

The bill repeals the requirement that the Chancellor encourage state institutions to 
submit Choose Ohio First proposals for initiatives that recruit either: 

1. Residents who enrolled in colleges and universities in other states or countries to enroll 
in state universities or colleges as graduate students in certain academic fields; or 

2. Graduate students from an Ohio college or university who received, or will receive, a 
degree in certain academic fields to participate in a graduate-level teacher education master’s 
program in a field that satisfies certain criteria. 

Scholarship amounts 

The bill repeals a provision permitting the Chancellor to authorize an institution to award 
a scholarship in an amount exceeding the amount permitted under current law to 
(1) undergraduate students enrolled in a program leading to a teaching profession in certain 
academic fields and (2) graduate students who qualify for scholarships under the recruitment 
initiatives described above. 
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Extension of awards 

The bill permits the Chancellor to grant a one-time extension of a Choose Ohio First 
Scholarship award for up to four years. Currently, state universities or NEOMED must reapply 
each time an award expires in order to renew. 

Controlling Board approval 

The bill repeals the requirement that the Controlling Board approve scholarship awards 
prior to their distribution. 

Reserve Fund 

The bill specifies that the Choose Ohio First Scholarship Program Reserve Fund must 
consist of amounts designated for the purposes of the fund by the General Assembly, the federal 
government, or other sources. 

FAFSA data system 

(R.C. 3333.301) 

The bill requires the Chancellor and the Management Council of the Ohio Education 
Computer Network to establish a data system to track the Free Application for Federal Student 
Aid (FAFSA) completion rate of Ohio’s public and chartered nonpublic school students. The 
Chancellor and the Council must develop guidelines and procedures to operate the system.  

The bill also authorizes the Chancellor to publish and share aggregate FAFSA data, 
including completion counts and rates for Ohio and each school district, community school, STEM 
school, college-preparatory boarding school, and chartered nonpublic school. The bill states that 
the data may be used for the benefit of schools, to increase public understanding regarding 
FAFSA, and to assist in encouraging student completion of the FAFSA form. 

Finally, the bill requires each school district and each other public and chartered 
nonpublic high school to enter into a data sharing agreement with the Chancellor to operate the 
data system. (See “FAFSA data system” under “DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION,” 
above.) 

The Chancellor and the Council appear already to operate a FAFSA data system, the FAFSA 
Data Service. However, it appears that currently only school districts, community schools, and 
STEM Schools are eligible to participate and that participation is voluntary.39 

Withholding student transcripts  

(R.C. 3333.0417) 

The bill permits the Chancellor to adopt rules regarding when a state institution of higher 
education may withhold official transcripts from a student, including when a student owes 
money to the institution. In adopting those rules, the bill requires the Chancellor to consider 

                                                      

39 For more information, see the FAFSA Data Service’s website and the Management Council’s website. 

https://www.ohio-k12.help/fafsa/
https://www.mcoecn.org/the-fafsa-data-service-is-open/
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(1) promoting the state’s postsecondary education attainment goals, (2) workforce goals, and 
(3) helping adult students complete their education. 

OhioCorps Program 

(R.C. 3333.80, 3333.801, and 3333.802) 

The bill renames the “OhioCorps Pilot Program” as the “OhioCorps Program” and makes 
several other changes to that program’s operations. Specifically, it eliminates law that limits the 
program’s operation to the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school years. It also delays the deadline 
for the Chancellor’s report to the General Assembly, regarding the program’s implementation, to 
the end of the 2021-2022 school year, rather than the end of the 2020-2021 school year as under 
current law.  

Finally, the bill changes two of the eligibility criteria for an OhioCorps scholarship. It 
requires a student to achieve a remediation-free score in math, reading, or English on a nationally 
standardized assessment (ACT or SAT), rather than requiring the student to achieve a 
remediation-free score on the entire assessment as under current law. In addition, it requires a 
student to complete and attain a passing grade in at least one College Credit Plus (CCP) course. 
Under current law, a student must do so in at least one math and one English language arts CCP 
course. 

OhioCorps is established to guide at-risk high school and qualifying middle students 
toward a pathway to higher education through mentorship programs operated by state 
institutions of higher education. Students who participate in the mentorship programs, enroll in 
a state institution, and meet other eligibility criteria may qualify for OhioCorps scholarships. 

State university admissions and computer science education  

(R.C. 3345.063)  

Beginning with the 2022-2023 academic year, the bill requires each state university to 
recognize a student’s successful completion of an advanced computer science course in high 
school as a unit for admission to the university under certain circumstances. Specifically, a state 
university must do so if the course is aligned with the State Board of Education’s computer 
science standards and if the student completed the course to meet one of several requirements 
contained in the minimum high school curriculum requirements. The state university must apply 
the completed course to a general university admissions requirement similar to the high school 
curriculum requirement the student met with the course.  

The following table indicates how, under the bill, a student could use a computer science 
course to meet a high school curriculum requirement, and how a state university must recognize 
the course as meeting a general admissions requirement.  

  



P a g e  | 152  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

Completed Course 
Minimum high school 

curriculum requirement 

State university general admissions 

requirement 

An advanced computer 

science course equal to 

one unit of instruction   

One unit of math instruction  One unit toward a general math 

requirement  

An advanced computer 

science course equal to 

one unit of instruction  

One unit of science instruction  One unit toward a general science 

requirement  

An advanced computer 

science course equal to 

one unit of instruction  

One general elective unit  One unit toward a general elective 

requirement  

A computer coding 

course equal to one unit 

of instruction  

One unit of foreign language 

instruction  

One unit toward a general foreign 

language requirement   

 

In addition, the bill requires each state university to post a description of its recognition 
of advanced computer science as a core unit for admission to the university in a prominent 
location on the university’s website.  

Educator preparation programs and computer science  

(R.C. 3333.049)  

The bill specifies that each educator preparation program must require each candidate 
for an educator license who enters the program in the 2022-2023 academic year and after to 
receive instruction in computer science and computational thinking, as applied to student 
learning and classroom instruction and as appropriate for the grade level and subject area of the 
candidate’s prospective educator license. 
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DEPARTMENT OF JOB AND FAMILY SERVICES 

Case plans and family service plans 

 Beginning January 1, 2023, makes it mandatory for a public children services agency 
(PCSA) or private child placing agency (PCPA) to include in its case plan for a child in 
temporary custody (unless it is not in the child’s best interest) a permanency plan that 
describes agency-provided services to achieve permanency for the child if reasonable 
efforts at family reunification are unsuccessful. 

 Requires permanency plan services to be provided concurrently with efforts at family 
reunification. 

 Requires the Director of Job and Family Services (JFS Director) to adopt, according to 
R.C. Chapter 119, case plan rules for the concurrent provision of permanency plan 
services for a child in temporary custody.  

 Repeals the family service plan option from the requirement that a PCSA maintain a case 
plan or a family service plan for any child for whom the PCSA provides in-home services 
under an alternative response to a child abuse or neglect report. 

Kinship caregiver placement efforts 

 Requires a PCSA or PCPA with temporary custody of a child or a child placed in a planned 
permanent living arrangement (TC/PPLA child) to make intensive efforts to identify 
potential kinship caregivers using certain search technology. 

 Requires a court to review a PCSA’s or PCPA’s efforts to locate appropriate and willing 
kinship caregivers for a TC/PPLA child in the agency’s custody at every hearing concerning 
that child. 

 Requires a PCSA or PCPA to include a summary of its efforts to find an appropriate and 
willing kinship caregiver for a TC/PPLA child as part of the semiannual administrative 
review of the child’s case plan, unless a court has deemed such efforts unnecessary. 

 Allows a court to issue, under certain circumstances, an order determining that a TC/PPLA 
child’s current placement is in the child’s best interest and that further intensive efforts 
at finding kinship caregivers are unnecessary. 

 Provides that a TC/PPLA child’s current caregivers are to be considered to be the child’s 
kin with equal standing with relatives regarding permanency if the court determines the 
current placement is in the child’s best interest and intensive efforts to find kinship 
caregivers are unnecessary. 

 Excuses a PCSA or PCPA from considering a TC/PPLA child’s relative as a permanent 
placement option if the relative has failed to show interest within six months of receiving 
notice of the child’s placement in the temporary care of the PCSA or PCPA. 

 Provides that nothing in the kinship caregiver placement efforts provisions of the bill 
prevents a PCSA or PCPA from search for an appropriate kinship caregiver. 
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Kinship guardianship assistance (KGA) 

 Requires the JFS Director, not later than nine months after the bill’s effective date, to 
submit amendments to the state Title IV-E plan in order to implement Title IV-E kinship 
guardianship assistance (federal KGA) available (1) on behalf of an eligible child to 
relatives, and (2) to any relative on behalf of a kinship guardianship (KG) young adult. 

 Requires implementation of the state plan amendments to begin 15 months after the 
bill’s effective date if the Secretary of Health and Human Services approves the plan and 
the General Assembly has appropriated funds sufficient to operate the program required 
by the amended plan. 

 Allows a PCSA to enter into an agreement with a child’s relative to provide state kinship 
guardianship assistance (state KGA), if state funds are available and certain conditions are 
met. 

 Requires implementation of state KGA no later than 15 months after the bill’s effective 
date if the amended state plan for federal KGA (described above) is approved.  

 Excludes federal KGA and state KGA from the definition of gross income for child support 
purposes. 

 Allows for specified relatives receiving federal KGA or state KGA to participate in Ohio 
works first if other conditions are also met. 

 Allows kinship caregivers to participate in the kinship permanency incentive program if 
they are not receiving state KGA or federal KGA on behalf of a KG young adult. 

 Repeals requirements governing PCSA placement of children with special needs 
determined impossible to adopt and the duty to periodically redetermine and report the 
child’s status to the Department of Job and Family Services (JFS). 

PASSS payment program  

 Codifies and transfers, from PCSAs to JFS, complete administration of the post adoption 
special services subsidy (PASSS) program, under which payments are made on behalf of 
an adopted child with a physical or developmental disability or mental or emotional 
condition as needed and under certain conditions. 

 Permits JFS to contract with any person to carry out PASSS duties. 

 Prohibits PASSS payments to any person: 

 18 years or older beyond the end of the school year during which the person attains 
that age; or 

 A mentally or physically disabled person who is 21 or older. 

 Requires JFS to adopt rules necessary to implement, and to actually implement, the 
recodified PASSS by July 1, 2022. 
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Foster care and adoption home assessors 

 Adds certain individuals to the list of individuals qualified to perform the duties of an 
assessor for purposes of foster care and adoption. 

Bills of Rights for foster youth and resource families 

 Requires JFS to adopt by rule, in accordance with R.C. Chapter 119 a Foster Youth Bill of 
Rights and a Resource Family Bill of Rights. 

 Provides that if a right in the Foster Youth Bill of Rights conflicts with a right in the 
Resource Family Bill of Rights, the Foster Youth Bill of Rights prevails. 

 Defines a “resource caregiver” as a foster caregiver or a kinship caregiver and a “resource 
family” as a foster home or the kinship caregiver family. 

 Provides that the rights created for foster youth and resource families do not create 
grounds for a civil action against JFS, the recommending agency, or the custodial agency. 

Notification for sibling of adopted person 

 Provides that an adopted person’s legal parents may be notified that an adopted person’s 
sibling has been placed into out-of-home care after an adoption has been finalized. 

 Defines “sibling,” for notification purposes only, as a former biological sibling, former legal 
sibling, or any person who would have been considered a sibling if not for a termination 
or other disruption of parental rights. 

Criminal records check for individuals overseeing a child 

 Adds certain crimes to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation criminal 
background check for persons responsible for out-of-home child care and members of a 
household for a host family hosting a child under a host family agreement. 

Background checks for institutions and associations 

 Requires an institution or association to obtain certain background information before 
employing a person or engaging a subcontractor, intern, or volunteer if: 

 The institution or association is a residential facility; or 

 The institution or association is not a residential facility and the person, 
subcontractor, intern, or volunteer will have contact with children. 

 Requires the institution or association, regarding the background information, to: 

 Obtain a search (instead of conduct a search as current law requires) of the 
U.S. Department of Justice National Sex Offender Public Website; and 

 Obtain a summary report (instead of request a summary report as current law 
requires) of a search of the uniform statewide automated child welfare information 
system. 
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 Allows an institution or association to refuse to employ a person or engage a 
subcontractor, intern, or volunteer based solely on the search and summary report 
obtained. 

 Requires an institution or association to obtain the search and summary report for a 
person, subcontractor, intern, or volunteer if that information has not been obtained by 
the effective date of this provision. 

Federal foster care assistance for emancipated young adults  

 Expands the juvenile courts that may exercise jurisdiction over an emancipated young 
adult (EYA) receiving federal foster care payments to include the court of the county 
where the EYA resided when his or her custody, planned permanent living arrangement, 
or care and placement terminated. 

 Revises the timing for JFS or its representative to petition for a judicial determination that 
the EYA’s best interest is served by continuing care and placement with JFS or its 
representative after the EYA enters a voluntary participation agreement for placement 
and care. 

 Explicitly associates seeking and obtaining the determination with maintaining the EYA’s 
eligibility for Title IV-E assistance. 

 Eliminates the remedy that an EYA loses eligibility for continued care and placement with 
the JFS or its representative under a voluntary participation agreement (VPA) if a court, 
180 days after the VPA becomes effective, determines the continued care and placement 
does not serve the EYA’s best interest. 

 Requires a court to make a permanency plan determination regarding an EYA: 

 12 months after the VPA’s effective date (instead of 12 months after the date it is 
signed, as current law requires); 

 At least once every 12 months after the first determination (instead of simply 
“annually” as current law requires); and 

 That JFS or its representative made reasonable efforts (instead of just that reasonable 
efforts were made, as current law requires) to finalize a permanency plan to prepare 
the EYA for independence. 

 Requires federal payments for foster care to be suspended if the best interest and 
reasonable efforts determinations (described above) are not timely made. 

Reimbursement for federal juvenile court programs 

 Adds prevention services costs under the federal Family First Prevention Services Act to 
the list of expenses for which a juvenile court may receive reimbursement upon 
agreement with JFS on behalf of a child in certain circumstances. 

 Adds a child who is at the imminent risk of removal from the home and is a sibling of a 
child in the temporary or permanent custody of the court to the list of circumstances of 
a child on whose behalf reimbursement may be sought. 
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Removes gender for who may adopt 

 Changes, regarding who may adopt, to “legally married couple” from “husband and wife.” 

Publicly funded child care  

 Revises the law governing eligibility for publicly funded child care, including by specifying 
that the eligibility period is to be at least 12 months. 

Type A family day-care homes 

 Eliminates the requirement that JFS include in the rules governing Type A family day-care 
homes standards for preparing and distributing parent rosters. 

Individual Development Account reports 

 Eliminates a requirement that a county department of job and family services prepare 
and file a semi-annual report with JFS regarding the Individual Development Account 
Program it operates. 

 Eliminates a requirement that JFS prepare an annual report regarding these programs. 

Child care resource and referral services 

 Eliminates the requirement that the JFS Director adopt rules for funding child care 
resource and referral service organizations. 

Head Start program definition 

 Revises the definition of “head start program” for purposes of the law governing the 
licensure and regulation of child care providers, including by specifying that it is a 
school-readiness program. 

Fatherhood programs 

 Codifies the authorization of the Ohio Commission on Fatherhood to recommend the 
JFS Director provide funding to fatherhood programs in Ohio that meet at least one of the 
four purposes of the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families block grant. 

Unemployment compensation 

 Eliminates from consideration, during the first phase of application for unemployment 
compensation, whether the claimant is disqualified for nonmonetary reasons, and delays 
this change until July 1, 2022. 

 Makes information maintained by or furnished to the Unemployment Compensation 
Review Commission confidential and, with one exception, inadmissible in cases unrelated 
to the Unemployment Compensation Law (similar to current law regarding information 
maintained by, or furnished to, JFS).  

 Prohibits disclosure of information maintained by the Commission unless an exception 
applies. 



P a g e  | 158  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

 Reduces from 30 days to ten days the time period for the JFS Director to approve or deny 
a shared work plan and notify the employer of the determination. 

 Increases the maximum percentage an individual’s workweek can be reduced for 
purposes of participating in the SharedWork Ohio Program from 50% to 60%. 

 Requires, if permitted by federal law, any portion of compensation paid under the 
SharedWork Ohio Program to be charged to the mutualized account and not to a 
participating employer’s experience during any period the compensation is being 
reimbursed under federal law. 

 

Case plans and family service plans 

(R.C. 2151.412) 

Permanency plans 

Beginning January 1, 2023, the bill makes it mandatory, instead of discretionary, for a 
public children services agency (PCSA) or a private child placing agency (PCPA) to include, within 
its case plan for a child in temporary custody, a permanency plan for the child, unless the 
permanency plan would not be in the child’s best interest. The bill requires that the permanency 
plan describe the services the PCSA or PCPA must provide to achieve permanency for the child if 
reasonable efforts to return the child to the child’s home, or eliminate the child’s continued 
removal from home, are unsuccessful. The services must be provided concurrently with 
reasonable efforts to return the child home or eliminate the child’s continued removal from 
home.  

Current law requires each PCSA and PCPA to prepare and maintain a case plan for a child 
to whom the PCSA or PCPA is providing services if (1) it filed a complaint alleging that the child is 
an abused, neglected, or dependent child, (2) it has temporary or permanent custody of the child, 
(3) the child is living at home subject to an order for protective supervision by the Department of 
Job and Family Services (JFS), or (4) the child is in a planned permanent living arrangement. The 
PCSA or PCPA has discretion to add, as a supplement to the plan, a plan for permanent family 
placement for the child. 

Under the bill, the JFS Director must adopt rules, according to the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119), necessary to carry out the purposes described above regarding 
supplement plans and concurrent permanency plans. 

Family service plans 

The bill changes the requirement that a case plan or a family service plan must be 
maintained for any child for whom the PCSA provides in-home services under an alternative 
response to a report of child abuse or neglect, by repealing the option that allows a PCSA to 
maintain a family service plan. In addition, the bill removes the requirement that the Director 
adopt rules for family service plans.  

Under ongoing law, an alternate response is a PCSA’s response to a report of child abuse 
or neglect that engages the family in a comprehensive evaluation of child safety, risk of 
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subsequent harm, and family strengths and needs that does not include a determination as to 
whether abuse or neglect occurred.40 

Kinship caregiver placement efforts 

(R.C. 2151.4115, 2151.4116, 3151.4117, 2151.4118, 2151.4119, 2151.4120, 2151.4121, 
2151.4122, and 2151.416) 

Finding kinship caregivers 

Intensive efforts 

The bill requires each PCSA and PCPA to make intensive efforts to identify potential 
kinship caregivers whenever the agency has temporary custody of, or is party to a planned 
permanent living arrangement (PPLA) regarding, a child (TC/PPLA child).  

A “kinship caregiver” is any of the following who is 18 or older and is caring for a child in 
place of the child’s parents: 

 The following individuals related by blood or adoption to the child: 

 Grandparents, including grandparents with the prefix “great,” “great-great,” or 
“great-great-great”; 

 Siblings; 

 Aunts, uncles, nephews, and nieces, including such relatives with the prefix “great,” 
“great-great,” “grand,” or “great-grand”; 

 First cousins and first cousins once removed. 

 Stepparents and stepsiblings of the child; 

 Spouses and former spouses of individuals named in the dot points above; 

 A legal guardian of the child; 

 A legal custodian of the child; 

 Any nonrelative adult who has a familiar and long-standing relationship or bond with the 
child or the family, which relationship or bond will ensure the child’s social ties. 

Summary of efforts 

The bill requires a PCSA or PCPA to include a summary of its intensive effort, to secure an 
appropriate and willing kinship caregiver for a TC/PPLA child as part of the semiannual 
administrative review of the child’s case plan (which is required under continuing law), unless a 
court has deemed such efforts unnecessary. The efforts must include the use of search 
technology, which the bill defines as any locate-and-research tool, search engine, electronic 
database, or social media search tool available to the PCSA or PCPA.  

                                                      

40 R.C. 2151.011(B)(4). 
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Exemption 

The bill excuses a PCSA or PCPA from considering a TC/PPLA child’s relative as a 
permanent placement option if the relative has failed to show interest within six months of 
receiving a notice from the PCSA or PCPA that it has temporary custody of the child. Under 
continuing law, that notice is sent to all grandparents and other adult relatives of a child within 
30 days of the child’s removal from the custody of the child’s parents.41  

The bill provides, however, that nothing in its provisions prevents a PCSA or PCPA from 
continuing to search or consider kinship caregivers. 

Court review 

The bill requires that at every court hearing regarding a TC/PPLA child, the court 
determine whether the PCSA or PCPA has continued intensive efforts to identify and engage 
appropriate and willing kinship caregivers. This determination requires the court’s review of the 
following: 

 Whether the child is receiving care from a kinship caregiver;  

 The PCSA or PCPA efforts since the previous hearing to place the child with a kinship 
caregiver, including efforts to use search technology to find biological family members;  

 Whether any previous court order (described under “Court determination,” below) 
should continue. 

Court determination 

The bill allows a court to issue an order that determines (1) the TC/PPLA child’s current, 
non-kinship-caregiver placement is in the child’s best interest and (2) that further intensive 
efforts to identify and engage an appropriate and willing kinship caregiver are unnecessary, if: 

 The child has been in a stable home environment with the child’s current caregivers for 
the past 12 months;  

 The current caregivers are interested in providing permanency for the child; and  

 Removal from the current caregivers would be detrimental to the child’s emotional well-
being. 

The bill provides that the current caregiver of the child will be considered to have a kin 
relationship with the child and will have equal standing with other kin regarding permanency if a 
court makes the determination described above. 

                                                      

41 R.C. 2151.33, not in the bill. 
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Kinship guardianship assistance (KGA) 

(R.C. 3119.10, 5101.141, 5101.1411, 5101.1415, 5101.1416, 5101.1417, 5101.802, 5107.10, and 
5153.163)  

Federal KGA  

The bill seeks to obtain federal kinship guardianship assistance (federal KGA) under 
Title IV-E of the Social Security Act to assist any relative who meets certain requirements 
(described below) with regard to the care of a kinship guardianship young adult (KGA young 
adult) or an eligible child. 

The bill defines a “relative,” with respect to a child, as any of the following who is age 
18 or older: 

 The following individuals related by blood or adoption to the child: 

 Grandparents, including grandparents with the prefix “great,” “great-great,” or 
“great-great-great”; 

 Siblings; 

 Aunts, uncles, nephews, and nieces, including such relatives with the prefix “great,” 
“great-great,” “grand,” or “great-grand”; 

 First cousins and first cousins once removed; 

 Stepparents and stepsiblings of the child. 

 Spouses and former spouses of individuals described above; 

 A legal guardian of the child; 

 A legal custodian of the child; 

 Any nonrelative adult that has a familiar and long-standing relationship or bond with the 
child or the family, which relationship or bond will ensure the child’s social ties. 

A “KG young adult” is an individual who:  

 Was in the temporary or permanent custody of a PCSA or a planned permanent living 
arrangement prior to being committed to the legal custody or legal guardianship of a 
kinship caregiver at 16 or 17 years old, and attained age 16 before a federal KGA 
agreement became effective; 

 Has attained age 18, but not 21. 

A child is an “eligible child” for federal KGA if the child meets the following requirements: 

 The child has been removed from his or her home pursuant to a voluntary placement 
agreement or as a result of a judicial determination to the effect that continuation in the 
home would be contrary to the welfare of the child; 

 The child has been eligible for foster care maintenance payments under existing law while 
residing for at least six consecutive months in the home of a relative; 
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 Returning the child home or adoption of the child are not appropriate permanency 
options; 

 The child demonstrates a strong attachment to the child’s relative who has legal custody 
or guardianship of the child and the relative has a strong commitment to caring 
permanently for the child; 

 With respect to a child who is 14 years old, the child has been consulted regarding the 
federal KGA agreement. 

On behalf of a KG young adult 

State plan amendment requirement 

The bill requires the JFS Director, not later than nine months after the bill’s effective date, 
to submit an amendment to the state plan required by federal law to the U.S. Secretary of Health 
and Human Services to provide federal KGA to any relative meeting the following criteria:  

 A juvenile court issued an order granting legal custody of a KG young adult to the relative, 
or a probate court issued a nontemporary order granting the relative legal guardianship 
of a KG young adult; 

 The relative entered into a federal KGA agreement while the KG young adult was 16 or 17; 

 The relative maintains parental responsibility for the KG young adult; 

 The KG young adult meets at least one of the following requirements: 

 Is completing secondary education or a program leading to an equivalent credential; 

 Is enrolled in an institution that provides post-secondary or vocational education; 

 Is participating in a program or activity designed to promote, or remove barriers to, 
employment; 

 Is employed for at least 80 hours a month; 

 Is incapable of doing the activities described above due to a physical or mental 
condition. 

Implementation and performance 

The bill requires implementation of the state plan amendments to begin 15 months after 
the bill’s effective date if (1) the plan as amended is approved by the Secretary of Health and 
Human Services, and (2) the General Assembly has appropriated sufficient funds to operate the 
KGA Program. It further requires JFS to perform all new duties required by the amended plan, 
but JFS may contract with others to carry out those duties to the extent permitted under 
Title IV-E. 

Extension or refusal of federal KGA 

The bill allows relatives meeting the federal KGA criteria (above) to request an extension 
of federal KGA at any time before the KG young adult reaches 21 years old.  
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It allows any relative receiving federal KGA for a KG young adult to refuse payments at 
any time. 

Eligibility for foster care-related programs 

A KG young adult eligible to receive federal KGA is not considered an emancipated young 
adult and is not eligible for foster care payments under Title IV-E. Any relative receiving federal 
KGA and the KG young adult are eligible for the federal “Fostering Connections to Success and 
Increasing Adoption Act of 2008.”  

State hearing 

Any JFS decision that terminates federal KGA for a KG young adult is subject to a state 
hearing under continuing law. 

On behalf of an eligible child 

State plan amendment requirement 

The bill requires JFS, not later than nine months after the bill’s effective date, to submit 
an amendment to the state plan to the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services to provide 
federal KGA on behalf of a child to a relative meeting the following requirements: 

 The relative has cared for the eligible child as a foster caregiver, as defined by Ohio law, 
for at least six consecutive months; 

 The juvenile court issued an order granting the relative legal custody of the child, or a 
probate court issued a nontemporary court order granting the relative legal guardianship; 

 The relative has committed to care for the child on a permanent basis; 

 The relative has signed a federal KGA agreement.  

Implementation and performance 

The bill requires implementation of the amendments to the plan to begin 15 months after 
the bill’s effective date if the plan, as amended, is approved by the Secretary of Health and 
Human Services. 

County expenditure reports 

The bill requires a board of county commissioners, to the extent federal KGA payments 
for maintenance costs require county funds to be spent, to report the nature and amount of each 
expenditure to JFS. 

Distribution to PCSA 

The bill requires JFS to distribute to PCSAs that incur and report expenditures described 
immediately above federal financial participation (FFP) received for administrative and training 
costs incurred in the operation of federal KGA. JFS may withhold up to 3% of the FFP for certain 
administrative and training costs. 

Interstate compacts 

The bill authorizes JFS to develop or join interstate compacts, on behalf of the state, for 
providing social services to children regarding whom all of the following apply: (1) they have 
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special needs, (2) Ohio or another party state is providing KGA on their behalf, and (3) they move 
into or out of Ohio, coming from or going to another state. 

JFS rules for federal KGA 

The bill requires JFS, not later than nine months after the bill’s effective date, to adopt 
rules that are necessary to carry out the purposes of the federal KGA for both KG young adults 
and eligible children. The rules must include the following: 

 Allowing a KG young adult, on whose behalf federal KGA is received, to maintain eligibility 
while transitioning into, or out of, qualified employment or educational activities; and 

 Requiring a 30-day notice of termination to be sent by JFS to a person receiving federal 
KGA for a KG young adult who is determined ineligible for federal KGA. 

State KGA 

The bill allows a PSCA that had custody of a child immediately prior to a court granting 
legal custody or legal guardianship to a relative to enter into an agreement with a child’s relative 
under which the PCSA may provide, as needed, and to the extent state funds are available, state 
kinship guardianship assistance (State KGA), when all of the following apply: 

 The relative has cared for the eligible child as a foster caregiver, as defined under Ohio 
law, for at least six consecutive months; 

 A juvenile court issued an order granting the relative legal custody of the child, or a 
probate court issued a nontemporary court order granting the relative legal guardianship, 
and the relative has committed to care for the child on a permanent basis; 

 The relative signed a State KGA agreement prior to assuming legal custody or 
guardianship of the child;  

 The child had been removed from home pursuant to a voluntary placement agreement, 
or as a result of a judicial determination to the effect that continuation in the home would 
be contrary to the welfare of the child; 

 Returning the child home or adoption are not appropriate permanency options for the 
child; 

 The child demonstrates a strong attachment to the relative and the relative has a strong 
commitment to caring permanently for the child; 

 With respect to a child who is 14, the child has been consulted regarding the State KGA 
arrangement; 

 The child is not eligible for federal KGA payments. 

State KGA provided under a State KGA agreement is subject to an annual need 
determination.  

The State KGA provisions must be implemented not later than 15 months after the bill’s 
effective date, if the state plan is amended as described above to provide federal KGA to eligible 
children.  
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Kinship permanency incentive and Ohio Works First  

The bill prohibits a kinship caregiver (a relative, as defined in the bill, who is caring for a 
child in place of the child’s parents) from participating in the kinship permanency incentive 
program under continuing law if the kinship caregiver is a relative receiving federal KGA for a KGA 
young adult or State KGA. But, if the kinship caregiver is not receiving such assistance or is 
receiving federal KGA on behalf of an eligible child, the kinship caregiver may participate.  

The bill further provides that an assistance group that meets certain requirements, 
including that the group contain a specified relative residing with and caring for a related minor 
child and receiving any federal or State KGA, may participate in the Ohio Works First Program.  

Gross income and KGA for child support 

The bill excludes any federal KGA and State KGA from the definition of gross income for 
child support calculation purposes. Under current law, federal adoption assistance and foster 
care maintenance payments are already excluded. 

PCSA duties regarding impossibility of adoption 

The bill repeals the prohibition against a PCSA placing or maintaining a child with special 
needs in a setting other than with a person seeking to adopt the child, unless the PCSA has 
determined, and periodically redetermined, the impossibility of the child’s adoption. It also 
repeals the requirement for a PCSA to report to JFS its reasons for determining the impossibility.  

PASSS payments 

(R.C. 5101.1418 and 5153.163) 

The bill codifies, and then transfers the operation of, the post adoption special services 
subsidy (PASSS) program to JFS from PCSAs. Under PASSS, a child in need of public care or 
protective services may be provided assistance through agreement with the adoptive parent, to 
the extent state funds are available. Such a child is one (1) who has a physical or developmental 
disability or emotional condition that existed before the adoption, or developed after the 
adoption because of the child’s preadoption condition, and (2) whose adoptive parent does not 
have the economic resources to pay the costs resulting from the disability or condition. The 
agreement allows PASSS payments to be made on the child’s behalf for medical, surgical, 
psychiatric, psychological, and counselling services, including residential treatment. 

In addition to the transfer of administration of PASSS completely to JFS, the bill makes the 
following changes: 

 Permits JFS to contract with another person to carry out the PASSS duties; 

 Uses the terms “disabled” and “disability” instead of “handicapped” or “handicap” for the 
PASSS program; 

 Prohibits PASSS payments from being made on behalf of (1) any person, 18 or older, 
beyond the end of the school year during which the person turned 18, or (2) a mentally 
or physically disabled person who is 21 or older; 



P a g e  | 166  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

 Requires the Director to adopt rules by July 1, 2022, under R.C. Chapter 119, to implement 
the recodified PASSS. The rules must establish: 

 The application process for the PASSS payments; 

 Standards for determining the children who qualify to receive PASSS payments;  

 The method of determining the amount, duration, and scope of services provided to 
a child; 

 The method of transitioning the PASSS program from PCSAs to JFS; 

 Any other rule, requirement, or procedure JFS considers appropriate for the 
implementation of this section. 

Finally, the bill requires JFS to implement the recodified PASSS program no later than 
July 1, 2022. 

Foster care and adoption home assessors 

(R.C. 3107.014) 

The bill adds the following individuals to the individuals qualified to perform the duties of 
an assessor for foster care and adoption purposes: (1) current and former PCSA caseworkers, 
(2) current PCSA caseworker supervisors, and (3) individuals with a master’s degree in social work 
or a related field and who are currently employed, and have been employed for at least two years 
in a human-services-related occupation. Under continuing law, a home study is required before 
a foster home certification may be issued or a person may adopt a child. Assessors perform a 
number of functions related to foster care and adoption, one of which is the home study to 
ascertain suitability of a person to provide foster care or to adopt.42 

Bills of Rights for foster youth and resource families 

(R.C. 2151.011, 2151.316, 5103.02, and 5103.163) 

The bill requires the JFS to adopt rules, in accordance with R.C. Chapter 119, to establish 
and enforce a Foster Youth Bill of Rights and a Resource Family Bill of Rights.  

The Foster Youth Bill of Rights is for individuals who are: (1) in the temporary or 
permanent custody of a PCSA or planned permanent living arrangement or (2) in the Title IV-E 
eligible care and placement responsibility of a juvenile court or other governmental agency and 
who are subject to out-of-home care or placed with a kinship caregiver.  

The Resource Family Bill of Rights serves resource families providing care for individuals 
who are in the custody or care and placement of an agency that provides Title IV-E reimbursable 
services under existing law.  

The bill defines a “resource caregiver” as a foster caregiver or kinship caregiver. A 
“resource family” is defined as a foster home or the kinship caregiver family. A kinship caregiver 

                                                      

42 R.C. 3107.031 and 5103.0324, not in the bill. 
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is defined as it is in existing law, which is any of the following who is 18 or older and is caring for 
a child in place of the child’s parents: 

1. The following individuals related by blood or adoption to the child: 

a. Grandparents, including grandparents with the prefix “great,” “great-great,” or 
“great-great-great”; 

b. Siblings; 

c. Aunts, uncles, nephews, and nieces, including such relatives with the prefix “great,” 
“great-great,” “grand,” or “great-grand”; 

d. First cousins and first cousins once removed. 

2. Stepparents and stepsiblings of the child; 

3. Spouses and former spouses of individuals named in (1) and (2) above; 

4. A legal guardian of the child; 

5. A legal custodian of the child; 

Any nonrelative adult that has a familiar and long-standing relationship or bond with the 
child or the family, which relationship or bond will ensure the child’s social ties. 

Preemption 

The bill specifies that if the rights of an individual under the Foster Youth Bill of Rights 
conflict with the rights of a resource family or resource caregiver, the rights of the individual 
under the Foster Youth Bill of Rights preempt the rights of the resource family or resource 
caregiver under the Resource Family Bill of Rights. 

Immunity 

The bill also provides that the rights established in the Foster Youth Bill of Rights and 
Resource Family Bill of Rights do not create grounds for a civil action against JFS, the 
recommending agency, or custodial agency. 

Notification for sibling of adopted person 

(R.C. 3107.11 and 3107.15) 

The bill provides that the legal parents of an adopted person may be notified that a sibling 
of the adopted person has been placed into out-of-home care. This notification is an exception 
to the requirement that when an adoption is finalized, the biological or other legal parents of the 
adopted person are relieved of all parental rights and responsibilities and all legal relationships 
between the adopted person and the adopted person’s relatives are terminated so that the 
adopted person becomes a stranger to the adopted person’s former relatives. 

The bill defines “sibling” as a former biological sibling, former legal sibling, or any person 
who would have been considered a sibling if not for a termination or other disruption of parental 
rights. 
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Criminal records check for individuals overseeing a child 

(R.C. 109.572) 

The bill adds several crimes to those for which the Bureau of Criminal Identification and 
Investigation must check when conducting background checks required for persons responsible 
for out-of-home child care and members of a household for a family hosting a child under a host 
family agreement. The Superintendent of the Bureau must conduct a criminal records check to 
determine whether any information exists that indicates that the person has previously been 
convicted or pleaded guilty to any of the following additional crimes: 

 Reckless homicide; 

 Aggravated vehicular homicide, vehicular homicide, and vehicular manslaughter; 

 Aggravated vehicular assault and vehicular assault; 

 Extortion; 

 Trafficking in persons; 

 Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor; 

 Unlawful possession of a dangerous ordnance and illegally manufacturing or processing 
explosives; 

 Improperly furnishing firearms to a minor; 

 Participating in a criminal gang; 

 Illegal assembly or possession of chemicals for the manufacture of drugs; 

 Permitting drug abuse; 

 Deception to obtain a dangerous drug; 

 Illegal processing of drug documents; 

 Tampering with drugs; 

 Abusing harmful intoxicants; 

 Trafficking in harmful intoxicants and improperly dispensing or distributing nitrous oxide; 

 Illegal dispensing of drug samples; 

 Possession of counterfeit controlled substances, trafficking in counterfeit controlled 
substances, aggravated trafficking in counterfeit controlled substances, promoting and 
encouraging drug abuse, and fraudulent drug advertising. 
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Background checks for institutions and associations 

(R.C. 5103.0310) 

Requirement to obtain information 

The bill requires an institution or association, which is a public or private organization, 
society, association, or agency that receives or cares for children for two or more consecutive 
weeks, to comply with the following: 

 If it is a residential facility, obtain certain background information before employing a 
person or engaging a subcontractor, intern, or volunteer.  

 If it is not a residential facility, obtain the same background information before hiring a 
person or engaging a subcontractor, intern, or volunteer, but only if the individual will 
have access to children. 

For this purpose, a “residential facility,” is a group home for children, children’s crisis care 
facility, children’s residential center, residential parenting facility that provides 24-hour child 
care, county children’s home, or district children’s home. A foster home is not a residential 
facility. 

Background information obtained 

The bill requires an institution or association described above, regarding the background 
information, to (1) obtain a search (instead of conduct a search as current law requires) of the 
U.S. Department of Justice’s National Sex Offender Public Website and (2) obtain a summary 
report (instead of request a summary report as current law requires) of a search of the uniform 
statewide automated child welfare information system (SACWIS).  

Further action 

The bill allows an institution or association described above to refuse to employ (instead 
of “hire” as current law requires) the person or to engage the subcontractor, intern, or volunteer 
based solely on the search and summary report or findings of the summary report if it contains 
an abuse or neglect determination. 

The bill also requires an institution or association described above to obtain the search 
and summary report for a person, subcontractor, intern, or volunteer if that information has not 
yet been obtained by the effective date of this provision. 

Background – current law 

Current law requires any institution or association that is a public or private organization, 
society, association, or agency that receives or cares for children for two or more consecutive 
weeks to conduct a search of the National Sex Offender website and request a summary report 
of a search of SACWIS for a person that an institution or association plans to employ – it does not 
apply to a subcontractor, intern, or volunteer. The law also does not distinguish between 
residential facilities and those that are not, and does not limit the requirement to obtain the 
search and summary report to individuals who will have access to children if the institution or 
association is not a residential facility. 
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Federal foster care assistance for emancipated young adults 

Under continuing law, an “emancipated young adult” (EYA) is a person: 

 Who was in the temporary or permanent custody of a PCSA, a planned permanent living 
arrangement, or in the Title IV-E eligible care and placement responsibility of a juvenile 
court or other governmental agency that provides Title IV-E reimbursable placement 
services; 

 Whose custody, arrangement, or care and placement was terminated on or after the 
person’s 18th birthday; and 

 Is not yet 21.43 

Jurisdiction  

(R.C. 2151.451) 

The bill expands the juvenile courts that may exercise jurisdiction over an EYA receiving 
federal foster care payments pursuant to Ohio’s Title IV-E state plan to include the court of the 
county where the EYA resided when the EYA’s custody, planned permanent living arrangement, 
or care and placement terminated. Under current law, only the juvenile court of the county 
where an EYA currently resides may exercise jurisdiction.  

Voluntary participation agreements 

(R.C. 5101.1412) 

An EYA who receives Title IV-E payments may enter a “voluntary participation agreement” 
(VPA) with JFS or its representative regarding the EYA’s care and placement. As part of the 
process, JFS or its representative must seek periodic determinations from the court concerning 
the young adult’s best interests. The bill revises the statutory terms of the judicial interactions, 
as follows: 

1. The bill rewords the mandate to require JFS or its representative to “petition for and 
obtain a judicial determination” – rather than merely than “seek approval from the court” 
as under current law – that the EYA’s best interest is served by continuing his or her care 
and placement. 

2. It makes explicit that the requirement to seek the judicial determination is tied to 
maintaining the EYA’s Title IV-E eligibility. 

Best interest determination 

(R.C. 2151.452) 

The bill eliminates the remedy that an emancipated young adult (EYA) loses eligibility for 
continued care and placement with JFS or its representative (JFS/Rep) if a court finds, not later 
than 180 days after a VPA effective date, it is not in the EYA’s best interest. Under continuing law, 
the court must still make a best-interest determination not later than those 180 days regarding 

                                                      

43 R.C. 5101.141, not in the bill. 
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an EYA’s continued care and placement with JFS/Rep, but there is no remedy if the court 
determines it is not in the EYA’s best interest.  

Reasonable efforts determination 

(R.C. 2151.452) 

The bill revises the timing of the court’s determination whether JFS/Rep has made 
reasonable efforts to prepare the EYA for independence, as follows: 

1. It requires the court to make the determination not later than 12 months after the 
VPA’s effective date, rather than 12 months after the VPA was signed as under current law; and  

2. It requires determinations “at least once every 12 months” thereafter, rather than 
merely “annually” as under current law.  

Payment suspension  

(R.C. 2151.453) 

The bill requires the suspension of federal payments for foster care for the EYA if the best 
interest and reasonable efforts determinations described above are not timely made. Under 
current law, only if the reasonable efforts determination regarding preparing the EYA for 
independence is not timely made, will the federal foster care payments be suspended. Under 
continuing law, the payments will resume upon a subsequent determination that reasonable 
efforts have been made to prepare the EYA for independence. Under the bill, a subsequent best 
interest determination will not result in the resumption of payments.  

Reimbursement for federal juvenile court programs 

(R.C. 2151.152) 

The bill adds prevention services costs under the federal Family First Prevention Services 
Act to the list of costs for which a juvenile judge may enter into an agreement with JFS to receive 
reimbursement on behalf of a child in certain circumstances. Under continuing law, JFS may seek 
federal financial participation for costs incurred by any public entity with authority to implement 
a program that JFS administers. This includes programs operated under Title IV-E, such as the 
Family First Prevention Services Act. The funds that JFS collects must be distributed to the entity 
that incurred the costs. 

The bill also adds to the list of approved circumstances of a child on whose behalf the 
judge seeks reimbursement a child who: (1) is at the imminent risk of removal from the home 
and (2) is a sibling of a child in the temporary or permanent custody of the court. 

Removes gender for who may adopt 

(R.C. 3107.03) 

The bill changes Ohio’s adoption law, regarding who may adopt, from “husband and wife” 
to “legally married couple.” 
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Publicly funded child care 

(R.C. 5104.34) 

The bill makes three changes to the law governing eligibility for publicly funded child care.  

1. Specifies that the eligibility period is to be at least 12 months. Existing law contains 
several references to a 12-month period;  

2. Provides that the child of a caretaker parent who is no longer eligible for publicly 
funded child care may continue to receive publicly funded child care for at least three months, 
rather than for 13 weeks as under current law;  

3. Removes an obsolete reference to part-time child care programs participating in the 
Step Up to Quality Program. 

Type A family day-care homes 

(R.C. 5104.017) 

The bill eliminates the requirement that JFS, when adopting rules governing the operation 
of type A family day-care homes, include standards for preparing and distributing a roster of 
parents, guardians, and custodians. It also removes an obsolete reference to school-age child 
type A family day-care homes. Type A providers can generally care for 7-12 children at one time 
and must be licensed by JFS. 

Individual Development Account (IDA) reports 

(R.C. 329.12 and 5101.971) 

The bill eliminates a requirement that a county department of job and family services 
prepare and file with JFS a semi-annual report regarding the IDA Program operated by each 
county department. The IDA Program allows lower income individuals to deposit funds into an 
account, which are then matched by the county department. The funds may be used by an 
individual to purchase a home, start a business, or for post-secondary education expenses.44 

The bill also eliminates a requirement that JFS publish an annual report regarding the IDA 
programs established and operated by county departments. 

Child care resource and referral services 

(R.C. 5104.07) 

The bill eliminates the requirement that the JFS Director adopt rules for funding child care 
resource and referral service organizations. Rather than address the eliminated topics in rule, the 
bill instead requires them to be made a part of the statewide plan for child care resource and 
referral services that JFS must develop under current law. The topics currently specified in statute 
include or address the following:  

                                                      

44 O.A.C. 5101:1-3-18(D)(1). 
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1. A description of the services that a child care resource and referral service organization 
is required to provide to families who need child care; 

2. The qualifications for a child care resource and referral service organization; 

3. A description of the procedures for providing federal and state funding for county or 
multicounty child care resource and referral service organizations; 

4. A timetable for providing child care resource and referral services to all communities in 
the state; 

5. Uniform information gathering and reporting procedures that are designed to be used 
in compatible computer systems; 

6. Procedures for establishing statewide nonprofit technical assistance services to 
coordinate uniform data collection and to publish reports on child care supply, demand, and cost 
and to provide technical assistance to communities that do not have child care resource and 
referral service organizations and to existing child care resource and referral service 
organizations; 

7. Requirements governing contracts, which may include limits on the percentage of 
funds distributed by the department that may be used for the contracts. 

Head Start program definitions 

(R.C. 5104.01) 

The bill revises the “head start program” definition used in the law governing the licensure 
and regulation of child care providers, including by doing the following: 

1. Specifying that Head Start is a school-readiness program serving children from 
low-income families, rather than a comprehensive child development program as under current 
law; 

2. Updating citations to the federal statutes. 

Fatherhood programs 

(R.C. 5101.342, 5101.805, and 5015.801, with conforming changes in R.C. 3125.18, 5101.35, and 
5153.16) 

The bill specifies in the Revised Code that the Ohio Commission on Fatherhood may make 
recommendations to the JFS Director regarding funding, approval, and implementation of 
fatherhood programs in Ohio that meet one of the four purposes of the Temporary Assistance 
for Needy Families (TANF) block grant. It includes such programs as Title IV-A programs that are 
funded in part by the TANF block grant. The bill permits JFS to (1) enter into an agreement with 
a private, not-for-profit entity for the entity to receive funds as recommended by the Commission 
and (2) to adopt rules relating to these provisions. 
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Application for determination of unemployment benefit rights 

(R.C. 4141.01) 

The bill revises the first phase of the process for determining whether a claimant is eligible 
for unemployment benefits. Determining eligibility is a two-phase process. In the first phase, a 
claimant files an application for determination of benefit rights, which, except as discussed 
below, generally examines whether the individual worked and earned enough to be eligible for 
benefits (“monetary eligibility”). This application is used to establish the claimant’s benefit rights 
and benefit year, which is the 52-week period during which the claimant may file claims for 
benefits based on satisfying the monetary eligibility requirements. A claimant does not have to 
satisfy these monetary eligibility requirements again during a benefit year. 

Currently, though, to complete phase one and establish a benefit year, JFS also examines 
the reason why the claimant is unemployed. If that reason disqualifies the claimant from 
receiving benefits, the claimant’s application is not valid and the claimant does not establish 
benefit rights or a benefit year until the disqualification is “removed” – that is, the claimant 
separates from other work for a reason that does not disqualify the claimant for benefits, an 
exception applies that negates the disqualification, or the disqualification is overturned. Reasons 
that disqualify a claimant include unemployment due to a labor dispute, quitting work without 
just cause or being discharged with just cause, or quitting to marry or because of other domestic 
obligations.45 

Thus, it appears that currently if a claimant does not establish a valid application because 
the claimant was disqualified based on the reason for unemployment, if the claimant 
subsequently applies in the near future, the claimant has to re-establish monetary eligibility as 
well as not be unemployed for a disqualifying reason. 

Under the bill, beginning July 1, 2022, a claimant establishes a benefit year based on the 
monetary factors alone, and whether the claimant is disqualified from receiving benefits based 
on the reason for separating from work will not be a factor in completing this first part of the 
process. This may allow a claimant to start the claimant’s benefit year sooner than under current 
law.  

However, this change does not eliminate the requirement that, to qualify for benefits, a 
claimant must not have separated from work for a disqualifying reason. After filing a valid initial 
application and establishing a benefit year, a claimant enters the second phase of the process. In 
the second phase, the individual must file a claim for benefits each week the individual seeks 
benefits during the individual’s benefit year. On filing the first claim in the benefit year, JFS 
examines whether the reason the claimant separated from work qualifies the claimant for 
benefits. For each claim, JFS examines other factors including whether the claimant is available, 
able, and searching for work. If a claimant is re-employed but then separates from re-
employment and files a claim for benefits before the benefit years ends, JFS again looks at the 
reason for the separation from employment to determine whether the claimant qualifies.46 If the 

                                                      

45 R.C. 4141.29 and 4141.291, not in the bill.  
46 R.C. 4141.28, not in the bill. 
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claimant is disqualified in this phase, the claimant’s benefit year continues and the claimant does 
not have to re-establish meeting the monetary eligibility requirements when filing a future claim 
in that year. 

Unemployment compensation review commission 

(R.C. 4141.21 and 4141.22) 

Confidentiality  

The Unemployment Compensation Review Commission (UCRC) hears appeals from the 
JFS Director’s determinations involving unemployment benefit claims and other issues under the 
Unemployment Compensation Law. The bill expands a current confidentiality requirement by 
making information maintained by, or furnished to, the UCRC by an employer or employee 
pursuant to the law confidential and, with one exception relating to a nonrefundable tax credit 
for eligible employee training costs, inadmissible in cases unrelated to the law. Under existing 
law, information maintained by, or furnished to, the JFS Director is confidential, with the same 
exception noted above. 

Prohibitions 

The bill prohibits a person from disclosing, unless permitted under continuing law, any 
information maintained by, or furnished to, the UCRC by an employer or employee pursuant to 
the law. Existing law applies this prohibition to information maintained by, or furnished to, the 
JFS Director. The bill also prohibits a current or former UCRC employee from divulging, except to 
specific entities during the course of employment, employer business operation information 
maintained by, or furnished to, the UCRC. Currently, this prohibition applies to employees of the 
JFS Director, a county family services agency, or a workforce development agency with respect 
to information maintained by, or furnished to, the JFS Director or those agencies.  

A person who violates these disclosure prohibitions is disqualified under continuing law 
from holding any appointment or employment with the JFS Director, a county family services 
agency, or a workforce development agency, and from an appointment or employment with the 
UCRC, as added by the bill. 

SharedWork 

(R.C. 4141.51, 4141.53, and 4141.55) 

“SharedWork Ohio” is a voluntary program in which a participating employer reduces the 
number of hours worked by the employer’s employees in lieu of layoffs. To participate in the 
program, an employer must submit a shared work plan to the JFS Director. The plan, among other 
requirements, must identify affected employees and describe the proposed percentage that their 
hours will be reduced. If the Director approves the plan, an affected employee works the reduced 
hours, and the Director provides the employee with a shared work benefit. The benefit is equal 
to the employee’s regular weekly benefit amount for a period of total unemployment as 
described in continuing law multiplied by the reduction percentage specified in the shared work 
plan. 

The bill increases the maximum percentage a participating employer may reduce an 
affected employee’s hours. Currently, the proposed reduction percentage permitted in a shared 
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work plan must be between 10% and 50%. Under the bill, the reduction must be between 10% 
and 60%. 

The bill also reduces the time period for the JFS Director to approve or deny a shared work 
plan. Under the bill, the Director must approve or deny the plan and send written notice of the 
determination to the employer no later than ten days after receiving the plan. Currently, the 
Director has 30 days.  

Under the bill, if Ohio receives reimbursement for shared work benefits from the federal 
government under any federal law, the portion of benefits being reimbursed is charged to the 
mutualized account and not to a participating employer’s experience during the period of 
reimbursement. Currently, shared work benefits can be charged to the mutualized account only 
if they are being reimbursed under the federal “Layoff Prevention Act of 2012.” That federal law 
no longer appears to be reimbursing shared work benefits.47  

The mutualized account is a separate account within the state Unemployment 
Compensation Fund. It is primarily used to pay benefits when an employer’s account cannot be 
charged for those benefits for a variety of reasons. Charging benefits that would otherwise be 
charged to an employer’s account to the mutualized account may result in the employer paying 
lower unemployment contributions.48 

  

                                                      

47 Section 2162 of the “Layoff Prevention Act of 2012,” Pub. L. No. 112-96. 
48 See R.C. 4141.25, not in the bill. 
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAID 

Medicaid waiver component definition 

 Specifies that the definition of a “Medicaid waiver component” does not include services 
delivered under a prepaid inpatient health plan. 

Medicaid rates for community behavioral health services 

 Permits the Department of Medicaid to establish Medicaid rates for community 
behavioral health services provided during FYs 2022 and 2023 that exceed the Medicare 
rates paid for the services. 

Duties of area agencies on aging 

 Requires the Department, if it adds to the Medicaid managed care system during FYs 2022 
and 2023 more Medicaid recipients who are aged, blind, disabled, or also enrolled in 
Medicare, to take certain actions regarding the duties of area agencies on aging relative 
to home and community-based waiver services. 

Hospital Care Assurance Program, franchise permit fee 

 Continues, for two additional years, the Hospital Care Assurance Program and the 
franchise permit fee imposed on hospitals under Medicaid. 

Voluntary community engagement program 

 Requires the Medicaid Director to establish a voluntary community engagement program 
for medical assistance recipients. 

 Requires the program to encourage work among able-bodied medical assistance 
recipients of working age, including providing information about the benefits of work on 
physical and mental health. 

 Provides that the program is in effect through FY 2022 and FY 2023, or until Ohio is able 
to implement the waiver component establishing work requirements and community 
engagement as a condition of enrolling in the Medicaid expansion eligibility group (also 
known as “Group VIII”). 

Nursing facilities 

Critical access nursing facilities 

 For calculating the occupancy and utilization rates to determine if a nursing facility is a 
critical access nursing facility, provides that “as of the last day of the calendar year” refers 
to the rates for the entire cost reporting period for which the nursing facility participated 
in the Medicaid program during the applicable calendar year. 

Medicaid payment rate formula 

 Removes provisions that require the Department, when determining a nursing facility’s 
occupancy rate, to include any beds that the facility removes from its Medicaid certified 
capacity, unless also removed from its licensed capacity. 
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Resident assessment data 

 Requires rules relating to the resident assessment data that nursing facilities must 
compile quarterly for each resident to specify any resident assessment data that is 
excluded from the facility’s case mix score calculated quarterly by the Department. 

Special Focus Facility Program 

 Modifies the nursing facility Special Focus Facility (SFF) Program, which requires the 
Department to terminate a nursing facility’s Medicaid participation if the facility is placed 
on the SFF list and fails to make improvements or graduate from the program within 
certain periods of time. 

 As part of the modifications, requires nursing facilities to take all necessary steps to 
improve its quality of care to avoid having its license terminated under the SFF program, 
and permits appeals relating to the amount of time a facility has been on an SFF list. 

Quality incentive and quality improvement payments 

 Repeals the quality payments and quality incentive payments that are added to nursing 
facilities’ Medicaid payment rates, and replaces them with similar, temporary payments. 

 Establishes a quality incentive payment for FY 2022 that uses a payment calculation 
methodology substantially similar to the repealed quality incentive payment. 

 By January 1, 2022, requires the Department, in consultation with the Departments of 
Aging and Health, to develop and establish quality improvement criteria that will be used 
to calculate a quality improvement payment for eligible nursing facilities. 

 Provides that the criteria replace the FY 2022 quality incentive payment if implemented 
in that fiscal year, and, if developed after FY 2022, no quality improvement payments are 
to be made until the criteria are established. 

 Requires nursing facilities to operate a location in this state with key program staff to be 
eligible for the quality improvement payments. 

Lump sum payment for low Medicaid utilization 

 Requires the Department to issue a lump sum payment to nursing facilities that have a 
Medicaid utilization rate for 2022 that is less than 90% of the aggregate Medicaid 
utilization for calendar year 2019, with certain exceptions. 

 Caps the total lump sum payments to the lesser of $50 million or an amount equal to the 
aggregate utilization shortfall across all nursing facilities during that time period. 

Temporary expansion of rebasing 

 Delays the Department’s next nursing facility rebasing until July 1, 2023. 
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Medicaid waiver component definition 

(R.C. 5166.01) 

The bill specifies that the current law definition of a “Medicaid waiver component” does 
not include services that are delivered under a prepaid inpatient health plan.49 Medicaid waiver 
component means a component of the Medicaid program authorized by a waiver granted by the 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and does not include the care management 
system. 

Medicaid rates for community behavioral health services 

(Section 333.160) 

The bill permits the Department of Medicaid to establish Medicaid payment rates for 
community behavioral health services provided during FY 2022 and FY 2023 that exceed the 
authorized rates paid for the services under the Medicare Program. This does not apply, however, 
to services provided by hospitals on an inpatient basis, nursing facilities, or ICF/IIDs. 

Duties of area agencies on aging 

(Section 333.170) 

The bill requires the Department, if it expands the inclusion of the aged, blind, and 
disabled Medicaid eligibility group or Medicaid recipients who are also eligible for Medicare 
(dual-eligible individuals) in the Medicaid managed care system during the FY 2022-FY 2023 
biennium, to do both of the following for the remainder of the biennium: 

1. Require area agencies on aging to be the coordinators of home and community-based 
waiver services they receive and permit Medicaid MCOs to delegate to the agencies full-care 
coordination functions for those and other health care services; and 

2. In selecting Medicaid MCOs, give preference to organizations that will enter into 
subcapitation arrangements with area agencies on aging under which the agencies perform, in 
addition to other functions, network management and payment functions for services that those 
recipients receive. 

Hospital Care Assurance Program, franchise permit fee 

(Sections 601.20 and 601.21, amending Sections 125.10 and 125.11 of H.B. 59 of the 130th 
General Assembly) 

The bill continues the Hospital Care Assurance Program (HCAP) for two additional years. 
The program is scheduled to end October 16, 2021. The bill extends it to October 16, 2023. Under 
HCAP, hospitals are annually assessed an amount based on their total facility costs, and 
government hospitals make annual intergovernmental transfers. The Department distributes to 
hospitals money generated by the assessments and intergovernmental transfers along with 

                                                      

49 Federal law defines a “prepaid inpatient health plan” as an entity that provides limited services to 
Medicaid enrollees through a limited-benefit risked-based plan. (42 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) 
438.2.) 
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federal matching funds. A hospital compensated under the program must provide (without 
charge) basic, medically necessary, hospital-level services to Ohio residents who are not 
recipients of Medicare or Medicaid and whose income does not exceed the federal poverty line. 

The bill also continues for two additional years another assessment imposed on hospitals; 
that assessment is to end on October 1, 2023, rather than October 1, 2021. The assessment is in 
addition to HCAP, but like that program, it raises money to help pay for the Medicaid program. 
To distinguish the assessment from HCAP, the assessment is sometimes called a hospital 
franchise permit fee. 

Voluntary community engagement program 

(Section 333.210; R.C. 5166.37, not in the bill) 

As a result of the COVID-19 public health emergency, the bill requires the Medicaid 
Director to establish and implement a voluntary community engagement program not later than 
January 1, 2022. The program must be voluntary and available to all medical assistance recipients 
(individuals enrolled or enrolling in Medicaid, CHIP, the refugee medical assistance program, or 
other medical assistance program the Department administers). The program must: 

 Encourage medical assistance recipients who are of working age and able-bodied to work; 

 Promote the economic stability, financial independence, and improved health incomes 
from work; and 

 Provide information about program services, including an explanation of the importance 
of work to overall physical and mental health. 

As part of the program, the Director must explore partnerships with education and 
training providers to increase training opportunities for Medicaid recipients. The program is to 
continue through state fiscal years 2022 and 2023, or until the Department is able to implement 
the Work Requirement and Community Engagement Section 1115 Demonstration waiver, 
whichever is sooner. 

Continuing law requires the Director to establish a Medicaid waiver component under 
which an individual eligible for Medicaid on the basis of being included in the expansion eligibility 
group (also known as “Group VIII”) – adults under age 65 with no dependents and incomes at or 
below 138% of the federal poverty level – must meet one of a list of enumerated criteria to enroll 
in Medicaid. The criteria include (1) being at least age 55, (2) being employed, (3) being enrolled 
in a school or occupational training program, (4) participating in an alcohol and drug addiction 
treatment program, or (5) having intensive physical health care needs or serious mental illness.50 
Pursuant to this requirement, the Department submitted a waiver request to the U.S. Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to implement a Work Requirement and Community 
Engagement Section 1115 Demonstration waiver program. CMS approved the waiver on March 
15, 2019; however, the program was never implemented because the federal Coronavirus Aid, 
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Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act prohibits state Medicaid programs from imposing 
additional eligibility criteria on Medicaid enrollees during the COVID-19 public health emergency. 

Nursing facilities 

Critical access nursing facilities 

(R.C. 5165.01) 

The bill clarifies terminology relating to the critical access incentive payment received by 
nursing facilities that qualify as critical access nursing facilities. Under current law, to qualify as a 
critical access nursing facility, the nursing facility must meet certain occupancy and Medicaid 
utilization rate metrics. For purposes of calculating the occupancy and utilization rates, the bill 
clarifies that “as of the last day of the calendar year” refers to the rates for the entire cost 
reporting period for which the nursing facility participated in the Medicaid Program during the 
calendar year and identified in its annual cost report filed with the Department. 

Medicaid payment rate formula 

(R.C. 5165.01, 5165.15, and 5165.17) 

In definitions, the bill provides that inpatient days include all days during which a resident, 
regardless of payment source, occupies a licensed bed in a nursing facility, instead of a bed in a 
nursing facility that is included in the facility’s Medicaid certified capacity. It also provides that a 
nursing facility’s occupancy rate refers to the percentage of licensed beds that, regardless of the 
payer source, are either reserved for use or are actually being used. 

The bill also removes provisions of law, under the ancillary and support costs and capital 
cost center components of the nursing facility payment rate, that require the Department, when 
determining a nursing facility’s occupancy rate, to include any beds that the facility removes from 
its Medicaid certified capacity, unless the facility also removes them from its licensed capacity. 

Resident assessment data 

(R.C. 5165.191) 

Relating to the resident assessment data nursing facilities must compile quarterly for each 
resident, the bill requires the associated rules to specify any resident assessment data that is 
excluded from the facility’s case mix score calculated quarterly by the Department for each 
nursing facility. 

Special Focus Facility Program 

(R.C. 5165.771) 

The bill modifies the Special Focus Facility (SFF) Program, which requires the Department 
to terminate a nursing facility’s Medicaid participation if the facility is placed on the federal SFF 
list and fails to make improvements or graduate from the SFF Program within certain periods of 
time. The SFF list is part of the SFF Program that federal law requires the U.S. Department of 
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Health and Human Services to create for nursing facilities identified as having substantially failed 
to meet federal requirements.51 

SFF tables 

The SFF has different tables. Table A identifies nursing facilities that are newly added to 
the list. Table B identifies nursing facilities that have not improved. Table C identifies nursing 
facilities that have shown improvement. Table D identifies nursing facilities that have recently 
graduated from the SFF Program. 

The bill makes nonsubstantive changes to current law regarding the SFF tables, which 
requires the Department to terminate a nursing facility’s Medicaid participation if: 

1. The nursing facility was listed in Table A or Table B on September 29, 2013, and failed 
to be placed on Table C by September 29, 2014 (12 months after the provision’s effective date); 

2. The nursing facility was listed in Table A, Table B, or Table C on September 29, 2013, 
and failed to be placed on Table D by September 29, 2015 (24 months after the provision’s 
effective date); 

3. The nursing facility is placed on Table A after September 29, 2013, and fails to be placed 
in Table C not later than 12 months after the placement in Table A; 

4. The nursing facility is placed in Table A after September 29, 2013, and fails to be placed 
in Table D not later than 24 months after the placement in Table A. 

The bill removes the effective date references. Instead, under the bill, the Department 
must terminate a nursing facility’s Medicaid participation if: 

1. The nursing facility is placed in Table A or Table B and fails to be placed in Table C not 
later than 12 months after being placed in Table A or Table B; 

2. The nursing facility is placed in Table A, Table B, or Table C and fails to be placed in 
Table D not later than 24 months after being placed in Table A, Table B, or Table C; 

3. The nursing facility is placed in Table A and fails to be placed in Table C not later than 
12 months after being placed in Table A; 

4. The nursing facility is placed in Table A and fails to be placed in Table D not later than 
24 months after the nursing facility is placed in Table A.52 

The bill requires a nursing facility to take all necessary steps to avoid having its Medicaid 
participation terminated. As part of that requirement, the bill provides that technical assistance 
and quality improvement initiatives to help a nursing facility avoid having its Medicaid 
participation terminated are available through the Nursing Home Quality Initiative (NHQI) and 
through a quality improvement organization under the NHQI. Current law requires the 

                                                      

51 42 U.S.C. 1396r(f)(10). 
52 Under the bill, numbers (3) and (4) appear to be included in (1) and (2). 
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Department of Aging to provide assistance through the NHQI at least four months before ODM 
would be required to terminate the facility’s Medicaid participation. 

The bill permits nursing facilities to appeal, under the Administrative Procedure Act, the 
length of time a facility is listed on a SFF table. The Director may adopt rules to provide for an 
expedited appeal process for those appeals, notwithstanding the Administrative Procedure Act’s 
time limits. Under current law, an order terminating a nursing facility’s Medicaid participation is 
not subject to appeal under the Administrative Procedure Act. 

Quality incentive and quality improvement payments 

(Section 333.220; R.C. 5165.15 and 5165.151; R.C. 5165.25 and 5165.26, repealed) 

The bill repeals the quality payments and quality incentive payments that are added to 
nursing facilities’ Medicaid payment rates, based on the score the facility receives for meeting 
certain quality metrics regarding its residents who have resided in the nursing facility for at least 
100 days (i.e., long-stay residents), and replaces them with similar, temporary payments. 

FY 2022 quality incentive payment 

Under the bill, for FY 2022, nursing facilities receive a quality incentive payment added to 
their Medicaid payment rates. The calculation methodology for the payment is substantially 
similar to the quality incentive payment under current law that is repealed by the bill. The total 
amount to be spent on the quality incentive payments for FY 2022 is the sum of: 

1. The amount that is 5.2% of the nursing facility’s base rate for nursing facility services 
provided on the first day of FY 2022 plus $1.79; 

2. Multiply the amount determined under (1) by the number of the nursing facility’s 
Medicaid days for the calendar year preceding FY 2022; 

3. Determine the sum of (2) for all nursing facilities for which the product was determined 
for FY 2022; 

4. To the sum determined under (3), add $50 million. 

If a nursing facility undergoes a change of operator in FY 2022, the quality incentive 
payment rate to be paid to the entering operator is the same rate that was in effect on the day 
immediately preceding the effective date of the change of operator and paid to the exiting 
operator. 

Quality improvement payment 

By January 1, 2022, the bill requires the Department, in consultation with the 
Departments of Aging and Health, to develop and establish quality improvement criteria that will 
be used to calculate a quality improvement payment for eligible nursing facilities. If the criteria 
are established in FY 2022, they replace the FY 2022 quality incentive payment. The quality 
incentive payment ends after FY 2022, or after the establishment of the quality improvement 
payment, whichever is sooner. After the quality incentive payment expires, no quality 
improvement payments are to be made until the quality improvement payment criteria are 
implemented. 
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The quality improvement standards must be used to determine a quality improvement 
payment to be made to nursing facilities, and the Departments above must include stakeholder 
input as part of the process of developing the standards. 

Key program staff 

In addition to the quality improvement standards, to be eligible for the quality 
improvement payment, a nursing facility must operate a location in Ohio with key program staff 
who are Ohio residents and who include a different individual for each of the following 
categories: 

 An administrator who works 40 hours a week during regular business hours to oversee 
the entire operation of the nursing facility. The administrator must devote sufficient time 
to facility operations to ensure adherence to program requirements and timely responses 
to the Department. 

 A medical director who is a physician holding a current, unencumbered license to practice 
medicine and surgery or osteopathic medicine and surgery with at least three years of 
training in a medical specialty. The medical director must devote at least 32 hours a week 
to the nursing facility’s operations to ensure timely medical decisions, including after-
hours consultation as needed and must be actively involved in all major clinical and quality 
management components of the facility. 

 A director of nursing who holds a current, unencumbered registered nurse license. The 
nursing director must serve 40 hours a week during regular business hours to ensure 
appropriate care to facility residents and be actively involved in all clinical and quality 
management components of the facility. 

 A quality improvement director who has experience in quality management and quality 
improvement and oversees all quality initiatives in the facility. The quality improvement 
director must be a physician, registered nurse, or physician assistant, holding a current, 
unencumbered license. 

Currently, the Revised Code does not use or define the term “unencumbered license” for 
professional regulation. Rather, it describes licenses as “current, valid licenses,” while 
unencumbered is used to reference funds or real estate. It is unclear how “unencumbered” may 
be interpreted in a licensing context. 

Rules 

The Director may adopt rules to implement these requirements, including establishing 
quality improvement standards and minimum responsibilities for the key program staff. 

Lump sum payment for low Medicaid utilization 

(Section 333.230) 

The bill establishes a lump sum payment for nursing facilities that experience low 
Medicaid utilization during state fiscal year 2022. The Department must determine the aggregate 
Medicaid utilization for all nursing facilities during state fiscal year 2022. If the Department 
determines that, for all nursing facilities, the aggregate Medicaid utilization for all of state fiscal 
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year 2022 is less than 90% of the aggregate Medicaid utilization for all nursing facilities for all of 
calendar year 2019, the Department can issue a lump sum payment to individual nursing facilities 
that had Medicaid utilization below 90% of utilization for all of fiscal year 2022. The total 
expenditures for the lump sum payments must be the lesser of $50 million, or an amount equal 
to the aggregate calculated shortfall below 90% across all nursing facilities during that period. 

The following nursing facilities are not eligible to receive a lump sum payment: 

 Nursing facilities with a Medicaid utilization rate for all of state fiscal year 2022 that 
exceeds 90% of its Medicaid utilization for all of calendar year 2019; 

 Nursing facilities that are new in state fiscal year 2022; 

 Nursing facilities that have undergone a change of operator during state fiscal year 2022; 
and 

 Nursing facilities that closed during state fiscal year 2022. 

The Department may adopt rules, in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, 
to establish eligibility criteria, the distribution formula, and the procedures by which a nursing 
facility can request a lump sum payment. 

Temporary expansion of rebasing 

(Section 333.240) 

The bill delays the Department’s next nursing facility rebasing until July 1, 2023 (FY 2024), 
notwithstanding the law that requires the Department to conduct a rebasing at least once every 
five state fiscal years. The Department conducted its last rebasing in FY 2017. A rebasing is a 
redetermination of the four cost components used to calculate a nursing facility’s per Medicaid 
day payment rate.53 
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DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH AND  
ADDICTION SERVICES 

Suspending admissions and taking action against a license  

 Authorizes the Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (OhioMHAS) 
Director to suspend admissions at the following facilities without a hearing if the licensee 
has demonstrated a pattern of serious noncompliance or the violation creates a 
substantial health and safety risk: residential facilities, certain community addiction 
services providers, and hospitals for mentally ill persons. 

 Specifies a process for appeals when admissions are suspended without a prior hearing. 

 Regarding suspending admissions, denying an application, or refusing to renew or 
revoking a license or certification, (1) authorizes OhioMHAS to take action regardless of 
whether the deficiencies have been corrected at the time of the hearing and (2) prohibits 
it from permitting an opportunity for submitting a plan of correction. 

Certifiable services and supports 

 Specifies reasons the OhioMHAS Director may refuse to certify, renew, or revoke 
certifiable services and supports provided by a community mental health or addiction 
services provider. 

 Eliminates requirements that the Director (1) identify areas of noncompliance for an 
applicant who does not satisfy certification standards and (2) provide applicants with 
reasonable time to demonstrate compliance. 

Confidentiality of substance use disorder records 

 Modifies existing requirements for maintaining confidentiality of records regarding drug 
treatment programs and services that are licensed or certified by OhioMHAS. 

 Establishes confidentiality requirements based on federal law and applies them to 
federally assisted programs for substance use disorder treatment. 

 Requires that the disclosure of any confidential information comply with the federal 
requirements. 

Stabilization centers 

 Continues the requirement that alcohol, drug addiction, and mental health services 
(ADAMHS) boards to establish and administer, in collaboration with the other ADAMHS 
boards that serve the same state psychiatric hospital region, six mental health crisis 
stabilization centers. 

 Requires the establishment and administration, in collaboration with the other ADAMHS 
boards that serve the same state psychiatric hospital region, acute substance use disorder 
stabilization centers. 
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Substance use disorder treatment in drug courts 

 Continues a medication-assisted drug court program to provide addiction treatment to 
persons with substance use disorders. 

 Requires community addiction services providers to provide specified treatment to the 
participants in the program based on the individual needs of each participant. 

Family and children first council flexible funding pool 

 Permits a county family and children first council to create a flexible funding pool to 
assure access to services by families, children, and seniors in need of protective services. 

 

Suspending admissions and taking action against a license 

(R.C. 5119.33, 5119.34, and 5119.36) 

Suspending admissions 

Current law authorizes the Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
(OhioMHAS) to suspend admissions at the following: hospitals that receive mentally ill persons, 
residential facilities, and community addiction services providers that provide overnight 
accommodations. The bill specifies that proceedings initiated to suspend admissions and appeals 
are generally governed by the Administrative Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119). However, if the 
OhioMHAS Director determines that the facility has demonstrated a pattern of serious 
noncompliance or that a violation creates a substantial risk to the health and safety of patients 
or residents, the Director may suspend admissions without a hearing. The order suspending 
admissions must be lifted if the Director determines the violation that formed the basis for the 
order has been corrected.  

When admissions are suspended without a hearing, all of the following apply to an appeal 
of that order: 

 The facility may request a hearing not later than ten days after receiving the notice; 

 If a timely request for a hearing is made, the hearing must commence within 30 days; 

 After commencing, the hearing must continue uninterrupted on business days unless the 
parties agree otherwise; 

 If the hearing is conducted by a hearing examiner, the examiner must file a report and 
recommendations with OhioMHAS within ten days after the later of the hearing ending, 
a transcript being received, or briefs being received, as applicable; 

 A written copy of the report and recommendations must be sent by certified mail to the 
facility or the facility’s attorney, if applicable, within five days of the report being filed 
with OhioMHAS; 

 The facility may file objections within five days of receiving the report; 
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 OhioMHAS must issue an order approving, modifying, or disapproving the report and 
recommendations within 15 days of it being filed by the hearing examiner; 

 OhioMHAS must lift the order suspending admissions if it determines that the violation 
that formed the basis for the order has been corrected.  

Procedures  

The bill specifies that in proceedings to suspend admissions, or to deny an application, 
refuse to renew, or revoke a license or certification, OhioMHAS may take those actions regardless 
of whether some or all of the deficiencies that prompted the proceedings have been corrected 
at the time of the hearing. When OhioMHAS issues an order related to those proceedings or 
actions it may not permit an opportunity for submitting a plan of correction. 

The bill also makes changes regarding hospitals that receive mentally ill persons, 
residential facilities, and community mental health and addiction services providers, to specify 
that proceedings initiated to deny applications for licenses or certification, to refuse to renew, or 
to revoke those licenses or certifications are governed by the Administrative Procedure Act. If an 
order suspending admissions has been issued, it remains in effect during the pendency of the 
proceedings.  

Certifiable services and supports 

(R.C. 5119.36 and 5119.99) 

Under current law, OhioMHAS certifies certifiable services and supports provided by 
community mental health services providers and community addiction services providers. The 
bill specifies that the OhioMHAS Director may refuse to certify certifiable services and supports, 
refuse to renew certification, or revoke certification if any of the following apply to an applicant 
or the holder of a certification: 

 The applicant or holder is not in compliance with OhioMHAS rules; 

 The applicant or holder has been cited for a pattern of serious noncompliance or repeated 
violations of statutes or rules during the current or any previous certification period; 

 The applicant or holder submits false or misleading information as part of a certification 
application, renewal, or investigation.  

Also regarding certification, the bill eliminates existing requirements that the Director 
(1) identify areas of noncompliance for an applicant who does not satisfy certification standards 
and (2) provide applicants with reasonable time to demonstrate compliance.  

Confidentiality of substance use disorder records 

(R.C. 5119.27) 

The bill modifies requirements for maintaining confidentiality of records or information 
regarding drug treatment programs and services that are licensed or certified by OhioMHAS. In 
their place, the bill establishes confidentiality requirements based on federal law and applies 
those requirements to records or information regarding federally assisted programs for 
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substance use disorder treatment. The bill requires the disclosure of any confidential information 
to comply with the federal requirements. 

As part of updating the confidentiality requirements, when referring to programs used 
within the criminal justice system, the bill updates outdated references to “rehabilitation in lieu 
of conviction” to instead refer to “intervention in lieu of conviction.” 

Stabilization centers 

(Sections 337.40(C) and 337.130) 

Mental health crisis stabilization centers 

The bill continues a requirement, first established for the FY 2019-FY 2020 biennium, that 
OhioMHAS allocate among the alcohol, drug addiction, and mental health services (ADAMHS) 
boards, in each of FY 2022 and FY 2023, $1.5 million for six mental health crisis stabilization 
centers. Each board must use its allocation to establish and administer a stabilization center in 
collaboration with the other ADAMHS boards that serve the same state psychiatric hospital 
region. At least one center must be located in each of the six state psychiatric hospital regions 
established by the Department. 

ADAMHS boards must ensure that each mental health crisis stabilization center complies 
with the following: 

 It must admit individuals before and after they receive treatment and care at hospital 
emergency departments or freestanding emergency departments; 

 It must admit individuals before and after they are confined in state correctional 
institutions, local correctional facilities, or privately operated and managed correctional 
facilities; 

 It must have a Medicaid provider agreement; 

 It must admit individuals who have been identified as needing the stabilization services 
provided by the center; 

 It must connect individuals when they are discharged from the center with community-
based continuum of care services and supports. 

Substance use disorder stabilization centers 

The bill requires ADAMHS boards to submit to the OhioMHAS Director a plan for the 
establishment and administration, in collaboration with the other ADAMHS boards that serve the 
same state psychiatric hospital region, acute substance use disorder stabilization centers. There 
must be at least one center in each state psychiatric hospital region. 

Substance use disorder treatment in drug courts 

(Section 337.60) 

The bill continues a requirement from previous biennia that OhioMHAS conduct a 
program to provide substance use disorder treatment, including medication-assisted treatment 
and recovery supports, to persons who are eligible to participate in a medication-assisted 
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treatment (MAT) drug court program. OhioMHAS’s program is to be conducted in a manner 
similar to programs that were established and funded by the previous three main appropriations 
acts. 

In conducting the program, OhioMHAS must collaborate with the Ohio Supreme Court, 
the Department of Rehabilitation and Correction, and any state agency that may be of assistance 
in accomplishing the objectives of the program. OhioMHAS also may collaborate with the 
ADAMHS board that serves the county in which a participating court is located and with the local 
law enforcement agencies serving that county. 

OhioMHAS must conduct its program in collaboration with any counties in Ohio that are 
conducting MAT drug court programs. OhioMHAS also may conduct its program in collaboration 
with any other court with a MAT drug court program. 

Selection of participants 

A MAT drug court program must select the participants for OhioMHAS’s program. The 
participants are to be selected because of having a substance use disorder. Those who are 
selected must be either (1) criminal offenders, including offenders under community control 
sanctions, or (2) involved in a family drug or dependency court. They must meet the legal and 
clinical eligibility criteria for the MAT drug court program and be active participants in that 
program or be under a community control sanction with the program’s participating judge. The 
total number of participants in OhioMHAS’s program at any time is limited to 1,500, subject to 
available funding. OhioMHAS may authorize additional participants in circumstances it considers 
appropriate. After being enrolled, a participant must comply with all of the MAT drug court 
program’s requirements. 

Treatment 

Only a community addiction services provider is eligible to provide treatment and 
recovery supports under OhioMHAS’s program. The provider must: 

 Provide treatment based on an integrated service delivery model that consists of the 
coordination of care between a prescriber and the provider; 

 Assess potential program participants to determine whether they would benefit from 
treatment and monitoring; 

 Determine, based on the assessment, the treatment needs of the participants; 

 Develop individualized goals and objectives for the participants; 

 Provide access to long-lasting antagonist therapies, partial agonist therapies, or full 
agonist therapies, that are included in the program’s medication-assisted treatment; 

 Provide other types of therapies, including psychosocial therapies, for both substance 
abuse disorder and any co-occurring disorders; 

 Monitor program compliance through the use of regular drug testing, including urinalysis, 
of the participants; and 
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 Provide access to time-limited recovery supports that are patient-specific and help 
eliminate barriers to treatment, such as assistance with housing, transportation, child 
care, job training, obtaining a driver’s license or state identification card, and any other 
relevant matter. 

In the case of medication-assisted treatment, the following conditions apply: 

 A drug may be used only if the drug has been federally approved for use in treating 
dependence on opioids, alcohol, or both, or for preventing relapse; 

 One or more drugs may be used, but each drug that is used must constitute a long-acting 
antagonist therapy or partial or full agonist therapy; 

 If a partial or full agonist therapy is used, the program must provide safeguards, such as 
routine drug testing of participants, to minimize abuse and diversion. 

Planning 

To ensure that funds appropriated to support OhioMHAS’s program are used in the most 
efficient manner, with a goal of enrolling the maximum number of participants, the bill requires 
the Medicaid Director to develop plans in collaboration with major Ohio health care plans. 
However, there can be no prior authorizations or step therapy for medication-assisted treatment 
for program participants. The plans must ensure: 

 The development of an efficient and timely process for review of eligibility for health 
benefits for all program participants; 

 A rapid conversion to reimbursement for all health care services by the participant’s 
health care plan following approval for coverage of health care benefits; 

 The development of a consistent benefit package that provides ready access to and 
reimbursement for essential health care services, including primary health care, alcohol 
and opioid detoxification services, appropriate psychosocial services, and medication for 
long-acting injectable antagonist therapies and partial or full agonist therapies; and 

 The development of guidelines that require the provision of all treatment services, 
including medication, with minimal administrative barriers and within time frames that 
meet the requirements of individual patient care plans. 

Family and children first council flexible funding pool 

(Section 337.160) 

The bill permits a county family and children first council to establish and operate a 
flexible funding pool to assure access to needed services by families, children, and older adults 
who need protective services. A county council that desires such a pool must abide by all of the 
following: 

 The pool must be created and operate according to formal guidance issued by the state 
Family and Children First Cabinet Council. 
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 The county council must produce an annual report on its use of the pooled funds. The 
report must conform to guidance issued by the state council. 

 Unless otherwise restricted, the pool may receive transfers of state general revenue funds 
allocated to local entities to support services to families and children. 

 The pool may receive only transfers of amounts that can be redirected without hindering 
the objective for which the initial allocation is designated. 

 The director of the local agency that originally received the allocation must approve the 
transfer to the pool. 
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

Division of Wildlife 

 Eliminates the nonresident Lake Erie Sport Fishing District permit. 

 Reduces, from $11.50 to $11.00, the fees for a senior deer permit and senior wild turkey 
permit, available to Ohio residents 66 and older. 

 Removes superfluous definitions of “resident” and “nonresident” in the law governing 
deer and wild turkey permits. 

 Removes the $500,000 cap on annual expenditures from the Wildlife Boater Angler Fund 
that the Division of Wildlife may make to pay for equipment and personnel costs 
associated with boating access improvements. 

 Alters the requirements for a veteran to receive free fishing and hunting licenses and 
permits, which administratively benefits the Ohio Department of Veterans Services, but 
will not affect the number or status of eligible veterans who may receive the benefit. 

Division of Mineral Resources Management 

Performance security for coal mining operations 

 Requires a coal mining and reclamation permittee to submit full performance security 
instead of using partial security and money from the existing Reclamation Forfeiture Fund 
for purposes of land reclamation if: 

 Ownership and operational control of the permittee has been transferred, assigned, 
or sold; and 

 The transferee has not held a mining permit in Ohio for at least five years. 

 Specifies that this restriction applies even if the status and name of the permittee 
otherwise remain the same. 

Deputy mine inspectors eligibility requirements 

 Allows an applicant for the position of deputy mine inspector of underground coal mines 
or underground noncoal mines to have experience in any underground mine located 
anywhere as long as the total experience equals six years. 

 Allows an applicant for the position of deputy mine inspector of surface mines to have 
experience in surface mines located anywhere as long as the total experience equals six 
years. 

Reciprocity for mine personnel 

 Authorizes the Chief of the Division of Mineral Resources Management to issue a 
certificate to work as a mine foreperson, foreperson, or mine electrician to an out-of-
state applicant if: 
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 The applicant holds a valid certification or other authorization from a state with which 
the Department of Natural Resources has a reciprocal agreement; and 

 The applicant passes an examination on Ohio mining law or other topics determined 
by the Chief. 

 Allows an out-of-state mine foreperson, foreperson, or mine electrician (working under a 
reciprocal agreement) who has been issued a temporary certificate to act as a foreperson 
or mine electrician in Ohio prior to the provision’s effective date to continue to work 
under that temporary certificate until it expires. 

Division of Oil and Gas Resources Management 

Oil and gas well plugging 

 Authorizes the holder of a valid well drilling permit to obtain approval from the Division 
of Oil and Gas Resources Management to plug that well without obtaining a permit to 
plug and abandon it if an oil and gas inspector approves it and either of the following 
apply:  

 The well was drilled to total depth and the well cannot or will not be completed; or 

 The well is a lost hole or a dry hole.  

 Requires the plugging of a well drilled to total depth that cannot or will not be completed 
to be completed within 30 days of the inspector’s approval.  

 Requires the plugging of a lost hole or dry hole to be completed immediately after 
determining that the well is a lost hole or dry hole in accordance with rules. 

 Clarifies that the Chief of the Division may plug and abandon wells without a permit to do 
so.  

 Specifies that the $250 application fee for a permit to plug and abandon it is 
nonrefundable and applies even if oil or gas has not been produced from the well.  

 Requires any person undertaking plugging, other than a well owner already required to 
maintain an insurance policy under current law, to obtain $1 million in bodily injury and 
property damage insurance coverage (or $3 million if the well is in an urbanized area). 

 Requires a person to electronically submit proof of that insurance to the Chief on the 
Chief’s request. 

Defective well casing and plugging requirements 

 Prohibits any person (rather than only the owner of a well, as in current law) from 
constructing a well that causes damage to other permeable strata, underground sources 
of drinking water, or the surface of the land or that threatens the public health and safety 
or the environment. 

 Prohibits any person or an owner of a well from operating a well in a way that causes the 
damage specified above or threatens the public health and safety or the environment. 
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 Retains current law prohibiting the owner of a well from allowing defective casing in a 
well to leak fluid or gases, but eliminates the requirement that the leak must: 

 Cause the damages specified above; or 

 Threaten the public health and safety or the environment. 

 Requires either a person who constructed a well or the owner of that well to notify the 
Chief of well or casing defects within 24 hours of discovering the defect, rather than only 
requiring the owner of the well to do so, as in current law. 

 Requires either the person who constructed that well or the owner of that well to 
immediately repair any defects or to plug it, rather than only requiring the owner of the 
well to do so, as in current law. 

 Requires the Chief to issue a plugging order to either the person that constructed the well 
or the owner of the well when the Chief determines the well should be plugged, rather 
than only requiring the owner of the well to do so, as in current law. 

Division of Water Resources 

 Revises the amount of the surety bond that an applicant for a dam or levee construction 
permit must obtain and bases the amount on the estimated costs of construction. 

 Authorizes the Chief of the Division of Water Resources to reduce the required surety 
amount for specified reasons. 

 Authorizes the Chief to assess a civil penalty of up to $5,000 per day for each day of each 
violation of the laws governing dams and levees and water diversions and withdrawals or 
any term or condition of a permit issued under them. 

 Disburses money derived from costs and civil penalties to either the Dam Safety Fund or 
the Water Management Fund, depending on whether violations are committed under the 
law governing dam safety or the law governing water diversions and withdrawals. 

 Requires criminal fines collected from violators of laws governing water well 
constructions logs and water diversions and withdrawals to be credited to the Water 
Management Fund, rather than the Dam Safety Fund as under current law. 

Division of Parks and Watercraft 

 Prohibits a person from operating a watercraft in Ohio if it displays an identification 
number or registration decal that: (1) is fictitious, (2) is counterfeit or an unlawfully made 
copy, or (3) belongs to another watercraft. 

 Increases the damage threshold that triggers a required watercraft accident report from 
$500 to $1,000. 
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Division of Forestry 

Forestry projects on federal land 

 Allows the Chief of the Division of Forestry to enter into agreements with the federal 
government for forest management projects, including timber sales, pursuant to federal 
law. 

 Allows the Chief to sell timber and other forest products from federal lands in accordance 
with the terms of an agreement with the federal government.  

 Requires the Chief to deposit money received from timber sales from federal lands into 
the existing State Forest Fund. 

 Allows the money derived from those timber sales to be used for forest management 
projects associated with federal lands. 

Wildfire reimbursement to firefighting agencies 

 Allows the Director of Natural Resources to reimburse firefighting agencies and private 
fire companies for costs associated with certain fire assistance activities if those costs are 
eligible in accordance with an agreement between the Division and the federal 
government. 

State employees aid in out-of-state wildfires 

 Specifies that all state employees whom the Chief sends to another state to assist with 
forest fires are eligible for regular employment benefits and are immune from civil liability 
when performing duties within the scope of employment. 

Division of Geological Survey 

 Eliminates the Ohio Geology license plate (which is not currently issued by the BMV).  

 Correspondingly, eliminates the $15 contribution for each license plate, which is 
deposited in the Geological Mapping Fund and must be used to award grants to graduate-
level educational institutions for geology-related research activities and providing 
geology kits to primary and secondary schools. 

 Instead, allows the Chief of the Division of Geological Survey to spend any money 
deposited in the Geological Mapping Fund (not just money from license plate proceeds) 
for the grants and kits.  

 Adds to the purposes for which money in the fund may be used by allowing the Chief to 
issue grants to collegiate geology departments for undergraduate geological research. 
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Division of Wildlife 

Lake Erie Sport Fishing District permit  

(R.C. 1533.38, repealed; conforming changes in R.C. 1531.01, 1533.01, and 1533.101) 

The bill eliminates the Lake Erie Sport Fishing District permit that: 

1. The Division of Wildlife issues to non-Ohio residents to fish in Lake Erie, its 
embayments, and other specified areas connected to Lake Erie; and 

2. Allows permittees to fish in the District between January and April. 

Currently, each applicant must pay a $10 annual fee for the permit, which is deposited 
into the Wildlife Fund. A nonresident who wishes to fish in the district must obtain this permit in 
addition to the nonresident annual fishing license. Thus, under the bill, a nonresident need obtain 
only a nonresident fishing license to fish in the District. 

Senior deer and wild turkey fees 

(R.C. 1533.11) 

The bill reduces, from $11.50 to $11.00, the fees for a senior deer permit and senior wild 
turkey permit, available to Ohio residents 66 and older.  

It also removes superfluous definitions of “resident” and “nonresident” in the law 
governing deer and wild turkey permits (those definitions already exist in R.C. 1531.01 and 
1533.01 and apply to the laws governing hunting and fishing). 

Wildlife Boater Angler Fund  

(R.C. 1531.35) 

The bill removes the $500,000 cap on annual expenditures from the Wildlife Boater 
Angler Fund that the Division of Wildlife may make for equipment and personnel costs associated 
with boating access improvements. Under current law, the fund generally consists of money 
derived from a portion of the motor fuel excise tax. Money in the fund is used primarily for the 
acquisition, development, and maintenance of boating access areas. 

Veterans fishing and hunting benefits 

(R.C. 1533.12) 

The bill alters the requirements for a veteran to receive free fishing and hunting licenses 
and permits. Specifically, it allows an honorably discharged Ohio resident who is entitled to 
benefits under the Dependent’s Education Assistance Program administered by the 
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs to receive free fishing and hunting licenses and permits. 
Current law, instead, allows an honorably discharged Ohio resident who receives a pension or 
compensation from the Veterans Administration (VA) and who has a disability that has been 
determined by the VA to be permanently and totally disabling to receive those benefits.  

According to the Department of Natural Resources (ODNR), this change does not affect 
the number or status of eligible veterans who may receive this benefit, but it will make the 
process of approving veterans who are eligible for free hunting and fishing licenses and permits 
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easier. Under the current method, the Ohio Department of Veterans Services reviews eligibility 
for these benefits every five years to make sure the veteran receives a pension or compensation 
from the VA. Under the new method, the Department will determine whether the veteran is 
entitled to benefits under the Education Assistance Program, which is a lifetime membership in 
the program. A veteran must be totally and permanently disabled to qualify for the program. 
Therefore, instead of reviewing a veteran’s eligibility for free hunting and fishing licenses and 
permits every five years, the Department only needs to approve the veteran once. 

Division of Mineral Resources Management 

Performance security for coal mining operations  

(R.C. 1513.08) 

Current law requires a coal mining and reclamation permit applicant to provide their own 
performance security in a specified amount or a combination of their own performance security 
and reliance on the Reclamation Forfeiture Fund. If the applicant relies partly on the fund, it must 
pay an additional coal severance tax, which is credited to the fund. The performance security 
options are available to any coal mining and reclamation permittee, no matter how long the 
permittee has held a permit. 

The bill requires a coal mining and reclamation permittee to submit full performance 
security instead of using partial security and money from the Reclamation Forfeiture Fund for 
purposes of land reclamation if: 

1. Ownership and operational control of the permittee has been transferred, assigned, or 
sold; and 

2. The transferee has not held a mining permit in Ohio for at least five years. 

It also specifies that this restriction applies even if the status and name of the permittee 
otherwise remain the same. 

Deputy mine inspector eligibility requirements  

(R.C. 1561.12) 

Current law requires an applicant for the position of deputy mine inspector of 
underground mines with the Division of Mineral Resources Management to have six years 
practical experience, at least two of which must have been in underground mines in Ohio. In the 
case of an applicant who would inspect coal mines, the two years must be in coal mines in Ohio. 
The bill does the following: 

1. Eliminates the requirement that two of the six years of experience be in Ohio 
underground coal mines for an underground coal mine inspector; 

2. Eliminates the requirement that two of the six years of experience be in Ohio 
underground noncoal mines for an underground noncoal mine inspector; and 

3. Allows the experience for either type of inspector to be in any underground mine, 
rather than in specific mining operations as under current law. 
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Thus, the applicant can have experience in any underground mine located anywhere as 
long as the total experience equals six years. 

Regarding the six years of work experience required for the position of deputy mine 
inspector of surface mines, the bill eliminates the requirement that two of the six years be in 
Ohio surface mines. Thus, the applicant can have experience in surface mines located anywhere 
as long as the total experience equals six years. 

Reciprocity for mine personnel  

(R.C. 1561.23) 

The bill authorizes the Chief of the Division of Mineral Resources Management to issue a 
certificate to work as a mine foreperson, foreperson, or mine electrician to an out-of-state 
applicant if: 

1. The applicant holds a valid certification or other authorization from a state with which 
ODNR has a reciprocal agreement for the certification or authorization; and 

2. The applicant passes an examination on Ohio mining law or other topics determined 
by the Chief. 

Under continuing law, a mine foreperson is the person whom the operator or 
superintendent of a mine places in charge of the mine. A foreperson assists the mine foreperson 
in the immediate supervision of a mine. 

The bill also allows an out-of-state mine foreperson, foreperson, or mine electrician 
(working under a reciprocal agreement) who has been issued a temporary certificate to act as a 
mine foreperson, foreperson, or mine electrician in Ohio prior to the bill’s effective date to 
continue to work under that temporary certificate. The person may continue to operate under 
the temporary certificate until it expires or the Chief suspends or revokes it.  

Current law allows an out-of-state mine foreperson, foreperson, and mine electrician who 
holds a valid certificate or other authorization for the position to work under a temporary 
certificate in an emergency. To be eligible for a temporary certificate, the foreperson or 
electrician must give the Chief a copy of the certificate or other authorization from their home 
state. A temporary certificate is valid for six months. 

Division of Oil and Gas Resources Management 

Oil and gas well plugging 

(R.C. 1509.13) 

The bill authorizes the holder of a valid permit to drill a well to obtain approval from the 
Division of Oil and Gas Resources Management to plug that well without obtaining a permit to 
plug and abandon it, if an oil and gas inspector approves it and one of the following apply: 

1. The well was drilled to total depth and the well cannot or will not be completed; or 

2. The well is a lost hole or a dry hole.  

The bill requires the permit holder plugging a well that was drilled to a total depth and 
that cannot or will not be completed to do so within 30 days of the inspector’s approval. A permit 
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holder plugging a lost hole or dry hole must do so immediately after determining that the well is 
a lost hole or dry hole in accordance with rules. The bill clarifies that the Chief of the Division 
need not obtain a permit to plug and abandon or follow these procedures in order to plug and 
abandon a well.  

Under current law, a person is generally required to obtain a permit to plug and abandon 
a well. But a well owner with a valid permit to drill the well may do so without a permit to plug 
and abandon it if an inspector approves the plugging so that it can be completed without undue 
delay. Current law does not impose the conditions or the timeframe for plugging specified by the 
bill. The bill eliminates this process for plugging and abandoning a well without a permit. 

The bill specifies that the $250 application fee for a permit to plug and abandon is 
nonrefundable and applies even if oil or gas has not been produced from the well. Under current 
law, an applicant generally must pay this application fee only if the well has produced oil or gas.  

Finally, the bill requires any person undertaking plugging a well under a permit to obtain 
$1 million in bodily injury and property damage insurance coverage ($3 million if the well is 
located in an urbanized area), including for damages caused by the plugging of the well. The 
person must submit proof of insurance electronically to the Chief on the Chief’s request. The bill 
specifies that a well owner already required to obtain an insurance policy for purposes of a well 
drilling permit does not need to obtain insurance under this requirement. 

Defective well casing and plugging requirements 

(R.C. 1509.12) 

The bill prohibits any person from constructing a well that causes damage to other 
permeable strata, underground sources of drinking water, or the surface of the land or that 
threatens the public health and safety or the environment. It also prohibits any person or an 
owner of a well from operating a well in a way that causes those damages or threatens the public 
health and safety or the environment. Current law prohibits only the owner of a well from 
constructing a well in this manner and does not specifically prohibit those damages or threats to 
the public health and safety or the environment caused by well operation. 

The bill retains current law that prohibits the owner of a well from allowing defective 
casing in a well to leak fluid or gases, but it eliminates the requirement that the leak must: 

1. Cause the damages specified above; or 

2. Threaten the public health and safety or the environment. 

Under the bill, either a person who constructed a well or the owner of that well must 
notify the Chief of well or casing defects within 24 hours of discovering the defect. Further, either 
the person who constructed the well or the owner of the well must correct the defects or plug 
the well. Current law requires the notification and corrective action to be completed solely by 
the owner of the well. 

When the Chief finds that a well should be plugged, the bill requires the Chief to order 
either the person who constructed the well or its owner to plug it. The bill prohibits any person 
from failing to comply with that order. Under current law, the Chief can only issue the order to 
the owner.  
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Division of Water Resources  

Dams and levees enforcement 

(R.C. 1521.06, 1521.061, and 1521.40) 

The Division of Water Resources regulates dams and levees, water well logs, and water 
diversions and withdrawals from state waters. The bill alters the law governing these topics by 
doing both of the following: 

1. Revising the application and financial responsibility requirements for dam or levee 
construction permits; and 

2. Revising the Division Chief’s enforcement authority, including authorizing the Chief to 
assess civil penalties for specified violations. 

The table below discusses each of these changes in more detail by comparing the changes 
made by the bill to current law requirements. 

Current law H.B. 110 

Financial responsibility – initial 

Requires an applicant for a dam or levee 
construction permit to file a surety bond equal to 
50% of the estimated construction project costs. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
No provision. 

Instead, generally requires an applicant to submit 
a surety bond equal to: 

1. $50,000 for the first $500,000 of the 
estimated cost of the project; plus 

2. 25% of the estimated cost for the next 
$4.5 million; plus 

3. 10% of the estimated cost that exceeds 
$5 million. 

 
Authorizes the Chief to reduce the above amount 
to the cost estimate for construction activities 
that would be necessary to render the dam 
nonhazardous if the estimate is provided by the 
applicant and approved by the Chief. 

Civil penalties 

No provision. Authorizes the Chief to assess (and the Attorney 
General to recover) a civil penalty of up to $5,000 
per day for each day of violation of the laws 
governing dams and levees and water diversions 
and withdrawals, any rule adopted or issued 
under those laws, or any term or condition of a 
permit issued under those laws. 
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Current law H.B. 110 

Civil penalties – disbursement 

No provision. Requires civil penalties recovered by the Attorney 
General to be disbursed to the following funds: 

1. For violations of the law governing dams 
and levees, the Dam Safety Fund. (The 
Chief uses the fund to administer that 
Dam Safety Law.) 

2. For violations of the law governing 
water diversions and withdrawals, the 
Water Management Fund. (The Chief 
uses the fund to make loans and grants 
to governmental agencies for water 
management, water supply 
improvements, and planning.)  

Recovery of costs incurred by the Division – disbursement 

Requires money recovered by the Attorney 
General, for costs incurred by the Division in 
investigating, mitigating, or removing a violation 
of any law enforced by the Division, to be 
credited to the Water Management Fund. 

Instead, requires money recovered by the 
Attorney General for costs to be disbursed to the 
following funds: 

1. For a violation of the law governing 
dams and levees, the Dam Safety Fund; 

2. For a violation of the law governing 
water diversions and withdrawals, the 
Water Management Fund. 

Criminal fine – disbursement 

Requires all criminal fines collected from violators 
of the laws governing dams and levees, water 
well construction logs, and water diversions and 
withdrawals to be credited to the Dam Safety 
Fund. 

Instead, requires criminal fines collected under 
those laws to be credited as follows: 

1. For fines collected for violations of the 
laws governing water well construction 
logs and water diversions and 
withdrawals, the Water Management 
Fund; 

2. For fines collected for violations of the 
law governing dams and levees, the 
Dam Safety Fund. 
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Division of Parks and Watercraft 

Fraudulent watercraft identification 

(R.C. 1547.533; 1547.99, not in the bill) 

The bill prohibits a person from operating a watercraft in Ohio if it displays an 
identification number or registration decal that: 

1. Is fictitious; 

2. Is counterfeit or an unlawfully made copy; or 

3. Belongs to another watercraft.  

A person who violates this prohibition is guilty of a minor misdemeanor. 

Boat accident reporting threshold 

(R.C. 1547.59) 

The bill increases the damage threshold that triggers a required watercraft accident 
report from $500 to $1,000. Under current law, a watercraft operator must submit the report to 
the Chief of the Division of Parks and Watercraft after an accident, collision, or other casualty 
involving a vessel that results in one of the following: 

1. Loss of life; 

2. Personal injury requiring medical treatment beyond first aid; 

3. Damage to property (in excess of $500 currently and in excess of $1,000 under the bill); 
or 

4. Total loss of a vessel. 

Division of Forestry 

Forestry projects on federal land 

(R.C. 1503.05 and 1503.271) 

The bill allows the Chief of the Division of Forestry to enter into agreements with the 
federal government for forest management projects, including timber sales, pursuant to 
specified federal laws. One such federal law authorizes the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture to enter 
into “good neighbor agreements.” A good neighbor agreement is a cooperative agreement or 
contract entered into between the Secretary and a state to carry out forest, rangeland, and 
watershed restoration. 

The bill allows the Chief to sell timber and other forest products from federal lands in 
accordance with the terms of an agreement with the federal government. Currently, the Chief 
may sell timber and forest products from state forests and state forest nurseries. The Chief must 
deposit money received from timber sales from federal lands into the existing State Forest Fund. 

In addition to fund uses allowed under current law, the bill allows money derived from 
the timber sales from federal lands to be used for forest management projects associated with 
those lands. 



P a g e  | 204  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

Wildfire reimbursement to firefighting agencies 

(R.C. 1503.141) 

The bill allows the ODNR Director to reimburse firefighting agencies and private fire 
companies for costs associated with wildfire suppression, prescribed fire assistance, or 
emergency response support to federal agencies. However, the Director may provide the 
reimbursement only if those costs are eligible in accordance with an agreement between the 
Division and the federal government.  

Under current law, the Director may annually designate up to $200,000 in the State Forest 
Fund for wildfire suppression payments and reimbursement to firefighting agencies and private 
fire companies for their costs incurred in wildfire suppression. The payments must be made in 
specified amounts from money in the fund derived from the sale of standing timber taken from 
state forest lands. The bill allows money for the new reimbursement authorization to support 
federal agencies to be drawn from the $200,000 allocation. 

State employees aid in out-of-state wildfires 

(R.C. 1503.33) 

The bill specifies that all state employees whom the Chief sends to another state to assist 
with forest fires are eligible for regular employment benefits (i.e., compensation, pension, 
indemnity fund rights, and workers' compensation). Additionally, they are immune from civil 
liability when performing duties within the scope of employment. 

Under current law, only Division employees are eligible for those benefits and immunity. 

Division of Geological Survey 

Elimination of Ohio Geology license plate 

(R.C. 4503.515, repealed and 1505.09) 

The bill eliminates the Ohio Geology license plate (which is not currently issued by the 
BMV). Correspondingly, it eliminates the $15 contribution for each license plate, which is 
deposited in the Geological Mapping Fund and must be used for the following purposes: 

1. Allowing the ODNR Director to award grants at least annually to geology departments 
at state colleges and universities for graduate level research conducted at locations of geological 
interest in the state; and 

2. Providing materials such as rock and mineral kits to state elementary and secondary 
schools to assist students in the study of geology. 

The bill allows the Chief of the Division of Geological Survey to expend any money 
deposited in the Geological Mapping Fund (not just money from license plate proceeds) for the 
above two purposes. Additionally, it adds to those purposes by allowing the Chief to use fund 
money for grants to collegiate geology departments for undergraduate geological research.  
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Currently, mineral severance tax money and any fees collected by the Division for 
geological record archives and other geological purposes are also deposited in the fund. In 
addition to the purposes specified above, the fund may be used to perform certain tasks related 
to geology, geological hazards, and energy and mineral resources, and for funding the Oil and 
Gas Commission. 
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OHIO CONSUMERS’ COUNSEL 

 Allows members of the governing board of the Ohio Consumers' Counsel to attend 
meetings virtually. 

 

Compensation of OCC governing board 

(R.C. 4911.17) 

The bill allows members of the governing board of the Ohio Consumers' Counsel to be 
compensated for their attendance at meetings regardless of whether they attend in person or 
virtually. Current law requires members to attend meetings in person to be compensated. 
Continuing law compensates members of the governing board for up to eight meetings per year. 
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OPPORTUNITES FOR OHIOANS WITH  
DISABILITIES AGENCY 

 Requires the Governor to present an award each October, during National Disability 
Employment Awareness Month, to employers who meet the criteria for having a 
workplace inclusive of individuals with disabilities.  

 Requires the Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities Agency to determine the criteria 
to be used to recommend employers for the award. 

 

Employer inclusive workplace award 

(R.C. 3304.24) 

The bill requires the Governor to present an award each October, during National 
Disability Employment Awareness Month, to employers who meet the criteria for having a 
workplace inclusive of individuals with disabilities. The Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities 
Agency must determine the inclusive workplace criteria to be used to recommend employers for 
the award.  

Congress dedicated October as National Disability Employment Awareness Month to 
recognize the accomplishments of individuals with disabilities in the workplace and reaffirm 
support for employment opportunities for individuals with disabilities.54 

  

                                                      

54 36 U.S.C 121 and Library of Congress, National Disability Employment Awareness Month, available here.  

https://www.loc.gov/law/help/commemorative-observations/disability-awareness.php
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OHIO OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY, PHYSICAL 
THERAPY, AND ATHLETIC TRAINERS BOARD 

Board vacancies 

 Extends to 90 days (from 60) the maximum transition period that may occur between an 
expired term of office and the Governor’s appointment of a person to fill a vacancy on 
the Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board. 

Occupational therapy licensing procedures 

 Eliminates limited permits for occupational therapists and occupational therapy 
assistants. 

 Eliminates the option to have an occupational therapist’s or occupational therapy 
assistant’s license placed in escrow when the person is not in active practice. 

Physical therapy licensing procedures 

 Eliminates the requirement that a person applying for a physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant license submit a physical description and photograph. 

 Specifies that a physical therapy license applicant must graduate from a professional 
physical therapy program and that the program be accredited by an agency acceptable to 
the Board’s Physical Therapy section. 

Orthotists, prosthetists, and pedorthists – enforcement  

 Authorizes the Board to discipline orthotists, prosthetists, and pedorthists for denial, 
revocation, suspension, or restriction of authority to practice any health care occupation 
in any jurisdiction. 

 Allows the Board to impose a fine or a requirement to take corrective action courses.  

 Requires a person who is sanctioned to pay the actual cost of the administrative hearing. 

 Transfers the duty to investigate violations to the full OTPTAT Board, in place of the 
Board’s secretary. 

 Permits the Board to share confidential investigatory information with any relevant law 
enforcement, prosecutorial, or regulatory agency. 

Discipline based on intervention in lieu of conviction 

 Permits the Board to take disciplinary action due to a judicial finding of eligibility for 
intervention in lieu of conviction for any crime that would otherwise be reason for 
disciplinary action against the various professionals the Board regulates. 

Discipline based on sexual interactions with patients 

 Includes sexual conduct with a patient among the other sex-related behaviors for which 
the Board may take disciplinary action against a physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant. 
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 Allows the Board, in its regulation of all other professionals under its jurisdiction, to take 
disciplinary action due to sexual conduct, sexual contact, and sexually demeaning verbal 
behavior with a patient. 

Jurisdiction for appeals 

 Establishes the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas as the jurisdiction for all appeals 
from orders issued by the Board. 

 

Board vacancies 

(R.C. 4755.01) 

The Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers (OTPTAT) Board 
consists of 16 members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. 
Members serve for three-year terms, but a member also must serve until a successor is appointed 
or a period of 60 days has elapsed, whichever is first. The bill extends this transition period to 90 
days. 

Occupational therapist licensing procedures 

Limited permits 

(R.C. 4755.08 (primary) and 121.22, 4755.01, 4755.02, 4755.04, 4755.05, 4755.06, 4755.11, 
and 4755.12) 

The bill eliminates provisions regarding the issuance of limited permits for occupational 
therapists and occupational therapy assistants. Under current law, if a person has taken the 
required licensing examination, a limited permit may be issued by the OTPTAT Board’s 
Occupational Therapy Section. The permit authorizes the person to practice under the 
supervision of a licensed occupational therapist until the results of the examination are public.  

Inactive licenses 

(R.C. 4755.12 (primary) and 4755.06) 

The bill eliminates the option to have an occupational therapist or occupational therapy 
assistant license placed in escrow. Under current law, this option allows an occupational therapist 
or occupational therapy assistant who is not in active practice to register as such with the 
Occupational Therapy Section for a biennial fee. 

Physical therapy licensing procedures 

Applications with physical identification 

(R.C. 4755.42 and 4755.421) 

The bill eliminates the requirement that a person seeking a license as a physical therapist 
or physical therapist assistant submit a physical description and photograph. Currently, this is 
required with every application. 
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Acceptable programs 

(R.C. 4755.42, 4755.421, and 4755.48) 

Current law requires an applicant for licensure as a physical therapist to have completed 
a master’s or doctorate in a program of physical therapy education that is accredited by a national 
physical therapy accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. The bill, 
instead, requires graduation from a professional physical therapy program, without specifying 
the degree that must be obtained. It also establishes the OTPTAT Board’s Physical Therapy 
Section as the entity that must approve of the agency that accredits the professional program. 

The bill removes related provisions specifying that any approved physical therapy 
program include (1) a minimum of 120 academic semester credits and (2) a course with 
instruction in basic sciences, clinical sciences, and physical therapy theory and procedures.  

Orthotists, prosthetists, and pedorthists – enforcement  

Authorized Board actions 

(R.C. 4779.28) 

In regulating orthotists, prosthetists, and pedorthists, the OTPTAT Board’s existing 
disciplinary options include limiting, revoking, or suspending a practitioner’s license. The Board 
also may reprimand a license holder, place a license holder on probation, or refuse to issue a 
license to an applicant. The bill allows the Board to impose a fine or a requirement that a licensee 
take corrective action courses. 

The bill also allows the Board to take disciplinary action against a licensee or applicant 
who has experienced denial, revocation, suspension, or restriction of authority to practice any 
health care profession in Ohio, another state, or any other jurisdiction. This provision does not 
include people who were sanctioned for failing to renew a license. 

Fee for administrative hearing costs 

(R.C. 4779.2810) 

The bill requires any orthotist, prosthetist, or pedorthist who is sanctioned for any reason 
to pay the cost of the administrative hearing. This includes the cost of the court reporter, hearing 
officer, transcripts, and any witness fees for lodging and travel. 

Responsibility for investigations 

(R.C. 4779.33) 

The secretary of the OTPTAT Board is currently responsible for investigating violations by 
an orthotist, prosthetist, or pedorthist. The bill transfers this duty to the full Board. 

Sharing of investigatory information 

(R.C. 4779.33) 

The bill specifies that any information and records received or generated by the OTPTAT 
Board during an investigation regarding an orthotist, prosthetist, or pedorthist are not public 
records. However, the Board may disclose information to local, state, or federal law enforcement, 
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prosecutorial, or regulatory agencies if an investigation is within their jurisdiction. The agency 
receiving the information must comply with the same confidentiality requirements as the Board. 

Under the bill, information from a Board investigation may be entered as evidence in a 
criminal trial or administrative hearing. Appropriate measures, such as sealing records or 
redacting specific information, must be taken to protect the confidentiality of patients, 
complainants, and others specified by the board. 

Discipline based on intervention in lieu of conviction 

(R.C. 4755.11, 4755.47, 4755.64, and 4779.28) 

When a professional licensed by the OTPTAT Board is convicted of a crime, the Board is 
authorized to take disciplinary action. The bill permits the Board to take action not only based on 
conviction, but also if the licensee has been subject to a judicial finding of eligibility for 
intervention in lieu of conviction. 

The specifics of the disciplinable crimes vary by profession. For occupational therapists 
and occupational therapy assistants, disciplinary action may be taken in response to a felony, a 
crime of moral turpitude, or a misdemeanor reasonably related to the practice of occupational 
therapy. The same applies to physical therapists and physical therapist assistants, except the 
misdemeanor must have occurred during the practice of physical therapy. Athletic trainers may 
be disciplined only for a felony or a crime of moral turpitude. Orthotists, prosthetists, and 
pedorthists may be disciplined for felonies or misdemeanors involving moral turpitude. 

Discipline based on sexual interactions with patients 

(R.C. 4755.11, 4755.47, 4755.64, and 4779.28) 

The OTPTAT Board currently has some disciplinary power concerning sexual contact 
between licensees and patients. The Physical Therapy Section may discipline a licensee for sexual 
contact with a patient or for verbal behavior that is sexually demeaning. Sexual contact refers to 
vaginal or anal intercourse and oral sex. Verbal behavior that is sexually demeaning includes any 
communication that may be reasonably interpreted by the patient as sexually demeaning. The 
bill adds sexual conduct with a patient as a disciplinable action for physical therapists and physical 
therapist assistants. Sexual conduct is defined as contact with an erogenous zone of another 
person with the intent to sexually arouse or gratify either person.  

The Board currently does not have the authority to discipline other licensees for sexual 
interactions with patients, including occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, 
athletic trainers, orthotists, prosthetists, and pedorthists. In the same manner described above 
for physical therapists, the bill prohibits the other professionals regulated by the Board from 
engaging in sexual contact, sexual conduct, or verbal behavior that is sexually demeaning with a 
patient. This applies even if the sexual interaction is consensual. These restrictions do not apply 
if the patient is the licensee’s spouse. 
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Jurisdiction for appeals 

(R.C. 119.12) 

An order issued by the OTPTAT Board, such as denying an applicant admission to an exam, 
denying the issuance or renewal of a license, or revoking or suspending a license, may be 
appealed by the person affected. The bill establishes the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas 
as the jurisdiction for all appeals from orders issued by the Board. This change is consistent with 
the appeal process for orders issued by several other occupational licensing boards, including the 
State Medical Board and the Board of Nursing. Current appeals of OTPTAT Board orders go to the 
common pleas court of the licensee’s county of residence or the county where the licensee’s 
place of business is located. 
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 Reallocates 10¢ of the $15 motor vehicle certificate of title fee from deposit in the Motor 
Vehicle Sales Audit Fund to deposit in the Highway Operating Fund. 

 Authorizes a Department of Public Safety enforcement agent to investigate and enforce 
the law related to illegally selling and distributing cigarettes and tobacco without the 
offense occurring at a liquor permit premises or otherwise being associated with a Liquor 
Law violation. 

 Specifies that a political subdivision employee who renders aid in another state in 
accordance with the Emergency Management Assistance Compact is considered a state 
employee for immunity purposes. 

 

Certificate of title fee allocation 

(R.C. 4505.09) 

The bill reallocates 10¢ of the $15 motor vehicle certificate of title fee from deposit in the 
Motor Vehicle Sales Audit Fund to deposit in the Highway Operating Fund. The amount of the 
certificate of title fee to be deposited in the Motor Vehicle Sales Audit Fund, to assist the Tax 
Commissioner’s investigations of motor vehicle sales and use tax returns to ensure any tax 
liability has been satisfied, is reduced from 25¢ to 15¢. Additionally, the amount deposited into 
the Highway Operating Fund, managed by the Department of Transportation for its highway 
projects, is increased from 21¢ to 31¢. The overall $15 motor vehicle certificate of title fee is not 
altered by the bill. 

Enforcement of illegal tobacco distribution 

(R.C. 5502.14) 

The bill authorizes a Department of Public Safety (DPS) enforcement agent to investigate 
and enforce the law related to illegally selling and distributing cigarettes and tobacco,55 without 
the offense occurring at a liquor permit premises or otherwise being associated with a Liquor 
Law violation. Under current law, a DPS enforcement agent may investigate and enforce most 
laws only if the violation occurs while the agent is on, immediately adjacent to, or across from a 
retail liquor permit premises while the agent is investigating that premises or while investigating 
another Liquor Law violation.56 

                                                      

55 R.C. 2927.02, not in the bill. 
56 R.C. 5502.13, not in the bill. 
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Emergency Management Assistance Compact immunity 

(R.C. 5502.30) 

The bill specifies that a political subdivision employee who renders aid in another state in 
accordance with the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC) is considered a state 
employee for immunity purposes under Article VI of the Compact. Therefore the employee is: 

1. Considered an agent of the requesting state for tort liability and immunity purposes; 
and 

2. Not liable for any act or omission done in good faith while engaged or on account of 
the maintenance or use of any equipment or supplies in connection with the engagement. 

It also specifies that this provision does not entitle a political subdivision employee to any 
other right or benefit of a state employee. 

The EMAC is law in all 50 states. Through it, states may provide mutual assistance in 
managing any emergency or disaster.57  

  

                                                      

57 See https://www.emacweb.org/. 
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PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

 Removes the requirement that the Public Utilities Commission office be open during 
specific business hours.  

 Allows the Power Siting Board (PSB) to obtain the services of outside experts and fund 
the expense through certificate or amendment application fees imposed under existing 
law. 

 

Hours of operation 

(R.C. 4901.10) 

The bill removes the requirement that the office of the Public Utilities Commission be 
open from 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, with the result that the office must 
be open simply “throughout the year, Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays excepted.” 

PSB contract for expert or analyst 

(R.C. 4906.02) 

The bill allows the Power Siting Board (PSB) to contract with experts or analysts (other 
than employees of the Environmental Protection Agency or Departments of Natural Resources, 
Agriculture, Health, or Development already called temporarily to provide assistance to 
Chairperson of the Public Utilities Commission) for the purposes of carrying out PSB’s powers and 
duties under current law. Any such expert or analyst must be compensated from the PSB 
certificate application fee, or if necessary, supplemental application fees, assessed under existing 
law.58 

  

                                                      

58 R.C. 4906.06, not in the bill. 
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DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATION  
AND CORRECTION 

Post-release control sanctions 

 Modifies current law regarding post-release control (PRC) by: 

 Changing the duration of mandatory PRC to “up to five years, but not less than two 
years” for a first degree felony that is not a felony sex offense; “up to three years, but 
not less than 18 months” for a second degree felony that is not a felony sex offense; 
and “up to three years, but not less than one year” for a third degree felony that is an 
offense of violence and is not a felony sex offense;  

 Changing the duration of discretionary PRC to “up to two years” for a third, fourth, or 
fifth degree felony that is not subject to mandatory PRC; 

 Removing juvenile court delinquent child adjudications as items that must be 
considered by the Parole Board or court in determining PRC sanctions;  

 Changing from mandatory to discretionary the use of active GPS monitoring for the 
first 14 days of a prisoner on PRC who is released before the expiration of the 
prisoner’s term and who earned over 60 days of earned credit;  

 Modifying the mechanism for shortening or terminating PRC of an offender who is 
complying with the PRC sanctions; 

 Specifying that if, during the period of PRC, the offender serves as a sanction for 
violating PRC conditions and the maximum prison sanction time available as a PRC 
sanction, the PRC terminates;  

 Providing rules for determining the manner in which PRC operates when an offender 
is simultaneously subject to a period of parole and a period of PRC or is subject to two 
simultaneous periods of PRC; and  

 Specifying that a period of PRC must not be imposed consecutively to any other period 
of PRC. 

Community control sanctions 

 Changes the authorized duration of community control sanctions imposed for a felony to 
a maximum of five years for first, second, and third degree felonies and felony sex 
offenses, three years for fourth degree felonies that are not sex offenses, and two years 
for fifth degree felonies that are not sex offenses. 

 Changes the authorized duration of community control sanctions imposed for a 
misdemeanor to a maximum of two years. 

Judicial release and 80% release mechanism 

 Changes the authorized duration of community control sanctions for prisoners released 
on judicial release or the 80% release mechanism to a maximum of five years for first, 
second, or third degree felonies or felony sex offenses, three years for fourth degree 
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felonies that are not sex offenses, and two years for fifth degree felonies that are not sex 
offenses. 

NCIC Protection Order Database and LEADS 

 With respect to five existing types of protection orders: 

 Requires the clerk of the court that issues the order to transmit it to the appropriate 
law enforcement agency for entry into the National Crime Information Center (NCIC) 
Protection Order Database maintained by the FBI and into the Law Enforcement 
Automated Data System, known as LEADS;  

 Requires law enforcement agencies to enter records of the orders received into LEADS 
by the close of the next business day after the day on which the order is issued; 

 Requires the clerk of the court that issues the order, if the order is terminated or 
canceled, to notify law enforcement agencies and other specified persons of the 
termination or cancellation; and 

 Specifies that, upon the termination or cancellation of an order, the court must order 
the appropriate law enforcement agency to remove the order from LEADS by the close 
of the next business day and ensure that the order is terminated, cleared, or canceled 
in the NCIC Protection Order Database.  

Inclusion in LEADS of findings of IST or NGRI 

 Enacts a mechanism for a court’s submission to the Attorney General, for entry into 
LEADS, of the court’s finding that a person charged with a criminal offense is incompetent 
to stand trial or not guilty by reason of insanity. 

Entry of arrest warrants into LEADS as extradition warrants 

 Requires that any warrant issued for a “Tier One Offense” (31 serious offenses specified 
in the bill) must be:  

 Entered into LEADS and the appropriate NCIC database by the law enforcement 
agency requesting the warrant within 48 hours of receipt of the warrant; and  

 Entered into LEADS by the law enforcement agency that receives the warrant with a 
full extradition radius as set by Ohio’s LEADS administrator. 

Offense of having firearms while under disability 

 Increases the penalty for the offense of “having weapons while under disability” 
(currently, always is a third degree felony) so that: 

 If the firearms disability is that the person is under indictment for or has been 
convicted of a felony offense of violence, the offense generally is a second degree 
felony, but is a first degree felony if the offender previously has been convicted of any 
of the five specified firearms disabilities; and  
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 If the firearms disability is any of the other four specified disabilities, the offense 
generally is a third degree felony, but is a second degree felony if the offender 
previously has been convicted of any of the five specified firearms disabilities.  

Offense of unlawful transactions in weapons 

 Increases the penalty for the offense of “unlawful transactions in weapons” to a third 
degree felony (currently a fourth degree felony) if the offender, in committing the 
offense:  

 Recklessly sold, loaned, gave, or furnished a firearm to a person prohibited from 
acquiring or using a firearm or dangerous ordnance to a person prohibited from 
acquiring or using any dangerous ordnance; or 

 Possessed a firearm or dangerous ordnance with purpose to dispose of it in violation 
of the prohibition described in the preceding dot point.  

 Increases the penalty for the offense of “unlawful transactions in weapons” to a second 
degree felony (currently a third degree felony) if the offender, in committing the offense, 
knowingly:  

 Solicited, persuaded, encouraged, or enticed a federally licensed firearms dealer or 
private seller to transfer a firearm or ammunition to a person in a manner prohibited 
by state or federal law;  

 With an intent to deceive, provided materially false information to a federally licensed 
firearms dealer or private seller; or 

 Procured, solicited, persuaded, encouraged, or enticed a person to act in violation of 
the prohibition described in either of the two preceding dot points.  

Offense of improperly furnishing firearms to a minor 

 Increases the penalty for the offense of “improperly furnishing firearms to a minor” to a 
third degree felony (currently a fifth degree felony).  

Firearms specification penalty 

 Increases the penalty for a specification that a felony offender had a firearm on or about 
the offender’s person or under the offender’s control while committing the felony and 
displayed, brandished, indicated possession of, or used the firearm, to: 

 A prison term of three, four, or five years (currently, three years); or  

 If the offender previously was convicted of a specification of that type or any other 
firearms specification, a prison term of 54, 66, or 78 months (currently, 54 months). 

Notification of possible prison term for community control 
violation 

 Specifies that the notice a court must give to an offender it sentences to a community 
control sanction for a felony regarding a possible prison term as a violation sanction must 
indicate “the range from which the term may be imposed.” 
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Community-based substance use disorder treatment 

 Extends eligibility for the community-based substance use disorder treatment program. 

 Removes a restriction that prevents those with certain prior offense of violence 
convictions from participating in the program. 

Subsidies for community-based corrections programs 

 Modifies the requirements for the program of subsidies for community-based corrections 
programs. 

Administrative releases  

 Expands the Adult Parole Authority’s ability to grant an administrative release to include: 
(1) a “releasee” who is serving another felony sentence in a prison within or outside Ohio 
for the purpose of consolidating the records or if justice would best be served, or (2) a 
“releasee” who has been deported from the U.S. 

Sealing of records related to an unconditional pardon 

 Allows the Governor to include as a condition of an unconditional pardon that the records 
related to conviction be sealed, and generally provides that the records are not subject 
to public inspection unless directed by the Governor. 

Internet access for prisoners  

 Provides greater flexibility for prisons to provide internet access to prisoners. 

 

Post-release control sanctions 

(R.C. 2967.28) 

Background 

The bill modifies some of the provisions regarding post-release control (PRC). PRC is a 
period of supervision by the Adult Parole Authority (APA) after a prisoner’s release from 
imprisonment, other than under a term of life imprisonment, that includes one or more post-
release control sanctions. “Post-release control sanction” means a residential sanction, 
nonresidential sanction, or financial sanction authorized for a felony under R.C. 2929.16 to 
2929.18 and that is imposed on a prisoner upon the prisoner’s release from a prison term other 
than a term of life imprisonment.59  

Under current law, when an offender convicted of a felony is released from prison, in 
some circumstances the offender must be placed under a period of PRC, and in other 
circumstances, the PRC is discretionary. When an offender is placed under a PRC period, specified 
procedures apply regarding the offender, the PRC period, and supervision of the offender. The 

                                                      

59 R.C. 2967.01, not in the bill. 



P a g e  | 220  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

Parole Board (or court in certain circumstances) imposes PRC sanctions and conditions on the 
offender that apply during the PRC period.  

Mandatory PRC 

If an offender is sentenced to prison for a first or second degree felony, for a felony sex 
offense, or for a third degree felony that is an offense of violence and is not a felony sex offense, 
the Parole Board is required to impose a period of PRC of a specified duration on the offender 
after the offender’s release from imprisonment. The bill changes the duration of mandatory PRC:  

1. From five years to “up to five years, but not less than two years” for a first degree felony 
that is not a felony sex offense; 

2. From three years to “up to three years, but not less than 18 months” for a second 
degree felony that is not a felony sex offense; and   

3. From three years to “up to three years, but not less than one year” for a third degree 
felony that is an offense of violence and is not a felony sex offense. 

The period for a felony sex offense remains five years.  

Discretionary PRC 

If an offender is sentenced to a prison term for a third, fourth, or fifth degree felony that 
is not subject to the mandatory PRC provisions described above, the Parole Board, in accordance 
with specified procedures, is authorized to impose a PRC period on the offender if it determines 
that PRC is necessary for the offender. The bill changes the duration of discretionary PRC from 
up to three years to “up to two years” for a third, fourth, or fifth degree felony that is not subject 
to mandatory PRC. 

Consideration of delinquent child adjudications 

Prior to the release of an offender for whom it will impose PRC sanctions, the Parole Board 
(or court) must review certain information in determining which PRC sanctions are reasonable 
under the circumstances. The bill removes juvenile court delinquent child adjudications as items 
that the Board (or court) must consider in determining PRC sanctions. The bill does not change 
the other information that must be considered, including the offender’s criminal history, results 
from the single validated risk assessment tool, and the record of the offender’s conduct while 
imprisoned. 

Use of active GPS monitoring 

Currently, if an offender who is placed on PRC is released from prison before the 
expiration of the offender’s prison term and the offender earned 60 or more days of credit, the 
APA must supervise the offender with an active GPS device for the first 14 days after the 
offender’s release from imprisonment. The bill changes from mandatory to discretionary the use 
of active GPS monitoring for supervising the offender in the specified circumstances. 

Shortening or terminating PRC 

At any time after a prisoner is released from imprisonment and during the PRC period, 
the APA (or court) may review the releasee’s behavior under the PRC sanctions. The APA (or 
court) may take specified actions after its review. The bill modifies the actions that the APA (or 
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court) may take. Under the bill, if the APA (or court), based on the review and in accordance with 
specified standards, determines that the releasee has satisfactorily complied with the sanctions 
imposed, it may recommend a less restrictive sanction, reduce the PRC period, or, no sooner than 
a minimum period of time, recommend that the Parole Board (or court) terminate the PRC 
period. In no case may the Board (or court) reduce the PRC duration imposed for a felony sex 
offense, described above with regard to mandatory PRC. 

Related to the bill’s changes, the bill expands a provision that currently requires the DRC 
to adopt rules that establish standards for certain PRC-related purposes to also require that the 
rules establish standards to be used by the Parole Board in terminating (or reducing, as currently 
authorized) the PRC duration when authorized as described in the preceding paragraph or in 
imposing a less restrictive sanction on a releasee based on results from the single validated risk 
assessment tool (and, as currently specified, on the releasee’s activities, including remaining free 
from criminal activity and from the abuse of alcohol or other drugs, successfully participating in 
approved rehabilitation programs, maintaining employment, and paying restitution or meeting 
the terms of other financial sanctions). 

The current provisions regarding the actions the APA (or court) currently may take, 
repealed by the bill, specify that: (1) if it determines that a more restrictive or a less restrictive 
sanction is appropriate it may impose a different sanction, (2) the APA may recommend that the 
Parole Board (or court) increase or reduce the PRC duration, (3) if the APA recommends that the 
PRC duration be increased, the Board (or court) must review the releasee’s behavior and may 
increase the PRC duration up to eight years, (4) if the APA recommends that the PRC duration be 
reduced, the Board (or court) must review the releasee’s behavior and generally may reduce the 
PRC duration or, in certain cases, reduce the PRC duration or terminate the PRC, and (5) in no 
case may the Board (or court) reduce the PRC duration for a felony sex offense to a period less 
than the length of the prison term included in the prison term originally imposed on the offender, 
consider any reduction or termination of the PRC duration imposed on a releasee prior to the 
expiration of one year after the commencement of the PRC period for certain types of indefinite 
sentences, or permit the releasee to leave Ohio without permission of the court or the releasee’s 
supervising officer. 

Termination of PRC, if maximum prison time available expires 

If the Parole Board (or court) at a hearing finds that a releasee under a PRC sanction 
violated the sanction or condition, it may increase the PRC duration up to the maximum 
authorized duration or impose a more restrictive PRC sanction. When appropriate, the Board (or 
court) may impose as a PRC sanction a residential sanction that includes a prison term. Subject 
to one limited exception, a prison term imposed as a PRC sanction under this provision may not 
exceed nine months, and the maximum cumulative prison term for all violations under this 
provision may not exceed one-half of the prison term that was originally imposed on the 
offender. The period of a prison term imposed as a PRC sanction under this provision does not 
count as, or may not be credited toward, the remaining PRC period. The bill adds a provision 
specifying that if, during the releasee’s PRC period, the releasee serves as a PRC sanction the 
maximum prison time available as a sanction, the PRC terminates. 
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Simultaneous parole and PRC; ban on consecutive PRC periods 

The bill replaces several provisions that pertain to calculating service of a PRC period. 
Under the bill:  

1. If an offender is simultaneously subject to a period of parole and a PRC period, or is 
simultaneously subject to two PRC periods, the period of supervision that expires last determines 
the length and form of supervision for all the periods and related sentences.  

2. An offender is to receive credit for PRC supervision during the period of parole, and is 
not eligible for final release under a separate provision of law60 until the PRC period otherwise 
would have ended.  

3. If the period of parole ends prior to the end of the PRC period, the requirements of 
parole supervision are to be satisfied during the PRC period.  

The bill retains a provision specifying that a PRC period may not be imposed consecutively 
to any other PRC period (although the bill does not include the express statement under existing 
law that PRC periods are to be served concurrently). 

The replaced provisions specify that: (1) a PRC period commences upon an offender’s 
actual release from prison, (2) if a PRC period is imposed and the offender also is subject to a 
period of parole, and if the PRC period ends prior to the period of parole, the offender is to be 
supervised on parole and receives credit for PRC supervision during the period of parole and is 
not eligible for final release until the PRC period otherwise would have ended, (3) if an offender 
is under a PRC period and also is subject to a period of parole, and if the period of parole ends 
prior to the PRC period, the offender is to be supervised on PRC and the requirements of parole 
supervision are to be satisfied during the PRC period, and (4) if an offender is subject to more 
than one PRC period, the PRC period for all of the sentences is the PRC period that expires last, 
as determined by the Parole Board (or court).  

Community control sanctions 

Felony community control sanctions 

(R.C. 2929.15) 

The bill changes the authorized duration of all community control sanctions that may be 
imposed on an offender convicted of a felony, from a maximum of five years for all felonies 
(under current law) to:  

1. A maximum of five years for first, second, and third degree felonies and felony sex 
offenses;  

2. A maximum of three years for fourth degree felonies that are not felony sex offenses; 
and  

3. A maximum of two years for fifth degree felonies that are not felony sex offenses.  

                                                      

60 R.C. 2967.16, not in the bill. 
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A “felony sex offense” is a violation of a section contained in R.C. Chapter 2907 that is a 
felony. 

Related to this change, the bill also changes the authorized duration of one type of penalty 
that may be imposed on an offender who was sentenced to a community control sanction for a 
felony and who violated the conditions of the sanction or left Ohio without permission of the 
court or the offender’s probation officer. The type of penalty affected is the imposition of a longer 
time under the same community control sanction. Under the bill, the court may impose as a 
penalty a longer time under the same sanction if the total time under the sanctions does not 
exceed the limit for the felony for which the community control sanction was imposed, as 
described above. The other types of penalties that may be imposed, unchanged by the bill, are a 
more restrictive community control sanction or, subject to specified limitations, a prison term 
from the range of terms that would be applicable to the offense. 

As used in these provisions, a “community control sanction” is a sanction imposed for a 
felony that is not a prison term and that is a residential sanction described in R.C. 2929.16, a 
nonresidential sanction described in R.C. 2929.17, or a financial sanction described in 
R.C. 2929.18.61 

Misdemeanor community control sanctions 

(R.C. 2929.25) 

The bill changes the authorized duration of all community control sanctions that may be 
imposed on an offender convicted of a misdemeanor from a maximum of five years (under 
current law) to a maximum of two years. 

Related to this change, the bill also changes the authorized duration of one of the types 
of penalties that may imposed as a penalty on an offender who was sentenced to a community 
control sanction for a misdemeanor and who violated the conditions of the sanction. The type of 
penalty affected is the imposition of a longer time under the same community control sanction 
– under the bill, the court may impose as a penalty a longer time under the same sanction if the 
total time under all of the sanctions does not exceed the two-year limit described in the 
preceding paragraph (currently, the total time under the sanctions may not exceed five years). 
The other types of specified penalties that may be imposed, unchanged by the bill, are a more 
restrictive community control sanction or a combination of community control sanctions, 
including a jail term. 

A “community control sanction” is a sanction that is not a jail term and that is a residential 
sanction described in R.C. 2929.26, a nonresidential sanction described in R.C. 2929.17, or a 
financial sanction described in R.C. 2929.18.62 

                                                      

61 R.C. 2929.01, not in the bill. 
62 R.C. 2929.01, not in the bill. 
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Judicial release and 80% release mechanism 

(R.C. 2929.20 and 2967.19) 

The bill changes the authorized duration of community control sanctions imposed on an 
offender released from prison on judicial release or under the 80% release mechanism, from a 
maximum of five years for all offenders (under current law) to a maximum of:  

1. Five years if the most serious offense from which the release is granted is a first, 
second, or third degree felony or a felony sex offense; 

2.Three years if the most serious offense from which the release is granted is a fourth 
degree felony that is not a felony sex offense; and   

3. Two years if the most serious offense from which release is granted is a fifth degree 
felony that is not a felony sex offense.  

A “felony sex offense” is a violation of a section contained in R.C. Chapter 2907 that is a 
felony. 

Related to this change, in an existing provision addressing a special type of judicial release 
that may be granted for a prisoner who is in imminent danger of death, is medically incapacitated, 
or is suffering from a terminal illness, the bill specifies that the limits on duration enacted in the 
change does not apply to the period of community control under which the offender is released 
(currently, the provision specifies that the current five-year limit does not apply to that period of 
community control). 

Judicial release is a mechanism under which the court that sentenced an offender 
convicted of a felony to prison may, if the offender meets certain qualifications and has served a 
specified portion of the offender’s sentence, reduce the prison term through a judicial release. 
The court may do this on its own or on motion of the offender. If the court grants a judicial 
release, it places the offender on supervised release under an appropriate community control 
sanction and appropriate conditions, and reserves the right to reimpose the sentence that it 
reduced if the offender violates the sanction. 

The 80% release mechanism is a mechanism under which the court that sentenced an 
offender convicted of a felony to a prison term may, if the offender is eligible and has served 80% 
of the prison term that remains after serving all restricting prison terms, and if the DRC Director 
recommends that the court consider releasing the offender, grant early release from prison. Only 
an offender recommended by the Director may be considered for early release under this 
mechanism. If the court grants the early release, it places the offender on supervised release 
under appropriate community control sanctions and conditions, and reserves the right to 
reimpose the sentence that it reduced and from which the offender was released if the offender 
violates the sanction. 
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NCIC Protection Order Database and LEADS 

Court’s filing of protection order with the clerk of court 

(R.C. 2151.34, 2903.213, 2903.214, 2919.26, and 3113.31) 

Under the bill, if a court issues any of five existing types of protection orders, the court 
must file the order with the clerk of the court, so that the clerk can transmit the order to the 
appropriate law enforcement agency for the purposes described below. More specifically, the 
requirement applies to the following types of protection orders: 

1. A juvenile court protection order against a person under age 18 if the order will be valid 
after the respondent’s 18th birthday.  

2. A civil protection order against a person: (a) age 18 or older who allegedly committed 
menacing by stalking or a sexually oriented offense against the person to be protected by the 
order, or (b) who allegedly has engaged in domestic violence (including any sexually oriented 
offense) against a specified family or household member, or has engaged in dating violence 
against a person with whom the respondent was in a dating relationship, who is to be protected 
under the order.  

3. A criminal protection order against a person: (a) charged with a specified assault or 
menacing offense or aggravated trespass, a substantially equivalent municipal ordinance 
violation, or a sexually oriented offense against a victim who is not a family or household member 
of the offender, or (b) charged with criminal damaging or endangering, criminal mischief, 
burglary, or aggravated trespass, a municipal ordinance violation that is substantially similar to 
any of those offenses, an offense of violence (including domestic violence), or a sexually oriented 
offense against an alleged victim who was a family or household member. 

Transmission of order and entry in NCIC and LEADS 

(R.C. 2151.34, 2903.213, 2903.214, 2919.26, and 3113.31) 

The bill specifies that the clerk of the court that issues the order must transmit it to the 
appropriate law enforcement agency for entry into the Protection Order Database of the National 
Crime Information Center (NCIC), which is maintained by the FBI, and entry into the Law 
Enforcement Automated Data System (LEADS). The entry into LEADS must be by the close of the 
next business day after the day on which the order is issued.  

Duties upon termination or cancellation of order 

If the court that issues any of the protection orders described above (or the court of 
common pleas with respect to a criminal protection order when the respondent is bound over to 
that court) terminates or cancels the order, the clerk of the court must cause delivery of notice 
of the termination or cancellation to the same persons and entities that were delivered a copy of 
the order (the petitioner, the respondent, and all law enforcement agencies with jurisdiction to 
enforce the order), and the court must issue a removal order. Upon the order’s termination or 
cancellation, the court must order the appropriate law enforcement agency to remove the order 
from LEADS by the close of the business day after the day the termination or cancellation 
occurred and must ensure that the order is terminated, cleared, or canceled in the NCIC 
Protection Order Database. 
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Inclusion in LEADS of findings of IST or NGRI 

(R.C. 2945.403) 

The bill enacts a mechanism for the entry into LEADS of court findings that a person 
charged with a criminal offense is incompetent to stand trial (IST) or not guilty by reason of 
insanity (NGRI). Under the bill, notwithstanding any Revised Code provision to the contrary, if, 
on or after the bill’s effective date, an individual is found by a court to be IST or NGRI, the judge 
who made the determination must notify the office of the Attorney General (AG) of the 
individual’s identity. The notification must be on the form made available by the AG, as described 
below, and must be transmitted by the judge not later than seven days after the adjudication or 
commitment. Upon receipt of the notice, the AG must enter the information into LEADS by the 
close of the business day after the day the notice is received. 

If a judge provides the notice to the AG and the individual subsequently is found to be 
competent, is discharged, or has a final termination of commitment, the judge must notify the 
AG’s office of the individual’s identity and of the finding, discharge, or final termination. The 
notification must be on the form made available by the AG and must be transmitted by the judge 
not later than seven days after the finding, discharge, or final termination. Upon receipt of the 
notice, the AG must take all steps necessary to ensure that the information in the notice 
previously received is removed from LEADS by the close of the business day after the notice is 
received, and that it is terminated, cleared, or canceled in the FBI-maintained NCIC database in 
which the notice is maintained. 

The bill requires the AG, by rule, to prescribe and make available to all judges forms to be 
used by them for making the notifications required by the provisions described in the preceding 
two paragraphs. 

Entry of arrest warrants into LEADS as extradition warrants 

(R.C. 2935.10 and 2935.01) 

The bill requires that any warrant issued for a “Tier One Offense” must be entered into 
LEADS, and the appropriate database of the NCIC maintained by the FBI, by the law enforcement 
agency requesting the warrant within 48 hours of receipt of the warrant. It also requires that all 
warrants issued for “Tier One Offenses” must be entered into LEADS by the law enforcement 
agency that receives the warrant with a full extradition radius as defined by the Ohio LEADS 
administrator. 

A “tier one offense” is any of the following: 
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aggravated murder 
murder  
voluntary manslaughter  
involuntary manslaughter  
aggravated vehicular homicide 
vehicular homicide 
vehicular manslaughter  
felonious assault  
aggravated assault  
aggravated menacing 
menacing by stalking 
kidnapping 
abduction 
trafficking in persons 
rape 
sexual battery 
unlawful sexual conduct with a minor 
gross sexual imposition 
pandering obscenity involving a minor  
 
pandering sexually oriented matter 
involving a minor 

illegal use of a minor in a nudity-oriented 
material or performance 
 
aggravated arson 
arson  
terrorism 
aggravated robbery 
robbery 
aggravated burglary 
domestic violence 
escape 
 
improperly discharging a firearm at or 
into a habitation, in a school safety zone, 
or with the intent to cause harm or panic 
to persons in a school, in a school 
building, or at a school function or the 
evacuation of a school function 
 
any offense involving a failure to perform 
a duty imposed under the Sex Offender 
Registration and Notification Law 

 

Penalty increases for certain firearms-related offenses 

Having weapons while under disability 

(R.C. 2923.13) 

The bill increases the penalty for the offense of “having weapons while under disability.” 
Currently, the offense always is a third degree felony. The prohibition under the offense prohibits 
a person, unless relieved from disability under operation of law or legal process, from knowingly 
acquiring, having, carrying, or using any firearm or dangerous ordnance if any of five specified 
firearms disabilities apply. 

Under the bill, if the firearms disability that is the basis of the conviction is that the person 
is under indictment for or has been convicted of or adjudicated a delinquent child for committing 
a felony offense of violence, the offense generally is a second degree felony, but it is a first degree 
felony if the offender previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to any of the five 
specified firearms disabilities. 

And under the bill, if the firearms disability that is the basis of the conviction is any of the 
other four specified disabilities, the offense generally is a third degree felony, but it is a second 
degree felony if the offender previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to any of the five 
specified firearms disabilities. The four firearms disabilities with respect to which this penalty 
provision applies are: (1) being a fugitive from justice, (2) being under indictment for or having 
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been convicted of or adjudicated a delinquent child for committing any felony drug abuse offense 
involving the illegal possession, use, sale, administration, distribution, or trafficking in a drug of 
abuse, (3) being drug dependent, in danger of drug dependence, or a chronic alcoholic, or (4) 
being under adjudication of mental incompetence, having been adjudicated as a mental 
defective, having been committed to a mental institution, having been found by a court to be a 
mentally ill person subject to court order, or being an involuntary patient other than for purposes 
of observation. 

Unlawful transactions in weapons 

(R.C. 2923.20) 

Modified penalties 

The bill increases the penalty to a third degree felony, from a fourth degree felony under 
current law, if a person is convicted of the prohibition against: (1) recklessly selling, lending, 
giving, or furnishing any firearm to any person prohibited under the offense of “having weapons 
while under disability” or “using weapons while intoxicated” from acquiring or using any firearm, 
or recklessly selling, lending, giving, or furnishing any dangerous ordnance to any person 
prohibited by either of those two offenses, the offense of “unlawful possession of dangerous 
ordnance,” or the offense of “illegally manufacturing or processing explosives” from acquiring or 
using any dangerous ordnance, or (2) possessing any firearm or dangerous ordnance with 
purpose to dispose of it in violation of the prohibition described in clause (1) of this paragraph. 

The bill increases the penalty to a second degree felony, from a third degree felony under 
current law, if (subject to the exception described below) a person is convicted of the prohibition 
against: (1) knowingly soliciting, persuading, encouraging, or enticing a federally licensed 
firearms dealer or private seller to transfer a firearm or ammunition to any person in a manner 
prohibited by state or federal law, (2) with an intent to deceive, knowingly providing materially 
false information to a federally licensed firearms dealer or private seller, or (3) knowingly 
procuring, soliciting, persuading, encouraging, or enticing a person to act in violation of the 
prohibition described in clause (1) or (2) of this paragraph. These prohibitions do not apply to a 
law enforcement officer acting within the scope of the officer’s duties or to a person acting in 
accordance with directions given by a law enforcement officer acting within the scope of the 
officer’s duties.  

Improperly furnishing firearms to a minor 

(R.C. 2923.21) 

The bill increases the penalty for the offense of “improperly furnishing firearms to a 
minor” to a third degree felony from a fifth degree felony. The prohibitions under the offense 
prohibit a person from: 

1. Subject to a law enforcement officer exemption, selling any firearm to a person who is 
under age 18; 

2. Subject to a law enforcement officer exemption, selling any handgun to a person who 
is under age 21; 
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3. Furnishing any firearm to a person who is under 18 or, possibly subject to a law 
enforcement officer exemption, furnishing any handgun to a person who is under 21, except for 
lawful hunting, sporting, or educational purposes, including specified supervised safety, care, 
etc., purposes; 

4. Selling or furnishing a firearm to a person who is 18 or older if the seller or furnisher 
knows, or has reason to know, that the person is purchasing or receiving the firearm for the 
purpose of selling the firearm in violation of paragraph (1) to a person who is under 18 or for the 
purpose of furnishing the firearm in violation of paragraph (3) to a person who is under 18; 

5. Selling or furnishing a handgun to a person who is 21 or older if the seller or furnisher 
knows, or has reason to know, that the person is purchasing or receiving the handgun for the 
purpose of selling the handgun in violation of paragraph (2) to a person who is under 21 or for 
the purpose of furnishing the handgun in violation of paragraph (3) to a person who is under 21; 

6. Purchasing or attempting to purchase any firearm with the intent to sell the firearm in 
violation of paragraph (1) to a person who is under 18 or with the intent to furnish the firearm in 
violation of paragraph (3) to a person who is under 18; or 

7. Purchasing or attempting to purchase any handgun with the intent to sell the handgun 
in violation of paragraph (2) to a person who is under 21 or with the intent to furnish the handgun 
in violation of paragraph (3) to a person who is under 21. 

Firearm specification penalties 

(R.C. 2929.14, 2941.141, 2941.144, and 2941.145) 

The bill increases the penalty imposed on an offender for one type of firearm 
specification, when the offender is convicted of a felony, the specification pertains to the 
commission of the felony, and the offender also is convicted of the specification. The bill does 
not change the penalties required for conviction of the other two types of firearm specifications. 
The specification penalties do not apply to a person convicted of “carrying a concealed weapon,” 
“illegal conveyance of a deadly weapon or dangerous ordnance into a courthouse,” “illegal 
possession of a deadly weapon or dangerous ordnance in a courthouse,” “Illegal conveyance or 
possession of a deadly weapon or dangerous ordnance in a school safety zone” in certain cases, 
“illegal possession of an object indistinguishable from a firearm in a school safety zone” in certain 
cases, “improperly handling firearms in a motor vehicle,” “illegal possession of a firearm in liquor 
permit premises,” or “having weapons while under disability” in certain cases. 

Specification – offender had firearm while committing offense  

Under the bill, the court must impose a prison term of three, four, or five years (changed 
from three years under current law), if an offender who is convicted of a felony also is convicted 
of a specification charging that the offender had a firearm on or about the offender’s person or 
under the offender’s control while committing the felony and displayed, brandished, or indicated 
possession of the firearm, or used the firearm to facilitate the felony offense, subject to the 
provision described in the next paragraph. However, the court must impose a prison term of 
three years (and does not have the option of four or five years) if the offender also is sentenced 
to a consecutive prison term under the existing provisions that require a consecutive prison term 
after being convicted of a specification that the offender is a repeat violent offender or a 
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specification that the offender is a violent career criminal and a firearm was present or involved 
in the offender’s felony in a specified manner.  

Under the bill, if an offender who is convicted of a felony also is convicted of a firearm 
specification of the type described in the preceding paragraph and the offender previously has 
been convicted of a specification of that type or any other type of firearms specification, the 
court must impose on the offender a prison term of 54, 66, or 78 months (changed from 
54 months under current law). However, the court must impose a prison term of 54 months (and 
does not have the option of 66 or 78 months) if the offender also is sentenced to a consecutive 
prison term under the existing provisions that require a consecutive prison term after being 
convicted of a specification that the offender is a repeat violent offender or a specification that 
the offender is a violent career criminal and a firearm was present or involved in the offender’s 
felony in a specified manner. 

Service of prison term imposed for firearm specification 

If a court imposes a prison term on an offender for the firearm specification described 
above (or for any of the other existing firearms specifications), the prison term may not be 
reduced by earned credit, by judicial release, or under the 80% release mechanism under existing 
law, or under any other provision of R.C. Chapter 2967 or 5120. A mandatory prison term 
imposed for any of the firearm specifications must be served consecutively to any other 
mandatory prison term imposed for a specification, consecutively to and prior to any prison term 
imposed for the underlying felony, and consecutively to any other prison term or mandatory 
prison term previously or subsequently. 

Notification of possible prison term for community control 
violation 

(R.C. 2929.19 and 2929.15) 

Currently, a court that sentences an offender to a community control sanction for a felony 
must notify the offender that, if the offender violates the sanction conditions, commits a violation 
of any law, or leaves Ohio without permission of the court or the offender’s probation officer, 
the court may impose any of several types of sanctions. The notice must identify the specified 
types of sanctions.  

The bill changes the reference to one of the types of sanctions, which is a possible prison 
term. Under the bill, instead of indicating “the specific prison term” that may be imposed for the 
violation out of the range of terms available for the offense under the Felony Sentencing Law, as 
required under current law, the notice must indicate the “range from which” the prison term 
may be imposed for the violation, which must be the range of terms available for the offense 
under that Law. The bill does not change the references that must be included in the notice to 
the other types of sanctions that may be imposed, which are a longer time under the same 
community control sanction or a more restrictive community control sanction. The bill also 
conforms a cross-reference to that notification in the existing provision governing the imposition 
of a prison term for such a violation or leaving of the state. 
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Community-based substance use disorder treatment 

(R.C. 5120.035) 

The bill extends eligibility for the community-based substance use disorder treatment 
program to nonviolent third degree felony offenders, and removes a restriction that prevents 
those with any prior conviction of a felony offense of violence or a prior conviction of a 
misdemeanor offense of violence within the preceding five years from participating in the 
program. 

Continuing law requires DRC to operate a program for community-based substance use 
disorder treatment of qualified nonviolent fourth and fifth degree felony offenders who are in 
their final year of imprisonment.  

Subsidies for community-based corrections programs 

(R.C. 5149.31) 

The bill modifies the requirements for the program of subsidies for community-based 
corrections programs by also making the subsidies contingent upon the outcomes of any 
performance-based standards established by DRC. It requires DRC’s standards for community-
based corrections programs to be designed to support evidence-based policies and practices, as 
defined by DRC. 

Administrative releases  

(R.C. 2967.17) 

The bill expands an existing provision that allows the Adult Parole Authority (APA) to grant 
an administrative release to certain categories of convicted offenders under specified conditions 
to also allow the APA, in its discretion, to grant an administrative release to a “releasee” who is: 
(1) serving another felony sentence in a prison within or outside Ohio for the purpose of 
consolidation of the records or if justice would best be served, or (2) taken into custody by the 
U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service and deported from the U.S. An “administrative 
release” is a termination of jurisdiction over a particular sentence or prison term by the APA for 
administrative convenience. A “releasee” is an inmate who has been released from confinement 
at the expiration of a prison term under a period of post-release control that includes one or 
more post-release control sanctions.63   

The existing conditions regarding an administrative release, unchanged by the bill, specify 
that: (1) the APA may not grant an administrative release except upon concurrence of a majority 
of the Parole Board and approval of the APA’s Chief, (2) an administrative release does not 
restore for the recipient rights and privileges forfeited by conviction, and (3) a recipient may 
subsequently apply for a commutation of sentence to regain the rights and privileges forfeited 
by conviction, except that specified election-related privileges may not be restored and the 
privilege of holding a position of honor, trust, or profit may not be restored under this provision 
to a recipient convicted of specified offenses in certain circumstances. 

                                                      

63 R.C. 2967.01, not in the bill. 
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The categories of offenders for whom the APA currently may grant an administrative 
release are: (1) parole violators or release violators serving another felony sentence in a prison 
within or outside Ohio for the purpose of consolidation of the records or if justice would best be 
served, (2) parole violators at large or release violators at large whose case has been inactive for 
at least ten years following the declaration of the violation, and (3) parolees taken into custody 
by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service and deported from the U.S. 

Sealing of records related to unconditional pardon 

(R.C. 2967.04) 

The bill allows the Governor to include as a condition of an unconditional pardon that the 
records related to conviction be sealed, and generally provides that the records are not subject 
to public inspection unless directed by the Governor. Inspection of the records or disclosure of 
information contained in them may be made pursuant to the Sealing Law regarding the 
inspection of sealed records or as the Governor may direct. A disclosure of records sealed under 
a writ issued by the Governor is not a criminal offense. 

Internet access for prisoners  

(R.C. 5120.62 and 5145.31) 

The bill provides greater flexibility for prisons to provide internet access to prisoners by 
replacing existing law that allows prisoner internet access while “participating in an approved 
educational program with direct supervision that requires the use of the internet for training or 
research purposes,” with a provision that allows prisoner access to the internet for uses or 
purposes approved by the prison’s managing officer or the managing officer’s designee. 

  



P a g e  | 233  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

SECRETARY OF STATE 

 Removes from the statement that a foreign nonprofit corporation must submit to the 
Secretary of State in order to obtain a certificate of authority the statutory requirement 
that the statement set forth the location of the corporation’s principal office in Ohio. 

 Specifies that the $5 fee the Secretary of State may charge for service of process is per 
address served.  

 Requires grants the Secretary of State receives from the U.S. Election Assistance 
Commission, other than through the Help America Vote Act, to be deposited in the 
Miscellaneous Federal Grants Fund and spent in accordance with the grant agreement. 

 

Foreign nonprofit corporation certificate of authority 

(R.C. 1703.27) 

Under current law, a foreign nonprofit corporation is prohibited from exercising its 
corporate privileges in Ohio until it receives a certificate authorizing it to do so from the Secretary 
of State. In applying for the certificate, the foreign nonprofit corporation must provide a 
statement setting forth specified information, including the location of its principal office in Ohio 
and the appointment of a designated agent. The bill removes the requirement to list an Ohio 
office and clarifies that the appointment of the agent must comply with the designated agent 
provisions that apply to foreign nonprofit corporations. 

Service of process fees 

(R.C. 111.16) 

The bill specifies that the $5 fee the Secretary of State may charge for service of process 
is charged per address served. All Ohio businesses are required to have an agent for receiving 
official and legal documents, and that agent’s contact information is required to be registered 
with the Secretary of State. If a person sues a business, notice of that fact is served to the agent 
at the registered address. If the agent cannot be reached, the person seeking to sue can deliver 
the notice to the Secretary of State, who will serve the notice to various last-known addresses of 
the business (such as the address in the business’s most recent tax filings). The bill clarifies that 
the charge for this service is $5 for each of these addresses. 

Federal grants 

(R.C. 111.28) 

The bill requires any federal grants the Secretary of State receives from the U.S. Election 
Assistance Commission (EAC), other than for purposes established under the federal Help 
America Vote Act (HAVA), to be deposited in the Miscellaneous Federal Grants Fund instead of 
the HAVA Fund.  
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Currently, any federal grants from the EAC are placed in the HAVA Fund, even if they are 
not related to HAVA. The HAVA Fund is used for activities conducted pursuant to HAVA, while 
the Miscellaneous Federal Grants Fund is used according to the applicable federal grant 
agreements under other federal programs. 
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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Income tax 

 Explicitly authorizes an income tax deduction for all railroad retirement benefits that are 
exempt from state taxation under federal law. 

 Clarifies that nonresident income not subject to personal income tax based on a 
reciprocity agreement between Ohio and another state may be deducted on a taxpayer’s 
Ohio return. 

 Clarifies that a taxpayer may claim a credit for any income tax withheld on behalf of the 
taxpayer, including from a taxpayer’s wages, retirement income, or lottery and casino 
winnings. 

 Eliminates the requirement that, if claiming the business income deduction, each 
business or professional activity generating income for a taxpayer be reported on their 
annual income tax return. 

 Extends the amount of time within which a taxpayer must report to the Tax Commissioner 
a change in the amount of the taxpayer’s resident credit for income that is taxed in 
another state or the District of Columbia. 

 Declares that the state does not intend to impose income tax on unemployment 
compensation reported to a person whose identity was fraudulently used by a third party 
to collect unemployment compensation. 

Use tax 

 Repeals several inoperable provisions of use tax law that would have applied only in the 
event that an act of Congress authorized states to compel sellers that do not have a 
physical presence in the state (“remote sellers”) to collect and remit use tax. 

Commercial activity tax 

 Requires that a taxpayer’s preceding year’s taxable gross receipts be used to calculate the 
commercial activity tax owed on its first $1 million in gross receipts, instead of its current 
year’s receipts. 

 Codifies an administrative rule that elaborates on which business entities are considered 
to be part of a consolidated elected or combined taxpayer group. 

Estate tax 

 Makes several administrative changes to the state’s repealed estate tax. 

Property tax 

 Authorizes combined health districts to levy property tax, with voter approval, for 
operating expenses. 
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 Authorizes a property tax exemption for certain housing used by individuals diagnosed 
with mental illness or substance use disorder. 

 Requires an application for a property and sales and use tax exemption for certain 
facilities used to abate pollution, noise, or energy waste to separately identify property 
exclusively and necessarily used for the operation of the facility. 

Tax cross-references 

 Updates and corrects several cross-references in state tax law. 

Tax administration 

 Extends the time allowed for the Tax Commissioner to approve or deny a political 
subdivision’s request to transfer money between certain funds of the subdivision. 

 Allows the Department of Taxation to disclose to the State Racing Commission 
confidential taxpayer information to assist the Commission with administering horse 
racing permits and taxes on horse racing. 

 Explicitly authorizes the Tax Commissioner to review additional information provided by 
an applicant for a state tax refund and to adjust the amount of the refund multiple times 
before issuing a final refund determination. 

 Adds resort area and tourism development gross receipts taxes to the list of tax 
obligations respecting which the Tax Commissioner must periodically verify the 
compliance of liquor permit holders. 

 Requires the monthly disbursements made by the Tax Commissioner from the Wireless 
9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund to county treasurers to be made in the same 
proportion distributed to that county in the corresponding calendar month of the 
previous year, instead of basing them on 2013 distributions made by the Public Utilities 
Commission (PUCO). 

 Requires any shortfall in distributions resulting from the timing of funds received in a 
previous month to be distributed in the following month, instead of calculating the 
county’s share of the fund by proportionally reducing the distributions to be equivalent 
to the amount available in the fund. 

 

Income tax 

Taxation of railroad retirement benefits 

(R.C. 5747.01(A)(5)) 

The bill explicitly authorizes an income tax deduction for all railroad retirement benefits 
that are exempt from state taxation under federal law. Current Ohio law allows a deduction for 
Tier I railroad retirement benefits, but does not specifically allow a deduction for other types of 
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railroad retirement benefits that are exempted from state taxation under federal law, i.e., any 
railroad retirement annuities and supplemental annuities.64  

Deduction for certain nonresident income 

(R.C. 5747.01(A)(33) and 5747.10; Section 803.60) 

Continuing law authorizes the Tax Commissioner to enter into an agreement with the 
Commissioner’s counterparts in another state or the District of Columbia pursuant to which 
residents of that state are exempted from Ohio’s income tax on income earned or received in 
Ohio, as long as the other state provides the same tax treatment for Ohio residents. In the 
absence of such a reciprocity agreement, Ohio’s income tax generally applies to the income of 
nonresidents earned in Ohio. Currently, Ohio has entered into such agreements with its 
bordering states – Indiana, Kentucky, West Virginia, Michigan, and Pennsylvania.65 

The bill clarifies that income not subject to state income tax because of one of these 
reciprocity agreements may be deducted on the nonresident taxpayer’s annual Ohio income tax 
return. 

Income tax credit for tax withholdings 

(R.C. 5747.08(H); Section 803.70) 

The bill clarifies that any income tax withheld, including from a taxpayer’s wages, 
retirement income, or lottery and casino winnings, entitles the taxpayer who is required to report 
the income on the taxpayer’s annual return to claim a credit for those withheld amounts. Under 
continuing law, employers, public retirement systems, the state lottery commission, casino 
operators, and video lottery sales agents are required to withhold state income tax and school 
district income tax on a taxpayer’s wages, retirement income, or lottery and casino winnings, as 
applicable.  

The bill states that the provision is intended to clarify existing law and applies to taxable 
years beginning on and after January 1, 2016. 

Business reporting requirement 

(R.C. 5747.08(L); Section 803.80) 

The bill removes a requirement that a taxpayer claiming the business income deduction 
indicate on their annual income tax return each business or professional activity from which that 
income is derived. Under current law, these indications must be reported according to each 
activity’s corresponding North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code. This 
reporting requirement is no longer required for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2021. 

                                                      

64 45 U.S.C. 231m. 
65 See Ohio Department of Taxation, Employer Withholding – Reciprocity FAQs, 
https://tax.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/tax/help-center/faqs/employer-withholding-reciprocity/employer-
withholding-reciprocity. 

https://tax.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/tax/help-center/faqs/employer-withholding-reciprocity/employer-withholding-reciprocity
https://tax.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/tax/help-center/faqs/employer-withholding-reciprocity/employer-withholding-reciprocity


P a g e  | 238  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

Continuing law authorizes an income tax deduction for up to $250,000 of the taxpayer’s 
business income (or $125,000 for a spouse filing a separate return). 

Resident credit amended return period 

(R.C. 5747.05(B)) 

The bill extends, from 60 days to 90 days, the time within which a resident taxpayer must 
report to the Tax Commissioner a change in the amount of the taxpayer’s credit for income that 
is taxed in another state or the District of Columbia. Likewise, the bill extends, from 60 days to 
90 days, the time for a resident taxpayer to request a refund due to a change in that credit. 

Continuing law allows an income tax credit for a resident Ohio taxpayer for any income 
that is subject to both Ohio income tax and income tax in another state or the District of 
Columbia. The credit equals the lesser of the income tax liability owed on that income in the 
other jurisdiction or the Ohio income tax liability that would otherwise be owed on that income 
if not for the credit. In essence, the resident credit prevents the double taxation of the same 
income by Ohio and another jurisdiction. If there is a change in the taxpayer’s taxable income or 
tax liability that impacts the amount of the taxpayer’s resident credit, then the taxpayer is 
required to report the change by filing an amended return. 

Tax on fraudulent unemployment compensation 

(Sections 757.10 and 812.23) 

The bill declares that the state does not intend to collect tax on unemployment 
compensation benefits reported to a person whose identity was fraudulently used by a third 
party to collect those benefits. Under continuing law, unemployment benefits are subject to 
federal, state, and school district income tax. 

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) requires the Department of Job and Family Services 
(JFS) to issue IRS Form 1099-G to every person who was issued unemployment benefits. The bill 
encourages any taxpayer who receives a Form 1099-G that includes fraudulent unemployment 
benefits to report the fraud to JFS for the purpose of receiving a corrected Form 1099-G. Although 
the IRS, in Information Release 2021-24, instructs taxpayers who are victims of identity theft to 
only report actual unemployment benefits received, the IRS warns that a corrected Form 1099-
G is required to avoid receiving an unexpected federal tax bill for unreported income.66 

                                                      

66 See Internal Revenue Service, “IRS Offers Guidance to Taxpayers on Identity Theft Involving 
Unemployment Benefits,” January 28, 2021, available at https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/irs-offers-
guidance-to-taxpayers-on-identity-theft-involving-unemployment-benefits. 

https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/irs-offers-guidance-to-taxpayers-on-identity-theft-involving-unemployment-benefits
https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/irs-offers-guidance-to-taxpayers-on-identity-theft-involving-unemployment-benefits


P a g e  | 239  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

Use tax 

Remote sellers 

(R.C. 5741.01 and 5741.03; R.C. 5741.032, repealed; Section 757.50 of H.B. 59 of the 130th 
General Assembly, repealed) 

The bill repeals several inoperable provisions of use tax law that would have applied only 
in the event that an act of Congress authorized states to compel sellers that do not have a physical 
presence in the state (“remote sellers”) to collect and remit use tax on internet and catalog 
transactions. The repealed provisions expressed the General Assembly’s intent, upon the 
enactment of such a federal act, to enact conforming legislation, earmarked a small portion of 
new collections for administrative costs and the remainder for the Income Tax Reduction Fund, 
and exempted remote sellers with annual sales of $1 million or less. 

In 2018, the U.S. Supreme Court struck down a long-standing interpretation of the 
Commerce Clause (Article 1, Section 8 of the U.S. Constitution) that prevented states from 
compelling remote sellers to collect and remit state sales or use taxes.67 Following that decision, 
many states (including Ohio) began requiring remote sellers with sufficient local “contacts” to 
collect and remit the taxes. (Continuing Ohio law requires the consumer to pay use tax directly 
to the state in instances where it is not remitted by the seller.) Since this extension of state tax 
collection authority was sanctioned by a holding of the U.S. Supreme Court rather than an act of 
Congress, the provisions repealed by the bill remain inoperable. 

Commercial activity tax 

Minimum commercial activity tax computation 

(R.C. 5751.03; Section 812.20) 

The bill requires the minimum commercial activity tax (CAT) to be computed based on the 
taxpayer’s taxable gross receipts reported in the preceding year, rather than the current year. 
Otherwise, the minimum tax tiers remain the same. 

The CAT is levied on the basis of a business’s gross receipts from Ohio sales. A business 
with $150,000 or less in annual taxable gross receipts pays no CAT. Otherwise, the CAT rate 
equals 0.26% of a business’s taxable gross receipts in excess of $1 million annually. A differently 
calculated “minimum tax” applies to the taxpayer’s first $1 million of taxable gross receipts. The 
amount of minimum tax owed varies according to the business’s total taxable gross receipts 
received, under current law, in the year for which the tax is being calculated, as follows: 

 

                                                      

67 See, South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc., 585 U.S. ___, 138 S. Ct. 2080 (2018). 
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CAT minimum tax 

If taxpayer’s total taxable gross receipts are. . .  The CAT minimum tax is. . .  

Greater than $150,000, but not over $1 million $150 

Greater than $1 million, but not over $2 million $800 

Greater than $2 million, but not over $4 million $2,100 

Greater than $4 million $2,600 

 

Common ownership test for taxpayer groups 

(R.C. 5751.051) 

The bill codifies an administrative rule that elaborates on which business entities are 
considered to be part of a CAT consolidated elected or combined taxpayer group.68  

Under the CAT, each entity in a consolidated elected taxpayer group may elect, and each 
entity in a combined taxpayer group is required, to aggregate their taxable gross receipts and file 
as a single taxpayer. A taxpayer group consists of one or more common owners and all the 
entities in which that the common owner holds a certain level of ownership interest (either 50% 
or 80%, depending on the situation).  

The bill codifies rules for determining the value of an ownership interest and who is 
considered a common owner, as follows: 

Type of entity Ownership rules 

Corporation Ownership interest is based on the value of stock with voting 
rights.  

Limited partnership Ownership interest is based on the general partnership interests in 
the entity. 

Pass-through entity other than 
limited partnerships 

Ownership interest is based on fair market value of the voting 
interests in the entity. 

                                                      

68 O.A.C. 5703-29-02. 
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Type of entity Ownership rules 

Unincorporated business 
without a formal partnership 
agreement (“implied 
partnership”) 

If the business files an Internal Revenue Service Form 1065 
partnership return, ownership interest is based on a person’s 
capital account contributions.  

If the business does not file Form 1065 but owns rental property, 
the common owner is the person or persons who hold the deed to 
the property.  

If neither of the above apply, the common owner is based on the 
number of persons in the group. 

Trust The common owner depends on the type of trust, and may be the 
grantor, a beneficiary, or no one. 

 

Estate tax  

(R.C. 319.54, 321.27, 5731.21, 5731.24, 5731.28, and 5731.41) 

The bill makes several administrative changes to the state’s repealed estate tax. The 
estate tax was repealed on January 1, 2013, but currently continues to apply to newly discovered 
property of individuals who died before that date.  

Newly discovered property and refunds 

First, the bill provides that no estate tax will be due for property that is first discovered 
after December 31, 2021, or property discovered before that date, but not yet disclosed or 
reported by that date. Similarly, an executor or similar official may no longer file an application 
for an estate tax refund after that date.  

Administrative fees 

The bill modifies fees paid to county auditors and treasurers for the administration of the 
estate tax. Under current law, such fees are tiered based on countywide collections. The bill 
instead provides for a flat fee equal to 2% of the net tax collected. 

The bill also fixes additional compensation paid to county auditors to enforce real 
property, manufactured home, and estate tax law.69 Under current law, auditors are 
compensated based on a sliding per capita scale that varies according to the county’s population 
based on the most recent census, up to $3,000 annually. The bill prohibits the fee from varying 

                                                      

69 This compensation appears to apply to any agent of the Tax Commissioner appointed in that 
enforcement capacity, but county auditors do fulfill that role and appear to be the actual recipients of the 
compensation. See, e.g., David Yost, “Compensation Increase Legislation pertaining to Nonjudical County 
Elected Officials, Judges and Boards of Elections Members (House Bill Number 64),” Auditor of State 
Bulletin 2016-001 (April 20, 2016), available here.  

https://ohioauditor.gov/publications/bulletins/2016/2016-001.pdf


P a g e  | 242  H.B. 110 
As Introduced 

with future censuses by fixing the compensation according to the county’s 2010 census 
population. 

Property tax 

Combined health district property tax 

(R.C. 3709.291) 

The bill authorizes combined health districts to levy property tax, with voter approval, for 
operating expenses. Combined health districts include the union of two or more city health 
districts, two or more county health districts, or at least one city health district and at least one 
county health district. 

The tax may be levied for any rate and for a term of up to ten years. Before it is levied, it 
must be approved by the voters in the combined health district’s territory, in the same manner 
as most other voter-approved property taxes. Once a combined district levies a property tax, it 
must comply with the subdivision budgeting and accounting and tax administration provisions to 
which other taxing authorities are subject. Similar to other taxing authorities, a district that levies 
such a tax may issue debt secured by anticipated tax collections. 

Under current law, health districts are not authorized to directly levy a property tax. A 
county, however, may levy property tax for the benefit of a county health district.70 But a county 
may not levy such a tax for a combined health district, at least, any combined district whose 
territory extends to other counties or does not include a county health district.  

Property tax exemption for supportive housing  

(R.C. 5709.121; Section 803.30) 

The bill authorizes a property tax exemption for housing used by individuals diagnosed 
with mental illness or substance use disorder and their families. To qualify: 

1. The owner of the property must be a tax-exempt 501(c)(3) organization, or a pass-
through entity whose controlling member either is a 501(c)(3) organization or is owned by one 
or more 501(c)(3) organizations, for which providing such housing is a primary purpose. 

2. At least one of those 501(c)(3) organizations must receive some of its funding from the 
Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services; a county board of alcohol, drug addiction, 
and mental health services; or a local continuum of care – a regional or local planning body that 
coordinates housing and services funding for homeless families and qualifies for federal funding 
from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. 

In addition, the property owner must either (a) use the property to provide such housing, 
(b) lease the property to individuals with mental illness or substance use disorder and make 
supportive service available to such individuals, or (c) lease the property to a charitable 
institution that uses the property for charitable purposes. 

                                                      

70 R.C. 3709.29, not in the bill. 
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Under continuing law, property owned by a charitable organization and used exclusively 
for charitable purposes is exempt from taxation. Courts have generally not favored extending the 
charitable use exemption to residential properties. In fact, in May 2020, the Board of Tax Appeals 
(BTA) reversed an exemption for a property that would meet the bill’s requirements. The BTA 
found that, based on Supreme Court precedent, the use of the property primarily for private 
residential purposes could not be considered a charitable use.71 

The new exemption applies to tax year 2021 and thereafter, as well as to exemption 
applications or appeals pending on the provision’s effective date. 

Pollution control, energy facility tax exemption 

(R.C. 5709.21; Section 803.40) 

Under continuing law, a pollution control facility or a facility that converts natural gas, oil, 
solid waste, or waste heat to other forms of energy in industrial or commercial settings may apply 
to the Department of Taxation to exempt property used for such purposes from property tax and 
purchases of such property from sales and use tax. Before approving a facility for such 
exemptions and issuing an “exempt facility certificate,” the Department must obtain certification 
that a facility qualifies for those exemptions from the Environmental Protection Agency in the 
case of a pollution control facility or the Department of Development in the case of an energy 
conversion facility.  

The bill requires applications for an exempt facility certificate to identify property 
exclusively and necessarily used for the operation of the facility (“exclusive property”), as distinct 
from auxiliary property that may also be used for other purposes. For already-filed applications 
in which exclusive property and auxiliary property are not separately distinguished, the bill 
requires the applicant to prove which property is exclusive property. Under continuing law, 
exclusive property qualifies for a full property tax exemption and auxiliary property is partially 
exempted, based on the extent to which it is used for an exempt purpose.  

Cross-reference corrections 

(R.C. 5726.20, 5747.01(A)(6), (S)(5), and (GG), 5747.10, and 5751.40; Sections 803.50 and 803.60) 

The bill makes several updates and corrections to cross-references in state tax law, as 
follows: 

 Corrects an erroneous cross-reference in the financial institutions tax law; 

 Corrects an erroneous cross-reference in the definition of taxable business income under 
the business income deduction law; 

 Corrects an erroneous cross-reference in the law governing the qualified distribution 
center exclusion used in computing taxable gross receipts for the commercial activity tax; 

 Updates references to the federal “targeted jobs” tax credit in the state’s income tax law 
to reflect the federal credit’s new name, the “work opportunity” tax credit. 

                                                      

71 Columbus City Schools Dis. Bd. of Edn. v. McClain, et al. (May 28, 2020), BTA No. 2018-649.  
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Tax Administration 

Local funds transfer approval period 

(R.C. 5705.16) 

The bill extends from ten days to 30 days the Tax Commissioner’s deadline to either 
approve or deny the request of a political subdivision authorized to levy property tax (a “taxing 
authority”) to transfer money between certain of its funds, starting from the time that the 
request was first received.  

Continuing law regulates the ability of a taxing authority to transfer revenue between its 
funds. Some funds may be transferred unilaterally, without obtaining approval from any official, 
e.g., transfers from the taxing authority’s general fund to another fund. On the other hand, some 
transfers are outright prohibited, such as the transfer of funds derived from a tax or license fee 
imposed for a specific purpose.72 Any other transfer that is neither unilaterally permitted nor 
prohibited must first be approved by the Tax Commissioner, pursuant to an application of the 
taxing authority. The Commissioner may authorize the transfer of funds if the Commissioner finds 
that the transfer is justified or necessary and that no injury would result from the transfer.  

Disclosing taxpayer information to State Racing Commission 

(R.C. 5703.21(C)(20)) 

The bill authorizes the Department of Taxation to disclose to the State Racing Commission 
otherwise confidential taxpayer information for the purpose of assisting the Commission with 
administering taxes on horse racing and its responsibilities for issuing, denying, suspending, or 
revoking horse racing permits. The Commission, in turn, must keep the information confidential, 
unless its disclosure is authorized by law. 

Continuing law permits disclosure of certain taxpayer information in the Department of 
Taxation’s possession to other state agencies and offices under specified circumstances to aid in 
the implementation of Ohio law. Otherwise, the Department may not disclose such information, 
and any Department agent or employee that does so is subject to employment termination and 
a fine. 

State tax refund review process 

(R.C. 5703.70) 

Under continuing law, a taxpayer may apply to the Tax Commissioner for a refund of 
overpaid state taxes. If the Commissioner determines that the taxpayer is not entitled to the 
amount requested, the Commissioner must provide the taxpayer with a written notice of that 
preliminary determination. The taxpayer then has 60 days to provide the Commissioner with 
additional documentation supporting the taxpayer’s request for the refund, request a hearing on 
the matter, or both. Then, the Commissioner may issue a final refund determination, which the 
taxpayer may appeal to the Board of Tax Appeals. 

                                                      

72 R.C. 5705.14 and 5705.15, not in the bill. 
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If the taxpayer provides additional information in response to the Commissioner’s 
preliminary refund determination, the bill explicitly authorizes the Commissioner to review and 
make adjustments to the taxpayer’s refund as many times as necessary before the Commissioner 
issues a final determination.  

Tax obligations of liquor permit holders 

(R.C. 4303.26 and 4303.271; Section 803.20) 

Continuing law requires the Division of Liquor Control, before approving the transfer or 
renewal of a liquor permit, to confirm with the Tax Commissioner that the applicant is not 
delinquent in paying, filing returns for, or providing information regarding sales taxes, withheld 
income taxes, horse-racing taxes, alcoholic beverage taxes, motor fuel taxes, petroleum activity 
taxes, cigarette and other tobacco product taxes, or casino gross receipts taxes. The Division is 
generally prohibited from renewing or transferring the liquor permit until the delinquency is 
addressed. Beginning February 1, 2022, the bill additionally requires the Division to confirm that 
the applicant is current on payments of resort area and tourism development district gross 
receipts taxes levied by certain townships and municipalities.  

The Commissioner is required, under continuing law, to annually review the Department’s 
tax records and notify the Division if any liquor permit holder is delinquent in paying, filing returns 
for, or providing information regarding any of the aforementioned taxes. Beginning February 1, 
2022, the bill adds resort area and tourism development district gross receipts taxes to the list of 
taxes that are subject to this annual review.  

Under continuing law, a municipality or township meeting the requirements of a “resort 
area” may levy a gross receipts tax on businesses for sales made in its territory to raise operating 
revenue. Municipalities and townships that are in a tourism development district may levy a 
similar gross receipts tax to foster or develop tourism. Though levied by local subdivisions, these 
taxes are collected and administered by the Tax Commissioner. 

Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund 

(R.C. 128.55) 

Ongoing law requires the Tax Commissioner to make monthly disbursements, plus 
accrued interest, from the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund to county treasurers. 
Under the bill, the disbursements are to be made in the same proportion that the Tax 
Commissioner distributed to that county in the corresponding calendar month of the previous 
year. If a shortfall in distributions results because of the timing of funds received in a previous 
month, the bill requires that the shortfall amount be distributed in the following month. 

Currently, counties receive monthly disbursements from the fund based on how much 
the Public Utilities Commission distributed to each county in 2013. But, if the amount available 
in the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund is insufficient to make the required monthly 
disbursements, each county’s share is proportionately reduced for the month. Shortfalls in 
monthly county disbursements due to insufficient funds from the previous month are remedied 
in the following month. 
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Under continuing law, Ohio wireless subscribers and purchasers of prepaid wireless 
service pay a charge that provides funds to support 9-1-1 systems. Wireless subscribers pay a 25¢ 
monthly charge, and purchasers of prepaid wireless service pay 0.5% of the sale price for the 
wireless service. The charges are deposited in the Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund, 
the Wireless 9-1-1 Administrative Fund, the Wireless 9-1-1 Program Fund, and the Next 
Generation 9-1-1 Fund. The Wireless 9-1-1 Government Assistance Fund receives 97% of the 
charges collected, plus interest.73 

  

                                                      

73 R.C. 128.021, 128.03, 128.42, and 128.54, not in the bill. 
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NOTES 

Effective dates 

(Sections 812.10 to 812.23) 

Article II, Section 1d of the Ohio Constitution states that “appropriations for the current 
expenses of state government and state institutions” and “[l]aws providing for tax levies” go into 
immediate effect and are not subject to the referendum. The bill includes a default provision 
stating that, except as otherwise specifically provided, the amendment, enactment, or repeal of 
a section is subject to the referendum and takes effect on the 91st day after the act is filed with 
the Secretary of State (barring the filing of a referendum petition). The bill also includes 
exceptions to the default provision, some of which provide that specified provisions are not 
subject to the referendum and go into immediate effect. 

Expiration 

(Section 809.10) 

The bill includes an expiration clause stating that an item that composes the whole or part 
of an uncodified section contained in the bill (other than an amending, enacting, or repealing 
clause) has no effect after June 30, 2023, unless its context clearly indicates otherwise. 

HISTORY 

Action Date 

Introduced 02-16-21 
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