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SUMMARY

®  Requires a railroad company to submit to the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
(PUCO) an incident report each time the company blocks a crossing for more than five
minutes to the hindrance of those trying to cross.

" |mposes a first degree misdemeanor and the following fines for a railroad company that
does not submit an incident report in accordance with the bill:

O For a first violation within a 30-day period, $5,000;
O For any subsequent violation within a 30-day period, $10,000.

®  Requires the PUCO to adopt rules to administer the incident reporting process for
railroad companies.

®  Requires the PUCO to submit an annual report to the General Assembly that contains
aggregated incident report information each year by July 1.

® Increases the fines for a railroad company that blocks a crossing for more than five
minutes to the hindrance of those trying to cross.

DETAILED ANALYSIS

Train blocking a road: incident report

The bill requires a railroad company to submit to the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
(PUCO) an incident report each time the railroad company unlawfully obstructs a public road.!
The railroad company must submit the incident report even if the company is not charged or
cited with a violation. However, if a railroad company submits an incident report for which no

1 R.C. 5589.25(A)(1), also see R.C. 5589.21(A), not in the bill.
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charges, citations, or complaints have been made or filed, the company is not subject to a
penalty solely as a result of the submission of the report.? Under current law, a railroad
company unlawfully obstructs a public road if it allows a railroad car, locomotive, or other
obstruction to remain on or across it for longer than five minutes, to the hindrance or
inconvenience of travelers or a person.?

Penalty for not submitting an incident report

A railroad company that does not submit an incident report in accordance with PUCQO’s
rules is guilty of a first degree misdemeanor and is fined as follows:

1. For a first violation within a 30-day period, $5,000;
2. For any subsequent violation within a 30-day period, $10,000.
Incident report rules

The PUCO must adopt rules in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act that
specify all of the following:

1. The time period after an incident by which a railroad company must submit an incident
report;

2. The manner in which the railroad company must submit the incident report; and

3. The information that a railroad company must include in each incident report, including
all of the following:

a. The date on which the incident occurred;

b. The railroad crossing that was blocked by the railroad company during the incident;
and

c. The duration of the blocked railroad crossing and the time the blocking began and
the time the blocking concluded.*

The PUCO may adopt these new rules without simultaneously removing two or more
other existing regulatory restrictions, which would otherwise be required under Ohio law.
These new rules also are not counted towards PUCQO’s inventory of regulatory restrictions.>

Annual report of incident reports

The bill requires the PUCO, by July 1 each year, to compile all incident reports submitted
during the prior calendar year. It then must submit an annual report to the President and
Minority Leader of the Senate and the Speaker and Minority Leader of the House of

2 R.C. 5589.25(C).

3 R.C. 5589.21(A), not in the bill.
4R.C. 5589.25(B).

>R.C. 5589.25(F) and 121.95(E)(7).
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Representatives. The PUCO must ensure that the annual report consists of aggregated incident
information and is presented in a manner that depicts:

1. The number of incident reports attributable to each railroad company; and

2. The aggregate amount of time that each railroad company blocked railroad crossings
during the year in violation of Ohio law.®

Violations for blocking a crossing for more than five minutes

As discussed above, current law prohibits a railroad company from unlawfully
obstructing a public road.” Whoever violates this prohibition is guilty of a first degree
misdemeanor and is fined $1,000. Under the bill, the penalty is still a first degree misdemeanor,
but the fine is increased as follows:

1. For afirst violation within a 30-day period, $5,000;
2. For any subsequent violation within a 30-day period, $10,000.2
However, this penalty may not be enforceable (sese COMMENT).

COMMENT

The bill increases the fine assessed against a railroad company that blocks a crossing for
longer than five minutes to the hindrance or inconvenience of those trying to cross. However, a
court may rule that any penalty imposed for a violation of this prohibition is not enforceable.

In CSX Transportation, Inc. v. City of Plymouth, 283 F.3d 812 (6% Cir. 2002), the Sixth
Circuit Court of Appeals (which has jurisdiction over Ohio), struck down a similar Michigan
statute that prohibited a railroad company from blocking a crossing for longer than five
minutes. The court reasoned that this statute was not enforceable because it was preempted
by the Federal Railroad Safety Act (FRSA).

The court stated that the statute was preempted by the FRSA because the amount of
time a moving train spends at a grade crossing is mathematically a function of the length of the
train and the speed at which the train is traveling. The Michigan statute would require the
railroad company to modify either the speed at which its trains travel or their length, and would
also restrict the company’s performance of federally mandated air brake tests.’ The FRSA
covers the subject matter of train safety, including speeds and air brake tests, and thus a state
cannot regulate these matters.

Since Ohio’s law is very similar to Michigan’s law, a court may rule that enforcement of
the law is in violation of the FRSA and thus not enforceable.

6 R.C. 5589.25(A)(2).

7R.C. 5589.21(A), not in the bill.
8 R.C. 5589.99(D).

% Plymouth at 817.
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