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SUMMARY 

 Revises the requirements to qualify for a chemical dependency counselor II license 

issued by the Ohio Chemical Dependency Professionals Board. 

 Eliminates the authority of certain chemical dependency licensees to supervise 
prevention specialist assistants and registered applicants. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Chemical dependency counselor II licenses 

The act authorizes alternative requirements to qualify for a chemical dependency 

counselor II license issued by the Ohio Chemical Dependency Professionals Board. 

Original counselor II license requirements 

Under continuing law unchanged by the act, to qualify for a chemical dependency 

counselor II license, an individual must either (1) hold, on December 23, 2002, a certificate or 
credentials accepted by the former Department of Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services as 

authority to practice as a certified chemical dependency counselor II1 or (2) meet all of the 

following criteria: 

 Hold an associate’s degree in a behavioral science or nursing or a bachelor’s degree in 

any field; 

 Have 180 hours of approved chemical dependency specific education, of which 50% 

must have been obtained in the last five years; 

                                                 

1 R.C. 4758.42(B).  
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 Have completed 2,000 hours of compensated work or supervised internship experience 

in chemical dependency or substance abuse services or the practice of psychology, 
professional counseling, social work, or marriage and family therapy, not less than 400 

of which are in chemical dependency counseling; 

 Have a minimum of 220 hours of training in chemical dependency; and 

 Have passed the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium Alcohol and 
Drug Counselor Examination.2 

License requirements under the bill 

The act establishes two additional sets of criteria by which an individual may qualify for 
a chemical dependency counselor II license. The second set, however, is an option only until 

three years after the act’s effective date; that is, until September 30, 2024.3 

First criteria set 

Under the first new set, an individual must satisfy all of the following to qualify for a 

counselor II license: 

 Hold an associate’s or bachelor’s degree in a behavioral science or nursing, each with a 
specialization in chemical dependency counseling; 

 Have a minimum of 180 hours of education in chemical dependency that meets 

requirements specified in Board rules; 

 While holding a valid chemical dependency counselor assistant certificate, have 
successfully completed, over the course of no more than two semesters, at least 240 
hours of practicum experience in chemical dependency that meets requirements 

specified in Board rules, including at least two hours of supervised practicum experience 
and providing intensive outpatient treatment or higher level of care, unless a different 
level of care is specified in Board rules; 

 Have at least 1,000 hours of compensated work experience as a chemical dependency 

counselor assistant; 

 Provide to the Board a written recommendation from an individual who supervised the 

individual’s practice as a chemical dependency counselor assistant; and 

 Have passed one or more examinations administered for the purpose of determining 

competence to practice as a chemical dependency counselor II.4 

The act requires the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services to consult 

with the Board to (1) study levels of care that must be offered by a program providing 

                                                 

2 R.C. 4758.42(A) and Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.) 4758-5-03. 
3 R.C. 4758.42. 

4 R.C. 4758.42(C). 
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practicum experience that is required under the third bullet point above and (2) develop 
recommendations regarding whether levels of care not specifically authorized should be 
authorized through rule. The study and recommendations must be completed by March 30, 

2022 (six months after the act’s effective date).5 

Second criteria set – applies until September 30, 2024 

Under the second new set, an individual must meet the following in order to qualify for 

a chemical dependency counselor II license: 

 Since at least December 31, 2008, have continuously held a valid chemical dependency 
counselor assistant certificate and practiced chemical dependency counseling while 

under supervision; 

 Provide to the Board a written recommendation from an individual who supervised the 
individual’s practice as a chemical dependency counselor assistant; 

 Have earned the minimum number of hours in chemical dependency training specified 

in Board rules; and 

 Have passed one or more examinations administered for the purpose of determining 

competence to practice as a chemical dependency counselor II.6 

Rulemaking 

The act requires the Board to adopt rules specifying the education and practicum 
experience requirements for the first new criteria set.7 It also requires the Board to adopt rules 
establishing chemical dependency training requirements for the second new criteria set.  The 
rules must be adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.8 

Supervision of prevention specialist assistants and registered 
applicants 

The act eliminates the authority of the following chemical dependency professionals to 
supervise the practice of prevention services by prevention specialist assistants and registered 

applicants: 

 Independent chemical dependency counselor-clinical supervisors; 

 Independent chemical dependency counselors; 

 Chemical dependency counselors III.9 

                                                 

5 Section 6. 
6 R.C. 4758.42(D). 

7 R.C. 4758.20(A)(16) and (17). 
8 R.C. 4758.20(A)(12) and (B); R.C. Chapter 119, not in the act. 

9 R.C. 4758.61 and 4758.20(A)(30)(c). 
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This change conforms the Revised Code to Board rules. The rules in effect when this act 
passed do not permit prevention specialist assistants or registered applicants to engage in 
prevention activities unless under the supervision of a certified prevention consultant or 
certified prevention specialist; a physician; a psychologist; a registered nurse, certified nurse 
practitioner, or clinical nurse; an independent social worker or a social worker; a certified 
health education specialist, or, in the case of a prevention specialist assistant, a licensed school 

counselor.10  
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10 O.A.C. 4758-6-07 and 4758-6-08. 


