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SUMMARY 

Immediate effective date (upon filing with Secretary of State) 

 Extends a general moratorium on the issuance of new, and geographic transfer of existing, 
fireworks manufacturer or wholesaler licenses from December 31, 2021, to December 31, 
2022. 

 Establishes a one-time license application and issuance date, outside of the normal 
fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler licensing timeline, at the end of the new license 
moratorium. 

 Declares an emergency. 

Normal effective date (91st day after filed with Secretary of 
State): 

 Establishes the Ohio Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee to review the Fireworks 
Law and make recommendations to the State Fire Marshal. 

 Requires the State Fire Marshal to adopt rules regulating the time, manner, and location 
of consumer fireworks use. 

 Imposes a 4% fee on the retail sale of consumer grade fireworks, beginning 100 days after 
the fee provision’s effective date. 

 Credits revenue from the new fee to fund firefighter training programs and the State Fire 
Marshal’s regulation and enforcement of the fireworks industry. 

                                                      

* This analysis was prepared before the report of the Senate Veterans and Public Safety Committee 
appeared in the Senate journal. Note that the legislative history is incomplete. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA134-HB-172
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 Creates a new license allowing retailers to sell ground-based or hand-held sparklers called 
“fountain devices,” which the State Fire Marshal may begin to issue in 2022. 

 Requires the State Fire Marshal to adopt rules for and enforce the new provisions for 
fountain device retailers 

 Increases from 5,000 to 7,500 square feet the maximum floor area of a retail sales 
showroom, to which the public has access, that a licensed fireworks manufacturer or 
wholesaler uses to sell consumer grade fireworks, but requires expanded showrooms to 
be equipped with sprinkler systems meeting a specific standard. 

 Establishes that the “state militia” for purposes of an existing exemption from the 
fireworks law is the state militia as recognized by the Adjutant General of Ohio. 

Effective July 1, 2022: 

 Allows individuals to possess consumer-grade fireworks in Ohio, eliminating a 
requirement that purchasers transport consumer-grade fireworks out of the state within 
48 hours of purchase. 

 Allows any person authorized to possess consumer grade fireworks to discharge them on 
their own property or on another person’s property with permission on the following 
days: 

 New Year’s Day; 

 Chinese New Year; 

 Cinco de Mayo; 

 Memorial Day weekend; 

 Juneteenth; 

 July 3, 4, and 5, and the Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays preceding and following; 

 Labor Day weekend; 

 Diwali; 

 New Year’s Eve. 

 Permits local governments to restrict the dates and times that individuals may discharge 
consumer-grade fireworks or to impose a complete ban on the use of consumer-grade 
fireworks. 

 Prohibits discharging fireworks (1) while in possession of, or under the influence of, 
alcohol or a controlled substance, or (2) on the property of another without the property 
owner’s permission. 

 Prohibits the State Fire Marshal from unreasonably withholding a variance that would 
allow hobbyists to manufacture, possess, and use individual display-grade and consumer-
grade fireworks and requires cause for revocation of a hobbyist variance. 
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 Requires hobbyists seeking variances to demonstrate that they can engage in the hobby 
safely and legally and limits hobbyists to possession of five pounds of raw materials and 
finished fireworks produced through the hobby. 

 Requires a licensed wholesaler, manufacturer, or retailer who is selling consumer grade 
fireworks to have safety glasses available for free or at a nominal charge. 

 Requires licensed fireworks wholesalers, manufacturers, and retailers to distribute a 
safety pamphlet with certain minimum information to each consumer purchaser of 
fireworks. 
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DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Effective immediately due to emergency clause 

The bill includes an emergency clause for certain provisions related to the existing 
moratorium on the issuance of new fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler licenses and the 
geographic transfer of existing licenses. Due to the emergency clause, those provisions will be 
effective immediately after the bill is passed, signed by the Governor (or the Governor’s veto is 
overridden), and filed with the Secretary of State.1 

Geographic transfer moratorium 

The bill extends current law’s moratorium on the geographic transfer of existing fireworks 
manufacturer and wholesaler licenses, which is currently scheduled to expire on 
December 31, 2021. Under the bill, this moratorium will expire on December 31, 2022.2 

Fireworks license moratorium and one-time license period 

The bill extends a general moratorium on the issuance of fireworks manufacturer and 
wholesaler licenses for a particular plant or location. Under current law, the moratorium applies 
to all persons except those who possessed a license for that plant or location immediately prior 
to June 29, 2001, and expires on December 31, 2021. The bill extends the moratorium until 
December 31, 2022, and allows renewal of licenses that were geographically transferred under 
exceptions to the transfer moratorium enacted in the 2021 Transportation Budget. 

To coincide with the end of the moratorium, the bill establishes a one-time license period 
for new fireworks manufacturers and wholesalers. Any person who wishes to be a licensed 
manufacturer or wholesaler of fireworks on January 1, 2023, and who does not already hold a 
license that will run through that date, may submit an application by November 1, 2022. If the 
application meets the requirements for licensure, the State Fire Marshal must issue a license on 
January 1, 2023. 

Licenses issued at the end of the moratorium will run through November 30, 2023. The 
issuance date and license period are a departure from continuing law’s normal requirements, 
which only allow fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler licenses to be issued on the first day of 
December, with a one-year duration. 

Finally, the bill specifically states that after the moratorium expires, the State Fire Marshal 
may issue new fireworks manufacturer and wholesaler licenses, but those licenses must not be 
approved in a manner that unduly burdens the State Fire Marshal’s ability to ensure public 
safety.3 

                                                      

1 Section 5. 
2 R.C. 3743.75(A)(2). 
3 R.C. 3743.021, 3743.041, 3743.151, 3743.171, and 3743.75(A) and (E). 
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Normal effective date (91st day after filed with Secretary of 
State): 

Several of the bill’s provisions are effective on the 91st day after the bill is passed, signed 
by the Governor (or the Governor’s veto is overridden), and filed with the Secretary of State (the 
“standard effective date” under Ohio law). Several of those provisions, in turn, require something 
to be done with reference to a number of days after their effective date. Those provisions (and 
relevant related timelines) are discussed in this section. 

Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee 

The bill creates the Ohio Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee to review the 
Fireworks Law and make recommendations to the State Fire Marshal. At a minimum, the 
Committee must make recommendations relating to all of the following: 

 Fireworks manufacturer licensing and plant operation and fireworks wholesaler licensing 
and operations; 

 The purchase of consumer-grade fireworks; 

 The moratorium on licenses described in “Fireworks license moratorium,” 
below; 

 The State Fire Marshal’s rulemaking as it pertains to building code requirements for 1.3G 
display-grade fireworks manufacturing facilities; 

 Development of a licensing program for fireworks wholesalers and manufacturers. 

The Committee must meet periodically, with the first meeting not later than ten days 
after the provisions’ effective date. It must submit its report and recommendations to the State 
Fire Marshal not later than 100 days after the provision’s effective date. 

The Committee is to be made up of the following individuals: 

1. The State Fire Marshal, or the State Fire Marshal’s designee; 

2. Four local fire chiefs appointed by the Ohio Fire Chiefs’ Association, or appointed by the 
Association’s designee; 

3. A local police chief appointed by the Attorney General, or the Attorney General’s 
designee; 

4. Five members of the Ohio State Pyrotechnics Association, appointed by the president of 
the Association, one of whom must be a licensed wholesaler, one of whom must be a 
licensed exhibitor, and one of whom must be a licensed manufacturer; 

5. One member of Prevent Blindness Ohio, or the organization’s designee; 

6. One member of the Ohio Optometric Association or the association’s designee; 

7. One member of the Ohio Pyrotechnic Arts Guild or the guild’s designee; 

8. One representative of the Ohio Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics, 
appointed by the chapter president; 
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9. One member of the Ohio Council of Retail Merchants or the council’s designee.4 

Rules for consumer-grade fireworks use 

The bill requires State Fire Marshal to adopt rules regulating the time, manner, and 
location of consumer grade fireworks (see “Consumer grade fireworks,” below). The rules 
must permit adult consumers to safely and responsibly use consumer grade fireworks on their 
own property or on property where they have the owner’s express permission, and are not to be 
construed as a de facto ban on such use. The rules may, however, include provisions requiring 
that all fireworks be used only in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions and provisions for 
all of the following: 

 The use of aerial fireworks; 

 Separation distances between fireworks discharges, ignitions, or explosions and adjacent 
structures, railroads, roadways, airports, publicly owned or controlled places, and places 
where hazardous materials are manufactured, used, or stored; 

 Fireworks usage on common areas of multi-tenant properties; 

 The suspension of fireworks discharges, ignitions, or explosions during times of drought 
or similar conditions; 

 The proximity of fireworks discharges, ignitions, or explosions to children; 

 Any other similar matters. 

The bill requires the State Fire Marshal to file those rules with the Joint Committee on 
Agency Rule Review no later than 180 days after the standard effective date.5 

Consumer-grade fireworks fee 

For the purpose of providing revenue to fund training programs and the enforcement and 
regulation of the fireworks industry, the bill imposes a fee on licensed retailers, licensed 
manufacturers, and licensed wholesalers selling consumer-grade fireworks. The fee is set at 4% 
of each licensed retailer’s, manufacturer’s, and wholesaler’s gross receipts from the retail sale of 
consumer-grade fireworks beginning 100 days after the standard effective date. The bill excludes 
from “gross receipts” sales tax the retailer, manufacturer, or wholesaler collects on behalf of the 
state or local governments. 

The bill requires retailers, manufacturers, and wholesalers to annually report and remit 
the fee to the State Fire Marshal, no later than October 23. 

                                                      

4 R.C. 3743.67. 
5 R.C. 3743.451 and Section 3; R.C. 3743.54, not in the bill. 
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While the bill requires licensed retailers, manufacturers, and wholesalers to remit the fee 
to the State Fire Marshal, it also specifies that they may separately or proportionately bill or 
invoice the fee to others. 

The fee’s proceeds are to be credited to the Fireworks Fee Receipts Fund, which the bill 
creates. The State Fire Marshal is required to use 7⁄8 of the money in the fund for firefighter 
training programs. The remaining 1⁄8 is to be used to pay the State Fire Marshal’s expenses in 
administering the Fireworks Law.6 

If the State Fire Marshal determines that a licensee has failed to timely report and remit 
the fee due, the State Fire Marshal may either: 

 Order the licensee to report and remit the fee within a specified timeframe; 

 Revoke or deny renewal of the license, which requires the licensee to immediately cease 
operations and prohibits, for two years, licensed manufacturers and licensed wholesalers 
from applying for new licenses. 

The State Fire Marshal is also permitted to adopt rules necessary to administer and enforce the 
fee.7 

Fountain device retailer licenses 

The bill creates a new license for retailers who wish to sell what are called fountain 
devices and permits the State Fire Marshall to begin issuing those licenses in 2022. Under the bill, 
a “fountain device” is defined as a specific type of 1.4G consumer grade firework that meets all 
of the following criteria: 

 It is nonaerial and nonreport producing; 

 It is recognized and manufactured in accordance with sections 3.1.1 and 3.5 of APA 
standard 87-1 (2001 edition); 

 It is a ground-based or hand-held sparkler with one or more tubes containing a 
nonexplosive pyrotechnic mixture that produces a shower of sparks, with or without 
additional effects that may include a colored flame, audible crackling effect, audible 
whistle effect, or smoke; 

 It contains no more than 75 grams of the pyrotechnic mixture in any individual tube and 
no more than 500 total grams of the mixture total in the case of multiple tubes.8 

                                                      

6 R.C. 3743.22(A) to (C). 
7 R.C. 3743.08, 3743.21, and 3743.22(D) and (E), conforming changes in R.C. 3743.57 and 5703.21. 
8 R.C. 3743.01(H) and Section 4. 
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General licensing process 

Generally, the bill requires persons who wish to be licensed as fountain device retailers 
to apply to the State Fire Marshal by September 30, in any given year. An application must be 
submitted for each location at which the person wishes to sell fountain devices, and must include: 

 A license fee, to be set by the State Fire Marshal at $25 or less; 

 An affidavit affirming that the applicant is in compliance with the National Fire Protection 
Association’s standard “NFPA 1124, Code for the Manufacture, Transportation, Storage, 
and Retail Sales of Fireworks and Pyrotechnic Articles (2006 Edition)” (NFPA 1124) or that 
they will be in compliance before engaging in the storage and sale of fountain devices; 

 Proof of insurance in an amount and type specified in rules by the State Fire Marshal. 

The bill requires the State Fire Marshal to review timely submitted applications and determine if 
they comply with its requirements. If an application is compliant, the State Fire Marshal must 
issue a license. 

The bill also establishes several general standards for licenses. First, licenses are effective 
for one year, beginning on December 1. Second, licenses can only be issued on that date. Third, 
the State Fire Marshal must send licensees a written notice of expiration by September 1, 
annually. Fourth, licensees must apply for renewal by October 1 of the year the license expires.9  

Special licensing circumstances 

The bill establishes two special licensing circumstances for fountain device retailers. The 
first is a one-time license that starts 260 days after the fountain device provisions’ effective date. 
Any person wishing to be licensed as a retailer of fountain devices on that date must submit an 
application by the date that is 190 days after the provisions’ effective date. If an application is 
received by the deadline, and if the State Fire Marshal determines that it meets the bill’s licensing 
requirements, the State Fire Marshal must issue a license 260 days after the provisions’ effective 
date. 

The effective period of those licenses depends on the date they are ultimately issued. If 
the 260th day after the fountain device provisions’ effective date falls anytime January through 
May, the licenses will be effective through the end of November during the same calendar year. 
If it falls June through December, the licenses will be effective through the last day of November 
in the subsequent calendar year. 

The second special licensing circumstance for fountain device retailers under the bill 
applies to retailers that open for business after the annual application deadline in any given year. 
The bill allows those retailers to apply for a license any time between the date they open for 
business and the subsequent annual deadline. If an application is received under this provision 
between October 1 and November 30, and meets the bill’s requirements for fountain device 
retailers, the State Fire Marshal is required to issue a license no earlier than December 1 and no 

                                                      

9 R.C. 3743.26(A) and (B). 
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later than two months after the application is received. If a compliant application is received at 
any other time pursuant to the provision, the State Fire Marshal is required to issue the license 
no later than two months after the application is received.10 

Licensed fountain device retailer operations 

Licensed fountain device retailers are authorized, under the bill, to possess fountain 
devices and sell them at retail. Possession and storage of the devices, though, must comply with 
NFPA 1124 and several other requirements. Those are: 

 Sales displays are limited to 300 square feet in total, with no display larger than 150 
square feet, and all displays at least 25 feet from other highly flammable materials. 

 Retailers may only possess and sell fountain devices as packaged merchandise with 
covered fuses. 

 Fountain devices displayed for sale must be under visual supervision of an employee or 
other responsible party whenever the retailer is open to the public. 

 The possession, storage, and sale of the devices must also comply with any rules adopted 
by the State Fire Marshal pursuant to the bill (see “Rules for fountain device 

retailers,” below). 

 Sales are restricted to purchasers who are at least 18 years old.  

 Sales are prohibited to individuals who are obviously drunk or under the influence of a 
drug of abuse. 

 All sales must be conducted from the licensed location and be made inside of a licensed 
building. Sales from any structure or device outside of a licensed building, such as a tent 
or trailer, are prohibited.  

 Retailers must prohibit smoking in the licensed location. 

 Purchasers must be provided with the pamphlet and the opportunity to obtain safety 
glasses that the bill requires for other consumer-grade fireworks sales. (See “Safety 

glasses and pamphlets required,” below.)11 

Rules for fountain device retailers 

The bill requires the State Fire Marshal to adopt rules for fountain device retailers under 
the Administrative Procedure Act. The rules must be designed to promote the safety and security 
of employees, the public, and the premises from which fountain devices are sold, be consistent 
with the Revised Code and NFPA 1124, and, at a minimum, address the following: 

 With respect to buildings and other structures on a retailer’s premises: 

                                                      

10 R.C. 3743.26(C) and (D). 
11 R.C. 3743.27 and 3743.99(G). 
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 Cleanliness and orderliness; 

 Heating, lighting, and use of stoves and flame-producing items; 

 The availability of fire extinguishers or other fire-fighting equipment and their use; 

 Emergency procedures. 

 Storage of fountain devices; 

 Insurance. 

The bill requires the State Fire Marshal to file the rules with the Joint Committee on 
Agency Rule Review no later than 180 days after the fountain device provisions’ effective date.12 

Enforcement authority 

The bill grants the State Fire Marshal authority to inspect a fountain device retailer’s 
premises, inventory, and retail sale records to ensure compliance with the Fireworks Law and the 
State Fire Marshal’s rules. If an inspection reveals noncompliance, the State Fire Marshal has 
discretion to do one or more of the following: 

 Order the retailer, in writing, to eliminate, correct, or otherwise remedy the issues by a 
certain date; 

 Order the retailer, in writing, to immediately cease the storage and sale of fountain 
devices. 

 Revoke, or deny the renewal of a license pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act. If 
a license is revoked, the State Fire Marshal must remove the retailer’s name from the list 
of licensed retailers and must notify local law enforcement of a revocation or refusal to 
renew.13 

Showroom size 

Under continuing law, a licensed manufacturer or wholesaler may sell consumer grade 
fireworks only from a representative sample showroom or a retail sales showroom. If a retail 
sales showroom is used (and first began to operate on or after June 30, 1997), the showroom 
structure must comply with specified safety requirements, including a size limitation for the floor 
area to which the public has access for retail purposes. The bill increases the size limit from 5,000 
square feet to 7,500 square feet in floor area. 

The bill also expands application of the size limit requirement to fireworks showrooms 
that resume operations at any time after a one-year or greater period of inactive licensure status. 
Showrooms that expand beyond 5,000 square feet, to which the public has access, pursuant to 
the increased limit must be equipped with a sprinkler system meeting a particular technical 

                                                      

12 R.C. 3743.28. 
13 R.C. 3743.29. 
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standard. That is the standard for “extra hazard (group 2) occupancies” under “NFPA 13, Standard 
for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems (2019 Edition). Variance may be granted to the standard’s 
requirement, however, if the State Fire Marshal finds that a proposed sprinkler system matches 
or exceeds the degree of safety provided by a compliant system.14 

Militia exemption 

Under continuing law, the U.S. military and the militia of Ohio are exempt from the 
Fireworks Law’s provisions regarding the manufacture, transportation, storage, and possession 
of pyrotechnic devices. The bill establishes the state militia covered by the exemption is the 
militia of the state that is recognized by the Adjutant General of Ohio. 

Effective July 1, 2022: 

The remainder of the bill’s provisions are effective July 1, 2022. Those provisions are 
discussed here. 

Consumer-grade fireworks 

State residents: purchase and possession 

Under continuing law, “1.4G fireworks” are consumer grade fireworks designated under 
division 1.4 of the U.S. Department of Transportation’s regulations.15 The bill continues to allow 
Ohio residents to possess consumer fireworks but eliminates, beginning July 1, 2022, the 
requirement that an Ohio resident who purchases these fireworks must transport the fireworks 
out of Ohio within 48 hours after the purchase. Under current law, a purchaser may only obtain 
possession of consumer fireworks from a manufacturer or wholesaler licensed under the 
Fireworks Law. The bill adds licensed fountain device retailers to that list.16 

Out-of-state residents: purchase and possession 

The bill eliminates, beginning July 1, 2022, the current law requirement that an out-of-
state resident purchasing consumer fireworks must transport them directly out of Ohio within 48 
hours.17 

Use and regulation 

Beginning July 1, 2022, any person who is authorized to possess consumer fireworks 
under the bill (both Ohio residents and nonresidents) may set those fireworks off in Ohio, either 
on the person’s own property or on another person’s property with permission, on specific days. 
Those days are: 

 New Year’s Day; 

                                                      

14 R.C. 3743.25(C)(2)(a) and (b) and 3743.17. 
15 R.C. 3743.01. 
16 R.C. 3743.45 and 3743.63(C) and (D). 
17 R.C. 3743.44(A) and (B), 3743.63(A), and Section 3. 
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 Chinese New Year; 

 Cinco de Mayo; 

 Memorial Day weekend; 

 Juneteenth 

 July 3, 4, and 5, and the Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays preceding and following; 

 Labor Day weekend; 

 Diwali; 

 New Year’s Eve. 

Consumer fireworks set off in accordance with this authorization are not considered a 
“public exhibition” and are therefore not subject to additional state regulations pertaining to 
public exhibitions.18 

While the bill prohibits the State Fire Marshal’s rules from banning the discharge of 
consumer grade fireworks (see “Rules for consumer-grade fireworks use,” above), it 
specifically permits a county (with respect to its unincorporated territory), township (with 
respect to its unincorporated territory), or municipal corporation to restrict the dates and times 
that a person may discharge consumer fireworks or impose a complete ban. The bill also specifies 
that a resolution to this effect adopted by a board of township trustees prevails over a conflicting 
resolution adopted by the board of county commissioners in the county within which the 
township is located. The consumer fireworks changes in the bill do not limit the enforcement of 
an ordinance, resolution, or statute that regulates noise, disturbance of the peace, or disorderly 
conduct.19 

Safety glasses and pamphlets required 

Beginning July 1, 2022, any licensed retailer, licensed manufacturer, or licensed 
wholesaler selling consumer grade fireworks, other than to a licensed manufacturer, wholesaler, 
or exhibitor, must offer safety glasses for free at the point of sale, or make them available to the 
purchaser for a nominal charge. The retailer, manufacturer, or wholesaler must also provide 
purchasers with a safety pamphlet that contains certain minimum information detailed in the 
bill. 

A licensed retailer, manufacturer, or wholesaler who fails to comply with the bill’s 
pamphlet or safety glasses requirement is guilty of a second degree misdemeanor.20 

                                                      

18 R.C. 3743.45(B) and (C), and Section 3, with conforming changes in R.C. 3743.04, 3743.17, 3743.63, and 
3743.65, and R.C. 1.14, not in the bill. 
19 R.C. 3743.45(D) and (E). 
20 R.C. 3743.27(B) and (C), 3743.47, 3743.60(K) and (L), 3743.61(K) and (L), and 3743.99(G) and Section 3. 
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Display-grade fireworks 

Under continuing law, “1.3G fireworks” are display grade fireworks designated under 
division 1.3 of the U.S. Department of Transportation’s regulations.21 The bill eliminates, 
beginning July 1, 2022, the requirement that a nonresident may possess display fireworks in Ohio 
only while directly transporting the fireworks out of Ohio, and that the nonresident do so within 
48 hours of purchase. The bill maintains, however, a criminal prohibition on a nonresident’s 
failure to transport display fireworks out of Ohio within 72 hours, a first degree misdemeanor. 

The bill also maintains requirements that individuals purchasing display-grade fireworks 
do so only from licensed fireworks manufacturers and wholesalers and that manufacturers and 
wholesalers only sell display fireworks to persons who have an appropriate license.22 (See 
Comment.) 

New prohibitions 

The bill prohibits, beginning July 1, 2022, any person from negligently using fireworks 
while in possession or control of, or under the influence of, any intoxicating liquor, beer, or 
controlled substance. A person who violates this prohibition is guilty of a first degree 
misdemeanor. The bill also specifies that, regardless of any other law that specifies otherwise, a 
person may be convicted of both that violation and a disorderly conduct violation for the same 
underlying conduct. 

Additionally, the bill prohibits, beginning on the same date, any person from negligently 
discharging, igniting, or exploding fireworks on another person’s property without that person’s 
permission. A person who violates this prohibition is guilty of a minor misdemeanor.23 

Licensee discipline 

Current law allows the State Fire Marshal to revoke, or deny renewal of, a fireworks 
manufacturer or fireworks wholesaler license if the licensee has violated the Fireworks Law or 
the State Fire Marshal’s rules. The bill adds provisions allowing suspension of a license, but leaves 
the State Fire Marshal’s ability to revoke, or deny renewal of, a license in place.24 

Exemptions to the fireworks law 

Licensing variances 

Current law allows the State Fire Marshal to grant variances to the Fireworks Law’s 
prohibitions against the possession and use of pyrotechnic compounds to a person who 
possesses those compounds for personal and noncommercial use as a hobby. The bill amends 
the variance provisions by defining “hobbyist activities,” limiting the amount of materials a 

                                                      

21 R.C. 3743.01. 
22 R.C. 3743.44, 3743.63(A) and (B), and 3743.99(C), conforming change in R.C. 3743.45(B). 
23 R.C. 3743.65(G) and (H) and 3743.99(F) and (H). 
24 R.C. 3743.08, 3743.21, 3743.60, and 3743.61. 



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 
 

P a g e  | 14  H.B. 172 
As Reported by Senate Veterans and Public Safety  

variance allows, adding requirements for variance applications, and limiting the State Fire 
Marshal’s ability to deny and revoke variances. 

The bill defines “hobbyist activities” as the manufacture, possession, and use of individual 
items, each of which meets the definition of either a 1.3G firework or 1.4G firework. The bill also 
limits a variance holder to possession of five pounds, in total, of explosives, pyrotechnics, or 
similar raw materials for, and finished 1.3G and 1.4G fireworks manufactured during, hobbyist 
activities. 

A person seeking a variance under the bill’s new provisions must do all of the following: 

 Demonstrate that they have the experience, education, and training necessary to protect 
public safety when engaging in hobbyist activities; 

 Demonstrate that the person has a safe and legal way to acquire, store, and use 
explosives, pyrotechnics, and similar raw materials for the manufacture of fireworks; 

 Provide any other information or records the State Fire Marshal considers necessary to 
protect public safety during a person’s hobbyist activities. 

Finally, the bill prohibits the State Fire Marshal from unreasonably withholding a variance, 
beginning 260 days after the provision’s effective date. It also changes the State Fire Marshal’s 
authority to revoke such a variance, which is discretionary under current law, by requiring cause 
for revocation.25 

COMMENT 

Continuing law prohibits fireworks manufacturers and wholesalers from selling fireworks 
to an out-of-state resident unless (1) the person possesses (and presents) a fireworks 
manufacturer’s, seller’s, or exhibitor’s license or permit from their home state or (2) the person 
presents a driver’s license or state identification card issued by their home state. 

In existing law, these requirements are stated in R.C. 3743.44, which deals with fireworks 
sales to nonresidents, whether consumer grade or display grade. The bill moves them to a new 
section, R.C. 3743.46, as a result of the bill’s new organization that addresses display-grade 
fireworks in R.C. 3743.44 and consumer-grade fireworks in R.C. 3743.45, regardless of the 
purchaser’s residency. 

The new section adds a preface to the requirements, stating that they apply “except” as 
otherwise provided in R.C. 3743.44 and R.C. 3743.45. It is unclear, however, to what the 
exception stated in R.C. 3743.46 refers. A similar exception, and ambiguity, is stated in continuing 
law under R.C. 3743.65(E). 

 

 

                                                      

25 R.C. 3743.59(C). 
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