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SUMMARY
HIGHER EDUCATION

Student tuition and fees

Prohibits a state institution of higher education from charging an additional fee to a
student for academic activity associated with regular coursework, such as grading
student assignments.

Prohibits a state institution from charging more in tuition and fees for an online course
than for a course taught in an in-person, classroom setting.

Requires special fees for online courses at state institutions to be based on the actual
demonstrated cost incurred by the institution.

Student financial aid

Establishes the permanent Second Chance Grant Program to provide a one-time grant of
up to $2,000 to eligible students returning to college enrollment after previously
disenrolling before earning a bachelor’s degree.

Reappropriates for the program in FY 2023 the unexpended, unencumbered balance of
the $3 million appropriated for the Second Chance Pilot Program in FY 2022 by H.B. 110
of the 134" General Assembly.

Establishes a supplemental grant for Ohio College Opportunity Grant recipients who
have completed at least two years of a bachelor’s degree program and are making
progress toward completing their programs.

Accommodations for students unable to enroll in a course

Expands the law requiring state institutions to financially accommodate students who
are unable to register for a course needed for their bachelor’s degree by (1) applying the
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requirement during students’ final two academic years, instead of just the final year,
and (2) adding options by which an institution may accommodate the students.

Guaranteed pathways, joint programming, dual enrollment

®  Establishes the Ohio Guaranteed Transfer Pathways Initiative to permit community
college students to transfer credits to state universities under the existing articulation
and transfer system.

" Requires state universities to enter into agreements with multiple two-year colleges to
establish joint academic programming and dual enrollment opportunities.

Free speech policies

®  Requires each state institution to adopt a policy that affirms prescribed principles
regarding the regulation of free speech on campuses.

®  Requires each state institution to establish a process under which a student, student
group, or faculty member may submit a complaint about an alleged violation by an
employee of its policy.

Additional reporting requirements

®  Requires each state institution to issue an annual report about the institution’s tuition
and fees, average cost of attendance, and certain other post-graduation data.

" Requires the Chancellor of Higher Education to post each annual report online.

®  Requires the Chancellor to issue a report about the mental health and wellness services
and initiatives of state institutions.

Degree programs

®  Requires the Chancellor, when considering approval of a new degree for a state
institution, to take into account the extent to which it aligns with the state’s workforce
development priorities.

®  Requires a state institution, upon request of the Chancellor, to conduct a viability
analysis of any program it offers that the Chancellor determines meets prescribed
criteria and submit its findings to the Chancellor.

®  Changes from every five to every three years the frequency with which a state
institution must evaluate its programs based on enrollment and duplication with other
state institutions in the region.

Other higher education provisions

®  Prescribes due process procedures with which a state university must comply with
regard to a student who is subject to disciplinary action.
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®  Prohibits a state institution from entering into or renewing a contract with a company
for goods or services, unless the contract declares that the company is not boycotting
Israel or other jurisdictions with whom Ohio can enjoy open trade.

B Requires each state university to endeavor to avoid prioritizing admission of out-of-state
applicants over in-state applicants if both applicants apply in the same general
timeframe and have substantially similar qualifications.

®  Requires each state institution to accept and provide credit for coursework in the same
manner across all instructional methods, unless a course requires in-person
observations and experiences.

" Authorizes the Director of Administrative Services to sell state-owned land that is held
for the benefit of a state institution and is appraised for not more than $10 million,
provided both the institution’s board and the Controlling Board approve the sale.

OTHER PROVISIONS
K-12 career advising policy
®  Modifies the law on K-12 career advising policies.
Statewide apprenticeship program proposal

" Requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction, and other specified stakeholders, to
develop a proposal for a statewide apprenticeship program for high school students and
submit it to the Governor and General Assembly by June 1, 2023.

Renewable energy facility tax exemption

®  Modifies the career training requirement that certain qualified renewable energy
facilities must meet to obtain continuing law’s property tax exemption for such facilities.
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DETAILED ANALYSIS
HIGHER EDUCATION

The act revises several laws on the operation of state institutions of higher education,
including those regarding degree programs, tuition and fees, student financial aid, reporting
requirements, disciplinary due process, free speech on campus, and several other areas.

As used in this analysis, a state institution of higher education is any of the 14 state
universities, a community college, state community college, university branch, or technical
college. The 14 state universities are the University of Akron, Bowling Green State University,
Central State University, University of Cincinnati, Cleveland State University, Kent State
University, Miami University, Northeast Ohio Medical University, Ohio University, Ohio State
University, Shawnee State University, University of Toledo, Wright State University, and
Youngstown State University.!

1R.C. 3345.011, not in the act.
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Student tuition and fees
Prohibit additional fees for academic activities

The act prohibits a state institution of higher education from charging an additional fee
to a student for an employee or an entity contracting with the institution to complete any
academic activity associated with regular coursework, including grading student assignments.?

Tuition and fees for online courses

The act prohibits a state institution from charging more in tuition and fees for an online
course than for a course taught in an in-person, classroom setting. It further requires that
special fees charged for an online course, if applicable, be based on the actual demonstrated
cost incurred by the state institution to provide it.3

Second Chance Grant Program
Operations

The act makes the Second Chance Grant Pilot Program created in H.B. 110 of the 134t
General Assembly a permanent one. Specifically, it requires the Chancellor of Higher Education
to establish and operate the Second Chance Grant Program and to adopt rules to administer it.
The program serves students who previously disenrolled from a public or private “qualifying
institution” in Ohio while in good standing and, after some time off, again enroll in a public or
private qualifying institution in Ohio.* (See “Student eligibility,” below.)

The Chancellor must award a one-time grant of up to $2,000 to each approved eligible
student. To be approved, the student must enroll in a qualifying Ohio institution and have a
remaining cost of attendance, as defined under federal law, after all other financial aid for
which the applicant qualifies has been applied to the applicant’s account. The Chancellor must
approve applications in the order in which they are received.?

The Chancellor must pay grants to the institution in which a participating student is
enrolled in the academic year in which the student’s application is approved. The institution
must apply the grant to the participant’s cost of attendance for that year. If any amount of the
grant remains after it is applied to the student’s cost of attendance for that year, the institution
must apply the remainder to the student’s cost of attendance for any other academic year in
which the student is enrolled. The institution must return to the Chancellor any grant amount
remaining after the participant graduates or disenrolls.®

2R.C. 3345.028.
3R.C. 3345.461.
4R.C.3333.127(A)(2) and (G).

> R.C. 3333.127(A), (B), and (C); conforming changes in Section 381.480 of H.B. 110 of the 134 General
Assembly, as amended in sections 4 and 5.

6 R.C. 3333.127(D).
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For purposes of the program, a “qualifying institution” is a state university or branch

campus, community college, state community college, or technical college, a private nonprofit
college or university, a private for-profit career college, or an Ohio Technical Center.’

Student eligibility

4.
5.
6.

A student is eligible for the program if the student:
Is an Ohio resident;
Has not attained a bachelor’s degree;

Disenrolled from a “qualifying institution,” while being in good standing including with
respect to academics and the student’s disciplinary record, and did not transfer to a
“qualifying institution” or an institution of higher education in another state in the two
semesters immediately following disenrollment;

Enrolls in a “qualifying institution” within five years of disenrollment;
Is not enrolled in the College Credit Plus Program; and

Meets any other eligibility criteria determined necessary by the Chancellor.?

Annual report

In each academic year, the Chancellor must submit to the General Assembly a report

that contains:

1.

The number of eligible students participating in the program who received a grant in
that academic year;

The “qualifying institutions” from which participants disenrolled;

The types of academic programs in which participants were enrolled prior to
disenrolling from “qualifying institutions”;

The types of academic programs in which participants were enrolled when they received
grants under the program;

Information regarding how the grants were used; and

If the participant completed a degree program with the grant.®

Second Chance Grant Program Fund

The act establishes the Second Chance Grant Program Fund in the state treasury to

consist of amounts designated for it by the General Assembly. The fund must be administered

7R.C. 3333.127(A)(3).
8 R.C. 3333.127(A)(2).
9R.C. 3333.127(E).
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by the Chancellor and used to pay grants under the program. The Chancellor also may use the
fund to implement and administer the program.©

Appropriation

H.B. 110 of the 134t™ General Assembly, the main operating budget of the biennium,
appropriated $3 million in FY 2022 for the Second Chance Grant Pilot Program. This act now
requires the Chancellor to certify to the Director of Budget and Management an amount up to
the unexpended, unencumbered balance of that appropriation at the end of FY 2022 to be
reappropriated for FY 2023.

Supplemental OCOG awards

If sufficient funds remain after awarding need-based Ohio College Opportunity Grants
(OCOG) in accordance with continuing law, the act requires the Chancellor to use those funds
to award eligible students a supplemental grant. To be eligible, a student must receive an OCOG
award, have completed at least two years of a bachelor’s degree program, and be making
progress toward completing that program. Supplemental grants are subject to the same
requirements prescribed for OCOG. The Chancellor must adopt rules to implement this
provision, including a method to calculate supplemental grant amounts.?

Accommodations for students unable to enroll in a course

The act expands the law, which took effect in early 2021, requiring state institutions to
financially accommodate students who are unable to register for a course needed for their
bachelor’s degree. That law originally applied when a student was unable to register for a
necessary course during the student’s final academic year. The act expands the law, first, by
applying the mandate during students’ final two academic years and, second, by adding options
for an institution to accommodate the students. Under the act, when a student is unable to
register for a requisite course during the student’s final two academic years, the institution
must offer either to:

1. Waive the student’s general and instructional fees for the course if the student registers
for it in the next academic year it is offered (continues the original law);

2. Reimburse the student for general and instructional fees paid for an equivalent course
taken at a different institution of equivalent accreditation during the same academic
year in which the student was unable to register for the course; or

3. Permit the student to complete an independent study that meets specified guidelines in
lieu of the requisite course.*?

10R.C. 3333.127(F).
11 R.C. 3333.126; conforming change in R.C. 3333.122.
12 p.C. 3345.481.
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Guaranteed pathways, joint programming, dual enrollment
Ohio Guaranteed Transfer Pathways Initiative

The act requires the Chancellor, using the transfer and articulation system prescribed
under continuing law, to establish the Ohio Guaranteed Transfer Pathways Initiative. Each state
university must participate.

Under the initiative, a student must be permitted to complete an associate’s degree at a
community college, state community college, or technical college and transfer those credits to
a state university to continue making progress toward a bachelor’s degree. Similarly, a student
must be permitted to transfer any credits from one of those colleges to a state university,
regardless of the geographic proximity between the college and university.?

Joint academic programming, dual enrollment opportunities

The act requires each state university to enter into agreements with multiple
community, state community, or technical colleges to establish both joint academic
programming and dual enrollment opportunities to assist students in completing their degrees
in a timely and cost-effective manner.'#

Annual reporting

The act requires each state university, community college, state community college, and
technical college to annually report to the Ohio Articulation and Transfer Network Oversight
Board the number of guaranteed pathways and joint academic programming or dual
enrollment opportunities the university or college offers.

The Oversight Board must compile that information and provide a summary of it to the
Chancellor. The summary must include a confirmation that each college and university is in
compliance with the provision’s requirements and any recommendations necessary to enhance
and strengthen the guaranteed pathways and joint academic programming or dual enroliment
opportunities.?

Rules

The Chancellor must adopt rules regarding the Ohio Guaranteed Transfer Pathways
Initiative and the act’s joint academic programming and dual enrollment requirements.*®

13R.C. 3333.168(B).
14 R.C. 3333.168(C).
15R.C. 3333.168(D).
16 R.C. 3333.168(E).
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Free speech policies

In addition to complying with other state laws regarding the regulation of free speech
on campuses,’’ the act requires each state institution of higher education to adopt a policy that
affirms certain prescribed principles, which the act specifies are the public policy of this state.®

The act states that those principles are:
1. Students have a fundamental constitutional right to free speech.

2. A state institution must be committed to giving students broad latitude to speak, write,
listen, challenge, learn, and discuss any issue.

3. A state institution must be committed to maintaining a campus as marketplace of ideas
for students and faculty in which the free exchange of ideas is not suppressed because
the ideas put forth are thought by some or most members of the institution’s
community to be offensive, unwise, immoral, indecent, disagreeable, conservative,
liberal, traditional, radical, or wrong-headed.

4. It is for individual students and faculty to make judgements about ideas for themselves,
and to act on those judgements by openly and vigorously contesting the ideas they
oppose and not by seeking to suppress free speech.

5. It is not the proper role of a state institution to attempt to shield individuals from free
speech, including ideas and opinions they find offensive, unwise, immoral, indecent,
disagreeable, conservative, liberal, traditional, radical, or wrong-headed.

6. Although a state institution should greatly value civility and mutual respect, concerns
about civility and respect must not be used by an institution as a justification for closing
off the discussion of ideas, however offensive, unwise, immoral, indecent, disagreeable,
conservative, liberal, traditional, radical, or wrong-headed those ideas may be to some
students or faculty.

7. Although students and faculty are free to state their views about and contest the views
expressed on campus, and to state their views about and contest speakers who are
invited to express their views on campus, they may not substantially obstruct or
otherwise substantially interfere with the freedom of others to express views they reject
or even loathe. To that end, a state institution has a responsibility to promote lively and
fearless freedom of debate and deliberation and protect that freedom.

8. A state institution must be committed to providing an atmosphere that is most
conducive to speculation, experimentation, and creation by students and faculty, who
must remain free to inquire, study, evaluate, and gain new understanding.

17 see R.C. 3345.0212 to 3345.0214 (as enacted by S.B. 40 of the 133™ General Assembly, effective
March 24, 2021), none in the act.

18 R.C. 3345.0215; conforming change in R.C. 3345.21.
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9. The primary responsibility of faculty is to engage an honest, courageous, and persistent
effort to search out and communicate the truth that lies in areas of their competence.®

The policy affirming those principles must be included in the institution’s handbook, on
its website, and in its orientation programs for students.?°

The act also requires each state institution to establish a process under which a student,
student group, or faculty member may submit a complaint about an alleged violation by an
employee of the institution of its policy, including any penalty imposed on a student’s grade for
an assignment or coursework that is unrelated to ordinary academic standards of substance
and relevance, and is instead based on the contents of the student’s free speech. That process
must comply with standards adopted by the Chancellor. Under the process, the state institution
must investigate the alleged violation and conduct a fair and impartial hearing about it. If the
hearing determines the policy was violated, the state institution must determine a resolution to
address the violation and prevent any further violation of the policy.?!

Each state institution must annually report to the Chancellor the total number of
complaints submitted under the process and, for each submitted complaint, a description of:

1. The state institution’s investigation regarding the complaint;

2. The outcome of the hearing conducted by the state institution regarding the complaint;
and

3. If the hearing determines the complaint included a violation of the state institution’s
policy, the resolution determined by the institution to address the violation.??

The act specifies that the free speech policies must not be construed as prohibiting a
state institution from imposing measures that do not violate the U.S. Constitution or the Ohio
Constitution, such as:

1. Constitutional time, place, and manner restrictions;
2. Reasonable viewpoint-neutral restrictions in nonpublic forums;

3. Restrictions on the use of the institution’s property to protect the free speech rights of
students and teachers and preserve the use of property for the advancement of the
institution’s mission;

4. Prohibitions or limitations on speech, expression, or assemblies that are not protected
under the U.S. or Ohio constitutions;

19R.C. 3345.0215(B).
20 R.C. 3345.0212(C)(2).
21 R.C. 3345.0215(C).
22 R.C. 3345.0215(D).
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5. Content restrictions on speech that are reasonably related to legitimate pedagogical
purpose, such as classroom rules enacted by teachers.??

Finally, the act states that it must not be construed to grant students the right to disrupt
previously scheduled or reserved activities occurring in a traditional public forum.?*

Additional reporting requirements
Posting of cost and postgraduate data

Beginning in the 2023-2024 academic year, each state institution annually must prepare
and post on its public website a report that, to the extent practicable, includes at least:

1. An itemized list of the estimated or actual charges of the tuition, general fees, special
fees, service charges, fines, and other fees or surcharges for enrolled students;

The estimated or actual average cost of attendance;
Student degree completion rates;
Post-graduation student debt rates;

Post-graduation student loan default rates; and

o v ok w N

Post-graduation employment rates.

Each state institution annually must submit its report to the Chancellor, and the
Chancellor must post it on the Chancellor’s website. The Chancellor also may adopt rules to
implement the report.?

Mental health and wellness report

The act requires the Chancellor, to the extent practicable, to issue an annual report
about the mental health and wellness services and initiatives of state institutions. The report
must include:

1. Adescription of each institution’s mental health and wellness services and initiatives;

2. A summary of how much funding each institution dedicates to mental health and
wellness services and initiatives, including the percentage of that funding that is used
for administrative costs; and

3. Any other information the Chancellor determines appropriate.

23 R.C. 3345.0215(E).
24 R.C. 3345.0215(F).
25 R.C. 3345.024.
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Each state institution must submit to the Chancellor any information or data the
Chancellor requires to issue the reports. The Chancellor must submit the reports to the General
Assembly and may adopt rules to implement this provision.2®

Program approval and evaluation
Chancellor approval of degree programs

The act requires the Chancellor, when considering approval of a new degree or degree
program for a state institution of higher education, to take into account the extent to which
that degree or program aligns with the state’s workforce development priorities.

Under continuing law, the Chancellor must approve or disapprove all new degrees or
degree programs at state institutions. Those institutions are prohibited from offering a new
degree or degree program without the Chancellor’s approval.?’

Viability analysis of programs

The act authorizes the Chancellor to require a state institution to conduct a viability
analysis of any program it offers if the Chancellor determines the program:

1. Has alow completion rate;
2. Has alow enrollment rate; or
3. Meets other criteria the Chancellor determines relevant.

The state institution must submit the findings of the analysis to the Chancellor. The
Chancellor may adopt rules to implement the provision.?®

Evaluation and report regarding courses and programs

The act changes from every five to every three years the frequency with which a state
institution must, in accordance with continuing law, evaluate its courses and programs based
on enrollment and duplication with other state institutions in the geographic region. Continuing
law requires each state institution to submit its findings to the Chancellor within 30 days after
completing its evaluations or as part of its annual efficiency report.?°

Due process for disciplinary actions

The act expressly requires a state university to provide a student who is subject to a
disciplinary action by the university with a notice of the action, the reasons for it, and the
student’s right to appeal it. If the student chooses to appeal the action, the state university

26 R.C. 3333.0418.

27 R.C. 3333.04(N). See also R.C. 3333.07(C), not in the act.
28 R.C. 3333.073.

29 R.C. 3345.35.
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must afford the student with a fair and impartial hearing within a reasonable time under the
university’s regular procedures.3°

The act does not affect provisions of continuing law that establish specific due process
procedures for students, faculty, and staff members who have been arrested for certain
criminal offenses.?!

Contracts without nonboycott declaration are prohibited

The act expressly states that, for purposes of the Non-Boycott Law prescribed under
continuing law, a “state agency” includes a state institution of higher education. Under the
Non-Boycott Law, a state agency may not enter into or renew a contract with a company for
the acquisition or provision of supplies, equipment, or services, or for construction services,
unless the contract declares that it is not boycotting any jurisdiction with whom Ohio can enjoy
open trade, including Israel, and will not do so during the contract period.32

Admissions and Ohio residents

The act requires each state university to endeavor to avoid prioritizing admission of an
out-of-state applicant over an in-state applicant if both applicants:

1. Apply in the same general timeframe, as determined by the university; and
2. Have substantially similar qualifications that satisfy the university’s admissions criteria.

To the extent practicable, a state university must ensure that in-state applicants are
given ample and sufficient opportunity to be admitted, as compared to out-of-state applicants,
if the in-state applicants satisfy the university’s admissions criteria.3?

Credit for online coursework

The act generally requires each state institution to accept and provide credit for
coursework in the same manner across all instructional models. However, it exempts courses
that require in-person observations and experiences, such as laboratories and clinicals.3*

State institution — land sales

The act explicitly authorizes the Department of Administrative Services to sell real estate
on behalf of state institutions of higher education. Under continuing law, the Department is
authorized to sell any state-owned real estate, so long as it is appraised at not more than
$100,000. Under the act, the Department is authorized to sell property held for the benefit of a

30R.C. 3345.241.

31 5ee R.C. 3345.22 to 3345.24, none in the act.
32R.C.9.76.

33 R.C. 3345.064.

34R.C. 3345.381.
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state institution valued up to $10 million if the sale is approved by both the institution’s board
of trustees and the Ohio Controlling Board.3*

OTHER PROVISIONS
K-12 career advising policies

Continuing law requires each school district, community school, and STEM school to
adopt a career advising policy that meets prescribed requirements. As a new requirement, the
act requires the policy to include information regarding career fields that require an industry-
recognized credential, certificate, associate’s degree, bachelor’s degree, graduate degree, or
professional degree. The policy also must provide students with information about ways to
offset the costs of a post-secondary education, including:

1. The Reserve Officer Training Corps;

2. The College Credit Plus Program;

3. The Ohio Guaranteed Transfer Pathways Initiative; and

4. Joint academic programming or dual enrollment opportunities.

The Chancellor must develop informational materials that illustrate cost saving
estimates for each of those options. The Chancellor also must develop a list of individual college
courses that are transferable under the transfer and articulation system prescribed under
continuing law.3®

Statewide apprenticeship program proposal

The act requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction, in consultation with the
Chancellor and the Director of Job and Family Services, to develop a proposal to implement a
statewide apprenticeship program for high school students on a pathway to either employment
upon graduation or enrollment in a post-secondary educational institution. The state
Superintendent, the Chancellor, and the Director must include appropriate stakeholders in
developing the proposal. They must consider the following when developing the proposal:

1. Eligibility requirements for students participating in an apprenticeship, including a
minimum grade point average or its equivalent;

2. A process by which a student may secure an apprenticeship;

3. A process for approval of each student’s apprenticeship, including a method for
evaluating the educational benefits of an apprenticeship, and giving consideration to:

a. Any apprenticeship that is certified or registered by the U. S. Department of Labor;
or

35R.C. 123.01(A)(18)(a) and R.C. 3345.12, not in the act.
36 R.C. 3313.6020.
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b. A preapprenticeship that is aligned with state standards.
4. A limitation on the number of hours per week a student may work in an apprenticeship;

5. A method for determining actual costs of a business participating in an apprenticeship,
including workers’ compensation and other insurance and training costs;

6. Funding formulas for students enrolled in either public or chartered nonpublic schools,
including maximum amounts, to pay businesses for costs associated with employing
students under an apprenticeship;

7. A method for making payments to participating businesses; and

8. A method by which college credit for a certificate or certificates earn in an
apprenticeship may transfer to an institution of higher education. Though, the bill
requires that, under that method, an institution must determine whether to accept
work after completing an apprenticeship as eligible college credit for admission
purposes.

The act requires the state Superintendent, the Chancellor, and the Director to submit
the proposal to the Governor and the General Assembly for consideration by June 1, 2023.3’

Renewable energy facility tax exemption qualifications

The act modifies one of the qualifications for continuing law’s property tax exemption
for qualified renewable energy facilities.

Under continuing law, a renewable energy facility may qualify for a real and tangible
personal property (TPP) tax exemption. When an exemption is approved, the owner or lessee of
the facility is required to make “payments-in-lieu-of-taxes” (PILOTs) to the local governments in
whose territory the facility is located.

A facility must meet several requirements to qualify for exemption. One of these
requirements is that the owner or lessee of a facility with a nameplate capacity of more than
20 megawatts must coordinate with a state institution of higher education or certified
apprenticeship program to train individuals for careers in wind or solar energy. The act expands
the entities with which a facility owner or lessee may coordinate to include career-technical
centers, joint vocational school districts, and for-profit or nonprofit training centers.38

37 Section 3.

38 R.C. 5727.75(F)(7).
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