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SUMMARY 

 Requires the Auditor of State to create training material detailing Ohio’s fraud-reporting 
system and the means of reporting fraud, waste, and abuse. 

 Requires the Department of Administrative Services to administer the training material 
to each new employee or elected official upon taking office or beginning employment 
with a public office in a manner prescribed by the Auditor of State. 

 Specifies certain persons required to make a report on the fraud-reporting system 
immediately after becoming aware of a violation of state or federal statutes, rules, 
regulations, misuse of public resources, or a cybersecurity event. 

 Adds that an employee who believes a violation or misuse is criminal may also make a 
report to the prosecuting attorney, director of law, village solicitor, or similar chief legal 
officer of a township or other public office, as is permitted to be made to those persons 
in a municipal corporation, to a peace officer, or the Inspector General. 

 Requires the office of internal audit to immediately forward to the Auditor of State any 
written report the office receives regarding those violations. 

 Changes the timeline for a person who believes they have been subject to disciplinary or 
retaliatory action for filing a report of a violation from 30 days to 180 days to file an 
appeal with the State Personnel Board of Review after receiving actual notice of the 
appointing authority’s action. 

 Specifies that a person required to report a violation and recklessly fails to do so may be 
found in violation of dereliction of duty, which is a second degree misdemeanor and 
subject to not more than 90 days in jail and a fine of not more than $750. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA135-SB-91
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Fraud-reporting system 

The bill requires the Auditor of State to create training material detailing Ohio’s fraud-
reporting system and the means of reporting fraud, waste, and abuse. The training material 
must be as concise as practicable. Under continuing law, the Auditor of State must establish 
and maintain a system for reporting fraud, including misuse and misappropriation of public 
money by any public office or official. The system must allow residents and employees of any 
public office to make anonymous complaints using a toll free telephone number, the Auditor of 
State’s website, or by mail to the Auditor of State’s office. The Auditor of State must review all 
complaints in a timely manner. 

Additionally, the bill requires the Department of Administrative Services to administer 
the training material to each new employee or elected official upon taking office or beginning 
employment with a public office in a manner prescribed by the Auditor of State. Each new 
employee or elected official must confirm receipt of the training material on a form model 
provided by the Auditor of State within 30 days after taking office or beginning employment. 
The training is required every four years for each employee or elected official. Under current 
law, a public office is required to provide employees with information about Ohio’s fraud 
reporting system within 30 days upon employment with a public office and is satisfied if the 
public office provides the information in an employee handbook and requires an employee’s 
signature for receipt of the handbook.1 

Persons required to report fraud and abuse 

The bill requires the following persons to make a report on the fraud reporting system 
immediately after becoming aware of a violation of state or federal statutes, rules, regulations, 
misuse of public resources, or, as added by the bill, a cybersecurity event:  

 The person is an elected official; 

 The person is appointed to or within a public office; 

 The person has a fiduciary duty to a public office; 

 The person holds a supervisory position within a public office; 

 The person is employed in the department or office responsible for processing any 
expenses of the public office. 

The bill reorganizes but does not change the continuing law that allows a classified or 
unclassified employee, regardless of whether the employee is required to report a violation, to 
also file a written report of the violation or misuse to the employee’s supervisor or appointing 
authority if that supervisor or appointing authority has the authority to correct the violation or 
misuse. Continuing law permits an employee of the classified or unclassified civil service to also 
file a written reporting identifying violations or misuse with the Office of Internal Audit (within 

                                                      

1 R.C. 117.103. 
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the Office of Budget and Management) or Auditor of State. Current law permits an employee of 
the classified or unclassified civil service to file a written report with the Office of Internal Audit 
or Auditor of State instead of filing a report with the employee’s supervisor or appointing 
authority. 

Under continuing law, if an employee that reasonably believes that a violation or misuse 
of public resources is a criminal offense, the employee may also report it to a prosecuting 
attorney, director of law, village solicitor, or similar chief legal officer of a municipal 
corporation, to a peace officer, or if the violation is within the jurisdiction of the Inspector 
General, to the Inspector General. The bill adds that an employee may report a violation or 
misuse to the prosecuting attorney, director of law, village solicitor, or similar chief legal officer 
of a township or other public office. Under current law, the criminal report could be made 
instead of filing a report or complaint with the employee’s supervisor, appointing authority, 
Office of Internal Audit, or the fraud-reporting system.2 

Additionally, the bill requires the Office of Internal Audit to immediately forward to the 
Auditor of State any written report the office receives.3 Under continuing law, the Office of 
Internal Audit directs internal audits of state agencies or divisions of state agencies to improve 
their operations in areas of risk management, internal controls, and governance.4 

Disciplinary action  

Continuing law prohibits a public office from taking any disciplinary action against a 
person for making any report or filing any complaint as required of the person. Specifically, an 
office may not do any of the following: 

 Remove or suspend the person from employment; 

 Withhold from the person salary increases or benefits to which the person is otherwise 
entitled; 

 Transfer or reassign the person; 

 Deny the person a promotion that otherwise would have been received; 

 Reduce the person in pay or position.5 

The bill changes the timeline for a person who believes they have been subject to 
disciplinary or retaliatory action from 30 days to 180 days to file an appeal with the State 
Personnel Board of Review after receiving actual notice of the appointing authority’s action. 
Filing an appeal is the person’s sole and exclusive remedy. 

                                                      

2 R.C. 124.341; conforming changes in R.C. 1347.15 and 4113.52. 
3 R.C. 126.47(E). 
4 R.C. 126.45, not in the bill. 
5 R.C. 124.341(D) and (F). 
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The bill specifies that a person required to report a violation who recklessly fails to do so 
may be found in violation of dereliction of duty, which is a second degree misdemeanor and 
subject to not more than 90 days in jail and a fine of not more than $750.6 
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6 R.C. 124.341(G); R.C. 2921.44, 2929.24, and 2929.28, not in the bill. 


