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SUMMARY 

 Requires the chief of police training course to be conducted at locations determined by 
the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission and in a manner prescribed by the 
Commission. 

 Sets eight hours as the maximum exemption for a chief who submits evidence of 
previous training or qualification in the exempted topics. 

 Specifies a “newly appointed” chief is one who has never held the full-time position 
before. 

 Allows the Commission to establish and conduct police officer training courses to be 
offered to law enforcement officers at or above the rank of sergeant. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Chief of police training 

Continuing law requires the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission to provide a chief 
of police training course for newly appointed chiefs. The course consists of at least 40 hours of 
instruction on topics determined by the Commission. The bill modifies the course requirements 
in the following ways: 

 Instead of requiring the course to be conducted at the Ohio Peace Officer Training 
Academy as under current law, the course must be conducted at locations determined 
by the Commission. 

                                                      

* This analysis was prepared before the report of the House Homeland Security Committee appeared in 
the House Journal. Note that the legislative history may be incomplete. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA135-HB-167
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 The bill specifies the course must be conducted in a manner prescribed by the 
Commission. 

 Current law allows a new chief to request an exemption from a “portion” of the course 
by submitting the exemption request to the Commission within ten days after the chief 
is appointed. The bill makes the maximum exemption eight hours, limits the exemption 
to topics approved by the Executive Director, and requires the request to be provided to 
the Commission at least 14 days before the course starts. 

 Lastly, the bill specifies a “newly appointed” chief is one who has never held the 
full-time position before, rather than one who did not hold the office on the date the 
person was appointed.1 

Sergeant and above training 

The bill allows the Commission to establish and conduct police officer training courses, 
in addition to the Peace Officer Basic Training Academy, to be offered to a law enforcement 
officer at or above the rank of sergeant.2 
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1 R.C. 109.804. 
2 R.C. 109.791. 


