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LBO Staff  

Highlights 

Adult-use marijuana 

Excise tax revenue 

 The bill increases the current state excise tax on adult-use marijuana from 10% to 15%. 
Annual tax revenue due to this change is estimated to be approximately $88 million to 
$103 million higher under the bill than under current law once the adult-use marijuana 
market completely matures, likely no earlier than FY 2026. 

 Current law was enacted by State Issue 2, which was approved by Ohio voters on 
November 7, 2023, and is effective December 7, 2023. Since current law has not yet been 
implemented, there is considerable uncertainty about the future adult-use marijuana 
market, including quantity and pricing, which will determine actual revenues under both 
current law and the bill.  

 The bill changes the disposition of excise tax revenue. See tables 1 and 2 below for details 
of the disposition under current law and the bill. 

 The bill authorizes counties, if approved by voters, to levy a local excise tax ranging 
between 0.25% and 3.0% of adult-use marijuana sales. 

Department of Commerce – Division of Marijuana Control 

 The bill integrates regulation of adult-use marijuana into a new Division of Marijuana 
Control in the Department of Commerce. The Division will be supported by 3% of the 
adult-use marijuana excise tax, up to $8.0 million annually to be deposited into the 
Division of Marijuana Control Operations Fund, as well as license fees collected from 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA135-HB-86
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cultivators, processors, testing laboratories, and dispensaries. These fees are to be 
established by rule.  

Micro-distilleries 

 The bill allows micro-distilleries holding an active A-3a permit before the bill’s effective 
date to produce any amount of spirituous liquor in a year rather than the 100,000 gallon 
annual limit under current law.  

 Because these permits are assessed on a per 50 gallon barrel rate, the Department of 
Commerce’s Division of Liquor Control could collect additional permit revenue if 
production among active A-3a permit holders increases.  

 Liquor permit revenues are deposited into the Undivided Liquor Permit Fund (Fund 7066), 
which collects and distributes liquor permit fees to the State Liquor Regulatory Fund 
(Fund 5LP0), municipalities and townships, and the Statewide Treatment and Prevention 
Fund (Fund 4750). 

Detailed Analysis 

Adult-use marijuana 

Excise tax revenue 

The bill modifies the current excise tax on adult-use marijuana, marijuana sold legally in 
Ohio excluding medical marijuana, by increasing the excise tax on the retail sale of adult-use 
marijuana from 10% to 15%.  

The current 10% excise tax on the retail sale of adult-use marijuana was included in State 
Issue 2, which was approved by Ohio voters on November 7, 2023, and is effective December 7, 
2023. Prior to this date, the retail sale of adult-use marijuana was not legal in Ohio. The timing of 
future revenue under both current law and the bill is uncertain, as it depends on completion of 
all implementation aspects. The annual estimates given in tables 1 and 2 assume the marketplace 
has matured. That is, the program has been fully implemented. This is not likely to occur until 
FY 2026 at the earliest. Only a portion of the annual revenue estimates may be collected in 
FY 2025. Once the market has matured, the current law 10% excise tax on retail sales is estimated 
to provide annual revenue to the state of approximately $176 million to $206 million. LBO 
estimates the bill’s 15% excise tax on retail sales will yield between $264 million and $309 million 
each year once the market matures. That is, an annual increase of approximately $88 million to 
$103 million as compared to current law.  

The bill also applies the 15% retail excise tax to illicit marijuana sales, but LBO anticipates 
that provision will be an infrequent source of state revenue. In fact, the estimates assume most 
marijuana consumption migrates from the illicit market to the new legal framework.  

Methodology 

The estimates are based on data and research on adult-use marijuana in other states, as 
well as various assumptions about the Ohio marketplace. The marijuana consumption of Ohio 
residents was calculated using the estimated number of Ohioans aged 21 and older who used 
marijuana in the past 12 months based on data from the National Survey of Drug Use and Health 
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(NSDUH),1 and the prevalence and frequency of use of marijuana. The NSDUH information 
suggests about 1.75 million users in Ohio, and their overall demand is derived from a 
methodology in a report prepared for the Colorado Department of Revenue.2 LBO staff further 
assumed nonresidents’ marijuana consumption from Ohio retail dispensaries would be about 5% 
of total residents’ consumption.  

LBO assumed that the average retail price in Ohio would be $230 per ounce. The resulting 
retail marketplace would range between $1.76 billion and $2.06 billion per year and a 15% excise 
tax on retail sales would raise between $264 million and $309 million annually. 

Local option excise tax 

The bill permits a county to levy an excise tax on the retail sale of adult-use marijuana in 
the county ranging between 0.25% and 3.0% of the price of adult-use marijuana. The local excise 
tax must be “for one or more of the purposes of funding cultural, artistic, and entertainment 
opportunities in the county and for the purpose of paying the expenses of administering the tax.” 
In order to levy the tax, the Board of County Commissioners must submit a ballot question to 
countywide voters for approval at a general or special election. 

Any revenue amounts resulting from the local excise tax will be remitted and 
administered similar to the state excise tax. The Department of Taxation will credit 98% of the 
net proceeds (i.e., net of tax refunds) from local excise tax receipts to the Permissive Tax 
Distribution Fund (Fund 7063) and 2% will be retained by the Tax Commissioner in the Local 
Excise Tax Administration Fund (Fund 6880). The Tax Commissioner will subsequently distribute 
the appropriate amount of excise tax receipts from Fund 7063 to the applicable counties. 

Revenue disposition 

Current law 

Current law allocates revenue from the state excise tax into the Adult Use Tax Fund and 
provides for transfers into new funds as shown in Table 1.  

 

Table 1. Estimated Annual Excise Tax Revenue in a Mature Marketplace Under Current Law 

Fund Distribution % 
Estimated Annual 

Revenue (in millions) 

Cannabis Social Equity and Jobs Fund 36% $63.3-$74.1 

Host Community Cannabis Fund  36% $63.3-$74.1 

                                                      

1 The number of legal Ohio marijuana users in the past 12 months is estimated primarily based on the 
latest NSDUH data, 2021 National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH). A downward adjustment was 
made using census information to reduce NSDUH data for the number of persons aged 18 through 20 who 
are not legally able to purchase marijuana under the bill.  
2 Market Size and Demand for Marijuana in Colorado, 2014, Table 1. The report is available at: 
https://media.focusonthefamily.com/fotf/pdf/channels/social-issues/market-size-and-demand-study-
july92014.pdf.  

https://www.samhsa.gov/data/report/2021-nsduh-estimated-totals-state
https://media.focusonthefamily.com/fotf/pdf/channels/social-issues/market-size-and-demand-study-july92014.pdf
https://media.focusonthefamily.com/fotf/pdf/channels/social-issues/market-size-and-demand-study-july92014.pdf
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Table 1. Estimated Annual Excise Tax Revenue in a Mature Marketplace Under Current Law 

Fund Distribution % 
Estimated Annual 

Revenue (in millions) 

Substance Abuse and Addiction Fund  25% $44.0-$51.4 

Division of Cannabis Control and Tax 
Commissioner Fund 

3% $5.3-$6.2 

Total $175.9-$205.8 

 

Under current law, the Department of Development is to use revenue deposited into the 
Cannabis Social Equity and Jobs Fund to establish and administer a business assistance program. 
Revenue deposited into the Host Community Cannabis Fund, under current law, is to benefit 
municipalities and townships that have adult-use dispensaries. Current law requires the Ohio 
Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (OhioMHAS) to use the revenue in the 
Substance Abuse and Addiction Fund for efforts to alleviate substance and opiate abuse and for 
related research. Finally, current law requires revenue deposited into the Division of Cannabis 
Control and Tax Commissioner Fund to support the operations of the Division and costs of 
administering the tax.  

The bill 

The bill repeals these funds and their required uses and instead requires that all amounts 
collected from the state excise tax levied on adult-use marijuana be deposited in the newly 
created Marijuana Receipts Fund. The bill allocates net proceeds (i.e., after issuing applicable tax 
refunds) through transfers made by the Office of Budget and Management (OBM) Director to 
other funds as shown in Table 2. Distributions into the funds are limited each year to an amount 
as listed in the table minus the fund’s year-end balance. Any excess after reaching that limit is 
deposited into the GRF.  

 

Table 2. Estimated Annual Excise Tax Revenue in a Mature Marketplace Under the Bill 

Fund Distribution % 
Estimated Annual 

Revenue 
(in millions) 

County Jail Construction Fund 28%, up to $80 million, for 10 years $73.9-$80.0 

Department of Public Safety Law 
Enforcement Training Fund 

16%, up to $45 million first 5 years, 
19%, up to $55 million after 5 years 

$42.2-$45.0 

Attorney General Law Enforcement 
Training Fund  

14%, up to $40 million, starting in FY 2026 $36.9-$40.0 

Substance Abuse, Treatment, and 
Prevention Fund  

9%, up to $25 million first 5 years, 
11%, up to $30 million after 5 years 

$23.7-$25.0 

9-8-8 Fund 9%, up to $25 million $23.7-$25.0 
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Table 2. Estimated Annual Excise Tax Revenue in a Mature Marketplace Under the Bill 

Fund Distribution % 
Estimated Annual 

Revenue 
(in millions) 

Marijuana Expungement Fund 5%, up to $15 million, for 5 years $13.2-$15.0 

Marijuana Receipts Drug Law 
Enforcement Fund 

5%, up to $15 million $13.2-$15.0 

Safe Driver Training Fund  5%, up to $15 million $13.2-$15.0 

Ohio Investigative Unit Operations 
Fund 

4%, up to $13 million $10.6-$12.3 

Division of Marijuana Control 
Operations Fund 

3%, up to $8 million $7.9-$8.0 

Marijuana Poison Control Fund 2%, up to $5 million $5.0 

GRF Amounts in excess of other fund limits $0.3-$23.3 

Total $263.9-$308.7 

 

The bill limits transfers into the County Jail Construction Fund to the first ten years after 
the bill’s effective date and requires the Director of Rehabilitation and Correction to use the 
revenue to provide grants for the construction and renovation of county jails. 

The bill requires the Director of Public Safety to use the revenue deposited into the 
Department of Public Safety Law Enforcement Training Fund to fund the training of peace 
officers; the revenue deposited into the Safe Driver Training Fund to support DPS’s efforts in 
providing safe driver notifications, safe driver education, and public safety announcements, 
including information on the dangers of driving while under the influence of marijuana; and the 
revenue deposited into the Ohio Investigative Unit Operations Fund to support the investigatory 
activities of the unit. The Director is required to submit an annual plan to the General Assembly 
for the following fiscal year for amounts in the Safe Driver Training Fund.  

The bill requires the Attorney General to use the revenue deposited into the Attorney 
General Law Enforcement Training Fund to pay for the training of peace officers and troopers; 
and the revenue deposited into the Marijuana Expungement Fund to provide reimbursements 
for certain costs of applicants for expungement for five years after the effective date of the bill. 
After this five years, the bill transfers 60% of the balance in the Marijuana Expungement Fund to 
the Department of Public Safety Law Enforcement Training Fund and 40% to the Substance 
Abuse, Treatment, and Prevention Fund and increases the revenue into those funds as shown in 
Table 2. 

The bill requires the OhioMHAS Director to use the revenue deposited into the Substance 
Abuse, Treatment, and Prevention Fund to pay for substance abuse treatment, prevention, and 
education, using peer-reviewed and evidence-based methods; and the revenue deposited into 
the 9-8-8 fund to support the suicide prevention and mental health crisis hotline. The Director is 
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required to submit an annual plan to the General Assembly for the following fiscal year for 
amounts in the Substance Abuse, Treatment, and Prevention Fund. 

The bill requires the Executive Director of the Division of Criminal Justice Services to use 
the revenue deposited into the Marijuana Receipts Drug Law Enforcement Fund in conjunction 
with revenue in the existing Drug Law Enforcement Fund to enforce drug laws. 

The bill requires the Superintendent of Marijuana Control to use the revenue deposited 
into the Division of Marijuana Control Operations Fund for the operations of the Division. 

The bill requires the Director of Health to use the revenue deposited into the Marijuana 
Poison Control Fund to support efforts to safeguard the public from marijuana and other 
chemical exposures, and to provide clinical consultation services, educational prevention 
programs, and data reporting. 

State agency expenditures 

State agencies will incur additional expenditures to administer the newly enacted 
marijuana provisions under both current law and the bill. The bill incurs a fiscal effect for state 
agency expenditures to the extent its requirements differ from current law. The notable 
provisions are discussed in the following sections.  

Department of Commerce – Division of Marijuana Control 

The bill integrates adult-use marijuana regulation and oversight into a new Division of 
Marijuana Control, which will oversee adult use as well as the existing medical marijuana 
program. Under the Tax Yield and Public Expenditure Analysis that OBM and the Department of 
Taxation prepared for State Issue 2 (PDF), available on the Secretary of State’s website: 
ohiosos.gov, OBM estimated that the total operating costs incurred by the Division of Cannabis 
Control under current law would grow as the adult-use industry matures, from $2.4 million in 
FY 2024 to $11.3 million by FY 2027. This assumed that the Division of Cannabis Control would 
need to hire 133 full-time employees within four years, with a total payroll amounting to 
approximately $9.0 million by FY 2027. OBM’s analysis also estimated costs of $350,000 annually 
for additional office space, database costs, and approximately $258,000 for equipment, software 
licenses, and other operating costs. Finally, OBM anticipated expenditures of $1.5 million 
annually in legal and litigation costs.  

Under the bill, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) shall assist the Division of Marijuana 
Control in enforcing the adult use as well as the existing medical marijuana law. The Ohio 
Investigative Unit within DPS may inspect or investigate the premises of any person under these 
laws if the following conditions are met: (1) the person inspected or investigated is licensed, and 
(2) the unit is invited by local law enforcement having jurisdiction over the person inspected or 
investigated will have investigative authority related to adult-use and medical marijuana in 
conjunction with the Division of Marijuana Control. The extent to which their services will be 
utilized and whether current staffing levels will be sufficient is unknown. OIU enforces Ohio’s 
alcohol, tobacco, and food stamp fraud laws. The bill adds to this authority. Funding provided 
from a portion of the tax revenues credited to the Ohio Investigative Unit Operations Fund will 
offset a portion, if not all of these costs.  

https://www.ohiosos.gov/globalassets/ballotboard/2023/2023-state-issue-2---tax-yield-and-expenditure-analysis.pdf
https://www.ohiosos.gov/globalassets/ballotboard/2023/2023-state-issue-2---tax-yield-and-expenditure-analysis.pdf
https://www.ohiosos.gov/globalassets/ballotboard/2023/2023-state-issue-2---tax-yield-and-expenditure-analysis.pdf
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Funding 

Under the bill, the Division is to be funded by a portion of a 3% distribution, up to 
$8.0 million annually, from the adult-use tax (see above). Regulatory costs will also be covered 
by licensing fees charged to cultivators, processors, testing laboratories, and dispensaries in the 
adult-use industry. The fees that apply to adult-use marijuana will be established by rule, just as 
with medical marijuana as is the case currently. The table below displays the current licensing 
fee structure under the Department of Commerce’s Medical Marijuana Control Program. Under 
the bill, the Division of Marijuana Control would presumably adjust the fees to meet its operating 
costs. Additionally, the bill sets a maximum of 350 dispensary licenses that may be issued.  

 

Table 3. Division of Marijuana Control Fees 

License Type Application 
Initial (Certificate of 

Operation) 
License Renewal 

Cultivator Level I* $20,000 $180,000 $200,000 

Cultivator Level II* $2,000 $18,000 $20,000 

Processor* $10,000 $90,000 $100,000 

Testing* $2,000 $18,000 $20,000 

Dispensary** $5,000 $70,000 $70,000 

*Annual renewal 

**Biennial renewal  

 

Additionally, there is a $5,000 fee if a dispensary changes ownership, relocates, or 
performs major modifications or renovations to the building. Dispensary employees, patients 
eligible to use medical marijuana, and their caregivers must register with the Division and pay a 
corresponding fee to apply or renew. These fees range from $25 to $500. An advertising approval 
fee of $100 per advertisement is also assessed. Fee revenue is deposited into the Medical 
Marijuana Control Fund (Fund 5SY0). 

Attorney General 

The Attorney General will experience administrative cost increases as a result of the bill. 
Specifically, these costs are related to (1) potential delinquent tax collections, (2) criminal records 
checks for industry workers and representatives, and (3) implementation of a reimbursement 
program for certain expungement applications.  

Collections enforcement  

Under continuing law, the Attorney General (AGO) Collections Enforcement Section is 
responsible for collecting all delinquent debt owed to close to 600 state agencies, institutions, 
universities, and other government entities for taxes, fines, penalties, service fees, loans, and any 
other debt due. The Attorney General may retain up to 11% of all amounts collected which is 
credited to the Claims Fund (Fund 4190). Because the bill imposes a new tax scheme for this new 
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industry, it seems likely some number of delinquent tax violations may occur. To the extent that 
this occurs and the amount of such claims, the revenue to AGO could increase annually.  

Criminal records checks 

Administrators as well as owners, officers, or board members of entities seeking a license 
from the Division of Marijuana Control are required to complete a criminal records check as part 
of the application process. Base fees of the state-only and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) 
background checks are $22 and $25.25, respectively. The $22 state-only background check fee 
and a portion of the FBI background check fee are deposited into the state treasury to the credit 
of the Attorney General’s General Reimbursement Fund (Fund 1060). The remaining portion of 
the FBI background check fee is sent to the FBI. Background checks may also be obtained by 
county sheriff’s offices or other Webcheck locations, which may charge additional fees. 

Expungement reimbursement program 

The bill requires the Attorney General to adopt rules to create a process for certain 
expungement applicants to be reimbursed for the costs of the application and for legal aid 
societies involved with expungement assistance to be reimbursed those costs. Approved 
reimbursements would be paid from the marijuana expungement fund. The reimbursement 
program is available for five years from the effective date of the bill. Please see the section below 
entitled “Expungements” for more details on the impact for local criminal justice systems. 
Application fees total $50, but legal costs would be highly variable. It is uncertain if existing staff 
and resources would be sufficient for the Attorney General to administer this reimbursement 
program over the five-year period.  

Criminal offenses 

Fiscal effect of criminal offenses 

The legalization of adult-use marijuana, under both current law and the bill, is expected 
to reduce the number of marijuana offenses to some degree, especially minor misdemeanor 
offenses. The bill creates new offenses, though, which may offset some of these savings. Most 
significantly, incarceration costs may increase due to the penalties associated with passenger use 
of marijuana in a vehicle, with penalties potentially reaching a felony of the third degree with a 
mandatory prison term of one, two, three, four, or five years. These changes will result in a 
complicated mix of potential outcomes, largely impacting the Department of Rehabilitation and 
Correction (DRC), local courts, jails, and probation departments. It is possible that some of these 
costs would be partially offset by the penalties and fines that are collected. However, the net 
impact is indeterminate and would vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. 

As an example, for new cases generated by the prohibition against the smoking, 
combustion, and vaporizing of marijuana as a passenger in a vehicle, most costs would likely be 
borne by the local criminal justice systems, including jails. Based on an average daily jail cost of 
$90.25 per bed,3 an offender sentenced to three days in a county jail costs $271, an offender 
sentenced to ten days costs $903; 30 days, $2,708; six months, $16,471; and one year, $32,941. 

                                                      

3 Based on daily jail cost per bed as reported to DRC in 2023. 
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This cost is offset somewhat by the collection of mandatory fines of which some portion is likely 
to go uncollected due to an offender’s indigence or inability to pay.  

For those offenders sanctioned with a felony level charge, costs would be split between 
the local jurisdiction (charging, defense/prosecution and adjudication) and the state 
(incarceration or supervision). For FY 2023, DRC reported an average annual cost per inmate of 
$37,624, or $103.08 per day. However, when considering only the marginal cost increase, the 
cost to house an individual inmate was $11.98 per day, or $4,373 per year. Marginal costs are 
based on additional medical and mental health costs as well as food and clothing. It does not 
include additional security, facility, or administrative costs which have already been factored into 
the overall operating costs of DRC. Felony offenses under the bill with mandatory prison terms 
of up to five years with up to one additional year could result in additional costs from $26,238 
(marginal cost) to up to $225,744 (institutional cost) per offender. The number of offenders that 
could be charged and ultimately sentenced under the bill’s new prohibitions is indeterminate and 
would likely vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. 

Detailed below are the various new criminal prohibitions included in the bill and proposed 
penalty structure for each. For context, Table 4 illustrates the general penalty structure for 
misdemeanors and felonies under current law. However, a number of the new prohibitions 
feature unique sanctions.  

 

Table 4. Felony and Misdemeanor Sentences and Fines for Offenses Generally 

Offense Level Fine Term of Incarceration 

Felony 1st degree* Up to $20,000 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, or 11 years indefinite prison term 

Felony 2nd degree* Up to $15,000 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8 years indefinite prison term 

Felony 3rd degree Up to $10,000 9, 12, 18, 24, 30, or 36 months definite prison term 

Felony 4th Degree Up to $5,000 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, or 18 months 
definite prison term 

Felony 5th degree Up to $2,500 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, or 12 months definite prison term 

Misdemeanor 1st degree Up to $1,000 Jail, not more than 180 days 

Misdemeanor 2nd degree Up to $750 Jail, not more than 90 days 

Misdemeanor 3rd degree Up to $500 Jail, not more than 60 days 

Misdemeanor 4th degree Up to $250 Jail, not more than 30 days 

Minor misdemeanor Up to $150 Citation issued; No jail 

*The sentencing court shall impose a minimum sentence for first and second degree felony offenses committed after March 22, 2019 (definite 
sentences were previously imposed). The court shall specify a maximum sentence that is 50% greater than the minimum sentence. The court 
may, after a hearing, reduce the minimum sentence by 5%-15% upon recommendation of the Department of Rehabilitation and Correction.  
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Marijuana use in a vehicle (while a passenger) 

The bill establishes a new prohibition against the smoking, combustion, and vaporizing of 
marijuana as a passenger in a vehicle, streetcar, trackless trolley, watercraft, or aircraft. Current 
OVI laws pertaining to prohibitions against smoking, combustion, and vaporizing marijuana as 
the operator of a vehicle, streetcar, trackless trolley, watercraft, or aircraft remain unchanged. 
Table 5 below shows the penalties for violations of the new prohibition which elevate depending 
on the number of previous violations from a first degree misdemeanor to third degree felony 
with specified minimum terms of incarcerations, mandatory fines, and license suspensions based 
on the level of offense. The lookback period for subsequent offenses is ten years. 

The bill’s license suspension provisions may increase the total number of driver’s license 
suspensions administered annually by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV). The cost of 
administering such suspensions will be at least partially offset by the collection of a $40 fee 
required under existing law to reinstate a license suspended under the bill.4 The magnitude of 
any increase in driver’s license suspensions or subsequent reinstatement fee revenue generated 
annually will ultimately depend on the number of violations that result in a license suspension.  

 

Table 5. Punishments for Violations of the Prohibition Against Certain Uses of Marijuana by a 
Passenger in a Vehicle, Streetcar, Trackless Trolley, Watercraft, or Aircraft 

Violation 
Level of 

Offense* 
Mandatory 

Incarceration** 

Additional 
Permitted 

Incarceration*** 

Mandatory 
Fine Range 

Length of License 
Suspension 

First violation M-1 3 days in jail 6 months $375-$1,075 Not to exceed 
1 year 

One prior 
violation 

M-1 10 days in jail 6 months $525-$1,625 3 months to 
2 years 

Two prior 
violations 

M-1 30 days in jail 1 year $850-$2,750 6 months to 
3 years 

Three prior 
violations 

F-4 Prison term of 1, 
2, 3, 4, or 

5 years 

1 year $1,350-
$10,500 

1 to 5 years 

A prior felony 
violation 

F-3 Prison term of 1, 
2, 3, 4, or 

5 years 

1 year $1,350-
$10,500 

2 to 10 years 

*M is used to denote a misdemeanor offense; F is used to denote a felony offense. 
**All terms are consecutive. 
***Permitted terms are not to exceed the amount of time listed and misdemeanor offenses are inclusive of the mandatory term. 

                                                      

4 That amount, which applies to suspensions of at least 90 days, is forwarded to the state treasury and 
deposited as follows: $30 to the Public Safety – Highway Purposes Fund (Fund 5TM0) and $10 to the 
Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) (R.C. 4507.45). 
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Transportation of marijuana or marijuana paraphernalia in a vehicle 

The bill generally prohibits the transportation of marijuana or marijuana paraphernalia in 
a motor vehicle unless the marijuana or paraphernalia are in the original, unopened packaging 
and stored in the trunk of the vehicle, or other allowable space. A violation of either prohibition 
is a minor misdemeanor offense (see Table 4).  

Personal use and possession offenses 

The bill regulates personal use of marijuana by placing restrictions on use and possession. 
The bill prohibits the smoking, combustion, and vaporization of marijuana in public places (minor 
misdemeanor), limits the quantities that one may possess, limits the number of plants an 
individual may grow at home, and prohibits a person under 21 years of age from purchasing, 
using, or possessing marijuana (minor misdemeanor). 

Underage offenses 

In addition to the prohibition against purchasing, using, or possessing marijuana by a 
person under 21, the bill also prohibits a person under 21 from purchasing or obtaining marijuana 
in a fraudulent manner. 

The table below shows the level of offense, mandatory range, and length of potential 
license suspension for those guilty of using a fake or falsified identification to purchase or obtain 
adult-use marijuana from a licensed dispensary under 21. Under the bill, a court may sentence 
an offender to community service in lieu of suspending the offender’s license or temporary 
instruction permit. All fines are in addition to other sanctions applicable for a misdemeanor 
offense under current law.  

 

Table 6. Punishments for Violations of the Prohibition Against Using a 
Fake or Falsified Identification to Obtain Marijuana by a Person Under 21 

Violation Level of Offense* Mandatory Fine Range 
Length of License 

Suspension** 

First violation M-1 $250-$1,000 None 

One prior violation M-1 $500-$1,000 Not to exceed 1 year 

Two prior violations M-1 $500-$1,000 3 months to 2 years 

*M is used to denote a misdemeanor offense. 
**Includes a temporary instruction permit, probationary driver’s license, or driver’s license. 

 

Industry-related offenses 

The bill creates a number of prohibitions related to the adult-use marijuana industry. 
Those include prohibitions against: 

 Giving, selling, or distributing adult-use marijuana to a person under 21, a first degree 
misdemeanor on the first offense, elevating to a fifth degree felony with a prior conviction 
(see Table 4) and which additionally requires the immediate revocation of a license issued 
by the Division of Marijuana Control;  
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 Growing, cultivating, processing, selling, dispensing, or conducting other activities that 
otherwise require a license or registration under the bill, a violation of which is an offense 
of trafficking marijuana or illegal cultivation of marijuana as applicable; and 

 Selling more than the possession limits to a single customer in a single day, a violation of 
which is an offense of trafficking marijuana 

Penalties for trafficking in marijuana under current law range from a fifth degree felony 
to a first degree felony under certain circumstances. Penalties for the illegal cultivation of 
marijuana under current law range from a minor misdemeanor to a first degree felony under 
certain circumstances. In both cases, the offense level is dependent on the amount of marijuana 
involved. 

Expungements 

The bill allows a person who was convicted of or plead guilty to a violation of possession 
of marijuana or hashish to apply for expungement provided that the amount of the drug involved 
was not more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana, or 15 grams of hashish. The courts and clerks of 
courts can expect to process a large number of expungement application filings. 

The bill’s expungement provisions are similar to current law provisions for record 
expungements generally. When an application to expunge a record is filed, the court is required 
to set a hearing date and notify the prosecutor’s office. The prosecutor may object to the 
application by filing a formal objection with the court prior to the hearing date. The court is 
required to direct the relevant probation department providing services to that particular county 
to investigate and submit reports concerning the applicant. Upon filing an application with a 
court, the applicant, unless deemed to be indigent, is required to pay a $50 fee, of which $30 is 
forwarded to the state treasury, and $20 is paid to the county or municipal general fund as 
appropriate. Presuming that there will be a large number of applications made, revenue 
generated for the state and counties (especially larger counties) is expected to be sizable.  

The combined annual cost for the clerks of courts, sentencing courts, prosecutors, and 
probation departments to perform the required additional work generated by this provision is 
indeterminate, although that cost could be significant. It is uncertain if the revenues generated 
from the $20 portion of the application fees would offset these costs.  

Under current law, the court is required to send notice of an order to seal or expunge a 
record of conviction to the state’s Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI) and to any public office 
or agency that the court knows or has reason to believe may have any record of the case, whether 
or not it is an official record. The latter potentially includes state and local law enforcement, 
prosecuting attorneys, probation departments, and the Adult Parole Authority. Because of the 
bill, the number of applications received and subsequent sealing/expungement orders issued will 
increase, perhaps significantly so. 

Unemployment benefits 

Currently, if a person is discharged from employment for using marijuana, the person will 
be considered to have been discharged for just cause, if the use of marijuana violates the 
employer’s marijuana regulating policies, zero-tolerance policy, or other formal program or 
policy regulating the use of marijuana. The bill states that such a person will not be eligible to 
serve a waiting period or to receive unemployment benefits. 
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The Ohio Department of Job and Family Services administers the state’s Unemployment 
Compensation system. Ohio employers fund benefits by paying contributions to Ohio’s 
Unemployment Compensation Fund (most private sector employers) or reimbursing that fund 
for benefits paid (public sector and certain nonprofit employers).  

Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services – 9-8-8 
duties 

The bill establishes a 9-8-8 Administrator within OhioMHAS to oversee the administration 
of the 9-8-8 Suicide Prevention and Mental Health Crisis Hotline system statewide. The 
Administrator is required to submit an annual report regarding the operation of the 9-8-8 
National Suicide Prevention and Mental Health Crisis Hotline in Ohio. The bill specifies certain 
information that the report is to address. The report is to be submitted to the Governor and the 
General Assembly. OhioMHAS has already established a 9-8-8 Administrator. However, there 
could be minimal administrative costs to submit the required report if OhioMHAS is not currently 
reporting all of this data. 

Department of Commerce – micro-distilleries 

The bill increases the amount of spirituous liquor that a micro-distillery (an active 
A-3a permit holder) may annually manufacture from less than 100,000 gallons of spirituous liquor 
to any amount of spirituous liquor. The bill applies this change only to those holding an A-3a 
permit before the effective date of the bill. The 100,000 gallon limit would remain for any micro-
distillery issued an A-3a permit after the effective date of the bill. If this change leads to higher 
production volumes, the Division of Liquor Control might collect more permit revenue, as 
explained in more detail below.  

As of the most recent liquor permit data, there are 62 active A-3a permits statewide. The 
current annual permit fee for these permits is $2 per 50 gallon barrel, depending on the number 
of barrels produced by the micro-distillery.5 If the current qualifying A-3a permit holders produce 
more spirituous liquor after the 100,000 gallon cap is removed, the Ohio Division of Liquor 
Control (ODLC) might conceivably collect additional permit revenue. Note, however, that most 
of the currently licensed micro-distilleries are well below the current 100,000 gallon limit. Given 
these circumstances, any additional permit revenue attributable to micro-distillery production in 
excess of 100,000 gallons is likely to be minimal. 

Liquor permit fee revenues are deposited into the Undivided Liquor Permit Fund 
(Fund 7066). Of the money deposited into Fund 7066, 45% is distributed to the State Liquor 
Regulatory Fund (Fund 5LP0), 35% is distributed to the municipal corporations and townships in 
which liquor premises are located, and 20% is deposited in the Statewide Treatment and 
Prevention Fund (Fund 4750).  

The bill makes two other changes that do not have any fiscal effects. The first of these is 
a provision requiring that tasting samples of spirituous liquor provided by authorized individuals 
be offered to consumers at state liquor agencies free of charge rather than a minimum of 50¢ 
per sample as under current law. Finally, the bill eliminates a prohibition on adding grains of 

                                                      

5 com.ohio.gov/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/new-permit-info/guides-and-resources/permit-
class-types. 

https://com.ohio.gov/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/new-permit-info/guides-and-resources/permit-class-types
https://com.ohio.gov/divisions-and-programs/liquor-control/new-permit-info/guides-and-resources/permit-class-types
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paradise, a type of flavorful and pleasing aromatic spice, to manufactured formulations of 
spirituous liquor. 
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