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SUMMARY 

 Requires private owners of construction projects to pay contractors within 30 days after 
receiving a request for payment except that, if the plans require government approval, 
payment is required no sooner than 30 days after work is certified as compliant with 
architectural or engineering standards. 

 Applies 18% annual interest to payments not timely made. 

 Exempts certain agreements concerning exploration, extraction, and transportation of 
natural resources from Ohio’s Prompt Pay Act.  

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

The bill adds provisions to Ohio’s Prompt Pay Act, which concerns payment timelines for 
construction projects aside from those involving one-, two-, or three- family dwellings.1 The 
new provisions require the private owners of construction projects to pay contractors with 
whom they have contracted within 30 days of a request for payment or within 30 days of 
certain specified work being certified as being in compliance with architectural or engineering 
requirements.  

The Prompt Pay Act, in its current form, does include provisions requiring prompt 
payment to contractors from private owners. While another provision of law addresses 
payment from public owners to contractors,2 the Prompt Pay Act only addresses payments 
between contractors, subcontractors, material suppliers, and laborers.  

                                                      

1 R.C. 4113.61(C). 
2 R.C. 126.30, not in the bill. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA135-HB-203
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Construction projects and the current act 

In a construction project, a contractor may engage subcontractors and buy materials. 
The subcontractors and material suppliers in turn may engage subcontractors and buy 
materials. When the project owner pays the contractor, the contractor must pay the 
contractor’s laborers and subcontractors, and material suppliers. This process continues down 
the line through the subcontractors and material suppliers, who must pay their own laborers 
and subcontractors and suppliers.  

Under continuing law, if a subcontractor or supplier makes a timely request for payment 
from a contractor, and if the contractor fails to pay the amounts due within ten days after 
receiving payment themselves (for example, from the building owner or another contractor), 
the amount owed accrues interest at an 18% annual rate. Laborers must also be paid within ten 
days of the receipt of funds by the contractor, but laborers need not make a request for 
payment for interest to begin accruing.3 If 30 days elapse after the ten-day deadline, continuing 
law allows the subcontractor, supplier, or laborer owed payment to bring a civil action to 
recover the amount due, interest, and attorney’s fees.4 

New obligation for owners 

The bill’s new provisions require a private owner that has received a written request for 
payment from a contractor, for an amount allowed under the contract for properly performed 
work or furnished materials, to make payment as follows: 

 For work performed or materials furnished pursuant to plans, drawings, specifications, 
or data submitted for approval to a municipal, township, or county building department, 
or to the Superintendent of Industrial Compliance, and which require the seal of a 
registered architect or engineer, within 30 days after the work performed or materials 
furnished are certified as complying with the approved plans, drawings, specifications, 
or data by a licensed architect or engineer, or within 30 days after receiving the request 
for payment, whichever is later;  

 For all other work performed or materials furnished, 30 days after the request for 
payment is received.  

Similar to the continuing provisions for payments by and among contractors, 
subcontractors, material suppliers, and laborers, amounts may be withheld as authorized by 
law, for retainage as provided in the contract, and as necessary to resolve disputed liens or 
claims involving the work, labor, or materials. If the private owner fails to pay as required, 
interest begins to accrue at an 18% annual rate. If 30 days elapse after the deadline, the bill 

                                                      

3 R.C. 4113.61(A)(2) to (6). 
4 R.C. 4113.61(B). 
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allows the contractor to bring a civil action to recover the amount due, interest, and attorney’s 
fees.5 

Exemptions 

The bill exempts certain agreements from existing and added provisions of the Ohio 
Prompt Pay Act, including the following agreements:  

 To explore, produce, or develop oil, natural gas, natural gas liquids, synthetic gas, 
Sulphur, ore, or other mineral substances;  

 For any well or mine services;  

 To purchase, sell, gather, store, or transport oil, natural gas, natural gas liquids, 
synthetic gas, or other hydrocarbon substances by pipeline or by a fixed, associated 
facility.6  

The bill defines “agreement” as a written or oral agreement or understanding to provide 
work or services for either of the following:  

 To provide work or services for a pipeline, including any construction, operating, repair, 
or maintenance services;  

 To perform a part of the aforementioned services or an act collateral to those services, 
including furnishing or renting equipment, incidental transportation, or other goods and 
services furnished in connection with those services.7 

Effective date 

The bill’s changes to the Prompt Pay Law take effect six months after the standard, 90-
day effective date.8 
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5 R.C. 4113.61(A) and (B). 
6 R.C. 4113.61(F). 
7 R.C. 4113.61(G)(1). 
8 Section 3 of the bill. 


