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Highlights 

Department of Public Safety  

 The Department of Public Safety (DPS) may experience an estimated revenue loss of 
around $21,000 annually for the Private Investigator and Security Guard Provider Fund 
(Fund 5B90) due to the initial private investigation and security license fee decreasing 
from $375 to $200. DPS will also experience revenue losses to the Public Safety – Highway 
Purposes Fund (Fund 5TM0) due to the elimination of two licenses: (1) the motor vehicle 
salesperson license, and (2) the salvage motor vehicle auction license. Overall revenues 
for Fund 5TM0 can average around $500.0 million per year, so the decrease in licensing 
revenue for these three licenses, which historically are issued in low numbers, would be 
negligible at most. 

Department of Agriculture 

 The Commodity Handlers Regulatory Fund (Fund 4970) will incur a revenue loss of 
approximately $45,000 over a three-year period due to the elimination of the agricultural 
commodity tester certification requirement.  

Architects Board 

 The State Architects Board will incur an estimated loss of roughly $15,070 per year due to 
the loss of the fee revenue that would have been credited to Fund 4K90 as a result of the 
bill’s prohibition against charging a fee to obtain an initial certificate of qualification to 
practice architecture. That fee is currently set at $50. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA135-HB-238
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Department of Commerce 

 The bill modifies the fee structure for several different licenses and certifications 
overseen by occupational licensing boards and commissions under the Department of 
Commerce (COM). Taken together, these changes will result in an annual revenue loss of 
just under $60,000 per year. 

Detailed Analysis 

Under continuing law, the House of Representatives and the Senate must review 
one-third of the state’s occupational licensing boards each biennium – including all boards that 
are scheduled to expire at the end of the biennium. An occupational licensing board is triggered 
for expiration following the sixth year after it was created or last renewed by an act of the General 
Assembly. The bill reviews a number of occupational licensing boards and renews all of the 
following:  

 Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission; 

 State Cosmetology and Barber Board; 

 Accountancy Board; 

 Department of Agriculture; 

 Architects Board; 

 Ohio Landscape Architects Board; 

 Ohio Casino Control Commission; 

 The following divisions within the Department of Commerce: 

 Division of Financial Institutions; 

 Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing; 

 Division of Industrial Compliance; and 

 Division of Unclaimed Funds. 

 Department of Public Safety; 

 Motor Vehicle Repair Board; 

 State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and Surveyors; 

 Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services; 

 State Racing Commission; 

 Secretary of State. 

For several of the occupational licensing entities under review by the General Assembly, 
the bill makes changes to statutes affecting fees, training requirements, or other provisions. 
Changes with potential fiscal effects are discussed under the headings on the following pages. 
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Department of Public Safety (DPS) 

Private investigation and security services licenses 

The bill extends the duration of private investigation and security services licenses from 
one year to two years. Currently, all private investigation and security services licenses expire on 
the first day of March after issuance, and then annually thereafter. A license issued before the 
bill’s effective date expires on the first day of March after it was issued in accordance with current 
law. After being renewed, the license expires on the first day of March every other year. A license 
issued after the bill’s effective date expires two years after the date of issuance. 

In addition to extending the duration of private investigation and security licenses from 
one year to two years, the bill also increases the maximum renewal fee for such licenses from 
$275 annually to $550 for a two-year license, and decreases the initial private investigation and 
security license fee from $375 to $200. In FY 2022, DPS reported licensing revenue totaling 
$1.5 million for all classes of private investigation and security services licenses. Of that amount, 
$45,750 (122 x $375) was generated from initial issuance license fees. If that number remains 
steady, it is estimated that revenue credited to the Private Investigator and Security Guard 
Provider Fund (Fund 5B90) from the issuance of initial licenses would decrease by around 
$21,350 (122 x $175) annually. 

Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) 

The bill eliminates the licensure requirement for a motor vehicle salesperson but retains 
a provision of current law that generally prohibits a person from acting as a salesperson for more 
than one licensed motor vehicle dealer at a time. The bill also prohibits a motor vehicle dealer 
from soliciting the sale of motor vehicles through or compensating anyone other than a 
salesperson (even if no longer licensed) in connection with the sale of a motor vehicle. The initial 
fee and the biennial renewal fee for the motor vehicle salesperson license is $10. In CY 2021, 
2,840 such licenses were issued. Assuming that number would have otherwise remained steady, 
the bill would result in a revenue loss of $28,400 (2,840 x $10) every two years.  

The bill also eliminates the $100 application fee for a salvage motor vehicle auction 
license. Under current law, the fee is due at the time of initial application and at the time of 
renewal every two years. Very few of these licenses are issued or renewed each year. 

The above licensing and application fees are paid to the registrar of the BMV and then 
credited to the Public Safety – Highway Purposes Fund (Fund 5TM0). Overall revenues for 
Fund 5TM0 can average around $500.0 million per year, so the decrease in licensing revenue for 
these three licenses would be negligible at most. 

Department of Agriculture (AGR) 

Agricultural commodity tester 

The bill eliminates the requirement that an agricultural commodity tester be certified by 
the Director of Agriculture. The certification fee is $25 and must be renewed every three years. 
As of December 1, 2023, there are 1,885 active certifications. If the number of certifications 
remains steady, eliminating the fee would cause a revenue loss of approximately $45,000 over a 
three-year period. The fees are deposited into the Commodity Handlers Regulatory Fund 
(Fund 4970). 
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Instead of certification, under the bill, agricultural commodity testers must complete 
three hours of training to be registered and complete an additional three hours of continuing 
education every five years to maintain their registration. Each agricultural commodity handler 
must submit a list of individuals who meet these requirements. AGR will continue to maintain a 
list of eligible agricultural commodity testers. 

Architects Board 

The bill prohibits the Architects Board from charging a fee to obtain an initial certificate 
of qualification to practice architecture. The Board issues approximately 315 new architecture 
licenses annually. Assuming this number remains stable, certificate of qualification revenue 
would decrease by approximately $15,750 (315 x $50) in each year. The Board uses Fund 4K90. 

Department of Commerce 

The Department of Commerce (COM) estimates that changes to licensing and certification 
fees under the bill will result in annual revenue loss of approximately $58,500 per year. Details 
of these changes made by the bill are discussed under the headings below. 

Division of Industrial Compliance 

The bill makes changes to several different fees assessed by the Division that COM 
estimates will result in average annual revenue loss of approximately $49,000. Specifically, the 
bill requires COM to adopt rules establishing the duration of a backflow technician certification 
at five years. Current rules set the duration for this certificate at three years. Although the bill 
does not change the $75 renewal fee for this certification, extending the term will result in 
revenue loss over time. On an annualized basis, COM expects this change to result in revenue 
loss of roughly $34,000 per year. The bill specifies that backflow technician certifications issued 
before the bill’s effective date must be renewed in accordance with any rules adopted before the 
bill’s effective date. 

The bill also reduces the application fee to take the examination for a boiler and pressure 
vessel inspector certification from $150 to $100 and caps the annual fee that COM may charge 
to renew a boiler or pressure vessel inspector certificate of competency of commission at $50. 
The bill also reduces the application fee for a steam engineer, high pressure boiler operator, or a 
low pressure boiler operator license to $25. According to COM, these changes will result in annual 
revenue loss of approximately $15,000 per year. Currently the fee is $75. Additionally, under 
current law, the Superintendent of Industrial Compliance may increase the fee if the increase 
bears a reasonable relationship to the cost of administering and enforcing the state’s boiler 
regulations. In addition to reducing the fee, the bill prohibits this practice. Revenue collected by 
the Division of Industrial Compliance is credited to the Industrial Compliance Operating Fund 
(Fund 5560). 

Manufactured Homes Program 

The bill reduces the initial and renewal fees for a manufactured home installer’s license 
to $150. Under current law, those fees are established by rule and are currently both set at $250. 
COM expects this change to result in revenue loss of approximately $9,500 per year. Revenue 
from these licenses is deposited to the credit of the Manufactured Homes Regulatory Fund 
(Fund 5SU0). 
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Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing 

The bill extends the duration of a residential real estate appraiser certificate and appraiser 
assistant registration from one to two years. In conjunction with this change, the bill modifies the 
fee structure of the real estate appraiser certificate. The bill makes the initial fee for a real estate 
appraiser certificate an amount up to a maximum of $300 over a two-year period, a reduction 
when compared to the current law fee of up to a maximum of $350 over a two-year period.1 For 
certificate renewals, the fee is an amount up to a maximum of $350 over a two-year period, the 
same amount under current law. Overall, these changes will result in a small loss of revenue 
deposited to the credit of the Real Estate Appraiser Operating Fund (Fund 6A40). 

Casino Control Commission 

The bill requires the Ohio Casino Control Commission (CAC) to set the key employee 
license application fee at no more than $1,750 for in-state applicants and no less than $5,000 for 
out-of-state applicants. At the time of writing this fiscal note, the key employee license 
application fee is set at $2,000. In FY 2023, CAC granted a total of 735 key employee licenses, 
with 635 of those being granted to new employees. This has resulted in key employee license fee 
revenue of $249,904 for the fiscal year. According to CAC, the bill’s changes will increase key 
employee license fee revenue by $695,750, assuming the current number of key licenses issued 
remains the same. This revenue gain will be realized over a period of several years, as key 
employee licenses are on a three-year renewal cycle. Key employee license fee revenue is 
deposited into Fund 5HS0.  

Racing Commission 

The bill would eliminate certain licenses issued by the Racing Commission and certain fees 
that the Commission charges for licenses. In addition, the Commission would be required to 
adopt rules governing each license that it continues to issue, indicating the activities for which 
the license is issued, qualifications required of licensees, and associated fees. These changes are 
not expected to have much impact on revenues, no more than a minimal impact, and no impact 
on the agency’s costs. 

General Assembly review of occupational licensing boards 

The bill expands the definition of “occupational licensing board” for purposes of the 
General Assembly’s statutorily required review of those boards to include boards that issue 
certifications and business licenses that require an applicant to satisfy a personal qualification. 
Under current law, an “occupational licensing board” for purposes of the General Assembly’s 
review is a board, commission, committee, council, or any other similar public body, agency, 
division, or office of state government that issues one or more occupational licenses. This may 
result in a small uptick in workloads for legislative staff and a corresponding uptick in 
administrative costs. Expenditures of the General Assembly are paid from the GRF. 

                                                      

1 Under current law, the fee for both initial and renewal residential real estate appraiser certificates is set 
at $175 per year. 
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LSC review of occupational regulations 

Since calendar year 2019, LSC has been required to publish a biennial report comparing 
33% of the state’s occupational regulations with the general state policy outlined in continuing 
law. The bill expands the scope of LSC’s review to include business licenses that require an 
applicant to satisfy a personal qualification (i.e., criteria related to an applicant’s personal 
background including completion of an approved educational program, satisfactory performance 
on an examination, work experience, other evidence of required skills or knowledge, moral 
standing, criminal history, and completion of continuing education). It also clarifies that LSC 
continue to issue biennial reports, including reviews of the aforementioned business licenses, 
after January 1, 2025. As a result, LSC’s workload related to the occupational regulation reporting 
requirement may be greater than under the current requirement.  

Department of Rehabilitation and Correction (DRC) 

The bill prohibits the Director of DRC from adopting rules to require jail support staff to 
obtain an occupational license. There will be no impact on the existing rules that the Director has 
adopted regarding personal qualifications of jail support staff. None of the training requirements 
under those rules will be eliminated as a result of the bill’s prohibition. Thus, there will be no 
fiscal effect on the Ohio Peace Officer Training Academy related to training jail support staff, or 
on state license fee revenues.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FNHB0238PH-135/zg 


