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Highlights 

 The Board of Nursing (NUR) and the Department of Commerce (COM) will experience 
costs to regulate the practice of certified midwives (CM) and licensed midwives (LM), 
respectively. NUR and COM will also realize a gain in fee revenue associated with 
licensure. Impacts will primarily depend on the number of licensees.  

 NUR will realize costs to expand its board membership by two members and COM will 
realize costs to establish the Licensed Midwifery Advisory Council.  

 Costs to add CMs and LMs to the eLicensing system could increase costs paid out of the 
Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund (Fund 4K90). 

 Public hospitals could experience additional costs to establish standard care 
arrangements with certified midwives.  

 The Ohio Department of Health (ODH) and COM may realize a minimal increase in costs 
to collect certain reports required by the bill to adopt rules. 

Detailed Analysis 

Regulation and practice of certified midwives and licensed 
midwives 

The bill requires the Board of Nursing (NUR) to regulate the practice of certified midwives 
(CMs) and the Department of Commerce (COM) to regulate the practice of licensed midwives 
(LMs), including by issuing licenses and taking disciplinary actions, and promulgating rules. The 
bill outlines the eligibility criteria for licensure and specifies permitted and prohibited activities. 
For instance, CMs and LMs will be authorized to engage in specified activities, including attending 
births in hospitals, homes, medical offices, and free standing birthing centers, among other 
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activities. Additionally, CMs will be required to practice in collaboration with a physician under a 
standard care arrangement and will be authorized to prescribe drugs. However, a CM must check 
the Ohio Automated Rx Reporting System (OARRS), which is administered by the State Board of 
Pharmacy, before issuing an initial prescription for an opioid analgesic and periodically check 
OARRS if the patient’s course of treatment continues for more than 90 days. The bill also 
generally prohibits an individual from practicing as a CM or LM without a license and specifies 
penalties for violations. Additionally, under the bill a CM and collaborating physician each may 
be subject to professional discipline if a standard care arrangement is not maintained or entered 
into.  

NUR and COM will realize costs to regulate these professionals, which include costs to 
issue certificates or licenses, address questions regarding this profession, and to investigate any 
complaints. These costs would primarily depend on the number of licenses issued. The bill would 
also likely result in eLicense costs. The total eLicense costs could include a one-time cost for 
system reconfigurations, as well as ongoing records management costs.1 Revenue for licenses 
may offset at least some of these costs. It is not immediately clear how many CMs and LMs 
currently practice in the state and subsequently how many would seek licensure. NUR will collect 
a fee of $45 for initial licensure from each applicant seeking to practice as a CM. The license may 
be renewed biannually with a $20 fee. Similarly, an individual seeking initial licensure to practice 
as an LM must file an application with COM in the manner prescribed by the Department. The 
application fee is to be set in rule, which shall not exceed $45. The license may be renewed 
biannually, with the renewal fee to be established in rule, with the amount not to exceed $20. 
For NUR, revenues would be deposited into the Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund 
(Fund 4K90) and expenses would be paid out of Fund 4K90 line item 884609, Operating Expenses.  

Additionally, government-owned hospitals could realize costs to establish standard care 
arrangements with CMs. It is possible that there could be some indirect impacts if CMs employed 
at a hospital expanded access to services or led to better health outcomes. If there were any 
violations of the law governing unlicensed practice, there could be local court and incarceration 
costs. Additionally, NUR and the State Medical Board, which regulates physicians, could realize 
disciplinary costs if standard care arrangement violations occur. However, it is anticipated that 
the number of violations would be small in either of these situations. Lastly, the State Board of 
Pharmacy may realize costs to allow additional access to OARRS. 

Council and Board memberships 

The bill establishes the Licensed Midwifery Advisory Council under COM. COM will realize 
costs for reimbursements to the Council members and any other related Council expenses. In 
addition, the bill increases from 13 to 15 the number of NUR members with the inclusion of a 
certified nurse-midwife and a CM. This will result in additional costs to NUR.  

                                                      

1 Prior to H.B. 33 of the 135th General Assembly, boards were billed directly for their use of the eLicensing 
system. However, H.B. 33 established a new line item under Fund 4K90 in the Department of 
Administrative Services’ budget to provide funding for the acquisition and development of the eLicensing 
system. Fund 4K90 consists of license fees and other assessments collected by numerous professional and 
occupational licensing boards. Boards that do not use Fund 4K90 may still be billed for these services.  
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Adverse incident reports 

The bill also requires NUR and COM to each adopt rules establishing the circumstances in 
which licensees are prohibited from attending home births, including a high risk pregnancy. Both 
will experience administrative costs to develop these rules. The bill requires a certified nurse-
midwife, CM, and LM who attends a birth planned for a facility or setting other than a hospital to 
report any adverse incident, along with a medical summary of events, to the Ohio Perinatal 
Quality Collaborative. In the case of a certified nurse-midwife or CM, the adverse incident also 
must be reported to the Ohio Department of Health (ODH), while an LM must report to the 
Licensed Midwifery Advisory Council. Reports must be made within 15 days. These practitioners 
must also report to ODH or the Licensed Midwifery Advisory Council certain information when 
the midwife provided services when the intended place of birth at the onset of care was in a 
facility or setting other than a hospital. ODH and COM will each experience a minimal increase in 
costs to adopt rules governing the reporting of adverse incidents and annual report submissions 
and to develop a form to be used when making reports.  

Immunity from civil liability 

The bill specifies that emergency medical service personnel or an emergency medical 
service organization, hospital, facility, or physician that provides services or care following a 
certified nurse-midwife’s or certified midwife’s adverse incident or transfer of care is not liable 
in damages in a tort or other civil action unless services or care were provided in a manner that 
constitutes willful or wanton misconduct. This immunity could reduce the number of civil actions 
brought forward, which could reduce civil court costs. 

Certified nurse-midwives  

Under current law, Ohio licenses certified nurse-midwives (CNMs) as a type of advanced 
practice registered nurse (APRN) which requires completion of a master’s or doctoral degree in 
a nursing specialty and certification in nurse midwifery from a national certifying organization. 
At the end of FY 2023, there were 642 active certified nurse-midwife licenses. The bill expands 
the Board of Nursing’s existing authority to regulate CNMs, including by establishing conditions 
on their provision of certain midwifery services. This could result in costs to adjust any applicable 
rules, and to inform these practitioners of changes. 
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