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SUMMARY 

▪ Prohibits a federally licensed firearms dealer from transferring a firearm to any person 
unless the dealer complies with the relevant requirements under federal law, which 
generally requires background checks through the National Instant Criminal Background 
Check System. 

▪ Prohibits any transfer of a firearm from a person who is not a federally licensed firearms 
dealer to a person who is not a federally licensed firearms dealer unless the firearm is 
transferred through a federally licensed firearms dealer, through a state or local law 
enforcement agency, or pursuant to any of a list of specified exceptions. 

▪ Makes the penalty for a violation of the prohibitions a first, second, or fourth degree 
misdemeanor and imposes a mandatory fine. 

▪ Requires that, when a firearm is transferred through a federally licensed firearms dealer 
or through a state or local law enforcement agency, the dealer or agency must comply 
with the relevant requirements under federal law, which generally requires background 
checks through the National Instant Criminal Background Check System and under state 
law, which generally requires incompetency records checks through the Ohio Attorney 
General. 

▪ Requires that, immediately upon receipt, the Ohio Attorney General must conduct and 
provide results of incompetency records checks to the requesting federally licensed 
firearms dealer or law enforcement agency. 

▪ Specifies that none of its provisions authorize the U.S. Attorney General to inspect records 
or to require that the records be transferred to a facility owned, managed, or controlled 
by the state of Ohio or the United States. 

▪ Names the bill’s provisions the Universal Background Checks Act. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA135-HB-419
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DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Illegal transfer of a firearm 

Generally, the bill prohibits three types of firearm transfers:  

▪ The transfer of a firearm by a federally licensed firearms dealer to any person unless the 
federally licensed firearms dealer complies with the relevant requirements under federal 
law.1 

▪ The transfer of a firearm by an unlicensed transferor to an unlicensed transferee.2 

▪ The receipt of a firearm by an unlicensed transferee from an unlicensed transferor.3 

A reckless violation of any of the prohibitions listed above is the offense of “illegal transfer 
of a firearm.” The penalties for the offense are as follows:4 

▪ Generally: A fourth degree misdemeanor and a mandatory fine of up to $250 with no 
additional financial sanctions.  

▪ If the offender previously has been convicted of the offense: A second degree 
misdemeanor and a mandatory fine of up to $750 with no additional financial sanctions. 

▪ If the offender previously has been convicted of two or more violations of the offense: A 
first degree misdemeanor and a mandatory fine of up to $1,000 with the possibility of 
additional financial sanctions. 

Each of these prohibitions is discussed in detail below. 

Firearm transfer by federally licensed firearms dealer 

The bill prohibits a “federally licensed firearms dealer” from transferring a firearm to any 
person unless the dealer complies with the proper requirements under federal law. Under the 
bill, a “federally licensed firearms dealer” is an importer, manufacturer, or dealer having a license 
to deal in destructive devices or their ammunition, issued and in effect pursuant to the federal 
“Gun Control Act of 1968,” and any amendments or additions to that act or reenactments of that 
Act (by reference to R.C. 5502.63, which is not in the bill).5 

Firearm transfer by person who is not a federally licensed firearms 
dealer 

The bill prohibits an “unlicensed transferor” from transferring a firearm to an “unlicensed 
transferee,” unless (1) the firearm is transferred through a federally licensed firearms dealer, 

 

1 R.C. 2923.26(B). 
2 R.C. 2923.26(C). 
3 R.C. 2923.26(D). 
4 R.C. 2923.26(J) and 2929.28(A)(4). 
5 R.C. 2923.26(A)(1) and (B). 
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transferred through a law enforcement agency, or is exempt from the bill’s prohibition (see 
“Firearms transfers exempt from the bill’s prohibitions,” below) and (2) the 
firearm is transferred in accordance with the transfer requirements (see “Transfer through 

federally licensed firearms dealer,” below). An “unlicensed transferee” is a person who 
is not a federally licensed firearms dealer and who desires to receive a firearm from an unlicensed 
transferor. An “unlicensed transferor” is a person who is not a federally licensed firearms dealer 
and who desires to transfer a firearm to an unlicensed transferee.6 

Receipt of firearm by person who is not a federally licensed firearms 
dealer 

The bill prohibits an “unlicensed transferee” from receiving a firearm from an “unlicensed 
transferor,” unless (1) the firearm is transferred through a federally licensed firearms dealer, 
transferred through a law enforcement agency, or is exempt from the bill’s prohibition (see 
“Firearms transfers exempt from the bill’s prohibitions,” below) and (2) the 
firearm is transferred in accordance with the transfer requirements (see “Transfer through 

law enforcement agency,” below).7 

Transfer requirements 

Prohibiting or authorizing notice 

Under the bill, the federally licensed firearms dealer or law enforcement agency through 
which the transfer is made must give a specified “authorizing notice” to the transferor and 
transferee. The “authorizing notice” is notice that the federally licensed firearms dealer or law 
enforcement agency, whichever is applicable, has received information from the National Instant 
Criminal Background Check (NICBC) System or the Ohio Attorney General that the transfer is not 
prohibited under federal law or any Ohio law. If the transfer is made through a federally licensed 
firearms dealer, the “authorizing notice” is notice of the dealer’s compliance with the provisions 
described below in paragraph (3)(a) under “Transfer through federally licensed 

firearms dealer.” If the transfer is made through a law enforcement agency, the “authorizing 
notice” is notice of the agency’s compliance with the provisions described below in paragraph 
(5)(a) under “Transfer through law enforcement agency.”8 

Under the bill, the federally licensed firearms dealer or law enforcement agency through 
which the transfer is made must give a specified “prohibiting notice” to the transferor and 
transferee. The “prohibiting notice” is notice that the federally licensed firearms dealer or law 
enforcement agency, whichever is applicable, has received information from the National Instant 
Criminal Background Check (NICBC) System or the Ohio Attorney General that the transfer is 
prohibited under federal law or any Ohio law. If the transfer is made through a federally licensed 
firearms dealer, the “prohibiting notice” is notice of the dealer’s compliance with the provisions 
described below in paragraph (3)(b) under “Transfer through federally licensed 

 

6 R.C. 2923.26(A)(2), (3), and (C)(1). 
7 R.C. 2923.26(D)(1). 
8 R.C. 2923.26(C)(1)(b) and (D)(1)(b). 
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firearms dealer.” If the transfer is made through a law enforcement agency, the “prohibiting 
notice” is notice of the agency’s compliance with the provisions described below in paragraph 
(5)(b) under “Transfer through law enforcement agency.”9 

Transfer through federally licensed firearms dealer 

Under the bill, a federally licensed firearms dealer who agrees to assist in the transfer of 
a firearm between an unlicensed transferor and an unlicensed transferee must do all of the 
following:10 

1. Comply with provisions of federal law as if transferring the firearm from the inventory of 
the dealer to the unlicensed transferee, except that a dealer assisting in the transfer of a 
firearm is not required to comply again with the requirements of those provisions in 
delivering the firearm to the unlicensed transferee; 

2. Conduct an incompetency records check by contacting the Ohio Attorney General and 
requesting a check of the following records to determine whether the acquisition or 
possession of the firearm by the unlicensed transferee would be prohibited under any 
Ohio law: (a) notice that the transferee has been found by a court to be a mentally ill 
person subject to a court order, or (b) notice that the transferee has become an 
involuntary patient, other than one who is a patient only for purposes of observation; 

3. Notify the unlicensed transferor and unlicensed transferee of whichever of the following 
is applicable after compliance with (1) and (2) above: (a) the transfer of the firearm is not 
prohibited under federal law or any Ohio law, or (b) the dealer has received notice from 
the NICBC System or the Ohio Attorney General that the transfer of the firearm is 
prohibited under federal law or any Ohio law. 

Transfer through law enforcement agency 

A law enforcement agency of the state of Ohio or of an Ohio political subdivision that 
agrees to assist an unlicensed transferor in carrying out the responsibilities of the transferor must 
do all of the following:11  

1. Contact the NICBC System and either receive an identification number or wait the period 
specified under federal law (the elapsing of three business days after the licensed dealer, 
manufacturer, or importer contacted the system without the system notifying the 
licensed dealer, manufacturer, or importer that the receipt of a firearm by the other 
person would violate federal law); 

2. Conduct an incompetency records check by contacting the Ohio Attorney General and 
requesting a check of the following records to determine whether the acquisition or 
possession of the firearm by the unlicensed transferee would be prohibited under any 
Ohio law: (a) notice that the transferee has been found by a court to be a mentally ill 

 

9 R.C. 2923.26(C)(2) and (D)(2). 
10 R.C. 2923.26(E) and 5122.311(A). 
11 R.C. 2923.26(F) and 5122.311(A). 
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person subject to a court order, or (b) notice that the transferee has become an 
involuntary patient, other than one who is a patient only for purposes of observation; 

3. Conduct any other checks that the agency considers appropriate to determine whether 
the receipt or possession of the firearm by the unlicensed transferee would be prohibited 
under federal law or any Ohio law; 

4. Verify the identity of the unlicensed transferee by either examining a valid “identification 
document” of the unlicensed transferee containing a photograph of the unlicensed 
transferee or confirming that the unlicensed transferor has examined such a valid 
identification document; 

5. Notify the unlicensed transferor and unlicensed transferee of whichever of the following 
is applicable after compliance with (1) to (4) above: (a) the transfer of the firearm is not 
prohibited under federal law or any Ohio law, or (b) the dealer has received notice from 
the NICBC System or the Ohio Attorney General that the transfer of the firearm is 
prohibited under federal law or any Ohio law. 

Firearms transfers exempt from the bill’s prohibitions 

The bill’s prohibitions regarding the transfer or receipt of a firearm by a person who is not 
a licensed firearms dealer do not apply to any transfer of a firearm if any of the following apply 
with respect to the transfer:12 

▪ It is temporary and occurs while in the home of the unlicensed transferee, the unlicensed 
transferee is not otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms, and the unlicensed 
transferee believes that possession of the firearm is necessary to prevent imminent death 
or great bodily harm to the unlicensed transferee. 

▪ It is a temporary transfer of possession without transfer of title that takes place in any of 
the following circumstances: (1) at a shooting range located in or on premises owned or 
occupied by a duly incorporated organization organized for conservation purposes or to 
foster proficiency in firearms, (2) at a target firearm shooting competition under the 
auspices of or approved by an agency of this state or a nonprofit organization, or (3) while 
hunting, fishing, or trapping, if the activity is legal in all places where the unlicensed 
transferee possesses the firearm, and the unlicensed transferee holds any required 
license or permit. 

▪ It is to an authorized representative of a law enforcement agency of any municipal 
corporation, any county, the state of Ohio, or the federal government for exclusive use 
by that governmental entity and, prior to the transfer, written authorization from the 
head of the agency authorizing the transaction is presented to the person from whom the 
transfer is being made. The proper written authorization must be verifiable written 
certification from the head of the agency by which the transferee is employed, identifying 

 

12 R.C. 2923.26(G). 
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the employee as an individual authorized to conduct the transaction, and authorizing the 
transaction for the exclusive use of the agency by which that person is employed. 

▪ It is a loan of the firearm by an authorized law enforcement representative of a municipal 
corporation, a county, the state of Ohio, or the federal government, and the loan is made 
to a peace officer employed by that governmental entity and authorized to carry a firearm 
and is made for the carrying and use of that firearm by that peace officer in the course 
and scope of the officer’s duties. 

▪ It is by a law enforcement agency to a peace officer. 

▪ It is to an authorized representative of a municipal corporation, a county, the state of 
Ohio, or the federal government and is for the governmental entity, and the entity is 
acquiring the firearm as part of an authorized, voluntary program in which the entity is 
buying or receiving weapons from private individuals. 

▪ It is by an authorized law enforcement representative of a municipal corporation, a 
county, the state of Ohio, or the federal government to any public or private nonprofit 
historical society, museum, or institutional collection, if all of the following conditions are 
met: (1) the entity receiving the firearm is open to the public, (2) prior to delivery, the 
firearm is deactivated or rendered inoperable, (3) the firearm is not of a type prohibited 
by law from being transferred to the public at large, and (4) prior to delivery, the entity 
receiving the firearm submits a written statement to the law enforcement representative 
stating that the firearm will not be restored to operating condition and either will remain 
with that entity, or if subsequently disposed of, will be transferred in accordance with 
law. 

▪ It is by any person other than a representative of an authorized law enforcement agency 
to any public or private nonprofit historical society, museum, or institutional collection, if 
all of the conditions set forth in the prior paragraph are met. 

▪ It is delivery of a firearm to a gunsmith for service or repair, is the return of the firearm 
to its owner by the gunsmith, or is the delivery of a firearm by a gunsmith to a federally 
licensed firearms dealer for service or repair or the return of the firearm to the gunsmith. 

▪ It is made by a person who resides in Ohio, is made to a person who resides outside Ohio 
and is a federally licensed firearms dealer, and is in accordance with federal firearms law. 

▪ It is of an unloaded firearm to a wholesaler as merchandise in the wholesaler’s business 
by a manufacturer or importer licensed to engage in that business pursuant to federal 
firearms law or by another wholesaler and is made in accordance with federal firearms 
law. 
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Fee for assistance in firearms transfer 

The bill authorizes a federally licensed firearms dealer or law enforcement agency that 
processes the transfer of a firearm under the bill’s provisions to assess and collect a fee, in an 
amount not to exceed $10, with respect to each firearm transfer processed.13 

Attorney General 

Conducting incompetency records checks  

Under the bill, when a federally licensed firearms dealer or law enforcement agency 
requests an incompetency records check, the Ohio Attorney General must conduct and provide 
the results of the check to the federally licensed firearms dealer or law enforcement agency 
immediately upon receipt of the request.14 

Under current law, a probate judge that adjudicates an individual a mentally ill person or 
a chief clinical officer of the hospital, community mental health services provider, or facility that 
commits an individual as an involuntary patient, other than one who is a patient only for purposes 
of observation, must transmit notification of the individual’s identity to the Ohio Attorney 
General within seven days of the adjudication or commitment. The Ohio Attorney General must 
then compile and maintain the notices for the purpose of conducting incompetency records 
checks.15  

Inspection or transfer of records 

The bill specifies that nothing in the above provisions are to be construed to authorize the 
U.S. Attorney General to inspect records or to require that the records be transferred to a facility 
owned, managed, or controlled by the state of Ohio or the United States.16 

Universal Background Checks Act 

The bill names all of its provisions described above the Universal Background Checks 
Act.17 

Background 

Prohibited transfers under federal law 

Currently, federal law prohibits a firearms dealer, manufacturer, or importer who is 
licensed under federal law, subject to a few limited exceptions, from transferring a firearm to 

 

13 R.C. 2923.26(H). 
14 R.C. 5122.311(B). 
15 R.C. 5122.311(A). 
16 R.C. 2923.26(I). 
17 Section 3. 
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another person who is not a licensed firearms dealer, manufacturer, or importer unless all of the 
following occur:18 

1. Before completion of the transfer, the licensed dealer, manufacturer, or importer 
contacts the NICBC System administered by the U.S. Attorney General (when contacted, 
the system conducts a criminal background check). 

2. Either the system provides the licensed dealer, manufacturer, or importer with a unique 
identification number for the transfer, or three business days elapse without the licensed 
dealer, manufacturer, or importer being notified that the receipt of a firearm by the other 
person would violate either of two specified “receipt prohibitions” of federal law that 
prohibit certain categories of persons from receiving any firearm that has been shipped 
or transported in interstate or foreign commerce. 

3. The licensed dealer, manufacturer, or importer has verified the identity of the other 
person by examining a valid identification document of that person containing a 
photograph of that person. 

An “identification document” is a document made or issued by or under the authority of 
the U.S. government, the state of Ohio, or any other state, a political subdivision of Ohio or any 
other state, a sponsoring entity of an event designated as a special event of national significance, 
a foreign government, a political subdivision of a foreign government, an international 
governmental organization, or an international quasi-governmental organization that, when 
completed with information concerning a particular individual, is of a type intended or commonly 
accepted for the purpose of identification of individuals. 

Prohibited receipt under federal law 

Federal law currently prohibits certain categories of persons from receiving a firearm that 
has been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign commerce. Two of those prohibitions 
are relevant to the bill. The first relevant federal receipt prohibition specifies that it is unlawful 
for a person to possess in or affecting commerce, any firearm or ammunition, or to receive any 
firearm or ammunition that has been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign commerce, 
if the person:19 

1. Has been convicted in a court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 
one year; 

2. Is a fugitive from justice; 

3. Is an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance; 

4. Has been adjudicated as a mental defective or committed to a mental institution; 

5. Is an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States or, subject to a specified 
exception, who has been admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant visa; 

 

18 18 U.S.C. § 922(t), not in the bill and R.C. 2923.26(A). 
19 18 U.S.C. § 922(g), not in the bill. 
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6. Has been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions; 

7. Having been a citizen of the United States, has renounced his or her citizenship; 

8. Is subject to a court order of a specified nature that restrains the person from harassing, 
stalking, or threatening an intimate partner of the person or child of the intimate partner 
or person, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in 
reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or child; 

9. Has been convicted in a court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence. 

The second relevant federal “receipt prohibition” specifies that it is unlawful for any 
person who is under indictment for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 
one year to receive any firearm or ammunition that has been shipped or transported in interstate 
or foreign commerce.20 

HISTORY 

Action Date 

Introduced 02-21-24 
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20 18 U.S.C. § 922(n), not in the bill. 


