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SUMMARY 

Sales and use tax on delivery network services 

▪ Allows a company that coordinates delivery of goods between customers and local 
businesses to obtain a waiver from the requirement that it collect and remit sales or use tax 
on the goods as if it was the seller. 

▪ Subjects the delivery charges of a company that has obtained a waiver to sales or use tax, 
thus requiring such a company to collect and remit tax on its delivery services but not the 
cost of goods delivered. 

Commercial activity tax situsing for motor vehicles 

▪ Situses receipts to Ohio from the sale or lease of a motor vehicle by a dealer, for commercial 
activity tax (CAT) purposes, only if a certificate of title with an Ohio address is issued for that 
vehicle. 

▪ Applies the situsing provision retrospectively and prospectively to all tax periods. 

Limitations on property tax challenges 

▪ Modifies the requirements governing when political subdivisions can file property tax 
complaints, counter-complaints, and appeals. 

 

* This analysis was prepared before the report of the House Ways and Means Committee appeared in the 
House Journal. Note that the legislative history may be incomplete. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA135-SB-39
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DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Sales and use tax on delivery network services 

The bill authorizes an optional waiver to change the way sales and use taxes are collected on 
transactions completed through online marketplaces that coordinate between customers and local 
businesses located within 75 miles of each other. Services that will be eligible to avail themselves of 
the bill’s provisions typically offer consumers a way to order food or other goods for delivery from 
a local business like a grocery store or restaurant. The bill refers to these companies as “delivery 
network companies.”1 

The key to understanding the bill’s changes is to first focus on two general questions related 
to the sales and use taxation of online purchases: 

▪ Who is the seller or vendor? 

▪ What is the taxable price? 

The seller or vendor 

Ohio’s use tax law refers to “sellers” and the sales tax law refers to “vendors,” but the 
distinction is not necessary to understand the bill’s changes, so this analysis will only refer to sellers. 
Current law treats most delivery network companies as the seller of the products delivered from 
local businesses. 

That is because these companies generally qualify as what continuing law calls “marketplace 
facilitators” – businesses that operate physical or electronic marketplaces where retail sales are 
facilitated for third-party sellers. E-commerce platforms are well-known examples, because in 
addition to selling their own products, they may allow third parties to list and sell products as well. 

For sales and use tax purposes, if a marketplace facilitator has a “substantial nexus” with 
Ohio, the marketplace facilitator is treated as the seller of all products sold on its marketplace. A 
marketplace facilitator has substantial nexus if it facilitates enough transactions with Ohio 
purchasers to subject itself to the state’s legal jurisdiction. Continuing law presumes a substantial 
nexus for marketplace facilitators that annually facilitate $100,000 in total sales or 200 individual 
sales in Ohio. 

Because marketplace facilitators with a substantial nexus are treated as the seller for sales 
and use tax purposes, they are responsible for collecting sales and use tax on sales to Ohio 
consumers and remitting that tax to the state.2 Due to the volume of transactions delivery network 
companies are generally involved with, they will likely easily meet the substantial nexus test if they 
serve Ohio customers. 

The taxable price 

In Ohio, sales of tangible personal property, i.e., physical items, are taxable unless specifically 
exempt by law, and sales of services are not taxable unless specifically made so by law. Delivery, as 

 

1 R.C. 5739.01(XXX). 
2 R.C. 5741.01; R.C. 5741.07 and 5741.071, not in the bill. 
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a standalone service, is not generally a taxable service. But, because of the way sales and use tax is 
calculated, combined with the law regarding marketplace facilitators, delivery services can be 
taxable under certain circumstances. 

Sales and use taxes are calculated by applying the tax rate to the taxable purchase price of a 
taxable item or service. Delivery charges may or may not be included in taxable price, depending on 
who is providing and charging for the delivery and the products being delivered. 

If the seller is charging for preparation and delivery, the delivery charges are considered part 
of the price. So, if the item or service is taxable, and the seller provides and charges for delivery, the 
tax will be calculated based on the combined price of the item or service and the delivery charge. A 
seller’s delivery charges on a nontaxable item, e.g., food, will not make the item taxable, nor will the 
delivery charge be taxed. If there are taxable and nontaxable items subject to the same delivery 
charge, the charge may be apportioned among the items so only part of the delivery charge is 
subject to tax. In contrast, if the customer is paying someone other than the seller for delivery, those 
delivery charges are not part of the price for the item or service purchased from the seller under 
any circumstance. As a result, the tax calculated for the purchase from the seller will not include tax 
on the third-party delivery charges.3 

Seller and price: current law summarized 

The two key points of current sales and use tax law detailed above may be summarized as 
follows: 

▪ Delivery network companies with a substantial nexus are treated as the seller of an item for 
sales and use tax purposes, due to the state’s requirements for marketplace facilitators; 

▪ When the seller of an item also charges for its delivery, the delivery charge is part of the 
taxable price of the item. 

As a result, under current law, when a delivery network company, qualifying as a marketplace 
facilitator, coordinates between a customer, local merchant, and delivery person to deliver a taxable 
item, the company is treated as the seller and the delivery charge may be taxable as part of the price 
of the item. 

Waiver to separate the seller of the item and delivery service 

The bill allows delivery network companies to opt-out of being classified as a seller by 
obtaining a waiver, despite meeting the requirements of a marketplace facilitator. The bill then 
treats delivery charges from the companies that obtain a waiver as a separate taxable sale. 

Under the bill, a delivery network company may request the waiver from the Tax Commissioner 
to be excused from being treated as the seller of goods sold by sellers on the company’s marketplace. To 
do so, the company must be current on all taxes, fees, and charges administered by the Commissioner that 
are not subject to a bona fide dispute. The company also must not have requested that a previously 
granted waiver be canceled, or had such a waiver revoked, within the 12 months preceding the request, 
or failed to file a required sales or use tax return. 

 

3 R.C. 5739.01; Ohio Administrative Code 5703-9-52. 
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A waiver that is not affirmatively granted or denied within 30 days of its submission is 
automatically granted. Waivers are effective on the first day of the first month that begins at least 
30 days after the waiver is granted, and remains valid until the first day of the first month that begins 
at least 60 days after the waiver is revoked by the Commissioner or cancelled by the company. 

A delivery network company that receives a waiver must notify each local business operating 
on the company’s marketplace that the business, and not the company, will be considered the seller 
with respect to the product the business sells on the company’s marketplace. As a result, the local 
business becomes responsible for collecting and remitting sales or use tax on taxable products sold 
on the marketplace. 

The Commissioner may divulge any information related to the status of a waiver requested 
by a local business operating on the marketplace, and may adopt any rule necessary to administer 
the waiver.4 

Taxability of delivery network services 

With the option for a delivery network company to not be treated as the seller of local 
products sold through its platform even though it is a marketplace facilitator, continuing law’s 
provisions for the inclusion or exclusion of delivery charges from price apply differently. If a delivery 
network company is treated as the seller because it does not obtain a waiver charges for its services, 
those services will be included in the price of the goods delivered because the law treats the 
company as the seller for sales and use tax purposes. If the delivery network company obtains the 
bill’s waiver, the goods will be taxed according to their price, irrespective of the delivery charge, and 
that tax will be collected by the local business and remitted to the state by the merchant providing 
the goods. 

For companies that obtain a waiver, the bill specifically defines delivery network services as 
a taxable service. So, a delivery network company without a waiver authorized by the bill must 
collect and remit tax on its delivery charges as part of the taxable price, which also includes the price 
of taxable goods sold. In contrast, a company with the waiver must collect and remit tax on all its 
delivery charges as a separate taxable service, regardless of whether the delivered goods are 
taxable, but it need not collect and remit taxes on the price of those goods.5 

Commercial activity tax situsing for motor vehicles 

The commercial activity tax (CAT) is imposed on businesses for the privilege of doing business 
in Ohio, and generally amounts to 0.26% of gross receipts from a business’ Ohio sales. In determining 
whether a sale takes place in Ohio, and is therefore subject to CAT, a determination referred to in 
tax terms as “situsing,” is not always straightforward and continuing law contains specific provisions 
to help with the determination. 

Under current law, gross receipts from the sale of tangible personal property (TPP), including 
motor vehicles, are sitused to Ohio if the purchaser receives the property in Ohio. In cases where 
the property is delivered by motor carrier or other means of transportation, the place where the 

 

4 R.C. 5741.072. 
5 R.C. 5739.01(B)(13). 
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property is ultimately received after all the transportation is completed is considered the place 
where the purchaser receives the property, and thus the place where the gross receipts are sitused.  

A related provision expands on this “ultimate destination rule” to extend it to property that 
is accepted in Ohio but then taken directly out of the state by the purchaser. So, even though not 
transported by motor carrier or other means of transportation, if property is accepted in Ohio and 
immediately taken out of the state, the receipts are sitused as though the vehicle was transported 
by motor carrier to a destination outside the state.6  

The bill specifically addresses the situsing of gross receipts from the sale or lease of a motor 
vehicle by a motor vehicle dealer, removing those transactions from the general TPP situsing 
provisions described above. Under the bill, those gross receipts can only be sitused to Ohio if the 
motor vehicle is issued a certificate of title showing the owner’s or lessee’s Ohio address.7 This 
change applies prospectively and retrospectively to all CAT tax periods.8 

Limitations on property tax challenges 

The bill modifies a recent law that imposed limits on the filing of property tax complaints by 
parties other than property owners. Among other changes, H.B. 126 of the 134th General Assembly 
limited the situations in which political subdivisions can file property tax complaints or appeal the 
decisions of a board of revision (BOR) regarding those complaints. 

Filing of property tax complaints 

Sale requirement 

Under current law, as enacted in H.B. 126, political subdivisions may only file a property tax 
complaint with respect to property the subdivision does not own if (a) the property was sold in an arm’s 
length transaction before the tax year for which the complaint is filed and (b) that sale price was at least 
10% and $500,000 more than the auditor’s current valuation. The $500,000 threshold increases each year 
for inflation, beginning in tax year 2023. These limits also apply to third party property owners in the county 
who do not own or lease the property in question (“third party complainants”). 

The bill further narrows this sale requirement, by specifying that the property sale must have 
occurred within the two years preceding the year for which the complaint is filed. Current law requires 
that the property was sold before that year, but does not expressly include any limit on when that sale 
occurred.9 

Property owner public comment 

Existing law also requires that, before filing a complaint, a subdivision must adopt a 
resolution authorizing the complaint, notify the property owner of the proposed resolution, and 
adopt the resolution at a public meeting. The bill additionally requires the subdivision, at the public 

 

6 R.C. 5751.033(E). 
7 R.C. 5751.033(M). 
8 Section 4. 
9 R.C. 5715.19(A)(6)(a). 
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meeting, to permit the property’s owner or their representative to provide public comments on the 
resolution.10  

Counter-complaints 

Under continuing law, if a property tax complaint alleges a change in value of at least $50,000 
in fair market value ($17,500 in taxable value), a school district may join the case by filing a counter-
complaint. The bill provides that a school district may only file such a counter-complaint if the 
original complaint was filed by the owner or lessee of the property. Essentially, the bill prohibits 
school districts from filing counter-complaints when the original complaint is filed by another 
political subdivision or by a third party complainant.11 

Appeals of BOR decisions 

The bill expands an existing law, also enacted in H.B. 126, that prohibits political subdivisions 
from appealing BOR decisions on property they do not own to the Board of Tax Appeals (BTA). Under 
the bill, these appeal limitations also apply to third party complainants. In addition, the bill expressly 
prohibits a subdivision from appealing a BOR decision regarding a complaint filed by a third party 
complainant.12 

Application 

The bill’s new filing limits apply to complaints, counter-complaints, and appeals filed on or 
after the bill’s 90-day effective date.13 

HISTORY 

Action Date 

Introduced 01-31-23 

Reported, S. Ways & Means 05-30-23 

Passed Senate (32-0) 05-31-23 

Reported, H. Ways & Means -- 
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10 R.C. 5715.19(A)(7) and (8). 
11 R.C. 5715.19(B). 
12 R.C. 5717.01. 
13 Section 3. 


