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Highlights 

▪ The Ohio Department of Health (ODH) will experience an increase in costs to regulate and 
license prescribed pediatric extended care centers (PPECCs) and to adopt rules. Costs will 
primarily depend on the number of applicants seeking a license to operate. 

▪ However, ODH will also experience a corresponding increase in revenue related to 
application fees, which may help to offset the costs of regulation and licensure. Fees will 
likely be deposited in ODH’s General Operations Fund (Fund 4700). 

▪ The Ohio Department of Medicaid (ODM) will incur administrative costs to apply for 
federal approval to pay for PPECCs. Assuming ODM receives this approval, they will 
experience service cost increases to provide reimbursement to PPECCs. Increased costs 
would be shared between the state and federal government. Some of the use of PPECCs 
may represent a shift in service provider for children, as opposed to new service provision. 

Detailed Analysis 

Prescribed pediatric extended care centers 

The bill recognizes prescribed pediatric extended care centers (PPECCs) and regulates 
their operation, including by requiring each center to hold a license issued by the Director of 
Health. The bill establishes eligibility conditions for licensure and authorizes a licensed PPECC to 
provide certain services to medically dependent or technologically dependent children while at 
the PPECC. A person or organization seeking a license to operate a PPECC must file an application 
with the Director and submit a $1,000 initial application fee or, in the case of a facility that already 
holds a PPECC license, a $250 initial application fee. The bill requires the Director to review each 
application it receives and determine whether the applicant meets the bill’s eligibility 
requirements. Each license is valid for three years and may be renewed for additional three-year 
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periods. Each renewal application must be accompanied by a $500 renewal fee. The bill 
authorizes the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) to refuse to issue or renew, suspend, or revoke 
a license or otherwise impose discipline on a license holder for any violation of the bill’s 
provisions or rules adopted under it. Discipline may include imposing a civil penalty in an amount 
not more than $500 for each violation and for each day the violation occurs. The bill also prohibits 
the operation of a PPECC without a license and provides that each violation is subject to a fine 
not less than $500 and not more than $10,000. ODH may also conduct audits of licensed PPECCs, 
including those related to the center’s delivery of and billing for services. Additionally, the bill 
requires ODH to adopt rules establishing standards and procedures for the licensure and 
regulation of PPECCs and permits ODH to adopt any other rules necessary to implement the bill’s 
provisions. 

ODH will experience an increase in costs to regulate and license PPECCs and to adopt 
rules. Costs will depend on the number of applicants seeking a license to operate and the 
complexity and time required to conduct audits. However, these costs may be at least partially 
offset by the initial and renewal application fees. Fees will likely be deposited in ODH’s General 
Operations Fund (Fund 4700). It is possible that local courts may experience costs if any violations 
of the provision prohibiting operation without a license occur.  

Medicaid federal approval 

The bill requires the Medicaid Director to seek federal approval to cover services provided 
by a PPECC, and sets requirements for a center to possess both a license issued by the Director 
of Health and a valid Medicaid provider agreement, in order for the center to receive Medicaid 
payments. The Ohio Department of Medicaid (ODM) will incur administrative expenses to apply 
for the federal approval. 

Conditional on federal approval, ODM would see increases in service costs to provide 
payments to PPECCs that meet qualifications and commence providing services to eligible 
children. In general, the federal government funds 64% of service costs, and the state funds the 
remaining 36% of service costs. For some children served by PPECCs, their service costs would 
likely represent a shift from these services being provided by other types of providers, and thus 
not necessarily cause a net increase in service costs. For any children not currently receiving care 
paid for by ODM, their enrollment in PPECCs would lead to service cost increases for ODM. 
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