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Highlights

Department of Public Safety

The Ohio Department of Public Safety (ODPS) may incur minimal additional costs to
implement the bill’s provisions, including to: (1) modify both the existing Scrap Metal and
Bulk Merchandise Container Dealers website and the Communication and Information
Management System (CIMS), and (2) perform additional investigations.

The Infrastructure Protection Fund (Fund 5MLO) used by the Department of Public Safety
may gain an indeterminate amount of annual revenue from civil penalties imposed for
violations of the law pertaining to scrap metal and bulk merchandise container dealers.

State and local criminal justice systems

The bill may increase the number of cases for local criminal justice systems to adjudicate
and may subject others to penalty enhancements (from a misdemeanor to a felony)
causing those cases to shift from a county or municipal court to a court of common pleas,
thus impacting fines, fees, and court costs retained by counties and municipalities, as well
as the amount of court costs forwarded to the state. In the event of a conviction, the bill
would also shift sanctioning costs from a local authority to the Department of
Rehabilitation and Correction.

There may be some increase in fine revenue generated and credited to the county
treasury when an offender is a business entity. The magnitude of any increase depends
on how many business entities are convicted of specified offenses.
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Detailed Analysis

The bill makes several changes to the Secondhand Dealer Law regarding the sale of used
catalytic converters including the increase in certain penalties related to their theft and
noncompliant regulatory behavior by industry participants. Generally, these changes are
expected to increase oversight over the sale of catalytic converters to scrap metal dealers.

Department of Public Safety
Investigations

The bill gives the Ohio Department of Public Safety (ODPS), after first consulting with local
law enforcement, certain investigative powers related to scrap metal dealers, bulk merchandise
container dealers, and persons (other than a licensed motor vehicle dealer) who receive a used
catalytic converter in the ordinary course of business, and any employee, officer, or agent of the
foregoing. If it is found that a violation was committed, ODPS is required to suspend the person’s
license or registration until the person has presented evidence that they have remedied the
violation, as well as conduct a follow-up investigation. If a person is found to have engaged in
activities that require a license or registration during a suspension or following a revocation, ODPS
must seek an injunction from a court of common pleas and impose a civil penalty of $10,000, and
$1,000 for each subsequent day the violation occurred. ODPS must certify unpaid fines to the
Attorney General for collection. Under the bill, the collected fines would be deposited to the credit
of Fund 5MLO. If the Attorney General collects the debt on behalf of ODPS, a portion would be
retained by the Attorney General and deposited to the credit of their Claims Fund (Fund 4190). A
person who knowingly engages in fraud or fails to provide relevant information when applying for
a license is subject to a $500 fine.

Scrap Metal Dealer Law

The bill places additional recordkeeping and transaction data submission requirements
on scrap metal dealers! and any person who is not a scrap metal dealer who purchases a catalytic
converter,? and requires ODPS to perform a number of other duties related to enforcement of
the Scrap Metal Dealer Law, including: (1) investigating licensees, registrants, and unlicensed or
unregistered persons, (2) recording certain information on noninvestigative visits to be reported
to the public via the Department of Commerce’s website on a quarterly basis, and (3) creating
and making publicly available, within 90 days of the bill’s effective date, an affidavit form that
contains specified information and can be accepted by scrap metal dealers, bulk merchandise
container dealers, and other recipients of a catalytic converter in lieu of otherwise required forms
of proof of ownership. The bill specifies that whoever knowingly makes a false statement on an

1 Scrap metal dealers engaged in the business-to-business sale of catalytic converters are also required to
provide the ODPS Director with specified identification information.

2 The bill: (1) exempts licensed motor vehicle dealers from the bill’s requirements to comply with the
Scrap Metal Dealer Law when receiving catalytic converters if the business sells or receives catalytic
converters in ordinary course of business typical for that type of business (R.C. 4737.041(B)) and
(2) specifies that provisions of the bill and the secondhand dealer law that are specific to sales or
donations of catalytic converters do not apply to sales or donations of motor vehicles, even if a catalytic
converter is a component or part of the motor vehicle (R.C. 4737.043(B)).

Page |2 H.B. 210, Fiscal Note



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office

affidavit is guilty of falsification, which is generally a first degree misdemeanor. The bill also
creates a S500 civil penalty for specified violations of the Scrap Metal Dealer Law, which is
required to be credited to the Infrastructure Protection Fund (Fund 5MLO). For certain violations
the bill specifies that an additional $500 must be imposed per day that the violation continues.

As a result, Ohio Homeland Security, which houses the scrap metal dealer oversight
program within ODPS, may incur minimal additional costs related to administering the Scrap
Metal Dealer Law and sanctioning violators, with any additional costs incurred or increase in
workload likely to be absorbed by existing staff. In order to comply with the bill’s recordkeeping
requirements, ODPS may incur minimal one-time costs to modify its existing Scrap Metal and
Bulk Merchandise Container Dealers website, which is used by registered scrap metal dealers to
register their business and upload transactions to ODPS, and the Communication and Information
Management System (CIMS), which ODPS uses to access that information, to accommodate
transaction data related to the purchase and sale of catalytic converters. To the extent that the
civil penalty is collected, ODPS may also experience an indeterminate gain in revenue, which may
help to offset any additional costs incurred.

The costs incurred by the Department of Commerce to make information available on
their website regarding noninvestigative visits made by ODPS to a scrap metal dealer, bulk
merchandise container dealer is uncertain, but likely minimal.

Infrastructure Protection Fund (Fund 5MLo0)

The amount of revenue generated as a result of the bill’s civil penalties and credited to
the existing Infrastructure Protection Fund (Fund 5MLO) will depend on the fines imposed on
scrap metal dealers and bulk merchandise container dealers for violations of the bill’s
requirements or prohibitions. Under continuing law, Fund 5MLO is used by Ohio Homeland
Security, housed within the Department of Public Safety, for the scrap metal dealer oversight
program.

State and local criminal justice systems
Law enforcement reporting requirements

Existing law requires a law enforcement agency serving a jurisdiction in which a scrap
metal or bulk merchandise container dealer is located to provide a searchable electronic list of
the names and descriptions of persons known to be thieves or receivers of stolen property to
ODPS for inclusion in the existing scrap metal dealer and bulk merchandise container dealer
registry. The bill expands this requirement to also include the submission of all records of any
investigation into a scrap metal dealer or bulk merchandise container dealer. Any additional costs
or workload incurred for a law enforcement agency to comply will depend on the number of
investigations that an agency conducted into scrap metal or bulk merchandise container dealers.

Criminal penalties

The bill modifies the penalties for specified offenses involving catalytic converters by:
(1) elevating the offenses of theft and receiving stolen property (RSP) from a first degree
misdemeanor generally to a fifth degree felony generally if the property involved is a catalytic
converter or a fourth degree felony if the offender has specified prior convictions, (2) specifying
that a person can be charged with complicity under certain circumstances if they sell a catalytic
converter to another person who violates any of the bill’s provisions, and (3) applying the first
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degree misdemeanor penalty that applies to a scrap metal dealer for failure to comply with
reporting requirements to a person who purchases a catalytic converter or who knowingly makes
a false statement on an affidavit that is used as proof of ownership when selling a catalytic
converter. Table 1 below lists the sentences and fines for catalytic converter-related offenses
under the bill.

Table 1. Sentences and Fines Generally for Catalytic Converter-Related Offenses

Offense Level Fine Term of Incarceration

Felony, 4™ degree Up to $5,000 | 6,7,8,9,10,11, 12,13, 14, 15, 16, 17, or 18 months
definite prison term

Felony, 5™ degree Up to $2,500 | 6,7,8,9,10, 11, or 12 months definite prison term

Misdemeanor, 1%t degree | Up to $1,000 | Jail, not more than 180 days

As a result of these modifications, the bill may increase the number of cases for local
criminal justice systems to adjudicate and may, in certain theft and RSP cases, shift adjudication
costs from a county or municipal court to a court of common pleas. In the event of a theft or RSP
conviction, the bill may also shift sanctioning costs for certain offenders whose sentence involves
a period of incarceration from a local jail to the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction
(ODRC). Any potential savings experienced by local authorities to adjudicate and house certain
theft and RSP offenders is likely to be minimal at most. Similarly, any additional costs incurred by
ODRC are likely to be marginal.? The magnitude of any increased costs incurred by criminal justice
systems as a result of any new cases generated by the bill will depend on the number of individuals
who are ultimately charged, convicted, and subsequently sentenced to a period of incarceration.

Business entities as violators

Under the bill, a business entity convicted of enterprise theft of a catalytic converter
(theft) or enterprise receipt of a stolen catalytic converter (RSP), or who is found to have violated
any of the bill’s reporting provisions is required to pay an organizational fine of not less than
$10,000 but not more than $50,000 per violation. The default organizational penalty is up to
$5,000 for a first degree misdemeanor, up to $7,500 for a fifth degree felony, and up to $10,000
for a fourth degree felony.* Thus, under the bill, more organizational fine revenue may be
collected than otherwise may have been under current law.

The magnitude of any increase in fine revenue that may be generated annually will
depend upon the number of business entities convicted of enterprise theft of a catalytic
converter or enterprise receipt of a stolen catalytic converter, or found to be in violation of the

3 Marginal costs are those that increase or decrease directly on a per-person basis with changes in prison
population (i.e., clothing, food, medical services, etc.). For FY 2024 ODRC's reported marginal daily cost
per offender was $13.47, or $4,917 per year.

4R.C.2929.31.

Page |4 H.B. 210, Fiscal Note



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office

bill's recordkeeping requirements. Under current law’s general distribution rules, organizational
fines would be paid to the treasury of the county in which the court is located.

Fines, fees, and court costs

To the extent that additional cases are generated or certain cases are shifted from a
municipal or county court to a court of common pleas, the bill may also impact the amount of
fine, fee, and court cost revenue, including the amount of court costs forwarded to the state.
Table 2 below shows the fines, fees, and court costs for H.B. 210 offenses.

Table 2. Fines, Fees, and Court Costs for H.B. 210 Offenses

Financial Penalty Amount Paid
Component by Violator

Recipient of Amount

= Retained by the county, township, municipal corporation,
park district, or state law enforcement agencies that

Fine Varies by offense primarily were responsible for or involved in making the
arrest of, and in prosecuting, the offender

Local court costs Varies by local . T

= nerally r n h n rmun |
and fees jurisdiction Generally retained by the county or municipality

Misdemeanor
¢ Deposited in the state treasury as follows:
29

= 520 to the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0)
= $9to the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020)

State court costs
Felony

) Deposited in the state treasury as follows:

60

= 530 to the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0)

= 530 to the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020)
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