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The bill adds municipal and county peace officers to the list of mandatory 

reporters for child abuse and neglect. According to the Ohio Association of Chiefs of 

Police, it is standard practice for law enforcement officers to report incidences of child 

abuse and neglect to a public children services agency (PCSA) that are witnessed by the 

officer. Additionally, because officers are generally required to inform PCSAs of 

suspicions of abuse or neglect reported to them by another individual, officers will not 

require additional training to comply with the bill's reporting requirement. The Public 

Children Services Association of Ohio stated that any additional costs to PCSAs would 

depend on whether the bill substantially increases the number of reports received. Since 

municipal and county peace officers largely report witnessed instances of child abuse 

and neglect, any increase in the number of reports and subsequent costs will likely be 

minimal.  

Under current law, unchanged by the bill, a violation of the mandatory reporting 

requirement generally is a misdemeanor of the fourth degree.1 As the bill largely 

codifies current practice in the law enforcement community relative to reporting child 

abuse and neglect, violations will be infrequent. Thus, there will be no discernible 

ongoing fiscal effects on counties and municipalities in terms of their costs to prosecute 

and sanction violators and the collection of related revenues (fines and court costs and 

fees).  
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1 The penalty for a fourth degree misdemeanor is a possible jail term of not more than 30 days, a fine of 

up to $250, or both.  


