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Subject: Adds peace officers to mandatory reporters of child abuse and neglect 

 
 

The bill adds peace officers to the list of mandatory reporters for child abuse and 

neglect. According to the Ohio Association of Chiefs of Police, it is standard practice for 

law enforcement officers to report incidences of child abuse and neglect to a public 

children services agency (PCSA) that are witnessed by the officer. Additionally, because 

officers are generally required to inform PCSAs of suspicions of abuse or neglect 

reported to them by another individual, officers will not require additional training to 

comply with the bill's reporting requirement. The Public Children Services Association 

of Ohio stated that any additional costs to PCSAs would depend on whether the bill 

substantially increases the number of reports received. Since peace officers largely 

report witnessed instances of child abuse and neglect, any increase in the number of 

reports and subsequent costs will likely be minimal.  

Under current law, unchanged by the bill, a violation of the mandatory reporting 

requirement generally is a misdemeanor of the fourth degree.1 As the bill largely 

codifies current practice in the law enforcement community relative to reporting child 

abuse and neglect, violations will be infrequent. Thus, there will be no discernible 

ongoing fiscal effects on counties and municipalities in terms of their costs to prosecute 

and sanction violators and the collection of related revenues (fines and court costs and 

fees).  
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1 The penalty for a fourth degree misdemeanor is a possible jail term of not more than 30 days, a fine of 

up to $250, or both.  


