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ACT SUMMARY 

Paternity changes 

 Permits a mother or other custodian or guardian of a child to bring a court action to 

require the father or mother to pay child support after an acknowledgment of 

paternity becomes final. 

 Permits a mother or other custodian or guardian to contact the child support 

enforcement agency (CSEA) for assistance in obtaining a court or administrative 

child support order after an acknowledgment of paternity becomes final. 

 Eliminates the ability of a mother or other custodian or guardian to request a CSEA 

administrative officer to issue an administrative child support order after an 

acknowledgment of paternity becomes final. 

 Requires a Title IV-D application or other IV-D referral to be completed and filed in 

order for a CSEA to seek to determine paternity. 

 Provides that, when a CSEA administrative officer receives genetic results and 

identical siblings are named as the alleged father of a child, the officer must refer the 

case to a court for determination, and is not permitted to issue an administrative 

order establishing paternity. 
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 Decreases from 30 days to 14 days the time that a mother, alleged father, and 

guardian or legal custodian of a child may bring an action to object to an 

administrative order determining the existence or nonexistence of a parent and child 

relationship. 

 Requires that a Title IV-D application or other IV-D referral be completed and filed 

and that one of the following exists in order for a CSEA administrative officer to 

conduct an administrative hearing to establish child support: 

o An administrative officer has issued an order determining paternity; 

o A presumption of paternity exists under Ohio law; 

o A duty of support exists under Ohio law. 

 Requires that once a hearing is scheduled, the administrative officer must include in 

the hearing notice a request for several pieces of information from the parents, and 

that the CSEA may make reasonable assumptions regarding any information the 

parents fail to provide or request a court to order the parents to provide the missing 

information. 

 Provides that all administrative orders take effect 14 days (rather than 30 days) after 

they are issued and remain in effect during the pendency of any court actions to 

object to the orders, unless a party is granted a stay. 

Calculation of child support changes 

 Changes, with respect to minimum child support orders, the term used for public 

assistance from need-based public assistance to means-tested public assistance and 

defines the latter term. 

 Requires an obligor who believes there is a mistake of fact regarding the availability 

of private health insurance at a reasonable cost to file a written request for an 

administrative hearing with the CSEA no later than 14 days after issuance of the 

notice regarding the hearing opportunity. 

 Increases, from 7 business days to 14 days, the time in which a person who receives 

a notice of medical support enforcement activity may file a written request for an 

administrative hearing with the CSEA that issued the notice. 

 Permits, rather than requires, a CSEA to notify the appropriate court when a person 

required to obtain health insurance coverage under a child support order fails to do 

so within 30 days after the order is issued. 



Legislative Service Commission -3- Sub. S.B. 70  
  As Passed by the General Assembly 

 

 Makes several changes to procedures a CSEA must follow before formally beginning 

review of a court or administrative child support order. 

 Requires a Title IV-D application to be completed and filed with the CSEA in order 

for the CSEA to conduct the procedures required before formally beginning the 

review. 

 Makes several changes regarding CSEA review of court and administrative child 

support orders that affect the adjustments made, deadlines, notices, and objections 

to CSEA determinations. 

 Permits "any party" to request that a court designate which parent may claim the 

children as dependents for federal income tax purposes, and limits reconsideration 

of the designation pursuant to a court hearing regarding a revised child support 

order resulting from a CSEA review. 

 Makes changes to Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS) rule-making 

authority regarding procedures for determining when court and administrative 

child support orders must be reviewed. 

 Provides that if either parent fails to comply with a request for information under an 

administrative support hearing or review of a child support order, the CSEA may 

either: (1) request the court to order the parent to provide the information, or 

(2) make reasonable assumptions necessary regarding the information not provided. 

 Makes several changes regarding the reasons for terminating a child support order 

and CSEA termination investigations. 

Collection and disbursement changes 

 Specifies that if the court or CSEA determines that a withholding or deduction 

notice is appropriate, it must be sent by ordinary mail or electronic means to each 

person required to comply with it. 

 Expands CSEA responsibility regarding lump sum payments with respect to both 

administrative and court child support orders and reduces court responsibility. 

 Provides that when there is a notice of a lump sum payment made in accordance 

with a support order issued before 1998 that requires an employer to withhold an 

amount of the obligor's personal earnings for support payments, a CSEA that 

receives the notification must notify the court that issued the order. 

 Requires that each order or modification of an order must include a provision 

stating that an obligor or obligee that fails to give notice of change in specified 
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contact or other identifying information to the CSEA may not receive notice of the 

changes and requests to change conditions of the child support order. 

Default changes 

 Makes various changes regarding the deadlines for administrative and court 

hearings and CSEA determinations related to default notices. 

 Makes various changes to the law governing access restrictions and withdrawal 

directives regarding accounts at financial institutions of obligors in default. 

 Eliminates certain circumstances under which a CSEA was previously required to 

file a notice requesting the county recorder to discharge a lien on an obligor's 

property. 

 Provides for the Office of Child Support and the Tax Commissioner to cooperate to 

collect overdue "support," instead of overdue "child support" under prior law, from 

state tax refunds due to an obligor. 

Prosecution for nonsupport of dependents 

 Allows an obligor to be prosecuted for nonsupport of dependents even after a 

support order terminates, if an amount for support (1) was due and owing before 

the person's duty to pay support terminated and (2) remains unpaid. 

 Specifies that the statute of limitations for prosecution in this circumstance begins to 

run on the date that the person's duty to pay support terminates. 

Preparations 

 During the nine months before the act's changes take effect, requires ODJFS to 

perform necessary automated system changes, and permits ODJFS to organize and 

oversee the statewide training of CSEAs, lawyers who practice in child support, and 

judges who preside over child support cases. 
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CONTENT AND OPERATION 

Overview 

The act makes numerous changes to child support laws governing the 

establishment of paternity, the calculation of child support, the collection and 

disbursement of child support, and support defaults. 

Paternity law changes 

Obtaining child support based on a final acknowledgment of paternity 

The act changes the law regarding actions that can be taken once an 

acknowledgment of paternity becomes final. Under continuing law, the mother or other 

custodian or guardian of a child may bring an action for child support in a juvenile 

court or other court with jurisdiction requesting that the father pay an amount for the 

support of the child once an acknowledgment of paternity becomes final. The act adds 

that a mother may also be ordered to pay support.1 

The act also permits the mother or other custodian or guardian to contact the 

child support enforcement agency (CSEA) for assistance in obtaining a child support 

order, defined as a child support order issued by a court or CSEA.2 The act repeals law 

that allows a mother or other custodian or guardian to request an administrative officer 

of the CSEA to issue an administrative child support order.3 

                                                 
1 R.C. 3111.29(A). 

2 R.C. 3119.01, not in the act. 

3 R.C. 3111.29(B). 
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Obtaining child support based on a paternity presumption 

The act reduces the options available for obtaining child support based on a 

presumption that a man is the child's father. Under continuing law, a parent, guardian, 

or legal custodian of a child; the person with whom the child resides; or the CSEA of the 

county in which the child, parent, guardian, or legal custodian resides may do either of 

the following to require the presumed father to pay child support and provide for the 

child's health care: 

 If the presumption is not based on an acknowledgment of paternity, file a 

complaint in the juvenile court or other court with jurisdiction requesting 

that the presumed father be ordered to pay an amount for the support of 

the child; 

 Contact a CSEA to request assistance in obtaining an order for support 

and the provision of health care for the child. 

The act repeals the ability of the foregoing persons to ask an administrative 

officer of a CSEA to issue a child support order.4 

Administrative paternity determinations 

Title IV-D application required  

Under the act, a CSEA must, at the request of a person with standing to make the 

request, determine the existence or nonexistence of a parent and child relationship 

between an alleged father and a child if an application for services administered under 

Title IV-D of the federal Social Security Act or other IV-D referral has been completed 

and filed. Former law did not specify that a Title IV-D application or referral was 

required.5 

Identical siblings named as alleged father  

Under the act, if an administrative officer of a CSEA receives genetic results and 

identical siblings are named as the alleged father of a child, the officer must refer the 

case to the court, and is not permitted to issue an administrative order establishing 

paternity.6 

                                                 
4 R.C. 3111.78. 

5 R.C. 3111.38; R.C. 3111.04(A), not in the act. 

6 R.C. 3111.46(A)(2). 
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Objecting to an administrative paternity order 

The act decreases the time in which a mother, alleged father, and guardian or 

legal custodian may bring an action to object to an administrative order determining the 

existence or nonexistence of a parent and child relationship from 30 days to 14 days 

after the date the administrative officer issues the order. After 14 days, the 

administrative order is final and enforceable by a court. Under former law, it became 

final and enforceable after 30 days.7 

Administrative hearings regarding child support 

Requirements for scheduling a hearing 

Under the act, an administrative officer must schedule an administrative hearing 

to determine the child support amount that any parent must pay, the method of 

payment, and the method of providing for health care, if a Title IV-D application or 

other IV-D referral has been completed and filed and one of the following applies: 

(1) An administrative officer has issued an administrative order determining 

paternity; 

(2) A presumption of paternity exists under Ohio law; 

(3) A duty of support otherwise exists under Ohio law. 

This is mostly a continuation of requirements under prior law, which required an 

administrative officer to schedule an administrative hearing if: (1) an administrative 

order determining paternity was issued, or (2) an administrative support order was 

requested based on a presumption of paternity or based on a final acknowledgment of 

paternity. These requirements are continued under the act because: (1) the act maintains 

an administrative order determining paternity as a basis for scheduling a hearing, 

(2) the act maintains a presumption of paternity as a basis for scheduling a hearing, and 

(3) a final acknowledgment of paternity creates a duty of support under continuing law. 

However, prior law contained no specification that a Title IV-D application or other IV-

D referral had to be completed and filed before an administrative child support hearing 

could be scheduled. The act also requires that the hearing be conducted by an 

administrative officer assigned by the CSEA.8 

                                                 
7 R.C. 3111.49. 

8 R.C. 3111.80(A); R.C. 3111.80, under prior law. 



Legislative Service Commission -9- Sub. S.B. 70  
  As Passed by the General Assembly 

 

Notice about requests for information 

The act adds that a notice of a hearing to each of the child's parents must include 

a request for certain information about the parents (see "Request for information," 

below). The notice must state that if either parent fails to comply with the request, the 

CSEA may make reasonable assumptions regarding information not provided and 

proceed with the support determination as if all information had been provided (see 

"Failure to provide the information," below).9 

Civil procedure rules 

The act provides that any summons related to the administrative hearing is 

generally governed by the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure.10 

Holding the hearing 

The act requires that the administrative hearing be held "not later than [60] days 

after the Title IV-D application is submitted to or the Title IV-D referral is received by 

the [CSEA] or after the issuance of [the paternity determination]."11 

Requests for information 

The act requires an administrative officer to request that each parent provide the 

CSEA, not later than the date scheduled for formally beginning the administrative 

hearing, the following: 

(1) A copy of each parent's most recently filed federal income tax return and all 

supporting schedules and documents; 

(2) A copy of all pay stubs of each parent from the preceding six months; 

(3) A copy of all other records evidencing receipt of any other salary, wages, or 

compensation by each parent within the preceding six months; 

(4) A list of the group health insurance and health care policies, contracts, and 

plans available to each parent, and their costs; 

(5) The current health insurance or health care policy, contract, or plan under 

which each parent is enrolled, and its cost; 

                                                 
9 R.C. 3111.80(B). 

10 R.C. 3111.80(B). 

11 R.C. 3111.80(C). 
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(6) If either parent is a member of the uniformed services and is on active 

military duty, a copy of the parent's leave and earnings statement; 

(7) Any other information necessary to properly establish the child support 

order.12 

Failure to provide the information 

The act allows the CSEA to employ one of the following options, if either parent 

fails to provide the information requested above: 

(1) Request the court of appropriate jurisdiction of the county in which the CSEA 

is located to issue an order requiring the parent to provide the requested information; 

(2) Make reasonable assumptions regarding the information the parent did not 

provide and proceed with the support determination as if all requested information had 

been provided.13  

It is worth noting that two different sections of the act describe the second 

option, with each section containing slightly different language. One authorizes the 

CSEA to make "any reasonable assumptions necessary . . .  to ensure a fair and equitable 

review" of the support order.14 The other authorizes the CSEA to make reasonable 

assumptions, but does not reference fairness or equity.15 This could lead to uncertainty 

regarding how fairness and equity should inform the CSEA's assumptions.  

Time for objecting to administrative child support orders 

The act decreases the time in which a parent may object to an administrative 

child support order. Prior law required the parent to object by bringing an action for 

child support in a juvenile court or other court with jurisdiction not later than 30 days 

after the issuance of the administrative order. The act reduces this to 14 days after the 

order's issuance.16 

                                                 
12 R.C. 3111.801. 

13 R.C. 3111.80(D) and 3119.72. 

14 R.C. 3119.72(A)(2). 

15 R.C. 3111.80(D)(2). 

16 R.C. 3111.81 and 3111.84. 
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When administrative child support orders take effect 

The act requires an administrative child support order to take effect 14 days after 

it is issued. It requires the order to remain in effect while an objection is pending, unless 

a party requests a stay and the court grants it. Prior law stated that the order became 

final and enforceable if the parents failed to bring an action to object to the order within 

the required 30-day period.17 

Notice of right to object 

The act requires the notice that must be included in the administrative child 

support order to recite the 14-day limit regarding the parents' right to object to the 

administrative order. In addition, it repeals the requirement that the notice address the 

effect of failure to timely bring an action to object to the order.18 

Enforcement of administrative child support orders 

The act allows a CSEA, in addition to a court, to enforce an administrative child 

support order. Prior law allowed only a court to enforce an administrative child 

support order.19 

Calculation of child support 

Change to term used for public assistance 

The act changes, with respect to minimum child support orders, the term used 

for public assistance from "need-based public assistance" to "means-tested public 

assistance." It defines "means-tested public assistance" to include cash assistance 

payments under the Ohio Works First Program, financial assistance under the Disability 

Financial Assistance Program, Supplemental Security Income, or means-tested veterans' 

benefits.20 

Administrative hearings regarding medical support 

Mistake of fact regarding health insurance cost 

The act requires that if the obligor believes there is a mistake of fact regarding the 

availability of private health insurance at a reasonable cost as ordered under a child 

                                                 
17 R.C. 3111.84. 

18 R.C. 3111.81 and 3111.84. 

19 R.C. 3111.84. 

20 R.C. 3119.06. 
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support order, the obligor must file a written request for an administrative hearing with 

the CSEA. The obligor must make the request no later than 14 days after the notice 

informing the obligor of the hearing opportunity is issued.21 

Mistake of fact regarding notice of medical support enforcement activity 

The act increases the time in which a person who receives a notice of medical 

support enforcement activity may file a written request for an administrative hearing 

with the CSEA. It requires the request to be made no later than 14 days after the notice 

was sent. Prior law required the request to be made no later than 7 business days after 

the notice was sent. 

The act similarly increases the time, from 7 business days to 14 days, in which the 

person may file a written motion with the court for a hearing to determine if there is 

still a mistake of fact after the CSEA issues its determination following the hearing.22 

Failure to provide health insurance coverage 

The act permits, rather than requires (as provided in current law), a CSEA to 

notify the appropriate court when a person required to obtain health insurance 

coverage pursuant to a child support order does not obtain the required coverage 

within 30 days after the order is issued. In addition, the act adds that the court may 

punish the person for contempt for failing to obtain the required coverage.23 

Review of child support orders 

Title IV-D application required 

The act specifies that if a Title IV-D application has been completed and filed 

with the CSEA and the CSEA receives a request from either parent or periodically plans 

to review a court or administrative child support order, it must do certain things 

required in law before formally beginning the review. Prior law governing a CSEA's 

review of child support orders did not reference the IV-D application. Prior law also 

allowed the request to come from the "obligor or obligee." The act replaces this with 

"either parent."24 

                                                 
21 R.C. 3119.30(D). 

22 R.C. 3119.38. 

23 R.C. 3119.43. 

24 R.C. 3119.60. 



Legislative Service Commission -13- Sub. S.B. 70  
  As Passed by the General Assembly 

 

Procedures prior to review 

The act makes changes to certain actions a CSEA must take prior to formally 

beginning a review. The table below demonstrates how the act alters these actions.25 

Prior law  The act 

Required the CSEA, at least 45 days before 
formally beginning review, to send the notice 
or the planned review to the obligor and 
obligee. 

Decreases the time period to 30 days, adds a 
requirement that the notice be sent by ordinary 
mail to each parent, and provides that the 
review may add or adjust a payment on 
arrearages in accordance with continuing law. 

Required the CSEA to request that the obligor 
and obligee each provide the following to the 
CSEA, no later than the scheduled date for 
formally beginning the review: 

1. Federal income tax return from the 
previous year; 

2. A list of group health insurance and 
health care policies, contracts, and 
plans available, and their costs (the list 
had to include, with respect to 
obligees, the Tricare program offered 
by the U.S. Department of Defense); 

3. If the obligor was a member of the 
uniformed services and was on active 
military duty, a copy of the obligor's 
IRS form W-2, and a copy of a 
statement detailing the obligor's 
earnings and leave with the uniformed 
services (this provision was not 
applicable to obligees). 

Makes the following changes to what must be 
requested, and requires the CSEA to request 
the information from "each parent" rather than 
the obligor and obligee: 

1. Federal income tax return from the 
previous year, and all supporting 
schedules and documents; 

2. Removes the Tricare provision 
previously applicable only to obligees; 

3. If either parent is a member of the 
uniformed services and is on active 
military duty, requires only a copy of 
the parent's leave and earnings 
statement.  

 

 

Changes to CSEA review of administrative child support orders 

Adjustments to current support and arrearages – under review 

The act changes the term "modification" to "adjustment" in a provision of 

continuing law governing a CSEA's review of an administrative child support order. 

The provision requires the CSEA to recalculate the amount the obligor must pay when 

the CSEA, under the review, determines that "an adjustment" (formerly "a 

modification") is necessary and in the child's best interest. The act also permits the 

                                                 
25 R.C. 3119.60(A) to (C). 
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CSEA, if it makes this determination, to add or adjust payments on arrearages as 

provided under Ohio's child support law.26 

Time to request hearing on revised amount; ordinary mail for notice 

The act decreases the time in which the obligor or obligee may request an 

administrative hearing on the revised child support amount determined under the 

review. It requires the request to be made no later than 14 days after the notice of the 

revised amount is issued. Under prior law, the request had to be made no later than 30 

days after receipt of the notice. The act also requires that the notice be sent to the obligor 

and obligee by ordinary mail.27 

Adjustments to current support and arrearages – after CSEA hearing 

The act requires a CSEA, if it redetermines revised support obligations at an 

administrative hearing, to add or adjust payments on arrearages as provided under 

Ohio's child support law. Under prior law, the CSEA had no authority to add or adjust 

payments on arrearages at this stage. Also, prior law used the phrase "revised amount 

of child support to be paid" rather than "revised support obligations."28 

Notice regarding venue of court action to object 

The act changes the notice provided to the obligor and obligee of their right to 

object to the revised child support amount determined after an administrative hearing. 

Under the act, the CSEA that modifies the support order must notify the obligor and 

obligee that they may object by bringing an action for child support in the juvenile court 

or other court with jurisdiction in the county in which the CSEA that issued the order is 

located. Under former law, the CSEA had to notify the obligor and obligee that the 

action could be brought in the county in which the mother, father, child, guardian, or 

custodian of the child resided. The act also requires that this notice be sent by ordinary 

mail.29 

CSEA action when deviation required 

The act repeals a provision affecting how the CSEA must bring a court action for 

child support when the CSEA cannot set the amount of child support to be paid by the 

obligor under an administrative child support order without granting a deviation. The 

repealed law required that the CSEA bring the action on behalf of the person who 

requested the CSEA to review the order, or if no one requested the review, on behalf of 

                                                 
26 R.C. 3119.61. 

27 R.C. 3119.61(A). 

28 R.C. 3119.61(C)(4). 

29 R.C. 3119.61(C)(6). 
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the obligee. The act's change effectively requires that the action be brought in the 

CSEA's own name.30 

Changes to CSEA review of court child support orders 

Adjustments to current support and arrearages – under review 

Under the act, a CSEA conducting a review of a court child support order must 

calculate a revised "child support computation worksheet and issue a child support 

recommendation" under the order, including adding or adjusting a payment on 

arrearages as provided under Ohio's child support law. Under prior law, the CSEA 

calculated a revised amount of child support to be paid, and had no authority to add or 

adjust payments on arrearages at this stage.31 

Adjustments to current support and arrearages – after CSEA hearing 

The act requires a CSEA, if it determines revised support obligations at an 

administrative hearing, to add or adjust payments on arrearages as provided under 

Ohio's child support law. Under prior law, the CSEA had no authority to add or adjust 

payments on arrearages at this stage. Also, prior law used the phrase "redetermine . . .  a 

revised amount of child support to be paid" rather than "determine . . .  revised support 

obligations."32 

Time to request administrative hearing/court hearing regarding deviation 

The act modifies the deadline for an obligor or obligee to request a hearing 

before the CSEA submits the revised child support amount to the court for inclusion in 

a revised court child support order. It modifies this deadline by changing notice 

provisions. Under continuing law, the CSEA must give the obligor and obligee notice of 

both: 

(1) That the revised amount will be submitted to the court for inclusion in the 

court support order unless the obligor or obligee requests an administrative hearing on 

the proposed change; and 

(2) That if the order contains a child support deviation or if the obligor or obligee 

intends to request a deviation, they may request a court hearing on the revised amount 

of child support without first requesting an administrative hearing. 

Prior law required the request for an administrative hearing described in (1) to 

be made within 14 days after receipt of the notice, and the request for a court hearing 

                                                 
30 R.C. 3119.61(C). 

31 R.C. 3119.63(A). 

32 R.C. 3119.63(E). 
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described in (2) to be made no later than 14 days after receipt of the notice. The act 

changes both references to 14 days after the notices are issued. Continuing law requires 

the CSEA to submit the revised amount of child support to the court if neither the 

obligor nor the obligee timely requests an administrative or court hearing.33 

Time to request court hearing after CSEA hearing 

The act imposes a deadline for the obligor and obligee to request a court hearing 

on the revised amount of child support determined by the CSEA. It requires the request 

to be made within 14 days after the notice of the revised amount is issued.34 

Notice by ordinary mail 

The act requires that the notice regarding the revised child support amount 

determined under the review be sent by ordinary mail. Additionally, it requires the 

CSEA to send deviation notice described above by ordinary mail.35 

Federal income tax deduction 

The act permits "any party" to request that a court designate which parent may 

claim the children who are subject of a court child support order as dependents for 

federal income tax purposes. Continuing law also requires the court to make the 

designation when it issues, modifies, or otherwise reconsiders a court child support 

order.36 

Also under the act, when a CSEA submits a recommendation for inclusion in a 

revised court child support order, the court can only reconsider the allocation of the 

federal income tax deduction if a party files a request for a hearing on the matter.37 

Rule-making authority regarding reviews 

The act changes requirements governing rules adopted by ODJFS regarding child 

support order reviews. Under continuing law, the Director of ODJFS must adopt rules 

pursuant to R.C. Chapter 119. to establish a procedure for determining when existing 

court and administrative child support orders must be reviewed. The act decreases 

from 45 to 30 the number of days of prior notice that the CSEA must, under the rules, 

give to an obligor and obligee regarding review of their child support order. The act 

                                                 
33 R.C. 3119.63(B), (C), and (D). 

34 R.C. 3119.63(F). 

35 R.C. 3119.63(B) and (C). 

36 R.C. 3119.82. 

37 R.C. 3119.631 and 3119.82. 
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also repeals a provision that required that the rules obligate the CSEA to give notice that 

a failure to comply with a request for documents or information to be used in a review 

of a child support order is contempt of court.38 

Failure to comply with a request for information 

The act modifies the law governing the effects of an obligor's or obligee's failure 

to provide information the CSEA requests before the CSEA's review of an 

administrative or court child support order.  

Applicable to parents 

First, the effects of failure apply, under the act, to parents, instead of obligors and 

obligees.39  

Reasonable assumptions 

The act also permits the CSEA to do either of the following, if either parent fails 

to comply with a request for information: 

(1) Request the court of appropriate jurisdiction of the county in which the CSEA 

is located to issue an order requiring the parent to provide the requested information; 

(2) Make any reasonable assumptions necessary regarding the information not 

provided to ensure a fair and equitable review of the child support order.  

If the CSEA decides to make reasonable assumptions, it must proceed with the 

review in the same manner as if all requested information had been received.40 For both 

court child support orders and administrative orders, the act requires notice to each 

parent that the CSEA may, if information is not provided, proceed with the review and 

make reasonable assumptions.41 

Contempt – court child support orders 

The act is unclear as to whether a parent must be held in contempt of court if the 

parent fails to comply with a request for information regarding the review of a court 

child support order. Under prior law repealed by the act, if a court child support order 

was being reviewed, any failure to comply with a request for information was contempt 

                                                 
38 R.C. 3119.76(D). 

39 R.C. 3119.72(A). 

40 R.C. 3119.72(A) and (B). 

41 R.C. 3119.60(D). 
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of court. The CSEA had to notify the court of any such failure.42 But continuing law still 

requires the CSEA, before reviewing a court support order, to send notice that a willful 

failure to provide the requested information is contempt of court.43 It is unclear whether 

this notice requirement has any effect, since the law no longer explicitly provides that a 

failure to provide information is contempt of court. 

Contempt option for administrative child support orders repealed 

Under prior law repealed by the act, if the child support order being reviewed 

was an administrative order, the CSEA was able to request the court of common pleas 

in the CSEA's county to issue an order requiring compliance with the request for 

information. Failure to comply with the court order was contempt of court.44 

Child support order termination 

Termination imminent 

Under continuing law, the residential parent and legal custodian of a child 

subject to a court or administrative child support order must immediately notify the 

CSEA of any reason for which the order should terminate. The obligor may, but is not 

required to, do the same. The act adds that nothing in continuing law precludes a 

person from notifying the CSEA that a reason for which a child support order should 

terminate is imminent.45 

Reasons for termination 

The act adds to the continuing law the following reasons for which a child 

support order should terminate:46 

(1) A termination condition specified in the court child support order has been 

met for a child who turns 19; 

(2) The child's adoption; 

(3) The obligor's death; 

                                                 
42 R.C. 3119.72(B), under prior law. 

43 R.C. 3119.60(D)(1). 

44 R.C. 3119.72(B), under prior law. 

45 R.C. 3119.87. 

46 R.C. 3119.88. 
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(4) The grandparent to whom support is being paid or a grandparent who is 

paying support reports that the grandparent's support order should terminate under 

Ohio law governing grandparent support of a child born to unmarried and 

unemancipated minors;47 

(5) The obligor and obligee marry, if the two reside together with the child. 

Conditions to termination reasons 

The act clarifies that the reasons for termination, under continuing law and 

added by the act, are reasons for which a court or administrative child support order 

should terminate through the administrative termination process under Ohio law. It 

also specifically provides that the court or CSEA may terminate a court or 

administrative order for any of those same reasons. And it permits a court to terminate 

an order for any other appropriate reason brought to the court's attention, unless 

otherwise prohibited by law.48 

CSEA investigation 

The act requires that an application for services under Title IV-D be completed 

and filed before the CSEA is required to complete an investigation of a notice of a 

reason for termination. It adds that a CSEA may initiate an investigation before a reason 

for which the order should terminate has occurred.49 

Under continuing law, upon investigation, if the CSEA determines that a child 

support order should terminate and child support paid should be impounded to 

prevent overpayment, the CSEA must provide notice that no revised administrative or 

court child support order will be issued if either the obligor or obligee requests an 

administrative hearing on the investigation conclusions within a certain time period. 

The act decreases the time period from 30 days after receipt of the notice to 14 days after 

the notice is issued.50 

Also under law mostly retained by the act, if an obligor or obligee timely 

requests an administrative hearing, the CSEA, on completing the hearing, must issue a 

decision that includes a notice stating that the obligor or obligee may object by filing a 

motion in an appropriate court within 30 days after the issuance of the decision, and 

                                                 
47 R.C. 3109.19, not in the act. 

48 R.C. 3119.88(A) and (B). 

49 R.C. 3119.89(A). 

50 R.C. 3119.90(B)(4). 
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that if neither party files the motion within that time frame, the administrative hearing 

decision is final. If either or both parties do file a motion with the appropriate court 

within the 30 days, the court must set the case for a hearing for a determination as to 

whether the order should be terminated or some other appropriate action should be 

taken. The act again decreases the number of days from 30 to 14 days.51 

Collection and disbursement  

Withholding or deduction notice using ordinary mail or electronic means 

Under the act, if the court or CSEA determines that a withholding or deduction 

notice is appropriate after issuing or modifying a support order (which means an 

administrative or court child support order or spousal support order), it must be sent by 

"ordinary" mail or electronic means to each person required to comply with it. Under 

prior law, the notice had to be sent by "regular" mail or via secure federally managed 

data transmission interface.52 It is unclear whether there is a difference between 

"ordinary" and "regular" mail. 

Administrative seek-work orders 

The act repeals language that authorizes a CSEA to issue an order requiring an 

obligor under an administrative child support order to seek employment or participate 

in certain work activities in order to ensure that withholding or deduction to pay 

support and arrearages is available.53 However, it does not repeal another provision that 

requires a CSEA to issue this administrative order if circumstances described in the law 

require it.54 Therefore, a conflict may exist as to whether CSEAs retain authority to issue 

administrative seek-work orders. 

Lump sum payments 

CSEA administers 

The act specifies that on receipt of a notice that a lump sum payment of $150 or 

more is to be paid to the obligor, the CSEA must administer those amounts as specified 

under "CSEA actions," below. Under prior law, the court handled those amounts with 

                                                 
51 R.C. 3119.91 and 3119.92. 

52 R.C. 3121.01(A) and 3121.035(A); R.C. 3119.01, not in the act. 

53 R.C. 3121.02(C). 

54 R.C. 3121.03, not in the act. 
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respect to court support orders (court child support and spousal support orders) and 

CSEAs handled those amounts with respect to administrative child support orders.55 

CSEA actions 

The act provides that on receipt of the lump sum notice, the CSEA must require 

one of the following in an administrative order: 

(1) That the lump sum be transmitted, or just the portion necessary to pay the 

arrearage, to the Office of Child Support in ODJFS, if the obligor is in default or has any 

arrearage; 

(2) That the lump sum be released immediately to the obligor if the obligor is not 

in default or does not owe an arrearage. 

Prior law required the CSEA, with respect to an administrative support order, 

and the court, with respect to a court support order, to require one of the following: 

(1) The same as (1), above; 

(2) The person who gave notice of the lump sum payment to immediately pay 

the full amount to the obligor.56 

Repeal of CSEA notice to courts 

The act repeals the requirement that when a CSEA receives notice of a lump sum 

payment of $150 or more to an obligor under a court support order, it must notify the 

issuing court of the notice and its contents. The act also repeals the CSEA's discretionary 

authority to notify the court of lump sum payments under $150.57 

Notification of lump sum payments and liability 

The act broadens the scope of a provision governing liability for support 

payments not made to obligees by applying the provision to a "payor" rather than an 

"employer." The act provides that a payor that knowingly fails to notify the CSEA of 

any lump sum payment to be made to an obligor is liable for any support payment not 

made to the obligee as a result of the payor's failure to give notice. Under continuing 

law, a "payor" includes an employer, certain retirement and pension systems, the 

obligor if the obligor is self-employed, the Bureau of Workers' Compensation, and any 

                                                 
55 R.C. 3121.01(A) and 3121.12(A); R.C. 3119.01, not in the act. 

56 R.C. 3121.12(A)(1) and (2), 3121.33, and 3121.34. 

57 R.C. 3121.11, repealed by the act. 
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other person or entity that gives income to an obligor, except for ODJFS with respect to 

unemployment compensation.58  

Pre-1998 support orders 

If a payor notifies the CSEA of a lump sum payment made under a support order 

that meets the following requirements, the act requires the CSEA to then notify the 

court that issued the support order: 

 The support order was issued before 1998; 

 The support order requires an employer to withhold from an obligor's 

personal earnings to pay support.  

Upon receiving the CSEA's notice, the court must issue a supplemental order 

regarding the treatment of the lump sum consistent with continuing law.59 

Accompanying notice to each order or modification 

Under continuing law, each support order or modification of a support order 

must include a notice in boldface type and all capital letters informing each party that 

they must notify the CSEA in writing of certain identifying information, such as current 

mailing and residential addresses, telephone numbers, driver's license numbers, and 

any changes to this information. The act requires that this notice must also include in 

boldface type and all capital letters a statement that an obligor or obligee that fails to 

give the required notices to the CSEA may not receive notice of the changes and 

requests to change the child support amount, health care provisions, or termination of 

the child support order.60 

Definition changes 

The act adds to the definitions section of R.C. Chapter 3121. the following 

definitions by cross-referencing them to the terms as defined in section R.C. 3119.01: 

"administrative child support order," "child support order," "obligee," "obligor," and 

"support order." Revised Code section 3119.01, however, already makes these 

definitions applicable to R.C. Chapter 3121.61 

                                                 
58 R.C. 3121.01(E) and 3121.12(D). 

59 R.C. 3121.02(B), 3121.12(C), and 3123.06. 

60 R.C. 3121.29. 

61 R.C. 3121.01(A); R.C. 3119.01, not in the act. 
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Default changes 

Notices of default 

Under continuing law, a default notice must include certain pieces of 

information. Under prior law, some of the information was specific to the date the 

notice was sent. The act changes that information to be specific to the date the notice is 

issued, as follows:62 

 The date the default notice is issued; 

 The arrearages the obligor owes due to the default as of the date the notice 

is issued; 

 A statement that any arrearages that arise after the default notice is issued 

and during the period of default will be added to the obligor's total child 

support obligation and will be subject to collection efforts without further 

default notice. 

The act also increases from 7 business days to 14 days the following deadlines that 

must be included in the default notice:63 

 A statement that the obligor may file with the CSEA, within 14 days after 

the default notice is issued (sent under prior law), a written request for an 

administrative hearing; 

 A statement that, if the obligor files a timely written request for an 

administrative hearing, the obligor may file with the court, within 14 days 

after the CSEA makes its determinations under the administrative 

hearing, a written motion for a court hearing. 

The act similarly lengthens the deadline for an obligor who receives a default 

notice to request an administrative mistake-of-fact hearing, to 14 days after the default 

notice is issued from 7 business days after the notice was sent. Continuing law also 

provides that these administrative hearing determinations are final and enforceable by 

the court, unless an obligor files a written motion with the court for a court mistake-of-

fact hearing. The act similarly lengthens the deadline for making the motion, to 14 days 

after the CSEA issues its determinations from 7 business days after the CSEA makes its 

                                                 
62 R.C. 3123.031(A), (C), and (D). 

63 R.C. 3123.031(G) and (H). 
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determinations. The act also requires the court to hold the mistake-of-fact hearing if the 

obligor files the motion within that 14-day time period.64 

Ordinary mail 

The act requires that if a court mistake-of-fact hearing is to be held, the court 

must send notice of the date, time, place, and purpose of the court hearing by 

"ordinary" mail. Prior law required "regular" mail.65 It is unclear whether there is a 

difference between "ordinary" and "regular" mail. 

Defaulting obligor's financial account 

The act addresses the circumstances authorizing a CSEA to issue an access 

restriction notice to a financial institution, with respect to an account maintained by an 

obligor who is subject to a final and enforceable determination of default. Under the act, 

a CSEA may do so whenever, upon notice or discovery, it determines an in-default 

obligor has an account. The prior law more narrowly authorized a CSEA to do so when 

it determined an account existed via the case registry maintained by the state Office of 

Child Support.66 

The act also permits, rather than requires, the CSEA to investigate and determine 

the amount in the account that is available to satisfy the obligor's arrearages. Prior law 

required the CSEA to do the investigation no later than five business days after the 

information was entered into the case registry.67 

The act also changes deadlines to request hearings related to financial account 

withdrawals. Under continuing law, if a CSEA finds that a person other than an obligor 

in default has an ownership interest in an account, the CSEA must send written notice 

informing that person that an amount will be withdrawn from the account to pay for 

default arrearages.68 The act gives the person no later than 14 days after the notice was 

issued to file a written request for an administrative hearing to determine whether any 

amount contained in the account is the property of the person to whom the notice is 

                                                 
64 R.C. 3123.04 and 3123.05. 

65 R.C. 3123.05. 

66 R.C. 3123.25. 

67 R.C. 3123.27. 

68 R.C. 3123.30(A); R.C. 3123.29, not in the act. 
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sent and should not be subject to the withdrawal directive. Under prior law, the person 

had 10 days after the notice was sent to make a request.69 

Continuing law requires the CSEA, if it determines that some of the account 

funds are the property of another person, to issue a withdrawal directive for any 

remaining funds belonging to the obligor, unless the other person files a written motion 

for a hearing with the court of common pleas of the county served by the CSEA. Under 

prior law, the deadline for the person to request the court hearing was 10 days after the 

CSEA made its determination. The act changes this to 14 days after the CSEA issues its 

determination.70 It further provides that the person may file the motion with the court 

that issued the support order or that is located in the county where the CSEA issued the 

order.71 This filing provision may conflict with the requirement to file the motion in the 

court served by the CSEA that issued the remaining funds withdrawal directive. The 

courts might be different.72 

The act requires the court to hold the hearing on the request no later than 14 days 

after the request is filed (under prior law it was 10 days). It adds that the person who 

filed the motion must be considered a temporary party only for purposes of objecting to 

an administrative determination regarding the ownership of the amounts in the 

account.73 

Release of liens 

The act repeals the following circumstances under which a CSEA was previously 

required to file a notice requesting that the county recorder discharge a lien on an 

obligor's property:74 

(1) An appropriate withholding or deduction notice or other appropriate order 

was issued to collect current support and any arrearage due under the support order 

that had been in default, and the obligor was complying with the notice or order; 

(2) A new support order was issued or the support order that was in default had 

been modified to collect current support and any arrearage due under the support 

                                                 
69 R.C. 3123.30(B) and 3123.31. 

70 R.C. 3123.34. 

71 R.C. 3123.35. 

72 See Ohio Administrative Code 5101:1-29-01.2 and 5101:12-1-10.1. 

73 R.C. 3123.35. 

74 R.C. 3123.72; R.C. 3123.66, not in the act. 



Legislative Service Commission -26- Sub. S.B. 70  
  As Passed by the General Assembly 

 

order that had been in default, and the obligor was complying with the new or 

modified order. 

Collecting overdue support amounts from state tax refunds 

The act likely widens the scope of a law that requires the Office of Child Support 

in ODJFS to work with the Tax Commissioner to collect overdue support from obligors' 

state income tax refunds. It requires the Office to work with the Tax Commissioner to 

collect overdue "support" from obligors' state income tax refunds, whereas prior law 

addressed collecting overdue "child support" from their refunds.75 Continuing law 

defines "obligor" as a person who owes "overdue support," as defined in federal law. 

Federal law defines "overdue support" as a delinquent obligation amount under a court 

or administrative order for the support and maintenance of a child or, under certain 

circumstances, the noncustodial parent's spouse or former spouse.76 Therefore, the act's 

use of the term, "overdue support" likely broadens this provision to apply to collecting 

some spousal support as well as child support. 

The act also requires that, in order for overdue support to be collected from state 

income tax refunds, the obligor must have an arrearage in support payments for three 

months, and the total arrearage during each of the three months must be at least $150. 

Prior law required that for overdue child support to be collected from state income tax 

refunds, the obligor had to be not less than three months in arrears in the payment of 

child support, and that the amount of the arrearage had to be not less than $150.77 

Prosecution for nonsupport of dependents 

The act allows an obligor to be prosecuted for nonsupport of dependents even 

after an order for support terminates. Prior law authorized prosecution only for failure 

to pay under a current support order. Specifically, the act makes it a crime to abandon or 

fail to provide support to another whom the person was legally obligated to support by 

court order or decree, provided that: 

(1) An amount for support was due and owing prior to the termination of the 

duty to pay support; and  

(2) The amount remains unpaid.  

                                                 
75 R.C. 3123.821(A) and 3123.822.  

76 R.C. 3123.82(A), not in the act. 42 United States Code 666(e). 

77 R.C. 3123.822(C)(1). 
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The act retains continuing law that criminalizes the failure to pay support under 

a current support order. 

The act specifies that the statute of limitations for prosecution under the new 

prohibition begins to run on the date the person's duty to pay current support 

terminates. For example, if a parent fails to pay a child support order and the order 

terminates because the child turns 18, the statute of limitations would begin to run on 

the day the child turns 18.78  

Preparations 

The act's provisions take effect February 11, 2019. During the months prior to 

that date, ODJFS must perform necessary automated system changes, and may organize 

and oversee statewide training of CSEAs, lawyers who practice in child support, and 

judges who preside over child support cases.79 
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78 R.C. 2919.21(B). 

79 Section 3 of the act. 


