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SUMMARY 

Normal effective date: 

 Establishes the Ohio Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee to review the 
Fireworks Law and make recommendations to the State Fire Marshal. 

 Extends, until December 15, 2021, a general moratorium on the issuance of a new 
fireworks manufacturer license or fireworks wholesaler license. 

  Requires the State Fire Marshal to adopt rules no later than December 31, 2019, that 
allow licensed fireworks manufacturers or wholesalers to transfer their licenses to new 
locations. 

 Changes the expiration date of a general moratorium on the geographic transfer of 
fireworks manufacturer or wholesaler licenses from December 31, 2019, to 90 days 
after the bill’s effective date. 

 Increases from 5,000 to 10,000 square feet the maximum floor area of a retail sales 
showroom that a licensed fireworks manufacturer or wholesaler uses to sell consumer 
grade fireworks. 

Effective January 1, 2020: 

 Eliminates the requirement that purchasers of consumer grade fireworks must transport 
those fireworks out of Ohio within 48 hours of purchase and allows those purchasers to 
possess those fireworks within Ohio. 

 Allows any person authorized to possess consumer grade fireworks to discharge, ignite, 
or explode those fireworks on the person’s own property or with the property owner’s 
permission. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA133-SB-72
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 Permits local governments to restrict the dates and times that a person may discharge, 
ignite, or explode consumer fireworks or ban the discharge, ignition, or explosion of 
those fireworks. 

 Requires the State Fire Marshal to adopt rules regulating the time, manner, and location 
of consumer fireworks use. 

 Prohibits discharging, igniting, or exploding fireworks (1) while in possession of, or under 
the influence of, alcohol or a controlled substance or (2) on the property of another 
without the owner’s permission. 

 Requires a licensed manufacturer or licensed wholesaler who is selling consumer grade 
fireworks to have safety glasses available for free or at a nominal charge. 

 Requires the State Fire Marshal to prepare a pamphlet that explains how to use 
consumer grade fireworks safely and to distribute the pamphlet to licensed wholesalers 
and manufacturers and requires wholesalers and manufacturers to distribute a copy to 
each consumer purchaser. 

 Imposes a fee on the retail sale of consumer grade fireworks. 

 Credits revenue from the new fee to fund firefighter training programs and the State 
Fire Marshal’s regulation and enforcement of the fireworks industry. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee 

The bill creates the Ohio Fire Code Rule Recommendation Committee to review any 
sections of the Fireworks Law and make a recommendation to the State Fire Marshal. At a 
minimum, the Committee must make a recommendation relating to all of the following: 

 Licensure to manufacture fireworks, the operation of fireworks plants, licensure of 
fireworks wholesalers, and the operations of fireworks wholesalers; 

 The purchase of 1.4G consumer fireworks; 

 The moratorium on licenses described in “Fireworks license moratorium,” 
below; 

 State Fire Marshal rulemaking of building code requirements for 1.3G display fireworks 
manufacturing facilities. 

The Committee must meet periodically, with the first meeting not later than July 1, 
2019. It must submit its report and recommendations to the State Fire Marshal by September 
30, 2019. 

The Committee is to be made up of the following individuals: 

1. The State Fire Marshal, or the State Fire Marshal’s designee; 
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2. Four local fire chiefs appointed by the Ohio Fire Chiefs’ Association, or appointed by the 
association’s designee; 

3. A local police chief appointed by the Attorney General, or the Attorney General’s 
designee; 

4. Five members of the Ohio State Pyrotechnics Association, appointed by the president of 
the association, one of whom must be a licensed wholesaler, one of whom must be a 
licensed exhibitor, and one of whom must be a licensed manufacturer; 

5. One member of Prevent Blindness Ohio, or the organization’s designee; 

6. One member of the Ohio Optometric Association or the association’s designee; 

7. One member of the Ohio Pyrotechnic Arts Guild or the organization’s designee; 

8. One representative of the Ohio chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics, 
appointed by the president of the Ohio chapter.1 

Fireworks license moratorium 

The bill extends until December 15, 2021, a general moratorium on the issuance by the 
State Fire Marshal of a license as a fireworks manufacturer to a person for a particular fireworks 
plant or a license as a fireworks wholesaler to a person for a particular location unless the 
person possessed such a license for that plant or location immediately prior to June 29, 2001. 
Under current law, this moratorium ends December 15, 2019.2 

Geographic transfer of fireworks license 

Under the bill, not later than December 31, 2019, the State Fire Marshal must adopt 
rules, in consultation with the fireworks industry and other interested parties, that allow a 
licensed manufacturer or wholesaler to transfer their license from one geographic location to 
another. If the State Fire Marshal determines that the application complies with those rules, 
the license may be transferred. Also under the bill, the current moratorium on geographic 
transfer, which is scheduled to expire on December 31, 2019, will instead expire 90 days after 
the bill’s effective date, which will be about 180 days after the bill passes. 

Wholesaler licenses, which may be transferred within the same municipal corporation 
or the unincorporated area of the same township under continuing law variance procedures, 
continue to be able to transfer the license under those procedures.3 

                                                      

1 R.C. 3743.67. 
2 R.C. 3743.75(A)(1). 
3 R.C. 3743.17(F), 3743.591, and 3743.75(A)(2) and (B). In a drafting error, this provision does not take 
effect until January 2020 (Section 3). 
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Showroom size 

Under continuing law, a licensed manufacturer or wholesaler may sell consumer grade 
fireworks only from a representative sample showroom or a retail sales showroom. If a retail 
sales showroom is used (and first began to operate on or after June 30, 1997), the showroom 
structures must comply with specified safety requirements, including a size limitation for the 
floor area to which the public has access for retail purposes. The bill increases the size limit 
from 5,000 square feet to 10,000 square feet in floor area.4 

Consumer-grade fireworks 

State residents: purchase and possession 

Under continuing law, “1.4G fireworks” are consumer grade fireworks designated under 
division 1.4 of the U.S. Department of Transportation’s regulations.5 The bill continues to allow 
Ohio residents to possess consumer fireworks but eliminates, beginning in 2020, the 
requirement that an Ohio resident who purchases these fireworks must transport the fireworks 
out of Ohio within 48 hours after the purchase.6 Under continuing law, a purchaser may only 
obtain possession of consumer fireworks from a manufacturer or wholesaler licensed under the 
Fireworks Law.7 

Out-of-state residents: purchase and possession 

The bill eliminates, beginning in 2020, the current law requirement that an out-of-state 
resident purchasing consumer fireworks must transport them directly out of Ohio within 48 
hours.8 

Use and regulation 

Beginning in 2020, any person who is authorized to possess consumer fireworks under 
the bill (both Ohio residents and nonresidents) may discharge, ignite, or explode those 
fireworks in Ohio on the person’s own property or on another person’s property with 
permission.9 Consumer fireworks discharged, ignited, or exploded in accordance with this 
authorization are not considered a “public exhibition” and are therefore not subject to 
additional state regulations pertaining to public exhibitions. 

The bill does, however, require the State Fire Marshal to adopt rules regulating the time, 
manner, and location of consumer grade fireworks discharged under this authorization. The 

                                                      
4 R.C. 3743.25(C)(2). 
5 R.C. 3743.01, not in the bill. 
6 R.C. 3743.45(A) and 3743.63(C) and (D). 
7 R.C. 3743.45 and 3743.63(D). 
8 R.C. 3743.44(A) and (B), 3743.63(A), and Section 3. 
9 R.C. 3743.45(C), and Section 3, with conforming changes in R.C. 3743.04, 3743.17, 3743.63, and 
3743.65. 
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rules may also include provisions requiring that all fireworks be used only in accordance with 
manufacturer’s instructions and provisions for all of the following:10 

 The use of aerial fireworks; 

 Separation distances between fireworks discharges, ignitions, or explosions and 
adjacent structures, railroads, roadways, airports, publicly owned or controlled places, 
and places where hazardous materials are manufactured, used, or stored; 

 Fireworks usage on common areas of multi-tenant properties; 

 The suspension of fireworks discharges, ignitions, or explosions during times of drought 
or similar conditions; 

 The proximity of fireworks discharges, ignitions, or explosions to children; 

 Any other similar matters. 

The bill specifically permits a county (with respect to its unincorporated portions), 
township (with respect to its unincorporated parts), or municipal corporation to restrict the 
dates and times that a person may discharge, ignite, or explode consumer fireworks or ban the 
discharge, ignition, or explosion of those fireworks. The bill also specifies that a resolution to 
this effect adopted by a board of township trustees prevails over a conflicting resolution 
adopted by the board of county commissioners in the county within which the township is 
located. The consumer fireworks changes in the bill do not limit the enforcement of an 
ordinance, resolution, or statute that regulates noise, disturbance of the peace, or disorderly 
conduct.11 

Safety glasses and pamphlets required 

Beginning in 2020, any licensed manufacturer or licensed wholesaler selling consumer 
grade fireworks other than to a licensed manufacturer, wholesaler, or exhibitor must offer 
safety glasses for free at the point of sale or make them available to the purchaser for a 
nominal charge. The bill also requires the State Fire Marshal, beginning in 2020, to design a 
pamphlet that explains how to use consumer grade fireworks safely and to distribute the design 
to licensed manufacturers and wholesalers who sell consumer grade fireworks. A licensed 
manufacturer or wholesaler who sells consumer grade fireworks to a consumer must provide a 
copy of the State Fire Marshal’s pamphlet to each purchaser of consumer grade fireworks who 
is not a licensed manufacturer, wholesaler, or exhibitor. 

A licensed manufacturer or wholesaler who fails to comply with the bill’s pamphlet or 
safety glasses requirement is guilty of a second degree misdemeanor.12 

                                                      
10 R.C. 3743.45(C) and (D), Section 3, and R.C. 3743.54, not in the bill. 
11 R.C. 3743.45(E), (F), and (G). 
12 R.C. 3743.45(B), 3743.47, 3743.60(K) and (L), 3743.61(K) and (L), and 3743.99(G) and Section 3. 
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Display-grade fireworks 

Under continuing law, “1.3G fireworks” are display grade fireworks designated under 
division 1.3 of the U.S. Department of Transportation’s regulations.13 The bill eliminates, 
beginning in 2020, the requirement that a nonresident may possess display fireworks in Ohio 
only while directly transporting the fireworks out of Ohio, and that the nonresident do so 
within 48 hours of purchase. The bill maintains, however, a criminal prohibition on a 
nonresident’s failure to transport display fireworks out of Ohio within 72 hours, a first degree 
misdemeanor. 

The bill also maintains requirements that individuals purchasing display-grade fireworks 
do so only from licensed fireworks manufacturers and wholesalers and that manufacturers and 
wholesalers only sell display fireworks to persons who have an appropriate license.14 (See 
COMMENT.) 

New prohibitions 

The bill prohibits, beginning in 2020, any person from negligently discharging, igniting, 
or exploding fireworks while in possession or control of, or under the influence of, any 
intoxicating liquor, beer, or controlled substance. A person who violates this prohibition is guilty 
of a first degree misdemeanor. The bill also specifies that, regardless of any other law that 
specifies otherwise, a person may be convicted of both that violation and a disorderly conduct 
violation for the same underlying conduct. 

The bill also prohibits, beginning in 2020, any person from negligently discharging, 
igniting, or exploding fireworks on the property of another person without that person’s 
permission. A person who violates this prohibition is guilty of a minor misdemeanor.15 

Consumer-grade fireworks fee 

For the purpose of providing revenue to fund training programs and the enforcement 
and regulation of the fireworks industry, the bill imposes a fee on licensed manufacturers and 
licensed wholesalers selling consumer-grade fireworks. The fee is set at 4% of each licensed 
manufacturer’s and wholesaler’s gross receipts from the retail sale of consumer-grade 
fireworks beginning in 2020. The bill excludes from “gross receipts” sales tax the manufacturer 
or wholesaler collects on behalf of the state or local governments. 

The bill requires manufacturers and wholesalers to report and remit the fee to the State 
Fire Marshal no later than the 23rd day after the end of each fee period. “Fee period” has a 
different definition depending on whether a manufacturer or wholesaler is a new licensee: 

                                                      
13 R.C. 3743.01, not in the bill. 
14 R.C. 3743.44, 3743.63(A) and (B), and 3743.99(C), conforming change in R.C. 3743.45(B). 
15 R.C. 3743.65(G) and (H) and 3743.99(F) and (H). 
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 For new licensees (licensees who were not licensed on November 30 during the 
preceding year), the fee period is the following December 1 through the following 
September 30. 

 For other licensees, the fee period is October 1 through September 30. 

While the bill requires licensed manufacturers and wholesalers to remit the fee to the State Fire 
Marshal, it also specifies that they may separately or proportionately bill or invoice the fee to 
others. 

The fee’s proceeds are to be credited to the Fireworks Fee Receipts Fund, which the bill 
creates. The State Fire Marshal is required to use 7⁄8 of the money in the fund for firefighter 
training programs. The remaining 1⁄8 is to be used to pay the State Fire Marshal’s expenses in 
administering the Fireworks Law.16 

In the event the State Fire Marshal determines that a licensee has failed to timely report 
and remit the fee due, the State Fire Marshal may either: 

 Order the licensee to report and remit the fee within a specified timeframe; 

 Revoke or deny renewal of the license, which requires the licensee to immediately cease 
operations and prohibits application for a new license for two years. 

The State Fire Marshal is also permitted to adopt rules necessary to administer and enforce the 
fee.17 

COMMENT 

Continuing law prohibits fireworks manufacturers and wholesalers from selling 
fireworks to an out-of-state resident unless (1) the person possesses (and presents) a fireworks 
manufacturer’s, seller’s, or exhibitor’s license or permit from their home state or (2) the person 
presents a driver’s license or state identification card issued by their home state. 

In existing law, these requirements are stated in R.C. 3743.44, which deals with 
fireworks sales to nonresidents, whether consumer grade or display grade. The bill moves them 
to a new section, R.C. 3743.46, as a result of the bill’s new organization that addresses display-
grade fireworks in R.C. 3743.44 and consumer-grade fireworks in R.C. 3743.45, regardless of the 
purchaser’s residency. 

The new section adds a preface to the requirements, stating that they apply “except” as 
otherwise provided in R.C. 3743.44 and R.C. 3743.45. It is unclear, however, to what the 
exception stated in R.C. 3743.46 refers. A similar exception, and ambiguity, is stated in 
continuing law under R.C. 3743.65(E). 

                                                      
16 R.C. 3743.22(A) to (C). 
17 R.C. 3743.08(B) and (D), 3743.21(D), and 3743.22(D) and (E), conforming changes in R.C. 3743.57 and 
5703.21. 
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HISTORY 

Action Date 

Introduced 03-05-19 
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