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SUMMARY 

 Authorizes, for five years, a sales tax credit for the purchase or lease of a plug-in electric 
motor vehicle. 

 Authorizes, for five years, a nonrefundable income tax and commercial activity tax credit 
for the purchase and installation of a charging station for such a vehicle. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

Electric vehicle tax incentives  

The bill authorizes two temporary tax incentives for activities involving “plug-in electric 
vehicles,” which are defined as four-wheeled vehicles (1) designed for use on public highways, 
(2) required to be registered in Ohio, (3) able to reach speeds of at least 55 miles per hour, and 
(4) powered by a battery capable of being recharged from an external power source and storing 
at least four kilowatt hours of electricity.1  

Sales tax credit for electric vehicle purchases 

First, the bill authorizes a credit against the sales tax otherwise due on the purchase or 
lease of a plug-in electric vehicle. The credit for a vehicle purchased or leased for personal use 
is $500 and applies only to one sale or lease of an electric vehicle by the purchaser per year. In 
contrast, the credit for a vehicle purchased or leased for use primarily in the purchaser’s 
business is $1,000 and may apply to the purchase or lease of up to ten such vehicles per year. In 
either case, the credit may not exceed the tax due and applies only if the vehicle is legally 

                                                      

1 R.C. 5739.025(D)(1)(a) to (d). 
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purchased or leased between the first day of the first month that begins after the bill’s effective 
date and the five-year anniversary of that date.2 

Continuing law levies state and local sales taxes on motor vehicle sales and leases. The 
state rate equals 5.75% of the purchase or lease price, and county and transit authority rates, 
which may not exceed 3%, currently range from 0.75% to 2.25%.3 In a motor vehicle 
transaction, unlike the taxation of most other tangible personal property, the local sales tax 
rate of the jurisdiction in which the purchaser resides is applied instead of the local rate of the 
jurisdiction in which the vehicle is purchased or leased.4 

Tax credits for charging stations 

The second tax incentive authorized by the bill is an income tax and commercial activity 
tax (CAT) credit for a taxpayer that purchases and installs on the taxpayer’s premises an 
apparatus designed to charge the batteries of plug-in electric vehicles (“charging station”). The 
credit equals the lesser of $1,500 or the cost of purchasing and installing the charging station. 
The credit may be claimed for the taxable year or tax period in which the installation occurs, 
but only applies to stations purchased after the bill’s effective date and installed before the 
five-year anniversary of that date.  

The credit is nonrefundable, but any unclaimed balance in excess of the taxpayer’s tax 
liability may be carried forward and claimed in future years or tax periods. A taxpayer subject to 
both the income tax and the CAT may claim the credit against only one of those taxes.5 
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2 R.C. 5739.025(D). 
3 Ohio Department of Taxation, Total State and Local Sales Tax Rates, by County, Effective 

October 1, 2019, available at https://www.tax.ohio.gov/Portals/0/tax_analysis/tax_data_series 
/sales_and_use/Salestaxmap.pdf. 
4 R.C. 4505.06(B), not in the bill. 
5 R.C. 5747.79, 5747.98, 5751.55, and 5751.98. 
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