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SUMMARY 

 Creates a First-Time Home Buyer Savings Program, under which individuals may receive 
an income tax deduction for deposits made to a first-time home buyer savings account. 

 Allows an individual to open a “first-time home buyer savings account” and to designate 
a first-time home buyer (either the individual or another person) as the account’s 
beneficiary. 

 Authorizes an annual income tax deduction of up to $5,000 for deposits made to, and 
interest earned on, a first-time home buyer savings account. 

 Limits the total deduction an individual may claim for all years to $50,000. 

 Provides that individuals retain this tax benefit only if the account beneficiary uses the 
money in the account to make a down payment or pay the closing costs on a single-
family home in Ohio. 

 Requires that, if money in an account is not used for that purpose, the individual must 
add back the deduction claimed and, unless an exception applies, pay an additional 10% 
penalty. 

 Requires the Department of Taxation to administer and publicize the program. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

First-Time Home Buyer Savings Act 

The bill, titled the “First-Time Home Buyer Savings Act,” authorizes a tax-favored savings 
program for home buyers. Under the program, an individual may open a first-time home buyer 
savings account and receive an income tax deduction for amounts deposited into the account. 
The individual may then withdraw money from the account to make a down payment or pay 
the closing costs on a single-family home in Ohio. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA134-SB-24
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First-time home buyer savings accounts 

To participate in the program, an individual must first open an account with a bank or 
other financial institution and designate the account as a “first-time home buyer savings 
account.” 

The individual must also designate an individual as the beneficiary of the account. Under 
the bill, a qualifying beneficiary is an Ohio resident who has not owned or purchased a single-
family home in the three years before the year in which the individual takes money out of a 
first-time home buyer savings account to buy a single-family home.1 

The beneficiary of the account can be the account holder or another individual selected 
by the account holder. An individual can open multiple accounts, but cannot designate the 
same beneficiary for more than one account. Similarly, an individual can be the beneficiary of 
more than one account, so long as those accounts are each opened by a different person. 
Anyone can contribute any amount to an account, but only deposits made by the account 
holder qualify for the income tax deduction.2 

Income tax deduction 

An individual who opens a first-time home buyer savings account can claim an income 
tax deduction for (a) deposits made to the account and (b) interest earned on the account. The 
deduction equals the amount deposited, plus interest earned, each year, up to a maximum of 
$5,000 per year ($10,000 for joint returns). 

The total deduction that an individual may receive, for all years and for all of the 
individual’s accounts, is $50,000 ($100,000 for joint returns).3 

Withdrawal requirements 

Under the bill, when an individual withdraws money from a first-time home buyer 
savings account, the individual (or other beneficiary) may use the withdrawal to make a down 
payment and pay the closing costs on an eligible single-family residence in Ohio. The residence 
may include a single-family home, a unit in a multiple-unit building, or a manufactured or 
mobile home.4  

Add-back and penalty for nonqualified withdrawals 

If an individual withdraws money from an account and uses that money for another 
purpose, or if there is money remaining in the account 15 years after the account holder first 

                                                      

1 R.C. 193.01(E). 
2 R.C. 193.02 and 193.05(D). 
3 R.C. 193.05(A) and (C), 5747.01(A)(33)(a), and 5747.10. 
4 R.C. 193.01(I). 
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opened an account, those amounts are disqualified from the tax deduction and must be added 
back on the individual’s next tax return.5 

In addition, disqualified amounts are subject to a 10% penalty, unless the amount was 
withdrawn for any of the following reasons: 

1. Death, disability, or bankruptcy;  

2. The bank withdrew the amount as a service fee;  

3. The amount was transferred to another first-time home buyer savings account; 

4. The account holder is a member of the uniformed services and withdrew the amount 
within one year of being transferred or called into active duty outside of the state or of 
the termination of the individual’s active duty assignment in Ohio. 

The 10% penalty must be paid with the individual’s tax return and is considered revenue 
from the income tax.6 

Program administration 

The bill requires the Tax Commissioner to administer the first-time home buyer savings 
program. As part of that responsibility, the Commissioner may adopt rules to implement the 
program and must adopt forms for the designation of accounts and beneficiaries. In addition, 
when filing their tax return, account holders are required to provide the Commissioner with 
information about their account activity, including: 

1. A ledger indicating deposits into, and withdrawals from, the account, including 
withdrawals for bank service fees; 

2. Any IRS form 1099 issued to the account holder by the bank or other financial institution 
with respect to the account; 

3. When money is withdrawn from an account, the amount withdrawn, the amount 
remaining in the account, and the eligible costs for which the money was used; 

4. When money is transferred to a different first-time home buyer savings account, 
information on that other account; 

5. When money is withdrawn due to death or disability, the name and address of the 
person to whom the money was distributed. 

The bill also requires the Commissioner to publicize the program by distributing 
informational materials about the program to banks and potential home buyers.7 

                                                      

5 R.C. 193.05(B) and 5747.01(A)(33)(b). 
6 R.C. 193.06. 
7 R.C. 193.03 and 193.07. 
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Financial institution responsibilities 

The bill specifies that financial institutions are not required to designate accounts as 
“first-time home buyer” savings accounts for purposes of the institution’s account contracts or 
systems, track the use of money withdrawn from an account, or allocate funds among joint 
account holders or multiple beneficiaries. In addition, the institutions are not liable for 
determining whether an account qualifies as a first-time home buyer savings account, 
determining whether funds are used for eligible costs, or reporting or paying taxes or penalties 
related to an account.8 
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8 R.C. 193.04. 


