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Highlights

®  There may be a minimal annual gain in fine revenue collected from drivers cited for using
an electronic wireless communications device while driving by the Ohio State Highway
Patrol and credited to the state’s existing Security, Investigations, and Policing Fund
(Fund 8400).

® Law enforcement agencies, including the Patrol, may incur additional costs if the officer
or trooper who issued a citation has to appear in court for a traffic violation charge that
otherwise might not have been issued or contested under existing law.

® The state may gain at most a minimal amount of court cost revenue annually to be
apportioned between certain state funds.!

® There may be a minimal annual gain in fine, fee, and court cost revenue from traffic
citations distributed pursuant to state law between counties, municipalities, and
townships.

®  State and local law enforcement agencies will likely have to expend additional time and
effort, and incur additional costs, to comply with the bill’s reporting requirements. This is
particularly true for those law enforcement agencies that do not have the capability to
compile the required information electronically and will instead be required to hand
tabulate all citations written in the previous two-month period.

! The state funds include the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DYO), the Victims of Crime/
Reparations Fund (Fund 4020), the Drug Law Enforcement Fund (Fund 5ETO0), and the Justice Program
Services Fund (Fund 4P60).
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®  The Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) will incur one-time costs to develop a form that
explains the use of electronic wireless communications device (EWCD)-while-driving
prohibition and ongoing costs estimated at up to $450,000 or more annually to print and
include the form along with the application for motor vehicle registration renewal that
the BMV mails annually to vehicle owners and lessees.

® The Ohio Department of Transportation will incur costs to design and erect signs
regarding the EWCD-while-driving prohibition at certain specified locations. The one-time
costs will be up to around $100,000, and to be paid from the Highway Operating Fund
(Fund 7002).

Detailed Analysis

The bill modifies the law governing texting while driving by expanding the prohibition to a
general prohibition against using an electronic wireless communications device (EWCD) while
driving. This means that a person cannot use, hold, or physically support with any part of the
person’s body, as opposed to only handheld under existing law, any EWCD while operating a
motor vehicle on any street, highway, or public property. The bill also:

" Makes the use of an EWCD while driving a primary traffic offense for all drivers instead of
only those drivers who are under 18 years of age, as under existing law;

= Creates reporting requirements for law enforcement officers relating to use of an EWCD-
while-driving violations;

B Requires the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to create a one-page form for all motor vehicle
registration and driver’s license applicants to sign;

B Requires the Ohio Department of Transportation to erect related highway warning signs;
and

" Specifies a six-month warning period before authorizing full enforcement.

Citation activity

Under existing law, use of a handheld EWCD while driving is considered a secondary
offense. This means that a law enforcement officer generally cannot issue a ticket, citation, or
summons for use of an EWCD while driving unless the officer also arrests the driver or issues a
ticket, citation, or summons for an offense other than a secondary offense. By making the bill’s
broader offense of using an EWCD while driving a primary traffic offense, the state, and those
political subdivisions that have not already enacted stricter local ordinances, may experience an
increase in the number of citations issued for such behavior. The magnitude of any increase in
citation activity would depend upon how aggressively the state and each political subdivision
enforces the bill'’s prohibition, including their willingness to allocate resources to handle
contested violations.

LBO is aware that some cities and villages have utilized their constitutional home rule
authority to enact local ordinances making distracted driving a primary offense. As such, the bill
will have no impact on those municipalities. While no comprehensive list of those municipalities
exists, LBO’s research suggests that at least 39 municipalities (listed in the table below) may
already be enforcing distracted driving, including the use of an EWCD while driving, as a primary
offense.
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Table 1. Enforcement of Distracted Driving as a Primary Offense

Known Municipalities with Local Ordinances

Avon Cincinnati Hilliard New Albany University Heights
Bay Village Cleveland Huron North Olmstead Upper Arlington
Beachwood Cleveland Heights | Kettering North Royalton Walton Hills
Belpre Columbus Lakewood Pepper Pike Wauseon

Bexley Delaware Lyndhurst Portsmouth Westerville
Brooklyn Dublin Mantua Shaker Heights Woodmere

Brook Park Fairview Park Marietta South Euclid Worthington
Canal Winchester | Granville Moreland Hills Toledo

Note: Additional cities and villages may be enforcing distracted driving as a primary offense than those that are included in this table.

Violation revenues

Under existing law, the use of an electronic wireless communications device while driving
is a minor misdemeanor, subject to a fine of up to $150. In the case of a minor misdemeanor, a
law enforcement officer generally does not arrest a person, but instead issues a citation. In lieu
of making a court appearance, that person either in person, by mail, or online where available,
can waive their right to contest the offense before the court or jury, and pay the total amount of
fines, fees, and court costs to the clerk of the court.

The bill makes the offense an unclassified misdemeanor, generally retaining the existing
fine of not more than $150; however, the bill adds two points to the driver’s license for a
conviction. The bill has tiered penalties (see table below) where both the fine assessed and the
number of points added to the driver’s license increase with the number of prior convictions in
the preceding two-year period. If an offender has had three or more convictions within that
period, they may also be subject to a 90-day license suspension. The bill also increases the fine
to two times the amount imposed for the violation if the offense occurred in a construction zone.
Under the bill, an offender may elect to attend the existing Department of Public Safety
Distracted Driving Safety Course in lieu of payment of the $150 fine for a first offense and
prohibits a jail term or residential community sanction.

Because of increased citations issued under the bill and the potential for an increased
fine, there will be a corresponding gain in the amount of fine, fee, and court cost revenue
collected and distributed pursuant to state law between the state, counties, municipalities, and
townships. The magnitude of any increase in fine, fee, and court cost revenue annually will
depend upon how aggressively the state and each political subdivision enforces the bill’s
prohibition. The fine, fees, and court costs for using an EWCD while driving are summarized in
the table below.
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Table 2. H.B. 283 Fine, Fees, and Costs: Use of an Electronic Wireless Communications Device While Driving

Fi ial P | A Pai
inancial Penalty mou'nt aid by Recipient of Amount
Component Violator
Fine R.C. violation If citation is issued by:
= Upto$150 =  Sheriff or municipal law enforcement agency — retained
(1°* offense) by county
= Upto$250 =  Township - retains 50%, remainder to county (if
(2" offense) accompanied by speeding violation, that portion of the
= Upto$500 fine is retained solely by the county)
(subsequent = Ohio State Highway Patrol — credited to state’s Security,
offense) Investigations, and Policing Fund (Fund 8400)
Local ordinance Retained by the municipality
violations

Fine varies by local

jurisdiction
Local court costs Varies by local Generally retained by the county or municipality with subject
and fees jurisdiction matter jurisdiction over traffic violations
State court costs* $37.50 Deposited in state treasury as follows:

= $25 to the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DYO0)

= $9to the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020)
= $3.40 to the Drug Law Enforcement Fund (Fund 5ETO)

= 10¢ to the Justice Program Services Fund (Fund 4P60)

*An additional $1.50 is sent to the county or municipal indigent drivers alcohol treatment fund under the control of the court.

Reporting requirements

The bill creates reporting requirements for state and local law enforcement agencies
related to the issuance of EWCD-while-driving citations. Specifically, a law enforcement officer
must report the issuance of the ticket, citation, or summons to the officer’s law enforcement
agency, and ensure that the report indicates the offender’s race. Every other month, the agency
must collect all of the reports from its officers for the prior two months and submit the data to
the Office of the Attorney General.

The impact on law enforcement will vary by agency depending on whether the bill’s
required information is already being collected by the agency and whether or not the agency has
the ability to compile that information electronically. The Model Uniform Traffic Ticket (MUTT) is
used by all law enforcement agencies throughout the state. The MUTT currently includes a “race”
data field. As such, it does not appear that new data collection methods will need to be created.
A number of agencies, including the Ohio State Highway Patrol, currently use an electronic
citation writing method, or e-Citation, whereby the citation is generated electronically in the
patrol car, printed using a mobile printer, and then issued to the violator. Data from the traffic
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stop is stored on a central computer. LBO is aware of at least 139 local agencies that currently
utilize the e-Citation software made available by the Patrol. An unknown number of additional
agencies may also be using proprietary e-Citation software. With more than 900 law enforcement
agencies in operation throughout the state though, the majority are still using hand-written,
paper traffic citations.

Local law enforcement agencies

Under the bill, local law enforcement agencies will need to develop their own way of
compiling EWCD-while-driving and related race statistics, as well as transmit or send the data to
the Office of the Attorney General. While the impact on a given agency is likely to vary, in some
cases the additional time, effort, and costs involved to comply with the reporting requirements
may be significant, meaning they may exceed $5,000 for any given political subdivision, or
$100,000 statewide. This is due to the extra time and effort that will be required to compile the
necessary information and submit it to the Attorney General, especially if an agency does not
have an electronic records management system.

For agencies utilizing e-Citation, compiling the necessary reporting information should
only minimally increase administrative costs. For agencies that still hand write citations,
compiling the necessary statistics will be a manual process and could be significant in both time
and effort. The impact on these agencies will be greater than the impact on their counterparts
with electronic records management systems. Some agencies may choose to compile the reports
using simple databases or spreadsheets, while others may opt to create a specialized tracking
system, or convert to e-Citation.

The bill is silent as to how these data reports are to be sent to the Attorney General.
However, if standard email were sufficient, costs to transmit would likely be negligible.

Ohio State Highway Patrol

The bill’s reporting requirement will likely have a no more than a minimal effect on the
Ohio State Highway Patrol, as they will be able to compile the required information from their
existing e-Citation database and transmit that information electronically to a designated
recipient in the Office of the Attorney General.

Attorney General

The Office of the Attorney General will realize an increase in administrative workload to
collect the required data and prepare an annual report on violations of the EWCD-while-driving
prohibition or the distracted driving law. According to staff of the Attorney General, no
supplemental resources will be required to complete the report. Any related costs will be
minimal.

Department of Public Safety

The bill: (1) requires the Department of Public Safety to adopt rules requiring driver’s
education instruction include the dangers of distracted driving generally rather than only texting
while driving, as under current law, and (2) requires the written driver’s test to test the
applicant’s knowledge of the use of an EWCD while operating a motor vehicle. This will involve
no more than minimal one-time costs for the Department to adopt such rules and to modify the
written test.
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Bureau of Motor Vehicles

The bill requires the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) to create a form for distribution to
applicants for an initial or renewal motor vehicle registration or driver’s license that explains the
use of EWCD-while-driving laws, and requires each applicant to sign a statement (either
electronically or physically) acknowledging receipt of the form. In addition to the one-time costs
that the BMV will incur to develop the form and make it available on its website, there will be
ongoing costs for the BMV to print and include the form along with the application for motor
vehicle registration renewal that the BMV mails annually to vehicle owners and lessees. Driver’s
license applications are not handled through the mail.

Printing and mailing for the BMV goes through the Ohio Department of Administrative
Services (DAS), which charges a fee for its services. If the form is mailed along with the application
for registration renewal, the additional costs incurred by the BMV would be limited to printing,
as opposed to separate fulfillment, postage, manifest, and envelope costs. The amount charged
by DAS to print a front and back notice is 3.6¢ per notice. Over the past five years, the number of
motor vehicles registered annually by the BMV has averaged around 12.6 million. Assuming that
trend continues, the costs to include the bill’s required form in all vehicle registration renewal
applications are estimated at around $450,000 or more annually (12,638,289 x 3.6¢ = $454,978).

Each deputy registrar location will have to ensure that a copy of the form is available as
well, since applicants for an initial driver’s license or an initial motor vehicle registration are
required to apply in person and in-person renewal is an option as well. Whether the costs
incurred would be borne by the BMV or a deputy registrar will depend upon whether the BMV is
printing and sending the forms to the deputy registrars or the deputy registrars are required to
print their own forms.

Department of Transportation

The bill requires the Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) to design and erect signs
regarding the EWCD-while-driving prohibition. The bill specifies that ODOT is to erect the signs in
the following locations: (1) where an interstate or United States route enters Ohio, and (2) where
a road, originating from a commercial service airport, exits the airport’s property. The one-time
costs for ODOT to design and erect the signs will be approximately $100,000, to be paid from the
Highway Operating Fund (Fund 7002).

Synopsis of Fiscal Effect Changes

The substitute version of the bill (I_134_1136-2) makes changes to its preceding As
Introduced version, with the more notable fiscal effect changes described below.

®  The substitute bill requires the BMV to create a form for distribution to applicants for an
initial or renewal motor vehicle registration or driver’s license that explains the use of
EWCD-while-driving laws, and requires each applicant to sign a statement (either
electronically or physically) acknowledging receipt of the form. In addition to the one-
time costs that the BMV will incur to develop the form and make it available on its
website, there will be ongoing costs for the BMV to print and include the form along with
the application for motor vehicle registration renewal that the BMV mails annually to
vehicle owners and lessees. Printing and mailing for the BMV goes through the Ohio
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Department of Administrative Services (DAS), which charges a fee for its services. The
printing and mailing costs for the BMV are estimated at up to $450,000 or more annually.

®  The substitute bill delays the full enforcement of the EWCD-while-driving prohibition for
the first six months after its effective date during which a law enforcement officer may
only issue a warning. This delays as well the expenditure increases and revenue gains until
full enforcement of the prohibition is permitted.

®  The substitute bill requires ODOT to design and erect signs regarding the EWCD-while-
driving prohibition in certain designated locations. The one-time costs for ODOT to design
and erect the signs will be up to around $100,000, to be paid from the Highway Operating
Fund (Fund 7002).

HB0283H1/Ib
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