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Highlights 

 Some school districts and other public schools may incur costs to hire new teachers and 
update curriculum to implement the bill’s requirement that financial literacy instruction 
consist of at least one-half unit (practically, a semester) in a stand-alone course for 
students that enter ninth grade on or after July 1, 2022 (the classes of 2026 and onward). 
New staffing costs may total in the millions of dollars statewide. Curriculum-related costs 
will depend on existing course offerings with financial literacy instruction and other 
factors. 

 The bill requires up to $1.5 million of unclaimed funds to be transferred to the newly 
created High School Financial Literacy Fund, a custodial fund, to reimburse school 
districts, other public schools, educational service centers, and nonpublic schools, for the 
cost of the additional teaching license validation the bill requires for certain teachers to 
teach financial literacy beginning in the 2024-2025 school year (FY 2025). 
Reimbursements per teacher are the lesser of $500 or the actual cost of training. 

 The bill provides districts and schools more flexibility in hiring substitute teachers for the 
2021-2022 school year (FY 2022) only. A greater pool of substitute teachers may decrease 
costs in FY 2022 for some districts and schools that are addressing a shortage of substitute 
teachers by assigning contract teachers to use planning periods to cover additional 
classes, as it may cost less for a district or school to pay a substitute teacher than to pay 
contract teachers supplemental amounts for coverage. The bill may also minimally 
increase Ohio Department of Education (ODE) administrative costs from and revenues to 
the Teacher Licensure and Certification Fund (Fund 4L20). 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA134-SB-1
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Detailed Analysis 

Curriculum requirements 

To receive a high school diploma from a public school or chartered nonpublic school, a 
student must complete a minimum of 20 units of study in specific subject areas (one unit 
generally equates to a minimum of 120 hours of instruction). The subject areas and the state 
minimum units are listed in the table below. In addition to the general subject areas, current law 
requires a student to receive instruction in economics and financial literacy integrated into one 
of the required social studies units or another course that they take.  

Under current law, the manner in which financial literacy instruction is integrated into a 
district or school’s curriculum is a local decision. The Ohio Department of Education (ODE) 
indicates that some districts may incorporate financial literacy content into another course while 
others may require students to take a stand-alone financial literacy course for one-half unit that 
can meet either a graduation requirement for social studies or an elective. It is unclear how many 
districts have opted for a stand-alone course, though the Buckeye Association of School 
Administrators (BASA) indicated that many school districts embed financial literacy into their 
social studies curriculum.  

 

Current Law State Minimum Curriculum Requirements 

Subject Area Unit Minimum 

English Language Arts 4 units 

Mathematics 4 units 

Science 3 units 

Social Studies 3 units 

Health 0.5 units 

Physical Education 0.5 units 

Electives 5 units 

Total 20 units 

 

Financial literacy course requirement 

The bill modifies the state minimum curriculum to require students entering ninth grade 
for the first time on or after July 1, 2022 (the class of 2026) to take one-half unit of financial 
literacy instruction (equating to at least 60 hours of instruction or, practically, a semester course). 
The bill also removes the requirement that schools integrate the study of economics and financial 
literacy into social studies units or other classes. The bill does not increase the overall minimum 
20 units required but rather allows students to (a) complete one-half unit of financial literacy as 
an elective or (b) complete one-half unit of financial literacy and one-half unit of a mathematics 
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course to fulfill one unit of mathematics instruction, except that the one-half unit mathematics 
course cannot be in algebra II, a course equivalent to algebra II, or a course for which a state 
end-of-course examination is required. Currently, the required mathematics end-of-course 
examinations are in algebra I and geometry. Also, the bill requires students who, under 
continuing law, choose to take one unit of advanced computer science in lieu of one unit of 
algebra II to complete the one-half unit of instruction in financial literacy as an elective, as the 
bill prohibits them from completing one-half unit of financial literacy instruction to satisfy the 
mathematics unit requirement. 

The bill exempts from the financial literacy requirement students who attend a chartered 
nonpublic school or nonpublic school accredited through the Independent Schools Association of 
the Central States (ISACS) and are not using a state scholarship to attend the school.  

New teachers 

The primary expense associated with the requirement is the possibility of hiring additional 
teachers. An official with BASA indicated that most districts would use a teacher already on staff 
to teach the newly required financial literacy course, potentially by reducing curricular offerings. 
However, BASA also indicated that some larger districts may need to hire one or more new 
teachers to solely teach the one-half unit course. The number of new teachers required will vary 
by school district. As a point of reference, the average starting salary for new teachers in urban 
and suburban school districts was roughly $41,000 in FY 2020, according to survey data from the 
Ohio Education Association. Fringe benefit costs represent about 40% of salaries, for total salary 
and benefit costs averaging about $57,000 per beginning teacher. If more experienced or 
educated teachers are hired, the cost would be greater. The overall costs of the requirement may 
be significant, potentially reaching into the millions of dollars or more statewide. The following 
scenario illustrates the potential cost. If, hypothetically, the 178 urban and suburban school 
districts hired an average of one new beginning teacher, the additional salary and benefits cost 
would be around $10 million statewide ($57,000 per teacher x 178 teachers).  

Curriculum modifications 

Some school districts and other public schools may incur costs to update their high school 
curriculum to implement the bill’s changes, the amount of which will depend on existing financial 
literacy course offerings, local implementation decisions, and course choices made by students. 
School districts and other public schools may use the financial literacy model curriculum that the 
State Board of Education adopted in November 2019 to inform any necessary financial literacy 
curriculum updates.1 ODE also provides on its website links to various additional curriculum 
resources on the subject.2 Additionally, there may be arrangements in which businesses or other 
charitable organizations donate financial literacy curriculum and materials to public schools. In 
fact, the bill specifically allows schools to utilize public-private partnerships that exist in business 
and industry while developing curriculum. Districts and schools also may need to (a) condense 
some existing one-unit mathematics courses into one-half unit courses for students who elect to 

                                                      

1 Ohio Department of Education, “Ohio’s Model Curriculum: Financial Literacy, Adopted November 2019.” 
Available online at this link.  
2 Ohio Department of Education, “Resources for Financial Literacy.” http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/ 
Learning-in-Ohio/Financial-Literacy/Resources-for-Financial-Literacy.  

http://education.ohio.gov/getattachment/Topics/Learning-in-Ohio/Financial-Literacy/Financial-Literacy-Standards/FinalFLMCAdoptedNov2019.pdf.aspx?lang=en-US
http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Learning-in-Ohio/Financial-Literacy/Resources-for-Financial-Literacy
http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Learning-in-Ohio/Financial-Literacy/Resources-for-Financial-Literacy
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complete one-half unit of financial literacy as part of the mathematics curriculum requirements 
and (b) expand social studies curriculum to cover the instructional time that is currently devoted 
to economics and financial literacy.  

Educator license financial literacy validation 

According to ODE, teachers with licenses in the fields of social studies, business education, 
marketing education, and family and consumer sciences are all currently licensed to provide 
financial literacy instruction. Beginning in the 2024-2025 school year, the bill generally requires 
each public school and chartered nonpublic school to require an individual that does not have 
one of the aforementioned licenses to have an educator license validation in financial literacy to 
provide this instruction. The bill also exempts chartered nonpublic schools and nonpublic schools 
accredited through ISACS from complying with the licensure validation requirement if the school 
does not have any students attending it using a state scholarship (students attending these 
schools are also exempt from the financial literacy requirement, unless they attend the school 
using a state scholarship). 

The bill requires districts and other public schools to cover any costs necessary for an 
individual to meet the requirements for the license validation. Since the State Board of Education 
must establish an advisory committee to consult on rules regarding the license validation, the 
acceptable programs and their associated costs are uncertain. One potential option may be the 
National Financial Educators Council, which offers a certification for financial education 
instructors. The fee for initial certifications is $297 with an annual renewal cost of $97. To obtain 
the certification, an individual must complete 40 hours of training (although it is possible to test 
out of some hours) and complete an examination. More extensive training requirements 
presumably would carry a higher cost.  

The bill provides up to $1.5 million of unclaimed funds to reimburse school districts, other 
public schools, educational service centers, and chartered nonpublic schools for the costs 
necessary for an individual employed by the entity to meet the license validation requirements. 
ODE must reimburse the district or school, per teacher, the lesser of $500 or the total cost incurred 
by the teacher to obtain the license validation. If the $1.5 million is insufficient to cover all 
reimbursement requests, the Department may limit the number of teachers for which a district 
or school can request reimbursement or prorate reimbursement amounts.  

The bill creates the High School Financial Literacy Fund, a custodial fund outside the state 
treasury, to receive the unclaimed funds. The Treasurer of State will transfer money in this fund 
to ODE to reimburse schools for the cost of teachers obtaining a financial literacy license 
validation. ODE may use a portion of the fund to administer the reimbursement program. ODE 
and the Department of Commerce, which oversees unclaimed funds, must enter into an 
agreement specifying the terms of repayment from moneys in the fund, including interest, to 
fully reimburse the amount of unclaimed funds remitted to the fund. The repayment schedule 
cannot exceed a period of five years. If ODE fails to repay the Department of Commerce according 
to the agreement, the bill states that it is the intent of the General Assembly that the amount of 
cash owed under the repayment plus the applicable interest must be paid from the General 
Revenue Fund.  
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Substitute teachers 

Generally, educator licenses, permits, or certificates issued by the State Board of 
Education for teaching grades K-12, including serving as a substitute teacher, require at least a 
bachelor’s degree. The bill permits school districts, community schools, STEM schools, 
educational service centers, and chartered nonpublic schools to employ an individual who does 
not have a postsecondary degree as a substitute teacher, for the 2021-2022 school year only, as 
long as the individual (a) meets the district’s or school’s set of educational requirements, (b) the 
individual is deemed to be of good moral character, and (c) the individual successfully completes 
a criminal background check. The State Board of Education must issue nonrenewable temporary 
substitute teaching licenses to such individuals for the 2021-2022 school year only. This provision 
is declared an emergency and, thus, goes into immediate effect. A similar provision, effective 
January 7, 2021, was enacted for the 2020-2021 school year in H.B. 409 of the 133rd General 
Assembly. 

The provision gives districts and schools more flexibility in hiring substitute teachers for 
the rest of the school year, which may increase the pool of available teachers. If so, the provision 
also may lead to a decrease in school district expenditures in FY 2022. Some school districts and 
other public schools may be addressing substitute teacher shortages by assigning contract 
teachers to use a planning period to cover classes for which a substitute teacher is not available. 
Contract teachers generally are paid supplemental amounts for each of these “substitute 
periods.” It may cost less for a district or school to pay a substitute teacher than to pay the 
supplemental amounts to contract teachers. A substitute teacher earns, on average, roughly 
$100 per day.3 In contrast, the supplemental amounts paid to contract teachers for substitute 
periods appear to hover around $25 per period (equating to up to $200 per day depending on 
the number of periods in the school day) based on a limited review of a number of school district 
collective bargaining agreements across a range of different district types.  

The provision may minimally increase ODE administrative costs from and revenues to the 
Teacher Licensure and Certification Fund (Fund 4L20). A one-year substitute teacher license 
carries a fee of $25. As a point of reference, ODE issued 1,294 temporary substitute teacher 
licenses not requiring a bachelor’s degree in FY 2021 under the authority granted by H.B. 409 
(ODE newly issued or renewed 15,124 regular substitute teacher licenses during the same fiscal 
year). 
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3 National Substitute Teachers Alliance.  

https://www.nstasubs.org/?page_id=34

