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SUMMARY 

 Allows for expedited appeals to the Ohio Board of Building Appeals and county and 
municipal boards of building appeals. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

The Ohio Board of Building Appeals hears appeals to orders enforcing the Ohio Building 
Code, the Residential Code of Ohio (the building code for residential structures), the Ohio Fire 
Code, the Ohio Elevator Code, and the Ohio Boiler Pressure and Vessel Code. The Board of 
Building Appeals may also certify county and municipal boards of building appeals to hear 
appeals to orders enforcing the Ohio Building Code and the Residential Code of Ohio.1 The bill 
provides for expedited appeals to these boards. 

Requests and scheduling for expedited appeals 

Under current law, when a party appeals an order, the Board of Building Appeals, or the 
relevant county or municipal board, is required to schedule the appeal hearing, no sooner than 
seven days and no later than 15 days after the appeal is requested.2 The bill allows appellants 
to request expedited appeals. If an expedited appeal is requested when the appeal itself is 
requested, the bill requires the board to which the appeal is made to both: 

 Commence the appeal within one day after the request is made, excluding Saturdays, 
Sundays, and legal holidays; 

                                                      

* This analysis was prepared before the report of the Senate Small Business and Economic Opportunity 
Committee appeared in the Senate Journal. Note that the legislative history may be incomplete. 
1 R.C. 3781.19 and 3781.20; Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.) 4101:13-1-04, not in the bill. 
2 R.C. 119.07, not in the bill. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA134-SB-196
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 Hold a hearing within five days after the request is made, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, 
and legal holidays. 

If an expedited appeal is not requested at the outset, the person who requested the 
appeal may later request that the remainder of the appeal be expedited if certain conditions 
are present. Those conditions are that, during the course of the appeal, the board issues a 
continuance of the hearing, such that no decision is made and additional evidence is requested 
in order to continue the proceeding. In those circumstances, the person may request that any 
follow-up hearing be expedited within five days of the continuance’s issue, excluding Saturdays, 
Sundays, and legal holidays. The follow-up hearing then must be held within five days of the 
request. (See COMMENT.) 

Under the bill, the board conducting an expedited hearing must provide all parties a 
notice before conducting the hearing, but may hold the hearing by electronic means.3 

Fees for expedited appeals 

Under continuing law, the Board of Building Appeals is permitted to establish 
reasonable fees for appeals, based on actual costs for administration of filing and processing 
and not exceeding $200 (the current fee is $200). County and municipal boards of building 
appeals are also permitted to establish reasonable, cost-based, fees for appeals that do not 
exceed $100. The bill allows the Board of Building Appeals, and county and municipal boards, to 
establish additional fees for expedited appeals. Those fees cannot exceed $500 for each day the 
appeal is pending or $1,000 in total.4 

Rules 

The Board of Building Standards is authorized, by the bill, to adopt rules implementing 
its provisions.5 

COMMENT 

Generally, under continuing law, the Board of Building Appeals, and a county or 
municipal board, must issue its decision within 30 days of an appeal hearing. The bill states that 
this deadline does not apply in the case of expedited appeals, but the bill does not provide an 
alternative deadline.6 

                                                      

3 R.C. 3781.21(A) and (C). 
4 R.C. 3781.19, 3781.20(B), 3781.21(B); O.A.C. 4101:13-1-13, not in the bill. 
5 R.C. 3781.21(D). 
6 R.C. 3781.19, fifth paragraph. 
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