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Highlights

®  The Ohio Department of Health (ODH) will experience an increase in costs to establish a
registration process for health care staffing agencies, conduct inspections, investigate
complaints, and take any necessary disciplinary action. It is likely that staff will need to be
hired and an information technology system will need to be developed. Costs will largely
depend on the number of staffing agencies seeking registration.

®  ODH will receive annual registration fees, late renewal fees, and civil fees for violations.
These revenues will be deposited into the General Operations Fund (Fund 4700).

®  Any public facilities that contract with health care staffing agencies will likely experience
some savings due to the bill’s limitation on the total amount a health care staffing agency
can charge a health care provider.

® The Ohio Department of Medicaid (ODM) will likely experience administrative costs to
calculate and assemble fees and wages and calculate an inflation rate as the bill requires.

®" The rate paid to intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities
(ICFs/IID) for FY 2023 will not be subject to a daily maximum cap of $365.05 as specified
under current law. Costs to the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities (ODODD)
will range in the millions, depending on inflation.

®  The bill requires ODODD for FY 2023 to pay the rate using funds from the enhanced
federal medical assistance percentage enacted in the “Families First Coronavirus
Response Act” from Federal Fund 3A40 line item 653654, Medicaid Services.
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Detailed Analysis

Registration of health care staffing agencies

The bill requires annual registration with the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) for health
care staffing agencies that provide certain health care personnel to health care providers on a
temporary basis. The bill requires each physical location of a health care staffing agency to
separately register and pay a $2,000 registration fee. Eligible staffing agencies may apply for
annual registration renewal, which also includes a $2,000 fee. The bill outlines certain staffing
agency obligations and prohibitions as well, including a requirement to establish and provide to
health care providers a schedule of fees and charges that cannot be modified except with written
notice 30 days in advance. Each staffing agency must also ensure that when the agency agrees to
provide personnel to work for a specific shift or time period, the person works for the agreed
time period at no additional charge to the provider. ODH is required to establish registration
application forms and procedures for initial and renewal registrations. The bill also establishes a
late fee of $200 if an applicant fails to pay the renewal fee during the month of the renewal date.
The Director of Health is required to review all applications received and register an application
or renew a registration if the application is complete, the fee is paid (including any late fee), and
registration requirements are met. As part of overseeing the operation of health care staffing
agencies, ODH must conduct surveys and other inspections on an annual or unannounced basis.
The Director may take other actions the Director considers necessary to ensure agency
compliance. Additionally, ODH may revoke a health care staffing agency’s registration or take
other disciplinary action for certain reasons outlined in the bill. ODH is also required to establish
a system for reporting complaints against health care staffing agencies and their employees. ODH
must adopt rules as the Director considers necessary to implement the bill’s provisions. However,
ODH may begin implementation prior to adopting such rules.

Fiscal impact

The total costs to regulate health care staffing agencies depends primarily on the number
of such agencies seeking to register in Ohio. Because this number is uncertain, the total costs are
also uncertain. However, what is known is that ODH will experience an increase in costs to
establish a registration process, conduct inspections, investigate complaints (this will include
complaints relating to the maximum rate provision described below), take any necessary
disciplinary action, and to adopt rules. Costs will also depend on the length of time it takes for
inspections of each location to be completed, the number of complaints that require
investigation, travel costs for inspections, the number and extent of any disciplinary action, and
the number of staff that will need to be hired. It is possible that in order to enforce and ensure
compliance with the maximum rate provision below, ODH will need to hire staff with special
experience, such as experience in financial auditing. Lastly, there would be costs to develop and
maintain an information technology system to track registration and enforcement activities,
which would include initial upfront investments and ongoing annual costs. Additionally, ODH will
receive application fee revenues ($2,000 per facility per year), late renewal fee revenue, as well
as any civil fees for violations of the bill. These will be deposited into the General Operations
Fund (Fund 4700) and are to be used to administer and enforce the bill’s provisions. Again, the
amount of revenues will depend on the number of staffing agencies seeking registration.

Other states have implemented similar requirements or proposed legislation to register
staffing entities. However, the number of such entities varies widely depending on the specifics
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of the legislation. For example, in Minnesota, a supplemental nursing services agency that is
engaged in the business of providing or procuring temporary employment in health care facilities
for nurses, nursing assistants, nurse aides, and orderlies is required to register each separate
location with the Department of Health. Under Minnesota’s program, a health care facility is
defined as a hospital, boarding care home or outpatient surgical center, a nursing home, an
assisted living facility, or a boarding and lodging establishment that provides support or health
supervision services. The Department develops maximum allowed charges each year. According
to the Department, there are currently 300 supplemental nursing services agencies registered in
Minnesota, which includes agencies that are based in-state and out-of-state. Unfortunately, no
information was available on personnel or regulation costs at the time of publication. Another
state example is Kansas, which recently introduced legislation. This legislation required the
Department for Aging and Disability Services to regulate supplemental nursing services agencies,
to establish a complaint process, and to ensure that supplemental nursing services agency rates
were capped at specific amounts. In the Kansas bill, supplemental nursing services agencies are
those agencies engaged in the business of providing or procuring temporary employment in
health care facilities for nurses and nurse aides. Health care facilities include adult care homes,
hospital long-term care units, hospitals, and ambulatory surgical centers or recuperation centers.
The Kansas Division of the Budget’s fiscal note for this legislation indicated that four additional
full-time staff would be needed and assumed the registration of 25 agencies at a cost of about
$700,000 in FY 2023.1 H.B. 466 requires a person regularly engaged in providing or procuring
health care personnel (defined as any licensed or unlicensed health care professional who
provides care, support, or services directly to patients) to serve as temporary staff for health care
providers (defined as nursing homes, residential care facilities, home health agencies, hospice,
residential facilities, community addiction services or mental health services providers, and
Medicaid providers of waiver services) to register. Therefore, while H.B. 466 is broader in terms
of the temporary health care staff provided than Minnesota’s current program or Kansas’
proposed program, it does not require registration for health care staffing agencies that provide
personnel to hospitals only. It is unknown how many agencies provide personnel to hospitals
only. However, Ohio does have more nursing facilities and other nonhospital providers that could
utilize staffing agencies than either Minnesota or Kansas. Because of these factors, it is difficult
to determine how many registrations Ohio could receive. The number of necessary personnel
and the overall costs associated with regulation and enforcement, as well as the revenues
received, would increase if the number of registrations increased.

Wages and fees report

The bill limits the total amount a health care staffing agency can charge a health care
provider for employees, including for all wages and other fees or charges associated with each
employee. Under the bill, health care staffing agencies are prohibited from billing or receiving
payments from health care providers for any category of health care personnel listed in the
Medicaid cost reports submitted under existing law at a rate that is higher than 150% of the
statewide direct care median hourly wage for that category of personnel, as that wage is
determined by the Ohio Department of Medicaid (ODM), multiplied by an inflation rate

1 See the Fiscal Note for Kansas’ H.B. 2524 (PDF), which may be accessed by clicking on “Bills & Laws” then
“House Bills” searching for “HB 2524” on the Kansas Legislature’s website: kslegislature.org/li/.

Page |3 H.B. 466, Fiscal Note


http://kslegislature.org/li/b2021_22/measures/documents/fisc_note_hb2524_00_0000.pdf
http://www.kslegislature.org/li/

Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office

calculated by ODM in accordance with rules set in the bill. ODM is required to calculate and
publish statewide direct care median hourly wages for all personnel categories reported on the
cost reports as soon as practicable after receiving the reports. ODM is also required to estimate
inflation rates for each period of the cost report year, and the bill specifies the sources and
manner in which the Department is required to calculate this rate. The Medicaid Director may
establish median hourly wages for any category of personnel not on the cost reports, based on
data submitted by health care providers that utilize that category of personnel or based on any
other data that the Director considers appropriate. If such wages are established, they must be
used to set a maximum charge for that category of personnel. A maximum rate established under
the bill must include all charges for administrative fees, contract fees, or any other charges in
addition to the hourly rates of the health care personnel supplied to a health care provider,
except that the agency may charge the provider an additional hourly amount of not more than
10% of the maximum rate for the individual, if providing care to patients with an infectious
disease for which a declared public health emergency is in effect.

Fiscal impact

ODM will experience administrative costs to comply with the data collection and rate
determination provisions of the bill, as well as the inflation rate determination required by the
bill. There may also be costs to establish median hourly wages for any category of personnel not
reported on cost reports.

In the scenario that the maximum rate provisions lead to payment rate changes for
Medicaid, there might be potential savings. For Medicaid Managed Care, any savings would be
captured in broader capitated rate adjustments. If any specified public facilities contract with
staffing agencies, these facilities will likely experience some savings due to the maximum rate
provisions. The magnitude of these savings will depend on many factors, including the contracts
each facility has with staffing agencies and the positions that are filled by staffing agency
employees. Savings will depend on the current rates being charged versus the rates established
by the bill.

Prohibitions and violations

The bill prohibits any person from knowingly operating a health care staffing agency
unless the agency is registered. The bill also specifies that an agency who violates this prohibition
is guilty of a second degree misdemeanor for the first offense, and a first degree misdemeanor
for subsequent offenses. Additionally, an agency that violates the maximum charge provisions of
the bill, as discussed above, must be fined 200% of the amount billed or received in excess of the
maximum. An agency may request a reconsideration by the Director of Health if such a fine is
imposed.

Fiscal impact

There may be costs to local courts if any violations occur and cases are brought regarding
the bill’s prohibition from operating a health care staffing agency without registering with ODH;
however, costs may be offset by fees or court costs. The number of violations for operating
without registration is likely to be small. Any revenue from fines imposed by the Director of
Health will be deposited into the General Operations Fund (Fund 4700). The amount of fine
revenue will depend on the number of violations.
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Temporary certificate of need changes

The bill requires the Director of Health to grant a certificate of need (CON) holder a
24-month extension to obligate capital expenditures for a proposed project for a CON granted
during the period of the COVID-19 state of emergency. The bill also authorizes the owner of an
entity for which a CON was granted during this period to sell its ownership in the entity without
voiding the CON held by the owner. ODH is required to notify the CON holder of the date on
which the 24-month extension expires.

Fiscal impact

ODH may experience a minimal increase in administrative costs to provide the
abovementioned notification. Any other impacts will depend on the number of CONs impacted
and whether any fees would have been charged under current law.

ICF/IID day rate for FY 2023

The bill eliminates an exception, enacted in H.B. 110 of the 134%™ General Assembly,
specifying that if the statewide average rate for intermediate care facilities for individuals with
intellectual disabilities (ICFs/IID) exceeds $365.05 in FY 2023, all payments would be reduced by
the percentage the statewide average exceeds that amount. The bill instead requires that for
FY 2023, ODODD will pay each ICF/IID a rate determined under Chapter 5124 of the Revised Code.

Fiscal impact

ODODD will experience higher costs as the maximum amount paid to ICFs/IID will no
longer be limited to $365.05. The amount of the increase depends on the growth rate of costs
experienced by ICFs/IID. Using the cost growth rate estimated by ODODD during the last
budgeting process (3.5% per year) creates a potential cost increase of $17.5 million all funds
(56.3 million state share, assuming a 64% federal reimbursement rate) for FY 2023. Given the
current uncertainty regarding inflation the true costs could be higher or lower. For instance, if
ICF/IID costs grow instead by 5%, the potential cost increase to ODODD would be $35.3 million
all funds ($12.7 million state share, assuming a 64% federal reimbursement rate) for FY 2023.
LBO is unable to provide more specific numbers at this time.

The bill requires ODODD to pay the rate using funds from the enhanced federal medical
assistance percentage enacted in the “Families First Coronavirus Response Act” from Federal
Fund 3A40 line item 653654, Medicaid Services.
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