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SUMMARY 

 Establishes an expedited appeals process for appeals before the Board of Building 
Appeals and a local municipal or county board of building appeals. 

 Authorizes the Board of Building Standards to adopt rules to establish the expedited 
appeals process under the bill. 

 Requires that an expedited appeal be commenced within one day of the request and 
that the hearing be conducted within five days of the request. 

 Requires the person requesting an expedited appeal to pay $1,000 for the expedited 
appeal to the board conducting the proceeding. 

 Authorizes the board conducting an expedited hearing to do so by means of 
teleconference, video conference, or any other similar electronic technology. 

 Requires that the board conducting an expedited appeal provide all parties a 24-hour 
notice of the hearing prior to conducting the hearing. 

DETAILED ANALYSIS 

General overview 

The bill establishes an expedited appeals process for appeals before the Board of 
Building Appeals in the Department of Commerce (state board of appeals) and a local municipal 
or county board of building appeals (local board of appeals). These boards have been 
established under the law, so individuals, businesses, or local governments can appeal local 
building permit decisions, request a variance, or question the enforcement of the Ohio Building 
Code. Local boards of appeals are certified by the state board of appeals. Appeals are 
conducted following the Ohio Administrative Procedure Act. Under continuing law, the 
appropriate local board of appeals, if one exists, must conduct the adjudication. If there is no 
local board established, then the state board of appeals conducts the adjudication hearing. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA134-HB-372
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Under a typical appeals process under continuing law, the state board of appeals or a local 
board of appeals must render its decision within 30 days after the date of the adjudication 
hearing. The bill provides an option for a person to request that the appeal proceeding be 
expedited.1 The bill authorizes the Board of Building Standards to adopt rules to implement the 
provisions of the bill.2 

Expedited appeals 

Under the bill, any person that requests an appeal of an order by a building official 
before the state board of appeals or the local board of appeals, may request the appeal to be 
expedited. If the expedited appeal is requested, the board must commence the appeal within 
one day after the request is made, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays, and the 
board must hold a hearing within five days after the request is made.3 

Under certain circumstances, if proceedings have commenced and a person did not 
request the appeal to be expedited, the person can still request that the remainder of the 
appeal proceeding be expedited. This is an option if during the course of the appeal, the board 
issues a continuance of the hearing, so that no decision is made and additional evidence is 
requested in order to continue the proceeding. In this situation, a person may request that any 
follow-up hearing be expedited and held within three days of the continuance being issued.4 

Fee 

The person making the request for an expedited appeal must pay $1,000 for the entire 
expedited appeal to either the state or local board of appeals, whichever is handling the 
proceeding. Under continuing law, if the state board of appeals is handling a proceeding that is 
not expedited, it may charge up to $200 and a local board may charge up to $100 for an appeal 
that is not expedited.5 

Remote hearings 

The bill authorizes the state board or local board of appeals to conduct an expedited 
hearing by means of teleconference, video conference, or any other similar electronic 
technology.6 

                                                      

1 R.C. 3781.19 and 3781.20(B). 
2 R.C. 3781.21(D). 
3 R.C. 3781.21(A)(1). 
4 R.C. 3781.21(A)(2). 
5 R.C. 3781.19, 3781.20(B), and 3781.21(B). 
6 R.C. 3781.21(C). 
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Notice 

The bill requires that the board conducting an expedited appeal provide all parties a 
24-hour notice of the hearing prior to conducting the hearing. The seven-day notice under the 
Ohio Administrative Procedure Act does not apply.7 

HISTORY 

Action Date 

Introduced 07-07-21 

Reported, H. Commerce and Labor 05-11-22 

Passed House (83-7) 05-18-22 
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7 R.C. 3781.21(A)(3). 


