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Highlights

®  Assuming the demand for the “Playhouse Square” specialty license plate satisfies the
minimum 150-person registration requirement, then, in its first year, the Bureau of Motor
Vehicles (BMV) will: (1) gain at least $1,500 in fee revenues and (2) incur between $882
and $1,085 or more in license plate production costs; Playhouse Square will receive at
least $2,250 in contributions.

" |n subsequent years, the BMV will gain $10 in fee revenue for each license plate newly
issued or renewed, and incur production costs of $5.88 and $7.23 for a new single plate
and pair of plates issued, respectively.

®  The actual BMV fee revenue and cost, as well as contributions to Playhouse Square, will
depend upon demand in each year.

" Aperson who applies for the “Playhouse Square” specialty license plate must pay additional
money, consisting of a $10 BMV administrative fee and a contribution of $15.

®  The bill will have no direct fiscal effect on any of the state’s political subdivisions.

Detailed Analysis

“Playhouse Square” license plate

The bill creates the “Playhouse Square” license plate that is available to all persons with
an eligible vehicle registered in Ohio. A person applying for the plate must pay a $10 Bureau of
Motor Vehicles (BMV) administrative fee and a $15 contribution to Playhouse Square.
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“Playhouse Square” Specialty License Plate

Required

Specialty License Plate Contribution Recipient

Contribution

Playhouse Square $10 $15 Playhouse Square

License plate implementation procedures

Under existing law, the Registrar of Motor Vehicles is not required to implement any
legislation that creates a specialty license plate until the Registrar receives written statements
from at least 150 persons indicating that they intend to apply for and obtain the license plate
(R.C. 4503.78).

Production costs and administrative fees

Under current law, a person may elect to purchase either a single plate or pair of plates.
The BMV currently produces special license plates via a digital print-on-demand process. The cost
to produce a single plate is $5.88. The production cost for a pair is $7.23.

Under the bill, a person obtaining the “Playhouse Square” license plate is required to pay
an administrative fee of $10, the purpose of which is to compensate the BMV for additional
services required in issuing the plate. The administrative fee is credited to the Public Safety —
Highway Purposes Fund (Fund 5TMO), which is used in part to pay the BMV’s expenses related to
titling motor vehicles, licensing drivers, and registering motor vehicles.

" Assuming the license plate satisfies the minimum 150-person registration requirement,
then, in the first year, the annual production costs for the plate will total at a minimum
between $882 (150 persons x $5.88) and $1,085 (150 persons x $7.23), and the
administrative fees collected will total at least $1,500 (150 persons x $10).

" |n subsequent years, the BMV will collect $10 for each new or renewed license plate. For
each new plate issued, the production cost will be $5.88 and $7.23 for a single plate and
pair of plates, respectively.

Playhouse Square

The $15 contribution paid for the issuance of the “Playhouse Square” license plate will be
credited to the existing License Plate Contribution Fund (Fund 5V10), and then paid to Playhouse
Square in Cleveland, Ohio, to further its mission of presenting and producing a wide variety of
quality performing arts, advancing arts education, and creating a superior destination for
entertainment, business, and residential living.

" Assuming the license plate satisfies the minimum 150-person registration requirement,
then, in the first year, Playhouse Square will receive at least $2,250 (150 persons x $15
contribution).

" |n subsequent years, Playhouse Square will collect $15 for each new or renewed license
plate.

SB0285SR/th

Page |2 S.B. 285, Fiscal Note



