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Highlights

" The bill’s expansion of existing intimidation offenses to include additional victims
(guardian ad litems and court appointed special advocates) and prohibited conduct may
result in a relatively small statewide increase in criminal cases handled by county and
municipal criminal justice systems. Any additional costs are likely to be minimal at most
annually. Revenue in the form of court costs, fees, and fines may offset those costs to
some degree.

®  There may be a minimal annual increase in incarceration or supervision costs for county
and municipal justice systems, and the Department of Rehabilitation and Correction, as a
relatively small number of offenders may be sentenced to a term of incarceration or
supervision under the bill.

Detailed Analysis

The bill expands the offenses of “intimidation” and “intimidation in a criminal case” by
adding guardian ad litems (GALs) and court appointed special advocates (CASAs) to the list of
protected victim classes covered by the offenses.?

The bill does not change the penalty for these offenses against existing victims.
“Intimidation” remains a third degree felony, and “intimidation in a criminal case” remains either

1 GALs are frequently attorneys who represent the best interest of a person who is the subject of a court
case; CASAs are volunteers who have been trained to advocate for the best interest of a child. CASA
volunteers almost exclusively handle abuse, neglect, and dependency cases. According to the Ohio
CASA/GAL Association, there are approximately 5,000 individuals serving in this capacity in Ohio.
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a first degree misdemeanor or third degree felony depending on the circumstances present.
However, the bill provides that a violation of either offense, in all circumstances, is a first degree
misdemeanor when the victim is a GAL or CASA. The penalties, including potential jail or prison
terms for misdemeanor and felony intimidation offenses, are shown in the table below.

The bill also expands the conduct prohibited under each offense to include abuse, threats,
and harassment against any protected victim classes. In addition, the bill specifies that a violation
occurs only if the offender knows or had reason to know that the offense is being committed
against a member of a protected victim class. Presumably, most cases of intimidation would
involve the circumstance where the offender specifically targeted a person to hinder them from
fulfilling the duties associated with their profession or role in a court action or proceeding, or in
retaliation for outcomes of those duties.

Sentences and Fines for Intimidation Offenses

Offense Level Fine Term of Incarceration
Misdemeanor 1 degree | Up to $1,000 Jail, not more than 180 days
Felony 3™ degree Up to $10,000 9, 12, 18, 24, 30, or 36 months definite prison term

Local criminal justice systems

From calendar years (CYs) 2018 through 2022, an average of 14 new cases were filed
annually with the Franklin County Municipal Court for “witness intimidation/retaliation.”? This
suggests that a corresponding statewide average could be several hundred cases filed annually
under current law — a number that may slightly increase under the bill. For comparison, the
number of incidents of “intimidation” or “intimidation in a criminal case” as reported by law
enforcement to the Ohio Incident-Based Reporting System (OIBRS) in CY 2022 was 67 and 319,
respectively, further suggesting a relatively low number of offenses generally statewide.?

Most new cases will involve intimidation of a CASA or GAL and fall under the jurisdiction
of a municipal or county court as a misdemeanor offense. However, the bill’s expansion of
intimidation offenses to prohibit abuse, threats, or harassment (in addition to any attempt to
influence, intimidate, or hinder any of the protected victim classes) may also lead to a few new
felony cases, but more likely, it will make some allegations and cases easier to charge and
prosecute. Felony violations of newly prohibited conduct against a member of the existing
protected victim class would be adjudicated by courts of common pleas.

Any additional costs for county and municipal criminal justice systems to prosecute,
adjudicate, and sanction a few additional offenders is likely to be minimal at most annually, and
absorbed by utilizing existing staff and resources. Money collected from violators (fines and court
costs and fees) may offset those costs to some degree. The state may also gain a minimal at most

2 Franklin County Municipal Court, Annual Report (2018 through 2022).

3 These statistics are based upon information voluntarily reported to OIBRS by participating law
enforcement agencies, and may not reflect all violations statewide, since not all Ohio law enforcement
agencies’ data are available through OIBRS. Not all “incidents” result in an arrest or criminal charges.
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amount of court cost revenue annually. State court costs for a felony total $60, of which the
Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) and Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020)
each receive $30. Such costs for a misdemeanor total $29, of which Fund 5DYO receives $20 and
Fund 4020 receives $9.

Department of Rehabilitation and Correction

As mentioned, intimidation offenses committed against a GAL or CASA are a first degree
misdemeanor, thus, violations will not result in additional offenders being sentenced to a prison
term. However, the expansion of these offenses to include intimidation by way of abuse, threats,
or harassment may have this effect when committed against a member of the existing protected
victim class.

Under the current Felony Sentencing Law, there is no guidance for or against the
imposition of a prison term in the case of a third degree felony generally. The court is permitted
to impose a definite prison term of 9, 12, 18, 24, 30, or 36 months. Based on recent commitment
reports from the Department of Rehabilitation and Correction (DRC) a small number of offenders
enter prison each year for a violation of an intimidation offense. From CYs 2018 through 2022,
the average number of annual prison commitments for both offenses combined was around 35.

To the extent that additional offenders may be convicted of a felony and sentenced to a
prison term, the result may be a marginal increase in the size of the prison population that DRC
will likely absorb by utilizing existing staff and resources. The annual marginal cost for adding an
additional offender to the prison system is around $4,000 per offender.
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