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Highlights 

 The bill will likely affect a relatively small number of cases where the alleged conduct 
includes the illegal use of a tracking device or tracking application. The associated 
processing and sanctioning costs for any given county or municipal criminal justice system 
should be minimal annually, as would any gain in revenue from fines and court costs and 
fees. 

 As a result of the bill’s felony penalty enhancement that will apply to a subset of new 
cases, there may be a minimal annual increase in the Department of Rehabilitation and 
Correction’s GRF-funded incarceration/supervision costs to the extent that offenders are 
convicted to a prison term. 

Detailed Analysis 

The bill (1) prohibits a person from knowingly installing, without consent, a tracking 
device or tracking application on another person’s property or to cause such a device or 
application to track the position or movement of another person or their property, (2) specifies 
circumstances in which previously granted consent is presumed to be revoked, and (3) provides 
exemptions to the prohibition. A violation of the prohibition is the offense of “illegal use of a 
tracking device or application,” generally, a first degree misdemeanor. The penalty increases to 
a fourth degree felony under certain circumstances (e.g., if the offender has had a prior 
conviction of this offense of menacing by stalking, was the subject of a protection order at the 
time of the offense, or has a history of violence toward the victim). The table below shows the 
bill’s felony and misdemeanor sentences and fines for the new offense. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA135-SB-100
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 Penalties for Illegal Use of a Tracking Device or Application 

Offense Level Fine Term of Incarceration 

Felony, 4th degree Up to $5,000 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, or 18 months 
definite prison term 

Misdemeanor, 1st degree Up to $1,000 Jail, not more than 180 days 

 

Current trends 

Unwanted tracking with a device or application has been increasingly reported since the 
advent of certain technological advances that allow individuals to use and place electronic 
tracking devices on persons and property more easily and inexpensively. The technology allows 
users to easily track lost or stolen property such as keys, wallets, luggage, and vehicles, as well as 
individuals like children. In addition to these intended uses, tracking devices and/or software 
applications have also been reported in incidents involving theft, and more commonly, stalking. 

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), as of September 2022, 
“At least 26 states and the District of Columbia have addressed privacy concerns raised when 
individuals track the movements of others without their knowledge.” Of that number, 11 have 
included prohibitions to using such technology without consent to their stalking laws: Alaska, 
Arizona, Connecticut, Illinois, Maryland, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, 
Washington, and Wyoming, plus the District of Columbia.1 Additionally, NCSL reports that the 
market is growing as parents use them to safeguard their children, and caregivers use them to 
monitor individuals with dementia or other health conditions or special needs. 

Fiscal effect 

The bill can be seen, at least in part, as addressing conduct that, given rapidly changing 
technology, may not explicitly or unambiguously violate an existing prohibition. The bill provides 
additional avenues to prosecute such conduct, but is unlikely to change the seriousness of 
sanctions that an offender could face. Currently, the conduct could be charged under the offense 
of “menacing by stalking,” a violation of which is generally a first degree misdemeanor.2 However, 
“menacing by stalking” requires a pattern of conduct, which may be difficult to establish with a 
device or application. Anecdotal evidence suggests that it is problematic for some local 
prosecutors and law enforcement officials to determine an appropriate charge for unwanted 
tracking in the manner prohibited by the bill because such conduct is not explicitly prohibited. 
Prosecutors and officers may feel more comfortable charging the conduct under the new offense. 
Additionally, the charges maybe be more successfully prosecuted. The bill also provides for a 

                                                      

1 National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), “Private Use of Location Tracking Devices: State 
Statutes,” September 2022. Available at NCSL.org. 
2 Menacing by stalking is generally a first degree misdemeanor, and increases to a felony of the fourth or 
fifth degree depending on the circumstances present. 

http://www.ncsl.org/
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number of exceptions including certain uses by law enforcement, parents and legal guardians, 
caregivers, and certain business-related activities. 

The number of new criminal cases stemming from the bill is difficult to estimate for 
several reasons, perhaps most notably because of the issue of detection. Based on current 
charging trends however, the bill will likely affect a relatively small number of cases under the 
jurisdiction of any given county and municipal criminal justice system. The costs associated with 
adjudication, prosecution, indigent defense (if applicable), and sanctioning, including a 
residential sanction such as jail, will likely be minimal at most annually. Counties and 
municipalities may gain minimal annual revenue collected from violators pursuant to the order 
of the sentencing court. 

In addition, a court generally imposes state court costs that are credited to the Indigent 
Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) and the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020). The 
state costs total $60 for a felony and $29 for a misdemeanor. The $60 felony amount is divided 
as follows: $30 to Fund 5DY0 and $30 to Fund 4020. The $29 misdemeanor amount is divided as 
follows: $20 to Fund 5DY0 and $9 to Fund 4020.  

The annual revenue gain to the state because of violations of the bill’s prohibition will be 
minimal at most annually. 

Of note is that the court rarely imposes the maximum permissible fine, and collecting the 
fine and court costs and fees can be problematic. This is because offenders can be financially 
unable or unwilling to pay. 

Department of Rehabilitation and Correction (DRC) 

As a result of the bill’s felony enhancement, there could potentially be a small number of 
additional offenders sentenced to prison. However, in the case of fourth degree felonies, there 
is presumption generally in favor of a community control rather than the imposition of a prison 
term for fourth degree felonies. The fiscal effect of a relatively small increase in an existing prison 
population of approximately 43,500 will not generate a significant increase in DRC’s annual 
incarceration expenditures. The marginal cost for DRC to add a relatively small number of 
offenders to its total inmate population is estimated at around $4,000 per offender per year. This 
suggests that any increase in DRC’s GRF-funded incarceration costs is likely to be no more than 
minimal annually. 
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