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Highlights 

Department of Public Safety 

 The Ohio Department of Public Safety (ODPS) will likely incur additional costs to 
implement the bill’s provisions, including to: (1) develop, administer, and enforce the bill’s 
Bulk Used Catalytic Converter Sales License provisions, (2) modify the existing Scrap Metal 
and Bulk Merchandise Container Dealers website and the Communication and 
Information Management System (CIMS), and (3) perform additional duties, including 
investigations. 

 The Infrastructure Protection Fund (Fund 5ML0) used by the Department of Public Safety 
may gain an indeterminate amount of annual revenue from civil penalties imposed for 
violations of the law pertaining to scrap metal and bulk merchandise container dealers.  

Attorney General 

 The bill appropriates $1.5 million in FY 2024 and $1.0 million in FY 2025 to newly created 
GRF line item 055451, Catalytic Converter Theft Task Force, to support the operations of 
any catalytic converter theft task forces established by the Attorney General’s Organized 
Crime Investigations Commission (OCIC). 

State and local criminal justice systems 

 The bill may increase the number of cases for local criminal justice systems to adjudicate 
and may shift adjudication costs for certain misdemeanor cases from a county or 
municipal court to a court of common pleas related to the bill’s penalty enhancements. 
In the event of a conviction, the bill would also shift sanctioning costs from a local 
authority to the Department of Rehabilitation and Correction, thus impacting fines, fees, 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA135-HB-328
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and court costs retained by counties and municipalities, as well as the amount of court 
costs forwarded to the state. 

 There may be some increase in fine revenue generated and credited to the county 
treasury when an offender is a business entity. The magnitude of any increase depends 
on how many business entities are convicted of specified offenses. 

Detailed Analysis 

The bill makes several changes to the Secondhand Dealer Law and creates the Bulk Used 
Catalytic Converter Sales License, including broadening the definition of a catalytic converter for 
this purpose to also include diesel particulate filters and diesel oxidation catalysts. Generally, 
these changes are expected to increase oversight over the sale of catalytic converters to scrap 
metal dealers, enact additional licensing requirements for persons engaged in bulk catalytic 
converter sales, and increase penalties for offenses related to stolen catalytic converters. 

Department of Public Safety 

Bulk Used Catalytic Converter Sales License 

The Ohio Department of Public Safety (ODPS), which administers Ohio’s scrap metal laws, 
will incur additional costs to develop, administer, and enforce the Bulk Used Catalytic Converter 
Sales Law that would be enacted by the bill. The bill prohibits a person from selling more than 
one catalytic converter per day unless the person obtains a Bulk Used Catalytic Converter Sales 
License to be issued by ODPS. According to ODPS, additional staff may be needed to process 
applications, issue licenses, investigate complaints, and conduct violation hearings. While the 
number of potential applicants for such a license is unknown, the bill does exempt certain 
individuals from having to obtain a separate Bulk Used Catalytic Converter Sales License, 
including the state’s approximately 7,500 licensed motor vehicle dealers and 350 scrap metal 
dealers, who already hold certain registration licenses. The bill sets the initial application and 
annual renewal fee for the Bulk Used Catalytic Converter Sales License at $200, which would be 
credited to the Infrastructure Protection Fund (Fund 5ML0).  

The bill gives ODPS certain investigative powers related to scrap metal dealers, bulk 
merchandise container dealers, persons (other than a licensed motor vehicle dealer) who receive 
a used catalytic converter in the ordinary course of business, and persons selling used catalytic 
converters in bulk. If a violation is suspected, ODPS must seek an injunction from a court of 
common pleas and impose a civil penalty of $10,000, and $1,000 for each subsequent day the 
violation occurred. ODPS must certify unpaid fines to the Attorney General for collection. Under 
the bill, the collected fines would be deposited to the credit of Fund 5ML0. If the Attorney 
General collects the debt on behalf of ODPS, a portion would be retained by the Attorney General 
and deposited to the credit of their Claims Fund (Fund 4190). A person who knowingly engages 
in fraud or fails to provide relevant information when applying for a license is subject to a $500 
fine. 

Recordkeeping requirements 

The bill’s recordkeeping requirements will likely result in one-time costs for ODPS to 
modify its existing Scrap Metal and Bulk Merchandise Container Dealers website, which is used 
by registered scrap metal dealers to register their business and upload transactions to ODPS, and 
the Communication and Information Management System (CIMS), which ODPS uses to access 
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that information, to accommodate transaction data related to the purchase and sale of catalytic 
converters, as well as “do-not-buy” lists submitted by law enforcement.  

Ongoing costs related to CIMS may also occur due to the bill’s requirement that ODPS 
create and maintain a do-not-buy-from list of unlicensed bulk catalytic converter sellers that is 
searchable by law enforcement and other businesses. According to ODPS, the modifications 
necessary to comply with the bill’s provisions are likely to be done in house and may require 
significant information technology (IT) resources.  

Scrap Metal Dealer Law 

The bill places additional recordkeeping and transaction data submission requirements 
on scrap metal dealers and any person who is not a scrap metal dealer who purchases a catalytic 
converter,1 and requires ODPS to perform a number of other duties related to enforcement of 
the Scrap Metal Dealer Law, including: (1) investigating licensees, registrants, and unlicensed or 
unregistered persons, (2) establishing standardized forms and procedures relating to inspections, 
(3) recording certain information on noninvestigative visits to be reported to the public via the 
Department of Commerce’s website on a quarterly basis, and (4) producing annual reports 
summarizing all inspection reports for the previous year and making them available on the ODPS 
website. The bill also creates a $500 civil penalty for specified violations of the Scrap Metal Dealer 
Law, which is required to be credited to Fund 5ML0. For certain violations the bill specifies that 
an additional $500 must be imposed per day that the violation continues. 

As a result, ODPS may incur indeterminate additional costs related to administering the 
Scrap Metal Dealer Law and sanctioning violators. If ODPS is unable to absorb any resulting 
additional workload that may be experienced utilizing existing resources, particularly with 
respect to the bill’s investigation provisions, additional staff may need to be hired. To the extent 
that the civil penalty is collected, ODPS may also experience an indeterminate gain in revenue, 
which may help to offset any additional costs incurred.  

The costs incurred by the Department of Commerce to make information available on 
their website regarding noninvestigative visits made by ODPS to a scrap metal dealer, bulk 
merchandise container dealer, or holder of a Bulk Used Catalytic Converter Sales License is 
uncertain, but likely minimal.  

Infrastructure Protection Fund 

The amount of revenue generated as a result of the bill’s civil penalties and credited to 
the existing Infrastructure Protection Fund (Fund 5ML0) will depend on the fines imposed on 
scrap metal dealers, bulk merchandise container dealers, and sellers of bulk catalytic converters 
for violations of the bill’s requirements or prohibitions. Under continuing law, Fund 5ML0 is used 
by Ohio Homeland Security, housed within the Department of Public Safety, for the scrap metal 
dealer oversight program. 

                                                      

1 The bill exempts licensed motor vehicle dealers from the bill’s requirements to comply with the Scrap 
Metal Dealer Law when receiving catalytic converters if the business sells or receives catalytic converters 
in ordinary course of business typical for that type of business (R.C. 4737.041(B)). 
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Attorney General 

The bill appropriates $1.5 million in FY 2024 and $1.0 million in FY 2025 to newly created 
GRF line item 055451, Catalytic Converter Theft Task Force, to support the operations of any 
catalytic converter theft task forces established by the Attorney General’s Organized Crime 
Investigations Commission (OCIC). For FY 2024, $500,000 is estimated for start-up costs, and the 
remaining funds will maintain the task force work.  

Under continuing law, OCIC is authorized to establish organized crime task forces to 
investigate organized criminal activity in a county or in two or more adjacent counties. Members 
of the investigatory staff of a task force include local law enforcement officers. The funding 
provided by the bill will be used to reimburse political subdivisions for the expenses they incur 
when their law enforcement officers participate in an organized crime task force, and to provide 
additional resources to law enforcement for this specific crime.2 

State and local criminal justice systems 

Law enforcement reporting requirements 

Existing law requires a law enforcement agency serving a jurisdiction in which a scrap 
metal or bulk merchandise container dealer is located to provide a searchable electronic list of 
the names and descriptions of persons known to be thieves or receivers of stolen property to 
ODPS for inclusion in the existing scrap metal dealer and bulk merchandise container dealer 
registry. The bill expands this requirement to also include the submission of all records of any 
investigation into a scrap metal dealer, bulk merchandise container dealer, or holder of a Bulk 
Used Catalytic Converter Sales License. Any additional costs or workload incurred for a law 
enforcement agency to comply will depend on the number of investigations that an agency 
conducted into scrap metal or bulk merchandise container dealers.  

Criminal penalties  

The bill modifies the penalties for specified offenses involving catalytic converters by: 
(1) elevating the offenses of theft and receiving stolen property (RSP) from a first degree 
misdemeanor generally to a fifth degree felony generally if the property involved is a catalytic 
converter or a fourth degree felony if the offender has specified prior convictions, (2) specifies 
that a person can be charged with complicity under certain circumstances if they sell a catalytic 
converter to another person who violates any of the bill’s provisions, and (3) applying the first 
degree misdemeanor penalty that applies to a scrap metal dealer for failure to comply with 
reporting requirements to a person who purchases a catalytic converter. Table 1 below lists the 
sentences and fines for catalytic converter-related offenses under H.B. 328. 

 

                                                      

2 Unchanged by the bill, law enforcement agencies can request an OCIC task force investigation by 
submitting a written proposal outlining the scope and specifics of the investigation, which would result in 
savings effect for those agencies. OCIC provides funding to cover costs such as payment of confidential 
informants, purchase of contraband for evidence, electronic surveillance equipment, technical support, 
vehicles, office space, or other equipment not available from local sources. 
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Table 1. Sentences and Fines Generally for Catalytic Converter-Related Offenses  

Offense Level Fine Term of Incarceration 

Felony, 4th degree Up to $5,000 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, or 18 months 
definite prison term 

Felony, 5th degree Up to $2,500 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, or 12 months definite prison term 

Misdemeanor, 1st degree Up to $1,000 Jail, not more than 180 days 

 

As a result of these modifications, the bill may increase the number of cases for local 
criminal justice systems to adjudicate and may, in certain theft and RSP cases, shift adjudication 
costs from a county or municipal court to a court of common pleas. In the event of a theft or RSP 
conviction, the bill may also shift sanctioning costs for certain offenders whose sentence involves 
a period of incarceration from a local jail to the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction 
(ODRC). Any potential savings experienced by local authorities to adjudicate and house certain 
theft and RSP offenders is likely to be minimal at most. Similarly, any additional costs incurred by 
ODRC are likely to be marginal.3 The magnitude of any increased costs incurred by criminal justice 
systems as a result of any new cases generated by the bill will depend on the number of 
individuals who are ultimately charged, convicted, and subsequently sentenced to a period of 
incarceration. 

Business entities as violators 

Under the bill, a business entity convicted of enterprise theft of a catalytic converter 
(theft) or enterprise receipt of a stolen catalytic converter (RSP), or who is found to have violated 
any of the bill’s reporting provisions is required to pay an organizational fine of not less than 
$10,000 but not more than $50,000 per violation. The default organizational penalty is up to 
$5,000 for a first degree misdemeanor, up to $7,500 for a fifth degree felony, and up to $10,000 
for a fourth degree felony.4 Thus, under the bill, more organizational fine revenue may be 
collected than otherwise may have been under current law.  

The magnitude of any increase in fine revenue that may be generated annually will 
depend upon the number of business entities convicted of enterprise theft of a catalytic 
converter or enterprise receipt of a stolen catalytic converter, or found to be in violation of the 
bill’s recordkeeping requirements. Under current law’s general distribution rules, organizational 
fines would be paid to the treasury of the county in which the court is located. 

Fines, fees, and court costs 

To the extent that additional cases are generated or certain cases are shifted from a 
municipal or county court to a court of common pleas, the bill may also impact the amount of 

                                                      

3 Marginal costs are those that increase or decrease directly on a per-person basis with changes in prison 
population (i.e., clothing, food, medical services, etc.). For FY 2023, ODRC’s reported marginal daily cost 
per offender was $11.98, or $4,373 per year. 
4 R.C. 2929.31. 



Office of Research and Drafting  LSC  Legislative Budget Office 

 

P a g e  | 6  H.B. 328, Fiscal Note 

fine, fee, and court cost revenue, including the amount of court costs forwarded to the state. 
Table 2 below shows the fines, fees, and court costs for H.B. 328 offenses.  

 

Table 2. Fines, Fees, and Court Costs for H.B. 328 Offenses 

Financial Penalty 
Component 

Amount Paid 
by Violator 

Recipient of Amount 

Fine  Varies by offense 

 Retained by the county, township, municipal corporation, 
park district, or state law enforcement agencies that 
primarily were responsible for or involved in making the 
arrest of, and in prosecuting, the offender  

Local court costs 
and fees 

Varies by local 
jurisdiction 

 Generally retained by the county or municipality  

State court costs 

$29 

Misdemeanor 

Deposited in the state treasury as follows: 

 $20 to the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) 

 $9 to the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020) 

$60 

Felony 

Deposited in the state treasury as follows: 

 $30 to the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) 

 $30 to the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020) 
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