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Highlights 

 The Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) will incur between $6.25 (single) and $7.60 (pair) to 
issue each “Replica Vehicle – Ohio” license plate requested. That cost will be offset by the 
collection of a one-time $10 license fee from the requesting owner of the vehicle. 

 The Department of Public Safety and certain local governments may experience a minimal 
loss in the amount of vehicle registration tax and fee revenue collected annually.  

Detailed Analysis 

The bill defines “replica motor vehicle” as a motor vehicle that is constructed, assembled, 
or modified to replicate the make, model, and year of a motor vehicle that is at least 25 years 
old, and establishes requirements relative to the titling and use of such vehicles. The use of a 
replica titled motor vehicle is limited to specific purposes and cannot be used for general 
transportation. As a result, the number of motor vehicles titled and registered as a replica vehicle 
under the bill, as opposed to being titled and registered under current law as a passenger vehicle, 
is likely to be relatively small.  

Bureau of Motor Vehicles 

The Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) will incur one-time costs to modify its titling and 
registration systems, including the Automated Title Processing System (ATPS), which is used by 
the 88 clerks of courts of common pleas to issue motor vehicle, watercraft, off-highway 
motorcycle, and all-purpose vehicle certificates of title. Those costs are expected to be absorbed 
by the BMV utilizing existing resources. 

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-documents?id=GA135-HB-239
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Vehicle titling 

The bill requires a person seeking to obtain a certificate of title for a replica motor vehicle 
to have an inspection completed by the Ohio State Highway Patrol. Under continuing law, the 
Patrol is required to inspect every vehicle that is assembled from component parts by a person 
other than the manufacturer, including self-assembled and salvage vehicles, prior to the issuance 
of a title. The Patrol assesses a $50 fee for this purpose, which is credited to the Public Safety – 
Highway Purposes Fund (Fund 5TM0). Fund 5TM0 is used in part to pay the BMV’s expenses 
related to titling motor vehicles, licensing drivers, and registering motor vehicles. 

Under current law, replica motor vehicles are likely already subject to inspection by the 
Patrol prior to the issuance of a title, as they are “constructed, assembled, or modified” to 
replicate another vehicle and are thus arguably “self-assembled” to some degree, and 
subsequently issued a certificate of title by the county clerks of court for a $15 fee.1 That $15 fee 
will also apply to certificates of title issued for replica motor vehicles under the bill. This suggests 
that the bill’s titling requirements will likely have no discernible effect on the Patrol’s overall 
workload or on the related annual revenues or expenditures of county clerks of court.  

Vehicle registration 

If a motor vehicle is titled as a replica motor vehicle and the owner is issued a “Replica 
Vehicle – Ohio” specialty license plate, the bill requires the owner to pay a one-time $10 license 
fee to the BMV in lieu of paying annual passenger vehicle registration taxes and fees. The BMV 
currently produces specialty license plates via a digital print-on-demand process at a cost of $6.25 
for a single plate, or $7.60 for a pair.2 This cost will be offset by the bill’s one-time $10 fee.  

Since these plates are subject to annual registration, the BMV and certain counties, 
municipalities, and townships would lose annual motor vehicle license tax and fee revenue that 
otherwise would have been collected for each motor vehicle that is registered as a replica motor 
vehicle instead of as a passenger vehicle. The magnitude of which is likely to be no more than 
minimal annually, as relatively few vehicles are expected to be titled and registered as a replica 
motor vehicle. 

For background, annual registration taxes and fees for a passenger vehicle range from 
$36 to $66. Those amounts are distributed as follows: (1) $20 to local governments for planning, 
construction, and maintenance of roads and bridges, (2) $11 to the Department of Public Safety 
for expenses incurred in administering and enforcing motor vehicle and traffic laws, (3) $5 to 
deputy registrars (or the BMV for mail-in and online transactions) as a service fee, and (4) $0 to 

                                                      

1 Of the $15 certificate of title fee, the county clerks of court retain $12.25. The remaining $2.75 is credited 
to the state treasury as follows: the Automated Title Processing Fund ($2), the Public Safety – Highway 
Purposes Fund (25¢), the Motor Vehicle Sales Audit Fund (25¢), the Highway Operating Fund (21¢), and 
the Motor Vehicle Dealers Board Fund (4¢). 
2 Under current law, a person registering a motor vehicle may elect to purchase a single license plate or a 
set of two plates.  
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$30 to local governments from levied permissive motor vehicle license taxes.3 The money paid 
to the Department is credited to Fund 5TM0.  

Service fee 

Under current law, vehicle registration transactions are subject to a $5 service fee that is 
retained by the deputy registrar providing the service or by the BMV for mail-in or online 
transactions. There are approximately 200 deputy registrar locations statewide, most of which 
are operated by private independent contractors. The clerk of the court of common pleas or 
county auditor operates as a deputy registrar in 11 counties. Under the bill, deputy registrars, 
including those locations served by the clerk of a court of common pleas or the county auditor, 
may lose a small amount of service fee revenue annually if a passenger vehicle is instead 
registered as a replica motor vehicle. The service fees paid to the BMV are credited to 
Fund 5TM0. 
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3 The use of local permissive motor vehicle taxes includes the planning, constructing, improving, 
maintaining, and repairing of public roads, highways, streets, bridges, and viaducts. 


