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ACT SUMMARY 

Ohio Consumer Installment Loan Act and license 

 Creates the Ohio Consumer Installment Loan Act (CILA), which establishes a 

regulatory framework for loans that are for a term of at least six months, generally 

require equal monthly payments, have an interest rate less than a specified 

maximum, and cannot be refinanced within the first 120 days of the loan term. 

 Excludes specific transactions, such as credit transactions secured by an interest in 

the borrower's residential mortgage loan and credit transactions made by specified 

registered and licensed lenders under continuing law, from the CILA. 

 Establishes application procedures and criteria for an Ohio Consumer Installment 

Loan license, including required fees and investigation of the person in control of 

the prospective licensee. 

 Permits a CILA license to be renewed annually by paying a renewal fee, assessments 

determined by the Superintendent of Financial Institutions, and fees required by the 

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry. 

 Prohibits a CILA licensee from engaging in specified activities while making loans 

under the CILA, including assessing too frequent origination fees, accepting dated 

instruments, and paying less than the agreed amount. 
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 Requires a licensee to notify the Division of Financial Institutions of material 

changes to the information contained in the application and related documents or a 

change in ownership of 5% or more of the licensee's ownership. 

 Permits a CILA licensee to also be licensed under the Mortgage Loan Law. 

 Requires a licensee to comply with the "Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act of 

2003," the "Gramm Leach Bliley Act," and the rules adopted pursuant to those 

federal acts. 

Enforcement and oversight 

 Permits the Superintendent of Financial Institutions to adopt rules to enforce the 

CILA. 

 Requires the Superintendent to annually publish an analysis of the information 

submitted by licensees concerning their business and operation. 

 Permits the Superintendent to investigate alleged violations of the CILA or CILA 

rules as a result of the Superintendent's own decision or pursuant to a complaint, 

apply for a court order to enjoin a violation, and issue cease-and-desist orders. 

 Authorizes the Division to revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew a CILA license, or 

impose a fine of up to $25,000, for a violation of a CILA requirement or other law or 

rule that applies to the business conducted under a CILA license. 

 Permits the Ohio Attorney General to bring an action to enjoin a violation of the 

CILA, with the same rights, privileges, and powers as those described under the 

Consumer Sales and Practices Act. 

 Permits a county prosecutor to bring an action to enjoin a violation of the CILA if the 

prosecuting attorney first presents evidence of the violation to the Attorney General 

and, within a reasonable period of time, the Attorney General has not agreed to 

bring the action. 

Advertisements, records, and reports 

 Establishes guidelines for advertisements of loans under the CILA and provides that 

a person who recklessly violates an advertising requirement is subject to a fine of $1 

to $500. 

 Requires CILA licensees to maintain advertisement and loan records for two years 

and that the records be readily available for inspection by the Division of Financial 

Institutions at all times. 



Legislative Service Commission -3- Sub. S.B. 24 
  As Passed by the General Assembly 

 

 Requires certain records under the CILA pertaining to loans, collection litigation, 

and repossessions and foreclosures to be retained in an electronic form specified in 

the act, but permits them to be kept in paper form with the approval of the 

Superintendent. 

 Requires the Division of Financial Institutions to examine loan records once every 24 

months for the purpose of determining whether the licensee is in compliance with 

the CILA and to verify the licensee's annual report. 

 Requires a licensee to file (1) reports with the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing 

System and Registry that contain information the System and Registry may require 

and (2) an annual report with the Superintendent concerning the licensee's business 

and operation for the preceding calendar year. 

 Requires the confidentiality of individual reports filed by the licensee with the 

Superintendent and certain application, examination, and investigation information 

acquired by the Superintendent. 

Loan terms 

 Establishes guidelines for loan transactions under the CILA, including requirements 

regarding the loan contract, insurance, payments, interest rates, and other charges. 

 Requires the CILA licensee to provide disclosures to the borrower of the maturity 

date of the loan and federal and state statutory authority to issue the loan, including 

a notice at the bottom of the first page of the loan agreement stating the loan is made 

pursuant to the CILA. 

 Permits loans issued under the CILA to be either interest-bearing or precomputed, 

and permits a licensee to contract for and receive interest up to 25% per year on the 

unpaid principal balances on a closed-end loan and 28% per year on an open-end 

loan. 

 Permits a licensee, at a borrower's request, to obtain, on the borrower, credit life 

insurance, credit accident and health insurance, and unemployment insurance, and 

the premium or charge for the insurance may be included in the principal amount of 

the loan. 

 Permits the licensee to charge and receive costs and disbursements in connection 

with any suit to collect on the loan or security interests after default, including 

reasonable attorney fees. 
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 Permits the licensee to include additional charges in the principal amount of the loan 

or collect after the loan is made fees to record, file, or release security interest on a 

loan and for purposes of insuring against losses for failure to record or file, and fees 

for credit investigations. 

 Restricts the amount a licensee is permitted to charge for a loan origination, charge 

check collection, credit investigation, and default charge fees. 
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CONTENT AND OPERATION 

Overview 

The act creates the Ohio Consumer Installment Loan Act (CILA).1 It sets the 

procedures and requirements for obtaining and maintaining an Ohio Consumer 

Installment Loan Act license, and specifying the interest rate, fees, and charges 

permitted for loans issued under the CILA. In addition, the act specifies the procedures 

required in the transaction and advertising of CILA loans. The act distinguishes a loan 

made under the CILA from other types of consumer credit that are repaid in 

installments. 

Consumer Installment Loan license – requirements and restrictions 

This act creates a new type of license – the Consumer Installment Loan Act 

license. To obtain a license, an applicant must submit to the provisions of the CILA. In 

broad terms, the CILA license authorizes the licensee to engage in a limited type of 

credit transaction: 

 The loan terms must be six months or more from the loan transaction date. 

 The loan generally must require equal monthly payments. 

 The loan must have an interest rate of not more than 25% (28% for open-

end loans). 

 The loan cannot be secured by an interest in the covered borrower's 

residential mortgage loan. 

 Loans cannot be refinanced within the first 120 days of the loan term. 

 The loan must not be covered by specified other laws, such as the Check-

cashing Business Law, the Retail Installment Sales Law, the Pawnbrokers 

Law, the Short-term Lending Law, and the Small Loan Law. 

                                                 
1 R.C. 1321.62 through 1321.702. 
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The CILA does not apply to the following types of transactions:2 

 Any credit transaction with a loan term of less than six months from the 

loan transaction date; 

 Any credit transaction that does not require equal monthly payments 

unless either: 

o The credit transaction contains an interest rate that is tied to a 

published and verifiable index and the contractual rate of interest is 

adjusted in accordance with changes in that index. 

o The credit transaction provides for an extension of the first monthly 

installment period pursuant to the CILA; 

 Any credit transaction with an interest rate in excess of that provided for 

under the CILA (see "Interest and charges," below); 

 Any credit transaction secured by an interest in the covered borrower's 

residential mortgage loan; 

 Any credit transaction that originates as a result of a referral from a 

person registered or acting as a credit services organization under Ohio 

law; 

 Any credit transaction made by a person licensed as a check-cashing 

business under Ohio law; 

 Any credit transaction made by a retail seller as a retail installment sale 

under Ohio law; 

 Any credit transaction made by a person licensed or acting as a 

pawnbroker under Ohio law; 

 Any credit transaction made by a person licensed under the Short-term 

Lending Law; 

 Any credit transaction made by a collection agency; 

 Any credit transaction made by a licensed premium finance company; 

                                                 
2 R.C. 1321.631. 
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 Any credit transaction made by a person chartered and lawfully doing 

business under the authority of any Ohio law, another state, or the United 

States as a bank, savings bank, trust company, savings and loan 

association, or credit union, or a subsidiary that is regulated by a federal 

banking agency and is owned and controlled by a depository institution; 

 Any credit transaction made by a life, property, or casualty insurance 

company licensed in Ohio or any entity licensed under Ohio Insurance 

Law that makes advances or loans to any person who is licensed to sell 

insurance under the Insurance Law and who is authorized in writing by 

that entity to sell insurance; 

 Any licensee doing business under the Small Loan Law; 

 Any registrant doing business under the Ohio Mortgage Loan Act;  

 Any person making a business loan described under Ohio Uniform 

Commercial Code, in which loans made to commercial entities, or 

individuals operating as sole proprietorships may be subject to an agreed 

upon interest rate; 

 Any political subdivision or governmental or other public entity in or of 

the U.S. or any state, or the Federal National Mortgage Association, the 

Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation, or the Farmers Home 

Administration; 

 Any college or university, or controlled entity of a college or university; 

 Any person doing business under Ohio law, another state's law, or federal 

law relating to banks, savings banks, savings societies, trust companies, 

credit unions, or savings and loan associations substantially all the 

business of which is confined to loans on real estate mortgages and 

evidences of their own indebtedness. 

Prohibition against certain loan business without a CILA license 

The act prohibits a person from doing either of the following without first having 

obtained a CILA license: 

(1) Engaging in the business of lending money under the CILA; 

(2) Contracting for a loan, or receiving in connection with a loan, any interest and 

charges that in the aggregate are greater than the interest and charges that the lender 

would be permitted to charge if the lender were not a CILA licensee. This prohibition 
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applies to any person who through fraud charges, contracts for, or receives greater 

interest, consideration, or charges than authorized for the loan. It also applies to a 

person who for compensation arranges such a loan or offers to find or arrange for 

another person to make such a loan. 

This prohibition is a strict liability offense. A violation of this prohibition is a fifth 

degree felony. 

If a lender violates the prohibition in making or collecting a loan, the underlying 

contract is void, and the lender has no right to collect, receive, or retain any principal, 

interest, or charges. The lender also is subject to injunctions and a fine of up to $5,000. 

The prohibition does not preclude the acquiring of a bona fide obligation for 

goods or services when the obligation is payable directly to the person who provided 

the goods or services.3 

Licensee restrictions 

The act permits a licensee to engage in the business of making loans under the 

CILA, provided the licensee does not do any of the following: 

 Assess an origination fee more than three times in any 12-month period; 

 Accept a dated instrument from the borrower as security for a loan; 

 Hold an instrument for a period of time prior to negotiation or deposit of 

the instrument; 

 Pay to a borrower, credit to a borrower's account, or pay to another person 

on the borrower's behalf the amount of an instrument, less interest, fees, 

or any other charges permitted; 

 Refinance the loan during the first 120 days of the loan term; 

 Except for the permitted deferment charge, charge or collect any fee, 

charge, or remuneration of any sort for renewing, amending, or extending 

a loan beyond its original term.4 

                                                 
3 R.C. 1321.63, 1321.70, and 1321.99(E). 

4 R.C. 1321.632 and 1321.68. 
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In addition, a person engaged in the business of selling tangible goods or 

services related to tangible goods cannot receive or retain a CILA license for such a 

place of business.5 

Application for an initial license or renewal 

The act establishes the application procedures for the CILA license. The act 

requires each application for a license to contain an undertaking by the applicant to 

abide by the act's provisions. The application must be in writing, under oath, and in the 

form prescribed by the Superintendent, and must contain any information the 

Superintendent requires. Applicants that are foreign corporations must obtain and 

maintain a foreign corporation's license before a license is issued or renewed. 

If an application for a license or an application for a renewal does not contain all 

of the information required, the information must be submitted to the Division of 

Financial Institutions or to the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry 

(NMLSR) within 90 days after the Superintendent or the NMLSR requests the 

information in writing (including electronic transmission or fax). If the applicant fails to 

do so, the Superintendent may consider the application withdrawn.6 

Fees and general investigation 

Once the application is filed and the applicant pays (1) a $200 nonrefundable 

investigation fee, (2) a $300 nonrefundable annual registration fee, and (3) any 

additional fee required by the NMLSR, the Division must investigate the relevant facts. 

If the application involves investigation outside of Ohio, the Division may require the 

applicant to advance sufficient funds to pay any of the actual expenses of the 

investigation when it appears that these expenses will exceed $200. The Division must 

give the applicant an itemized statement of any of these expenses. Until the licensee 

pays the required fees, the Division cannot issue a license.7 

Investigation of control person 

The Division's investigation must include both a civil and criminal records check 

of any control person, which must include criminal record information from the FBI. To 

fulfill this requirement, the Superintendent must do either of the following: 

                                                 
5 R.C. 1321.644. 

6 R.C. 1321.64(A) and (D) and 1321.641(C), and R.C. Ch. 1703., not in the act. 

7 R.C. 1321.64(B). 
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(1) Request the Superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Identification and 

Investigation (BCI), or a vendor approved by BCI, to conduct a criminal records check 

based on the control person's fingerprints or, if the fingerprints are unreadable, based 

on the control person's Social Security number; 

(2) Authorize the NMLSR to request a criminal records check of the control 

person. 

The applicant must pay any fee required by BCI or the NMLSR for the records 

check.8 

Issuance of license 

The Superintendent must issue a license to the applicant if the Superintendent 

finds both of the following: 

(1) The financial responsibility, experience, character, and general fitness of the 

applicant command the confidence of the public and warrant the belief that the 

business will be operated honestly and fairly in compliance with the CILA's purposes 

and the rules adopted pursuant to the CILA; 

(2) The applicant has the requisite net worth and assets required (see "Licensee 

net worth," below). 

In addition, the licensee may hold other licenses or registrations issued by the 

Division as long as the licensee is in compliance with the CILA license requirements 

and restrictions and other applicable state and federal laws.9 

The license must be kept conspicuously posted in the place of business of the 

licensee and the license is not transferable or assignable.10 

Notice of intent to deny 

If the Superintendent finds that the applicant does not meet the conditions set 

forth in the CILA, then the Superintendent must issue a notice of intent to deny the 

application. The Superintendent must promptly notify the applicant of the denial, the 

                                                 
8 R.C. 1321.64(C) and 109.572(C)(3), not in the act. 

9 R.C. 1321.64(E) and 1321.67(E). 

10 R.C. 1321.643(C). 
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grounds for the denial, and the applicant's reasonable opportunity to be heard on the 

action in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.11 

License duration and renewal 

The license expires on December 31. The license may be renewed annually on or 

before December 31 by submitting a renewal application in the form prescribed by the 

Superintendent. The application must be accompanied by (1) a $300 nonrefundable 

renewal fee, (2) any assessment as determined by the Superintendent (see 

"Superintendent assessments," below), and (3) any additional fee required by the 

NMLSR. A licensee cannot be required to pay any other fee or assessment by Ohio or 

any Ohio political subdivision.12 

But, the license must not be renewed if it is subject to an order of suspension or 

an unpaid and past due fine imposed by the Superintendent.13 

Superintendent assessments 

The Superintendent may require an assessment, as stated above, if the amount of 

renewal fees collected by the Division is less than the Superintendent's estimate of the 

expenditures of the Division's Consumer Finance Section for the following fiscal year. 

The Superintendent may assess each licensee at a rate sufficient to equal in the 

aggregate the difference between the renewal fees collected and the estimated 

expenditures. Each licensee must pay the assessed amount to the Superintendent prior 

to the last day of June. 

The assessment cannot exceed 10¢ per each $100 of interest (excluding charge-off 

recoveries), loan origination charges, and credit line charges collected by that licensee 

during the previous calendar year. If an assessment is imposed, it cannot be less than 

$250 per licensee and cannot exceed $30,000 less the total renewal fees paid by each 

licensee (see above).14 Thus, if the assessment according to the formula would be $249, it 

appears that no assessment would be charged. If the assessment according to the 

formula would be $30,001, then only $30,000 would be charged. 

                                                 
11 R.C. 1321.64(F). 

12 R.C. 1321.64(E) and 1321.641(A). 

13 R.C. 1321.641(D). 

14 R.C. 1321.641(B). 
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The licensee remains liable for payment of this annual fee on any loan made by 

the licensee that has been sold, transferred, or assigned to another person if the licensee 

retains servicing rights.15 

Material changes – notify the Division 

Licensees must notify the Division of material changes in the information 

contained in the application and exhibits, schedules, and other documentation 

submitted in connection with the application, and to report any material change within 

30 days of the change. Material changes can include changes in affiliations, controlling 

interest, officers, directors, criminal record, and any change in net worth below the 

license requirements (see "Licensee net worth," below).16 

Change of ownership – effect on license 

If there is a change of 5% or more in the ownership of a licensee, the Division 

may investigate to determine whether any fact or condition exists that, if it had existed 

at the time of the original application for a license, would have warranted the denial of 

the application (see "Application for an initial license or renewal – Issuance of 

license," above). If there is to be a change of 50% or more in the ownership of a licensee, 

the licensee must notify the Division in writing at least 60 calendar days before the 

change.17 

Locations of business, business name 

The act prohibits more than one place of business for the same license; however, 

the Superintendent may issue additional licenses to the same licensee. Each licensed 

place of business must be located in a state. When a licensee changes its place of 

business, it must give written notice of the change at least 15 days in advance to the 

Division, and the Division must provide a license for the new address without charge. 

In addition, if a licensee changes its name, it must give written notice of the 

change to the Division prior to making loans under the new name, and the Division 

must provide a license in the new name without charge.18 

                                                 
15 R.C. 1321.67(F). 

16 R.C. 1321.67(C). 

17 R.C. 1321.64 and 1321.642. 

18 R.C. 1321.643(A) and (B). 
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Licensee net worth 

The act requires that each licensee maintain both of the following: 

(1) A net worth of at least $50,000; 

(2) For each license, assets of at least $50,000 either in use or readily available for 

use in the conduct of the business.19 

Dual licensure 

A licensee may be licensed under both the Ohio Mortgage Loan Law and the 

CILA.20 However, a CILA licensee is not subject to the Small Loan Law or the Ohio 

Mortgage Loan Law when making a CILA loan.21 

Advertising 

Every advertisement for a CILA loan must state and clearly indicate the identity 

of the licensee in a manner that prevents confusion with the name of any other 

unrelated licensee. Licensees must be identified by means of trade names, service 

marks, or business names that are filed with the Division and the Ohio Secretary of 

State. Advertising must not be false, misleading, or deceptive. False, misleading, or 

deceptive advertising includes the following: 

 Any advertisement indicating that special terms, reduced rates, 

guaranteed rates, particular rates, or any other special feature of loans are 

available unless the advertisement clearly states any limitations that 

apply; 

 Any advertisement containing a rate or special fee offer that is not a bona 

fide available rate or fee.22 

A licensee must comply with federal law regarding advertisements for credit for 

both open-end loans and closed-end loans.23 

                                                 
19 R.C. 1321.65. 

20 R.C. 1321.64(E). 

21 R.C. 1321.02 and 1321.53(D)(3). 

22 R.C. 1321.651(A) and (B). 

23 R.C. 1321.651(C); 12 C.F.R. 1026.16 and 1026.24, not in the act. 
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In addition, the licensee must not do any of the following when advertising a 

loan: 

 Use loan advertisements that provide only telephone or fax numbers or 

newspaper box addresses and that do not clearly indicate the identity of 

the licensee. 

 Advertise that loans will be made within a specified time after the loan 

application is received, unless it is the general practice of the licensee to 

make loans within the specified time. 

 Advertise special terms, reduced rates, reduced payments, or any other 

special feature of a loan within a specified limited time, unless the 

advertisement clearly states any limitations that apply to the offer. 

 Advertise by the use of unqualified superlatives, including "lowest rates," 

"lowest costs," "lowest payment plan," or "cheapest loans," or by making 

offers that cannot be reasonably fulfilled. 

 Advertise the words "new" or "reduced," or words of similar import, in 

connection with rates, costs, payments, or plans, for more than 90 days 

after the rates, costs, payments, or plans have become effective. 

 Advertise rebates, rates, or charges below the maximum lawful rate of 

interest that are conditioned upon prompt payment unless the condition is 

clearly indicated. 

 Advertise either of the following: 

o Waiver of payments in the event of sickness or disability or other 

contingency, without advertising that the interest and other 

charges, if assessed, continue during the waiver period; 

o That the first payment on any loan may be made more than 30 days 

after the date of loan closing, without advertising that the interest 

and other charges, if assessed, will accrue from the date of 

disbursement of the loan funds until the first payment is due. 

 Advertise for loans for illegal purposes. 

 Advertise the availability of credit-related insurance without disclosing 

the charge, if any, for the insurance. 
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If a licensee specifies in an advertisement charges on loans in dollars, the licensee 

must also state the length of time required to repay the loans as well as the method of 

repayment. The licensee also must, when the interest rate is stated, do so in a manner to 

prevent misunderstanding. 

Any licensee advertising flat or average payments on loans that include principal 

and interest must specify the number and frequency of payments required to repay the 

loans. Whenever the amounts of periodic payments are advertised, the amounts must 

include all interest to the borrower, as well as principal. The principal payments alone 

may be shown separately provided the interest charges are also clearly stated with 

equal prominence.24 

A person who recklessly violates the above advertising requirements is guilty of 

a minor misdemeanor and subject to a fine of $1 to $500.25 

Records 

Advertisement records 

Each licensee must maintain in each licensed office or in a central location a 

records file of all advertising for a period of two years from the date disseminated. A 

record or other file must be readily available for inspection by the Division at all times. 

Each licensee must notify the Division in writing of the location of the record or file. 

Each licensee must, upon the request of the Superintendent, provide to the Division any 

printed or electronic advertising it has used regarding any business conducted pursuant 

to the CILA. A person who recklessly violates the above requirements is guilty of a 

minor misdemeanor and subject to a fine of $1 to $500. 

This requirement includes newspaper, magazine, direct mailing, and fax 

advertising and solicitations, roadside advertising, Internet advertising, and scripts of 

radio and television commercials.26 

Loan records 

The act requires that each licensee keep records pertaining to loans made under 

the CILA. The records must be segregated from records pertaining to other types of 

transactions. Each licensee must preserve records pertaining to these loans for at least 

                                                 
24 R.C. 1321.651(D) to (N). 

25 R.C. 1321.99(D). 

26 R.C. 1321.651(O), 1321.66(C)(3), and 1321.99(D). 
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two years after making the final entry on the records. Licensees must keep and preserve 

residential mortgage loan records in accordance with federal law.27  

Paper and electronic record storage 

A licensee may additionally maintain records required to be maintained in 

electronic form in paper form. The Superintendent may allow a licensee to retain paper 

records in lieu of electronic records. Records maintained on an electronic storage media 

or system must meet all of the following: 

 The system preserves the records in a nonrewritable, nonerasable format. 

 The system verifies automatically the quality and accuracy of the storage 

media recording process. 

 The system serializes the original and the duplicate units of storage media, 

and affixes a date and time for the required period of retention on both the 

original and duplicate. 

 The system has the capacity to readily download indices and records 

preserved on the system to any medium acceptable to the Superintendent. 

 Acceptable facilities and appropriate equipment are, at all times during 

normal business hours, available to the Superintendent for immediate, 

easily readable projection or production of images and for producing 

easily readable images. 

 Immediate facsimile enlargement is available upon the Superintendent's 

request. 

 A duplicate copy of the electronic record stored on the system for the time 

required is stored separately from the original electronic record. 

 The system organizes and indexes accurately all information maintained 

on both the original and duplicate system. 

 At all times, indices of the electronic records being stored are available for 

examination by the Superintendent. 

 Each index is duplicated and the duplicate copies are stored separately 

from the original copy of each index. 

                                                 
27 R.C. 1321.66(A)(1), (C)(1) and (2), and (D). 
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 Original and duplicate indices are preserved for the time required for the 

indexed records. 

 An audit system is in place providing for accountability regarding 

inputting of records and inputting of any changes made to every original 

and duplicate record maintained and preserved. 

 At all times, the results of the audit system are available for examination 

by the Superintendent. 

 The audit results are preserved for the time required for the audited 

records. 

 All information necessary to access the following are maintained, kept 

current, and provided promptly to the Superintendent, upon request: 

records and indices stored on the system, a copy of the system's physical 

and logical file format, the field format of all different information types 

written on the system, together with the appropriate documentation and 

information necessary to access records and indices. 

 Paper documents produced or reproduced by means of the system are not 

destroyed until the conditions set forth in the act have been met with 

regard to each paper document that is to be destroyed. 

 At the request of the Division, the records will be printed on paper for 

inspection or examination without cost to the Division within 48 hours 

after the request. Upon request, the Superintendent may grant additional 

time for good cause shown. 

 At the request of the Division, the licensee must provide the 

Superintendent with court documents in addition to those described 

above.28 

Access and condition of records 

All records required to be maintained by a licensee must be kept current and 

available at all times during normal business hours for review by the Division. Records 

must be legible and maintained in a type size that is clearly readable without 

magnification and in conformity with any specific typeface or font size that may be 

required by Ohio or federal law. Except where otherwise provided by federal or Ohio 

law, records must be maintained in English. When records are allowed to be in a 

                                                 
28 R.C. 1321.66(B) and (H). 
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language other than English, the licensee, at its expense, is responsible for providing the 

Division with a full and accurate translation. For purposes of recordkeeping, "current" 

means within 30 days from the date of the occurrence of the event required to be 

recorded.29 

Compliance with records requirement 

The act requires the Division to examine loan records at least once every 

24 months for the purpose of determining whether the licensee is in compliance with 

the CILA and to verify the licensee's annual report.30 

Types of records 

All records must be maintained and kept current and be available at a licensed 

premises during normal business hours. These records include: 

(1) An electronic spreadsheet for each outstanding loan and any loan paid in 

full within the last two years. The electronic spreadsheet must disclose the following 

information, if applicable: (a) principal borrower's name, (b) principal borrower's 

address or property address, (c) loan or account number, (d) type of security for the 

loan, (e) date of loan, (f) amount financed, (g) date finance charges begin to accrue, (h) 

loan origination charge, (i) itemization of all additional fees or charges, (j) principal 

amount of the loan, (k) scheduled or precomputed interest, (l) number of payments, (m) 

contractual rate of interest, (n) federal annual percentage rate, (o) payment amount, (p) 

types and amounts of credit-related insurance, (q) default charge, (r) check collection 

charge, (s) any points charged to the borrower, and (t) any charges for prepayment of 

the loan. 

(2) Payment histories for each outstanding loan and each loan paid in full that 

disclose the following information: (a) principal borrower's name, (b) loan or account 

number, and (c) a chronological entry of all debits, credits, payments, and charges 

received, assessed, or disbursed in connection with the loan, recorded thereon in an 

identifiable manner in order to show the actual date of receipt, assessment, or 

disbursement, and the balance due on the loan or account. 

(3) A file for each principal borrower. If there are multiple loan transactions 

with the same borrower, each loan transaction in the file must have a unique loan or 

account number. The file must contain copies of all of the following: (a) all documents 

related to the loan transaction from origination through the final entry on the record, (b) 

                                                 
29 R.C. 1321.66(A). 

30 R.C. 1321.66(J). 
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copies of the complaints, court orders, settlements, and judgments relating to collection 

litigation, (c) in cases of garnishment or attachment in collection litigation, copies of all 

notices served on employers and amounts collected, (d) copies of all repossession and 

foreclosure legal documents and other records, including bills for all expenses, (e) in 

instances where the security foreclosed upon or repossessed is offered for private sale, 

not less than three bona fide written bids or appraisals in order to establish that the 

terms of the sale were commercially reasonable to the borrower, and (f) a copy of the 

death certificate and documentation of all funds received or paid pursuant to a credit 

life claim. 

(4) A spreadsheet of all loans in collection litigation which must be maintained 

for at least two years after the final entry has been made on the loan and kept current. 

The litigation record must include all of the following information: (a) principal 

borrower's name, (b) loan and account number, (c) date litigation proceedings were 

initiated, (d) name of the court in which proceedings were initiated, and (e) the date and 

amount of the judgment, and the judgment rate of interest. 

(5) A spreadsheet of all loans in repossession or foreclosure, which must 

include all of the following information: (a) loan number and name of principal 

borrower, (b) type of security foreclosed, attached, replevied, repossessed, or 

surrendered, (c) date of repossession or foreclosure, date of sale of the security, the 

gross amount received from the sale of the security, and the amount of money applied 

to the outstanding loan balance, and (d) where the security is offered for private or 

public sale, evidence that the sale was consummated in compliance with applicable 

Ohio Secured Transaction Law. 

(6) A spreadsheet of all loans upon which a credit life claim has been paid by 

the insurer. The record must include the (a) principal borrower's name, (b) loan or 

account number, (c) date of death, (d) total amount paid by the insurance claim, and (e) 

amount applied to the principal borrower's account. 

(7) Histories of nonpublished indices used to establish interest rates for 

variable rate loans, which must be maintained for two years from the date of usage. 

(8) General business records including financial statements, check registers, 

bank statements, contracts with third-party vendors relating to lending services, policy 

and procedures manual, and training materials. 

(9) All contracts or agreements relating to business relationships with 

businesses or individuals licensed by the Division. 

(10) A file of advertisements. 
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(11) Any other records the Superintendent specifies in writing.31 

A licensee must notify the Superintendent via the NMLSR of a change of location 

in its records related to CILA within five business days after the change.32 

Records after discontinuing business 

The act requires that before ceasing to conduct or discontinuing business as a 

licensee, the licensee must arrange for and be responsible for the preservation of the 

books and records required to be maintained and preserved under the CILA. The 

licensee must notify the Division in writing of the exact address where the books and 

records will be maintained during the required period.33 

Out-of-state records 

If a licensee maintains electronic records and those records are located outside of 

Ohio, the licensee must make the electronic records available to the Division upon 

request, within the time frame provided by the Division. The electronic records may be 

uploaded to a secure server for the purpose of the Division conducting an examination 

of the licensee. 

If a licensee's electronic records or other documents are located outside of Ohio 

and the Superintendent determines that an in-person examination is necessary, the 

licensee must, upon the request of the Superintendent, pay in advance the estimated 

costs of the out-of-state examination, including the proportionate cost of the salaries of 

Division employees who conduct the examination. The estimated costs of an out-of-

state examination, as determined by the Superintendent, must be deposited with the 

Division upon demand. After the actual costs of the out-of-state examination have been 

determined, any funds in the deposit account in excess of costs as itemized by the 

Division will be returned to the licensee.34 

                                                 
31 R.C. 1321.66(A) and (C)(1). 

32 R.C. 1321.66(E). 

33 R.C. 1321.665. 

34 R.C. 1321.66(F) and (G). 
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Noncompliance with records requirement 

The act permits the Superintendent to suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew any 

CILA license, or bring any other authorized administrative enforcement action against 

any person for failure to maintain loan records in accordance with the CILA.35 

Reimbursement for costs of producing client's financial records 

With the exception of the continuing law requirement regarding production of 

records by financial institutions, the act requires any party, including a governmental 

authority, that requires or requests a licensee to assemble or provide a customer's 

financial records to pay the licensee for all actual and necessary costs directly incurred 

in searching for, reproducing, or transporting those records. As described below, the act 

sets forth how these costs must be determined and computed.36 

Search and processing costs 

The act requires that reimbursement of search and processing costs must be the 

total amount of personnel direct time incurred in locating and retrieving, reproducing, 

packaging, and preparing financial records for shipment. The rate for search and 

processing costs is $11 an hour per person, computed on the basis of $2.75 per quarter 

hour or fraction thereof. The cost is limited to the total amount of personnel time spent 

in locating and retrieving documents or information or reproducing or packaging and 

preparing documents for shipment where required or requested by a party. Specific 

salaries of the persons conducting the search cannot be included in search costs. In 

addition, search and processing costs cannot include salaries, fees, or similar costs for 

analysis of material or for managerial or legal advice, expertise, research, or time spent 

for any of these activities. If itemized separately, search and processing costs may 

include the actual cost of extracting information stored by computer in the format in 

which it is normally produced, based on computer time and necessary supplies; 

however, personnel time for computer search may be paid for only at the rate specified 

above.37 

Reproduction costs 

Reimbursement for reproduction costs must be for costs incurred in making 

copies of documents required or requested. The rate is 25¢ per page, including copies 

                                                 
35 R.C. 1321.666. 

36 R.C. 9.02 (not in the act) and 1321.667(A). 

37 R.C. 1321.667(A)(1). 
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produced by reader or printer reproduction processes. Photographs, films, and other 

materials are reimbursed at actual cost.38 

Transportation costs 

Reimbursement for transportation costs must be for necessary costs, directly 

incurred, to transport personnel to locate and retrieve the information required or 

requested and for necessary costs, directly incurred, solely by the need to convey the 

required or requested material to the place of examination.39 

Information excluded from reimbursement 

The act prohibits a licensee from being reimbursed for costs incurred in 

assembling or providing the following records or information: 

 Any financial records provided as an incident to perfecting a security 

interest, proving a claim in bankruptcy, or otherwise collecting on a debt 

owing to the licensee; 

 Financial records that are not identified with or identifiable as being 

derived from the financial records of a particular customer.40 

Payment 

The act requires that the reimbursement payment only be made for costs that are 

directly incurred, actual, and necessary. Payment cannot be made until the licensee 

satisfactorily complies with the request or requirement. But if the request or 

requirement is withdrawn or revoked, the licensee must be reimbursed for the actual 

and necessary costs directly incurred in assembling financial records required or 

requested prior to the time the party notifies the licensee that it was withdrawn or 

revoked. Payment must not be made unless the licensee submits an itemized bill 

showing specific details concerning search and processing, reproduction, and 

transportation costs. In addition, search and processing time must be billed in  

15-minute increments.41 

                                                 
38 R.C. 1321.667(A)(2). 

39 R.C. 1321.667(A)(3). 

40 R.C. 1321.667(B). 

41 R.C. 1321.667(C). 
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Reports 

NMLSR report 

The act requires each licensee to submit to the NMLSR call reports or other 

reports, containing information the NMLSR may require.42 

Division report 

As required by the Superintendent, each licensee must file with the Division an 

annual report concerning the business and operation of the licensee for the preceding 

calendar year. The report must be made under oath or affirmation, on forms supplied 

by the Division.43 

Superintendent's report analysis 

The Superintendent is required to annually publish an analysis of the 

information submitted by the licensees in the division reports described above. 

Individual reports submitted by the licensees are not public records and are not open to 

public inspection.44 

Confidential information 

Examination and investigation 

Under the act, both examination and investigation information, and any 

information leading to or arising from an examination or an investigation are 

confidential. This information remains confidential for all purposes except when it is 

necessary for the Superintendent to take official action regarding the affairs of a 

licensee, or in connection with criminal or civil proceedings to be initiated by a 

prosecuting attorney or the Attorney General. This information may also be introduced 

into evidence or disclosed as authorized under continuing law.45 

Application information 

Generally, all application information is a public record. But, Social Security 

numbers, employer identification numbers, financial account numbers, the identity of 

the institution where financial accounts are maintained, personal financial information, 

                                                 
42 R.C. 1321.661(A). 

43 R.C. 1321.661(B)(1). 

44 R.C. 1321. 661(B)(2). 

45 R.C. 1321.662(A) and R.C. 1181.25, not in the act. 
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fingerprint cards and the information contained on those cards, and criminal 

background information are not.46 

Financial institution regulatory authorities 

Nothing in the act regarding the confidentiality requirement prevents the 

Division from releasing to or exchanging with other financial institution regulatory 

authorities information relating to licensees. For this purpose, a "financial institution 

regulatory authority" includes a regulator of a business activity in which a licensee is 

engaged, or has applied to engage in, to the extent that the regulator has jurisdiction 

over a licensee engaged in that business activity. A licensee is engaged in a business 

activity, and a regulator of that business activity has jurisdiction over the licensee, 

whether the licensee conducts the activity directly or a subsidiary or affiliate of the 

licensee conducts the activity.47 

Confidentiality and privilege 

Under the act, any confidentiality or privilege arising under federal or Ohio law 

with respect to any information or material provided to the NMLSR continues to apply 

to the information or material after it has been provided to the NMLSR. The 

information and material provided may be shared with all state and federal regulatory 

officials with oversight authority without the loss of confidentiality or privilege 

protections provided by federal law or the law of any state. This information or material 

to which confidentiality or privilege applies is not subject to any of the following: 

 Disclosure under any federal or state law governing disclosure to the 

public of information held by an officer or an agency of the federal 

government or of the respective state; 

 Subpoena or discovery, or admission into evidence, in any private civil 

action or administrative process, unless the person to whom such 

information or material pertains waives, in whole or in part and at the 

discretion of the person, any privilege held by the NMLSR with respect to 

that information or material.48 

                                                 
46 R.C. 1321.662(B) and R.C. 149.43, not in the act. 

47 R.C. 1321.662(C). 

48 R.C. 1321.662(D)(1). 



Legislative Service Commission -26- Sub. S.B. 24 
  As Passed by the General Assembly 

 

Superintendent sharing arrangements 

In order to promote more effective regulation and reduce regulatory burden 

through supervisory information sharing, the act permits the Superintendent to enter 

into sharing arrangements with other governmental agencies, the Conference of State 

Bank Supervisors, and the American Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators. In 

addition, the act specifies that any Ohio law relating to the disclosure of confidential 

supervisory information that is inconsistent with the act is superseded by the act's 

requirements.49 

Releasing confidential information to other agencies 

The act specifies that the Division is not prohibited from releasing confidential 

information relating to licensees to the Attorney General, to the Superintendent of 

Insurance (for purposes relating to the administration of Ohio Title Insurance Law), to 

the Commissioner of Securities (for purposes relating to the administration of Ohio 

Corporations and Partnerships Law), or to local law enforcement agencies and local 

prosecutors. However, the information the Division releases remains confidential.50 

Challenging information provided to NMLSR 

The act requires the Superintendent to adopt rules, in accordance with the Ohio 

Administrative Procedure Act, to establish a process by which licensees may challenge 

information provided to the NMLSR by the Superintendent.51 

Interfering with examination or investigation – prohibited acts 

The act prohibits any person, in connection with any examination or 

investigation conducted by the Superintendent from knowingly doing any of the 

following: 

(1) Circumventing, interfering with, obstructing, or failing to cooperate with the 

Superintendent, including making a false or misleading statement, failing to produce 

records, or intimidating or suborning any witness; 

(2) Withholding, abstracting, removing, mutilating, destroying, or secreting any 

books, records, computer records, or other information; 

 

                                                 
49 R.C. 1321.662(D)(2) and (3). 

50 R.C. 1321.662(E). 

51 R.C. 1321.662(F). 
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(3) Tampering with, altering, or manufacturing any evidence.52 

Compliance with federal consumer protection laws 

In order to reduce the risk of consumer fraud and related harms, including 

identity theft, the act requires all licensees to comply with specified federal consumer 

provision laws. These include the "Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act of 2003," 

the "Gramm Leach Bliley Act," and the rules adopted pursuant to those federal acts, 

including rules regarding proper maintenance, security, and disposal of consumer 

information and records.53 

Loan contract 

A CILA loan is considered closed once it is signed by the obligor or obligors, but 

if the loan contract is not signed, then it is considered closed when the funds are 

disbursed. In addition, a loan that is made using direct mail must be made from a place 

of business for which a licensee holds a valid license.54 

The CILA requires the licensee to comply with all of the following procedures in 

connection with the loan contract. 

Insurance 

The licensee must obtain the written consent of the borrower for any purchase of 

insurance on the borrower's property, other than property used as security for the loan. 

Advance payment 

The licensee must permit payment to be made in advance in any amount on any 

contract at any time, but the licensee is permitted to apply the payment first to interest 

and charges due up to the date of payment. 

Interest rate change 

If there is a change in the interest rate, the licensee generally must notify the 

borrower in writing of the change at least 30 but not more 120 days prior to the effective 

date of the change. If the interest rate is tied to a published and verifiable index and the 

                                                 
52 R.C. 1321.663. 

53 R.C. 1321.66(I) and 1321.664; "Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act of 2003," 15 U.S.C. 1681w, as in 

effect on January 1, 2008, the "Gramm Leach Bliley Act," 15 U.S.C. 6801, as in effect on January 1, 2008, 

and 16 C.F.R. 682, as in effect on January 1, 2008. 

54 R.C.1321.67(A) and (B). 
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contractual rate of interest is adjusted within 45 days of change in the published index 

rate, the licensee must notify the borrower in writing of any interest rate change at least 

30 days prior to the effective date of the change. The notice must include all of the 

following: 

(1) A statement of the borrower's current interest rate and corresponding 

monthly payment prior to the reset date. 

(2) A good faith statement of the borrower's anticipated future interest rate and 

corresponding monthly payment following the reset date. 

(3) A statement that notifies the borrower to contact the licensee for workout 

options if there is a possible problem of repayment at the new interest rate and monthly 

payment following the reset. 

(4) A toll-free number by which borrowers can discuss possible payment 

problems and workout options. 

(5) An explanation of the index or formula that is being used to reset the interest 

rate and the source of that index or formula. 

Nonamortized or partially amortized interest-bearing loan maturity date 

In the instance of a nonamortized or partially amortized interest-bearing loan, 

the licensee must provide the borrower with written notice of maturity between 120 and 

90 days prior to the expected maturity date. "Amortization" generally means the debt is 

repaid on a fixed repayment schedule in regular installments over a period of time.55 

Statutory authority 

The licensee must clearly indicate by prominently disclosing on or in the loan 

documents, the federal or state statutory authority pursuant to which the loan is made. 

This disclosure must be provided on loans made (1) solely or partially in reliance on the 

CILA, or (2) in reliance on any combination of federal or state provisions that do not 

include provisions of the CILA. 

In addition, the act requires that any extension of credit under the CILA include 

a notice in at least ten point type at the bottom of the first page of any loan agreement to 

read:  

                                                 
55 "Amortization" definition, Investopedia.com http://www.investopedia.com/terms/a/amortization.asp.  

http://www.investopedia.com/terms/a/amortization.asp
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This loan is governed by, and made pursuant to, the 

provisions of the Ohio Consumer Installment Loan Act 

under R.C. 1321.62 – 1321.702. 

Payment history 

In providing any payment history requested by the borrower or by the Division, 

the licensee must provide a clear and accurate payment statement in a manner a 

reasonable borrower should understand that sets forth the dates and amounts due and 

owing and the dates and amounts received and paid.56 

Interest and charges 

Under the act a licensee is permitted to contract for and receive interest, 

calculated according to the actuarial method, at a rate or rates not more than 25% per 

year on the unpaid principal balances of the loan. Loans may be interest-bearing or 

precomputed.57 

For purposes of time computation on interest-bearing and precomputed loans, 

including the calculation of interest, a month is considered 1⁄12 of a year, and a day is 

considered 1⁄365 of a year when calculation is made for a fraction of a month. A year is 12 

consecutive months. 

If a number of months is to be computed by counting the months from a 

particular day, the period ends on the same numerical day in the concluding month as 

the day of the month from which the computation is begun. But if there are not that 

many days in the concluding month, the period ends on the last day of that month. 

A licensee may consider a day as 1⁄360 of a year and each month as having 30 

days.58 

Interest-bearing loans 

Under the act, the interest on interest-bearing loans generally must be computed 

on unpaid principal balances outstanding from time to time, for the time outstanding. 

Alternatively, a licensee may charge and collect interest for the first installment period 

based on elapsed time from the date of the loan to the first scheduled payment due 

date, and for each succeeding installment period from the scheduled payment due date 

                                                 
56 R.C. 1321.67(D) and 1321.674(B). 

57 R.C. 1321.68(A). 

58 R.C. 1321.68(B) and R.C. 1.44(B) and 1.45, not in the act. 
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to the next scheduled payment due date, regardless of the date or dates the payments 

are actually made. 

Each payment made by the borrower must be applied first to unpaid charges, 

then to interest, and the remainder to the unpaid principal balance. However, if the 

amount of the payment is insufficient to pay the interest, the unpaid interest continues 

to accumulate, and is paid from the proceeds of subsequent payments and is not added 

to the principal balance. 

The act prohibits interest from being compounded, collected, or paid in advance. 

However, interest can be charged to extend the first monthly installment period by no 

more than 15 days, and the interest charged for the extension may be added to the 

principal amount of the loan. 

In addition, if part or all of the consideration for a new loan contract is the 

unpaid principal balance of a prior loan, the principal amount payable under the new 

loan contract may include any unpaid interest that has accrued. The resulting loan 

contract is deemed a new and separate loan transaction.59 

Precomputed loans – payment and interest 

The act requires precomputed loans to be repaid in monthly installments of 

principal and interest combined, however the first installment period may exceed one 

month by not more than 15 days, and the first installment payment amount may be 

larger than the remaining payments by the amount of interest charged for the extra 

days. In addition, monthly installment payment dates may be omitted to accommodate 

a borrower with seasonal income. 

Payments on a precomputed loan may be applied to the combined total of 

principal and precomputed interest until maturity of the loan. A licensee can charge 

interest after the original or deferred maturity of a precomputed loan at a rate not 

exceeding 25% per year on all unpaid principal balances for the time outstanding. 

The unpaid principal balance of a precomputed loan is the balance due after 

refund or credit of unearned interest. 

Precomputed loans – prepayment 

If a loan is paid in full (by cash, renewal, refinancing, or a new loan) one month 

or more before the final installment due date, the licensee must refund, or credit the 

                                                 
59 R.C. 1321.68(C). 
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borrower with, the total of the applicable charges for all fully unexpired installment 

periods, as originally scheduled or as deferred, that follow the day of prepayment. 

If the prepayment is made other than on a scheduled installment due date, the 

nearest scheduled installment due date must be used for computation. 

If the prepayment occurs prior to the first installment due date, the licensee may 

retain 1⁄30 of the applicable charge for a first installment period of one month for each 

day from date of loan to date of prepayment, and the licensee must refund, or credit the 

borrower with, the balance of the total interest contracted for. 

If the maturity of the loan is accelerated for any reason and judgment is entered, 

the licensee must credit the borrower with the same refund as if prepayment in full had 

been made on the date the judgment is entered. 

Precomputed loans – deferment 

If the parties agree in writing (either in the loan contract or in a subsequent 

agreement) to a deferment of wholly unpaid installments, a licensee may grant a 

deferment and may collect a deferment charge. A deferment postpones the scheduled 

due date of the earliest unpaid installment and all subsequent installments as originally 

scheduled, or as previously deferred, for a period equal to the deferment period. The act 

defines the deferment period as the period during which no installment is scheduled to 

be paid by reason of the deferment. 

The deferment charge for a one-month period cannot exceed the applicable 

charge for the installment period immediately following the due date of the last 

undeferred installment. A proportionate charge may be made for deferment for periods 

of more or less than one month. A deferment charge is earned pro rata during the 

deferment period and is fully earned on the last day of the deferment period. If a loan is 

prepaid in full during a deferment period, the licensee must make, or credit to the 

borrower, a refund of the unearned deferment charge in addition to any other refund or 

credit made for prepayment of the loan in full.60 

Insurance 

A licensee, at the request of the borrower, may obtain, on one or more borrowers, 

credit life insurance, credit accident and health insurance, and unemployment 

insurance. The premium or identifiable charge for the insurance may be included in the 

principal amount of the loan, but cannot exceed the premium rate filed by the insurer 

with, and not disapproved by, the Superintendent of Insurance. 
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If a licensee obtains the insurance at the request of the borrower, the borrower 

must have the right to cancel the insurance for a period of 25 days after the loan is 

made. If the borrower chooses to cancel the insurance, the borrower must give the 

licensee written notice and must return all of the policies or certificates of insurance or 

notices of proposed insurance to the licensee during the applicable period. In addition, 

generally the licensee must refund the full premium or identifiable charge for the 

insurance to the borrower. But, if the borrower requests that the refund be applied to 

reduce the balance of a precomputed loan, then the licensee must credit the amount of 

the refund plus the amount of interest applicable to the refund to the loan balance. If the 

licensee obtains the insurance at the request of the borrower, the licensee is prohibited 

from charging interest on any insured amount that remains unpaid after the insured 

borrower's date of death.61 

A licensee may require the borrower to provide insurance or a loss payable 

endorsement covering reasonable risks of loss, damage, and destruction of property 

that is used as security for the loan. With the consent of the borrower, the insurance 

may cover other property of the borrower. The insurance's amount and term must be 

reasonable in relation to the amount and term of the loan contract and the type and 

value of the security. Also, the granting of the loan cannot be conditioned on the 

purchase of this insurance through the licensee or an agent or broker of the licensee. If 

the borrower purchases the insurance, the premium may be included in the principal 

amount of the loan.62 

Other charges  

Although the act prohibits the licensee from charging any amount other than the 

interest or other charges specified in the CILA (including broker fees, placement fees, or 

any other fees), the licensee may do all the following: 

 Charge and receive costs and disbursements in connection with any suit 

to collect a loan or any lawful activity to realize on a security interest after 

default, including reasonable attorney's fees. 

 Include the following additional charges in the principal amount of the 

loan or collect the following additional charges at any time after the loan 

is made: 

o The amounts of fees authorized by law to record, file, or release 

security interests on a loan; 
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o Fees received from borrowers to record, file, or release a security 

interest on a loan for purposes either of purchasing insurance to 

insure the licensee against losses for failure to record or file or 

creating a self-insurance fund to reimburse the licensee against 

losses for failure to record or file; 

o Fees for credit investigations not exceeding $25 if the licensee 

obtains a consumer report in connection with an application for a 

grant, extension, or other provision of credit to a consumer that is 

based in whole or in part on the consumer report. 

The restrictions stated above do not limit the rights of a licensee to engage in 

other transactions with borrowers, provided the transactions are not a condition of the 

loan.63 

Loan origination charges 

The act permits the licensee to charge and receive the following loan origination 

charges: 

Principal amount  
of the loan 

Maximum loan 
origination charge 

$500 or less $15 

More than $500 but less 
than $1,000 

$30 

At least $1,000 but less than 
$2,000 

$100 

At least $2,000 but less than 
$5,000 

$200 

At least $5,000 
The greater of $250 or 1% 
of the loan's principal 
amount 

 

Loan origination charges may be paid by the borrower at the time of the loan or 

may be included in the principal amount of the loan.64 
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Check collection charge 

A licensee may charge and receive check collection charges not greater than $20 

plus any amount passed on from other depository institutions for each check or other 

negotiable instrument returned or dishonored for any reason.65 

Default charge 

A licensee is permitted, if provided in the loan contract, to collect a default 

charge of up to the greater of 5% of the scheduled installment or $15 on any installment 

not paid in full within ten days after its due date. For this purpose, all installments are 

considered paid in the order in which they become due. 

Any amounts applied to an outstanding loan balance as a result of voluntary 

release of a security interest, sale of security on the loan, or cancellation of insurance 

must be considered payments on the loan, unless the parties otherwise agree in writing 

at the time the amounts are applied. 

A licensee cannot collect more than one default charge per unpaid installment 

regardless of the number of months the installment remains fully unpaid. 

Any person who recklessly violates the preceding provisions is guilty of a minor 

misdemeanor and subject to a fine of $1 to $500.66 

Licensee payment for borrower loan covenant duties 

If the loan contract or security instrument requires the borrower to perform 

certain duties to insure or preserve security, and the licensee pays for performance of 

the duties on behalf of the borrower, the licensee may add the amount paid to the loan's 

unpaid principal balance or collect them separately. 

A charge for interest may be made for sums advanced not exceeding 25% per 

year. Within a reasonable time after advancing a sum, the licensee must notify the 

borrower in writing of the amount advanced, any interest charged with respect to the 

amount advanced, and any revised payment schedule. The licensee must also include a 

brief description of the reason for the advance.67 
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67 R.C. 1321.68(H). 
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Penalty for violating the CILA's interest and charges provisions 

Any person that willfully violates any of the preceding provisions regarding 

interest and charges forfeits to the borrower the amount of interest the borrower paid. 

The maximum rate of interest applicable to any loan transaction that does not comply 

with these provisions must be the rate that would be applicable in the absence of the 

CILA.68 

Loan repayment 

When the loan is repaid in full, the original note signed by an obligor or a copy, 

photograph, or stored representation of the original note must be plainly marked "paid" 

or "canceled." The note or reproduction must be returned to the obligor or, if there are 

two or more obligors, to one of them. Also, if requested, the licensee must give a receipt 

to the borrower for each payment made on account of any interest-bearing or 

precomputed loan.69 

Additional insurance procedures 

When, in connection with a loan, a licensee furnishes or places insurance written 

on behalf of the borrower at the borrower's expense, a policy or certificate of insurance 

must be furnished to the borrower within 15 days of the loan's closing date. It must 

state the name of the insurance company, the nature of the insurance, the extent of the 

coverage, the amount of the premium, and the effective and expiration dates of the 

policy. 

If a licensee furnishes or places credit life insurance, credit accident and health 

insurance, or unemployment insurance on behalf of the borrower at the borrower's 

expense, the licensee must give written notice to the borrower at the time the loan is 

made. The notice must disclose the borrower's right to cancel the insurance within 25 

days after the purchase of the insurance with a full refund of the premium or 

identifiable charge for the insurance. The notice must further disclose that the 

cancellation may be effected upon the written request of the borrower together with the 

return of the policy or certificate of insurance to the licensee. 

All insurance sold or obtained in connection with the making of a loan is 

governed by Ohio Insurance Law. In addition, in any transaction in which the licensee 

furnishes or places insurance on behalf of the borrower at the borrower's expense, the 
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licensee must first provide written disclosure to the borrower of the business 

relationship, beneficial ownership, or affiliation between the licensee and the insurer.70 

Open-end loans 

The act permits for the extension of credit through an open-end loan. For open-

end loans, a billing cycle, or the time interval between periodic billing dates, must be 

monthly if the closing date of the cycle is the same date each month or does not vary by 

more than four days from such a date. 

A licensee may make open-end loans pursuant to an agreement between the 

licensee and the borrower in which (1) the licensee may permit the borrower to obtain 

advances of money from the licensee from time to time or (2) the licensee may advance 

money on behalf of the borrower from time to time as directed by the borrower. 

The amount of each advance and permitted interest, charges, and costs are 

debited to the borrower's account and payments and other credits are credited to the 

same account. The interest and charges are computed on the unpaid balance or balances 

of the account from time to time. The borrower has the privilege of paying the account 

in full at any time or, if the account is not in default, in installments of determinable 

amounts as provided in the agreement.71 

Open-end loans – interest and charges 

A licensee may contract for and receive interest for open-end loans at a rate or 

rates not exceeding 28% per year and may compute interest in each billing cycle by 

either (1) multiplying the daily rate by the daily unpaid balance of the account (the 

daily rate is the annual rate divided by 365) or (2) multiplying the monthly rate by the 

average daily unpaid balance of the account in the billing cycle. The average daily 

unpaid balance is the sum of all of the daily unpaid balances each day during the cycle 

divided by the number of days in the cycle. The monthly rate is the annual rate divided 

by 12. 

The act requires the billing cycle to be monthly and the unpaid balance on any 

day must be determined by (1) adding to any balance unpaid as of the beginning of that 

day all advances and permitted interest, charges, and costs and (2) deducting all 

payments and other credits made or received that day. In addition to the interest 

permitted, a licensee may charge and receive or add to the unpaid balance any or all of 

the following: 
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 All authorized charges and costs as described above in "Interest and 

charges" for "Insurance," "Other charges," "Check collection charge," 

and "Licensee payments for borrower loan covenant duties." 

 An annual credit line charge, for the privilege of maintaining a line of 

credit, as follows: 

o For the first year: 

 If the original credit line is less than $5,000, an amount not 

exceeding $150. 

 If the original credit line is at least $5,000, an amount not 

exceeding the greater of 1% of the original credit line or 

$250. 

o For subsequent years, an amount not exceeding the greater of 0.5% 

of the credit line on the anniversary date or $50. 

 A default charge on any required minimum payment not paid in full 

within ten days after its due date. For this purpose, all required minimum 

payments are considered paid in the order in which they become due. The 

amount of the default charge cannot exceed the greater of 5% of the 

required minimum payment or $20.72 

Open-end loans – payment 

The borrower can at any time pay all or any part of the unpaid balance on the 

account. If the account is not in default, the borrower can pay the unpaid balance in 

installments subject to minimum payment requirements determined by the licensee and 

set forth in the loan agreement. In addition, whenever there is no unpaid balance in an 

open-end loan account, the account may be terminated by written notice, by the 

borrower or the licensee, to the other party.73 

Open-end loans – insurance 

If credit life insurance or credit accident and health insurance is obtained by the 

licensee and if the insured dies or becomes disabled when there is an outstanding open-

end loan indebtedness, the insurance must be sufficient to pay (1) the unpaid balance on 

the loan due on the date of the borrower's death (credit life insurance) or (2) all 
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minimum payments that become due on the loan during the covered period of 

disability (credit accident and health insurance). 

The additional charge for credit life insurance, credit accident and health 

insurance, or unemployment insurance must be calculated each billing cycle by 

applying the current monthly premium rate for the insurance to the unpaid balances in 

the borrower's account, using one of the methods described above for the calculation of 

interest. A licensee is prohibited from cancelling this insurance because of delinquency 

of the borrower in making the required minimum payments on the loan, unless a 

payment is past due for 30 days or more. The licensee must advance to the insurer the 

amounts required to keep the insurance in force during the period, which may be 

debited to the borrower's account.74 

Open-end loan penalties 

Any person who recklessly violates the above provisions relating to open-end 

loans is guilty of a minor misdemeanor and is subject to a fine of $1 to $500.75 

Simultaneous loans and pay-off information 

The act prohibits a licensee from permitting any borrower to be indebted for a 

CILA loan while the borrower is also indebted to an affiliate or agent of the licensee for 

a loan made under the Small Loan Law or the Mortgage Loan Law76 for the purpose or 

with the result of obtaining greater charges than otherwise would be permitted by the 

CILA. In addition, a licensee cannot induce or permit any person to become obligated to 

the licensee under the CILA, directly or contingently, or both, under more than one loan 

contract at the same time for that purpose or result. 

After receiving a written request from a borrower, or by another person 

designated in writing by the borrower, a licensee must provide information regarding 

the amount required to pay the CILA loan in full within five business days. 

A person who recklessly violates these provisions is guilty of a minor 

misdemeanor and subject to a fine of $1 to $500.77 

                                                 
74 R.C. 1321.681(G). 

75 R.C. 1321.99(D). 

76 R.C. 1321.01 to 1321.19 and 1321.51 to 1321.60, not in the act. 

77 R.C. 1321.69(A), (B), and (C) and 1321.99(D). 



Legislative Service Commission -39- Sub. S.B. 24 
  As Passed by the General Assembly 

 

Fraudulent activity 

Licensees are required to comply with the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions 

Act of 2003 and the Gramm Leach Bliley Act to reduce the risk of consumer fraud and 

related harm.78 

Prohibited acts 

The act specifies a number of acts that the licensee is prohibited from doing. 

These are listed below. 

False and fraudulent representation 

A licensee cannot obtain a license through any false or fraudulent representation 

of a material fact or any omission of a material fact required by state or federal law, or 

make any substantial misrepresentation in the application to engage in lending under 

the CILA.79 

False or misleading statements 

A licensee, in connection with the business of making or offering to make a loan, 

must not knowingly make false or misleading statements of a material fact, omissions of 

statements required by state or federal law, or false promises regarding a material fact, 

through advertising or other means, or knowingly engage in a continued course of 

misrepresentations. A person who recklessly violates this prohibition is guilty of a 

minor misdemeanor and subject to a fine of $1 to $500.80 

Improper, fraudulent, or dishonest dealings 

A licensee, or person making CILA loans without a CILA license, must not 

knowingly engage in conduct, in connection with the business of making or offering to 

make the loan, that constitutes improper, fraudulent, or dishonest dealings.81 
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Notice of revoked license 

A licensee or applicant for a license must not fail to notify the Division within 30 

days after having a license, or comparable authority, revoked in any governmental 

jurisdiction.82 

Loan document statements 

A licensee must not knowingly make, propose, or solicit fraudulent, false, or 

misleading statements on any loan document or on any document related to a loan. 

"Fraudulent, false, or misleading statements" does not include mathematical errors, 

inadvertent transposition of numbers, typographical errors, or any other bona fide 

error. A violation of this prohibition is a fifth degree felony.83 

Signing in blank 

A licensee must not knowingly instruct, solicit, propose, or otherwise cause a 

borrower to sign in blank a loan-related document in connection with a loan. A 

violation of this prohibition is a fifth degree felony. 

In addition, a licensee must not take any note or promise to pay in which blanks 

are left to be filled in after execution. The prohibition is a strict liability offense, and a 

violation is a fifth degree felony.84 

Entire agreement 

A licensee must take only notes or other promises to pay that set forth the entire 

agreement made with the borrower.85 

Interest prior to disbursement 

A licensee must not charge or collect interest prior to the date of disbursement of 

the loan funds to the borrower.86 
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New loan 

A licensee must not make a new loan for the purpose of paying any part of the 

interest or principal due on an existing loan with the same licensee unless the interest 

and principal balance of the existing loan is paid in full from the proceeds of the new 

loan.87 

Inducements 

A licensee must not give, or advertise an offer to give, any thing of value as 

inducement to a borrower or prospective borrower to obtain a loan, unless the cost of 

the thing is absorbed by the licensee as general overhead, rather than directly charged 

to the borrower who received the thing.88 

Conducting loan business in a manner tending to conceal evasion of the CILA 

The act authorizes the Superintendent to regulate instances in which a CILA 

licensee conducts CILA loan business (1) in a place of business in which other business 

is solicited or engaged in or (2) in association or conjunction with another business. If 

the Superintendent finds (pursuant to a hearing) that the other business is of such a 

nature that the conduct tends to conceal evasion of the CILA, the Superintendent may 

order the CILA licensee in writing to desist from the conduct. The act prohibits the 

CILA licensee from conducting loan business in violation of the order.89 

Enforcement 

Prohibition against violating or failing to comply with the CILA; penalties 

Under the act, if the Division finds that a CILA licensee violated or failed to 

comply with any CILA requirement any other law or rule applicable to the business 

conducted under a license, the Division may revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew the 

license. But the Division must provide written notice to the licensee stating the 

contemplated action, the grounds for the action, and the licensee's reasonable 

opportunity to be heard in an administrative hearing. In addition to, or in lieu of, any 

revocation, suspension, or denial, the Division may impose a monetary fine after the 

administrative hearing or in settlement of matters. 

The revocation, suspension, or refusal to renew does not impair the obligation of 

any preexisting lawful contract made under the CILA. However, a prior licensee must 
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make good faith efforts to promptly transfer the licensee's collection rights to another 

licensee or person exempt from licensing. Failure to do so subjects the licensee to 

additional monetary fines and legal or administrative action. The court may still impose 

a cease-and-desist order preventing any further business or servicing activity.90 

Fines for violating the CILA 

The act permits the Superintendent to fine a licensee up to $25,000 for a violation 

of the CILA. All fines must be paid to the Treasurer of State to the credit of the 

Consumer Finance Fund. In determining the amount of a fine, the Superintendent may 

consider all of the following to the extent it is known to the Division: 

 The seriousness of the violation; 

 The licensee's good faith efforts to prevent the violation; 

 The licensee's history regarding violations and compliance with Division 

orders; 

 The licensee's financial resources; 

 Any other matters the Superintendent considers appropriate in enforcing 

the CILA.91 

Investigation, injunction, and civil penalties 

The Superintendent may also investigate alleged violations of the CILA or CILA 

rules, as the result of the Superintendent's own decision or pursuant to a complaint. In 

conducting an investigation, the Superintendent may subpoena witnesses to testify in 

relation to any matter over which the Superintendent has jurisdiction, and may require 

the production or photocopying of any document pertaining to the matter. If a person 

fails to file any statement or report, obey any subpoena, give testimony, produce any 

subpoenaed document, or permit photocopying of any document subpoenaed, the 

Superintendent may apply to the court of common pleas for an order to compel 

obedience by contempt proceedings. 

In addition, if the Superintendent determines that a person is engaged in, or is 

believed to be engaged in, activities that may constitute a CILA violation, the 

Superintendent may, after notice and a hearing, issue a cease-and-desist order. In 

seeking to enjoin unlicensed CILA loan activity, the Superintendent may also seek and 
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impose fines for those violations of not more than $5,000 per violation. This order is 

enforceable in the court of common pleas. 

The Superintendent may apply to the court of common pleas for an order 

enjoining any violation. If the Superintendent shows the court that a person has 

committed, or is about to commit, a violation, the court must grant appropriate relief. In 

addition, the Superintendent, in seeking an order enjoining a person from acting as a 

licensee under the CILA without a license, may also seek and obtain civil penalties for 

that unlicensed conduct of not more than $5,000 per violation.92 

Criminal penalties do not preclude civil fines 

The imposition of criminal fines for CILA violations does not preclude the 

imposition of the fines described above.93 

Report of violation 

The Superintendent must regularly report violations, as well as enforcement 

actions and other relevant information, to the NMLSR.94 

Superintendent enforcement authority without hearing 

In order to protect the public interest, the Superintendent may do either of the 

following without a prior hearing: 

(1) Suspend any licensee who is in violation of the CILA's net worth and asset 

requirement (see "Licensee net worth," above). 

(2) Suspend any licensee who fails to comply with a request made by the 

Superintendent pursuant to the Superintendent's enforcement authority. 

(3) Suspend the license of any licensee who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a 

criminal violation under the CILA. 

For any suspension listed above, the Superintendent may, in accordance with the 

Administrative Procedure Act, subsequently revoke the license.95 
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Attorney General and county prosecutor enforcement 

Under the act, the Ohio Attorney General may directly bring an action to enjoin a 

violation of the CILA, with the same rights, privileges, and powers as those described 

under the Consumer Sales Practices Act. In addition, the prosecuting attorney of the 

county in which the action may be brought may bring an action to enjoin a violation, 

but only if the prosecuting attorney first presents any evidence of the violation to the 

Attorney General and, within a reasonable period of time, the Attorney General has not 

agreed to bring the action.96 

Superintendent's rule-making authority 

The act permits the Superintendent to adopt rules, in accordance with the 

Administrative Procedure Act, that are consistent with the CILA and that are necessary 

for the enforcement of the CILA. Each rule must contain a reference to the section, 

division, or paragraph of the Revised Code to which it applies. The Superintendent 

must send by regular mail to each licensee a copy of each rule that is adopted.97 

Effective date 

Although the act states that the CILA takes effect July 1, 2017, the act's effective 

date is September 12, 2017.98 

Definitions 

The act adopts the following definitions for purposes of the CILA: 

"Actuarial method" means the method of allocating payments made on a loan 

between the principal amount and interest in which a payment is applied first to the 

accumulated interest and the remainder to the unpaid principal amount. 

"Advertisement" and "advertising" mean all material published, displayed, 

distributed, or broadcasted, and all material displayed or distributed over the Internet, 

telephone, fax, or other electronic transmission, for the purposes of obtaining 

applications for loans. 
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"Affiliation" and "affiliated with" mean controlled by or under common control 

with another person or enterprise either directly or indirectly through one or more 

intermediaries. 

"Annual percentage rate" means the ratio of the interest on a loan to the unpaid 

principal balances on the loan for any period of time, expressed on an annual basis. 

"Applicable charge" means the amount of interest attributable to each monthly 

installment period of the loan contract, computed as if each installment period were one 

month and any charge for extending the first installment period beyond one month is 

ignored. In the case of loans originally scheduled to be repaid in 61 months or less, 

"applicable charge" for any installment period means that proportion of the total 

interest contracted for, as the balance scheduled to be outstanding during that period 

bears to the sum of all of the periodic balances, all determined according to the payment 

schedule originally contracted for. In all other cases, "applicable charge" for any 

installment period is that which would have been made for such period had the loan 

been made on an interest-bearing basis, based upon the assumption that all payments 

were made according to schedule. 

"Assets" means properties of value that are owned by the applicant or licensee, 

including cash on hand and in depository institutions, readily marketable securities, 

accounts receivable less allowances for uncollectible accounts, and real estate less liens 

and depreciation. "Assets" does not mean office premises, leasehold improvements, 

office furniture, fixtures, and equipment, or intangible assets. 

"Closed-end loan" means any extension of credit other than an open-end loan. 

"Collecting" and "collected" mean the servicing of a loan or receipt of payments 

from a borrower for a loan made pursuant to the CILA.99 

"Consumer report" has the same meaning as in federal "Fair Credit Reporting 

Act": generally, any communication of information by a consumer reporting agency 

bearing on a consumer's credit worthiness, credit standing, credit capacity, character, 

general reputation, personal characteristics, or mode of living that is used or expected to 

be used as a factor in establishing the consumer's eligibility for credit or insurance to be 

used primarily for (1) personal, family, or household purposes, (2) employment 

purposes, or (3) specified other purposes.100 

                                                 
99 R.C. 1321.62(A) through (H). 

100 R.C. 1321.62(I) and 15 U.S.C. 1681a, as amended, not in the act. 
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"Consumer reporting agency" has the same meaning as in the federal "Fair 

Credit Reporting Act": any person that, for monetary fees, dues, or on a cooperative 

nonprofit basis, regularly assembles or evaluates consumer credit information or other 

information on consumers for the purpose of furnishing consumer reports to third 

parties, and that uses any means or facility of interstate commerce for the purpose of 

preparing or furnishing consumer reports.101 

"Control person" means a person that, in the determination of the 

Superintendent of Financial Institutions, has the authority to direct and control the 

operations of the applicant.102 

"Costs directly incurred" means costs incurred solely and necessarily as a 

consequence of searching for, reproducing, or transporting records or other data, in 

order to comply with a request or requirement to produce a customer's financial 

records. The term does not include any allocation of fixed costs. If a licensee has 

financial records that are stored at an independent storage facility that charges a fee to 

search for, reproduce, or transport particular records requested, these costs must be 

considered to be directly incurred by the licensee.103 

"Customer" means any person or authorized representative of that person who 

has maintained or is maintaining an account or deposit of any type, or has utilized or is 

utilizing any service of a financial institution, or for whom a financial institution has 

acted or is acting as a fiduciary in relation to an account or deposit maintained in the 

person's name.104 

"Depository institution" has the same meaning as in Section 3 of the "Federal 

Deposit Insurance Act" and includes any credit union. Under the federal Deposit 

Insurance Act, the term "depository institution" means any bank or savings association. 

 "Bank" means any national bank and State bank, any federal branch and 

insured branch, and includes any former savings association. 

 "Savings association" means any federal savings association, state savings 

association, and any corporation (other than a bank) that the Federal 

Deposit Insurance Corporation board of directors and the Comptroller of 

                                                 
101 R.C. 1321.62(I) and 15 U.S.C. 1681a, as amended, not in the act. 

102 R.C. 1321.62(J). 

103 R.C. 1321. 667(D). 

104 R.C. 1321. 667(D) and R.C. 9.02(A)(1), not in the act. 
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the Currency jointly determine to be operating in substantially the same 

manner as a savings association.105 

"Direct mail" means a loan arranged by an application through the mail or 

Internet where the loan proceeds are delivered through the mail or electronic 

transmission to the benefit of a borrower. A loan is not made by "direct mail" if it is 

facilitated by face-to-face, personal contact in Ohio between the lender, lender's 

employee or agent, or lender's attorney and the borrower or borrower's agent. 

"Federal banking agency" means the board of governors of the Federal Reserve 

System, the Comptroller of the Currency, the National Credit Union Administration, 

and the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. 

"Final entry on a loan" means, as to a particular lender, the latter of the date the 

loan is paid in full, deemed uncollectible, assigned to another licensee or exempt entity 

and all records are transferred to the new lender, or discharged or otherwise settled by 

an order terminating litigation governing the loan transaction.106 

"Financial record" means any record, and instruments or information derived 

from the record, that is maintained by a financial institution and that pertains to a 

deposit or account of a customer, a service of the financial institution used by a 

customer, or any other relationship between a customer and the financial institution.107 

"Governmental authority" includes the state, any political subdivision, district, 

or court, and any agency, department, officer, or authorized employee of any of those 

entities.108 

"Interest" means all charges payable by a borrower to a licensee as a condition to 

a loan or an application for a loan, however denominated. "Interest" does not include 

default charges, deferment charges, insurance charges or premiums, court costs, loan 

origination charges, check collection charges, credit investigation charges, credit line 

charges, points, or other fees and charges specifically authorized by law. 

"Interest-bearing loan" means a loan in which the debt is expressed as the 

principal amount and interest is computed, charged, and collected on unpaid principal 

balances outstanding from time to time. 

                                                 
105 R.C. 1321.62(K) and 12 U.S.C. 1813, not in the act. 

106 R.C. 1321.62(L) through (N). 

107 R.C. 1321. 667(D) and R.C. 9.02(A)(4), not in the act. 

108 R.C. 1321. 667(D) and R.C. 9.02(A)(2), not in the act. 
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"Instrument" means a personal check or authorization to transfer or withdraw 

funds from an account that is signed by the borrower and made payable to a person 

subject to the CILA. 

"License" means a license issued under the CILA. 

"Licensee" means any person that has been issued a license under the CILA. 

"Loan agreement" means one or more promises, promissory notes, agreements, 

undertakings, security agreements, or other documents or commitments, or any 

combination of these documents or commitments, pursuant to which a licensee loans or 

delays, or agrees to loan or delay, repayment of money, goods, or anything of value, or 

otherwise extends credit or makes a financial accommodation. 

"Net worth" means the excess of assets over liabilities as determined by generally 

accepted accounting principles (GAAP).109 

"NMLSR" (Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry) means a 

multistate licensing system developed and maintained by the Conference of State Bank 

Supervisors and the American Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators, or their 

successor entities, for the licensing and registration of loan originators, or any system 

established by the U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development pursuant to the 

federal Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act).110 

"Open-end loan" means consumer credit extended by a creditor under a plan to 

which all of the following conditions apply: 

(1) The creditor reasonably contemplates repeated transactions. 

(2) The creditor may impose a finance charge from time to time on an 

outstanding unpaid balance. 

(3) The amount of credit that may be extended to the borrower during the term 

of the plan, up to any limit set by the creditor, is generally made available to the extent 

that any outstanding balance is repaid. 

"Person" means an individual or any legal entity. 

                                                 
109 R.C. 1321.62(O) through (U). 

110 R.C. 1321.62(V) and 12 U.S.C. 5101, not in the act. 
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"Precomputed loan" means a loan in which the debt is a sum comprising the 

principal amount and the amount of interest computed in advance on the assumption 

that all scheduled payments will be made when due. 

"Principal amount" means the amount of cash paid or payable for the account of 

the borrower. The term includes any charge, fee, or expense that is financed by the 

borrower at origination of the loan or during the term of the loan. 

"Refinance" means a loan the proceeds of which are used in whole or in part to 

pay the unpaid balance of a prior loan made by the same licensee or any employee or 

affiliate of the licensee to the same borrower under the CILA. 

"Residential mortgage loan" means any loan primarily for personal, family, or 

household use that is secured by a mortgage, deed of trust, or other equivalent 

consensual security interest on a dwelling or on residential real estate upon which is 

constructed or intended to be constructed a dwelling. For purposes of this definition, 

"dwelling" has the same meaning as in the federal "Truth in Lending Act." 

"State," in the context of referring to states in addition to Ohio, means any state 

of the United States, the District of Columbia, any U.S. territory, and Puerto Rico, 

Guam, American Samoa, the Pacific Islands, the Virgin Islands, and the northern 

Mariana Islands.111 

"Superintendent of Financial Institutions" includes the Deputy Superintendent 

for Consumer Finance.112 
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