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State & Local Fiscal Highlights 

 The Attorney General and county sheriffs statewide each potentially lose hundreds 

of thousands of dollars annually as a result of the fee waiver provision. 

 The bill makes hundreds of thousands of active-duty military and veterans eligible 

for a waiver of the concealed handgun fee. In certain counties, the increased number 

of applicants for a license and the related revenue loss may be significant enough 

that the sheriff will need additional funding to cover operating expenses, including 

the cost of required background checks. The amount of additional funding needed 

by any given sheriff could easily exceed $5,000 to $10,000 annually. 

 Complying with the fee waiver notification requirements will create minimal at 

most annual costs for the Attorney General and county sheriffs that can be absorbed 

utilizing existing resources. 

Detailed Fiscal Analysis 

The bill waives the fee required for a permit to carry a concealed handgun for 

applicants who are active or reserve members of the U.S. armed forces, or who have 

retired from or were honorably discharged from such military service. The bill also caps 

the waiver of concealed handgun license fees at $1.5 million each calendar year (CY). 

Once the annual waiver limit has been met, a county sheriff may not waive the payment 

of the license fee for the remainder of that year. 

Eligible population 

Some basic information on military service personnel and concealed carry 

permits is as follows: 

 The total number of military service personnel in Ohio is currently around 

873,000, which includes approximately 866,000 veterans and 7,000 

active-duty military. 

 The total number of concealed carry permits issued in Ohio is around 

700,000. In CY 2016, county sheriffs issued 158,982 regular licenses (117,953 

new licenses and 40,986 renewal licenses) and 43 temporary licenses. 
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New licenses. As indicated above, there will be hundreds of thousands of 

military service personnel eligible for the bill's fee waiver. The number of those 

personnel that will apply for a permit simply because of the fee waiver is uncertain. 

Presumably some will, which means that, subsequent to its enactment, this fee waiver 

provision may lead to a short-term increase in the number of new applicants for a 

concealed handgun license.  

Renewal licenses. The bill may also affect license renewal activity, as military 

service personnel with an active license will not have to pay the required fee when they 

renew that license. The number of military service personnel (active duty and veterans) 

with active licenses in Ohio is uncertain. 

Concealed handgun license fee 

Under current law, the fee for a concealed carry license is as follows: new 

($67/$91) and renewal ($50/$74).1 A license is valid for five years. The fees are collected 

by the county sheriff as part of their duties and responsibilities to administer and 

enforce the state's Concealed Handgun Law. The sheriff retains a portion of the fee ($40 

of a new license and $35 of the renewal license) for crediting to the Sheriff's Concealed 

Handgun License Issuance Expense Fund, which a sheriff is permitted to use: (1) for 

any costs incurred in connection with performing any administrative functions related 

to the issuance of concealed handgun licenses, or (2) ammunition and firearms. The 

remainder is forwarded for crediting to the state's General Reimbursement Fund 

(Fund 1060), which the Attorney General uses, in part, to fund the cost of background 

checks performed by the Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI), as well as any checks 

requested from the FBI. Under the bill, the Attorney General and sheriffs statewide each 

potentially lose hundreds of thousands of dollars annually as a result of the fee waiver 

provision. 

As noted, the bill does not exempt active-duty military personnel and veterans 

from the requirement that a person apply for a concealed handgun license. The bill only 

exempts those individuals from paying the license or renewal fees until the point at 

which the total statewide lost fee revenue reaches $1.5 million in a calendar year. All of 

the work required to issue those licenses and renewals will still occur.  

The bill also requires the sheriff to transmit a notice to the Attorney General, in a 

manner determined by the Attorney General, every time a fee is waived under this 

provision. The Attorney General must monitor the fees waived and inform sheriffs if 

the total amount of fees waived under this provision reaches or exceeds $1.5 million. If a 

sheriff has received notice that the annual waiver limit has been met, the sheriff may not 

waive the payment of the license fee for the remainder of that year. Complying with 

                                                 
1 Applicants residing in Ohio for five years or more pay a fee of $67 for a new license or $50 for a renewal 

license. Applicants residing in Ohio for less than five years pay an additional $24 for a new or renewal 

license for the cost of the required FBI background check (R.C. 2923.125). 
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these requirements will create minimal at most annual costs for the Attorney General 

and county sheriffs that can be absorbed utilizing existing resources.  

According to the Buckeye State Sheriffs' Association, all of the fee revenue 

typically collected for concealed handgun licenses and renewals is expended to pay for 

administrative personnel and BCI background checks. As the bill does not lessen the 

workload but does create the potential for lost fee revenue, county sheriffs generally 

may have to find other funds to cover related operating expenses. For certain counties, 

the amount of replacement revenue needed could easily exceed $5,000 to $10,000 

annually. 
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