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Subject: Adds peace officers to mandatory reporters of child abuse and neglect

The bill adds peace officers to the list of mandatory reporters for child abuse and
neglect. According to the Ohio Association of Chiefs of Police, it is standard practice for
law enforcement officers to report incidences of child abuse and neglect to a public
children services agency (PCSA) that are witnessed by the officer. Additionally, because
officers are generally required to inform PCSAs of suspicions of abuse or neglect
reported to them by another individual, officers will not require additional training to
comply with the bill's reporting requirement. The Public Children Services Association
of Ohio stated that any additional costs to PCSAs would depend on whether the bill
substantially increases the number of reports received. Since peace officers largely
report witnessed instances of child abuse and neglect, any increase in the number of
reports and subsequent costs will likely be minimal.

Under current law, unchanged by the bill, a violation of the mandatory reporting
requirement generally is a misdemeanor of the fourth degree.! As the bill largely codifies
current practice in the law enforcement community relative to reporting child abuse and
neglect, violations will be infrequent. Thus, there will be no discernible ongoing fiscal
effects on counties and municipalities in terms of their costs to prosecute and sanction
violators and the collection of related revenues (fines and court costs and fees).
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! The penalty for a fourth degree misdemeanor is a possible jail term of not more than 30 days, a fine of
up to $250, or both.
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