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Summary

®  Grants a homestead exemption for the widow or widower of a peace officer, firefighter,
or other emergency responder who dies in the line of duty or by an injury or illness
sustained in the line of duty.

= Exempts $50,000 of the home's appraised value or cost from property taxation or the
manufactured home tax.

= Exempts such a widow or widower from the income means test, currently $32,800 in
Ohio adjusted gross income.

®  Reimburses local taxing units for the resulting reduction in taxes in the same manner as
the existing homestead exemption.

Detailed Analysis

Homestead exemption: emergency responder's surviving spouse

Continuing law provides a property tax credit for the residence, or "homestead," of
certain qualifying individuals. This "homestead exemption" equals the taxes that would be
charged on up to $25,000 of the true value of a home owned by a qualified elderly or disabled
homeowner. ("True value" is the appraised fair market value.) The credit essentially exempts
$25,000 of the value of a homestead from taxation. It also applies to manufactured and mobile
homes regardless of whether they are taxed as real property or taxed under the manufactured
home tax (except that manufactured and mobile homes are assessed at 40% of cost or market
value and are depreciated). A special "enhanced" exemption of $50,000 is available for homes
of military veterans who are totally disabled. The amount of the tax savings for a qualifying
homestead depends on the local tax rate: the higher the tax rate, the greater the tax reduction.
According to the Department of Taxation, the average annual tax savings is about $495 for
homeowners who are not disabled veterans.

The $25,000 homestead exemption is available only to homeowners who are 65 years of
age or older, permanently and totally disabled, or at least 59 years old and the surviving spouse
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of an individual who previously received the exemption. Homeowners who would first receive
the exemption for tax year 2014 (or tax year 2015 for homeowners who pay the manufactured
home tax) must have an Ohio adjusted gross income of $32,800 or less, as computed for state
income tax purposes. (This income limit is increased each year to adjust for inflation.)
Homeowners who received the exemption before 2014 are not subject to the income limit, and
no income limit applies to the $50,000 exemption for disabled veterans.

The bill extends the homestead exemption to the surviving spouse of a "public service
officer" who has either been killed in the line of duty or died from a fatal injury or illness
sustained in the line of duty, including a heart attack. Similar to the homestead exemption for
disabled veterans, the credit is equal to the tax on $50,000 of the true value of a homestead
owned and occupied by that surviving spouse, and no income limit applies. For the purpose of
the exemption, a public service officer is a paramedic, emergency medical technician (including
EMT-basic, EMT-I, and "first responder" classes), a paid or volunteer firefighter, or a police
officer, sheriff, deputy sheriff, or other class of peace officer as defined for the purposes of the
law governing the authority to arrest or issue citations.' The exemption would continue until
the surviving spouse dies or remarries, and, like the existing homestead exemption, it is
portable among homes so long as it applies to only one home at a time. If a surviving spouse
also qualifies for the exemption as an elderly or disabled individual or a disabled veteran, the
spouse must decide which exemption to apply; they are not cumulative.?

Application requirements

Before qualifying for the bill's exemption, a surviving spouse must apply to the county
auditor and verify that the public service officer was killed in the line of duty by providing a
letter confirming this from either a state pension fund or the department or agency that the
public service officer served when the officer was killed in the line of duty.?

Reimbursement of local taxing units

As with the existing homestead exemption, local taxing units would be reimbursed by
the state for the reduction in property tax revenue that results from the bill's extended
exemption. The reimbursement would be paid from the state General Revenue Fund
semiannually.4

Effective date

The new homestead exemption authorized by the bill begins to apply in tax year 2019
or, in the case of homes that are subject to the manufactured home tax, in tax year 2020. The

1 R.C. Chapter 2935.

?R.C. 323.151, 323.152, 4503.064, and 4503.065.
3 R.C. 323.153 and 4503.066.

% R.C. 323.156, not in the bill.
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difference in application is accounted for by the fact that the manufactured home tax is payable
on a current-year basis, whereas the property tax is payable in arrears.’

History
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