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Highlights 

 For the costs associated with the Weapons Disability Data Portal (Portal), the bill 
appropriates GRF of $2.4 million in each of FY 2020 and FY 2021, to be used by the 
Department of Public Safety (DPS) for personnel and training costs, and $10 million in 
FY 2020, to be used by the Department of Administrative Services, in conjunction with 
DPS, to create the Portal. It is unclear as to whether these appropriated amounts will be 
sufficient to cover the costs of establishing and maintaining the Portal over the course 
of the FY 2020-FY 2021 biennium. 

 County criminal justice systems generally are likely to see increased expenditures, as a 
result of having additional persons to prosecute, adjudicate, and sanction for weapons 
disability violations, the annual magnitude of which is uncertain. The state will also 
realize an indeterminate annual increase in GRF-funded incarceration costs, as a result 
of an increase in the number of offenders being sentenced to prison for having a 
weapon while under disability. 

 The bill’s weapons disability data entry requirements will likely increase administrative 
costs for the courts and certain state and local agencies, including law enforcement, to 
add staff and equipment and to train new and existing staff. The increase in expenses is 
indeterminate.  

 The Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (OhioMHAS), county 
behavioral health boards, and local court systems might incur costs if there are 
additional involuntary commitments resulting from the bill. 

 The bill requires the Auditor of State to conduct quarterly compliance audits of the 
Portal. Under current practice, these costs could either be billed to audited entities or 
covered by GRF appropriations under the Auditor of State’s budget. Any charges to the 
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audited entities would be deposited into either the Public Audit Expense-Intrastate Fund 
(Fund 1090) or the Public Audit Expense-Local Government Fund (Fund 4220). 

 An indeterminate amount of civil penalty money may be generated annually from 
persons or entities that fail to input a record or information into the Portal within the 
required timeframe. The distribution of the money is unclear, but could be to the credit 
of the state’s GRF. 

 Extending automated expungement for sealed juvenile records by five years will 
temporarily reduce the workload of the courts, which may be offset to some degree by 
persons who opt to file for a sealing order prior to the mandatory expungement date. 

Detailed Analysis 

Weapons disability 

The bill expands the list of persons who are prohibited from knowingly acquiring, 
having, carrying, or using a firearm or dangerous ordnance. A violation of this prohibition is a 
third degree felony punishable by a definite prison term of one to five years, a fine of up to 
$10,000, or both. As a result of this expansion, there will be an increase in the number of 
people who may be subject to arrest and prosecution and subsequently sanctioned, including 
the potential imposition of a prison term. The number of persons that may be so affected is 
unknown. 

County criminal justice systems generally are likely to see increased expenditures, as a 
result of having additional persons to prosecute, adjudicate, and sanction for weapons disability 
violations, the annual magnitude of which is uncertain. The state will also realize some increase 
in GRF-funded incarceration costs, as a result of a possible increase in the number of offenders 
being sentenced to prison for having a weapon while under disability. Based on the Department 
of Rehabilitation and Correction’s commitment reports for calendar years (CYs) 2016-2018, an 
average of 853 offenders were sentenced to prison annually for having a weapon while under 
disability as either a felony of the third, fourth, or fifth degree. The average time served for 
those committing a third degree felony and released in CY 2016 was 1.67 years. For FY 2018, 
the average annual cost per inmate was $27,835 ($76.26 per day). The annual marginal cost for 
adding an additional offender to the prison system is $3,000 to $4,000. 

The state and counties may gain annual revenue from violators pursuant to the order of 
the sentencing court, the latter of which would receive fines and court costs and fees. Of note is 
that the court rarely imposes the maximum permissible fine, and in the particular case of 
felonies, collecting the fine can be problematic. This is because offenders can be financially 
unable or unwilling to pay. The state’s potential gain will be in the form of court costs that, if 
collected, are then forwarded for deposit in the state treasury to the credit of the Indigent 
Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0) and the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020).1  

                                                      

1 The court is generally required to impose state court costs totaling $60 for a felony divided as follows: 
$30 to Fund 5DY0 and $30 to Fund 4020. 



Office of Research and Drafting  LSC  Legislative Budget Office 

 

P a g e  | 3  H.B. 354, Fiscal Note 

Weapons Disability Data Portal 

The bill requires the Director of Public Safety to establish and maintain the “Weapons 
Disability Data Portal,” an electronic portal that utilizes the platform established by the Office 
of InnovateOhio within the Office of the Governor to allow for the collection and distribution of 
data relevant to state and federal firearms disability status. The Portal is to be created by the 
Department of Administrative Services (DAS) in conjunction with the Department of Public 
Safety (DPS). The Director of DPS is required to: (1) appoint an unspecified number of regional 
information officers to monitor and facilitate the submission of information to the Portal, and 
(2) provide to the Auditor any information the Auditor determines is necessary to perform a 
quarterly compliance audit of the Portal and the degree to which law enforcement agencies, 
courts, and state agencies have complied with the bill’s Portal reporting requirements. 

For the associated costs, the bill: (1) creates GRF line item 761409, Weapons Disability 
Data Portal, with an appropriation of $2.4 million in each of FY 2020 and FY 2021, to be used by 
DPS for personnel and training costs associated with the Portal, and (2) creates GRF line 
item 100462, Weapons Disability Data Portal, with an appropriation of $10 million in FY 2020, 
to be used by DAS, in conjunction with DPS, to create the Portal. It is unclear as to whether 
these appropriated amounts will be sufficient to cover the costs of establishing and maintaining 
the Portal over the course of the FY 2020-FY 2021 biennium. 

Data entry requirement 

Under the bill, government entities are required to enter data as described below into 
the Portal within one business day: 

 Courts are required to enter certain records of charges, indictments, convictions, pleas, 
adjudications, issuances, commitments, dismissals, and service of warrants. 

 The Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (OhioMHAS), and any 
other state or local agency that receives a person as an involuntary patient in a mental 
institution or releases that involuntary patient from the mental institution is required to 
enter a record of intake and release. 

 Local law enforcement agencies are required to enter a record of conviction for an 
offense of violence when a mental health evaluation or treatment is ordered by a court 
and to enter approvals for conditional release.  

This requirement has the potential to create significant administrative burdens on state 
and local agencies because they would be required to enter data into a system that they are 
not currently using in a compressed timeframe. In addition, it is possible that there could be 
costs for rule promulgation, as well as the implementation of procedures to ensure that 
agencies remain compliant with this provision. This could result in the need for additional staff 
and equipment and additional training for new and existing staff. The annual cost of that data 
entry work for any given entity is not readily quantifiable, thus it is indeterminate. 

The bill requires any entity that fails to input a record or information into the Portal 
within one business day to be assessed a civil penalty of $500 for each such failure. The bill 
does not specify who is to collect the civil penalty, or how it is to be distributed. That said, it 
appears that the Director of Public Safety would assess and collect the civil penalty and absent 
any special distribution language, any penalty revenue would be credited to the state’s GRF. 
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Weapons Disability Data Portal compliance audits 

The bill requires the Auditor of State to conduct quarterly compliance audits of the 
Portal to ensure that state agencies and political subdivisions which are required to use the 
system, including courts, are updating weapons disability records promptly as required by the 
bill. This could potentially increase costs for state agencies that use the system, specifically DPS 
and political subdivisions. Any state agency or other entity that receives persons as an 
involuntary patient in a mental institution would also be affected.  

Under current guidelines for covering the cost of audits, the Auditor of State sets an 
hourly rate determined by rule and then allocates these charges to the entities being audited. 
Because the bill broadly grants rulemaking authority to the Auditor for these compliance audits, 
it is not entirely certain how the charges would be assessed. Charges collected from state 
agencies are deposited into the Public Audit-Intrastate Fund (Fund 1090). Charges collected 
from political subdivisions are deposited into the Public Audit Expense-Local Government Fund 
(Fund 4220). The Statewide Cost Allocation Plan (SWCAP) billing rate for state agencies is 
$68 per hour, and the billable hourly rate for local governments is $41 per hour. Costs that 
cannot be allocated to any specific entity are covered by GRF line item 070401, Audit 
Management and Services, or GRF line item 070412, Local Government Audit Support. The bill 
further requires the Auditor of State to publish a quarterly list of law enforcement agencies, 
courts, and state agencies that the Auditor of State determines to be out of compliance with 
the requirements of the bill.  

Noncompliance penalties  

The bill specifies that if the Auditor determines that an entity is habitually out of 
compliance with the bill’s requirements for entering information into the Portal within one 
business day, those entities are ineligible to apply for grants administered by DPS and must be 
assessed a civil penalty of $1,000 for each time the entity fails to input a record or information 
into the Portal. The bill determines that these entities are habitually out of compliance when 
10% or more of the entity’s data submissions exceed the one business day input requirement 
under the bill. 

The bill does not specify who is to collect the civil penalty, or how it is to be distributed. 
That said, it appears that either the Auditor or the Director of Public Safety would assess and 
collect the civil penalty, and absent any special distribution language, any penalty revenue 
would be credited to the state’s GRF. 

Juvenile record expungement 

The bill extends the date on which a juvenile court must expunge all records sealed 
under the Juvenile Sealing Law to require the expungement upon the 28th birthday of the 
person who is the subject of the sealing order, rather than requiring expungement on the 
earlier of five years after the sealing order or the 23rd birthday of the person who is the subject 
of the order under current law. This will likely result in a short-term reduction in expungement 
actions taken by the juvenile courts, however a person who has had a juvenile court record 
sealed may still apply for expungement prior to the automatic expungement date under 
continuing law.  

The bill will reduce in the short term the number of cases which the juvenile courts must 
expunge following a sealing order for five years following the effective date of the bill. This 
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reduction will be offset to some degree by additional filings for expungement when a person 
who would have otherwise allowed a record to be expunged on his or her 23rd birthday is 
unwilling to wait until his or her 28th birthday. In such a case, the court is required to notify the 
prosecuting attorney of any proceedings and may cause an investigation to be made to 
determine if the person has been satisfactorily rehabilitated. The fiscal effect on the juvenile 
divisions of the courts of common pleas is uncertain.  

Involuntary commitment 

The bill specifies that a mental illness for purposes of the law governing involuntary 
commitment of the mentally ill includes a moderate or severe substance use disorder (SUD). 
Thus, an individual with moderate or severe SUD could be subject to involuntary mental health 
treatment through judicial hospitalization or emergency hospitalization. As a result, it is 
possible that there could be additional involuntary commitments which could increase costs for 
OhioMHAS, county behavioral health boards, and/or local court systems. These costs would 
depend on the number of additional commitments and the scope of services required. 
However, it is possible that some of these costs may be offset if any reimbursements from an 
individual’s insurance or Medicaid coverage were received. 
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