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SUMMARY

B Revises the requirements to qualify for a chemical dependency counselor Il license
issued by the Ohio Chemical Dependency Professionals Board.

DETAILED ANALYSIS

Chemical dependency professionals — background

Established in 2002, the Ohio Chemical Dependency Professionals Board regulates the
practice of chemical dependency counseling, including by licensing chemical dependency
professionals such as counselor assistants, counselors, and independent counselors.’ At
present, the holder of a chemical dependency counselor Il license issued by the Board may
engage in all of the following activities:

®  Practice chemical dependency counseling;

®  Perform treatment planning, assessment, crisis intervention, individual and group
counseling, case management, and education services as they relate to alcohol and drug
abuse or dependency;

®  Refer individuals with nonchemical dependency conditions to appropriate sources of
help.?

Note that current law prohibits such a license holder from practicing as an individual
practitioner.3

1 R.C. Chapter 4758.
2 R.C. 4758.57(A), not in the bill.
3 R.C. 4758.57(B), not in the bill.
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H.B. 365 maintains the chemical dependency counselor Il license and its scope of
practice, but revises the requirements for qualifying for a license, including by authorizing
alternative criteria for obtaining a license.*

Counselor II license requirements

Under existing law, to qualify for a chemical dependency counselor Il license, an
individual must either (1) hold, on December 23, 2002, a certificate or credentials accepted by
the former Department of Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services as authority to practice as a
certified chemical dependency counselor II° or (2) meet all of the following criteria:

®  Hold an associate’s degree in a behavioral science or nursing or a bachelor’s degree in
any field;

®" Have 180 hours of approved chemical dependency specific education, of which 50%
must have been obtained in the last five years;

®  Have completed 2,000 hours of compensated work or supervised internship experience
in chemical dependency or substance abuse services or the practice of psychology,
professional counseling, social work, or marriage and family therapy, not less than 400
of which are in chemical dependency counseling;

®  Have a minimum of 220 hours of training in chemical dependency; and

® Have passed the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium Alcohol and
Drug Counselor Examination.®

License requirements under the bill

The bill establishes two additional sets of criteria by which an individual may qualify for
a chemical dependency counselor Il license. The second criteria set, however, remains an
option for license applicants only until three years after the bill’s effective date.’

First criteria set

Under the first new set, an individual must satisfy all of the following to qualify for a
counselor Il license:

4R.C. 4758.42.

> R.C. 4758.42(B). See also H.B. 496 of the 124" General Assembly, available at
http://archives.legislature.state.oh.us/BillText124/124 HB 496 ENR.pdf. Before H.B. 496, the Ohio
Department of Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services was required to establish and administer a process
for the certification or credentialing of chemical dependency professionals for the purpose of qualifying
their services for reimbursement under Medicare or Medicaid.

*R.C. 4758.42(A) and Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.) 4758-5-03.
7 R.C. 4758.42.
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Hold an associate’s degree or bachelor’s degree in a behavioral science or nursing, each
with a specialization in chemical dependency counseling;

Have a minimum of 180 hours of education in chemical dependency that meets
requirements specified in Board rules;

While holding a valid chemical dependency counselor assistant certificate, have
successfully completed at least one semester of practicum experience in chemical
dependency that meets requirements specified in Board rules, including 16 practicum
hours per week, at least two of which are supervised;

Have at least 1,000 hours of compensated work experience as a chemical dependency
counselor assistant;

Provide to the Board a written recommendation from an individual who supervised the
individual’s practice as a chemical dependency counselor assistant; and

Have passed one or more examinations administered for the purpose of determining
competence to practice as a chemical dependency counselor I1.2

Second criteria set

Under the second new set, an individual must meet the following in order to qualify for

a chemical dependency counselor Il license:

Since at least December 31, 2008, have continuously held a valid chemical dependency
counselor assistant certificate or practiced chemical dependency counseling while under
supervision;

Provide to the Board a written recommendation from an individual who supervised the
individual’s practice as a chemical dependency counselor assistant;

Have earned the minimum number of hours in chemical dependency training specified
in Board rules; and

Have passed one or more examinations administered for the purpose of determining
competence to practice as a chemical dependency counselor I1.°

Rulemaking

The bill requires the Chemical Dependency Professionals Board to adopt rules specifying

the education and practicum experience requirements for the first new criteria set.’® It also
requires the Board to adopt rules establishing chemical dependency training requirements for

8 R.C. 4758.42(C).
9R.C. 4758.42(D).
10 R.C. 4758.20(A)(16) and (A)(17).
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the second new criteria set.' The rules are to be adopted in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act.*?

HISTORY
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11 R.C. 4758.20(A)(12).
12 r.C. 4758.20(B) and R.C. Chapter 119, not in the bill.
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